View Full Version : Will you find out the sex?

mumma_jessy
07-11-2006, 02:01 PM
This being our third and seeing as we already have one of each we have decided that we will not find out the sex this time (although it is gonna be tough!)

Have you thought about if you will find out the sex of your baby?

lavenderpegasus
07-11-2006, 02:40 PM
I really want to find out the sex of the baby but I walso want it to be a suprise. DH doesn't want to find out so we are just going to leave it as a suprise...

Laine
07-11-2006, 03:01 PM
I think I wont be able to help myself this time as its my first. Maybe the second time round I will make it a surprise. I have gone back and forward on this decision though so knowing me I will probably change my mind about 123948 times before finally deciding! I hate being a Libran sometimes :confused:

our little treasures
07-11-2006, 03:40 PM
DH found out with our 2 so he said he is finding out with this one as well.. I on the other hand just don't know... Part of me wants to find out the other part wants the surprise..

I might wait until 35weeks like I was when DH accidently slipped up with DS!! That way it's still a big surprise and you can still get a couple of new things in that colour!!

Ems
08-11-2006, 06:39 AM
No way will i find out the sex...i love surprises:smiliedance:

jkate
08-11-2006, 06:46 AM
Your sneaky mamma_jessy :p I nearly didn't see this thread :o

We will be, we did with our first two. But I will be extra cautious, and might try and get a number of opinions specially if its a girl....I have heard so many stories of it being boy when they have been told a girl :eek:

CodSop
08-11-2006, 08:09 PM
:no: we wont be finding out i would really love a girl but i guess i will have to wait and see!!! I am like ems i love surprises!:smiliedance:

Juicyfruit
11-11-2006, 08:50 PM
We found out with our 1st bubba and did not regret it one bit. I don't think I was any less surprised than I would have been at the birth. I love being prepared so we were very well organised for DD arrival.

Juicyfruit:thumbsup:

Moorish
14-11-2006, 03:18 PM
Apart from finding out with each of the 3 girls so far, we're DEFINATELY finding out with the 4th because we tried specifically for a boy this time! I can't possible leave that as a surprise because if I pop out a boy without being prepared then he's going to be dressed in lots of PINK!!

We debated for ages with our first but ended up finding out, then couldn't wait to find out with the others! I'm not a very patient person at all and I go shaking all my Chrissy pressies as soon as they get under the tree! (Hence my hubby keeps them at work until Christmas now, which is a whole other story!)

Anway, yes, we will be finding out the sex of this one!

wannabemum
14-11-2006, 03:23 PM
Okay so I'm not pg yet, but I will have to find out!!! Cause I am a virgo and we need to be organised with colours etc... Plus I have the patience of a 4 year old at christmas!!!!

Chicco25
15-11-2006, 03:58 PM
OMG I'm the most impatient person in the world. I definately will be finding out as soon as I can. With my other 2 as soon as I found out what I was having their bedrooms were decorated and decked out by the time I was 6 mnths,lol

With this one I have been searching ways of finding out earlier than 16-18 weeks. Did find a company in America which can find out the sex of bubs as early as 6 weeks just by a sample of your blood! Something about the bubs DNA running through your own blood. But I can't do it because I had a miscarriage in Sep and apparently that bubs DNA could still be floating around in me which would make the test inconclusive

So, will have to wait the extra 10-12 weeks....

AimeeB
15-11-2006, 04:05 PM
:wave: we found out with DS that he was a boy,even I could tell though,it was that plain insight and he was playing with it.With DD1 we wanted to know and they thought it was a girl but not sure.With DD2 we wanted to know and they DEF couldn't tell so it was a surprise,which was actually really nice.With this last pg though I would have liked a surprise but if it was another girl we would have to swap bedrooms as Zane is in the biggest and the 3 girls would have had to share.We asked and they reckon a boy,so we'll see.They are pretty accurate but I'm never convinced!My middie told me a funny story at checkup on Monday that last week she delivered and the couple had 6 u/s and were told at each it was a boy,by all diff people-it came out a girl!!

our little treasures
16-11-2006, 08:36 AM
How bizarre..

This time I am now thinking about it...

With DD we watched the video and I seen it was a girl no questions but being first time I kept saying maybe its not. Then a week before I watched the tape and said to DH who knew, OMG it is a girl..

With DS again I could see he was doin a jig like pelvis thrusting and it was moving and I knew it was a boy... I put it off again and then dh told me by accident and I was right. When I went for our next appointment the ob asked if I knew when he was checkin fluid I said yes.. He said good because you can't miss it.. Then he kept saying he is a big boy.. He then printed it up and gave us a copy so DH could brag up!!:eek:

So this time I might say let us see if we can tell and then maybe wait until 35wks and then ask DH!!

I don't know I want to know but I can wait surely!!

TJ
17-11-2006, 08:04 PM
Bloody oath i will be!! I HATE surprises.... and im one of these ppl that is super super organised so i NEED to know one way or the other what sex it is!!

little bean
18-11-2006, 03:22 PM
DH doesn't want to know but I do. My friend told me that she felt closer to her baby after finding out the sex and I think that I would probably feel the same way - I could imagine a little girl or boy in there then!

I have been scouring the op shops for baby clothes and making some things on my sewing machine - it's getting a bit boring trying to stick to neutral clothes!

