View Full Version : Quickening and movements!
OopsieDaisy
03-11-2006, 01:53 PM
I thought we could use this thread to share that exciting movement we feel quickening or movements!
I have been feeling quickening since about 10 weeks and last night I felt my first lil kick!!
13 weeks 4 days!! And again this morning!! :yelclap:
charlis_mum
03-11-2006, 01:58 PM
I thought that maybe there have been a few little butterflies the last few days - really only since the MS has started to die down. so I am not 100% sure if it iseverything going back to normal or the bubba! I'll have to wait a few more weeks to know for sure! I'm 13 weeks now!
OopsieDaisy
03-11-2006, 04:19 PM
I thought that maybe there have been a few little butterflies the last few days - really only since the MS has started to die down. so I am not 100% sure if it iseverything going back to normal or the bubba! I'll have to wait a few more weeks to know for sure! I'm 13 weeks now!
That is how mine started! Like someone was flicking me from inside!
SammiJane
04-11-2006, 08:04 AM
Hi just popping in from the April Thread, i'm due around the 25th so i may end up being a may mummy.
Its been so long since i had a bub a couldnt remember what it felt like. LOL
Sometimes it feels like i'm getting a pressure from the inside out and also lately it feels kinda like a squirmy feeling as well. I commented on the April thread about the pressure feeling i get and a couple of others have had that too so that put my mind at rest. Last night hubby was rubbing my belly and i swear the little one was pushing up so it could feel him as well. It was the weirdest feeling.
Sam xx
ME: 34
DH: 40
DS: 12
DS: 10
#3 EDD 25/4/07:yelclap:
miss ani
04-11-2006, 11:47 AM
i'm 11 weeks, and nothing yet.... but my little person was quite active in my scan on thursday! my mum was telling me that i may not feel movement for a few weeks yet as this is my first.
jeski
04-11-2006, 01:32 PM
I'm only 10 weeks but I've been getting those little flicking sensations. So exciting :D
janie
04-11-2006, 05:53 PM
Im supposed to be 12 weeks tomorrow. yay!!! i cant say i have felt anything??? its usually just food digesting!! or hunger pains.
What is quickening??
thanks.
WeloveHarriet
04-11-2006, 08:23 PM
Quickening is just another word for fluttery feelings. Haven't felt anything to date but with Harriet I was 14wks and with the first baby I was 19wks before I felt any flutters at all.
miss ani
05-11-2006, 10:27 AM
Im supposed to be 12 weeks tomorrow. yay!!! i cant say i have felt anything??? its usually just food digesting!! or hunger pains.
What is quickening??
thanks.
ooohhh hunger pains!! i've had to keep pretzels and dried fruit mix in my drawer at work so i can nibble surreptitiously (i'm not supposed to eat at my desk). otherwise i'd probably pass out from hunger!
Tanya1985
05-11-2006, 10:38 AM
I am comming up to 14 weeks and I haven't felt anything at all..... although the bub was going crazy, moving and kicking in our scan. It is my first though and I didn't realise I would be feeling movement so soon:idea:.... maybe I should pay more attention and then I may feel something! :rolleyes:
Bel1978
05-11-2006, 01:15 PM
I am 12.5 weeks can't say i have felt any thing, but you know when you are in water and you feel really light..
I had a bath the other day and it felt odd, My tummy was light and like some thing moving...... I made sure i stayed really still as i thought it was just the water... but then again i could have been just waiting for some thing....
charlis_mum
05-11-2006, 01:32 PM
I didn't feel anything with my first until around the 20week mark! The placenta was accross the front of my tummy, so it was apparently harder for kicks to get through to the nerves. But a friend felt her first at 18weeks, and is now 20 with her second and hasn't felt anything yet - everyone is just different! And i am fatter this time around so was expecting to feel the kicks later as they have to travel through my fat rolls. :D
Rin Tin Tin
05-11-2006, 10:45 PM
With my first child it was at my 20 weeks scan, the bub moved on the screen and I felt it at the same time. With my 2nd I felt him move about 16 weeks as for this one at almost 14 weeks Im pretty sure I felt something a few days ago. With your first baby its easy to dismiss "feelings" as wind or something but with later pregnancies you know what it feels like.
