View Full Version : Any definite names picked out?

Mikeswifey
11-11-2006, 07:41 AM
Has anyone got a definite name picked out for your baby?

We have a absolute definite for a boy, but we are really tossing up between 3 names for a girl. We have a middle name picked out for sure, but just not the first.

With Isabella, we had her name picked out as soon as we found out she was a girl.

Anyone else? :idea:

Rhiannon

FourAngelKisses
11-11-2006, 07:51 AM
I like Gabby, Abbi, Isobelle/a, Claire for girls names. But the ones I really like are Jessica, Jennifer, Jemma.....but I can't have another J name, lol.

I can't decide on a boys name.....I like Joshua and Justin, but then you have that J thing happening again, LOL. DH likes Troy and Chad, but I can't stand either of those.
We love David, but it is FIL's name and it would be too weird having 2 Davids.

Becteria
11-11-2006, 08:01 AM
I like Hendrix for a girl or a boy but more for a boy. My partner wants the boy to have his middle name, Seth. And I want to honour a good friend Aston

So I am thinking at this very early stage Hendrix Aston Seth H.... I dont think there will be many other Hendrix's out there and i could not see a reason for playground taunts when you are named after an absolute legend and genius on three levels!

For a girl i am clueless. I dont think I am having one, this was the same game we palyed with maiky - i had heaps of girls name and only one boys!

Becteria
11-11-2006, 08:03 AM
I like Gabby, Abbi, Isobelle/a, Claire for girls names. But the ones I really like are Jessica, Jennifer, Jemma.....but I can't have another J name, lol.

I can't decide on a boys name.....I like Joshua and Justin, but then you have that J thing happening again, LOL. DH likes Troy and Chad, but I can't stand either of those.
We love David, but it is FIL's name and it would be too weird having 2 Davids.

I can do they J name i like, my hubbby hates it - Jedi. Also, my hubby is a Julian, my niece and two nephews are a jonny josh and jayda and my best friends two kids are too. Jessi and Jarod

I htink you could go for the J you already have hte theme going!

FourAngelKisses
11-11-2006, 08:07 AM
In this family we have.......

William (Bill) James
Jeanette Gail (me)
Jonathon Mark
Bianca Joy
Jacob Bradley
Brooke Jacinta
and Matthew Jon

So lots of B's and J's...really want to avoid both, but moreso the J's.

Becteria
11-11-2006, 08:11 AM
Jeannette, maybe the bubs will feel left out if it doenst get a b or a j, ha ha ha ha

i understand what you are saying it owul dbe hard to name a large fmaily i am having troubles on number 2!!!!!!!!!

Mikeswifey
11-11-2006, 09:48 AM
Well our Definite boys name is

Dylan Jack Aaron (DJ for short)

And me and hubby just decided on a girls name

Mia Kate

My friend Aaron passed in 2001, and I always promised I would have his name as a middle name if I have a son. So we decided originally on Dylan Aaron, but I just thought it didnt sound right and I suggest to DH that we had a J name to make it DJ and so we added Jack and it actually sounds not bad.

Maikysmum I used to be a school nurse and used to look after 2 brothers whos names were Hendrix and Marley. Now I wonder what type of music their parents were into....

Love Rhiannon

TickledPink
11-11-2006, 11:48 AM
our little girl is named:
Lily Louise R....

i have loved the name Lily for a while now, and Ian and I agreed even before i was pregnant (and before ttc) that our little girl (should we have one) would be called Lily.
and we picked louise because we think that it sounds nice with Lily and our last name.

belinda
11-11-2006, 11:59 AM
we have a name picked out
so our little girl is will be named Mia Ann G.....
But if it turns out to be a boy maybe Ethan Scott G.....

but i am sure the names will change by the time she arrives.....

FourAngelKisses
11-11-2006, 12:01 PM
We also like the name Grant for a boy, but our surname starts with He, so it ends up sounding like Grand, lol.

Mikeswifey
11-11-2006, 12:49 PM
Looks like Belinda if we both have girls we will both be having Mia's!:thumbsup:

squiglet
11-11-2006, 06:47 PM
We have had a girls name picked since before conception. But will still be shopping round to make sure it's just right. I'm keeping it a tight lipped seacret though:p

If my little girl turns into a boy I'm going to have a boys name ready to use as well. I just have no idea what it will be..........

Here is my favouite name search place if anyone else would like to take a look.
Names here (http://www.babynamebox.com/n-baby-names.htm)

Bron
11-11-2006, 06:52 PM
Oh names!!

Boys: Hamish, Thomas, Oliver or Samuel with a middle name of Rupert or James.

Girls names - well, there is a "short" list of 10! Hannah, Lucy, Amelia, Caitlin, Chloe, Eloise, Holly, Gretchen, Heidi, Imogen.

I think the preferred ones are Chloe, Eloise and Amelia, but I'm not sure.

Becteria
11-11-2006, 07:25 PM
Rhiannon - wow! I didnt think i would come across another Hendrix, really. I think i like the parents of the kids without meeting - great taste! Marley was on the list but doesnt go well with our last name.

Two Mia's and two Ethans so far!

