View Full Version : who did u pick ???

mz sv6
12-11-2006, 23:59
I have a godmother picked out for my DS the godmother will be my younger cousin shes ( 18yrs old ) but im stuck as to who im gonna have as godfather i have 3 people in mind i would like to have as a godfather but i dont no which one to pick and i only really wanted 1 the peolpe i have in mind are my older brother ( 28yrs old ) my younger cousin ( 17yrs ) or my uncle/my godfather

So my question is who did u pick as godparents for your DS/DD and what were your reason for pickin them ?? and how many godparents did u have ??

AVR
13-11-2006, 00:11
I actually asked my BF to be godmother today - because she is like my sister a I trust what she would do / say if my child ever came to her for advice.:thumbsup:

For the god father I am stuck too. Thinking my bro 34 yo as its family and I trust his judgement too!:fingerscrossed:

mum2littleman
13-11-2006, 00:12
my DS has no godfather however his godmother i picked as she is someone i trust with all my heart, someone i know that would{and dose} love DS as if he were hers and sumone that i have a lot of respect for sumone that if anything were to happen to my family she would step up and have him no questions asked. we call her DS fairy godmother:angel:

subaruforestermum
13-11-2006, 01:11
My son doesnt have godparents yet, but the major thing in deciding for me should be their capability of caring for your son....not just money wise, but wisdom, and being able to nuture a child, etc if anything was to ever happen to you..... and who has a chance of being around their wholelife..........and who they have the strongest bond with.

If you have the belief that your 17yo cousin can do this, then age isnt a problem.....Look for who you feel has the strongest connection with your son, and that will be your answer....

Thats the only thing I can add....... Goodluck

Missus S
13-11-2006, 08:39
Our DD's Godmother is my sister.......and for her Godfather we chose a close family friend who we have both known for over 15 years so he's really part of our family. He also introduced DH and I to each other so he's really special to us! :D

Good luck with your decision :angel:

Mikeswifey
13-11-2006, 09:28
We havent done it yet, but we have them picked out.

My brother for Godfather and my SIL for godmother.

I have 2 sets though, so I am thinking maybe I might add in my other SIL and BIL(they are married).

Dont know yet, will have to give it some more thought.:party:

JATS
13-11-2006, 15:45
My sister and Hubby's brother are Tom's godparents.

Mum & Dad (and heaps of my friends parents) picked friends for god parents and 80% of them have lost touch. Family more likely to be there forever (wether you like it or not :D )

I wouldn't worry about age, your cousin isn't going to be 17 forever!

13-11-2006, 19:54
We had 2 godmothers and 1 godfather.

We wanted people who would always be in DD's life, so we picked DH's best mate (and family friend) for the godfather and my sister for the godmother.
We also HAD to have a Catholic as well, so we picked DH's sister for another godmother.

Becteria
13-11-2006, 20:52
We had 3 men mentors and one woman - my brother and my hubbys 2 brothers and SIL.

SweetSerenity
13-11-2006, 23:25
My Sons Godmother is my cousin, we're like sisters as we've grown up very close together and the Godfather is my DH's bestfriend/bestman from the wedding....:D

jack's mummy
25-11-2006, 20:35
We chose close friends (married to each other). We have a lot in common with them and we think they make wonderful parents to their two children so will be a wonderful addition to our son's family.

AimeeB
25-11-2006, 20:49
:wave: DS-my best friend and youngest brother,we trust these people and we got married at the same time so my other brother and sister were in our bridal party.
DD1-my sister and DH's nephew(DH's sisters son).Again highly trusted members of our family.Dh's nephew had also just lost his 23 yr old bro in a car accident and he was very honoured to be her godfather as he has no other siblings.
DD2-My other brother and DH's little sister.Yes we are lucky to have so many sisters and brothers between us that it makes sense.These people are all important in our kids lives and if anything ever happened to us our kids would know they had family members and close friend that would help them out.Not sure who will be this next bubs godparents as we've run out of bros and sis's.Might have to double up.DH wanted a couple of his close friends at first but we decided against it as we would rather family.My BF is pretty much a family memeber so she was thee xception to the rule.

Little_Toad
25-11-2006, 21:02
Godfather is a lovely guy I met when I was 21. I've always wanted him to be Godfathher to myy first child.
A good way of always having them a part of your life.

Godmother is DP's ex wife. She's absolutely lovely and they are still good friends. She cried when we asked.
(happy tears obviously)