View Full Version : how much are you going to spend on you lil one this xmas

motherlylove
09-11-2006, 23:34
how much are you going to spend on your lil one this christmas/how many presents????

mum2littleman
09-11-2006, 23:41
last yr DS was exac one month on christmas and i spent about $200 and he has about 40 small gifts and he was alseep while i was opening his gifts so this yr im doing things a little diffrent i spend about $400 but he only has 7 gifts i dont want to scare him however they are big things but i just cant wait to see his face altho next yr will be even bigger he will then understand a lot more about opening things from santa but his going to have a great time with his new toys.:xmas: i cant wait:smiliedance:

Leeny
09-11-2006, 23:42
I have bills comming out my ears and i've just paid a bunch, but i've got a big slide on lay-by for dd which i think was 70 or 80 dollars, and i got a battery car that goes and blows bubbles which was about 50, and then i'll get hew a few little cheap things that'll amuse her.

I do have a big pool on layby but i think im gunna get a refund because with the water restrictions i probably wont even be allowed to fill it up:rolleyes:

BOSS302WMOM
09-11-2006, 23:52
$500 max.....As my DD usually gets something whenever we go shopping and..... for these sort of special occassions especially!.

We are getting a few big things that will come to $300 for the set and $200 between her and the new addition in small gifts and stocking fillers.

We have a policy in our family that X mas is for the little one's so it gives you more to spend when you leave the adults out and only buy for their kids(I have 3 little siblings under 11)

DD's first we went OVERBOARD by alot of money so this time we will not be spending as much as she has enough and we have run out of room to put it:rolleyes:

Ana Gram
10-11-2006, 00:10
$40 for two presents and that is going overboard for me.

~Chick79~
10-11-2006, 06:41
we have only spent $50 on each (and that is only one toy each!!!) and that is not because we are mean but because we know both of our families go overboard with presents!

jade21887
10-11-2006, 06:43
Ive spent about $100 on each. Went nuts at the toy sales, so they have a heap of presents for that amount.

Nickster
10-11-2006, 06:49
Probably only about $100 - on about 3 items - and it was all bought a couple of months ago at the toy sales. DD is still so little I don't see much point buying too many presents, she gets so many from her grandparents, uncle, big brothers, etc - and she has a birthday in early December too!

EskimoMumma
10-11-2006, 06:55
Ive already spent 500. And about to spend more :eek: (this is both children)

Boomerang
10-11-2006, 07:14
We purchase one overly expensive item for all to share and one mildly expensive gift for each child at christmas time.

The rule being if the 'share' gift is damaged or fought over there is no share the following year.
(this year it's a computer upgrade for all, 2 want new ipods, one wants a mobile :rolleyes: and thankfully one is still too young to care)

Everything else is purchased during sales througout the year and stored in the garage, they usually get about half to a dozen 'sale' parcels to un wrap each. Family usually buys the 'IN THING' at christmas time so we can get away with the out of fashion toys without getting the daggy mum look lol

elissas
10-11-2006, 07:18
I've spent around $60, on 2 bigger pressies and a few little ones. He's going to get lots of pressies from family, being the only grandchild & nephew on both sides, so we don't need to spend a lot.

It's also his first birthday on Boxing Day, so I've spent about $50 for his birthday pressies too.

subaruforestermum
10-11-2006, 07:26
Last year he was 6 months at christmas, so we bought him so many toys.........and he still has trouble playing with them all.....lol.....

He has so many toys that Im actually at a loss as to what to get him, he is at the stage where he prefers the empty cartons etc......

So this year I think $100 will even be too much, but I have it set aside just in case.........cos I like the look of all the pressies under the tree......:tree:

Cupcake
10-11-2006, 07:28
I never set an amount but I usually just get her 1 thing, she is only 2 & not at all interested in opening gifts.

~mia&ryan~
10-11-2006, 07:42
Hmmm I have lost count!!!!!:reindeer: Probably around $300 so far, I guess......

I just keep buying things!!! Can't wait until christmas it's my favourite time of year!!
:xmas: :tree: :xmas:

sexy_minx
10-11-2006, 07:48
Hes birthday was just on oct 25th we spend $300 and around $380 on xmas thats got a laptop ( a kiddies one) a bike so a few big things but **** with my mum and sister thay got money comen outa there butts and spend so much on him ill need a biger house by time xmas come will be a good day tho:reindeer:

MajesticMumma
10-11-2006, 08:37
we have spent about $300 but thats on xmas and birthday we wanted that out of the way because bubs is due the month after rys bday he got a 4x4 ride in car and a tool set and some knick nacks and some tonka trucks, i dont think we done too bad but next year im making it a point to spend $150 on each

werdxela
10-11-2006, 09:14
i spend $150 on them each. The $200 to buy them something they can share.

ThomasMum
10-11-2006, 09:16
Not much, but since we are going to UK this Xmas my family can buy our Tom more pressies :laughing:

*Country Bumpkin*
10-11-2006, 09:17
So far Ive spent $120 and Im about to go out and buy more. DD will only be 4months old christmas eve. But Im bying her some things that she can use when shes 6m otherwise Ill just have to go out and buy them later anyway

kiwibird27
10-11-2006, 09:20
About $50 - $100 max, how can anyone afford to spend more, Xmas could send u broke for the rest of the year if u let it!!!!!

What do u remember most about your Xmas's as a child, the presents, or the people and activities around????

10-11-2006, 09:21
We've spent close to $200 each on toys and still yet to buy clothes.

We have also bought them 2 joint presents. A trampoline with the net barrier around it and a bigger pool this year.

maartysmum
10-11-2006, 09:21
I'm a toy sale junkie too, I think I spent about $200 but got about 6 major pressies, my boys bday is just after christmas too so I had to make sure I kept some pressies for Christmas and then some for his bday...

SassyDiva
10-11-2006, 09:24
I dont give myself a $$$ limit.. I get what I think is suitable for the age of my child.

I like to go biserk at Christmas time, but the last thing I would want to a child who expects the world.. so it's not the cost/size of the gift that matters to me.. it's more about the thought that goes into it :tree:

~mia&ryan~
10-11-2006, 09:35
About $50 - $100 max, how can anyone afford to spend more, Xmas could send u broke for the rest of the year if u let it!!!!!

What do u remember most about your Xmas's as a child, the presents, or the people and activities around????

I agree, christmas can get very expensive. We only spend what we can afford, never use credit etc. We put money away each week so we can go all out at christmas. It is the one time of year that we really go all out. :yes: Yes who you spend it with is important, but I love the way we celebrate it wouldn't have it any other way!
:wizard: Oh and btw yep I do remember my presents, all of them! HAHA

*~alegna~*
10-11-2006, 09:52
Ohhh Christmas!!!...Stresses me out. :xmas:

This is DS's 1st one & we're going to my Ma's place in Syd so we've been giving him little things now & we'll just take one little thing to put under the tree for him on the day. As he'll be only 6 months old, & won't know whats going one...We're being sensible..I think.

I think all up we've spent maybe $200 on him:yes:

Everyone else gets a budget of $25 single & $50 couple. If I can get it for under I will.

FourAngelKisses
10-11-2006, 09:54

I agree. We spend $100 per child maximum, but that is still $300 we have to find, plus a bit more for Brookes birthday the previous day. For birthdays, we have a $70 limit, so we allow a little more at Christmas.
For those who are spending between $2-300, do you still plan on doing that when you have 3-4 kids??

It isn't about the presents, it's about the loving and caring. The toys always get lost, broken or forgotten, but the memories of the togetherness remain.

*~alegna~*
10-11-2006, 09:57
I agree. We spend $100 per child maximum, but that is still $300 we have to find, plus a bit more for Brookes birthday the previous day. For birthdays, we have a $70 limit, so we allow a little more at Christmas.
For those who are spending between $2-300, do you still plan on doing that when you have 3-4 kids??

