View Full Version : Emptying dirty nappy

nkenward
12-10-2005, 09:55

Sorry I know this topic is a bit gross - but I have to ask cause I have no idea. I have never had to change a dirty cloth nappy and wash it before etc.

Anyway just wondering what everyone does with dirty cloth nappies to dispose of the 'poo'. I have been told to use the toilet - but I am not sure how to go about this. Geez I must sound pathetic, but I have to ask. At the moment we aren't too bad, as the poos are only runny - but what do we do when they get a bit thicker.

Thanks for your patience.

lucyp
12-10-2005, 10:12

We used nappy liners in DS's cloth nappies ( actually Chux cloths!) and just bagged them ( old woolies bags) and checked them in the big trash bin.

We did also have (and sorry if its too much info) a poo brush of sorts. It was just a scrubbing brush from woollies that we used to tip the big bits into the loo and then scrub off remnants in nappy in laundry sink before putting into napisan bucket.

Sorry if this too much onfo - but you did ask ;)

JanetF
12-10-2005, 10:25
With a completely bf baby there's no need to put the poo in the toilet because it's biodegradable. If there's heaps (pools? LOL) of it, maybe up end it over the loo and then throw in the nappy bin. You can also throw them straight into the washing machine and once you have a full load, just do a short rinse cycle then wash. Are you dry pailing? Much easier to dry pail than soak, and soaking really isn't necessary. There's also a brilliant hose thing you can buy for about $50 that attaches to your loo and you can hose the poos off into the loo that way. I keep meaning to buy one since we have much bigger poos here with a nearly 2 year old. HTH :)

LittleBoysRock
12-10-2005, 11:18
I used nappy liners that Johnson and Johnson make. I would empty the poo out in the toliet, Soak the liners in napisan, wash them and reuse them a few times.

They are about $7.00 for a box of 100. When you go through 10 nappies a day it is a lot cheaper to wash them out. And honestly it isnt that bad!

Mor
12-10-2005, 16:25
The brilliant hose thing is a Little Squirt. Most Bunnings have them and they fit most toilets, but you can get them online too.

I second just throwing the nappy in the washing machine for the breast fed-pre solids poos. If only I knoew about that sooner!

And you can get flushable liners, but you probably won't want to use them all the time. Try www.cleverpants.com.au they sell eenees for a good price.

But please don't throw poo away in the bin. It's actually considered a waste that shouldn't be binned in domestic rubbish. Much better off in a system where it will be treated appropriately and not contribute to hazardous waste in land fill.

OM
15-10-2005, 16:55
We use the cheap home brand liners that catches most of the poo (my son is on solids now so it is a solid poo), then we also use the little squirt hose to hose off any excess on the nappy.

My mum said that there wasn't anything like the hose around when I was born so she would dangle the nappy in the toilet bowl and hold onto it tight then press the flush button.

I hope that helps. ;)

sundaymum
15-10-2005, 20:18
We use the Little Squirt, a real life saver, and availabe from Reece Plumbing if you have one near. Plus we use either fleece liners or Eenees biodegradable liners, both of which we buy at http://www.nurturenappies.com.au . They have a hemp booster topped with a realy soft fleece layer that poo literally slides right off. The Eenees liners are great too, especially when you go out for the day; you can simply flush the little package down the toilet (it is recomended to tear the liner in two).
Good luck! ;)

H&B'sMum
16-10-2005, 20:18
I use fleece liners. I bought 2m from Spotlight for about $2 (on sale) then cut it up to the size and shape I want.
I then just empty it into the toilet. The poos usually just slide off the fleece but if they don't I hold the fleece linner by one end and flush the toilet holding it over the part in the toilet where the water is strongest. Then the whole thing, nappy and liner goes into the nappy bucket ready to be washed.

bananasmum
22-10-2005, 17:33
Thanks for asking I was also wondering.

I'm guessing from the responces that most people use a liner in the nappy?

We are looking at using either ezy nappy or fuzzibunz would I still put a liner on top?

Shell

MelanieP
24-10-2005, 17:46
If the inside of the nappy is fleece, the poo should just roll off (most of the time). But a completely b/f newborn's poo can go straight into the machine, you don't need to rinse it at all, gross I know, but apparently thats what you can do ;) I usually stand there and shake my nappies and hope for the best, everytime thinking, I NEED a poo squirty thingo!!

Will get one one day :rolleyes:

Melanie

LucyE
29-10-2005, 12:30
If the nappy already has a fleece layer (eg. Fuzzi Bunz) do not use another fleece liner. It will cause the urine to repel and run out of the nappy instead of soaking through to the booster. I also second getting a Little Squirt :)

Mumoffour
24-11-2005, 07:25
check out ebay or the classifieds for a cheap lil squirt attatchment. keep an eye on the hoses though because they can wear out and start to bulge- we replaced the hoses with braided metal ones avail from the hardware- works a treat. The plumber next door said that if they burst and flood the house then your contents insurance may not cover it because the lil squirt is not an approved attatchement :eek: . I dont know whether this is the case but we have one and its great.
i use j&j liners but i am considering swapping to polarfleece because everyone on here says good things about them :)