View Full Version : My Snap machine just arrived
Little_Toad
10-11-2006, 14:34
I bought heaps of snaps and a snap machine the other day and it just arrived.
ITS HUGE!!! I thought it would be about 15 cm big, but its about 40 cm tall and weighs about 5kg.
Let the snapping begin!
Happy snapping Little Toad:thumbsup:
Are you going to be making nappies with snaps?
Little_Toad
10-11-2006, 15:03
Yes - many nappies!
Very excited about making them all.
Got my PUL.
Waiting on my Malden mills fleece , microfibre and lastin.
I was going to use Aplix (velcro) but think the snaps will be quicker.
I think more ppl like the snaps, especially when bubs start trying to take their nappies off! I like the snaps better than velcro. I find velcro snags on other stuff in the wash if you don't stick it down, then you've got to spend time picking out the bits of fluff and cotton woven around all the velcro:mad:
Good luck! I'm sure you've made alot of nappy making mums very jealous:D
I can't even make nappies and I am jeaous!
I want to get one ut I think I might get an overlocker first!
My first reaction wasn't so much jealousy, it was
"Ooh, thinking thinking - I need a plan to make Little_Toad want to be my friend" :D
Little_Toad
10-11-2006, 18:55
Shed, you are welcome to borrow it anytime if you want to come over and get it. (offer open to other Sydney mums too).
I got my snaps from here:
http://www.snapsaustralia.com.au They seamed quite reasonable. Get the size 20 as I have the size 20 die cast.
I expect my napppy supplies will be here hopefully in two weeks, but I need to get heaps of work done on my business before i take time off to makke nappies.
10-11-2006, 19:23
how excitttinnnggg :D Ohhh I will post back the nappy tomorrow btw, its ready to go and I have pics just need to resize them and send them to you!!
Wicked!!
What pattern are you using for your snapped nappies? I think it would be different to the pattern for the Aplix ones?
I use Tea Ladys pattern for my Aplix pockets at the moment.
Little_Toad
10-11-2006, 19:34
I'm doing a "Toad Special"
Charmzy was nice enough to test a mock nappy for me (aplix) so I would know if it was the right size.
I'll just replace the aplix with snaps and put a backing on where the snaps go so the it goes through more than just one layer.
I''ve just cruised the nappy sites to see what the best formation of snaps would be.
Which reminds me.. I now have heaps of Aplix (actual Aplix brand) tape which I wont be needing.
- Thanks also charmzy.
10-11-2006, 19:41
hehe I was happy to test it, it looks GREAT! :D