View Full Version : Do you have a favourite Christmas Decoration?

Ruby Slippers
01-11-2006, 12:31
Do you have a favourite Christmas Decoration ?
mine means alot to me many years ago my Nanna gave me a present
I opened it up in the car and thought thanks
for my golden ball Decoration I liked it but thought why would she give me a golden ball :laughing: and then I found out it opens up and a necklace was inside , my Nanna is not here anymore :crying:
but I make sure every year that I put it up on my tree I added a few things to it I put a bear in it and I still have part of the necklace stone
I love it.:yelclap: .
My Decoration
http://x5.freeshare.us/view/?122fs4010689.jpg
http://x5.freeshare.us/view/?122fs4008791.jpg

Ruby Slippers
01-11-2006, 15:02
I can't wait to put my tree up :smiliedance:

Shakey
01-11-2006, 15:04
I can't wait to put mine up either, only 30 more days to go lol, I need to buy one first though lol, I don't have any decorations so don't have a favourite lol, but this yeah i'm going to get some decorations from myers with my son's name and date on it along with my 2 angel boys (I do hope myer do these cause thats what i was told)

Little_Toad
01-11-2006, 15:11
Last year was my second Xmas with DP and knew he'd be the one I'd be spending the rest of my life with, so asked if he would come with me to buy an Xmas tree and two decorations.

We are going to buy two each year.

I was wearing a pink mini skirt, pink top and bright pink lipstick and silver shoes. When we got to DJ's the FIRST decoration we saw was a 15" Girl toad (frog) wearing a pink top, pink miniskirt and silver shoes with bright pink lipstick.
We couldnt stop laughing.

Anyway we didn't get that cause it was too large for a teeny tiny tree we bought so got these two instead:

Frog & Toad Xmas Decorations (http://www.bizztools.net/misc/xmas_frog_toad.jpg)

Ruby Slippers
01-11-2006, 15:13
I can't wait to put mine up either, only 30 more days to go lol, I need to buy one first though lol, I don't have any decorations so don't have a favourite lol, but this yeah i'm going to get some decorations from myers with my son's name and date on it along with my 2 angel boys (I do hope myer do these cause thats what i was told)

or you could get a glitter glue pen and a christmas ball and do it yourself :thumbsup:
I love craft stuff.:yelclap:

01-11-2006, 15:14
i don't have a fav decoration yet, but having said that, this is my first christmas that I am really looking forward to (As its my DD's first) and I can't wait to put a christmas tree up this year :D

I can't wait to go out hunting for a special little trinket to go on the tree to celebrate ems first christmas

Ruby Slippers
01-11-2006, 15:15
Last year was my second Xmas with DP and knew he'd be the one I'd be spending the rest of my life with, so asked if he would come with me to buy an Xmas tree and two decorations.

I was wearing a pink mini skirt, pink top and bright pink lipstick and silver shoes. When we got to DJ's the FIRST decoration we saw was a 15" Girl toad (frog) wearing a pink top, pink miniskirt and silver shoes with bright pink lipstick.

Anyway we didn't get that cause it was too large for a teeny tiny tree we bought so got these two instead:

They are soooooooooooo cute I love the long legs :laughing: ,

Ruby Slippers
01-11-2006, 15:16
i don't have a fav decoration yet, but having said that, this is my first christmas that I am really looking forward to (As its my DD's first) and I can't wait to put a christmas tree up this year :D

I can't wait to go out hunting for a special little trinket to go on the tree to celebrate ems first christmas

Target have cute my1st christmas decorations :thumbsup:

01-11-2006, 15:17

haha they are cute

Ruby Slippers
01-11-2006, 20:01
Also My favourite decorations are also the one's my girls bring home from school every year

I keep them all :yelclap: .

A Party of Five
02-11-2006, 09:28
We all have are own red ball with are name painted on it in gold. And we pick where to put it on the tree. My Great Aunty Betty does the painting. It looks really good.

Ruby Slippers
02-11-2006, 09:35
We all have are own red ball with are name painted on it in gold. And we pick where to put it on the tree. My Great Aunty Betty does the painting. It looks really good.

I love decorations like that your lucky :thumbsup:
I got a glitter glue pen and wrote my Familys name's
on there decoration ball I have to make a new one for my little man
Willow It won't be he's first christmas as he will still be kicking and doing flips inside me :laughing:

Niki
02-11-2006, 09:50
on my mums tree my favourite are all the ones i made wen i was little, they are nothing special to look at but she loves them

and on my tree it will be my baby 1st xmas decoration

02-11-2006, 09:54
Would have to my the kids personalised chrissy balls. It has their baby picture (few weeks before their 1st xmas) etched into them aswell as their name and date of birth. I'm getting Ducky's done in a week or two.

Ruby Slippers
02-11-2006, 10:49
Would have to my the kids personalised chrissy balls. It has their baby picture (few weeks before their 1st xmas) etched into them aswell as their name and date of birth. I'm getting Ducky's done in a week or two.

Sounds great :thumbsup:

Ruby Slippers
02-11-2006, 10:50
on my mums tree my favourite are all the ones i made wen i was little, they are nothing special to look at but she loves them

and on my tree it will be my baby 1st xmas decoration

I really love my hand made christmas decorations that my girls have made over the years there always the best :thumbsup:

02-11-2006, 11:03
My fav decoration are the ones Zach made last year...an angel, a reindeer and a christmas tree :D

Ruby Slippers
02-11-2006, 16:30
My fav decoration are the ones Zach made last year...an angel, a reindeer and a christmas tree :D

There the best one's :thumbsup: .

Ruby Slippers
03-11-2006, 09:15
I love these 2 apple decorations from when I was a child.

I never did and still don't know why my mum had plastic apples as a decoration, but over the years I learnt to love them and now I can't part with them.

That's great that you love the apple decorations ,
I really love the magic of christmas.

BlueGin
03-11-2006, 09:26
Yay for Christmas!!! I love everything about it, and decorating the tree is certainly a big thing. DH and I have never had our own tree, as we spend the day at my parent's, maybe we'll get one next year for our little Bubble's first Christmas.

My favourite decoration is a little orange wooden rocking horse that my Great Uncle gave me when I was 3. It lost its hanger many years ago (and its tail, which I used to carry it by... lol) so it sits on the mantle piece watching over the other decorations. We have lots of gorgeous wooden ones from him, plus ones added over the years, but we totally need to add a few new ones, as each year they get that little bit dustier and little bit less shiny :o.

Shame I have to wait till Christmas Eve to decorate the tree, feels like forever away!

Love your frog and toad LT, just gorgeous :p

cjb/jbvd
03-11-2006, 09:43
this will be the second year i don't get to have my own tree.... :gloomy:

my first christmas away from home was five years ago. i went and spent almost my whole paycheck on geting a beautiful tree and all these lovely delicate hand made glass and china decorations. i love them all and spent hours picking them out. christmas trees are my favourite thing about christmas.

but now that i have DS i spend christmas traveling to my parents house and DS's grandparents house (they live interstate in different states at different ends of the country). so i don't get to see my tree anymore because there just isnt time to enjoy it.

Ruby Slippers
03-11-2006, 15:02
this will be the second year i don't get to have my own tree.... :gloomy:

my first christmas away from home was five years ago. i went and spent almost my whole paycheck on geting a beautiful tree and all these lovely delicate hand made glass and china decorations. i love them all and spent hours picking them out. christmas trees are my favourite thing about christmas.

but now that i have DS i spend christmas traveling to my parents house and DS's grandparents house (they live interstate in different states at different ends of the country). so i don't get to see my tree anymore because there just isnt time to enjoy it.

I hope one Christmas you can enjoy your tree:hugs:

Ruby Slippers
04-11-2006, 14:28
Today I had that feeling of putting up the Christmas tree
but I will wait until at least the 25th of November :laughing: :smiliedance:

Ruby Slippers
05-11-2006, 12:48
A new Target has opened up near me
so I can't wait to see what decorations they have this year :yelclap: .

Kizmet
05-11-2006, 23:01
my favourite decoration goes on my mother's tree. It is an old fashioned heart with a cherub on it. it is known as dad's heart and is the first ornament to go up and the last to come down . it's always at the top of the tree. My dad died when i was 3 and we've had the heart ever since

Ruby Slippers
05-11-2006, 23:17
my favourite decoration goes on my mother's tree. It is an old fashioned heart with a cherub on it. it is known as dad's heart and is the first ornament to go up and the last to come down . it's always at the top of the tree. My dad died when i was 3 and we've had the heart ever since

That sounds so nice :hugs:
i'm sorry for your loss.

Ruby Slippers
06-11-2006, 06:29
I Always buy more Decorations every year
and I mostly buy them from kmart or Target but ALDI looks good this year and so does
The WareHouse I think when I walk into those stores
I'm going to come out with alot of Christmas Items ,
The WareHouse has a great craft section
and my girls love making stuff so that will be fun.:yelclap:

~mia&ryan~
06-11-2006, 08:04
My faves are our personalised baubles from Myer, they are so pretty.:yes: Can't wait till Mia's is ready to pick up:yelclap:

Percy
06-11-2006, 16:06
My favourite decoration is a blue angel bear. We put it on our tree every year in memory of DS1.

I cant wait to start decorating either!!:smiliedance:

Ruby Slippers
08-11-2006, 09:50
My favourite decoration is a blue angel bear. We put it on our tree every year in memory of DS1.

I cant wait to start decorating either!!:smiliedance:

I'm sorry for your loss :hugs:
The blue angel bear sounds wonderful .

mumtofour
08-11-2006, 10:00
My favourite ones are the ones that the kids bring home from school/kindy also...we have most of them and whichever child made them gets to put them on the tree...My most treasured ones though are the ones that my grandparents use to put on their tree...As kids we use to spend nearly every christmas there and every second once we moved out of home and had our own families..My grandad has now passed away and my grandma has moved to the other side of Oz (i'm in Brissie she's in Perth) and haven't spent a x-mas together for 3 years...

Ruby Slippers
08-11-2006, 10:58
My favourite ones are the ones that the kids bring home from school/kindy also...we have most of them and whichever child made them gets to put them on the tree...My most treasured ones though are the ones that my grandparents use to put on their tree...As kids we use to spend nearly every christmas there and every second once we moved out of home and had our own families..My grandad has now passed away and my grandma has moved to the other side of Oz (i'm in Brissie she's in Perth) and haven't spent a x-mas together for 3 years...

hand made one's are my favourite :thumbsup:

Ruby Slippers
10-11-2006, 17:21
My sister is having her Baby shower on sunday 12th November
and so I made her soon to be newborn son
Jack a christmas:tree: decoration
http://x5.freeshare.us/view/?123fs121637.jpg

Ruby Slippers
16-11-2006, 13:35
I just finshed part of my lounge Room
I did my fireplace mantel My Christmas tree goes up on the 25 of November :tree:
http://x5.freeshare.us/view/?123fs791576.jpg
http://x5.freeshare.us/view/?123fs791615.jpg
http://x5.freeshare.us/view/?123fs791888.jpg
http://x5.freeshare.us/view/?123fs792414.jpg
http://x5.freeshare.us/view/?123fs792590.jpg
http://x5.freeshare.us/view/?123fs792737.jpg

Ruby Slippers
19-11-2006, 01:39
The 25th of November is Almost here
time to put the tree :tree: up then:thumbsup:

mumtofour
20-11-2006, 10:01
The 25th of November is Almost here
time to put the tree :tree: up then:thumbsup:

We normally put our tree up on the 25th, but this year it won't be going up until after 3rd December:( ...We are having a party for our 13 year old daughter so have decided to wait until after that to decorate the inside of the house...but we are going to start putting the outside fairy lights up this week though:smiliedance: ..

Ruby slippers I love your mantel ..I wish we had a fireplace, but being in brisbane not really too much point..

Ruby Slippers
21-11-2006, 10:08
We normally put our tree up on the 25th, but this year it won't be going up until after 3rd December:( ...We are having a party for our 13 year old daughter so have decided to wait until after that to decorate the inside of the house...but we are going to start putting the outside fairy lights up this week though

Ruby slippers I love your mantel ..I wish we had a fireplace, but being in brisbane not really too much point..

Oh Thanks :hugs:
we are also putting the outside lights up this week it's my Dh job he loves doing it : :reindeer: .

Ruby Slippers
02-12-2006, 08:13
My tree:tree: is up and I just love sitting back and looking at it and getting that

magical feeling
I really love christmas sooooooooooo much :yelclap: .

02-12-2006, 08:15
I love the ballball that I have for my DD's first christmas this year

Ruby Slippers
16-12-2006, 15:20
Well my tree is up
and my Dd age 7 did most of it
as me being pregnant
I got very tired ,
she did a wonderful job :yelclap:
http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a134/marielouiseann/christree.jpg

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a134/marielouiseann/christree3.jpg

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a134/marielouiseann/christree2.jpg

joe
17-12-2006, 21:45
DS was given this one on Friday - it's my new favourite decoration!

Click (http://s120.photobucket.com/albums/o186/renrexren/h06/?action=view&current=Dec06001.jpg)

:xmas: :tree: :reindeer:

defaipe
17-12-2006, 23:04
when dd#1 was born we found at an engraver near us that they did christmas discs with a pic and a bit at the bottom you engrave, we put the kids names on each one with their birthdate. but he has since moved shops and doesnt do them anymore..
if anyone has seen anything like this please let me know.. my parents now are soon to have 10 grandkids and they only have 4 discs so far..