View Full Version : Cloth for Beginners
09-11-2006, 18:59
There was a thread here a while ago - I've just tried looking for it but I cant find it. I'm just wondering where the best place to start would be when looking at using cloth.
I'm not due til May (yeah - starting early LOL) but I'd like to start slowly stockpiling my collection up until bub makes his/her appearance!
I've got the link for Eenee Eco, but everyone is always talking about Greenkids and all these other ones which have gone straight over top!
Is there a good place to start? Or just buy up and hope for the best?
speaking from personal experience, I bought a couple of greenkids then bought a couple of this one and that one and ended up preferring the greenkids so got rid of the others.
Since you have got a while to figure it all out, if I was you I would come along to the meets and get the clothies to SHOW you different ones.
the problem with cloth is that on newborns they are so bulky and it can be tricky. After a couple of weeks it all seems to fall into place a bit more because the bulk is not such a problem.
If you can see different nappies on different aged butts it might help you see what you prefer before bubs comes along.
ive just started using them on my 8 week old bub. I have 6 pea pods from www.peapods.com.au. they are a little cheaper than alot of others but they work well for my bub both at night and day. Ive also orded greenkids to try and baby beehinds aswell. I orded a couple of beaut bots off ebay but they dont work for us. Its just trial and error really. Theres ALOT out there and a lot of diff sites.
09-11-2006, 19:11
the problem with cloth is that on newborns they are so bulky and it can be tricky. After a couple of weeks it all seems to fall into place a bit more because the bulk is not such a problem.
I was actually wondering this - I mean I dont know how big or small my bub will be - or how quickly he or she will grow. I was actually thinking that I either;
a) buy stuff before and possibly not use some of it; OR
b) wait and use sposies to begin with :mad: and then buy the clothies with the bonus $...
I want to use cloth cause of the environmental factor - so if I use sposies first then I want to make sure that they're at least biodegradable; and so far I've only seen two brands that are! :confused:
09-11-2006, 19:12
:wave: Hi Ally & welcome to the world of Cloth. Shed's suggestion of checking out what some of the other cloth mum's have is a great idea.
I do love my green kids though :)
I love peapods and greenkids, but I have not used them on a newborn... also, love raphaels from cherubskiss but they need a cover and additional boosting if ur gonna put clothes over them:yes: (DD does not need covers as she is almost fully toilet trained and does not wet much in nappies)
for future bubs I will be using peapods and greenkids and hopefully get some Honeyboy all in ones:D
pockets- ie greenkids and peapods to me are the easiest you just pop in an insert or two and away you go! and they are waterproof and very adjustable(peapods are sized, greenkids are one size fits all/most) I just wash all mine then put the inserts in straight off the line and then into the nappy stacker, soo soo easy!
09-11-2006, 19:14
ive just started using them on my 8 week old bub
Have you found them to be too bulky to begin with? Or do you think 8 weeks is a good age to start in the clothies?
09-11-2006, 19:14
b) wait and use sposies to begin with :mad: and then buy the clothies with the bonus $...
I want to use cloth cause of the environmental factor - so if I use sposies first then I want to make sure that they're at least biodegradable; and so far I've only seen two brands that are! :confused:
I have used the biodegradable babylove on Ella. Not impressed. They aren't overly absorbant.
Why not just use traditional terry flats on your newborn bubba then as he/she grows you can start trying styles on bub that suit. KWIM?
09-11-2006, 19:19
pockets- ie greenkids and peapods to me are the easiest you just pop in an insert or two and away you go! and they are waterproof and very adjustable(peapods are sized, greenkids are one size fits all/most) I just wash all mine then put the inserts in straight off the line and then into the nappy stacker, soo soo easy!
I think that the pockets are going to be the best way to go for me. At least you can also use them easily when your out too. Are the greenkids and peapods okay to go in a cool clothes dryer? We live in a unit and there is NO such thing as sunshine :rolleyes:
Poshbecks - thats a good idea about just using the terry flats as a newborn. Stupid me hadn't even thought of being basic! LOL
Have you found them to be too bulky to begin with? Or do you think 8 weeks is a good age to start in the clothies?
