View Full Version : Dogs and Babies - do they mix? - Unwanted advice.
p4purple
31-10-2006, 09:45
Firstly - I love my dog. I mean I really love my dog. If I could post a picture of him here I would. Zeus is a super dog! He is mums good boy and daddy's little man.
Zeus is 2 and 1/2 years old now and we got him when he was 5 months old. He was badly treated as a pup so he is a big woose. He is so well trained and is such good company. He spend alot of time inside with us but is just as happy to sit in his yard. Everyone loves him and he is very good around kids. He does bark at strangers an occasionally jumps up but he is learning. I have not owned a dog since I was a kid and now I can't imagine life with out him. I never thought I could feel this way about an animal!
Here's the catch.... he is a pit bull cross dingo...or so we were told. He could easily pass for a staffy cross labrador, which is what I tell most people he is because they freak when I say "pit bull".
I am pregnant and expecting in Dec. Recently with the imminent birth of our first child I have had close friends and family (mostly those who don't own dogs) give me advice and warn me about how "dogs and babies dont mix" or "he will turn". My sister went as far as to say "maybe you should send him to a farm". I have been told that he will be jealous and I have to keep an eye on him. Well that goes without saying because I am very watchful when he is around kids. This kind of advice frustrates me because it is so ignorant even if it does come from a caring perspective.
He is great with my 8 neices and nephews and the kids and dog next door come to play with him and ask if he can come to their house. He often comes home with nail polish on his claws or pipecleaners and stars on is colar! He was hit on the head with a ball thrower by a two year old recently and just cried sat by my legs.
Ideally I'd like Zeus to be a huge part of our childrens lives and I know that I will have to be carefull with him around our little one. I intend to feed while he is outside and I have gates to separate the living areas and the dog and baby. Doeas any one have any other practical advice on how I can intergrate our new child into our doggies life with out him getting jealous, dangerous or 'turning'. Have you come across and good websites that offer this kind of advice?
BTW - here are some photo bucket shots of Zeus helping to set up the cot!:
http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i82/p4purple/Pictures%20for%20Mum%20-%20Little%20ones%20nursery%20so%20far/Picture015.jpg
http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i82/p4purple/Pictures%20for%20Mum%20-%20Little%20ones%20nursery%20so%20far/Picture013.jpg
bekkyboo
31-10-2006, 09:52
We have a staffy and our son is now 4 months old.
I wouldnt generalise saying all dogs and babies dont mix - it all depends on their temperment and training.
Zeus (love the name, same as BIL's dog), sounds like a well trained dog. If you gently introduce bub to him, and just watch then things should be ok...
IMO, it doesnt matter about the breed - but the training... Ive seen little yapper 'house' dogs - maul people....
I wouldnt trust any dog - no matter the training alone with a child...
Terah (our dog) was introduced to Garrett by my DH holding him down at her level and literally introducing him to her, Terah came up and inspected - but she knows very well her place... and that was that - she comes to the back door when he crys like she wants to come in and help settle him...
We have 2 dogs and a cat and I firmly believe that dogs and babies can coexist as long as your dog knows its place in the family.
You could let your dog sniff your baby's clothes, blankets etc even before the baby arrives.
Once your baby arrives always ensure the dogs are under constant supervision and when the dog comes to sniff the baby say words like "gentle" and praise the dog when it sniffs the baby and then leaves the baby alone. Don't use the word "no" as it will then associate the baby as a bad thing or negative. If you don't want the dog near the baby use the word "leave" and then praise it heaps when they do leave the baby alone.
Initially we only let the dogs in or around our baby for a few minutes at a time just to get to know her and to be aware of her scent etc... gradually got longer as time went on. We also made sure we had "alone" time with our dogs to ensure they knew they were still part of the family - I think if you start ignoring the dogs and not making them feel as loved as they once were they will associate jealously and negativity to what took their place - the new baby.
If your dog jumps up or goes towards the baby in a way you don't like then say "ah ah" and remove the dog....
Discipline and training does take time but in time they can coexisit - we had a kelpieXdingoXlab who learnt to be around children (sadly passed away last year) but we now have Heeler X dogs and we have tried our best to integrate them as best we could with our new baby.
Hope this helps..... good luck! :)
tootiredtosleep
31-10-2006, 10:12
My dog, although little mixes with DD perfectly. I started with not letting her on my lap when pregnant (there was no room anyway) and telling her that she would have a little sister soon. The dog was our practice baby!
Our dog had always been allowed on the bed for a Saturday morning cuddle, and we stopped this once I was pregnant to make it easier and not to change too many things at once. We also limited her toys as she had a habit of spreading them all over the house!
We took a bunny rug to the hospital and wrapped DD in it, then bought it home for the dog to smell, before DD came home. She had a quick sniff and didn't seem to care much.
The day I came home from the hospital we introduced them, with DH holding DD and me holding the dog and making a big fuss of her. They have been fine together even since.
My rule is generally if DD is on the floor, no dog, however if she is in her high chair or cot, our dog comes into visit. She is a little nosey though, and often runs into DD's room when I am checking her and looks in the cot. It's cute!