Its so lovely to feel those early movements but its the later ones when you are trying to sleep or have a full bladder that really reminds you whats going on in there:eek: .
twitch
08-11-2006, 03:37 PM
I've been feeling little flutters for a couple of weeks and this week they've really stepped up a notch. Before I would think maybe it's gas, but now I know that no gas bubble feels like that! It's a great feeling. I can't wait til DH can feel it too.
the_original_duchess
17-11-2006, 08:53 PM
i felt my first flutter on an aeroplane on the way to brisbane last week and ive been feeling them ever since. they are getting stronger. i was between 12-13 weeks when i started feeling them, im 14 weeks now. its really weird feeling bubs move about so early. with my first i didnt feel anything till 18 weeks and with the second it was at 15 weeks. by the time i have my next 1 i might be feeling them move about a day after conception lol.
i cant wait until my husband can feel it too.
charlis_mum
17-11-2006, 09:23 PM
I think the flutters i felt a few weeks ago might have just been the bub!! I have just started to feel more flutters the last few days - but a bit stronger this time. Not full-blown kicks, but a bit more than butterlies. YAY at 15 weeks - this is soooo much earlier than with DD. :smiliedance:
OopsieDaisy
18-11-2006, 08:01 AM
My flutters are subsiding now, turning more into a swishy feeling like it is doing flips and things hehe and also feel a few very light and spontanious "taps" once or twice a day!!
18-11-2006, 08:16 AM
I've just hired a doppler so I can hear the baby and the placenta! The placenta seems to be on the right hand side - so I'm only going to be able to feel bub on the left at the moment.
But the last couple of nights I've gone to sleep with my hand on my belly and kind of felt a vibration through a small section on my hands (I'm 12wks) I haven't felt it on the inside, just the vibration on my hand...
Do you think this is bub?
borntobemummy
19-11-2006, 05:39 PM
I felt my baby moving!!!
I first felt it last week when I was just over 12 weeks!:eek: Even though the more I felt it, the more I was convinced, I still had in the back of my mind that it isn't possible until 14 weeks, so brushed it off. I felt it a few more times since then and this afternoon, I was lying on my back and felt it move heaps, especially when I coughed! I was drinking diet Coke, wonder if the caffeine did it? I'm pretty sure now it was the baby, not gas!! I love this part in the pregnancy, no more worrying (well in part) whether I'm still pregnant or not;)
OopsieDaisy
22-11-2006, 08:50 AM
Isn't it exciting!
16 weeks 2 days I felt this bubba kick me from the outside, only little taps but I felt it on my palm last night in bed!! :D
Bolli
22-11-2006, 11:36 AM
I'm nearly 15 weeks and I don't think I've felt anything yet.
this is bub number one so its really pretty normal. Had the obs appoint on monday and heard a really strong hb, I asked where bubs was because I couldn't even feel the ball, and bubs is still pretty low behind the pubic bone. All normal for bub 1 and 14 weeks. Obs said it would start moving up now.
For a few weeks I have felt flutters like wind passing through but I think its to much to the front of my pelvis to be bubs, but then again I've never really got wind there before (I am a bit of a windy girl :laughing: ) Maybe bubs has moved my insides forward a little!
Tanya1985
22-11-2006, 12:44 PM
Bolli it is my first too and I haven't felt anything either, I suppose I don't really know what to be feeling for only the discription of the bub hubbers. EVERY day my DP asks me if I have felt anything yet... does he not think that would be the first thing I would tell him when he came home!:laughing:
I am hoping I can feel something soon, I want to feel pregnant, apart from the headaches and sickness! I want to feel my baby!
marlie
23-11-2006, 08:38 AM
I am nearly 16 weeks and (think) I felt my first flutters last week when on a plane.... I see that some-one else was also on a plane when they had their first movements - maybe it's to do with the cabin pressure :confused:. My DH very romantically said "it (bub) probably had no oxygen" :eek:. Men - why do they always have to say EXACTLY what they think?