I didnt find them bulky at all yet they last him 13 hrs at night. At 8 weeks he is only 8lb10oz so really only a standard size bub and hes really skinny lol. here a pic of him with his night time one.
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/bubby019.jpg
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/bubby021.jpg
09-11-2006, 19:20
Yep sure are Ally. You can pop them in on warm just not hot.
I think that the pockets are going to be the best way to go for me. At least you can also use them easily when your out too. Are the greenkids and peapods okay to go in a cool clothes dryer? We live in a unit and there is NO such thing as sunshine :rolleyes:
yup you can put them in a dryer
09-11-2006, 19:22
Awww what a little cutie! So thats the peapod, right?
All these names are making my headspin! LOL
GK's are dryer safe!:thumbsup:
I would do what PB suggested, buy some terry flats to start with and trial others after he/she is born.
I am in the process of making all my terry flats into inserts for my pockets, I put 3 layers of microfibre in between 1 layer of terry.
yep thats the pea pod stuffed with hemp insert & microfibre insert :thumbsup:
I think that the pockets are going to be the best way to go for me. At least you can also use them easily when your out too.
Are the greenkids and peapods okay to go in a cool clothes dryer? We live in a unit and there is NO such thing as sunshine :rolleyes:
they will be fine in dryer on a low setting:yes: the actual nappies dry really quickly anyway but the inserts take a little bit longer- thats why I have more inserts than nappies so I always have some to use and heaps of liners too(DD has pooed without the liners a couple of times and they have not stained at all:thumbsup: but lil baby poo is a bit worse lol)
09-11-2006, 19:26
You can always invest in some Green Kids & if they are too bulky on your bubba to begin with just use them as a cover !
Sasha from GK's advised me that they should be fine on a newborn because Ruth ( also from GK's ) had used them on her lo from birth otherwise she advised to grab something like the Raphaels from Cherubs Kiss or BBH's then use the GK's as the cover. Not that i love GK's or anything :p
Ive already started stock piling for the next bub so dont worry i dont think you can start too early :p
If you come to the meet you can harass myself, Shed or a few others to show off our stash ! Let me know if you are coming & i can also bring my Cherubs Kiss !
09-11-2006, 19:27
Thats good to know that they'll be alright in the dryer. Thanks for your help ladies!
So, would it be fair to say that most hubbers tend to agree that GreenKids are the cream of the crop when it comes to pockets?
I've already got a funny look from a friend when I told her that I was going to use cloth. She looked at me like I had something smeared across my face and asked if they still existed!
You can always invest in some Green Kids & if they are too bulky on your bubba to begin with just use them as a cover !
Sasha from GK's advised me that they should be fine on a newborn because Ruth ( also from GK's ) had used them on her lo from birth otherwise she advised to grab something like the Raphaels from Cherubs Kiss or BBH's then use the GK's as the cover. Not that i love GK's or anything :p
he he thats what I plan on doing with my newborn raphaels there sooo tiny and cute:D
Greenkids are fantastic! the peapods are good for older bubs that can undo the velcro on the greenkids :rolleyes:
So, would it be fair to say that most hubbers tend to agree that GreenKids are the cream of the crop when it comes to pockets
ill let you know when i get mine tomorrow hopfully :yes:
09-11-2006, 19:30
I've found a website for the GK's, but is there one for the Raphaels?
The eenies newborn snib might be the go if you don;t want to start out in sposies.
Stellarella used these I think.
I've found a website for the GK's, but is there one for the Raphaels?
www.cherubskiss.com.au
sign their mailing list there a little bit hard to get as they are soo popular!
lol zarasmum we posted at same time:D
09-11-2006, 19:32
So, would it be fair to say that most hubbers tend to agree that GreenKids are the cream of the crop when it comes to pockets?
I would say that :D Sandra's Stuffables are just as good but her store is closed for a while.
lucky you've got ages if you want anything from Cherubs Kiss, LOL. Bit hard to come by they are.
www.bitsforbots.com are lovely nappies, very similar to greenkids and fit the inserts.
