View Full Version : dec 05 mums.... (#2) + all dec05 threads merged
My name is michelle i have 2 children both december babies in 04 and 05.
Its a busy time at the moment but im enjoying it alot, chloe is sort of sleeping through the night last feed is at 8pm then not till 3-4 am.
I wanted to say hello to all the other december mums and to see how things are going with your bubs. My bub was due the 26th of december but decided to enter the world 4 weeks early on the 2nd of december.
looking forward to hearing from you all december mothers:)
Hi Michelle,
I had my first baby on December 13th (4 days early) your bubs is born on our wedding anniversary!
You sleeping seems alot better than mine. My baby is feeding around 10.30pm and waking between 12.30-1.30am and then again around 3am & 5am and then wanting to stay up bright eyed and bushy tailed until mid to late morning! The most sleep I am getting in one hit is about 4hours but usually less.:( I have no idea what is normal or how to get my baby to sleep longer. He is only little was 5lb 9oz or 2540g he is now 1kg heavier at 5wks. The mid wife said you can't get into any routine until about 3 months I don't know the truth in this.:confused: I think I need to read a book or something about feeding and sleeping routines. I am breast feeding on demand and my baby seems to have a lot of reflux I am using Brauers (sp?) which is helping. I am tired!:eek: The good thing is he is so adorable and I am not getting stressed out, being a mother is making me a better person :) more relaxed.
Debster
SuperWoman
23-01-2006, 16:35
Hi guys! my little boy was born on Dec 4, 4 days early. He is a little angel. He has his last bottle of the day usually between 7:30 and 9:30, has a bath and then goes to bed. He will sleep through till about 1 or 2 and not get up till around 6 or 7. Today he made his first laughing sound, im pretty sure thats what it was. I dont blame him though i do look a little funny in the mornings (ha ha)!! Congratulations to all December mums and mums everywhere!!:)
I am a very lucky mum DD dropped her night feed a few nights ago then last night slept through!
Also in the section 'when are you due?' we are all still chatting under the Dec 05 thread you are welcome to join us there and share the news/details about your bubs. There are lots of lovely mums to chat to and we'd love your company.
looking forward to hearing from you all december mothers:)
Hi Michelle!
Remember me? How are you doing?
Not a dec mum but would like to talk to you!
i have 2 kids in decemebr as well. and my son just missed out and was born 9th jan. so nearly made all 3 kids in decemeber.. i must have something to celebrate around that conception month!! lol
anyways just thought id pop on to see other dec mummies. we seem to have alot of december groups open at the moment, so i was just having a sticky beak :p
my 6wk boy was born on the 29th of dec...i was lucky cos he was due on xmas day so i had to keep my fingers crossed he wasnt born then
Funkychicken
08-02-2006, 20:30
Hi Michelle,
Welcome to the Dec mums! Our beautiful Hamish arrived on 24th Dec although was due on 26th. He is number #3 babe for us.
hi again, just wanted to say that i like the pic of your kids sal. matching t's and all hehe sweet.
Funkychicken
09-02-2006, 10:06
hi again, just wanted to say that i like the pic of your kids sal. matching t's and all hehe sweet.
Hi Danni,
I got a little carried away with the dyeing. I had so much purple dye that I even did nappies! They do look really cute on Hamish's bottom.
Sal: i did Indy's nappies as well !
i done 1 lot pink and the other lot purple. they look adorable and its so easy. (and cheap) there great hey :p
Funkychicken
09-02-2006, 21:05
Hey Danni,
You're older children are similar ages to mine. Just out of interest how have they coped/reacted to Indy's arrival. What was your first week like and what is it like now. Oh, and are you loving having Indy to yourself now that school is back?
hee hee!!
yeah sal i noticed that too and was gonna ask the same.
i find the kids have a "all grown up" feel to them now. as we have a baby in the house now and everyone so clucky including the kids, making them act more mature and wanting to help.
i found it hard at times, coz the 2 older kids constantly fight, and wake her up!!!!
but yet sometimes they can be a huge help. they love indy !! act like little mummies and daddies hehe
im glad school went back *phewww* can relax abit with indy. and have just me and her time.
i feel like i can really enjoy this baby, and appreciate it, and have learnt alot more this time. which surprised me!
anyways love to hear your experience also!
Funkychicken
10-02-2006, 14:40
I'm so glad to hear that your children are reacting like mine. Most of the time they are great little helpers, especially Ella who I thought might resent a baby, but at times they are feral when fighting. They both love to smother Hamish with kisses but unfortunately it is usually just as he is dropping off (which then wakes him) or when he wants a feed-Ella sticks her face between his face and me. It's so hard to always use kind words with her and I find myself yelling at her to "Give him Space". Then of coures I feel guilty after and worry that she feels not as loved as the baby. This feeling usually comes in when I finally get to bed. But I'm sure this kind of thing has been happening in households with babies forever, so I'm sure they will cope.
I totally agree with the appeciation thing-I'm soaking up every little moment with Hamish and it is a different feeling to the first and second times. Maybe I'm older (Wiser?) and appreciate time more now. I'm so not focused on milestones and when's and firsts etc... They were so important with the other two. In fact today I was at the shops and realised Hamish has yet to have a toy to watch hanging over him so I went into Big W and bought a thingy to hang on the pram. I actually think I'm just too busy to worry about little things and instead I just smother him with kisses and cuddles constantly, especially now that I don't have to share him during school hours!
sal.. i found myself agreeing soo much with everything u were saying lol~!
its amzing.
my daughter emily, has a big attachment to Indy and i find myself getting cranky at times as she always is in her face!. then as you said, end up feeling bad for saying so!
i know they just love her to bits, but the have bad timing!
i had alot of troubles getting indy to sleep of a day time and no matter how many times i tell them to be quiet, they still manage to wake her arghhhh :rolleyes:
i get guilty for yelling at them to be quiet all the time! the school holidyas are over so it is alot quieter now.
i also agree about not so obsessed with milestones etc..!
although i have started to scrapbook for her.. and taking a million pics (but only coz i have digital camera and i never used to with the other kids) but im not so obsessed recoding in her baby book etc. . seems like the more kids the less evidence u keep lol
Can i ask how your hubby is with Hamish. do u take care of the kids yourself, hubby help alot, ... or abit ??
and do u plan to have anymore kids after this?
oh and i also was curious , i noticed this from the first time i heard hamish was born.. but wanted to ask about his name.. its a very scottish name, is it not?
anywas talk soon.. hope all is well :p
Funkychicken
11-02-2006, 19:58
Hey Danni,
I actually read your post this morning and it has taken me until now to have time/space to get back on Bubhub. One of those days, Hamish was just not completely happy and was sooo overtired but would only settle in my arms so I gave in and spent 3 1/2 hrs in the loungechair with him napping on a pillow on my lap. At least I managed to finish an overdue library book.