Anyways, since then I have been feeling like something is scratching tiny little fingernails inside me on both sides of my lower tummy... and it tickles! And during the night last night I rolled over, and it seriously felt like my whole insides did a somersault. Not sure it that was bubs or my uterus, but man it felt weird!
Occasionally am getting some tapping too, but not sure if that is just dinner! :o
I can't wait for the definite movements.... at the mo I am analysing everything so much it's hard to tell....
janie
23-11-2006, 09:41 AM
i love reading to see what everyone else is feeling and when.
Im nearly 15 weeks and last week when i asked the ultrasound lady if there was any chance that the mild butterflies i have felt a couple of times here and there could be it, but she seriously doubted it so i just dismissed it.
but last night i was getting a fair bit of it on couch after dinner. trying to dismiss the digestion feelings etcc. but i have this VERY slight flutter feeling that i am just sure is the baby. i guess it will get stronger in the next few weeks and then i will know for sure if i was right all along.
as the same with a few of you guys its baby #1 so not really sure what it is supposed to feel like.
janie
23-11-2006, 09:43 AM
PS, my sis just had her first 2 weeks ago and for her, she was over my house at 17 weeks and we could see the baby kicking on her belly and feel its massive kicks very strong. my mum and i sat with our hands on her tummy having a great old time!! (she is very slim) i have a little more fat roll around the belly than her but hoping i might feel as early as she!
twitch
23-11-2006, 11:58 AM
[quote=marlie;838794]Hi ladies,
I am nearly 16 weeks and (think) I felt my first flutters last week when on a plane.... I see that some-one else was also on a plane when they had their first movements - maybe it's to do with the cabin pressure :confused:. My DH very romantically said "it (bub) probably had no oxygen" :eek:. Men - why do they always have to say EXACTLY what they think?
:laughing: OMG that is so bad but EXACTLY something my DH would say!
doin'mybest
23-11-2006, 12:09 PM
When i'm sitting quietly at night i usually feel a little kick.:smiliedance: I'm pretty sure i felt the first kick a couple of weeks ago at about 12 wk. They're so gentle though that i sometimes wonder whether it really is the baby! It is starting to get more frequent though and i felt it do a little somesault the other day!
I didn't feel my first baby kick till about 17 weeks though.
marlie
23-11-2006, 12:59 PM
:laughing: OMG that is so bad but EXACTLY something my DH would say!
You know what they say Twitch - can't live with em, and can't shoot em...
My DH is honest to a fault. There is no point in me asking if I look fat in anything and expect a "of course you don't, darling!" because if I did - he would tell me! :laughing:
It sounds horrible, but it's actually quite nice to live with someone that would never b/s to you. And when the compliments come, you know he means it.... Just takes a little getting used to that's all! :D
HollyHotLips
24-11-2006, 11:49 AM
I am hoping I can feel something soon, I want to feel pregnant, apart from the headaches and sickness! I want to feel my baby!
Me too, 13 weeks today and I've not felt anything although bub was very active when I had my scan last week. My first though so might be a while yet... :(
24-11-2006, 02:33 PM
I'm almost 15 weeks and have felt some movements lately.
borntobemummy
24-11-2006, 08:42 PM
I'm sure I've been feeling bubba moving!! I just love it, it is so reassuring:party:
miss ani
25-11-2006, 07:55 PM
Anyways, since then I have been feeling like something is scratching tiny little fingernails inside me on both sides of my lower tummy... and it tickles! And during the night last night I rolled over, and it seriously felt like my whole insides did a somersault. Not sure it that was bubs or my uterus, but man it felt weird!
Occasionally am getting some tapping too, but not sure if that is just dinner! :o
marlie, this is exactly what i've had too! little scratching feelings!!
TheMamma
26-11-2006, 06:58 PM
:confused: I'm 15 weeks and I still haven't felt anything aside from hunger pains and gas! *LOL* I'm waiting for the day when I actually feel the movement of my baby - I imagine it would be the most amazing feeling - and very reassuring to know that the baby is moving!