BBH have a 3 week wait so i orded them from another site, getting them in a few days now hehe :D
09-11-2006, 19:36
Okay - this might be a stupid question... tell me - please! Can you put clothes on over top of these? My bub is going to be born just before winter, and I dont want his/her little legs getting chilly!
yes you can fit clothes. thats the good thing about pockets too they can be trim as u want
Okay - this might be a stupid question... tell me - please! Can you put clothes on over top of these? My bub is going to be born just before winter, and I dont want his/her little legs getting chilly!
:p yes you can
09-11-2006, 19:44
Oh Good. Phew! LOL. I'm loving those Cherubs Kiss pockets - they're so cute! Your right Allyoo - the Raphaels are a bit more trim so would be great for a nb. I think I'll invest in a couple of them, maybe a few Eenies and will wait and get the GK's after the baby bonus $ come thru.
Thanks for all your help ladies! We need to make a 'sticky' thread for all these 'silly' questions that us newbies to cloth are going to ask :o
~Chick79~
09-11-2006, 19:51
Hi Ally :wave:
I used cloth on DS2 right from when we returned home from hospital!
My nappy stash consists of two brands of MCN - Green kids & baby Beehinds!
DS2 mainly wears the BB bamboo fitteds (these require a cover over top) as I am still trying to get the stuffing right in my GK (but I still use them as a cover!). On DS1 however he really only wears GKs throughout the day and a BBB (Baby Beehinds Bamboo) overnight....
What you could do is buy some trial packs of different nappies and well once bub has come along and you have tried some then spend up with some bonus $$
Be warned.... this is very addictive and you will soon discover you can never have too many nappies!! :laughing: :laughing:
Duchessa
09-11-2006, 19:52
Nappies Covered nappies rock too - the ones you buy already sewn are really well made and a great design. They are better than any nappies I've used and the same size works for little babies up to 14 kgs!
09-11-2006, 19:56
Yes, but I find that I need to buy a size bigger to cover the bum. I think most baby clothes are designed for disposable nappies.
09-11-2006, 20:10
Ally another piece of advice if you want some Cherubs Kiss Raphaels or even the Honeyboys then email Lesley now because she can then have you on the waiting list which means she can have a batch done for your bubbas arrival ! The more time you give her the more chance you have of getting them :D
Oh & on the size issue with clothes i guess ive had no worries because Boof being a big boy has meant we have always had bigger sizes on him so no dramas with the nappies fitting. I find that it helps Boof because he isnt chubby enough to hold up the bigger sizes but needs them for the length so the nappy holds his pants up hehehe !
09-11-2006, 20:13
Wow - do they seriously take THAT long?
I really better get my backside into gear.. and to think that I'm only 11wks!
09-11-2006, 20:22
Its not necessarily that they take that long but Lesley now has 4 kiddies & she has to make all the nappies herself as they are a copyrighted pattern meaning she cant even get someone else to help out with bits & pieces.
So she tried to make up a load to sell of in drips & drabs throughout the weeks but im sure there are times due to family she doesnt get to make as many as required.
But giving her enough time in regards to a new arrival means your more than likely able to get what you want when you want iykwim cause everybody & i mean everybody wants her nappies they are just to die for !
09-11-2006, 20:26
Oh - so she is a WAHM? Wow - well then I'm well and truly happy to support her business! I was just thinking it was some kind of major business... Sheesh - Getting a bit ahead of myself! LOL
09-11-2006, 20:30
Nope both Cherubs Kiss & Green Kids are WAHM's proudly aussie :thumbsup:
Lesley is in Brissie, Sasha & Ruth are in W.A :D
the raphaels from cherubskiss are just gorgeous!! definately worth any wait!! I think Lesley does custom bulk orders if you email her? Im sure having them ready by may would be no problem:D
09-11-2006, 20:38
I've began emailing Lesley so things are in motion. Wow - I'm going to buy some nappies! LOL
MumsieMel
09-11-2006, 20:38
Hey ally:wave:
So happy to see you choosing cloth! :D
I make all my own pockets, about $8 each they cost in total (except for the inserts) and if you like i can bring some to the meet and show you, maybe you too could make them yourself :P
Otherwise if you have any q's feel free to ask,
also check out www.nappycino.com.au (http://www.nappycino.com.au) for some great friendly advice on everything cloth!!!!
