View Full Version : christmas traditions!

Kizmet
01-11-2006, 08:48

Just curious as to what christmas traditions you all have in your family. A new tradition we have in ours is that DH and I host christmas eve for both families at our house that way abby will get to spend more time with both of her families. On Xmas day its always been tradition for the youngest members of the family to hand out the presents so its Abigail's turn this year! lol With preparing the fod, the women do everything- in particular my 90 year old great grandmother does most of it. After chrissy dinner we used to al play cards and the adults would have a few drinks but that hasnt appened since we all had families and had to go to in laws houses. A new tradition i wil be starting since it's abby's first christmas is laying santa's footprints in talcum powder on the floor...or maybe that shake n vac stuff so i can vac it up and santa's footprints smell like lavender :laughing:

I love everything about christmas!!! Our house gets done up to the nines! Wish it was christmas every day!

OM
01-11-2006, 08:55
The traditions in our house are:

Crossaint's and a cheese platter for breakfast.

Presents get opened up after breakfast is finished and cleared except for the presents from santa which can be opened upon waking.

Lunch is never at the same place as the year before.

M O P
01-11-2006, 09:03
My parents always have a Webber roast lunch and it's very traditional for my father to have something go wrong with it and lunch to be served at about 2 o'clock in the arvo!:laughing:

01-11-2006, 09:03
We wake up in the morning.. open presents first thing :laughing: then it's off to one of my family member's place for lunch. Then we usually stay there for a while until dinner where it's off to DP's mums place for dinner.

Ruby Slippers
01-11-2006, 09:07
christmas is laying santa's footprints in talcum powder on the floor...or maybe that shake n vac stuff so i can vac it up and santa's footprints smell like lavender :laughing:

:laughing: :laughing: :yelclap:

SassyDiva
01-11-2006, 09:09
I LOVE CHRISTMAS......

Ever since we've had the boys, we started to create our own Traditions for our new lil family, and I love it...

We now host Christmas lunch for our family's...I love the smell of xmas pud (with a hint of brandy :D ) thru the house. The smell of ham and turkey cooking away in the oven..We live in hot QLD so everything gets cooked a day B4 so we have cold ham/turkey/potato & pasta salad... And whats a hot chrissy with out a prawn salad.

So our Traditions are...

1) Tree and deco's get put up on the 6th of December as it's DS1's b'day on the 5th, so we like to make the 2 events seperate.

2) No pressents under the tree until Santa delivers them (this took a bit of getting use to for me as I was use to piles of pressies coming out from 1st Dec), so we have a train to decorate the empty space until xmas...

3) On the wk leading up to christmas we do the rounds to see all the homes decorated in all things christmas.

4) Christmas Eve, Jordy (and this yr Jackson too) puts a mince pie and glass of milk on Santas special plate, and a few apples for his reindeers..then goes to bed all excited about the nxt day.

5) Christmas carrols on TV while Im busy finishing off the nxt days meal.. Then DF and I stay up and wrap / hide and put the finishing touches on all the pressents.. Last year we didn't get to bed till 4am, then up at 7am and it's was great...!

Im all excited now :D

Kizmet
01-11-2006, 09:14
im getting excited too! Love the chrissie train idea where did you get it?

Ruby Slippers
01-11-2006, 09:22
We always go overboard with presents and christmas eve I still seem to be wrapping presents , we love Christmas morning my Dh and I are so tired and we can hear the girls go into the lounge and then they run down the hallway to our room Santa's beeeeeeeeeeeen
come on get up so I drag myself out of bed with my Dh and go and start handing out presents while my Dh is filming it ,
I can't wait :yelclap: we put our tree up on the 25th of November
as I never get sick of seeing the tree up , my Dh puts lights and Decorations all over the front yard he's such a big kid lol
and then we visit all the in-laws oh what joy :p
but I love my Mum's cooking now i'm drooling

Kizmet
01-11-2006, 09:36
ssuch a beautiful tree ruby slippers! It looks like ours does. I wrap up everything individually so it looks like there are more presents :) i just love the stacked tree. One of my relo's does colour coordinated trees normally beige and gold on a white tree and everything has its place....ours is sooo colourful with bits here and there. noting coordinated! lots of fun! We put up our tree on the 1st of december and take it down....mid january february lol whenever i get the time and energy after chrissy and nye

Ruby Slippers
01-11-2006, 09:53
ssuch a beautiful tree ruby slippers! It looks like ours does. I wrap up everything individually so it looks like there are more presents :) i just love the stacked tree. One of my relo's does colour coordinated trees normally beige and gold on a white tree and everything has its place....ours is sooo colourful with bits here and there. noting coordinated! lots of fun! We put up our tree on the 1st of december and take it down....mid january february lol whenever i get the time and energy after chrissy and nye

I love Christmas so much :yelclap: .

SassyDiva
01-11-2006, 10:03
im getting excited too! Love the chrissie train idea where did you get it?

I got mine from Big W..was only $99 which is a total bargin... Its huge, has 6 cargo cabins (for lollies etc) and has 6 meters of track, and blows smoke and has a whistle...is remote control too (I love it, cant u tell :p )
Myer has the same one for sale for $269...so GO BIG W

Blessed Mum
01-11-2006, 10:56
Thankyou for posting the pics of ur gorgeous tree rubyslippers..........now I'm sooo excited :D . This is an extra exciting christmas for us this year as its CHARLOTTE"S 1st :smiliedance: . This time last year I still had morning sickness 24/7 so I'm really looking forward to getting right into it this year. We have so many traditions, So starting today I officially have my santa hat on & getting busy :smiliedance:

Ruby Slippers
01-11-2006, 12:06
Thankyou for posting the pics of ur gorgeous tree rubyslippers..........now I'm sooo excited :D . This is an extra exciting christmas for us this year as its CHARLOTTE"S 1st :smiliedance: . This time last year I still had morning sickness 24/7 so I'm really looking forward to getting right into it this year. We have so many traditions, So starting today I officially have my santa hat on & getting busy :smiliedance:

I can't really do that much this year as i'm pregnant and I can't lift anything heavy so my Dh will be putting at the tree and getting all the boxes of Christmas decorations out
and then I will help put it up
I can't wait.:smiliedance: .

caz
01-11-2006, 12:23
My family tradition is xmas breaky at my mum's place, then it's off to an Aunty or Unlce's place for lunch then the In-Laws for tea

But his year it's In-Laws for lunch then off to my cousins place for tea

No breaky at my mum's place this year :crying: Mum, my brother, SIL and nieces are off to Melbourne to spend it with my sister. I'm not going because it's our turn to have DSD for christmas eve

In regards to when to put the tree up, I usually do that after I watch the christmas pageant on TV. And that's this weekend :smiliedance:

I used to hate christmas (it just wasn't the same after my dad died) but since having DS i've come to love it again

Kizmet
01-11-2006, 13:09
In regards to when to put the tree up, I usually do that after I watch the christmas pageant on TV. And that's this weekend :smiliedance:

what christmas pageant? ooooo i want to put up my tree now!!!

SweetSerenity
01-11-2006, 13:18
Well seeing as this is our first "official" christmas in our own home, we are just starting our own traditions.

So far we have:

Put tree/decorations up on the 1st December :D

Every year buy a special decoration for the three of us.

Thats all i've come up with so far ha ha...

But in general, my family always have a christmas lunch together and they take turns i hosting.... this year my Aunty and Uncle are as they moved into a new home :)

I love christmas! Cant wait to put everything up!

subaruforestermum
01-11-2006, 13:19
Well its my birthday on Christmas Day, so Christmas has always been a big thing for me and my family, now I have my own family I get put aside.......and I no longer like christmas.......

Last year we started our own tradition of,

Spending the morning alone, with just the 3 of us, where we open gifts......we dont have to do the santa thing yet as he is still too little to understand......
Then we make the horrible trip to my DP's parents house for christmas lunch, where everyone gets really good gifts and I get nothing (or gifts for both of us) and dont even get thanked for the great gifts we give out.......Oh and I dont even get wished a Happy Birthday, they just say "oh is it your birthday today" and nothing more......
Then we go home and I cook christmas dinner, an dont get any help from DP, for my family.............DP doesnt even go out and buy me or make me a birthday cake, I have to make my own......Christmas just isnt the same anymore, but I know as soon as bub starts to get older, and understand what its all about, and draws me beautiful cards for christmas that its gonna be better.........

Kind of long, I know, and seems selfish...but.......:rolleyes:

Kizmet
01-11-2006, 14:06
i tried to talk dh into putting our tree up this weekend but nope :( 1st of december!

A Party of Five
01-11-2006, 16:50
Every year buy a special decoration for the three of us

We all have are own red ball with are name painted on it in gold. My Great Aunt Betty does the painting. It looks really good.

Niki
02-11-2006, 22:38
christmas eve we all stay at my parents house and watch xmas movies until we fall asleep

christmas morning we all wake up early, put on our xmas shirts and open prezzies one at a time, we always go overboard with prezzies:D

at lunch time we have a full english lunch with turkey, roast beef and ham

at night we go to my auntys house and all the family get together about 30-40 of us and have a few drinks and sing karoke

busylizzy
25-11-2006, 08:28
Our Christmas tradition is that we eat waaaaaay too much:D :laughing: Isn't that what xmas is all about;) I love it!!!
We usually have a big dinner on xmas eve with my mum & sister (they fly up from Sydney) & then my inlaws usually arrive on xmas day & we have a big xmas lunch here as we are the only ones with kids. I also just love putting up the xmas tree on Dec 1st & watching all the xmas carols & cartoons on tv (I am such a big kid!). We also drive around & look at all the xmas lights but are too lazy & cheap to put any up ourselves:laughing:.

stilldreaming
25-11-2006, 09:13
My parents always have a Webber roast lunch and it's very traditional for my father to have something go wrong with it and lunch to be served at about 2 o'clock in the arvo!:laughing::laughing: :laughing: :laughing: Thats why you never leave it to the men......

BlueGin
25-11-2006, 09:35
A big tradition for us is that after the present opening in the morning (where we all take turns, oldest to youngest, and watch each present get opened) we head off to the park and play cricket for a few hours. THen we sneak home shame facedly to see if Mum needs a hand :o, and all get different jobs assigned to do till the big Christmas dinner. All with bouts of cricket in between in the backyard of course! Don't think I can play this year though as my bro's get too competitive with it and the hard ball would end up flying full bore at the bump!

And Christmas Eve is when we all get together to put up the tree and decorate it, then wrap presents till the wee hours!

Zada
25-11-2006, 09:41
ill be ahving fun chrissie eve! We got dd an outdoor play thingy its quite big so ill be putting that together...Oh and mum got her a cubby house so i guess i'll be doing that too.