Oh, to his name-I actually had only one boys name throughout the whole pregnancy but I wasn't completely happy with it, then about 6 wks before he was born I was driving home late and just thought, Hamish, that's it. Anyway I ran it past DH and as he had a girls name picked he kind of grunted an OK. That was the last we spoke of it until he arrived and I looked at DH and said "Well?" That was it I guess. it wasn't until afterwards that I thought about the Scottish origins. He has my dad's name (Andrew) as a middle name which is also really Scottish, so it kind of seems as though we are Scottish. I think we were about 200 years ago!
As to hubby with Hamish. Considering this was the unplanned for child, he can't get enough of him. Especially the first month, I think he spent more time with him than with the other two combined. We manage a farm, so he is here breakfast, lunch and dinner so he does spend quite a bit of time with him. Now that the other two are both in school, we can both act like first time parents again without rocking the jealousy boat. He is mostly helpful, a lot more so than when the other two arrived. maybe he's more mature now too.
As to more kid's? We were going along nicely with two when I found out we were expecting again. Took me a long timeto get my head around it but in hindsight I think it was mainly because I had accepted that we were done and I had to unaccept that. Now that Hamish is here I think could have another (hormones maybe?) but I don't see it happening. DH agreed to being snipped 5 years ago but has been avoiding it (scared sh*#less actually). This is why Hamish came to be. I'm thriving on motherhood at the moment. Im tireder than ever and have very little time to myself but for some reason I'm just soaking it up.
Wow, that was a huge post-better stop or it will be too long to read.
Ps- Does your DSD live with you guys? And are you planning/hoping for more kid's?
Paige was born 24.12.2005 the last 7wks have gone so fast.. kinda makes you think where all that time has gone... weird seeing as I have been awake for most of it lol! ;)
They grow so quick! Looking forward to seeing how long and how much bub has grown when we go for a check up on friday!
hey again
i havent had much chance to come on bubhub , it has been full on at my house for the last week!
my mum come down from Bowen to stay for a week. and at the same time we are just about to put out house up for sale so we are trying to get it up to scratch!
Ive had 3 x real estates come out to give me an appraisel.
Luckily Indy has been a lil angel.. and made it easier the last couple of days, she just sleeps , sleeps , sleeps. its strange.
she has started going to bed even earlier now. it used to be at about 10:30 but now she is starting to go down at about 9 and sleeps till about 5am or sometimes not waking up till 7am . makes me worried actually, coz she has a feed then goes back to skeep again!
Do growth spurts do that to them? maybe thats it?? i hardley see her now! i guess shes catching up on some sleep :rolleyes:
Sal, its good that hubby is enjoying time with Hamish. i love it when DP and Indy are playing etc.. although she is now going through a stage where she screams her head off if anyone else picks her up, she keep crying till they hand her over to me :o my DP is getting quite sad over it.
as for my DSD, no, she unfortunately doesnt live with us, it would be great!, but she lives on the Gold Coast and we only get her on the school holidays.
We arent exactly planning any more kids, but MAYBE might have 1 more. think DP would like to try for another boy. but like i said, "maybe" hehe
im not too sure as its way too soon to even think about another bub haha. but it has crossed my mind :p
we dont have any more room in house or car, but we are planning on buying a new house as soon as ours sells and after that i plan on getting a bigger car, prolly new 4wd. then i could have more room for another :D
I did get my script filled for the mini pill after i had Indy , however, i havent even started taking it oops!
Nat also agreed that it would just be easier for him to get the snip also. so that could be on the cards for him later on too.
anyways, thats my week! hehe talk to you girls later, have fun!!
Hello everyone, well my little chloe is doing very well she is now sleeping through the night 9pm to 5am.Its good to get a great night sleep epecially when i have my 13 month old running around, both kiddies keep me soooo busy. We took both of them down to margaret river for the weekend, it was my sons first big trip and he didnt cope very well he just want to get out a run,didnt like sitting in one spot for so long,and we are of to melbourne at the end of march so im not looking forward to the plane trip!
I cant belive that chloe is nearly 3 months old, time flys when your having fun!! Just wanted to say hello to everyone and hope things are well with your bubs:)
seeya
Mummaof2
14-02-2006, 15:29
My DS was born 28/12/05 (6days over). He goes to bed at 9:30pm and sleeps through till 6am. I had Cooper weighed & measured last week and at 6wks he was weighing 5.3kg (clothed) and 60.5cm long
Became a Dec mum, first time for me! He was due on Jan 8th but decided to come early on 20th Dec! Took us all by surprise but hey you wouldn't change it for the world! He was 3.67kg (8pd1) and 52cms long. 6 week check up he was 5.3kg and 57.5cms long! He is a growing boy and seems to be thriving!
I'm still trying to cope with the lack of sleep, some days I'm fine and some days I could just cry (and do!)! He is still feeding through the night, but we did have a sleep through a few days ago and I'm hoping that it's a trend!
know how you feel about wanting to cry from lack of sleep I have been a bit like that this week... seems to be catching up with me and bub doesnt want to sleep during the day which is so exausting!
Work called today and asked if I would come in for 2 days next week to help out think I will to get the extra cash and have some time for me... will be nice to get paid to socialise! :p
know how you feel about wanting to cry from lack of sleep I have been a bit like that this week... seems to be catching up with me and bub doesnt want to sleep during the day which is so exausting!
Work called today and asked if I would come in for 2 days next week to help out think I will to get the extra cash and have some time for me... will be nice to get paid to socialise! :p
Thanks for the sympathy, nice to know when I'm looking at the clock 1am someone else out there is doing the same!
Oooh nice about work! The extra cash always comes in handy! But definately a plus about the socialising, sometimes 4 walls gets a bit too much!
Btw, your piccy is adorable!
thanks.. I should actually change it soon has been up there for a while...
I have to brag... our princess slept the whole night and woke up at 8.30am!
I couldnt believe it.. I got less sleep because I kept trying to listen to her breathe! :o
Dont like my chances of it happening again... but was nice to know it is possiable! lol!
Funkychicken
15-02-2006, 19:18
Hi all Dec mums,
Thought I would give an update on our progress. Weekend before last we went away and by the time we got home on Sun evening, at 10.30pm, I was absolutely shattered. I don't think I had Hamish out of my arms for more than 30mins at a time all weekend. He knows our homelife so well and doesn't particularly like change to his pattern. Not that he even has a strict routine-what with school runs and shopping etc... Anyway on Monday evening DH made a suggestion that we bite the bullett and try a dummie. (Our DD had a total love affair with hers-whole other story- so I was adamant that Hamish wouldn't have one.) So off to the local supy to 'select' a dummy. Hmmm...so many to choose from. Decided on a NUK shaped one. Well I put it in his mouth and he was asleep within 5 mins. He woke for a feed at about 8pm and then went straight back to sleep until 1 am.
That was over a week ago and I have to say our dinner times are considerably more peaceful. It seems to only be during those witching hours (4-7pmish) that he needs it and he doesn't particularly like it any other time. He is such a sucky baby that I really think we have done the right thing. He is a lot calmer in the evenings and that makes it soooo much easier for him to go to sleep at bedtime. It also means I can snuggle DS#1 and DD into bed and get back into reading them stories again-something they have missed a bit in the last 7 1/2 weeks.
I can't believe I managed a whole story about Hamish getting a dummy. I really think I need a "Dummy Fearers" anonymous group. I have always had such an aversion to them, so I am going to work on my acceptance of "The Dummy" and just get over it. Phew!!!
We also had our mum and babe 6 week checkup yesterday. All is well with us both-much to my DH's excitement. In his mind if the Dr says all's well we can have sex immediately! Never mind if I don't feel like it yet, due to say....TIREDNESS AND WORNOUTNESS AND BUSYNESS AND I'D RATHER SLEEP! We'll work through that one.
Hamish has also developed some new sounds. His cooing is getting louder and lasts longer and is now coming with the smiles. it melts my heart. Today I prepared to sit down and feed him and as soon as I layed him across my lap to get my boob out he starting making a grunting, excitement noise. DD thought it was hilarious. Ahhh boys-they love the whole boob thing and I honestly don't think they get over it.
Brooke, I'm so happy for you to have had a nights sleep. You are sounding(?) brighter now so I hope you enjoyed your birthday after all and you're having a good week.
Kuz78au -I'm with you at 1 am. It's always nice to know there are other mums-and dads-pottering about too!;)
Oooh Brooke that's fanstastic! It happened to Will the other night (one night special tho!) and I was up wondering what was wrong! Lol! Gosh aren't we just worry warts! He he he! :p
And Sal, about the dummy thing - I am totally with you! I was really against it but it's really gotten us through the tough stuff! Will seems a lot happier and that makes us happier! And also a big LOL about the whole sex thing, I couldn't think of anything worse right now! Sleep is just awesome, when it happens! :D
(YAWN - off to bed I go! ZzzzzZZZ!)
Funkychicken
16-02-2006, 09:32
Just have to share this. Hamish slept from 7.30pm until 3.15am!!! YAY, i had 5hrs sleep unbroken. I was so excited that when he did wake I could hardly get back to sleep. Eventually did though.
That's great Sal! Woo hoo! :D
hi everyone
i dont wanna sound like im rubbing it in, but Indy been sleeping through the night pretty much since i brought her home. just dont have many probs through the night.
However my little witch pays me back in other ways lol
she barely sleeps of a day time, and when she days its impossible to put her down, she will sleep for ages in my arms but i cant put her to bed, so i get nothing done. im now getting used to doing EVERYTHING that i used to do (before bub) with her in my arms. my left arm is gonna shame out a bodybuilder soon :p
She also has hated the pram, car, bath, rocker/swing, getting dressed, and having nappy changed.
She would just scream until she got picked up again :eek:
luckily things have started to work out over time, and she is getting used to having to do these things.
Does anyone else find bub is more attached to you only? Indy going through phases of not letting anyone else do things 4 her. She used to drop straight off to sleep in her dad's arms but now screams until he hands her over to me.
I took her to get weighed the other day.....
weight: 6.5 kg's
length: 60 cm
head circ: 40 cm
she also had another couple of giggles the last couple of days , and is fascinated at the moment with her hand! is so cute .
oh and has started being so much more vocal! louder and heaps of cooing etc...
thats aboutall my bub update :p
Anyone been watching the winter games?
ok talk 2 u all later *bye*
Aww rub it in dannii!! Lol! :p I'm still waiting for that precious sleep through again....
I reakon my arms will be pretty strong soon too, Will loves being held. But fortunately he can sometimes send himself off to sleep through the day and can be happy just sitting in his rocker looking around.
I found that he is a bit more attached to me, my hubby sometimes just says he is so cranky pants and then as soon as I touch him he settles down instantly! Plus I find when I'm putting him to sleep I can get him off quicker than daddy, I think because I do the night feeds! (YAWN!)
Haven't been watching much tv lately! Haven't had a spare moment! But I heard we got a gold, woo hoo! :D
Have a good week everyone!
Funkychicken
20-02-2006, 14:04
Hamish is now 8 wks old and definately awakening to the world. He is becoming really aware of who is holding him. Needless to say if it isn't me he becomes a bit agitated, although DH had him last night and he happily went off to sleep in his arms. DS#1 wouldn't let anyone hold from about 3 mths on.
We all went to Kryall Castle for the weekend and the children had a wonderful time. It has aged there a bit since I was a child but to our 7 and 5 yo's it was amazing. Sleeping in a castle was like a dream coming true to our 7yo DS. He is obsessed with Medieval things-knights, castles etc...
Hamish was a champ and just flowed the whole time. It's amazing how no.3 fits in. I don't think we would have been game to go away O/N with DS#1 at 8 wks ao age. Now we go with a baby, a 5yo and a 7yo. No sweat! Although when DS#1 was 8 wks old I was still exceptionally sore from the episiotomy and didn't go far at all.
Sal: im glad to hear you've had a good weekend away :smiliedance:
im not game to take Indy too far lol i cant believe that i did it with DD#1 at 5 weeks old, i took a train trip nearly 600km on my own with bub to see friends and family.
i wouldnt dream of doing that with Indy.. i reckon she'd play up for sure haha
kuz78au: my fingers are crossed for more full nights sleep for you. although sounds like heaven that will is content during the day though!
well not much more news lately
talk to you all later *waves*
Hi all dec mums,
I have only discovered this thread lately and thought I would say hello.
Rhiannon was born on the 26th dec and I can't believe she is 8 weeks old. The time has gone so quickly.
Well yesterday I had to take her to the dr's for her injections :crying: poor little thing she had a bit of a cry and then when we got home she had a bottle, some panadol and went to sleep. She is still a bit grizzly today but is doing really well.
The dr weighed her and she is 5kg. she was around 3.5kg when born.
She has started sleeping through the night most nights but last night woke up at
3am I thought she would since she had her injections. But I got a lovely surprise when she had a bit of a chuck over me - first time she had done that.
We went visiting today to my mum and dads house as they were looking after my 2 year old nephew. It was very sad as my mum and dad are having a new house built and it should be finished at the end of march mum has started to pack and when i walked in she had taken all the family photo's down, the house is starting to look bare. They have lived in their house for 25 years, but i am happy that they are getting a new house with new furniture near the beach at bribe.
Anyway hope to chat you all later hope you all the dec bubs are doing well.
hi brooksy
yeah we have a few december threads on the go, im gettin confused!! :p
i hated gettin the needles for bubs.. but its gotta be done (well not everyone, but u know what i mean )
it is so sad watching them get jabbed, and feeling like a big bully!
anyways hope your parents will like theyre new house. i have recently been thinking of building our new home as were about to put ours on the market. just worried cause ive heard some terrible stories about getting them built, mainly time wise. how long has it taken for your parents?
ok talk later byeee
Funkychicken
22-02-2006, 20:01
Yay, Hamish slept for 7 1/2 hours again last night. I'm so not doing the "is he breathing thing" that I did 1st and 2nd time around. I am sleeping so well that the only thing that wakes me is when he whimpers for a feed. When he did wake at 2.30am I put him, by mistake, on the boob I had fed from at 7pm and went back to sleep myself. When I woke this morning I had the wettest tshirt on from overload on one side. A little swollen and painful too!
He also seems to have settles into a daytime routine. I did nothing here-he has set the pace. Shortish nap in the early morning, long nap before lunch, a bit of gooing and smiling and back to bed for another long nap. Sometimes a kip before bedtime otherwise off to bed and asleep by 7pm. Today he went to sleep (on his own thanks to the dummy) at 12.30 pm and at 2.45 when I had to collect the children from school he was still asleep so i put him in the capsule and off to school (25 mins one way). He stayed asleep until I woke him to feed him when we got home at 4pm. What a champ! Oh yeah, then he was back in bed and asleep by 6.30 and hasn't moved since. How special am I feeling at the moment?:yelclap:
way to go hamish :yelclap:
im worried people think i let bub stay in bed to long!
she goes to bed at about 9pm and wakes at 5am for feed, falls back asleep next to me and she stays in bed again till 9 or 10am! unless i wake her up to get her in the car to take kids to school... otherwise i leave her at home with her daddy or he takes older older kids to school.. he does shift work.
she has a bassinette next to me, but ends up in with me from her 5am feed. although i usually fall asleep feeding her and wake up sore! coz she stays on for agggges using me as a dummy after shes done! haha
anyways she naps still of a day but not usually for long. cant really complain though!
well better go talk later
Yay for Hamish! Gosh, he sounds like the golden child! I'm sooooo jealous! :p
Hey Brooksy, my little Will has his 2 month injections, and woah was it hard to watch! Plus they make you hold his legs, what is with that?! Isn't it hard enough being in the same room when they do it?!!??!?!!? :crying:
Dannii - I don't sweat about the sleeping thing. Will sometimes spends the morning in bed with me, anything for more sleep I say! He is a happy little munchkin so why not? If they develop bad habits later, we can always change them.....we hope! Lol! :shame:
As for me, Will is doing good and I'm doing better too. This week has been hard but we are getting through it. I've had my brother staying with us this week, Will got his injections and we've had follow up appts for Dr's and things! Phew! I have been suffering with a bit of post natal depression and the sleep deprivation is nearly killing me! But I've joined a gym and started exercising again and I'm feeling a lot better, mentally and physically! Yay for me! I've also been feeling better towards Will, before I had a very short fuse with him and now I'm coping a lot better. I'm trying to remain positive and things are looking fine!
I hope you guys have something nice planned for the weekend! See ya!
Hi all dec mums,
How are you all doing this week. Did we all have great weekends.?
We had a wonderful weekend mostly - dh took dd and I up to montville for the dayon sat. . We bought dd this cute little hat as dh put dd in the baby bjorn, so I didnt want her head to be sunburnt. The baby bjorn made it so much easier walking up the hill in montville & also dh carried the baby bag so I had my hands free.
We were looking at accomodation as dh is taking me up there for the night in May for our 2nd wedding anniversary. The place we usually go to is booked out already so we have to find somewhere else. That weekend dd will be with nana for the night.
Anway today dd & I went to my mums house as she looks after my nephew who is 2 and we all went to the beach at shorncliffe and walked along the jetty and my nephew played on the swings. We sat down so he could have some lunch under the shady tree. Rhiannon just loved being outside. We must have tired them out as my nephew and Rhiannon both went to sleep in car on the way home.
Anyway hope you & your bubs are doing well
sounds great brooksy.
i had a good weekend. i got to go out with some friends after i put indy to bed :smiliedance:
i knew shes sleep through , she always does.
we went to a nightclub, which was sooooo good to get out of the house. although i paid dearly for ir when i got home. we rolled home at 5am Indy was still asleep, so DF didnt have to even get up to her at all!
he has never had to get up to her since she was born!
anyways by the time i got out of shower and get into bed, have quick nap.. indy woke up at 6am. i couldnt feed her as i had way to much to drink night b4, so she had a bottle. then she went back to sleep for most of the morning! lovely baby she is.
i was soooo sick all day, served myself right! i wont be doing that again for sooo long. i needed a reminder what im not missing!!!
LOL
Sounds like you guys had a great weekend!!!! :yelclap:
As for me, Saturday I had to have a blood test (yuck) which I had to fast for, but we went out and had a great big brekky afterwards which was yummy! I haven't done that for so long and we really enjoyed it!