09-11-2006, 20:42
I make all my own pockets, about $8 each they cost in total (except for the inserts) and if you like i can bring some to the meet and show you, maybe you too could make them yourself
This is actually an awesome idea - I have all this time right now (I'm not working) and not a lot to do - but I dont have a sewing machine. Would it be possible to do it by hand? I'm guessing it would be possible - but very tedious!
MumsieMel
09-11-2006, 20:47
Hmmm possible of course Ally
But would take a while im guessing,
remember you need 12 nappies per day for a newborn, and times that by how many days you intend to go with out washing :p
Could you borrow one, or maybe buy a cheap one?
Im borrowing my mil's
09-11-2006, 20:52
Hmm - good point. I think my MIL has one - maybe I should take a nice drive out to Canberra and conveniently borrow it! LOL :laughing:
But seriously - I think I will!
My advice is use prefolds from birth then try fitteds. Newborns need lots of changes so it may be much cheaper using flats or prefolds.
For a starter package - www.nurturenappies.com.au/ They have the latest of each style and it gives you an idea of what each has to offer. And they are diff brands too.
Sorry if I repeated what others have said, just wanted to offer my opinion too...!
All the best
10-11-2006, 07:54
Thanks for that link Kymmy - it has some fantastic products on it - and its easy to compare it to other items on the same site.
Does anyone have any experience with 'Baby Greens'? They seem like a good place to begin with a nb and then could be used as boosters later on with GK's maybe...
That site is great.
I haven't used the baby greens on a newborn but they are wonderful on my bub. Softer then bbh for example. Also you can use the booster as a contour on its own on newborns. So wonderful value.
pixietrix
10-11-2006, 14:25
congratulations on your soon to arrive bub. I am due in Feb and agree that it is never to early to start preparing and spread out the costs. I am going to go cloth too thanks to the inspiration of the lovely ladies on this board.
I have just ordered heaps of trial packs (Babbee hinds- bamboo & hemp, natures organics all in one wools, zappies and 3 sustainable hemps soakers) and will let you know how each brand works on a new born.
The lovely lady from natures children is sending me instructions on newborn folds for the new zappies and is going to prefold one in my package so I can see what it looks like.
The lady who is doing the soakers emailed straight away to say she has packed 2 and IS KNITTING the 3rd. My nan died a long time ago so the thought of someone knitting something especially for my baby made me a bit teary (damn hormones).
Anyway, all the best and I will let you know how each brand works on a wee one. Kate xxx.
pixietrix - I got a soaker from Sustainable Hemp Products a few weeks ago. Michelle was wonderful. I think because she's just starting the website/business she was really quick to reply to all my emails, and even rang me once I'd received the soaker to make sure I thought it was alright!
pixietrix
10-11-2006, 16:52
pixietrix - I got a soaker from Sustainable Hemp Products a few weeks ago. Michelle was wonderful. I think because she's just starting the website/business she was really quick to reply to all my emails, and even rang me once I'd received the soaker to make sure I thought it was alright!
OOh lovely! So glad you like it as I have no ides what I am buying at this stage. I've ordered 2 blues and a purple in the plains and I hope they are as cute as they look on the site. Maybe you can offer me some advice on the soakers? Is spray on lanolin or the mix and soak in a bucket method best.
So much to learn ......:)
I dunno about 'best', I think they're all pretty similar but if you are planning to breastfeed then chances are you will have Lansinoh or Marcalan cream in the house anyway and that's the stuff you use for the soakers (its just lanolin- yep, same stuff!).
You turn the soaker inside out and mix in the lansinoh with a bit of hot water to mix it up first and then soak the soaker and bobs yer uncle.
The spray smells a bit nicer I think, but apart from that, no different in effectiveness as far as I am aware.
Like shed said I had some 2 tubes of Lansinoh given to me and didn't actually use them. It wasn't until I got my soakers and realised it was the stuff I needed to lanolise them that I rummaged through all the packed baby stuff to find them! I haven't used the spray lanolin, but a few ppl on BH have used it and really like it. You can also get scented spray lanolin - like lavender, rose, etc.
Shed also mentioned turning the soaker inside out to lanolise it. I don't bother, and I know alot of others don't either. I've never had a problem with them not lanolising properly. I'd never been told to turn it inside when I got them, and it wasn't until a few weeks later that I saw it mentioned on BH that I became aware of it.
