View Full Version : NZ Terms vs Aussie Names
Hi:wave:
I was just talking away to DD as I was making my bed and I called the doona a "duvet". When talking to your kids do you still use the NZ terms or have you reverted to Aussie names?
Some of the ones I still use are:-
Jandels
Chillybin
Dairy
Sellotape
Twink
Tin foil
FourAngelKisses
07-11-2006, 11:16
I used the NZ terms until I was about 15 (moved here when I was 3 so it took a while, lol) and then I started using the Aussie ones because my friends didn't know WTH I was talking about. :(
bekkyboo
07-11-2006, 11:20
Son - it took me ages when i first met all you kiwi's to figure out what the heck Jandels were! The boys always said it - and i was like - wtf???
whats chillybin and twink?
Hehehe...we talk in code...
chillybin - esky
twink - liquid paper/white out
07-11-2006, 11:27
Ok I am a little slow as I can't figure out what some of the terms are:
Jandels - ????
Chillybin - Esky??
Dairy - Farm??
Sellotape - Stickytape???
Twink - ?????
Tin foil - Aluminium?????
Here ya go,
You got most of them...
jandels - thongs
chillybin - esky
dairy - corner store/7 eleven
sellotape - stickytape
twink - white out/liquid paper
tin foil - al foil/aluminium
bekkyboo
07-11-2006, 11:33
Yeah, it took ages for the jandels - chillybin makes sence tho
The charad (Gawd how would you spell that - you know what i mean) thats another NZ term too hey, but did it come from brotown - or what?
huh!?! charad?!?
you lost me
07-11-2006, 11:59
wahhh? :detective:
I think it was pushchair that got me in another thread :laughing: It just sounds so weird.
07-11-2006, 12:02
lol the one that got me stumped for ages and ages was judder bars - speed bumps I think!
wahhh? :detective:
I think it was pushchair that got me in another thread :laughing: It just sounds so weird.
How can a pushchair be weird lol,
huh!?! charad?!?
you lost me
i'm lost on that one too, can't for the life of me figure it out
lol the one that got me stumped for ages and ages was judder bars - speed bumps I think!
yip judder bars are speed bumps :yes:
melfunction
07-11-2006, 12:28
and a Dairy is a corner store :D Not sure about a charad....what is it used for?
I use both. I try to use the Aussie terms for some words as thats what DS will be familiar with with his friends but I revert back to the NZ terms out of habit. :rolleyes:
bekkyboo
07-11-2006, 12:32
Son - Charade.... The car - but said- well you know... I cant figure out how to type it.
WOMAN YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN!
Son - Charade.... The car - but said- well you know... I cant figure out how to type it.
WOMAN YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN!
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
Oh yes...Cha-raad as opposed to Cha-raid:thumbsup:
I use a mixture now I think, and I cop flack from people here in NZ, and when i get back to OZ, I'm sure to cop flack there too... can't win!!:laughing:
One I couldn't work out for ages was 'mickey mouse' in NZ it means really dodgy, wheras in Oz it means top notch!
I was getting very confused there for a while!:)
i still say sellotape and twink.
I no longer say duvet, I say doona.
I dont say jandals, except to tell my DP that he can't handle the jandal, every now and again. he doesn't know what it means but he's used to ignoring me.
I still say "feel stink" and "that is stink" as well. I even got my ex saying it but DP hasn;t picked it up (the ignoring thing again, LOL)
I say char-aid for my car, except when I go home and then I try and remember to say char-ard.
And I say soobaroo now instead of su-barr-oo, for the subaru cars.
I didn't realise that pushchair was a kiwi term, I just thought it had been replaced by stroller, but now I realise that i just decided that for myself, duh!!
I still say tin foil too. I didn't know that aussies didn't call it that?? ya learn something new every day!!
Another one, I make a real idiot of myself going and asking where the 'light bulbs' are in a shop, and they say 'huh?' O right, they are GLOBES in Oz!
I dont say jandals, except to tell my DP that he can't handle the jandal, every now and again. he doesn't know what it means but he's used to ignoring me.
I like that saying and still use it quite often..."If you can't handle the jandal...get out of the kitchen!"
I still end my sentences with "A" and use "Choice" and "Sweet"!!
kiwibird27
08-11-2006, 07:44
I got an e-mail from a kiwi friend talking about a "WEE" car!!!!!