I dont know any Mia's but my MIL was subtly suggesting it for Maikyra, and her daycare sometiems writes her name Miakyra. Which is cute.

One of my firends has a Mila!

Mikeswifey
11-11-2006, 08:32 PM
My poodle's name is marley because of his black afro lol.

Bron - I love the name Amelia. ONe of my best mates is Amelia and I would be having that name for a girl, but it would be a bit awkward.

Everyone has picked out such pretty and cute names.:thumbsup:

SairBear
12-11-2006, 09:10 AM
Boy: Caleb Nathaniel
Girl: Keira Stephanie

skyejax
12-11-2006, 11:17 AM
for a boy i was tossing up between Ethan, Elijah, Heath and Dante. but for a girl i like Mikaela but dh wants to call her Heather. so that is what she will b.

SammiJane
12-11-2006, 11:45 AM
I thought we had names picked out but now DH keeps changing his mind and adding more to the list:banghead:
So at the moment i have no real idea:laughing:
For a boy i like Daniel Steven but DH swears that we are having a girl so no need for boys names.

Sam xx

Bron
12-11-2006, 11:52 AM
Bron - I love the name Amelia. ONe of my best mates is Amelia and I would be having that name for a girl, but it would be a bit awkward.

I love it too - a beautiful name. I have a friend called Amelia too, so I'm a bit anxious about using it, but she is a friend we see from time to time, rather than a best friend. More thinking required!

wannabemum
12-11-2006, 12:30 PM
Oh names!!

Boys: Hamish, Thomas, Oliver or Samuel with a middle name of Rupert or James.

Girls names - well, there is a "short" list of 10! Hannah, Lucy, Amelia, Caitlin, Chloe, Eloise, Holly, Gretchen, Heidi, Imogen.

I think the preferred ones are Chloe, Eloise and Amelia, but I'm not sure.

PICK HOLLY WOOHOOO :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

~mia&ryan~
12-11-2006, 09:14 PM
And me and hubby just decided on a girls name

Mia Kate

My DD's name is Mia Kathryn and she was an April bub!!! Was going to be Mia Kate (Kate is my middle name) but at the last minute I decided I wanted it to be Kathryn after my ma.:smiliedance: :smiliedance: Great name choice!!!!!

Mikeswifey
13-11-2006, 07:54 AM
Thanks! Great minds think alike then!

Funny you say that because my dad has been telling us to have Mia Kathryn!

I love the name Mia. Its so feminine and pretty.

Cristy
13-11-2006, 08:51 AM
Morning all :wave: ,

For a girl we had picked the names

Lily Evelyn and
Ebony Charlotte,

though it would have been Ebony Charlotte, I was just waiting for hubby-to-be to come round and think that he helped decide when really I already had, he was nearly there too. However we are having a boy so the names so far picked are

Lachlan Edward,
Ashley Edward and
Nicholas Edward,

though I don't really think we will be using Nicholas. Lachlan is definately at the top of the list and hubby-to-be has three quarters come around to that thinking also. So our three initials will be WEH,
CEH (once we get married), and
LEH.

though it does stop the six letters in each name thing we had going LOL :laughing: , to explain both hubby and I have six letters in our first names, middle names, and last names, and i still will once I change my last name:laughing: .

BlakeNatsMum
13-11-2006, 09:24 AM
The great big name debate!..

Oh how I love thee!.. NOT!..

After my mother being here and mentioning to her that we had been told we were having a girl I mentioned a lovely girls name to her that is both very unique and there is only 1 girl that I have ever known of in this lifetime of mine with this name. Well after mentioning to my mother, she wasn't very impressed with it at all and told me to choose something "prettier" and more "common". Something that she had heard of!.. And so, that has pretty much stopped both myself and DF in our tracks with that name. We have other names that we liked as well, but I am not really 100% happy at this point with any of them! So I think the whole 'naming process' will be very long and drawn out. It's not looking too good! :(

Cristy
13-11-2006, 09:47 AM
name her what you and DF want, your Mum and the rest of your families will get very used to the name, and will forget they ever complained about it. My Nana told my Aunt she wasn't allowed to called her daughter Kelly because it wasn't a real name so she called her elizabeth Kelly, but to this day everyone calls her Kelly.

Kaz240
13-11-2006, 12:43 PM
Its your bubs Jen call her what you want, you'll regret it if you don't.... mothers !:rolleyes:

My niece is Anouk and my mother was horrifed. She's use to it now.

My mum has given a cats bum face to a few of my choices which makes me want to use them even more :devil6:

Becteria
13-11-2006, 12:50 PM
I agree with Cristy and kaz, Jen. I ahd the same thing when i mentioned my choices to people. now everyone love maikyra!!!!!!!!!!

go for it!

Mikeswifey
13-11-2006, 12:50 PM
Me and hubby have always liked Britney for a name.

We are big fans of Mrs Spears!

But everyone in our families has begged us not to have Britney, so now we are having the other name we love which is Mia.

But I say go for it. If you want the name, you have it.

