View Full Version : Weight Loss Support Group for Young Women!
BlueButterfly
30-10-2006, 20:43
Hi girls! :wave:
I thought I would start a weight loss support group for young women! I have wanted to lose weight for so long now, but I havent had the right support to go with it. So...if you would like to lose some weight...whether its just a few kilos, or a bit more than that, feel free to join!
I will start!
My starting weight: 72kg
My target weight: 60kg
Feel free to share weight loss tips as well!
Good luck girls! :smiliedance:
PS: Moderators...I would really like this thread to remain within the young mums section, so please dont move or close it. Pretty please? :fingerscrossed:
blessedmummy
30-10-2006, 20:45
um...
starting wieght:??????? i have no idea!
Goal weight: 60kg
:fingerscrossed:heres hoping!!!
yeah my wedding is in 6 months,I wanna buy my dress in 2 months so I gotta get my *** moving!!!
Ive lost 12kg since March but still need to lose 10 more!!
lets see i was 58kg pre baby then went to 70kg after baby 66kg got sick didnt eat for a week 63kg now wanna loose 5 more ish if i can heheheh
BlueButterfly
30-10-2006, 20:50
Good on you girls! :yelclap: Anyone else?
woven_wings
30-10-2006, 21:01
My starting weight: 58kg
My target weight: 53/4kg (dont worry all in proportion, I am small framed - its been checked with the dr)
I continue to go up in weight... used to have a flat tummy and now it has flub, yea some might say "Pft thats nothing" but it is to me. Id like to be happy with the way I look again. I have NO self control, eat junk constantly and cant seem to wean myself from it. I have no fitness, and am extremely unfit and cant run to save myself... this has got to have bad effects on my body.
I have a gym membership but havent been in 4 weeks... bad!! I'd like to tone up more than loose weight tho... but I need to actually GO to the gym!
BlueButterfly
30-10-2006, 21:11
My biggest problem is mood food! Damn tasty treats! Well no more...:shame:
I wish I had a gym nearby, or a walking buddy who will get me off my a** and go walking! :laughing: I need it desperately!
blessedmummy
30-10-2006, 21:21
yeah... me too! i did try for a bit..but then got lazy and made up excuses "its too cold, its too hot!" i did use to walk 30mins to the shop and back! lost some wieght..but i think its all on agian! :o
30-10-2006, 21:47
Great thread!
My starting weight: 67kg
Goal weight: 60kg
I'm very keen to loose my belly flab! Liam never stops poking it to see how long it wobbles for :o
I've been walking heaps though - it's the only way to get bub asleep so I'm out with the pram twice a day, everyday!
Mummymia
30-10-2006, 23:30
Hi Ladies,I too need to shift the muffin top,I'd love to join!!
Starting weight 72kg,
Desired weight 55kg.
A walking buddie would be great!!
ok girls hope u dont mind if i join, im not trying to lose weight just trying to get healthy and exercise to keep off xtra weight gain, i dont wana put on 25kg again while preg :)
BlueButterfly
31-10-2006, 07:05
Welcome Ladies! Well...today is a new day! I am personally going to resist eating anything naughty, and will aim for 20-30 mins exercise every day!
Plus...my major fault is hydration! I dont drink anywhere near 2 litres of water a day! So I will be focusing on that too!
Good luck everyone! :yelclap:
woven_wings
31-10-2006, 07:33
I have failed before I have even started... was all pumped to go to the gym at 6am this morning... but I slept in instead. Will try to force myself to go after kindy today.
Drinking water is one of my downfalls too. I need to make sure I carry a water bottle around with me everywhere... so will be doing this today.
I think getting active will make me feel less tired all the time, its just breaking the lazy rut Ive got myself into!
Havana_Face
31-10-2006, 11:40
Ok so count me in! I am getting married in 5 weeks (probably wont loose much in that time but hey... at least i can be a bit more fit for the honeymoon)
Im so annoyed with myself. in the past 9 months i put on 8 kgs i think its because i moved out of my mums house and i just love being able to go food shopping for myself. you see so many yummy things and nothing stops you from buying them!