We dropped my brother at the airport and it was the first trip to the airport for bubs which was interesting! Having to go through the metal detecters and take him out of the pram etc...an experience!
Then Sunday me and hubby went out for lunch just the two of us while his bro and sis-in-law minded bubs! It was great! I nearly was tempted to call but hubby stopped me! Of course he was fine! The lunch was great, we haven't done that for a long time and really enjoyed it!
As for now, I'm still trying to play catch ups with the sleep thing, bubs isn't sleeping through yet so I still get my 5-6 hour broken sleep each night (YAWN!) :sleeping: ! But I'm exercising more and have been eating better and it's making a difference. I'm still a bit 'short fuse' with everything but I'm sure once I get more sleep I will be ok! :fingerscrossed:
Hey I'm having trouble with bubs at the moment, he is waking up because he gets out of his wrap in the night and gets cold - plus his arms and legs go everywhere! Any tips for keeping it on him? Thanks!
Hi there kerrie,
I haven't wrapped Rhiannon up since she was three weeks old. I would wrap her up at night and she would push her arms out, she likes to sleep with her hands just above or under her head. But lately she has been kicking her blankets off and when I come in to get her in the morning her little feet are cold so since it's been getting cooler at night i have been putting on a pair of long pants with the covered feet so they don't get cold.
For winter I have also bought her a couple of those sleeping bags, I looked at the grobag website but they are $50-60 each. my mum bought one for $17.
Anway it sounds like you had a good weekend getting out of the house with hubby. Its good to do that occaisionally.
Do you find that your routine with bub on the weekend is different when dh is at home than during the week?
Howdy!
I've been thinking about the sleeping bags, although it's a bit warm at the moment for them but soon :fingerscrossed: It's mainly his hands and he keeps hitting himself in the head lol, poor guy!
I find the routine on the weekend is definitely different! Although we don't really have much of a daytime routine. I'm trying to set on up at the moment but it's a challenge! Will is a defiant little dude who likes to fight going to sleep! I suppose as long as he is still able to sleep at night (even if it's not straight through) that's the main thing. We have started putting him to sleep earlier and I think it's a good idea. We do the whole bath, feed, sleep thing and it works. He even gets himself off to sleep now, no more patting! Woo hoo! :smiliedance: But yeh, as for the daytimes I'll just keep on trucking lol
Funkychicken
02-03-2006, 18:29
Greetings to all the Dec mums,
Wow I can't believe it is March already! Didn't we just do christmas? And give birth?
Anyway, Hamish had a visit to the MCHC yesterday and I thought I would add all his stats. Just have to find them in the book-I have to admit I haven't actually opened the book myself:o . Poor third child, missing out on the daily book filling that the other two got. Actually I am happy to just love him and I am not too concerned about such issues.
Here we go:
WEIGHT: 5625 GMS or 12lbs 6 oz
LENGTH: 58 CMS
HEAD CIRC: 40 CMS
He has grown considerably and is thriving on Mumma's milk. His big bro and sis absolutely adore him and Tristan now feels all grown up because he was allowed to carry him from the car to the front door.
Life is good!!
Howdy!
How has everyone's week been?
My week has been good. Had a catch-up with a mothers group on Sunday for brekkie/lunch which was great. It's really good to get out! I'm still struggling a bit with the sleeping. Will has been pretty good, we have had success with the bath, feed, bed thing. He sleeps for about 6-8 hours some nights so hopefully it will work ok!
I have noticed though he isn't having as much when he feeds and he seems pretty tired sometimes. He doesn't seem dehydrated though as he is still doing a lot of wet nappies. The Paed said he should be eating 800mls a day for his size but he usually has only 720mls or so, the last couple of days he is having 680mls approx. Oh and he doesn't have a temp. So we are just thinking maybe he is just having a quiet period, I mean if he was hungry he would be crying wouldn't he? Other than that, he is one very happy little boy :p Loves those smiles!
bellapaigesmum
26-03-2006, 20:20
any babies born on the 13th dec 2005 in adelaide
Sorry no! :(
BTW, bout time I bump this up and see how you Dec'05 mums are going?!
We are going good :p He is sleeping usually 8/9pm - 4/5am THANK GOD! Now I just need to adjust my sleeping patterns to fit with his! Lol! He has been drinking about 140-160mls 5/6 times per day but sometimes it's less which worries me to death! But I think as long as he has the 6 wet nappies he is fine! He is 63cms long (remember his dad is 6 foot 4 inches!) and weighs 6.4kg. He has now started to giggle and is sooo much more interactive! Yay! No more just lying there. He is just about to roll too I'm sure of it! Oh and he LOVES looking at his mummy! It feels like I'm being stalked! LOL! I'm not looking forward to his next round of shots though :crying: His dad is coming this time so I'll have a little bit more support! Yay!
My DS was born 13th december but in NSW. I am an Adelaide girl, I wish he was born in Adelaide.
bellapaigesmum
12-04-2006, 12:44
wow thats amazing. i just wanted to see how many bubs were born the same day as my bubs
My name is Bec :wave: and im engaged to Scott we have a beautiful Daughter named Gemma
who was born on the 12/12/2005 weighing 8p2o or 3.69kg.
Im a stay at home mum and love every minute of it.
my DF and i have been together for 6 years this July.
Look forward to get to knowing everyone.
Bec and Gemma
Funkychicken
03-05-2006, 13:34
My name is Bec :wave: and im engaged to Scott we have a beautiful Daughter named Gemma
who was born on the 12/12/2005 weighing 8p2o or 3.69kg.
Im a stay at home mum and love every minute of it.
my DF and i have been together for 6 years this July.
Look forward to get to knowing everyone.