21-11-2006, 10:23
I still say wee a wee bit!!
I also try to say texter but sometimes I can't help but say vivid or felt tip pen, to which the kids look at me like I'm some crazy person.
I get constantly harassed for calling a jumper a jersey, I didn't think it really mattered either way?!?!
There are so many others I get harassed about all the time but I can't for the life of me remember them right now!
I still say duvet, beacuse it is majority rules IMO, every other english speaking country on the planet says duvet NOT Doona so I refuse to say it, it sounds ridiculous, Doona pffft! Sorry Aussie's it's just a weird word !
OOOh I just thought of one, I asked for a hotdog
(battered sausage on a stick) at the fish shop and got a blank stare!! The correct term here is dagwood dog WTH???:laughing:
I have adjusted somwhat however I now say dance instead of Daaance how kiwis say it,
And where do you wash your clothes, kiwis?
My friends always wonder what I'm saying when I tell them that our "wash house" is all the way under the house. :laughing:
We wear Jandals
We use a pushchair (english term)
We own a couple of chillybins
We sleep under duvets (english term)
We use a passing lane
We drive over judder bars
Took ages to forget the "right hand rule"
We refer to everything as "brilliant"
When we say choice, it means good!
We eat fush and chups
We answer the phone with "kia ora"
We put on a potai to go outside
We laugh at the new thai resaurant here named "Too Thai" :D
We say ay, ow, bro, cuz etc in everyday language
Our kids have a full puku after thier meal
We say "homai" instead of please pass the ...
And we think that we have intergrated ... yeah, right!
kiwibird27
22-11-2006, 07:20
Who else does the luxing????????
melfunction
22-11-2006, 07:24
Who else does the luxing????????
I use too. Now I vaccum :D
Whenever I see a possum or rabbit, I instantly think roadkill.
I didn't realise that "Flannel" was a kiwi term, that's another one my parents gave to me..
So.. as an Aussie Born one.. (I pick which side of the tasman I'm from depending on which code of footy is being played... at the moment it's League - I'm an Aussie..) I do my laundry in the wash house and in the shower I use a flannel.
I also say words like "Canal" and "Ellen" wrong.. I'm not sure how I do it, but apparently Canal isn't said like C'nel and from my lips, Ellen sounds like Alan.
It's normally met with a "Bloody Kiwis" and an eyeroll ;)
I used to giggled when my Nana said "Twinking" because I'd think of Tinkling (weeing)
And I use "Wee" a wee bit too much when talking about small thing.
I'd proudly state that I've never owned a pair of jandals, never put my stuff in a chullybun. I push my baby in a stroller (I actually rarely say pram) and I sleep under a doona.
I also used Texter.. I didn't realise that was a kiwi thing either
melfunction
22-11-2006, 07:38
Seek, it took me forever to work out what the Aussie term for 'flannel' was.......
My kids use felt pens, not textas!
We use a flannel or face cloth
We use erasers, not rubbers as they are condoms not something to remove pencil marks
We wipe away a silent tear when watching "BroTown"!
We get funny looks when we refer to certain seafood as "kina", "paua", "tuatua" etc and get a confused look when we say we are having "kai moana" for tea - lol
Our car gets the odd ding
and so many more ...
We use erasers, not rubbers as they are condoms not something to remove pencil marks
:laughing: See the primary school term is "Rubber" and the high school is "Eraser" for the same reason...
I got so used to "eraser" and then i worked in a primary school I've reverted back to "Rubber" which gets me some funny looks.
Even my boss - who uses the same words - I'll say "Can I grab a rubber of you?" and he'll wink and say "Just need to get it out of my wallet." TSK!
I heard the word pushchair so many times. They say stroller as well but it means one of those little cheapo toddler type ones, not an actual pushchair like the aussies mean when they say stroller.
OMG what about the accent?? far out, I thought I still spoke kiwi but no.
Remember that show Fair Go? Its still on and it was advertised and at first I thought he said "Fear Go".
Well, he DID say Fear Go, but he meant Fair Go.
And apparently bubby has a "mean" hair do.
that means awesome. His "hear" is mean, LOL
Wondermum
23-11-2006, 08:07
What about the good old Togs :D I think QLD or some other state might still refer to their swimmers as togs?