My starting weight: 72kg
My target weight: 64kg
ok well my best waightloss tip i can give anyone is just think about what your eating. i have compleatly cut all fast food out of my dining! if i am at a shopping centre and we have to buy lunch i will go to subway or to more of a carvery type shop and get a sandwich. it fills you up more and you are saving a bunch of caliries (sp).
today i will drag myself to the gym and drink more water!:chef:
31-10-2006, 11:46
my start weight is 90
goal weight is at least 75
well so far today i have been good but only done 15mis of exercise, im thining about takign jake swimming later which is kinds exercise and mayb going for a walk althou its a lil hot at the moment
woven_wings
31-10-2006, 15:54
Oh dear! I just ate nutella on my toast... without even thinking. Grr this is hard.
Im too buggered to go to the gym but I reckon I have done more than 30mins exercise at Kindy today. Will try the gym tomorrow morning.
I drank a bottle and a half of water today tho, so thats better! Just have to train the bladder now lol!
If you were closer Mel I would SO go for walks with you! How far are you away?
Well Im lucky I have a fantastic walking buddy!We walked for 2 hours 2day:eek: We are taking the kids swimming on Thursday.We are going to take their floaty things,put them in front of us and push them along.Then we will do a few laps.
Now that its warmer we are going to alternate swimming and walking days.
I have just brought new jeans but I still have the muffin top hanging over,same with another pair of pants I have:banghead:
We are going to take their floaty things,put them in front of us and push them along.Then we will do a few laps.
Now that its warmer we are going to alternate swimming and walking days.
:
thats a really good idea about pushing them to swim laps i might just have to try that
BlueButterfly
31-10-2006, 16:56
Oh dear! I just ate nutella on my toast... without even thinking. Grr this is hard.
Im too buggered to go to the gym but I reckon I have done more than 30mins exercise at Kindy today. Will try the gym tomorrow morning.
I drank a bottle and a half of water today tho, so thats better! Just have to train the bladder now lol!
If you were closer Mel I would SO go for walks with you! How far are you away?
Hey hunni! I am an hour from adelaide, but I am there almost every day! Why is that?
woven_wings
31-10-2006, 18:35
I might actually be motivated with someone to walk/gym with. My friends are all too poor to afford a gym membership and lots arent too keen on walking...
Move closer Mel! Hehe!
blessedmummy
31-10-2006, 18:54
yeah... i wish i had a walking buddy..... maybe im just to lazy... :o
BlueButterfly
31-10-2006, 18:58
How about you move closer to me! haha I have the same problem about friends...too lazy! :thumbsdown: I wish there was something that we could work out! :crying: Losing weight is so hard and lonely when you're on your own!
im another thats needs a walking buddy :o
Mummymia
31-10-2006, 23:40
Same here girls,even harder when you dont know anyone in the state! I might have to start door knocking!:rolleyes:
01-11-2006, 07:10
I'm not doing so well.... I saw coffee scrolls in my pantry and that was it :o
Havana_Face
01-11-2006, 09:34
hey girls, well it was about 2pm yesterday and i realised that i hadnt had any water yet so i decided to drinkii a liter of water in about 10 mins. I then had to go pic DF from work and was sooooooo busting that i had to pull over and ask someone to use their toilet (no shops around) It was sooooo embarrising. today i will just start earlyer so i dont have to do that again:no:
woven_wings
01-11-2006, 16:28
TODAY... I had a nice veggie soup for lunch... blah!! And rice crackers. Breakfast was fruit and healthy cereal. Ran around for an hour with the kindy children in the garden and I am POOPED!
Tonight is healthy home-made spag bol! BUT every wednesday I usually get a sundae at Maccas at night when I take my disabled friend out... dunno how I'll go????
Drank about 600mL of water today... better than nothing I guess!
Oh but when I got home from Kindy today I was so drained that I had toast with a little bit of honey.... is that bad?
BlueButterfly
01-11-2006, 16:31
No...thats not bad! We can allow for a slip up now and then! :devil6:
My water intake is terrible...definitely something I need to work on! :yes:
01-11-2006, 16:32
MJ ill be a walking buddie if you want :D:p
BlueButterfly
01-11-2006, 16:36
Where abouts do you live hun? I'd love to go walking with both you and Megan, but Im an hour out from adel and in the hills! :thumbsdown:
01-11-2006, 16:41
Where abouts do you live hun? I'd love to go walking with both you and Megan, but Im an hour out from adel and in the hills! :thumbsdown:
Im down south but hey maybe we could make it a monthly thing or something :)
woven_wings
01-11-2006, 16:43
Would be good to have a walking buddy... tooo bad you guys live so far... we could work out something maybe...