Bron
13-11-2006, 02:01 PM
I think it's funny how so many people think they can tell you what you should and shouldn't name your baby. I told a few people at work our list of names I got responses like "eww, Heidi??" or "Nah, I know someone called Hamish and I don't like him" or "I was at school with a girl called Hannah and she was horrid".

Lovely, thanks for that information! I shan't be taking any of it into consideration, but I'm glad you've shared it!! :rolleyes:

It cracks me up how much people think you must care about their opinion!

RoarsomeMum
13-11-2006, 02:09 PM
oh yes, people love to share their opinions!!

Not even UTD yet, but DH and I are very set on names. :D

Aurora Lorraine or Chilali Rose for a girl

Mason or Wilson for a boy, though middle names for the boys still shift a little.

Mum hates both girls names, but i told her, hey, im not a fan of Emma myself, and Ive learnt to live with it:laughing:

FourAngelKisses
13-11-2006, 02:29 PM
though it does stop the six letters in each name thing we had going LOL :laughing: , to explain both hubby and I have six letters in our first names, middle names, and last names, and i still will once I change my last name:laughing: .

Check this out..........

Pete (DH) has 4 letters in his name
Jacob (DS) has 5 letters in his name
Brooke (DD) has 6 letters in her name
Matthew (DS) has 7 letters in his name

I have 8 letters in mine....do you think I need to choose a name with 9? lol

Bron
13-11-2006, 02:32 PM
Hey Jeanette, Bronwyn has seven letters. Lovely name if you have a girl! Ignore the fact that it means "white breasted" though.;) :p

Sorry, just part of my campaign for world domination - step 1 - have everyone named after me. Step 2 - be bossy. Step 3 - still working on that one......

CHARLIEandNOAH
13-11-2006, 02:34 PM
That would be fun angel kisses .. Let's see what 7 letter names people are able to come up with ! :laughing:

FourAngelKisses
13-11-2006, 02:38 PM
lol, thanks, trying to stay away from B and J names though (which is a PITA cause all the nice ones start with B or J).

FourAngelKisses
13-11-2006, 02:39 PM
****, I can't count. Matthew has 7 and I have 8. So I need one with either 3 or 9 letters, lmao.

Mikeswifey
13-11-2006, 02:48 PM
9 letters! Thats hard!

I have 8 letters and thats so long. I dont think I know many people with 9 letter names.

Google search 9 letter names and u will be bound to find some.

FourAngelKisses
13-11-2006, 02:51 PM
DH came up with Nathanial, lol. Don't like it much though, lol.

BlakeNatsMum
13-11-2006, 03:19 PM
I actually like the name Rhiannon myself! Hehehe.. It actually reminds me of the Fleetwood Mac song Rhiannon which is a beautiful song! I like Sarah also which is also a Fleetwood Mac song, but that is a little too common for me!..

Still nothing definite though, I will have to work on DF about names.. He hasn't had the time to say much about names, we have been too flat out like a lizard drinking!.. hehehe.

Jodiee
14-11-2006, 08:36 PM
I think atm we are having a William (Billy), which is DH's fathers name, But Hamish is my name I really want, but its not my choice, I dont name the kids, else they still wouldnt be named, lol, Craig has named them all, and I have so far been happy, so Im sure he will do a great job again!

Mikeswifey
14-11-2006, 08:47 PM
Jen I was named after the song.

Apparently my name was going to be Skye all along, but when I was born Rhiannon was playing in the back ground and dad said "thats it she is going to be called Rhiannon".

Mum was horrified! She never thought she would ever remember how to spell it, but she ended up loving it!

Its a pretty name. I get alot of comments off guys on how pretty it is and how much they love fleetwood mac (not that I care now that I am married but a few years ago I used to love it that boys knew all about my name)!

BlakeNatsMum
15-11-2006, 07:40 AM
Hahah.. AnxiousEm,

I should use that psychology on my mother and tell her, well... I don't exactly like the name she gave me, Jennifer, either! *L* And I have had to live with the crappy name for 29 years! So she can live with what I want to call my daughter! I am lucky, I spoke with my MIL yesterday and mentioned the unique name I had in mind, and she said it was pretty. (unless she said that just to humour me?) :confused: And be polite? *L*

BlakeNatsMum
15-11-2006, 07:46 AM
Rhiannon,

I still love the name! Myself & DF have it on our shortlist of names that we have here. Mind you the list is VERY short, as DF doesn't like anything that I seem to like, and its getting frustrating!!.. He seems set on one particular name and I dont mind it, but it isn't my favourite!.. As having this little girl is a dream come true for me, I want to give her a name I am absolutely 100% happy with!

lizzymcfizzy
15-11-2006, 08:46 AM
though it does stop the six letters in each name thing we had going LOL , to explain both hubby and I have six letters in our first names, middle names, and last names, and i still will once I change my last name:laughing: .

Thats so cool! What a coincidence!

I think it's funny how so many people think they can tell you what you should and shouldn't name your baby. I told a few people at work our list of names I got responses like "eww, Heidi??" or "Nah, I know someone called Hamish and I don't like him" or "I was at school with a girl called Hannah and she was horrid".

Lovely, thanks for that information! I shan't be taking any of it into consideration, but I'm glad you've shared it!! :rolleyes:

It cracks me up how much people think you must care about their opinion!

I reckon! I'd like to not tell anyone in the family our name choices until its born and been named - if I can keep my mouth shut. I could garuntee that whatever we choose won't be liked by everyone (not that I care).

I haven't confirmed it with hubby but we've talked about

girl: Rose (because I like it and want to call her Rosie)
boy: Sean (after his dead uncle)

middle names I don't know yet. Probably William for a boy because its a family name on my side. Girl I have no idea. I asked my mum for a list of family names and she wrote down the name of every single person in the family! :banghead:

Our last name starts with Mc

What about the dilemma of choosing family names then when you have another kid, not having a family name for them? but then if you don't have another kid of the same sex and you don't name the first one the family names, you miss your opportunity.

Do you know what I mean or do I just sound like a loony?

Kaz240
15-11-2006, 09:19 AM
Lizzy - I think Rose is gorgeous - It's on my list also.

Also Grace, Ines, Edith, Adele . The last two being family names if it is Edith I think she will be called Eade or Eadie (not said like Ed but like greed !!!).

So perhaps
Edith Grace Du......
Adele Rose Du.... (my favourite though DP doesn't like Adele but she was my Dad's sister and such a beautiful soul)
Grace Edith Du...
Edith Rose Du .... (sounds like a great grannie LOL!!)

Boys names are sort of easier but I find them dull !
we have the usual suspects... (middle name will be DP's last name which starts with Cal)
Louis Cal.... Du...
Luke or Lucas Cal.... Du...
Patrick Cal.... Du...
William Cal.... Du...

At least we agree that we don't like made up or names spelt strangely eg Dan-yell :eek: - that's a real example BTW. From experience - trust me you don't want to have to repeat and spell your name everytime as has happend to my mother 'Neryl' (god awful name BTW)!
OK I'm :ecomcity:

BlakeNatsMum
15-11-2006, 09:27 AM
Kaz, I know what you mean by the strange mothers names. My mothers name is Edna, and it is a horrible name!.. Even she herself doesnt like it, but my grandmother was Grace, and Grace seems to be coming back into fashion these days.

I like Adele too, I think it's very pretty. Looks like you and your DP are having more luck than what we are, we only have 4 first names so far, and no middle names..! We had decided on our first son's name & middle name within a matter of 2 weeks!.

Kaz240
15-11-2006, 09:35 AM
Oh and Isobel - which was my grandmothers name - nice name not she was not a nice person (aka Ice Queen), my mother is horrifed that I would consider it ! Who cares she went by her middle name Joyce :barf: anyway.

lizzymcfizzy
15-11-2006, 10:11 AM
[FONT=Comic Sans MS]At least we agree that we don't like made up or names spelt strangely eg Dan-yell :eek: - that's a real example BTW. From experience - trust me you don't want to have to repeat and spell your name everytime as has happend to my mother 'Neryl' (god awful name BTW)!
OK I'm :ecomcity:

some pretty names there!

I agree on the spelling stuff too. No strange names for me thanks! Or anything that is "different" but ends up the same as every other kid in their class whos parents have tried to do the same thing.

RE: Neryl yikes! Its not an unusal name but my mums name is Cheryl and she hates it!

Cristy
15-11-2006, 12:45 PM
I like uncommon names but still ones that have been heard of, and the spelling, we both agree on normal traditional spelling as we both have unique spelling and hate having to spell it all the time and redo legal documents sometimes up to three times before its right.

Becteria
16-11-2006, 10:29 AM
I like unusual names also, i changes the correct spelling of maikyras name from makaira i figured noone would know how to spell either so who cares!!!

i am sooooooo stuck on girls names - in a week and a half we will know if i have to start getting the baby name books out!

Jodiee
16-11-2006, 10:47 AM
I know about odd names, I once got told off by this old lady for Ainsley!! Ainsley is an old scottish name by the way, she was like "tsk, tsk, you young ones and your funny names!!".. Ainsley is a family name, I have a cousin, Annan Ainsley, and love it, its my favourite name, and would call all my girls ainsley if I could....lol....

Heay, I have a niece Bacardee Rain, and a nephew Kree.. their sister is Saffire, but they also have a Darren and a Tamarra, so half different, half normal.....lol....

I think we are going with William (Billy)

Ooh, and by the way, I have always loved the name Edna, dont know why, just do...

FourAngelKisses
16-11-2006, 10:52 AM
Ooh, and by the way, I have always loved the name Edna, dont know why, just do...

Reminds me of the teacher on the Simpsons. :o

lizzymcfizzy
16-11-2006, 11:32 AM
9 letters! Thats hard!

I have 8 letters and thats so long. I dont think I know many people with 9 letter names.

Google search 9 letter names and u will be bound to find some.

Elizabeth! :D

Heay, I have a niece Bacardee Rain, no joke, and a nephew Kree.. their sister is Saffire, but they also have a Darren and a Tamarra, so half weird, half normal.....lol....

I remember somebody else telling me about a family member with the name Bacaradee ..... do you know a Natalie C

FourAngelKisses
16-11-2006, 11:34 AM
Elizabeth! :D

lol, that's DH's sisters name.