I've been told that as this is my first - I may not feel anything until 20 weeks?
twitch
27-11-2006, 10:39 AM
I swear I felt something at 10w, then didn't feel anything again til 12w, then on and off til now (17w). Everyone's different though, so when they say "You should feel your baby moving at x weeks" it would sort of freak you out a bit if you hadn't felt anything. I also notice that when I am really busy at work, I get worried that I haven't felt anything, but I'm just too busy to notice.
doin'mybest
28-11-2006, 10:50 AM
I'm sure i felt something at 12w, but then didn't feel anything for a while. Every now and then i would feel something and would wonder if it was the baby or wind! I'm now 15w and yesterday i definately felt it move and have felt it a few times since then. So even if i don't look pregnant at least i can feel there's a baby in there now!!:smiliedance:
peta1410
29-11-2006, 01:58 PM
:yes: I think I felt bub move for the first time yesterday. I'm 15 weeks. I can't remember when I felt my first baby move but I remember it felt like little bubbles floating up the inside of my stomach! Such a weird sensation. I can't wait till I'm big enough to actually see bub moving and kicking. I just love it, I never got tired of feeling my baby kicking me.
OopsieDaisy
30-11-2006, 06:56 AM
:yes: I think I felt bub move for the first time yesterday. I'm 15 weeks. I can't remember when I felt my first baby move but I remember it felt like little bubbles floating up the inside of my stomach! Such a weird sensation. I can't wait till I'm big enough to actually see bub moving and kicking. I just love it, I never got tired of feeling my baby kicking me.
Aww exciting hey!!
janie
02-12-2006, 09:43 AM
Kristy, ive been meaning to say i think your avatar thingy is beautiful. Contragulations to you and Justin on your wedding. It looked like a beatiful ceremony. And you look just gorgous.:thumbsup:
OopsieDaisy
02-12-2006, 10:47 AM
Kristy, ive been meaning to say i think your avatar thingy is beautiful. Contragulations to you and Justin on your wedding. It looked like a beatiful ceremony. And you look just gorgous.:thumbsup:
Aww thanks Janie!
WeloveHarriet
05-12-2006, 09:54 AM
Well TAKA2 has just made it's presence felt - four little kicks all in a row. Just to say "Hi Mum, stop poking me!!"
OopsieDaisy
05-12-2006, 10:01 AM
Well TAKA2 has just made it's presence felt - four little kicks all in a row. Just to say "Hi Mum, stop poking me!!"
AWWW yayyyy!!
fozzie
05-12-2006, 01:00 PM
I'm 15 weeks today :smiliedance: and on Sunday I felt bub kick and it was two definate kicks a couple of hours apart it really took me by surprise. I haven't felt anything since as it is still pretty early but I don't know what he was doing in there but it felt like my whole belly moved.:laughing:
OopsieDaisy
05-12-2006, 02:30 PM
I'm 15 weeks today :smiliedance: and on Sunday I felt bub kick and it was two definate kicks a couple of hours apart it really took me by surprise. I haven't felt anything since as it is still pretty early but I don't know what he was doing in there but it felt like my whole belly moved.:laughing:
Did you say HE??!! :eek: ;)
05-12-2006, 03:16 PM
I felt the butterflies the other night! And when I use my doppler now I hear a thud thud noise... I'm almost positive that its Little Pod kicking against the doppler!!!
Ohhhh - isn't it exciting!!!
fozzie
05-12-2006, 06:36 PM
Did you say HE??!! :eek: ;)
Sorry force of habit I've got two boys already and I personally think this one is a boy too.
borntobemummy
05-12-2006, 06:49 PM
I felt the butterflies the other night! And when I use my doppler now I hear a thud thud noise... I'm almost positive that its Little Pod kicking against the doppler!!!
oh! I want a doppler!! that sounds awesome
WeloveHarriet
06-12-2006, 09:50 AM
Hey Pink Lady - see that you have finally joined us. I see that you have a C-section date - boy at least you know when your baby is arriving - we just have to guess!