01-11-2006, 16:44
Would be good to have a walking buddy... tooo bad you guys live so far... we could work out something maybe...
im always happy to meet up somewhere central for everyone
BlueButterfly
01-11-2006, 16:46
Me too! Oh please please please! Then I can finally meet you both- and Miss Emma of course!!! :smiliedance:
01-11-2006, 16:48
Me too! Oh please please please! Then I can finally meet you both- and Miss Emma of course!!! :smiliedance:
well maybe if you can pm me mj later on we can organise to meetup one day :D
and on the weightloss ive been slacking off lately due to gastro
BlueButterfly
01-11-2006, 16:52
Well Megan and I have decided to catch up once we finished unil then we (well I..) wont be so cranky and stressed out! :laughing: Cant really speak on Megans behalf because she seems to hold herself together quite well! :yes:
Anyway, i will be sending you pm's in a few weeks with regards to a meet up! Im excited already! :smiliedance:
Night night girls! :hugs:
blessedmummy
01-11-2006, 16:55
ummm..ive been a bit slack.... eating not too good...:o eating too much maccas and kfc and hungry jacks! alwell.. spose id better start afresh on monday!! oops!! :o
i did an hours walking today :D
woven_wings
03-11-2006, 22:25
How has everyone been going?
Im going to weigh and measure tomorrow... it is not always the weigh, you can go down in measurements and not in weight... so thats important too. Although I reckon I have put on or stayed the same this week as Im not really trying.
Had a 'fat day' today... went into a clothing store and hated the look of everything on me... so went home. Had a veggie tea tho... so that was good and I got of the bus 2 stops early and walked as well as running about with the kids at Kindy.
blessedmummy
03-11-2006, 22:27
well..ive been doin rather bad for the past week.... eating WAY to much junk! hungry jacks, maccas, chicken treat, chocolate, coke... :o i think i'll need to loose 20kg now!! :crying:
i went swimming again today so i hope thats helping me
i ate some chooclate cake with dinner :D but hey im only human and it was mud cake *drools*
Desertress
04-11-2006, 23:04
Hi Girls I hope its not to late for me to join in with you as im am desperatly trying to loose some weight as well.
Im basically in the same boat with having no motivation to excersice and no self controll with what i eat... or in some cases dont eat. I am sick of looking at myself and being disgusted and its starting to effect alot of aspect of my life.
Am seriously considering join up to a gym but then i just have to push myself to go... and get used to putting ds2 in gym childcare:crying:
I know i eat to much junk so i am going to start fresh on monday(even tho i try this nearly every monday LoL)Cut out as much junk as possible.... actually start eating 3 decent meals a day instead of 1 or 2 and up my water intake significantly. I drink around a liter every night but i dont think that counts.
Anyhow i hope i can get myself going this time. Good luck to all you girls as well...
Oh i forgot to add my start weight it 70kg
Goal weight is 58kg
Ashleigh<3
05-11-2006, 01:10
Hello lovely ladies!
I need to loose about 10-15 kilos to be a healthy BMI, I'm already back to my pre-pregnancy weight, but I'm not as healthy as I could IYKWIM? Would be nice to drop a dress size, Or two.
Currently size 14, but after delivering the little one, My hips have obviously broadened and I can't even fit into the size 14 pants I try on at the store, when before I was in between 12's & 14's.
Would love to loose more, I can really empathise with everyone on this thead, we all seem to be in the same boat, which will hopefully make it much easier for us all!:fingerscrossed:
I'm going to try out the more small meals during the day, right now it's hard to even find time to eat with this little one latched on 24-7-Her demand feeding is quite hard to get around when it comes to eating.
I usually only have time to make a sandwhich or toast during the day time. I'd like to try the small meals, because I have heard much about the small, frequent meal diets boost your metablosim, therefore fat is quicker to burn off over time.
I dont eat white bread, Haven't for the past three years.