Also some other other kiwi slang/ terms
Cellphone (mobile)
Fulla - guy
Egg or Egg head (stupid person)
To wag school (skip school)
Sweet as bro (cool)
Warrent of fitness (vehicle road worthiness)
Also when I came here at the age of 11 I was lining up at the school canteen and a friend asked me if I was going to get a poppa :confused: I had know idea a poppa meant a juice box! I was really confused and thought she was asking me about my poppa (grandad) :o
NZ also spell some words differently and pronounce yoghurt as 'yog-urt' sounds weird :laughing:
Hubby still says some kiwi words. He says "not even" a lot as does his mum. He wears 'jandals'. He is slowly starting to say off instead of "orf"
We watch "Bro town" and its like going to see my hubby's family - love it. Looking forward to visiting NZ.
We use maori words often. But hubby and I can't speak it. Just words like 'kai', 'puku', 'moko' etc
melfunction
23-11-2006, 08:30
I love 'Bro Town' and you just can't go past Billy T and "Came a Hot Friday"..Classic movie.
I've adaped to most Aussie words, but can't not say "togs". I do preface it with the word "swimming" though, so people know what I am on about.
Another one is Bach, for holiday house.
mixi_mama
23-11-2006, 09:41
i still and always will sue the nz words - the dairy still confuses the **** out of my friends. I also use allot of the maori words instead of the english too. Force of habit being half maori and married to a maori. I even say things like "haere mai" to my kids and even to my friends kids - i cant help it.
Below are a few of the words i use - even my son uses them too. I even included the maori
chillybin
dairy
jandals
kumara
kai
bach (my dh uses that allot)
whare
puku
hapu (meaning pregnant)
moko
duvet
ka pai
Tama (boy)
kei te pai
I answer the phone saying "kia ora"
cant think of any more at the moment
I hope you're not calling that cr*ppy australian sweet potato kumara coz I just got back and I ate kumara every day and the sweet potato you get over here doesn't deserve to be called kumara, even the purple one.
Its not worthy.
mixi_mama
23-11-2006, 09:46
I just say Kumara .... no reference to sweet potato here in aussie -
I also call our car a truck - even though the aussies call it a ute.
shed~ i just got back form opononi last month and i love the kai there - you're right , nothing compares to the nz kumara
just wanted to say sorry if i offended anyone
Wondermum
23-11-2006, 13:38
I hope you're not calling that cr*ppy australian sweet potato kumara coz I just got back and I ate kumara every day and the sweet potato you get over here doesn't deserve to be called kumara, even the purple one.
Its not worthy.
Ahaa, I agree :yes: I love NZ kumara - it's so rich and creamy compared to the tasteless sweet potato/ kumara here :thumbsdown:
mixi_mama
23-11-2006, 15:32
holy **** i didnt mean it like that
You can get Kiwi style kumara here... not often, but I do see it occasionally at the IGA in Rochedale South, Brisbane (and whenever its there I buy a pile :) )
The main ones I say, and refuse to stop saying are:
Togs
Chilly bin
Jandals (I wear thongs elsewhere lol)
Kumara (when I can get it!)
Dairy
Duvet
I'm sure theres more...
danielle13
24-11-2006, 13:39
LOL this thread is hilarious! My turn...
We use a duvet, not a doona (DP always says "duvet" is snooty - hmm, yeah well doona sounds retarded..)
DP thought I was talking about a wheelchair when I told him I wanted a new "pushchair" for DD.
I say SIX how it's supposed to be pronounced - aussies are the ones who say SEX
I get my bread and milk from the Dairy - not the "corner shop"... (most of them aren't even ON a corner!)
I chew chewing gum, or just gum, if I'm feeling lazy... Not "chewy".
It's a cellphone... since having DD I get quite confused when someone mentions their mobile..
DP had no idea when I said I wanted to go shopping for "togs" for DD.
And I cannot bring myself to call something that goes on my FEET, thongs...
Wondermum
24-11-2006, 21:38
I had some potato fritters tonight from the fush & chup shop you know what they call potato scollop's here took me a while to remember to ask for a pluto pup instead of a hot dog when I first arrived too.
I use all the Australian terms now except I still call an eraser a rubber. Coming over in the first year of high school I was a little :o of my kiwi accent and hated the fact that I spoke differently to everyone else so I adapted rather quickly :D
LOL this thread is hilarious! My turn...
We use a duvet, not a doona (DP always says "duvet" is snooty - hmm, yeah well doona sounds retarded..)