Lansinoh is pharmaceutical grade so its pure in form. I have used that as well as lavender balls and most definitely the easiest and quickest way- spray lanolin.
They are all effective. :thumbsup:
the_queen
10-11-2006, 21:39
I have spray on lanolin in "biscotti and nuts" scent mmmMMMMMMMMMM :D
Ally, another good brand is Tots Bots, because their sizes are really good for newborns. They have size 1 (which fitted DS from birth to 3months, he was 4.1kgs born and about 6.5kgs at 3months) but also they do a size 0. They have basic terry towelling nappies, but shaped. And the great thing is, they also do bamboo nappies, which are trimmer than the terry ones. I use bamboo on DS every night (7:30pm - 7:30am with no changing required), and it's never leaked. http://www.ecobabe.com.au sells Tots Bots - and they also have bio-degradable sposies for the "meconium era" :D
10-11-2006, 21:47
Hang on - back up a bit. Why do I need lanolin? What does it do?
the_queen
10-11-2006, 21:49
Lanolin is for wool soakers/longies. I see in another thread that you are planning on knitting?? :) You need to lanolinise woollen pants to make them waterproof.
And I should mention, I put bamboo on him every night, and cover it with wool. It is the ideal combination.
10-11-2006, 21:53
Lanolin is for wool soakers/longies. I see in another thread that you are planning on knitting?? :) You need to lanolinise woollen pants to make them waterproof.
And I should mention, I put bamboo on him every night, and cover it with wool. It is the ideal combination.
Ahhhh - gotcha! I was wondering how you waterproofed them. So 'lanolising' them is 'waterproofing' them. Roger that!
Gee - where would I be without you ladies! LOL
I saw those bamboo flats that your talking about too and I they seem to be a great idea. Do you find them more expensive/roughly the same as the traditional terry flats? Or whatever extra $ is made up in quality?
10-11-2006, 22:01
I think Queenie is a fan of the Bamboo Baby Beehinds that are fitted nappies (not flats)- I am too, they are gorgeous. :yes: They are so soft and have two bamboo boosters that snap in. They make a great night nappy :) Or maybe she was talking about flats- sorry Queenie for butting in if you were!! :o
Here they are: http://www.babybeehinds.com.au/shop/proddetail.php?prod=bamboonappies
Something I learnt not long ago when starting out is that bamboo is pretty much the most absorbant of all nappy fabrics- more so then hemp. Hemp is good though, much more absorbant then cotton. Microfibre is used to 'boost' inserts and fitted nappies made out of these materials to make them last better through naps or nighttime. I think I have that right!
the_queen
10-11-2006, 22:09
I do love my Baby Beehinds Bamboo - but I also love Tots Bots Bamboozle, which is a fitted nappy but trimmer than Baby Beehinds (Ally, are you confused yet? :laughing:) AND AND AND I was just on ecobabe.com.au and saw that Tots Bots do COLOURED bamboozles now!!! :yelclap: I'll be getting me a couple of those!!
*ahem* scuse my excitement :laughing:
Bamboo is 400% more absorbent than cotton. Hemp is anti-fungal. Cotton is cheap. So they all have good points. To my mind, the few extra dollars you pay for bamboo is worth it - like I said, I don't change nappies during the night. And because I co-sleep and breastfeed in bed, I literally do not get out of bed at night. Even though I have a 6 month old who is still feeding once or twice a night. I don't have to get out of bed. So yes I don't get that much sleep - but I'm rested.
And the bamboo isn't much more expensive anyway, I think with the Tots Bots, the difference is $2. Baby Beehinds are a few dollars difference too. The great thing about Baby Beehinds is that they truly are one-size nappies, so they will fit bubba until s/he toilet-learns. I had Curtis in Baby Beehinds when he was a week old.
If you're keen on making your own pocket nappies, Ally, http://www.nappiescovered.com.au sells packs, where you get everything you need to make a nappy (or 2.. to be quite honest I'm not a sewer so I haven't bought one, but she also sells pre-made pocket nappies, and they're one-size fits all as well.) (Give her a bit of notice of what you want too though, she is also a WAHM of 4, her youngest a brand new baby a couple of months ago)
Ally have you seen http://www.ozebaby.com.au? I am on a temporary self-imposed ban from there. I spend toooo much money!!