Jodiee
16-11-2006, 11:43 AM
Lizzy is she from Adelaide, My sisters best friends name is Nat.

Also on the Elizabeth, that is my Lauras middle name, and she pronounces it as Ellillabeff....lol

mamesmumma
16-11-2006, 06:07 PM
way back when...pages ago I agree with Bron about people and their opinions on names. I got told I couldnt name Mame what I wanted because the Kanji meant bad things.

Found out later it was a co-worker of theirs had the kanji that meant mysterious night!!! 1 - how is that bad??? and 2 - why should I care???

My mum told me I cant spell Maya like that as its not normal...but it's a Japanese name as well and thats how its spelt here. Our surname is Japanese and very unique here so Mame will need to 'spell' it in either country. My maiden name is unique and I've always had to spell it so Im used to it. Its close to a normal name so people always spell it wrong even when you are spelling it out to them. Doesnt help its 10 letters long.

We are going with a Japanese and English name, not one that is just one culture's and okay in the other, those often get mutilated in the pronunciation. Lisa=Risa, Tom=Tomu and the stock standard Ken is not okay by me. So for a girl it's Maya and a boy it's Kai.

I wanted Kan for a boy but DH doesnt like our western pronunciation. Mia also works in Japan but I liked Mya from Just shoot me. So that tipped the scale.:D

Mikeswifey
16-11-2006, 06:52 PM
Talking abuot alcohol names, I saw a girl on Judge Judy the other day named

Tequilla Bailey

:eek:

SammiJane
16-11-2006, 07:48 PM
We still only have one boys name picked out.
Girls names we have Sophia, Caitlin, Ashley, Makayla. And the list just gets longer
Sam xx

Mikeswifey
16-11-2006, 07:50 PM
Sam my little cousin is Caitlin, its a lovely name.

BlakeNatsMum
16-11-2006, 08:08 PM
Girls, I must admit my names list seems to be getting longer and longer with no real definite yes's or no's! I think I will get to the stage where it will be so long I won't know what to decide on!.. For some reason I came up with the name Lucy today, which I don't mind. That name has just been added to the never ending list!

lizzymcfizzy
19-11-2006, 08:34 PM
Lizzy is she from Adelaide, My sisters best friends name is Nat.

nah, she lives up the road from me in NSW. Oh well there must be two bicardi's in the world. oh dear!

Also on the Elizabeth, that is my Lauras middle name, and she pronounces it as Ellillabeff....lol

awww thats cute!

SairBear
19-11-2006, 09:02 PM
Girls, I must admit my names list seems to be getting longer and longer with no real definite yes's or no's! I think I will get to the stage where it will be so long I won't know what to decide on!.. For some reason I came up with the name Lucy today, which I don't mind. That name has just been added to the never ending list!

i had soo many names chose out for DD ... i think i narrowed it down to 10 in the end, and Lucy wasnt one of them, them all of a sudden i was bombarded with all these things around me movies i watched characters were lucy, friends new horse was lucy, all these hints towards the name lucy, i took it all as a sign. so in the end LUCY it was! :) im so glad i chose that as her name as its so Lucy :) I love my Lucy hehehe...i always call her lou-lou for short

FourAngelKisses
20-11-2006, 08:43 AM
Shock horror!!!! We actually have one that we both love, LOL. Abby (not sure on spelling yet.) So we have one definate for the list, LOL.

I'd love to know how people with 10 or so kids come up with names....I found it really hard after 2 kids, lol.

lizzymcfizzy
20-11-2006, 09:03 AM
Shock horror!!!! We actually have one that we both love, LOL. Abby (not sure on spelling yet.) So we have one definate for the list, LOL.

hooray!

I'd love to know how people with 10 or so kids come up with names....I found it really hard after 2 kids, lol.

Could do like the hillbilly's from The Simpsons Cletus & Brandiene. Anyone remember that episode where he calls all his kids to eat free pretzels from Marge?

"Tiffany, Heather, Cody, Dylan, Dermot, Jordan, Taylor, Brittany, Wesley, Rumer, Scout, Cassidy, Zoe, Chloe, Max, Hunter, Kendall, Caitlin, Noah, Sasha, Morgan, Kyra, Ian, Lauren, Q-bert, Phil"

:laughing: :laughing:

Mikeswifey
20-11-2006, 10:25 AM
Abby is nice Jeanette. Goodluck with your name search.:yes:

Kaz240
10-01-2007, 08:02 AM
I sent an email yesterday to both DP and my families because everyone is continually asking about name choices - so I jokingly said that DP "likes 'Taneisha, Porsha & Shanieka' and I'm leaning toward 'Esmé, Gladys & Mavis' "

Well they didn't get that it was a joke and the family went into meltdown !!! Must of had about 10 calls last night ! Sheesh :rolleyes:

I hope I didn't offend anyone with those names ... LOL !!!

