View Full Version : Do you get a present for DP/DH/DF?
Little Gorilla
09-11-2006, 22:57
This year me and DF have decided not to do pressies for each other, other than a little something for bub to give to each of us ie pair of socks, some chocolate.
Do you and your partner do big pressies for each other...or just little things for the kids to feel special giving you something?
Of course...I wouldn't complain if he went and got me the diamond earings I've been wanting for years lol...but the real joy I get on chrissie morning is watching bub open all his stuff.
:reindeer: :tree: :wizard:
man...I'm addicted to these new smilies...
Depends on money.. last year we were going for a trip to Sydney so we decided not to do gifts, the year before we did little things that we wanted, but otherwise we don't really do gifts for most occasions, including birthdays.. maybe something small but never overboard.
My best Birthday present was last years when we simply went for dinner and a movie :)
This Christmas I'll probably buy him something from Cobey.. however I do doubt that he'll have the foresight to do the same :p
We get presents for each other - always.
We decided early on that no member of our family is less or more important than any other members. So children and adults are equally important.
Which means that everyone gets presents.
Santa visits the children & mum and dad and we all give presents to each other. Generally speaking the adult presents have about the same value as the childrens presents. (We aren't extravagant).
With us it is about the giving and the recieving more than the actual content and value of the present.
last yr we went all out as it was the last time we could before bub came, now ds is here i would much rather have the money spent on him so we spend about $30 on each other
09-11-2006, 23:49
We only spend about $50 maximum on each other if we havent already bought something say for the house etc but we spend a little more on Boof say around $100 this is his second Christmas though so it will be interesting to see whether DP thinks to get me something from him lol. I usually get him something cute from Boof like the first Christmas i got a nice frame with one of his first piccies to have on his desk at work & then on his birthday i got him a "super dad" keyring that has a photo in it. Shame DP never has those ideas lol.
melbabie
09-11-2006, 23:54
ever since the kids have come we buy something for the house or something we need that is what we do for Christmas. then we give no more then $50 to buy a present for each other.
~mia&ryan~
10-11-2006, 20:52
Yep we always buy for each other. We get a couple of big pressies and then some little things cd, dvd, slippers lollies etc in the christmas stockings. DF is a great pressie buyer, I have never had to tell him what I want he always comes up with it himself (and I always love it!).
No idea what I am getting this year :detective: all my snooping still hasn't unearthed anything!!! LOL
We also buy for birthdays, anniversaries, valentines day etc. I just love giving gifts!!!
:reindeer: :tree: :reindeer:
I do!!
I love giving gifts :thumbsup:
Briannabear
10-11-2006, 20:59
We havent always bought for each other. Depends how cashed up we are on that particular year.
We are doing it this year and Im so excited!!
Ive bought DH and 12 string guitar (second hand)! :D :smiliedance:
We don't usually buy presents for each other. Birthday's at our place are usually brekkie in bed or going out to lunch followed by a birthday cake. I don't ever need anything, don't have room to store collectable type stuff and would rather spend the money on paying off our house. This Christmas the only present I want is a sleep in!
:reindeer: :tree: :reindeer:
we always do but nothing major. Last year we got each other small things and bought a joint present of a chest freezer. This year i have bought dDH the glass house dvd and the thank god youre here dvd. Will probably see some stocking fillers too. have to ssay though more thought goes into his than into mine :tree: :tree: :tree: :tree:
tootiredtosleep
10-11-2006, 21:30
I will be buying DH new shoes and expecting something from him. I love seeing what he comes up with every year!
DF and i buy pressies for each other but that will probably stop when we manage to have a bub, Last year I got him 2 big framed Ford pictures (hard for me to pick since Im a holden girl lol) and this year all he wanted was a Robosapien V2 so thats what hes getting but im going to be sneaky and give him either the batteries in the morning and pretend thats all hes getting or give hime the robosapien and act as if i didnt get the batteries and make him wait all day before he can play with it :yelclap:
as for me I have no idea what it will be cant wish for the proposal already got that.
:hugs: sorry fot the long reply
:xmas:
subaruforestermum
11-11-2006, 20:49
We usually do, and it is usually jewellery, 2 years ago he got a diamond ring, and I got a gold ruby & diamond bracelet:smiliedance: ........that was when we didnt have a child though......
Last year we got each other jewellery, but bub was only 6 months, so wasnt really into the whole gifts and stuff, this year, we have decided not to do expensive gifts for each other, only something small, and something from our son........although it is my birthday on christmas day, so I will get an expensive jewellery gift anyway:laughing:.....
Once you have kids, its mainly about them I think until they are older..IYKWIM.......just MO
:wave: We don't do Valentines and only go for dinner on Anniveraries.For fathers/mothers day we will get a card and a little trinket from the kids(Zane makes stuff at preschool)But for bday and Chrissy we buy without spending heaps.DH's bday is 5 days before Christamas so when he has wanted somethig more expensive it's a combined pressie and just a little something on the day.He reckons the best pressie is a couple of hours to himself:laughing: I usually buy things that he needs anyway,like this year he needs new shoes(usually only wears from the surf shop)so I will get him those they last for a long time and these are his main shoes so I am happy to pay the money.We don't just buy things the other won't use/need.I just loooove Chrissy though and although we are usually borderline broke at the end I enjoy the whole shopping,spending process at Christmas time:xmas:
missmum05
11-11-2006, 21:02
We don't usually buy prezzies for each other. dipense on how much money we have. last few yrs we had a very tight budget as we were saving for our house so we didnt do any prezzies. this year I am not to sure as yet. Maybe we will buy a combined prezzie we both want for the house:D
We usually buy each other presents.
Although DF got his early this year - A new computer (Which we both use so I assume its going to be mine too :p). Although we will be in Perth so he will probably get some new clothes or something.
We dont worry about Anniversarys though.
we do buy presents for eachother but i put more effort in to his. i am so easy to buy for too! well i think so anyway.. i love all the keepsake sorta things.. nothing expensive.. just unique little things..
when we had dd#2 i whinged and whinged for him to take the kids out the back to do a painting for me.. he ended up doing it christmas eve i think :rolleyes: :laughing: but it was really cute. ended up in a huge frame with a pic of the girls in the middle..
best pressie ever!!!
this year im buying my own present.. new doona & doona cover!! :smiliedance:
12-11-2006, 17:23
We spend about $200 each on each other, & more than twice that on MJ ofcourse.
12-11-2006, 21:53
Yes we get presents for each other, I cant imagine not buying him something! :o Hes the love of my life, I have to give him something special on such a warm and fuzzy day lol
this is my first christmas with my man.
and we've been hinting to one another about things we want and budgets and stuff... its come down to one big present each (hoping he will buy me a complete 4 foot fish tank set up.) and seeing i got his name aswell in the family secret santa thing i have to buy another to the value of $50 bucks and seeing his birthday and it is the big 40 is right after christmas (28th) he gets another HUGE present !!!
were not going to beable to find the :tree: amongst all the presents this year.
Yes ... :tree:
Ths year I got him a table tennis table and clothes, shoes etc Lots of small things too. :thumbsup: Christmas is a huge deal in our family :angel: and my DH missed out when he was growing up so its a big deal to him too.:reindeer: