View Full Version : Party Politics
Who saw the segment on Sunrise this morning about how parents were spending thousands of dollars on their childs bday parties?
One parent had I-pods in the party bags:eek:
I seriously think this is OTT!!
My mum always made my cakes from scratch(we picked them outta the Womens Weekly cake book) we always had parties at home in the backyard,and played games like pin-the-tail,and pass the parcel.
I always LOVED my parties and have very fond memories.
I will be doing the same for Riley that I had growing up.But on Sunrise they were saying you will get judged for your parties(by both kids and parents) if they are too "lame" coz kids expect more these days.
What do you guys think??
ahhh, ya get what ya given , not good enough... tough bickies :p
A Party of Five
01-11-2006, 16:15
:thumbsup: I'm with you Chels!
That's the type of party I had as a kid too. And I do the same for all my kids. If they don't like that type of party than don't come. Simple. :no: I don't have the time for people like that.
Jinglebells
01-11-2006, 16:16
I remeber all my b'day parties, like yours they consisted of my mum making my cakes and we played games like pass the parcel and pin the tail on the donkey and musical chairs, I don't ever rember having loot bags or anything like that, the kids did get to take some cake home and a couple of lollies
I don't think kids need anymore than that for b'days, I can't believe parents put ipods in in the loot bags, thats rediculus(sp), i'm definatly no where rich enough to beable to do that
Yeah,if anyone thinks we arent "good enough" then stuff them!!!
Just wanted to add-that when I was younger,my parents were still together and we were very well off but we still had parties at home and I never wanted it any other way!!
the_queen
01-11-2006, 16:18
I think it is also to do with what "social circle" you're in - my true friends wouldn't care if we just had a BBQ with a home-made cake (oh hang on, that's all we've ever done anyway :p !!) and if kindy/school friends' mums think I'm "povo" or "bogan" for not spending thousands, I don't care. They can think what they like!
I do put some thought into the goody bags, but only insofar as making sure there's healthy stuff as well as treats (ie dried fruits as well as a freddo frog) and the toys/gifts are ones that I wouldn't mind Vallerie getting.
It is all a bit ridiculous. My gran always said "start how you mean to go on" and how letdown would the kid feel the next year if you couldnt' afford to go to all that trouble again! And if the parents have got that much money that they can spend thousands on each kids' birthday party every year... well, more money than sense IMO ;)
SilverStarfish
01-11-2006, 16:22
My mum always made my cakes from scratch(we picked them outta the Womens Weekly cake book)
:smiliedance: I think that was my all time favourite book as a kid. I'd pour over it for HOURS picking what cake I wanted for my next birthday.
:yes: Same!!!
Poor old mum would be up half the night before the party finishing the decorating!!She always did such an amazing job!!Shes passed on the book to me now!!I had a ball flicking through it and reminscing about cakes I had!!I will be using that book for the next 10 years or so too!
01-11-2006, 17:42
I think its a whole load of rubbish. Some times we'd have our birthdays at home with all the games etc and other times we'd go out (mini-golf, McDonalds etc) but there were 6 kids (that was just siblings) so it cost heaps.
01-11-2006, 17:46
exactly!
*Country Bumpkin*
02-11-2006, 12:17
when my friends son was 8 he had an easter party they hired a full on jumping castle:eek: the FULL size one you see at feits(sp?)
they also had the easter bunny- ie me.... i love to dress up:rolleyes: :laughing:
Mamaduke
02-11-2006, 12:33
Over the years we've put on birthday parties for the boys which included clowns with their performing dogs, an entertainer dressed as 'Woody' from Toy Story, a day at a farm where we hired the whole farm and reception 'barn', and the last one, a Halloween party complete with smoke machine and a garage filled to the brim with Halloween decorations.
In between we've done McDonalds and a play centre and no one really cared where it actually was, although after Jesse's last birthday (the Halloween one), the kids were talking about it at kinder all the following week and I had one little friend of Jesse's come up to me in the sweetest voice and say, "Jesse's Mum, this has been the best party ever!" which, if the kids enjoy themselves makes it all worth it.
I love planning kid's parties and I always try and add something a little different to each one...oh who am I kidding...my kid's parties are legendary!!! ;)
Pippi Longstocking
02-11-2006, 12:41
One of the best kids parties I have been to was about as low key as they get. It was at a local park, for the food, there was a large tray of cut up fruit and a birthday cake and the kids played ball games. The birthday boy looked like he had heaps of fun, his mum didn't have to stress over getting it all organised ad my kids all had a ball.