DD is in bed around 7.30pm and we always have the dog in then, she loves getting all the attention.
We also found that our dog was getting confused and would try and sit on DD's playmat. She now has her own towel on the tiles and always sits on this now. I think its important they still have their own little space.
I'm with you, dogs are part of the family and you make a life long commitment to them when you take one home. You don't send them away when they haven't done anything wrong!!
No matter how nice the dog/cat, I don't think it's safe to leave them alone with a baby. With supervision, it's fine.
Kisses to your dog, he's adorable. And he shouldn't be judged by his breed! I'm sure he will make a great "older brother".
p4purple
31-10-2006, 10:48
Wow ....some excellent advice on how to introduce our dog to the new baby. I have been sitting in the rocking chair in bubs room and I let Zeus in to sit by my feet. He has had a good sniff around the baby's room. I call it 'the sniff of approval'. I like the idea of getting a bunny rug that the baby has been wrapped in from the hospital so he can smell it before bub comes home. Also the positive re-inforcement and not using the word NO. When I come home from my sisters place, when I mind her little one, he usually goes crazy smelling bits where I have been puked on or dribbled on. I also let him sniff all the second hand stuff I got before I washed it.
I'm going to do a bit of research on the web as well. Dogs are family memebrs too and I am sure that someone has thought to put this stuff on the web....May answer a few Q's for other bub hubbers as well. Keep your personal advice comming though.
p4purple
31-10-2006, 11:37
That is a beautiful photo or sarah and kormo!!! What strange fur ...Looks like a rastafarian with dreadlocks...the dog not the baby!
Harlequin
31-10-2006, 11:49
Regarding your doggie being a 'Pit Bull', just remember that Pit Bull actually isnt a breed, it's just a term given to a few breeds who share the same characteristics. Your dog could very well be a staffy x lab. You should post a picture of him on the dogzonline boards and see what they think :D
I think dogs and babies can mix.
That said, I won't be leaving my dog alone with my baby until my baby is old enough to protect herself in case Griever does get rough.
I don't think any dog should be left unsupervised with any persons child.
Can they live together in the same household, though? Sure! :yes:
chubbybubby
31-10-2006, 12:27
One of the most important things is to start making changes NOW - before the baby comes home. For example, if he normally sleeps in your bedroom and when baby is here, you want him in another room, you need to do it now. If you suddenly make all sorts of changes when bubby arrives, the dog will associate this with the baby and may get jealous. So if you anticipate any changes when baby comes, make the changes slowly but do it now. Good luck. Dogs and babies can be fine together if handled the right way. :)
SilverStarfish
31-10-2006, 12:51
One of the most important things is to start making changes NOW - before the baby comes home.
:yes: I certainly agree with that. We chose not to change anything, and that worked well for us. But if you are going to make changes, then you MUST do it before the baby comes home, or poor old Zeus is going to blame the baby for everything.
Kormos helped set up our cot and baby furniture too :)
http://www.faeml.com/photo/kormos/kormos45.jpg
http://www.faeml.com/photo/kormos/kormos46.jpg
http://www.faeml.com/photo/kormos/kormos44.jpg
:wave: I totally agree with Harlequin in regards to what a pit bull actually is.We bought a staffy 10 months ago when DD2 was only 3 months old and I was concerned as dh wanted an American staffy,which are closer related to pitbulls then english ones.We did HEAPS of research and I preferred the english staffy as they had a better rep with kids.Dh got his way and I'm so glad we got Diesel.my fears so far have been totally unfounded.Although we have had him since he was 9 weeks old and he has grown up used to our older 2 kids(4 & 3 years)he is soooo well behaved (apart from chewing things up)I do think some breeds can be dangerous and i would NEVER say Diesel wouldn't do anything but we are always around when our kids are with him and he lets them sit on him,pull his tail-everything you can imagine (we don't encourage them to do this however)but just an example that with responsible dog ownership you can have a good balance of kids and pets.I myself have always been scared of any dogs but he has totally put my mind at ease.I think you just have to be vigilant and the dog has to know who's boss.In our house dh is the leader of the pack,then me,then the kids THEN Diesel and he respects his position.As an example MIL has a very SPOILT foxy,smaller then our cat and he bit Avalon the other day when she went near him,I was watching her as I do with any animals and she didn't even touch him.He didn't do any damage but it just goes to show it's not always the big dogs that are dangerous!
aquarius
31-10-2006, 13:30
i found these websites really useful:
http://www.petnet.com.au/releases/200408.pdf
http://www.petnet.com.au/pethints/199607.2.html
http://www.petrescue.com.au/article/124
http://raisingchildren.net.au/articles/dogs_and_children.html
i love the pics of zeus and kormos they are both adorable :-)
our dog will always be a part of our family and we cant wait to introduce her to her new little sister! i'm sure she will have fun setting up the nursery with us too :-)
I also got a lot of comments about having a boisterous dog and people kept asking if he was going to start living outside.
in the end we barely changed a thing. He's still allowed in the house and still sleeps on the end of our bed.
We have taken the same approach with Rusty our 4 1/2 yo male cattle dog. He was and is still treated as part of the family. So we took all steps possible to ensure that his place in the home has not changed. We take both the dog and bub for a walk each evening as this is sort of letting Rusty know that although we are spending more time playing with Em, we can also enjoy his time!!!
He is wonderful with Emily and she is just absolutely besotted with him. He will sniff her in the cot to check she is okay, and when she starts getting whingy, he comes looking for either DH or I straight away. I really believe that they will be great mates.
I have 2 4 legged babies. (one a rotty x boxer, the other a german shep x kelpie)
Pre baby they were both on the bed, in the house dogs.
I made a transition for them to become "not main living area" dogs. We have an upstairs and a downstairs, the downstairs is just a rumpus room and a garage, the dogs own the garage now.
We started it slowly and got it so that now they know their place.
Both dogs are of wonderful temprement, they both are happy, fun, goofy dogs who wouldn't turn.. HOWEVER I'm not willing to take the chance... and I'm also not willing to take the chance of them (Jam, especially) being too goofy and stepping on Cobes.
They come inside sometimes, and I take Cobey downstairs to say hello to them often, they sniff, lick, and talk to Cobey a lot.. but I'm just not willing to take the chance being that they are such big dogs.
Also there's the problem of them both being big shedders.
Eventually, we'll have the dogs inside again, but while he's still lying on the floor it's not going to happen.
p4purple
31-10-2006, 13:55
i found these websites really useful:
http://www.petnet.com.au/releases/200408.pdf
http://www.petnet.com.au/pethints/199607.2.html
http://www.petrescue.com.au/article/124
http://raisingchildren.net.au/articles/dogs_and_children.html
i love the pics of zeus and kormos they are both adorable :-)
our dog will always be a part of our family and we cant wait to introduce her to her new little sister! i'm sure she will have fun setting up the nursery with us too :-)
aquarius - this is great information...thank you so much.
Mmmmmm the pit bull side is nothing to worry about - they have a instinctive nature of course but if it was raised in a loving environment i wouldnt worry too much.
But the part dingo bit - id be a little concerned. Dingos have been in the media a lot this past year for i hate to say it - deaths. I grew up in the country and know dog natures well - dingos need watching.
Do you know for sure it is part dingo? Because when i look at those pictures - he looks part Rhodesian Ridgeback!
I guess all you can do is talk to DH about it - and if you really trust and love your dog thats great but you will have a baby too soon.
I myself am the sort of person that wouldnt look at the 'what if' bad side - go with your gut instinct is all i can say. Probably not very helpful i know but you have to trust your instincts.
31-10-2006, 16:22
Hi everyone has given you great advice so i wont repeat it heh but there is a great booklet you can download online here :
http://www.rch.org.au/safetycentre/info/?doc_id=8504
Its called " Kids & Dogs " its a really good booklet to have handy with some ideas from the childrens hospital.
Only time will tell with lots of patience love & training whether your doggy will cope with the bub because every dog is different !
Just make sure that Zeus ( he is gorgeous btw ! ) knows that the baby is top dog along with you & your hubby once he understands he is below bubs in the family he will fall into line. So that means keeping bubs above him at all times, no laying on the lounges & things like everyone being fed before him.
Good luck !
p4purple
31-10-2006, 18:07
I grew up in the country and know dog natures well - dingos need watching.
Do you know for sure it is part dingo? Because when i look at those pictures - he looks part Rhodesian Ridgeback!
We were told by the previous owner when he was 5 months old that he was the runt of a dingo mum but I have never been convinced because this guy was a looser and I wouldnt trust him. He owned a pack of aggressive dogs.
I agree that there must be some ridgy in there...he gets a ridge when he gets scared or cranky and there is something in the face.
lukaelmo
31-10-2006, 18:29
We have a dog that looks more like a pit bull than the staffy we paid for, and a lovely cheery being he is.
Morrie used to be an indoors dog, but I didn't want him inside with the baby, so we put him outside when I was pregnant. I would never have felt comfortable leaving Morrie and a baby in the room alone together while I went to get a drink for example.
We did all the same things as everyone else, the smelling of the clothes, etc. On top of this, we always let Morrie know that he is at the bottom of the "pack". When I go up the stairs with the dude for example, Morrie has to go up behind us. We always make him wait 'till last. Another thing we do is feed him at night after our dinner, the bottom dog always eats last.
Finally, we never ever leave them alone, not even for a second. I love Morrie dog, but that love is nothing compared to the love I have for my child. And a dog is a dog, I really don't believe you can ever trust that they will not react to a situation instinctively, like the animal they are.
I've got two little fur-babies (chihuahua's) who are very much used to being the centre of attention. They are both of beautiful nature and I think that they would adjust to a new member of the family very well. Having said that though, I would never leave the baby unattended with them regardless. For starters, my littlest dog Mollie would probably lick the baby to death :D whilst Charlotte, who is a little more stand-offish would probably bark at the bub.