Of course I have when its the every now and then junk food-take away hamburgers etc. But bread wise at home- Which I tend to be at 24-7, I eat wholegrain breads.
I really buy into that low GI deal. Much healthier, White bread is loaded with sugars so ladies, toss it aside?
You can now buy a white bread-low GI, Some people say it doesn't taste the same but I suppose you wouldn't know the difference if you're used to low GI foods.
I've been keeping a container of nuts and dried fruits, soy chips and other healthy snacks- low in sugar mainly- beside my bed So I can snack in between meals, whilst i'm feeding Chloe.
Heres another thing i'd like to add, -FOR THE LOVERS OF BUTTER/MARGARINE SPREADS. My parent's recently tried that low cholestorrol (sp?) pro activ spread. And they've both lost about 5 kilos each just within about four weeks. That stuff really helps!:yes:
I was thinking maybe we could all have our add on/bits of advice in this thread too, So if we're all game and dedicated enough to try it, may just keep us all motivated? :)
Good luck ladies! Take care!
youngmumof1
05-11-2006, 19:32
Just wondering if there was a walking group or any sort of excercise group for mums in townsville for mums with you children as my son is 6 and a half months, as well as for young mum too as im only 20.
thanks ladies
Youngmumof1 - have PM'd you :D
Everyone else, would love to join... Have a few kilos that are sticking.... But
Alas, i'm no longer a young mum :p
Good Luck to you all!
BlueButterfly
06-11-2006, 07:27
71.2! :smiliedance: Not the big drop I wanted (about a kilo- 800g), but its better than putting weight back on! So any weight loss is good enough I suppose! Wouldnt it be nice if your clothes just hang off you when you diet for a week! Oh how easy it would be.
I could definitely do better this week, so hopefully I'll see a better decrease next monday!
How is everyone else going?
06-11-2006, 07:31
me = not so good I ate maccas yesterday
This week my goal is to have no maccas AT ALL :yes:
BlueButterfly
06-11-2006, 07:41
me = not so good I ate maccas yesterday
This week my goal is to have no maccas AT ALL :yes:
Why do they make it taste so good! :( Its just not fair!
Could you imagine if all food was equally as healthy as the next! I could live off of chocolate, icecream, all the good things and still be vibrantly healthy! :yelclap:
If only Mel...If only! :rolleyes:
06-11-2006, 07:44
Why do they make it taste so good! :( Its just not fair!
Could you imagine if all food was equally as healthy as the next! I could live off of chocolate, icecream, all the good things and still be vibrantly healthy! :yelclap:
If only Mel...If only! :rolleyes:
oh I wish :laughing:
*My Lil Blondie*
06-11-2006, 09:01
hi girls, i hope its not to late to join!
my starting weight is 68kg's. size 12
but i really want to get back to my pre pregnancy weight of 56kg's. size 8 - 10.
Bubba is 9 months now so i no longer have that "oh ive just had a baby" excuse:thumbsdown:
we have just moved towns so i know no one. im a terrible boredom eater its all i do when Brodie naps. the only proper meal i eat is tea, during the say i just snack on ****!
i have a evaluation at curves on friday, cant wait! so i plan on going there every night for the half hour.
but my main problem is definately my food intake!
im wrapped there is support here!:smiliedance:
woven_wings
06-11-2006, 16:56
WEIGHT LOSS SUPPORT GROUP MEMBERS:
NAME - WEIGHT TO LOOSE - WEIGHT LOSS TO DATE
Mel - 12kg - 800g
Miriam -
Chels - 10kg
Tina - 5kg
Megan - 4/5kg - 2kg (?)
Cheezelkat - 7kg
Kylee - 17kg
Josie - 8kg
Mandy - 15kg
Kristen - 11kg
Ash - 10/15kg
Kelli - 12kg
Brodiesmummy - 12kg
And
Niki - to help healthy and active during pregnancy...
LET me know if you have lost weight or your weight to loose so we can all support each other to reach our goals...
Today I weighed myself again... I dunno if I have lost or whether that is just the scales... they have been having issues lately. So I might have lost a little over 2kg haha... or might not have lol!
How is everyone going? It's a new week!
06-11-2006, 16:57
well ive probably put on weight but I haven't weighed myself!
although im about to go and run a few laps of the flinders uni oval