Bec and Gemma
Welcome Bec and Gemma,
What a gorgeous little girl you have there. We have a great thread for December 05 mums that has been going for some time. Come on over and join us as we post here quite often. I'ts in the When are You Due? section called December Mums. I'll try and find a link thingy for you.:D
Funkychicken
03-05-2006, 13:37
This should be the link. Also to anyone else from the Dec thread who hasn't already joined us regularly at this thread, come and join in-we seem to have established this one as a regular posting place.:wave:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=120
Blairsmummy
11-07-2006, 16:25
Just wanting to get in contact with some other December Mums. If you're out there, I'd love to hear from you. :yes:
Talk to you soon (...hopefully!!) :fingerscrossed:
Funkychicken
11-07-2006, 19:01
Hi Blair's mummy! We have a DEC 2005 thread going. We never really got going with this one but the other one is a continuation of When Are You due? In fact, it is one of the longest threads here!!:D
Try this link:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=8614 (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=8614)
come on over and have a chat. You're more than welcome!:)
hi there,
my daughter was born on the 7th december 2005, which makes her 7months, ....anyone else a december mum???:wave:
Funkychicken
19-07-2006, 10:25
hi there,
my daughter was born on the 7th december 2005, which makes her 7months, ....anyone else a december mum???:wave:
Check out the link to the Dec mums thread that I have put in the above post. You'll find us all there!:D
Reidymac
19-07-2006, 13:19
:wave: Hi BlairsMummy and Livtan. Look no further ther is a fantastic group of wonderful, supportive and talkitive December 2005 Mummies here on Bubhub. Come on over and have a chat, we cant wait to hear more about you and your little people. Just follow the link provided by Funkychicken and your there.....
Try this link:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=8614 (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=8614)
Hope to talk to you soon :wave:
my daughter indiana was born on the 22nd of december,her due date!it will be nice chatting with mums with babies pretty much exactly the same age as she is.she stuck her finger in my nose and gave me a nose bleed this morning.just thought id tell you that.i thought it was funny.a good night for me is when she wakes up every three hours for a feed.and that is rare.is anyone else in the same situation?would love to hear what your nights are like.unless you say your baby has been sleeping thru for months then i would cry.haha just kidding.sort of
Funkychicken
10-08-2006, 21:24
Hi again Indimum. You are definately not alone with the waking bub! I have decided that this particular batch of babies (born 05/06) will be dubbed "Generation Wakeful". I am constantly amazed at how many of us have them. I know my two older ones were just about sleeping through and they never 'regressed' to waking again and I remember thinking, especially with DS#1, how hard it all was. These days I am living in the land of the waking dead! Hamish sleeps (most nights) from about 5pm-10pm but after that it can be hourly, two hourly, very rarely three hourly wakings for a feed. Occasionally I can bluff him with a cuddle and he falls back to sleep. And for the last week or so, we have added gutteral screaming into the mix unless I pick him up within seconds of him waking. But I love him so, so much, how could I not pick him up!:thumbsup:
lovingmumof 2now
09-10-2006, 20:38
Hi every one I am a Dec 05 mum bubs bday 2nd Dec.
What do I buy her for her birthday?
Can anyone give me ideas?
I have a few ideas but welcome more.
hayleylea
10-10-2006, 08:40
Hey there, my sons first bday is in a weeks time. I have got him a huge big firetuck that he can push around...some peekablocks (The alphabet ones) - he has heaps of stuff in the peekablock range and loves them. He is also getting a dump truck and a tool bench thing where he whacks things with a hammer. I know they are all pretty "boyish" things so some other ideas.
One of them fisher price lift and lock swings if you dont have one.
Flip out lounges
laugh and learn puppy dog
DVDs
Learning tables
Icrediblock (DS has one and absolutley LOVES it -favourite toy by far and its eductional)
Is she walking? - things like the ride on hippo, or things for her to push around.
Anything that makes noise..dont know about your daughter but my son loves anything that makes noise!
One of them little bikes that they sit on and push around with their legs
beach ball
ummm thats all i can think of for now - hope ive helped you abit! Im sure whatever you get her she will be more interested in the wrapping paper anyway :laughing: Nah whatever you get her she will love anyway.
Goodluck!
EJs getting a rocking horse and a Wiggles ball pit for her bday. She has a heap of toys though she loves that she plays with like a Wiggles Activity Walker (not using as a walker at pres more the activiites) and an activity table. She really likes books at pres also. And you can't go past Wiggles DVD's lol
lovingmumof 2now
10-10-2006, 21:03
Thanks guys
ok thats it, I was thinking of a ball pit/come lilttle swimming pool so have decided on swimming pool and some balls to put in it as she loves balls and some blocks and something for her to push along. Thanks for your help, its always nice to get others opinions as sometimes I am stuck in my own ideas.
happybirthday Ella!!! :hugs: for you Sal and Hamish - I really hope he gets better soon.
:thumbsup: Good work Brooke!
Well I am going absolutely barmy with this night waking! Caydence isn't having a bottle during the night anymore which is great news, but she wet the bed at 3am, so I got up, changed her and put her back to bed but haven't been able to sleep myself - that's the part that's driving me barmy!!! :fingerscrossed: that tonight I won't wake up! I might sleep downstairs tonight just incase Caydence wakes up, at least that way DH can attend to her needs while I get some very much needed sleep.
Mum looked after Caydence yesterday afternoon while DH, a friend and I went out motorbike riding and we were having a ball. About 200mts from the car I fell off! It was a pretty bad fall - DH just put new handlebars on the bike(they are supposed the be the ultra strong type) and I bent them worse than when our friend fell off and broke his arm! Other than a HUGE bruise on my leg and a bit of a sore hand and arm I'm ok which is lucky - don't know what we would have done if I'd broken any bones or anything!
Better hop to it making lunches etc - hope you all have a good day.
brodiebunch
30-10-2006, 09:48
ouch!I am a real wuss when I fall off things.I hope you feel better but most of all I hope you milked it for all it was worth:D !
I am also on holidays at the moment DS is slepping and in about 2 weeks I have become so addicted to Bub hub that I had to sign in.I was expecting a really bad day yesterday :crying: as DS [ollie] has just cut 2 more teeth!and daylight savings started.Instead the day went off without a hitch and ollie handled the hour change wonderfully:smiliedance: better still he was in bed by 6.30 which is his normal bed time and didn't wake till 7.30 this morn.The extra daylight did not worry us one bit.
emilysmumma
30-10-2006, 12:13
We made it.....eventually, just a few hitches, namely being bomb detected tested twice- the pram and DH. No boarding pass for Emily so had to go back to check in. The sniffer dog made us go through two bags looking for fruit and the pram at the perth airport never showed up and didn't get returned till 8 hours later. But Emily handled the flight perfectly, had 2 sleeps and the rest of the day Friday she was so good and has also handled the time change (2 hours behind) very well too.
Poor Hamish Sal. That sounds awful the poor little mite. It must break your heart to see him like that. happybirthday for Ella from us.