Honestly, a lot of the time it appears to be just a giant p!ssing contest. I don't want my kids to think that they can measure my love for them in $$s.
We have had a few expensive parties (heh, even one with a full-sized jumping castle :p ) and we have had some cheap "chips 'n dip and a cake" type parties. The kids liked both - as long as their friends are there and they have something to eat, I honestly don't think they give a rats how much it cost.
Becteria
02-11-2006, 12:46
happybirthday :yelclap: I spent $500 on Maikyras second party - we had 25 kids (there's 12 in my mothers group alone, and we are all very close!) and then their parents! I kept catering cheap - just sambos, cupcakes, soup, lolies and chippies, fruit platters and chees platters. We had a jumping castle which was the best ever part! I made the decorations, just tied string across the yard and threw streamers and cut out stars dangling low for the kids to play with and balloons etc. It was fancy dress which is always good fun! THe money mainly went on the grog for the boozy parents , hee hee hee!
Everyone had a great day, and instead of lollibags i bought Madagascar cups on special for $1 and gave them those. No ipod but hey the kids loved it.
Next year it will be much smaller just 5 kids at the Bear Factory and Maccas. I missed out on parties so she will always have one (my birthday is in the middle of summer holidays, so all my friends or me would be away!)
I fyou can give it, give it. But this year i did the womens weekly teddy bear cake, cost me $5 all together - Maikyra nd the kids loved and she has been asking for it again and again! One of my friends knows the cake chef at womens weekly and had her make this unbelivable cake for $250. End of the day everyone ate the cake and both kids were stoked.
I'm not looking forward to the competitive nature of parents as we get older. I just love a party!
EskimoMumma
02-11-2006, 12:48
Right on!!!!:smiliedance:
02-11-2006, 12:49
I think it is also to do with what "social circle" you're in - my true friends wouldn't care if we just had a BBQ with a home-made cake (oh hang on, that's all we've ever done anyway :p !!) and if kindy/school friends' mums think I'm "povo" or "bogan" for not spending thousands, I don't care. They can think what they like!
You took the words right out of my mouth!!
None of our friends are that OTT so we are pretty safe. I have better things to spend my thousands on...... oh hang on what thousands? :p
We're relatively new to the party thing. So far this year, we've had one, and been to two, with a third comin up soon. One thing I have noticed is that when the party is held at a fun station, the kids don't interact with one another much, whereas the good old backyard/park party the kids all play wiht one another and seem to have just as much fun.
As for what other parents think of our 'home' parties, I don't give a hoot.
spiritedfamily
02-11-2006, 19:00
We're relatively new to the party thing. So far this year, we've had one, and been to two, with a third comin up soon. One thing I have noticed is that when the party is held at a fun station, the kids don't interact with one another much, whereas the good old backyard/park party the kids all play wiht one another and seem to have just as much fun.
As for what other parents think of our 'home' parties, I don't give a hoot.
I agree..so totally agree:yes:
We have home parties because you can target the party to suit your kids age, interests and food tastes and as you have said...they can run around and actually play together...plus I know where everyone is...can't get lost in the midst of a plastic tube...
and I love making a cake and the kids have come to expect it...
If I could afford to give each kid an electronic device...I'd be crazy not to use on a holiday instead or something for the house
spiritedfamily
02-11-2006, 19:49
I have to admit that providing I had the room in my backyard I would probably allow my kids to have a jumping castle if they wanted one... :o
I think it comes down to the cost...if we were to hire a jumping castle...it would mean we wouldn't spend as much on party games/presents...so you can kind of balance the costs out...without having it all..
at the end of the day...we have to remember that were doing for our kids enjoyment and that the simple things can be alot of fun and occasionally we can afford a little extravagance (sp?)
anna's mum
03-11-2006, 08:46
We did the backyard bbq/jumping castle thing last year & are planning it again for this year (next week!) The beauty of the jumping castle is that the kids love it & the people come & set it up for you! No stress! Then I just get hubby on the bbq for sausage sangers, lots of finger food, a cake, maybe this year try to get a few games happening ...
Honestly, though, my dd is an only child so far, so she just loves kids coming over to play. I think having kids brings out your non-materialistic side, because they are happy just to play, & I can't see anyone I know demanding anything more expensive - I'd either just ply them with more alcohol or tell them to leave :yes: