View Full Version : Starting Solids
I think I need help - or at least some advice.
I started my baby on solids at around 5 months old (he's now 6 months), the problem is that he wont eat vegetables however he loves fruit. Secondly, some days he eats once or twice during the day and on others he wont eat a thing. We generally give him a bottle first then offer him some food.
What do I do? How do I get him to eat veges? How much should he be eating during the day? Is it okay to give him tin fruit (ie Heinz) or should I be making it fresh myself?
Any advice would be appreciated.
Trina
Hi Trina,
I know exactly what you're talking about! Eloise is the same. She's now 8 and a half months and only eats fruit. She hates veges. Mind you she's eating more finger food now, slices of cheese, yoghurt (petit miam baby), chunks of tomato, cooked noodles, rice cakes... and any type of fruit, chunky or pureed with rice cereal!! I've tried her with pumpkin, potato, peas, brocolli, cauliflower, corn, homemade and store bought, you name it. If it's a vege she will not eat it! I've even mixed them with yoghurt to disguise it but she somehow manages to suck all the yoghurt off and spits out the vege! :rolleyes:
She eats breakfast fruit (1/2 a heinz jar) with a 1/2 teaspoon of rice cereal mixed in and then a bottle - about 180mls. Then we have lunch, a yoghurt with chunky fruit or puree (110-150g) and a slice of bread or rice cake and a bottle. Late arvo she might have another bottle or some diluted 4:1 apple juice. Then early evening she eats some noodles and a slice of cheese with a rice cake or bread (while I'm cooking dinner) and has another bottle before bed.
You might like to wait and try this when he's a bit older, but SPC make a pureed fruit snack pack thing which are less runny. You get more in the pack than baby food (140g I think) and its around the same price. They're in the canned fruit section of the supermarket and from what I can tell they are identical to baby food but thicker. They have apple & pear, apple & backcurrant, apple & strawberry, apple & raspberry, and straight apple. Eloise loves them!!
I figure that as long as she's gaining weight and is healthy then I'm just going to keep trying her every week with different veges and one day she won't raspberry it back at me! :p
Sorry if I've rambled a bit but I hope this helps!! Good luck!! :)
I tried Adam on a little Sweet Potato (2 teaspoons) and he ate it - well most of it anyway.. he did manage a rasberry or two.... Mind you the little actor made sure I understood that he was only eating it because he was hungry!! Haven't tried yoghurt yet but that is next on my list.
Will keep my eye out for the SPC fruit you mentioned... I think I need to add more texture to his diet... so it may be worth a try.
Hi Trina,
I checked my labels - its actually Goulburn Valley that does the pureed fruit in all those varieties. But SPC do make an Apple and Kiwi two pack that Eloise is very fond of!! Like your Adam, Eloise eats about a teaspoon of veges before clamping her mouth shut. At first I thought that she might just not be hungry but I offered her a pureed apple and she scoffed the lot. :rolleyes:
Good luck!
Hi Trina
I too have had food issues with my first born and am just now going through it all again with my second. Between babies the recommended age to start solids changed (I guess babies have changed so much in three years!! :rolleyes: ), so I've been even more confused that the first time :o . But here's hints I've got...
Your baby (or toddler) doesn't have really hugh nutritional requirements, so even if they eat little, they are still getting the nourishment they need as long as their weight is going up. Babies are still getting their main nutrition from milk anyway.
Don't worry if your kiddie only eats fruit and not veggies (or vice versa), they will get what they need from fruit OR veggies.
Try solids before milk. For first D, I started solids at 4 months (milk first then solids) and then swapped the order at 6 months. For second D, recommendation was not to start solids until 6 months (we made it to 5 ;) , then asked GP when to start giving solids first. GP said she's always recommended solids before milk.
Its not hard to steam fruits and veggies in the microwave. Just chop into slices / pieces, add a little water and microwave on high until tender. Process them (with as much of the cooking water as possible to get all the goodies) until they are the right smoothness for your baby. Cook heaps and freeze the leftovers in icecube trays, ready to be defrosted whenever. Steamed pears and apples smell beautiful and I don't know what Heinz does to pears, but when I cook and whizz them up, its VERY DIFFERENT to the can :shrug: Having said that cans are v handy when you're out and about.
Hope this helps. Cheers
We started with fruit as I knew that pear is the least allergenic food that I could give her but at 3.5 she is still quite difficult with vegetables. I have since heard that starting with fruit can give them a bit of a sweet tooth (it contains plenty of natural sugars) which of course leaves them preferring fruit to vegetables. This is absolutely accurate with us. DD will eat tonnes of fruit but is fussy with veges as I said. Next time it is vegetables before fruit for us! I think it would be wise to use fruit as a dessert instead that becomes a bit of a reward once vegetables are well established and being eaten regularly. I imagine there is some good psychology behind babies thinking that way; perhaps they will be more keen on eating fruit as a snack between meals as they get older if they have been nurtured to view it as a treat that comes after meals otherwise... just perhaps...!
Because solids have VERY LITTLE importance until around twelve months I wouldn't stress about getting something into him. I also agree that it is common advice to give solids BEFORE milk so that they don't fill up on milk first leaving it even harder to get them interested in solid food. I'd suggest putting the fruit on the back-burner completely (because of my experience) and offer vegetables only and always before milk. It can be near impossible to get solids into them when they are absolutely starving though so don't wait until he is screaming blue murder. I guess watching the clock is most useful in this scenario.
So yeah, I'd ONLY offer vegetables and at this young age make sure you persist with the same vegetable for 3-5 days as it is completely normal for them to reject it over and over. I was so paranoid and excited in the whole solids process that I kept chopping and changing and DD never did get the chance to get used to vegetables. You live and learn hey?! Solids just aren't very important for many months yet so if he refuses vegetables for a few days then so be it. But if he eats rice cereal then consider introducing the vegetables into that as it will dilute the taste somewhat. You could make the food richer and richer in the vegetable as each day passes so that he becomes more accustomed to that taste.
Can I also recommend the excellent Annabel Karmel book Feeding Your Baby And Toddler?
Lucybelle
02-01-2005, 06:52
Hey, baby's is only 6 or so months old - dont stress too much yet. they can really take it or leave it at this stage.
I note everyone suggests to offer food before milk. At this early stage baby still relys on the milk (breast or formula) for the full range of nutrients and fats. Food now is more of an introduction to whats coming. They need the milk to maintain weight, so it should still be the main course.
Slow cooked vegies are the way to go, homemade. I wouldn't rely on commercial jars. it doesn't take too much time. i sit my son in his highchair whilst I'm cooking his dinner and he is always very interested in what I'm doing. He watches me taste and wants to do it too. I always sit him at the table when the family eats, he wants to be a part of what we are doing. Theres more to a meal than a spoon going into the mouth!
The dinner table is a battleground every night in homes all over, and I just refuse to participate! If baby wont eat something I make no fuss at all. Babys are WAY clever and pick up on your worry and use it to their advantage!! Bless theyr cotton sockies! :D .
I wouldn't let food become an issue with my daughter (12 yrs) and it paid off. She eats such a wide range of foods, and will always try something new. You can choose your battles.
Try to keep bubs away from too much fruit and sugars, they will eat sweets over vegies any day (me too!).
I was a terrible fussy eater and still am. It used to be a real problem for me and sometimes still is. I remember as I child driving my mother spare because I would only eat 2 foods.
Try not to feel pressure - babys still little (and so is his tummy). Family time at the dinner table is a tradition fast dying out but one I think we should all make time for. Associate food with family, love and laughter, not a battle of wills!! Do it YOUR way!
Best of luck!
vonnie100
12-01-2005, 10:27
Hi, I was just wondering when it is okay to start feeding babies dairy food. I noticed that one mother is feeding her baby cheese and yogurt at 8 months but for some reason I thought you had to wait untill they were at least 12 months? It would make meals easier if I could wip out a yogurt or make some custard! And what about eggs? Can I give my baby eggs yet? She is 9 months old and one of my friends offered her an egg sandwich that she seemed to want to eat but I was afraid of giving it to her incase of alergies?
Any info would be great!
Vonnie100
willsmum
12-01-2005, 13:38
They shouldn't have cows milk as their main drink until they are 12 months but dairy such as cheese and yoghurt is OK from about 9 months I think. You can also use milk in cooking. As for egg , start them on the yolk only. I used to cook up an egg yolk with some ricotta cheese and make a kind of smooth scrambled egg paste - he loved it.
Eloise has been eating yoghurt for ages (since 6 or 7 months old?). It really helps with her constipation problem too.
Vonnie, I think the egg allergy thing is for the egg whites, not the yolks, and if you have history of allergy in your family then best to avoid it until they're older. If you have no allergy, then eggs are fine to give after 9 months. I've been making Eloise pikelets lately and they have an egg and cows milk in them. I was contemplating making little cheese omelets for her too. Mmm... might do that now for her lunch :p !!
I was so proud of her this morning, we've been trying and trying with the vegetable thing, but this morning she ate half a jar of pumpkin & sweetcorn mixed with a little yoghurt. First time for everything!! I'm going to mix yoghurt with everything from now on and see what happens!!
vonnie100
13-01-2005, 19:57
Thanks for the feedback on the yoghurt and eggs. Picklets sound like a great idea, I never thought of that. I aren't very good at getting ideas on easy things that she can eat, (also I am a little fearful of chocking) I will give that a try tomorrow, maybe a picklet with a little yoghurt on top :p
Boomtish, I found that Caitlin really loved to eat pumkin mixed with couscous and mashed peas!?! and I used to disguise the veggies with a little apple on the spoon aswell ;) and she never knew!
The omelet I made went down a treat! She loved it, so that's one more thing to her eating repatoire! I also made her a zucchini & cheese omelet today which she liked - grated zucchini & grated cheese. (I ate most of it though :o yummy!)