It isn't about the presents, it's about the loving and caring.

:no: We only plan on having 2 & next yr won't be as much..obviously because :fingerscrossed: they'll be 2 or atleast #2 cookin. It's his 1st Christmas I we did buy practical things. eg Playmat etc

I see what your saying though re: Loveing & Caring & totally agree

RoarsomeMum
10-11-2006, 09:59
bout $370, and thats on our Jay dog.. Heaven help our bank accounts when we do manage to get UTD :o

10-11-2006, 10:00

It isn't about the presents, it's about the loving and caring.

I spend that much every year.. I can't help myself. I like them seeing alot of presents under the tree even though when we go to the family lunch we need a trailor to cart the presents home :o Big family i guess.

I agree, it's not about the presents at all.. it's just me and my stupid addiction to shopping, but we can afford it so it really doesn't matter. The kids know i love them regardless if they have 1 present or 98784765432089 presents.

FourAngelKisses
10-11-2006, 10:00
I see what your saying though re: Loveing & Caring & totally agree

Oh good, I didn't want to come across like I was having a go at anyone. Just that I think if the kids always get lots of things or big things, they expect the same each year, if not better....KWIM?? And uuhhh.....no way could I afford to spend that much per child if I have 3-4 kids.

*~alegna~*
10-11-2006, 10:22
Oh good, I didn't want to come across like I was having a go at anyone. Just that I think if the kids always get lots of things or big things, they expect the same each year, if not better....KWIM?? And uuhhh.....no way could I afford to spend that much per child if I have 3-4 kids.

I am the oldest of 4 with a single parent. We never got much at all but still had a wonderful Christmas..We used to live 20km outta Cowra on a property so we'd just run all day...I understand totally.

I want my babies to be the same, I'm not a $$ orientated person at all (Can be my downfall sometimes):rolleyes:

*Chels*
10-11-2006, 10:39
I put heaps of toys on layby at the Kmart sale.Riley had his 1st bday a few weeks ago and he got soooooooo much stuff!!
Now I really regret buying him so much coz at xmas hes going to have sooooooooo many toys,and theres just no point!!He hardly plays with them!!
My mum buys all his clothes so at least i dont have to worry bout that.I think I might just ask for some outdoor play equipment from family for him coz then at least he can use it for years!
Anyway I spent $250 for both xmas and birthday this year.

FourAngelKisses
10-11-2006, 10:43
My mum buys all his clothes so at least i dont have to worry bout that.I think I might just ask for some outdoor play equipment from family for him coz then at least he can use it for years!
Anyway I spent $250 for both xmas and birthday this year.

I was going to ask the inlaws to get the kids new sheets or jammies or something this year.....something with Bardie and Buzz or someone on them.

my_lot
10-11-2006, 10:52

we have 4 kids to buy for and one on the way.

ive spent about $2000 on the three little ones. (buying through the year and then getting the "really want" things at toy sales"

i asked 15yr old dsd the other day what she wanted this xmas and said shed like gift vouchers this year. we will give her about $500 in vouchers for a music store and coles/myers.

we have spent about $150 on fisher price toys for the new baby.

the three little ones get more than dsd as she has a mum and step dad to buy for her as well. also they are younger and still have the thrill of opening heaps.

we have no family to buy for our kids, so i cant "leave it for the family" as alot do. we also have b/days close to xmas so they arent going to get more half way through the year.

we love telling them to pick one special thing before xmas to ask santa for then get them most of the things they really wanted. they dont expect it and they are so excited.

as for the toys breaking and getting lost bit. we have storage containers for all the toys. polly pockets in one box, bratz or barbie things in another, buzz toys in one box cars in another. each boardgame and jigsaw puzzle has a "zip lock" bag for its pieces. we have a rule one toy box out at a time per child and packed up when finished. we have always used these storage boxes so they know no different. even visitors kids know our storage box rule..it works very well. we dont have bits missing off games or toy boxes full of odds and ends..

and this sells very well at a garage sale when the kids do out grow things. toys with all their bits and even boxes and instructions will sell for alot more. we made nearly $1000 in one morning at our garage sale a few years back.

~mia&ryan~
10-11-2006, 17:13

:yes: We do! We plan on having 3 kids and are going to be doing the same for all of them. We plan EVERYTHING heaps in advance and start saving for christmas as soon as the previous one is over.

This is the way it has always been in DF's family. Their parents still spend that much on each of us at christmas.:)

BTW I didn't think anyone was being mean or anything. Just making the extremely valid point thats its about the people who are around you not the gifts:D

tootiredtosleep
10-11-2006, 23:14
I will spend around $300 I think.
I only plan on having one more child and will probably then spend $300 on both.

Chub Chub
12-11-2006, 15:31
I bought 18 month old DD a second hand bike ($60) and a helmet. She also has 1 pair of boardies, tshirt and thongs and a new swimsuit....that is it! I plan as she gets older to get 1 major 'want' present and then a few little things such as colouring in books etc but really don't plan on going OTT.

12-11-2006, 15:47
We will spend about $500 for both of them - $100 of that is a slippery dip. I think that's a little too much - but I lay-byed everything in July so have managed to afford it. Plus we only have 1 neice, so we will spend about $50 on pressies for her, it's not like we have 12 other kids to buy for :eek:

~MUMMY~
12-11-2006, 17:00
we cant even put a ammount down but its hundreds each year.... and seeing my babe is the only kid in my whole family and the one and only grandchild and also the boy that his grandparents always wanted but never got themselves. he gets spoilt rotten...

so far i havnt actually brought anything but me and my man are going shopping next week for him with a budget of $500 put aside already in my account and not including the $500 he is spending on a puppy for my son.

christmas is the GREATEST time of the year...

Mikeswifey
12-11-2006, 17:03
We are prob spending a couple of hundred.

Last year we spent about $500 for her 1st xmas. She was 6 months old. She didnt even know whats going on.

This year she will be 18 months.

I think next year when she knows exactly whats happening, we will spend more.

12-11-2006, 17:22
We spend upwards of $350 on MJ, thats what its about in our house. Its annual gift tree day :tree:

12-11-2006, 17:24
around 300ish

rynosmum
12-11-2006, 17:29
Wow!

DS is almost 2 and a half and we don't buy that many presents anymore because he just has WAY too many toys already. I have bought about $70 worth of things for him - paints, gardening tools, crayons etc. All of these were through a fundraising booklet as his childcare.

He'll get presents from others as well - he'll be more than happy.:thumbsup: In fact, just spending a day with his extended family and lots of yummy food will make his day.:tree:

sugar n spice
12-11-2006, 18:18
we spend $100 that is two gifts each one from santa and one from us and then they get a ton of things from everyone else aswell. ive already had to get rid of a box of toys to make way for xmas.

i love all the presents under the tree though,

HugsAndKisses
12-11-2006, 18:30
its been an interesting read this thread:yes:

im excited about christmas and i remeber last year ds was only around 6 months and he had no idea wat was going on lol and we spent over $200.
this year we have bought him two big boxes of duplo lego worth $80 and were buying him a trike $160 and may buy afew little gifts. maybe thats too much but i dont mind going without gifts for me and other family cause for me seeing my sons face light up this year will be so nice as i think he'll understand alot more :xmas:

12-11-2006, 21:51
To date we have spent about $250 per child + they are getting a trampoline (boys joing pres) and coupe car (girls joint pres) as a joint present. I keep telling myself I've finished and then keep finding more things to buy :S

meli
13-11-2006, 14:14
I Think I will try and make sure I stick to $200 for DD, that is also our limit for DH & I.

But I might go over because I want to get her a single swing set, and I feel bad if her only gifts are actually things I am buying to be used with future children aswell.