Jess- that sounds terrible too, falling off the bike. The only time I road a bike I ended up crashing into the fence of our back yard. Needless to say never again. Hope you get some much needed sleep.
Brooke, that's good raising money for such a good cause, way to go.
This is just a quick one for the moment. We spent the weekend recovering and getting Emily back into her loose routine and now it's off visiting somes friends. Just had to go do some banking (work never ends) and get some yummy morning tea and nappies.
So everyone take care and catch up again soon. Missing you all terribly by the way. It's hard not being on BH everyday.
hello all..
wow another new thread i think we do lots of this... :ecomcity:
and my posts have gone down again... no fair!
sarah- im glad it all went well enjoy your holiday!
jess- i hope you are ok! sounds like you had a nasty fall!
tiarnasmummy
30-10-2006, 15:40
Hi:wave: Tiarna was born on 6/12/05. although her due date was the 17th - emily's birth date!
She was born @ 11:19am weighed 5pd 11. Small little thing.
Throughout the pregnancy i couldnt wait till the 17th dec but in Nov we found out she was breech and had to schedule a ceasar. I was pretty upset at first but now that i now what the ceasars like im glad i had it! :D
i have ben so slack lately ive barely posted in here :o i get my updates in email and mean to reply but i just havent.
but i love hearing about how you all are going. and brooke love the new avatar, how beautiful you look *wolf whistle*
sal, i hope ella's birthday was good! happybirthday
and jess i hope u are feeling better, ouch!!!!
mytwolilprinces
30-10-2006, 19:55
Hi Girls! Wow, another thread ....
Love the new family shot Brooke - very sweet. Like Sal was saying, I can't work out how to get us all in the pic and still have it big enough to see, oh well, never mind.
Not much to report from me unfortunatley. Just been busy,busy, busy. Blake is keeping me on my toes but I guess most of you went thru that months ago when your little ones started to crawl. I'm only experiencing it now that Blake has got a lot faster. He is obsessed by the laundry and keeps on crawling in there.
I say "uh uh uh" whenever he is about to touch something. He stops, turns and looks and me and the cries - it's so cute. Doesn't stop him from going back for another try though :rolleyes:
Sal - sorry to hear poor Hamish is unwell, hope he gets better soon.
Welcome Tiarnamummy, hope you enjoy chit chatting with us, we certainly do enough of it :laughing:
Reidymac
30-10-2006, 23:34
Hi December mummies :wave: HA HA there is no escape!!! even this new thread wasn't enough to trick me!! I found you and I am going to subject you to my rambling ways!
Sorry I have been MIA for a bit. Life has been pretty hectic and I find my brain is quickly loosing the capacity to maintain any thought for more than 4 seconds. Writing something intelligent to you all is virtually impossible. The only conversational sentences I seem to be able to construct these days are..........
"No Liam, please don't touch that.....(insert the name of any and every unsuitable household item lower than 4 ft from the ground and ideal for breaking or choking on)..."
"What's in your mouth...:eek: spit it out, spit it out, don't bite mummy, spit it out"
"No Little G, Liam doesn't like it when you smother him/ sit on him/ kiss him/pull his leg/ bury him in teddies/ride him/ push him/ rest your foot on him/ yell at him etc etc etc"
"Please stop screaming Little G, Liam is not chasing you, he's your little brother and he just wants to see what your doing, he is not going to bite you/ slopper on you/ Pooh on you, are you Liam?"
"Liam please stop biting/poohing on/ slobbering on your sister"
"no I can not carry you both, no I can't, because i can't, because mummies not strong enough tio carry your combined 26kg and water the garden, wash clothes, clean the house, no i can't, can you please move your foot out of my rib cage and are you both quite comfortable in the sling together"
"please don't cry just go to sleep, please don't cry just go to sleep, please don't cry, please don't cry"
and so on....and so on.....:laughing: :rolleyes:
Hope you are all doing well. Best wishes for a speedy recovery to Jess and poor little Hamish. Hope your having a lovely holiday Sarah and Big hugs an hello's to you all
I was so surprised when came on tonight and there was a new dec thread and it says that i started it!!! the mods must have just started it or something - strange!
Reidy - welcome back - I've been meaning to ring to say hi but like you i have also been a bit hectic of late.
I am A OK from the bike fall - a few bruises and sore muscles but otherwise in full working order!
I have not had the best of days today so won't stay on long - will go get some sleep!
Anyone in Brisbane get stuck in the traffic??? it took 1.5hrs to get home from work(30-45mins away) and i was running so late i had to ring and ask my neighbours to pick Caydence up - luckily they didn't seem to mind(their kids were excited when they found out too which is nice) and I caught up to them in the traffic before we all got home.
anyway, better go find that sleep i was talking about - i know i left it around here somewhere...
hello ladies...
i keep forgetting about the new thread!
reidy- i always love your posts they always leave me in stitches... just what i needed! :laughing:
I hope u can find to post more...
seems like all our dec mummies are slowly dropping off! :crying:
welcome back dannii- we missed you! :hugs:
jess- that is so long to be stuck in traffic.. if there is one thing i cant stand is to be stuck in slow moving traffic.... lucky i work 4kms from home.... lol...
well i am exausted another working week over for me and i spent tonight cleaning the house from top to bottom so i can relax tomorrow...
a friend of mine is booked to have her induction tomorrow... so another little baby to play with soon! yay!
lmao carolyn i love reading your posts. and i can relate to everything u just said :laughing:
Hi guys :wave:
I'm new to bubhub although have been a member of other forums for a while now (and still am - luckily I haven't got kicked out yet:devil6:).
My name is Alison and I have a daughter called Elizabeth. Eli was born on the 20th Dec 2005 and weighed in at a whopping 4.3kg ! Eli and I had some pretty difficult times getting breastfeeding established in the early days but here we are 10mo later going really well. Eli is a very active bubba and she had just started to walk. She can usually manage about 3/4 steps at the moment before plopping down on her bum. She is also a pretty good talker. Her fave expression at the moment is "whats that!!!".
When I am not on maternity leave (as I am until Jan) I am a research scientist and I work for the defence dept. Before moving back to Australia my DH and I lived in the UK and the USA for 5 years but it is great being home in OZ.
We moved into our new house which was built this year in the outer suburbs of Melbourne and we have just started a vegie patch (we dreamed of doing this when we lived in apartments o/s - how sad are we?:o ).