Eloise likes to eat my pikelets when they're still warm - she's not to keen on them once they've cooled. I pop them in the microwave for a few seconds and spread them with pureed fruit, she'll eat them then!! :p
vonnie100
15-01-2005, 20:59
I tried giving Caitlin a picklet today and although she loved it, she unfortunatley has an egg intolerance and her face blew up like a balloon and she went bright red and had little white dots all over her face. Her eyes puffed up and she could hardley see and they were so blood shot, and she was soooo itchy she just couldnt stop rubbing her eyes and and scratching her face, but this all went away after 15 mins or so. Should I perhaps try without egg whites or should I just stay away from the egg thing altogether!? What would others do? I'm not to sure if this means that I will have to be carefull of anything I cook that may have eggs in it. Anyway I will have a chat with the health nurse and see what she thinks on Monday.
Vonnie
BTW does anyone know of any good egg free cooking books or sites?
Lachlan's Mum
15-01-2005, 21:07
Lachlan has been eating yogurt for the past couple of weeks/month (he is now 7.5 mths old) - you can buy "baby" yogurt that is recommended from 6 mths. He has been having kraft cheese sticks too.
As for the rules re dairy and eggs everything I read is different!!!!!
I know not to give him straight cows milk till 1 yr and I think I'll hold off on the eggs till then too.
No allergies in our families so I guess that makes it easier for us to make these decisions.
Lachlan has been doing fine on the yogurt and cheese anyway - so I say do what works for your bub. ;)
P.S. Lachlan loves solids and has really cut back on formula so I thought to myself he needs the dairy from somewhere!! that is why I introduced the yoghurt and cheese.
OMG - Poor little Caitlin! I hope she's OK. I feel terrible now telling you it was OK to give her eggs :o . I'm so sorry!
I did a quick search and this is the only recipe site I could come up with for egg-free recipes - might help. http://www.glutenfree.com/recipes.htm
This book keeps appearing in searches too - Simply Natural Baby Food, Easy Recipes for Delicious Meals Your Infant and Toddler Will Love By Cathe Olson (http://www.simplynaturalbooks.com/)
Good luck - keep us posted as to what the health nurse says.
Melanie - Eloise dropped her formula down to about 150-180mls x 4 a day when she went onto solids.
vonnie100
17-01-2005, 09:20
Dont feel bad boomtish, I think its good that I found this out now. I talked to the health nurse and she said that it was most deffinatley the eggs and to stay well away from eggs as of now. If such a tiny amount of egg in one picklet can do that then imagine what a full egg would do! So that means checking labels on cakes and biscuits at the supermarket, and making sure no one gives her cakes etc at friends houses when she goes to play. I asked if it is something that will wear off, but she didnt seem to think so and recomended that I stear clear of egg for at least another twelve months. I have an appointment with the doctor today so I will keep you all posted!
She loves yoghurt though! I havent tried cheese yet....Im a little aprehensive now untill I check it out with my doctor but Im sure it is okay. I have given her cows milk in things like mashed potatoes though and that doesnt seem to worry her.
Vonnie
Just to add to the discussion. My little boy loves yogurt... we're going to try the veggie thing with yogurt for tea tonight.
However, I have another question. Can you give babies Strawberries? (Adam is 7 1/2 months old - no teeth yet) I thought I read somewhere not until they are older.. but despite an extensive search cannot find where I read it. I'm also unsure about giving meat - chicken and fish. Is this okay?
Trina
Trina, I would be careful with strawberries as some people can be highly allergic to them. I never introduced them until 12months and fortunately had no problems. Meat, chicken, fish is fine to introduce.
How about some other fruits like paw paw, green melon, advocado, kiwi, watermelon, fresh peach and nectarine. If you introduce new fruits just give a little at a time and wait till the next day to make sure there is no reaction then it is fine.
Easterlily :)
Thanks Easterlily.
I'll leave strawberries till he's 12 months but will try him on some of the other fruits you suggested. He's keen to try anything at the moment so I want to make the most of it while I can. He's even starting to eat veggies!!
Trina
Ryensmum
19-01-2005, 14:06
Hi all, My daughter is 8mths old and I've been searching for info on the variety of solid foods to feed her. I have come across the "guide to baby feeding" on the www.forbaby.co.nz website. It has an easy to read/understand printable guide for solids from 4 mths - 12mths and over. Watties is the NZ equivalent to Heinz products. I've found it really helpful. :)
Hmmm,...they are all funny arn't they!? I have a munchkin who will eat vegies until they come out her ears, but who hates fruit and custardy things! Not that I am complaining!?!!?
My baby is six months old now and I would like to start solids, but am unsure as to how I combine it with breastfeeds. I still feed him every 2-2.5 hours, but of course, I can't do that once he starts solids as the solids take more time to digest. When should I be giving a breastfeed after a solid meal? I gave him a solid feed twice followed by a b/f 2 hours later and he made the most horrific puke - everything came out and he went as white as a sheet and limb. Sounds stupid but I don't know how to combine the two.
pixiesteps
29-04-2006, 09:32
Vivian
I started giving my son solids after a breastfeed and found that he stretched his feeds to fourth hourly instead of third hourly. Try and see how you go. I read a great book called "Save my Sleep", tho it is primarily about settling your baby, it has a great feeding routine. My son and I don't strictly adher to it but it provides a good starting point.