BTW Still haven't decided on a name !

belinda
10-01-2007, 03:19 PM
ha ha ha ha kaz thats funny hehe....

no offence here hehe

we still like Mia for a girl

but hubby like Liam for a boy

but ds is Luke so does luke and Liam sound funny?

lizzymcfizzy
10-01-2007, 03:39 PM
LOL Kaz! families make me laugh. Mine couldn't work out who "biscuit" was on the xmas cards! even though I put EXPECTING in brackets and they already knew I was expecting! :rolleyes:

Belinda, Liam and Luke don't sound too similiar. Quite nice actually! Might be different if they rhymed but two L's is fine. Does DH's name start with an L?

SammiJane
10-01-2007, 03:39 PM
We have 5 girls names and 4 boys names picked out.
My hubby is still very sure we are having a girl so isnt really worried about boys names. But i made him pick a few just in case.

belinda
10-01-2007, 03:42 PM
oh gosh sam your good we had a hard enough time coming up with just one of each hehe......

lizzy nah hubby is andrew... so no L...

Becteria
10-01-2007, 03:44 PM
Liam and Luke is cute!

Well hubby is a pain in the beee hind, i still love Hendrix ASton Seth and he is not keen, on Hendrix and is putting his foot down on Aston.

Wait and see ladies, wait and see!!!!!

FourAngelKisses
10-01-2007, 04:17 PM
My baby is still nameless, we can't even think of one.

chezbear
18-01-2007, 12:14 PM
my baby is still nameless too im really not sure what to call him i had it set if i was to have a girl but that one back fired on me lol oh well i'll think of something i hope .

IheartOman
18-01-2007, 12:23 PM
my baby is still nameless too im really not sure what to call him i had it set if i was to have a girl but that one back fired on me lol oh well i'll think of something i hope .

:yes: Same, I have a girls name and love it but have been told we're having a boy. We have 2 names "picked" but Im not that keen on them. It's like I hear aname, I think that is nice but then a week later start to question if I like it. This name will be with him forever and I just cant be completely happy with a boys name for some reason. :crying:

ButterflyMama
18-01-2007, 12:27 PM
Our baby is still referred to as "lil miss" or "Squirt". :p

FourAngelKisses
18-01-2007, 12:27 PM
Still nameless........might just call him "hey you", lol.

BlakeNatsMum
18-01-2007, 03:53 PM
We have changed the name of our girl, only the middle name that we were originally going to give her. I wanted something else. The name we chose was nice but I wanted something that I was 100% in love with!..

For a boy should this little girl pop out with extra bits I have a name chosen but DF isnt keen on it and hasn't thought of any other names, so I told him "he" will be named what I have chosen if he hasn't bothered to have any input into the name by the time bubs is born.

Becteria
18-01-2007, 04:10 PM
What happened to Abby Jeanette?

I havent the slightest idea of a girls name!

Hubby likes Brodie, Kaden, Phoenix, Seth and Isiah. But i am not religious at all so its kinda hypocritical.

FourAngelKisses
18-01-2007, 04:12 PM
We love Abby.....it wouldn't suit a boy though, lol.

Becteria
18-01-2007, 04:14 PM
Do you like A names Jeanette? I like Ace, if it wasnt one syllable.

ButterflyMama
18-01-2007, 05:05 PM
CJ and I really like "C" names and "S" names.. I like a lot of Welsh names, actually.

Bec - I love the name Isaiah!

Jessie

Becteria
18-01-2007, 05:15 PM
You can have it because i wont be using it - although i like the name and the sound of it!!!! Save it for the little brother!

Is Caelan Welsh?

BlakeNatsMum
01-02-2007, 07:33 AM
Hi All!.. Now I'm getting annoyed! :mad:

All this time we had pretty much had a name picked out.. For our girl we will have 3 names the last being a tribute to DFs father.

Anyway, I wanted to make sure that I was 100% sure that I was happy with her name and I wanted to love it, if this should be our last child. I would like one more however DF isn't too keen on the idea...

We had a 1st name that was agreed by us both, and a second name. The I got thinking about whether I really wanted that. So then I thought maybe we could change the middle name we chose..

Well after last nights conversation, we have NO name now that we can agree on...:mad:

It is getting just so damn FRUSTRATING! I don't want to get to the hospital and have to have a fight about what we are calling our child. I want her / him should he turn out a he named before I leave that damn hospital!... :banghead:

Anyone else the same with names at the moment?

Becteria
01-02-2007, 07:37 AM
My hubby is keeping mum on whether or not he likes my choices. I guess once its born we will know. i have a few picked out so not going in there blind, i would be stoked with Hendrix or Jedi for his name. My issue is now WHAT IF ITS A GIRL! Argh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FourAngelKisses
01-02-2007, 08:30 AM
Still nameless here. I'm thinking of just going with Hey You right now. :(

BlakeNatsMum
01-02-2007, 08:41 AM
Jeanette, Are there any names that are appealing to you at the moment?.. I can think of a few boys names I like for you, but whether they are any good to you, I don't know. Everyone has different tastes..! When your on MSN I will chat with you about it!.. :)

FourAngelKisses
01-02-2007, 08:53 AM
The only one I truly like is David. All the others are just too weird, too awful, too common, too old fashioned etc.
But we can't have David because that is FIL's name and it will just be too weird having 2 people with the same names.

DH really wants Troy, but I hate it.

lizzymcfizzy
01-02-2007, 10:28 AM
mm yeah I'm not a Troy fan either.

Looks like we have decided on a girls name - Neve. Now for the search for a middle name to go with it!

collyspark
01-02-2007, 10:30 AM
hi girls,

lizzy: neve is a lovely name!

We are going to wait until bubs is born to decide - hubby and i have a couple we love, but we'll wait and see what we feel when we see him.

smiles
01-02-2007, 12:55 PM
I love Neve too..

We've picked Kalani (ka-LAH-nee), but still deciding on a middle name. Maybe Rose.. but I want her to have a special middle name, as Tyreese's middle name is Lohia which means Chief in my mothers language.

I've only told a couple of people our name choice - mixed reaction, one response was, "thats from McLeods Daughters!" pmsl
I don't mind, it's hawaiian for "of the heavens" and we didn't pick it from the tv show cattle station lol

nuddle
01-02-2007, 02:24 PM
this baby is going to be nameless too

BlakeNatsMum
01-02-2007, 03:35 PM
this baby is going to be nameless too

Nuddle: I am glad that I am not the only one who doesn't have a name as yet.. Are you getting as frustrated as what I am??? :banghead: :banghead: Grrr!!!

nuddle
01-02-2007, 03:37 PM
Nuddle: I am glad that I am not the only one who doesn't have a name as yet.. Are you getting as frustrated as what I am??? :banghead: :banghead: Grrr!!! not really yet, as it took us a long time to come up with one for the other two, but it is frustrating...

smiles
01-02-2007, 04:42 PM
just to let you know, we found Ty's name on the internet the day before he was born - it was the first boys name we agreed on.. (good timing huh?!)

FourAngelKisses
01-02-2007, 05:53 PM
just to let you know, we found Ty's name on the internet the day before he was born - it was the first boys name we agreed on.. (good timing huh?!)

Brookes name was decided after 16hrs of labour, lmao.

Kaz240
02-02-2007, 07:19 AM
well I think we have finally decided on name but we are now arguing over whether to give her the formal version of the first name or not ? :banghead:

nuddle
02-02-2007, 07:26 AM
well I think we have finally decided on name but we are now arguing over whether to give her the formal version of the first name or not ? :banghead: lol, thats when we decided on a name for dd, but couldnt agree on the spellilng.....

BlakeNatsMum
02-02-2007, 08:28 AM
lol, thats when we decided on a name for dd, but couldnt agree on the spellilng.....

Well we aren't any further advanced other than to have a complete new name thrown up in the air for DF's approval.. Even then I don't know if we will be having the original first name with an entirely new second name...

nuddle
02-02-2007, 08:32 AM
It will be interesting to see how many of us pick the same name in the end, I have been on two other due in boards, and was surprised there were only ever two girls with the same name.

FourAngelKisses
02-02-2007, 08:33 AM
I've been wondering that too.

Now come on, share so I can pick a name I like, lmao.

nuddle
02-02-2007, 08:34 AM
I've been wondering that too.

Now come on, share so I can pick a name I like, lmao.
lol, I Guess it really doesnt matter, so you want my short list??

FourAngelKisses
02-02-2007, 08:36 AM
lol, no, it's okay, I was just joking.

I should really think up a name seeing as I only have 8.5-10wks left. Decisions decisions!!!

vic_81
02-02-2007, 10:11 AM
Hi!I have to vent my anger, lol. We are in a program at the hospital here where we see the same midwife every check-up (and we have also met her midwife partner in the program)...you get to know them well, and one of the two WILL be there at the birth. It's been great cos they are lovely!!And this morning I found out that the program is over, and now we will be in with big groups of women and wont have any idea what midwife will be there at the birth. Not happy!! (OT - does anyone know why I can't seem to click on any of the smilies?)..need the one with its head banging on the brick wall !!

vic_81
02-02-2007, 10:14 AM
LOL sorry that was very off topic...that was supposed to be posted in the general april 2007 babies thread. hehe, oh well...It's hot and I have pregnant brain :)

BlakeNatsMum
02-02-2007, 10:23 AM
lol, I Guess it really doesnt matter, so you want my short list??

Yep Nuddle... Share!.. I wanna see your shortlist to see if any of your names are on my list! *L* And then I will share... Promise!.. :yes:

Jodiee
02-02-2007, 11:58 AM
wanna see my shortlist??

dunno
No idea
come here
Oy, you
stop that....

thats it, lol....

if you cant name your baby within I think its 3 months, the government will do it for you, think thats what we are going to do....

FourAngelKisses
02-02-2007, 12:00 PM
lol, you've managed to pick the same names as me, lmao.

I didn't know that the government do it for you after 3mths. OMG, I'd better get thinking or the poor boy will end up being named Ezekial or something.

BlakeNatsMum
02-02-2007, 12:05 PM
Gosh I didnt know the Government could do it for ya.. that's a bit scary..! Who would want all little "Johnnies" running around.. I certainly wouldnt!.. :no:

Insaine Laine
02-02-2007, 12:51 PM
I've got afew names picked out but my partner doesn't really like any of them... :banghead: Don't see him coming up with anything..lol

Now just to get hubby to agree to something....