DramaQueen
18-11-2006, 03:51 PM
No, not for me this time.

This may well be my last bubba so I have to have one that is a surprise! (we sort of knew with the others)

We have enough stuff for either a boy or girl so I won't need to buy anything anyway.

If I can hold out that long though, no one has ever accused me of being patient!

18-11-2006, 03:59 PM
We have a boy so are hoping for a girl, obviously we will be happy either way, but we are impatient and will be finding out the sex, if possible as soon as possible!!!

cmd'smum
19-11-2006, 02:13 PM
OH YES YES YES!!!

Even though I had a "feeling" :rolleyes: with DD and second pg and I was right both times, I still want to know. I'm starting to have a feeling that this little miracle is a boy. We'll see.

I can't wait till the anatomy scan (17-19 week scan) to find out! :smiliedance:

At the end of the day, I don't mind as long as I have a healthy and successful pregnancy and baby thats all that counts. :yes:

Are any of you going to have the 12 week scan?

TJ
19-11-2006, 02:23 PM
Are any of you going to have the 12 week scan?

Im not sure but from what i have heard and read my FS (who is also ob/gyn) is pretty pedantic, so ill be having one at 6 and a half weeks - whooo hooo only in a fortnight. And then not sure when the next one is after that.
Im just really really hoping there is only one little bubba in there.:fingerscrossed:

I hacve read that u/s arent all that crash hot for little bubbas - if they aren necessary i dont want too many.
Think of the poor whales that end up beaching them selves coz they cant handle the noise, i dont want a little bubba feeling the same way if its not needed.

19-11-2006, 02:35 PM
Yeah hence why there was an uproar when Tom Cruise bought and Ultrasound machine so he could look at his baby when ever he wanted, idiot!
I don't think two or three scans would do any harm though.
In saying that Xavier absolutely went bolistic when ever I had a scan with him inside me. He would go from sleeping to doing rolly polly's inside me and he would kick the c#@p out of the wand they rub over your belly!

I think I will just have a six week scan (hopefullly I'll find out tomorrow) and a 18-20 week one ( I had one at 17weeks and 3days last time). I am going to pay to have a 3D one done this time since I missed out last time, I can't wait!

Oh yeah and I think I have timed it right and we might get a girl this time. We BD two days before O so fingerscrossed, but we also BD'd on O day and two days after so well it could either couldn't it lol!!
I have a feeling it's a girl.

cmd'smum
19-11-2006, 03:53 PM
Yeah hence why there was an uproar when Tom Cruise bought and Ultrasound machine so he could look at his baby when ever he wanted, idiot!
I don't think two or three scans would do any harm though.
In saying that Xavier absolutely went bolistic when ever I had a scan with him inside me. He would go from sleeping to doing rolly polly's inside me and he would kick the c#@p out of the wand they rub over your belly!

I think I will just have a six week scan (hopefullly I'll find out tomorrow) and a 18-20 week one ( I had one at 17weeks and 3days last time). I am going to pay to have a 3D one done this time since I missed out last time, I can't wait!

Oh yeah and I think I have timed it right and we might get a girl this time. We BD two days before O so fingerscrossed, but we also BD'd on O day and two days after so well it could either couldn't it lol!!
I have a feeling it's a girl.

I think you're having a girl too!

TJ..........I think you're having a boy and a girl (I know you don't want 2...sorry!):D

sniper wolf
28-11-2006, 07:13 AM
FYI: i found this thing:

"This is an ancient Chinese Chart used to predict the sex of your unborn child, reportedly with a 99% accuracy. The Chart was buried in a tomb near Beijing for 700 years. The original is in the Institute of Science in Beijing.
All you need is the month the child was conceived, and the age of the mother at the time of conception. "

http://www.storknet.com/cubbies/pregnancy/chinesegenderchart.htm

yay 4 a girl!:laughing:

DramaQueen
28-11-2006, 07:22 AM
According to the chart I am having a Boy!!!!!

28-11-2006, 07:25 AM
Yeah I have looked at it before and refuse to look again because it tells me if I concieve any time before December I am having a boy, and I don't beleive it, I am having a girl damn it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad:

sniper wolf
28-11-2006, 07:32 AM
but lil x aren't you 24?
seeing as you have the same EDD as moi then wouldnt you have conceived in november?

mumma_jessy
28-11-2006, 09:01 AM
Well in that case i'm having another BOY! (Which i suspect anyway)

And it was right with my other two as well!

kej
28-11-2006, 09:11 AM
I am the most impatient person in the world, but am going to try really really hard not to find out, and DH doesn't want to either. going to be tough though!
I kind of had a feeling it would be a girl, but on that chart, it says i'm having a boy. anyone's guess now!

28-11-2006, 09:19 AM
Why yes you are right woohoo!!:smiliedance:
I looked at another chart like that when we first started TTC and I'm sure it said boy right up until december, but it is only up until last month woohoo. I concieved on the right month... well :fingerscrossed:

Laine
28-11-2006, 09:53 AM
I turned 23 in October.. On the 16th, so I think that means that I am going to have BOY which I thought all along... Its slightly confusing though, if I say I was 22 and conceived in October then its a girl.. I am 88% sure its a Boy though :)
Will be funny when I find out if they tell me its a girl lol