My plan is to use some of the techniques as listed above to integrate them. I don't want my dogs feeling like they've been replaced... but on the other hand, they do need to learn some limits.
As least being chihuahua's, they can stay inside and not feel too displaced because it's very easy to set up pet/child safety gates into doorways to seperate pet from baby.
Hayley~myangel
31-10-2006, 20:33
We had two dogs when our daughter was born, our staffy took to her straight away, but our Ridgeback x Rotty seemed abit unsure, it was nearly 2 weeks before he wagged his tail. But due to some other health factors, we made the heart renching decision to remove our Ridgeback from the family. Both my partner and I were like you, our dogs were our babies, they even slept in our bed with us (our staffy sometimes even under the covers). But things have changed now, "Fatty" now sleeps in his own bed down stairs (which he loves), he is still allowed inside and gives Hayley "kisses". She loves him and gets all excited and jumps up and down when she sees him. It was obvious straight from the start that he was okay with her, I remember I was feeding her when she was only a week or so old and Fatty came running in soo fast jumped up on the couch and gave her a big kiss on the face / half on my boob..it was pretty funny.
Your own Motherly instincts will tell you if Zeus is happy with the new arrival, but you do need to start making changes now (as we did) and make sure that he knows his place in the family, and that it is at the bottom.
Lindsay
mum2charli
31-10-2006, 20:42
Just thought you would like this - this is with DD when she was around 4 days old....
http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m315/mum2charli_2006/IMG_0700.jpg
I have 2 kelpies (1 kelpie x coolie who is 4 ,Kirby, and 1 kelpie x staffy who is 2, Asha, who is in the picture). DD absolutley loves them and they are just great with her, they know not to play rough around her when she is on the floor (I supervise when they are together) and they know not to lick her face. She is so happy when they are around and they let her pat them (or rather pull all their fur out at the moment :laughing:).
As most people know Kelpie's are a handful and very energetic. They are not the most obedient dogs in the world but they know right from wrong and respond to us if we are not happy.
I think that babies and dogs do mix, as long as you introduce them as a part of the family and not something to feel threatened by (although they do need to be aware that your baby's role in their "pack" is higher than theirs). We made sure that a huge fuss was made of them whenever someone came to see Charli and took that as an opportunity to give them a cuddle while someone else was cuddling Charli!
Good luck!
aquarius
01-11-2006, 14:55
aquarius - this is great information...thank you so much.
you're welcome hon! great thread
i'm just loving all these doggie and dog n baby stories and pics :)
Squiggles
01-11-2006, 15:48
Hi Dog lovers...:wave:
I was reading this thread as we have 2 dogs - the older being a German Shepherd who is the most placid, beautiful dog in the world... but as others have said regarding certain breeds of dogs, people have started to question what we will do with him when bubs arrives - they say 'oh but he IS a German Shepherd you know" well duh.
So I just wanted to say thanks to everyone as well as this info has been really useful for me. Im sure our first babies will mix perfectly well with our human baby but its great to have some useful tips. To be honest Im more worried about our cat than our dogs!
SilverStarfish
01-11-2006, 16:41
Oh.. wait. Here come all the "don't let the cat in with the baby or it might sit on it the baby's head and suffocated it" stories :banghead:
Honestly, when was the last time you saw "CAT SUFFOCATES BABY" as a news headline?
I was relating this urban myth to a polish friend of mine, she'd never heard of it.
You shouldn't leave any animal alone with a baby - dog, cat, bird, mouse, ferret, anything.
Squiggles
01-11-2006, 17:18
Oh.. wait. Here come all the "don't let the cat in with the baby or it might sit on it the baby's head and suffocated it" stories :banghead:
Honestly, when was the last time you saw "CAT SUFFOCATES BABY" as a news headline?
Our delightful 100% country feline would find suffocation too easy for her... this is a cat that on a daily basis catches and decapitates rabbits - psycho killer cat. Although she only gets rabbits, leaves the birds alone thankfully... so you see how i have no worries about my dogs!!
Hope I didnt upset anyone there (she is really a nice cat) - I agree that a child should never be left unsupervised with an animal.
SilverStarfish
01-11-2006, 19:21
Woah! You sure don't have a puma there instead??:laughing:
01-11-2006, 20:56
I was relating this urban myth to a polish friend of mine, she'd never heard of it.
You shouldn't leave any animal alone with a baby - dog, cat, bird, mouse, ferret, anything.
Oh dont even get me started :banghead:
Honestly my cats were allowed into Boof's room from day one & they have even slept with him keeping him warm through winter when he was cold ! They all love/ed ( only one now :crying: ) him as much as he loves them ! My girl cat is so protective over him she still comes to me when im not giving him attention if he is crying from a tantrum with this look that says " ummmm hello the baby is crying !!!!! ".
I would never think about separating them !
SilverStarfish
02-11-2006, 07:19
My polish friend's cat loved to sit in the same room and watch my friend's son sleep. But the second Gabriel started to cry, the cat was out the door like a shot and would run to the nearest human "Turn that thing OFF!! I'm trying to sleep!"
Kormos (dog) has the run of the house and I quite often find him in the chair next to Sarah's cot. I'm sure he'll be sleeping on her bed when the time comes.
mixinitup
02-11-2006, 09:51
Just have to stick up for the dingo's, IMO dingo's aren't all that bad, i mean any wild animal can become volitile from constant human interaction. They're nature was described as cowardly on National Geographic and I could'nt have put it better myself.....I don't think breed matters at all, it's the owner's who do.
In saying that my dog is dingo cross, has a beautiful, gentle nature and has been introduced to our son in much the same way as advice given here, never had a problem. Apart from my son trying to run him down with his trike:o
p4purple
13-11-2006, 14:25
Just thought you would like this - this is with DD when she was around 4 days old....
http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m315/mum2charli_2006/IMG_0700.jpg
I have 2 kelpies (1 kelpie x coolie who is 4 ,Kirby, and 1 kelpie x staffy who is 2, Asha, who is in the picture). DD absolutley loves them and they are just great with her, they know not to play rough around her when she is on the floor (I supervise when they are together) and they know not to lick her face. She is so happy when they are around and they let her pat them (or rather pull all their fur out at the moment :laughing:).
As most people know Kelpie's are a handful and very energetic. They are not the most obedient dogs in the world but they know right from wrong and respond to us if we are not happy.
I think that babies and dogs do mix, as long as you introduce them as a part of the family and not something to feel threatened by (although they do need to be aware that your baby's role in their "pack" is higher than theirs). We made sure that a huge fuss was made of them whenever someone came to see Charli and took that as an opportunity to give them a cuddle while someone else was cuddling Charli!
Good luck!
Thanks so much for sharing that pic. You are all setting my mind at ease and giveing me such practical advice!
Mikeswifey
13-11-2006, 14:53
My gawd he is gorgeous. I cant see the dingo in him at all.
My dogs are so good and have always been so good with DD. I have a poodle and a staffy.
But pit bulls and dingos are both renowned for their attacking abilities, so its up to you.
I really dont know what u could do in this situation.
poodysmum
15-11-2006, 14:28
Firstly,congrats on the upcoming birth. In regards to getting Zeus used to bub-when our son Isaac was born, I got my husband to take home clothes that Isaac had worn in hospital so that our dog Hudson (boxer) could sniff them and get used to the smell. When we brought Isaac home, we introduced them to each other through a screen door so Huddy could look and sniff but not touch. From then on it was just matter of keeping an eye on them and never leaving them alone together (ever). There was a little bit of jealousy at first as Huddy has always been my baby/shadow (he's nearly 8 now),but we've always made sure that he gets just as many cuddles, and we always make sure that when my husband gets home from work that he greets Hudson before Isaac so that the 'pack order' stays the same. We were told that if the dog feels like its rank is being affected that it will challenge the other dog (in this case,child). So as long as you keep that in mind, then there shouldnt be a problem. Hudson and Isaac are best mates now, and Hudson is awesome with him-very gentle. Just make sure Zeus stays involved, and dont tell him off for sniffing the babies things-he's just sussing it all out. Goodluck, and let us know how it goes. :)
aquarius
16-11-2006, 15:42
we always make sure that when my husband gets home from work that he greets Hudson before Isaac so that the 'pack order' stays the same. We were told that if the dog feels like its rank is being affected that it will challenge the other dog (in this case,child). So as long as you keep that in mind, then there shouldnt be a problem.
hi poodysmum, that is interesting you say that coz everything i've read so far has said that you should give attention to the baby first and then the dog, to teach the dog that the baby is higher in the pack than the dog is, so when the child gets older and gets in situations where they have to give the dog orders (sit, stay, don't jump on me etc) the dog will obey because it understands that the child is higher in the pack than the dog? our 1st bub is due till next year so i'm researching all this stuff right now, just looking for your feedback on this as i am curious? has anyone else taken this approach of keeping the pack order the same?
poodysmum
16-11-2006, 22:16
hi poodysmum, that is interesting you say that coz everything i've read so far has said that you should give attention to the baby first and then the dog, to teach the dog that the baby is higher in the pack than the dog is, so when the child gets older and gets in situations where they have to give the dog orders (sit, stay, don't jump on me etc) the dog will obey because it understands that the child is higher in the pack than the dog? our 1st bub is due till next year so i'm researching all this stuff right now, just looking for your feedback on this as i am curious? has anyone else taken this approach of keeping the pack order the same?
Hi Aquarius! I got the info from a book that was given to me by a family friend who knew alot of trainers. It's called 'WHO'S THE BOSS?' by Val Bonney. It says in it "Young children do not have the power to be in control of their pet. Dogs will look after the young, will play with the children,safeguard them, and love them. But they will not, generally, take orders from them. They may see an order or a face-to-face encounter from a child as a challenge, and retaliate'. I found this book really helpful,and we have been applying what it advises and we have never had a problem. Huddy and Isaac are best buddies. This is just what Ive found worked with us, so I hope that it might help. :)
ps. If you wanted to get in contact with her to ask questions, you can get to her via this site:
http://directory.ourbrisbane.com/directory/listings/219591.html
Its funny how people - usually with no children or animals - give us this strange advice!:laughing:
I have been told -"you have to get rid of him" ( boarder collie ) and "we know someone who has a farm" and "you will have to watch him around your baby when its born"....
NO S#IT!:eek:
I wouldnt leave my cats, dog or any kind of animal around any baby geeeze - do I have an idiot sign around my neck?:thumbsdown:
Its just frustrating to think people ( who make random comments - not in here :yes: ) would assume we are so silly to just let our animals and babies/children "roam as one"
Harlequin
17-11-2006, 11:06
Oh I love when people state the obvious like that. Everyone does it to us, "Ooh he's gonna be difficult when the baby comes" or "You'll have to keep him away from the baby"
Oh really? Gee and I was planning on letting him suffocate or maul her, what a shame... *rolls her eyes*
aquarius
17-11-2006, 13:12
thanks heaps poodysmum i'll go suss that book out! sounds v sensible
yeah the amount of people who think that your dog is automatically going to turn into a killer psycho and maul your child as soon as you come home from hospital - grrrrr
and i'm appalled at how many pregnancy/birth books seriously suggest that you cannot care for a baby and a pet at the same time - grrrr again
thank god for threads like this and people like us eh :)
Oh really? Gee and I was planning on letting him suffocate or maul her, what a shame... *rolls her eyes*
lol :laughing: - Why cant I be that quick lol:thumbsup: Now I have in my mind what I am going to say next time someone says it to me.. lol:smiliedance:
poodysmum
18-11-2006, 06:17
Seriously guys-dont listen to people giving you negative opinions/thoughts on your pets with babies. Like you've said, it's just common sense! Its probably the last thing that you all need at the moment-stress when you're about to become a new mum! Honestly-tell them to bu**er off (scuse the french!). You know your pet better than they do, so you'll know what to look for. :thumbsup:
SalTheGal
18-11-2006, 14:13
hey fellow dog lovers!!!! We have a bull mastiff x shepherd who is 8yrs old and has been our baby- the centre of our world, he has taken so well to having a new addition in the household, and already seems to have taken on the role of 'protector' of our DS.
I don't have much to add re advice- cept to re-iterate what others have said. I sent home Nedds first outfit and DF put it on our dog Toby's bed so he could get used to the smell.
I also encourage Toby the dog to come and say hello to DS, he will sniff his head and give him a little lick- it is SO cute, when he does this I say 'gentle', a command he knows already for taking food/toys from us gently. When I am feeding DS I also call toby over for a pat so that he doesn't get jealous.
We have also discouraged Toby from going into DS's room- he responds well to new commands and now only comes as far as the door- even when we aren't around he will not go in there for a look around.
It is really cute when DS is crying- Toby gets so upset and starts to whine to let us know that we need to do something- but if Nedd really starts crying loudly Toby can't take it and has to leave the room- almost as if it is too upsetting for him to be around!!!!
I too get annoyed with others comments- my own mum who has known how gentle Toby is for ever was mortified when she realised that we would not stop him from sleeping inside just cause DS arrived. He is shut in the back room- what is he going to do, break down the door to get at the baby?!?!? Duh!!!!
aquarius
20-11-2006, 13:18
It is really cute when DS is crying- Toby gets so upset and starts to whine to let us know that we need to do something- but if Nedd really starts crying loudly Toby can't take it and has to leave the room- almost as if it is too upsetting for him to be around!!!!
ha that's adorable :) i reckon our dog will run a million miles from the crying sounds coz she hates any sort of loud piercing noise - coward!
One of the most important things is to start making changes NOW - before the baby comes home.
Totally agree .. we have 2 dogs that were sooo spoilt ... I tried to calm down a bit and not pay them as much attention and that was hard - they get along with DS soo well though. I can't wait for them to all grow together. I am such an animal lover and hope that DS will be too!
They say to get DP to bring home a top or something of the newborns for the dog to smell before you bring bub home ... although we did that and the dogs tore it apart!
I'd go with your gut ... plus the dogs love DS as when his round they get more attention too, so they associate DS with fun and attention.!
:fingerscrossed:
p4purple
24-11-2006, 10:31
I too get annoyed with others comments- my own mum who has known how gentle Toby is for ever was mortified when she realised that we would not stop him from sleeping inside just cause DS arrived. He is shut in the back room- what is he going to do, break down the door to get at the baby?!?!? Duh!!!!
Putting him out side would probably have a negative effect any way!.... I think if I hear such negative comments and opinions in the future, I will just say that I know my dog, I would not leave them alone together and I have done enough research and investigation about dog and baby intergration to know what is best for my child and pet. Other peoples comments are uneducated, opinionated and based in ingnorance and fear.
BTW - My doula told me that children who have pets suffer less alergies because they become immune to cooties....Though I'm pretty keen to be diligent with his worming as our kids grow up.
We took Zeus to the vet the other day for vaxes and to buy the all wormer tablets .... big boy now...36.75 kg!!! The Vet said without prompting or us bringing it up, that Zeus will be a great dog to have around a baby....."good natured and a natural protector". Oh I do love my boy!
yummimummiowen
06-09-2007, 12:48
sooooooo true ive got a pit bull staffy cross everyone i know is screaming for me to get rid of my fuffy child but i cant bring myself to even think about it to be honest
EskimoMumma
06-09-2007, 12:58
Ive always thought about this, even though I do not have any animals..
why not start with a baby doll? and cuddle that alot and tend to it and see how the dog reacts? or are dogs too smart for it?:confused:
Oh yeah, I've gotten a few comments too regarding our two Maltese X's. They are extreme indoor dogs. Sleep on our bed, on the lounge, are a part of our family.
I've been asked if I am going to put them 'outside' once bub is here . . . um, NO.
Or even that I simply 'have to get rid of them' when baby comes! That one made me furious!!
I don't plan on changing much at all once baby is here. The will still sleep in our room etc, but we will put baby gates around the place so they can't just go into the room while baby is sleeping, but I can leave the door open. And of course I will never leave them unsupervised with baby - common sense. They love kids. When I babysit an 18mth old - the older dog says hello then goes to sleep on the lounge, but my younger one just LOVES her. Lick, lick, lick! She steals her blocks, cleans up any spilt food . . . has a ball.
I did see someone on a forum (this one?) who put up a screen/security door on baby's room so the pets couldn't just wander in. I thought that was a pretty good idea if you were of a mind to do it.
Harlequin
06-09-2007, 18:03
I think the more of a change you make the worse it is for your dogs. They sense the change in roles and get jealous.
I just don't let my dog near Ava unattended. Even when attended they aren't allowed too close.
floggadog
06-09-2007, 18:09
Personally I don't allow my dogs inside. But for those who do I think it's their choice.
I've read through this thread & noticed that no-one has mentioned the very recent death of a 2 week old baby girl by the family dog (a husky) who was used to children.
This happened in Perth,Baby in the parents room in a cradle while the parents were home.
I guess you need to be sensible & maybe put a flywire door on the babys' room, for when they're asleep & unseen. Whether it be a cat or a dog you're going to have to supervise them & your trusted much loved pet may not take as kindly to competition as you'd like.
I owned a pitbullx for a year but as loving as she was, just too strong for our little kids. She had to go when she thought chasing lambs was a fun game:( .
Hope you find a way to create harmony between your babe & your dog. But please consider some barrier to the nursery.
youngones
06-09-2007, 19:59
The best advice I got was to never put the baby down at dog level (or lower), as the 'dogs' higher up the hierarchy get pride of place. However, we've just had a very nasty incident involving a fight between two of our dogs, that we suspect was a 'challenge' for top dog status.
The perpetrator doesn't usually live with us (with MIL instead), but will never be allowed here again and DD will never be allowed anywhere near her, ever, as she is fiercely protective of DH and I am concerned that she might one day see me or DD as a threat to him. The other one we are in the process of trying to re-home, as he is a staffy cross and is easily over excitable and has been beaten badly by this dog twice now (not my choice to put them together), so he is probably better off in a home with no other pets and no small kids. Its killing me, because he has a lovely nature and has never shown any aggression towards a human, but his snappishness with the other dogs could escalate and we have to put our family first.
I guess the important things to remember are that all dogs can bite if provoked and it is really a case of their size and something called 'bite inhibition' that determine how much damage they do. Dogs learn bite inhibition in puppyhood, which is why staying with a litter for up to 12 wks, or taking them to puppy school is so important. It teaches them how hard to bite to say 'back off', without actually doing damage. Dogs with poor bite inhibition and poor socialisation with other dogs often will fight to kill.
It is also worth remembering that the way dogs move up in the hierarchy of a pack is to challenge leadership. If a pack member higher up than them (baby, older dog, smaller dog) appears 'weaker', they might challenge to move up a rung on the ladder, so being really firm about where the dog's place in the family is, is really important.
There are heaps of really great books around on dog behaviour, but as our vet said the other day, it is a very inexact science and well worth taking with a dose of salt. He mentioned too that owners often perceive that dogs 'think they are people' and treat them accordingly, whereas the truth is more likely that they think people are dogs - just members of their pack. They can't and won't ever understand our social rules, so we have a responsibility to learn theirs.
I think that dogs and kids mix well and its really important to grow up without fear of and with a healthy respect for dogs, but only under total supervision and only when basic 'pack rules' are observed. It is too late to have regrets after something has happened.
pumpernickel
06-09-2007, 21:20
Personally I don't allow my dogs inside. But for those who do I think it's their choice.
I've read through this thread & noticed that no-one has mentioned the very recent death of a 2 week old baby girl by the family dog (a husky) who was used to children.