IheartOman
02-02-2007, 01:46 PM
wanna see my shortlist??

dunno
No idea
come here
Oy, you
stop that....

thats it, lol....

if you cant name your baby within I think its 3 months, the government will do it for you, think thats what we are going to do....

HA HA HA LMAO!!!!!! :laughing::laughing::laughing:

squiglet
05-02-2007, 04:08 AM
I sent an email yesterday to both DP and my families because everyone is continually asking about name choices - so I jokingly said that DP "likes 'Taneisha, Porsha & Shanieka' and I'm leaning toward 'Esmé, Gladys & Mavis' "

[COLOR=black]Well they didn't get that it was a joke

I don't tell people my real name choices, but go along the same lines as you.
We pick from Wadsworth (yes a real name!), Norbert, Shadly and Sharonda.

Or a mix of the last 2 is realy original Shadronda :laughing:

I did have a boys and a Girls name picked out. Now I am questioning myself. It's so hard to choose:rolleyes:

FourAngelKisses
08-03-2007, 11:01 AM
I just went and did the rounds of the op-shops and found a book on baby names for Australian babies. Hopefully it will have something nice in it that I haven't thought of yet.

IheartOman
08-03-2007, 11:35 AM
I don't tell people my real name choices, but go along the same lines as you.
We pick from Wadsworth (yes a real name!), Norbert, Shadly and Sharonda.

Or a mix of the last 2 is realy original Shadronda :laughing:

I did have a boys and a Girls name picked out. Now I am questioning myself. It's so hard to choose:rolleyes:

Ha ha ha, I wish I had thought to joke about the names to see peoples reactions! Watcg them squirm as they lie and try to be nice about your name choices! How funny.

SairBear
08-03-2007, 12:24 PM
my BIL & SIL used to kid around saying their babys name would be AGB-after-grog-bog or abraham graham braham:laughing:

nuddle
08-03-2007, 12:33 PM
I just went and did the rounds of the op-shops and found a book on baby names for Australian babies. Hopefully it will have something nice in it that I haven't thought of yet.
hope that helps, dh managed to cull our list to three names last night, so am feeling a bit better about it...

FourAngelKisses
13-03-2007, 08:20 AM
Well, we have a list.....

His list

Troy (don't like)
Chad (hate it)
Richard (doesn't go with the others and I hate the name ****)
Phillip (too old fashioned, both Richard and Phillip are uncles of mine too, lol)
David (love it, but it's FIL's name)
Heath (naaahhhh, not really, lol)

My list

Travis
David
Shannon
Shane

He doesn't like Shannon and Shane....isn't that keen on David as it's his FIL's name. But I think this boy will be named _________ David H***el.

SammiJane
13-03-2007, 10:43 AM
I like Travis, Jeanette...... My brothers name is Shane, there is not many of them around anymore. At least you now have a list!!

FourAngelKisses
13-03-2007, 10:48 AM
Yeah, we just have to agree now. Travis David has a lovely ring to it, lol.

Apparently Matthew is named Matthew because I wanted him to be.....I thought it was something we had both agreed on, but you get that.

ButterflyMama
13-03-2007, 11:47 AM
DH and I really like the idea of naming little miss' middle name after my Oma.. (she's my idol, 89 year old Dutch woman, goes to the gym 5 days a week, climbs trees, gets speeding tickets, nursed my Opa who had Parkinson's Disease for 10 years, worked in the Dutch underground.. the list goes on) but her name, Maria.. does not go with the first name we have chosen (a name we have coincidentally made up and are keeping a surprise til the birth).

So what I'm thinking is.. maybe we can find an alternative to Maria. Like, another form that's close to but not quite. I really like Mae but it doesn't work with our surnname, lol.

Any/all suggestions welcome! The more creative the better.. :yes: Thanks in advance..

Jessie

nuddle
13-03-2007, 01:03 PM
wow Jess, she sounds like an amazing woman.... I was trying to do the same with my Oma, her name was
Anneliese, but was thinking of somehow using her name, but dont like the whole name... just not sure.. dh's grandma was called Annette, so was thinking of Annie, but dont know either lol, we are so hopeless at making decisions..

What about Marie?

SairBear
13-03-2007, 07:59 PM
jess: i gave lucy my grans middle name "mary" did u know that maria is a form of mary..
i got thinking, and this is all i could think of:

mary
marieke ( dutch )
mara
marci

jeanette: yay!! i like all those names u and ur DH have on ur list! Specially Travis

Jodiee
13-03-2007, 08:16 PM
Jess: what about Mia or Maya or even Mayra?? dunno, Im useless..

I like Owen atm, Oliver... ooh, I dont know....

Jeanette, Travis is: :thumbsup:

I also like Mason

Becteria
13-03-2007, 08:27 PM
I like Mason, too Jodie.

Maia, Marnee...

TickledPink
14-03-2007, 04:51 AM
jodie i love the names Owen and Mason too :thumbsup: from me