OopsieDaisy
06-12-2006, 12:23 PM
Awwwwww you are having your bub on my bday!! :thumbsup:
OopsieDaisy
06-12-2006, 12:24 PM
Sorry force of habit I've got two boys already and I personally think this one is a boy too.
You going to find out??!!
08-12-2006, 11:11 AM
My 'natural' EDD is the 31st of May - but I kind of began with the 7th of June - so am still in the June 07 thread too LOL. C'sect date is just kind of a guess right now!!! I'm guessing that it'll be between the 16th and 20th of May - since the obs wants to do it at 38 weeks.
Borntobemummy - the doppler is awesome! I would definitely recommend hiring one for a month or so... Hubby is a bit.. tight with money sometimes so was a bit hesitant in hiring it - but now that we have been able to record the heartbeat at home ourselves and then send it via text/email to friends and family, he is also so pleased that we have it :)
Tanya1985
08-12-2006, 11:22 AM
I have been feeling my baby now! I am so excited. And best of all last night my DP put his face on my tummy and the baby kicked it so hard, it was the hardest kick I felt yet... it was so cute! He is now convinced it must not like him.... I have explained it couldn't tell it was his face and that it was just saying HI DAD!! So I think he feel special now. I am so Happy at the moment!:smiliedance:
08-12-2006, 11:25 AM
DP put his face on my tummy and the baby kicked it so hard, it was the hardest kick I felt yet... it was so cute!
Ohhh - that is so awesome! And even better that you BOTH got to experience the first full on kick yet... How exciting! :yes:
OopsieDaisy
08-12-2006, 01:35 PM
I have been feeling my baby now! I am so excited. And best of all last night my DP put his face on my tummy and the baby kicked it so hard, it was the hardest kick I felt yet... it was so cute! He is now convinced it must not like him.... I have explained it couldn't tell it was his face and that it was just saying HI DAD!! So I think he feel special now. I am so Happy at the moment!:smiliedance:
How cute! Bub this to my dinner plate I had resting on my tum the other day :laughing:
miss ani
10-12-2006, 09:00 PM
i felt something... i think... tonight. it was just before dinner, i was sitting on the couch and i felt a very definite movement that wasn't gas and i couldn't think of it being anything else!!
11-12-2006, 09:53 AM
My bubba has been moving around alot lateley, I put my hand on my stomach and it tries to move it away. I didn't even feel anything with Hayley unitl I was about 20 or so weeks.
twitch
12-12-2006, 09:17 AM
I've been getting definite kicks lately, DH can feel them too which is the best. I sit there in front of the tv with my hand on my belly and just feel bubs moving around, I reckon it's the best part of pregnancy so far. :yes:
doin'mybest
12-12-2006, 10:25 AM
I have been feeling the baby move alot more now. Last night in bed i got DH to put his hand on my belly and he even felt a couple of kicks.:smiliedance:
OopsieDaisy
13-12-2006, 08:22 AM
I have been feeling the baby move alot more now. Last night in bed i got DH to put his hand on my belly and he even felt a couple of kicks.:smiliedance:
It's great when they get to feel it too hey!
DH felt bubba kick my belly button last night, it didn't feel too good on my half LOL
Mummys Boys
13-12-2006, 02:01 PM
I'm 16 wks and still nothing as of yet :( i feel like I'm missing out. With my first I think it was the 15-16wk mark that it started. With the first DH didnt like it to much closer to the end when you can see them moving really freaked him out. I got lots of laughs when he used to cuddle me in bed and then run a mile coz bub moved:D
fozzie
13-12-2006, 02:18 PM
Yeah! last few days bubs has been moving around a bit and I've been able too feel it a couple of times a day can't wait till it gets stronger and DH and the boys can feel it too.
ann n mick
13-12-2006, 02:22 PM
i can feel and see bubs moving when im laying down it seems to be more active at say 9pm and moves about 3 hours so its fun my son puts his head on my tummy to feel and hear his brother or sister
twitch
13-12-2006, 02:49 PM
Aw Ann that is so sweet!
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.