DP thought I was talking about a wheelchair when I told him I wanted a new "pushchair" for DD.
I say SIX how it's supposed to be pronounced - aussies are the ones who say SEX
I get my bread and milk from the Dairy - not the "corner shop"... (most of them aren't even ON a corner!)
I chew chewing gum, or just gum, if I'm feeling lazy... Not "chewy".
It's a cellphone... since having DD I get quite confused when someone mentions their mobile..
DP had no idea when I said I wanted to go shopping for "togs" for DD.
And I cannot bring myself to call something that goes on my FEET, thongs...
Haha omg you outlined me in a few sentences.
DD1 is slowley converting to aussie terms one that made me crack up last week was her telling her teacher we wouldnt be able to make it to the meeting because mummy and daddy play touch foot-eeee...:laughing: I even made her say it again so I could laugh again :devil6:
She unfortunately has converted to their way of pronnouncing the letter 'a'.......sand-dra instead of saaan-dra.
My melb mates said we say daaan-ce very posh like, told her she sounds american....haha touche!
Kiwis....posh.....hilarious!:laughing:
I just remembered another one I struggle with.
Loungeroom.
I am always saying to DP "its in the lounge" and then I remember and add "room" otherwise he thinks I am talking about the sofa. flippin aussie.
I can't wait to take him back to the motherland and HE can be the one who says the funny things with the funny accent, ha ha ha can't wait can't wait.
I can't wait till they all bail him up and talk about the rugby. He doesn't follow the union he follows the league but they will all just start yakking about the union, I know they will (coz they're kiwis, ha ha). Its going to be SO funny watching him pretend to know what the Wallabies are doing (as they will expect him to). ha ha ha can't wait can't wait.
:laughing: love this thread. oops i just said in another thread about a new baby what a lovely wee boy they were probably quite insulted!
Was funny when the mother in law (aussie) was talking to my mum (kiwi) and was talking about thongs and mum thought she was talking about her g-string :laughing:
When hubby first talked about sevos and arvos i didnt know what he was going on about!
Ive only been here 4 years but watching Motorway Patrol last night i really notice the kiwi accent
:laughing: :laughing: i've only just noticed this thread,
funny as man, the aussie lingo still cracks me up, I still talk in kiwi lol, still say duvet, and jandles, still say togs and dairy, still say petrol station and the likes lol
ZarasMummy
15-12-2006, 18:10
Hey, how about buggy? I am kiwi, moved here age 14....hubby is aussie and had no clue about buggy.....he calls it stroller
What about telegraph poles, I'm sure you Kiwis have a weird name for them...
telegraph poles???
power poles? Dunno.
how about bottle -o for the wholesalers?
Still can get myself to use that one.
How weird. I am a full-blooded Aussie and I have used some of these terms my whole life without knowing they were Kiwi.
Things like togs, lounge, light bulbs, flannel (but I also call it a face washer), texta.
It's funny how different language gets used!
We call an empty piece of land a 'section' - in Brissy they call it a block.
I've also heard Nth QLDers refer to a 'port' - meaning a suitcase. Assuming it comes from the french portemanteau, which is a suitcase too.
It's a 'vivid' - permanent marker, kiwi brand name.
Mamalicious
25-03-2007, 21:44
hey there im new in oz, and im hoping i always talk like a kiwi :fingerscrossed:
we were at harvey norman the other d i was talking to a lady about setting up an automatic payment, she had NO idea what i was saying, took a huge explanation and then she goes " a direct debit" and im like "huh?" :rolleyes:
lol soobaroo cracks me up, i went to weltec back home with an aussie girl who would say it like that, i always get a suprise when i hear it said like that on tv or whatever, im like subaaaaaru please :o
How weird. I am a full-blooded Aussie and I have used some of these terms my whole life without knowing they were Kiwi.
Things like togs, lounge, light bulbs, flannel (but I also call it a face washer), texta.
It's funny how different language gets used!
lo...same here...
i am australian born aboriginal, never stepped foot into NZ in my entire life but have used words like duvet and flannel.
but i dont get some the way kiwis pronounce things...like subaru. i laugh at that everytime i watch motorway patrol. :laughing:
FourAngelKisses
26-03-2007, 05:58
but i dont get some the way kiwis pronounce things...like subaru. i laugh at that everytime i watch motorway patrol. :laughing:
So do I, and I'm a Kiwi, lol.