Sorry Ally! Just answering Kate's query about lanolin.
All this info will make sense soon enough. At first I was like "huh what? Just tell me what I need!" and now I think I make sense! :laughing:
The cheapest nappy way to go is terry flats with wool covers if you can knit. Bamboo flats are more expensive but oh so soft and more absorbent. Still cheaper than bamboo fitteds (eg.Bamboozles or BabyBeehinds bamboo) though. For a newborn who needs changes often using flats makes sense to me. But the choice is yours. Pockets are quite convenient but for me I hate stuffing them! (:yes: lazy me!)
Oh coloured Bamboozles? Yay! Another temptation....just like ozebaby!
10-11-2006, 22:16
Glosh - my head is beginning to spin LOL
This info is awesome though. I think I was getting the bamboo fitteds (baby beehinds) confused with the bamboo flats (on another website on my list of 15 nappy favourites :o )
I do remember reading SOMEWHERE that the bamboo's are slimmer than the hemp or cotton which has got to be a bonus when dressing bub; right?
I think maybe I just need to buy a few trial packs, have a look at them and THEN I will probably begin to understand whats going on. All this right now is reading websites, chatting about it :ecomcity: but I think once I hold one, look at it, :detective: then it will all come together.... right? LOL
10-11-2006, 22:19
Bamboo flats are more expensive but oh so soft and more absorbent.
For a newborn who needs changes often using flats makes sense to me
I think the bamboo flats will be the way to go for me to begin with - cause later on I could cut them up and use them as inserts/boosters for pockets like Green Kids etc... right? Or am I getting confused again? :confused:
The tot bots - they're a fitted cloth, right? So they dont need a cover?
Yes it will make sense soon enough, I promise!
Oh yes my favourites is looking crazy !
Bamboozles are very trim :yes: They DO NEED a cover as bamboo is not waterproof.
All in one - nappy that has boosters and cover included al in one.
Pocket - you put a nappy/piece of absorbent material in it and that need no cover as the pocket is a cover if that makes sense
Fitted, flat and prefold usually refers to a nappy that does need a cover.
the_queen
10-11-2006, 22:25
Tots Bots do need a cover. They do PUL covers - one with strawberries on it, so cute for bubba girls!!! They also do fleece covers, which are great IMO I love fleece covers for during the day.
You could cut up bamboo flats for inserts, definitely.
And remember Ally, if you get a particular brand of nappy and then find that you can't work it out properly, or it just doesn't fit in with your lifestyle, or you just don't like the colour :p you can sell them on eBay, or on here, they have great resale value :yes:
Fitted cloth nappies do need a cover. Unless they're AIO. But AIO's take longer to dry. And the AIO's I've got are not trim at all. Bamboo will be trimmer so will fit under clothes better - but I have to say, I have never had any issues with clothes. He was in 000 clothes from birth, and is in 0 now, and all his clothes have fitted over his nappies. I have all different brand clothes, and all different sizes, so I guess he was in size 0 pants while he was still in size 00 tops.
10-11-2006, 22:29
Sorry Queenie - what does AIO stand for? And you said they take longer to dry - can they go in a clothes dryer? There is NO such thing as sunshine in our apartment :o
I think I'm starting to understand it all now. I think I'll order a few trial packs and check them out. I didnt realise that they had such a good resale value - definitely something to keep in mind.
Oh - I know with sposies there are different types for girls and boys - I'm assuming that this difference doesn't matter with cloth?
All In One
I boost at the front of the nappy for my boy.
10-11-2006, 22:37
Its time for bed I think - so I'll ask some more questions tomorrow when my brain isn't hovering over top of my head somewhere :rolleyes: Thanks for all your help and answering all my beginners questions. I have never felt so lost and in a world that I know NOTHING about!
Its kind of like your first day on a new job - trying to learn what you can... I guess its not all going to come together properly til bub arrives - but I want to do what I can to prepare!
Thanks again everyone for your patience! :hugs:
Oh and Queenie - I'll be on the breastfeeding threads soon too :)