This happened in Perth,Baby in the parents room in a cradle while the parents were home.
nobody mentioned the recent husky attack because this thread is from 2006.
Lots of great ideas here though. :yelclap:
Heaps of great advice here, don't think I can add too much that hasn't already been said...
I did a lot of what has been said already. My DS is now 6 and our dog is his best friend - she follows him around the yard and does everything she is told by him, albeit begrudgingly sometimes. He tries to play hide and seek with her as well! I love watching them interact, it has given him confidence and companionship. Having a pet around children can have great advantages IMO. :D
OneNowOneLater
06-09-2007, 21:51
I've never had a problem with my four legged babies, with my two legged one.
I got Memo - a red heeler x (sounds like Nemo - story in itself) when i was only a few months pregnant. Because i never wanted my child to grow up without a dog. She was only about 6 months old when i bought Jennifer home. Granted, due to my living conditions at the time, she was with a friend, who was able to have pets.
When i got my own place, and was able to have my dog back, she and dd have gotten along really well ever since. The only problem i have ever had with Memo with dd, is that she runs too quick, and startles dd. When dd is sitting on the floor when the dog comes in, the first thing the dog does, is give her a kiss, and keeps on running.
Here is a pic of them, taken a few weeks ago, on the way back from a trip to the family farm
http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x23/specksmum/100_0777.jpg
Memo has really gentle and placid nature - she was taught that you can play in her food, while she's eating it - preparing her just in case it happens when dd is around. The funny thing is, Memo will stop eating, sit down and wait till you are finished. Once you remove your hand, she'll go back to her food. You can hand feed her, the tiniest bit of food - smaller than a finger nail, and you dont feel her take it whatsoever.
I think the funniest thing i have seen the two of them get up to, is play fetch. Memo will bring a piece of ball, drop it in dd's lap, wait for her to pick it up, then gently takes it out of her hand. i've never known a dog to be so gentle. Ever
And as for the cat, i think a picture paints a million words. Nothing has changed between dd and Tiny. DD was only about 12 weeks old when this was taken.
http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x23/specksmum/100_0611.jpg
Mamaduke
06-09-2007, 22:03
I'm trying to find something that I saw on the Dog Whisperer about introducing babies and dogs.
I think the Dog Whisperer (Cesar Millan) is fantastic and I totally agree with his philosophy that a dog needs a strong assertive pack leader and that people need to save their baby talk for their babies not their pets.
fire~fly
11-09-2007, 16:52
Awww he is soo cute!! He really does look part Staffy.
You dont need to get rid of your dog just because your having a baby!!! What a load of cr*p! :mad:
We had our staffy for a year before we got pregnant with DS. Bully (thats the dog) was out baby! He was so spoilt! He would be inside all the time, hoped into bed with us in the mornings on the weekend, slept his days away on the couch etc. A very spoiled doggy.
He "sensed" when i was pregnant and was very gentle with me and wouldnt play roughly with me. When i cam home from the hospital with bub, the first thing i did was brought bully inside and let him sniff bubs feet and bottom.
We still let bully stay inside most of the day and it was so beautiful to see how loving bully was to his new best friend. Whenever bub would cry from his room, bully would run to the door (wouldnt go into his bedroom without being told he could) just to check that he was ok.
Bully always used to sit on a mat on the floor near bub, but i was always in there with him. I wouldnt leave the 2 of them alone together, more for the fear that the dog would lick him in the eyes and mouth.
http://s209.photobucket.com/albums/bb303/kritso/?action=view¤t=nicholas532.jpg
We also used to get Nicholas undressed for a bath, and while he was in his nappy, we would let bully sniff and lick his hands and body (except for his face).
DS is 20 months now and he absolutely adores playing with his dog. They are best friends. DS tries to sit on his back and everything!
http://s209.photobucket.com/albums/bb303/kritso/?action=view¤t=090707025.jpg
http://s209.photobucket.com/albums/bb303/kritso/?action=view¤t=090707030.jpg
I think the problem of dog jealousy comes along if you lock your dog away from the baby and never let them near each other and start yelling at the dog to get away if he so much as goes near the baby. Of course the dog is going to get jealous and intrigued by what this new thing is. Maybe its a chew toy? Lets just take a bite and see....?:no:
Let your dog see your new bub and still spend lots of time with your dog. Its like having a toddler and a new baby. Yeah, the toddler might get jealous coz your spending all your time with the baby, so what do you do? You supervise your toddler, you still try to spend lots of time with them, and you explain the new baby to them. You dont just get rid of your toddler!!! :eek:
I wouldnt be without my dog, especially with a child in my house. When our neighbours house got broken into by a knife-weilding crazy when DS was 6 weeks old, the first thing i did when i heard my neighbour screaming was run to the back door to let the dog in! No one would dare want to come face to face with my 38kg dark as the night staffy! I dare say they would sh*t their pants!
Sorry this is long, but it really annoys me when people say that you cant trust your dog. I trust my dog with my life. Whatever happened to "mans best friend"???
Good luck with your bub!