Anyway, I hope to get to know you all better soon.
Cheers, Al.
mytwolilprinces
02-11-2006, 20:00
Welcome AlisonP - looking forward to getting to know you and hearing all about your little bub. :wave:
mytwolilprinces
02-11-2006, 20:03
Has anyone else noticed that this thread seems to be getting less and less active. Are all us Dec mummies getting bored of it - or are we just too busy with our active little ones??? It will be sad if the Dec Mummies thread dies :gloomy:
Funkychicken
02-11-2006, 20:39
Noooooooooooooooooooooooooo...never will the Dec mummies thread die!!! We must unite and post repeatedly to remind us how important we are to each other! I for one have leant on you girls a lot since joining BH and I couldn't imagine letting this thread die a slow death. I know I have been MIA a bit lately. besides getting my head arounf the mod thing, I have been like a zombie for over a week now. Hamish is finally improving and today ate more than one nibble of a vegemite sandwich. Because he has refused solids since last Saturday, I have been breastfeeding him like a newborn again and I am completely wiped out by it. I really, really hope I don't get sick or everything will go to the dogs!
Jackie, well done on catching my attention-we must preserve our thread!
Reidy, welcome back-again! I feel for you-I remember the toddler/baby thing and it is so hard. I'm sure Jackie knows exactly what I am referring to ;) . It will get easier-just takes time. :hugs:
Jess, I hope the bumps and bruises are recovering.
Dannii, good to see your green light on again!
Brooke, I am sure you are overwhelmed with work both in and outside home so you are forgiven for being a bit absent-as is Jess.:D
Welcome Alison! I'm glad you came and poked your head in here. Wow-what a big baby-I'm sure you don't need reminding!
Sarah, I'm sure you will have a note on your return.
To all our other MIA's-Tracey (Chumps), Sharvs, Blairsmummy, Niki, Poshbecks, Brooksy and all the other Dec mums who poke their heads in occasionally, I hope you are all well and we would love to hear about your latest adventures with your bubba's.
mytwolilprinces
02-11-2006, 20:59
Thanks Sal, like you I am terrified of losing touch with "my dec mummies" ..... I'll probably be hanging around bub hub posting starting "any dec mums?" threads 5 years from now ..... I'll probably get booted off for being a pain :eek:
Funkychicken
02-11-2006, 21:02
Our grand-daughter's will have to use alias names so they can hide from us on here!!:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: We'll be the 60+ parents! I could write a whole essay on what we'll be doing......maybe tomorrow, I'm way to tired and the screen is all fuzzy..........:sleeping:
mytwolilprinces
02-11-2006, 21:10
:laughing: Yeah, we'll be posting in the "parents with older kids" threads except instead of being over 5, our kids will be over 35!
Reidymac
02-11-2006, 21:36
Has anyone else noticed that this thread seems to be getting less and less active. Are all us Dec mummies getting bored of it - or are we just too busy with our active little ones??? It will be sad if the Dec Mummies thread dies
Heres is a post in solidarity of the Dec mummies sisterhood.:thumbsup: In addition, I do solemnly sware to cease lurking in the December pages and commit to contributing (subject you all to?) long and rambling posts at least once a week, from this day henceforth!!:yes:
I too would be lost without my regular catch up with the Dec mums and have been a little sad that the regular chat has slowed. Remember the days when there would be 25 posts in a day????Ahhhhhhhh good times!
I do understand that people are super busy but maybe we just need a few ideas for discussion/ post a couple of questions or something. I always love the way the due date threads have belly size, nursery ideas, scan photo threads etc (not so useful for us ATM but keeps the conversation buzzing). I also saw a few of the birth groups posting a 12 month survey of what your baby is doing (size, activity, development, food and fun wise). I know I would love to hear more about your venture into the world of cloth Jackie, how is it going? Did you like the trial packs you got and would you recommend them to moi? And Funky can you tell us about your mod duties? How is it all going, what areas of the site do you care for? Does it take you many hours a day and have you convinced Hillary that we need that Dec Mummies conference on a tropical island yet (now that you have super mod powers I imagine it shouldn’t be too hard).
We had a great day in the world of babies today. The mothers group I attend had a big birthday bash for all the babies (all born in Oct/Nov and 2 in Dec). It was huge. There is about 13 – 16 of us mothers + babies of course. Today was a BBQ, cake and swimming day. We did a Secret-santa-but-for-birthdays-present-giving-thing where every little person got a lovely book to cherish. An exciting day all around. But alas, my 10 minutes in the water smothered in 50+ sunscreen have still left me sunburned and a little sore:o . Stupid Irish parents and their ridiculous gene pool.:rolleyes:
mytwolilprinces
02-11-2006, 21:48
[QUOTE=Reidymac;777894] I know I would love to hear more about your venture into the world of cloth Jackie, how is it going? Did you like the trial packs you got and would you recommend them to moi? QUOTE]
:smiliedance: An invitation to talk about my nappies. I have gone cloth crazy and am sending us broke with all my purchases! Having said that, I do find it hard to keep up with the washing and end up using disposables for some of the time. Naturally, it's always on these rare occassions that Blake has a disposable on that DH says 'see I told you that those nappies you spent a fortune on were a waste, you don't even use them!" I am still waiting on 5 more baby beehinds, they are fantastic, so adorable and easy to use.
Sounds like you had a great day with your mothers group too Reidy, shame about the sunburn, DS1 is a bit like that. I do try to take him into the sun for a little while every day as he is as pale as a ghost, but he never tans and looks like a vampire! He is actually scared of the sun, must be a self preservation instinct as he has been afraid of it since he was born. Luckily, Blake has really olive skin and even though I cover him in sunscreen, he is sporting a lovely tan which I am very jealous of!
I would also love to hear more from the Dec mummies, we should post our bubs stats again, that is always fun.....
Reidymac
02-11-2006, 22:14
An invitation to talk about my nappies. I have gone cloth crazy and am sending us broke with all my purchases! Having said that, I do find it hard to keep up with the washing and end up using disposables for some of the time. Naturally, it's always on these rare occassions that Blake has a disposable on that DH says 'see I told you that those nappies you spent a fortune on were a waste, you don't even use them!" I am still waiting on 5 more baby beehinds, they are fantastic, so adorable and easy to use......
LOL, It sounds like you have the addiction:yelclap: . I am so glad they have worked out well for you. I completely understand about the washing and balancing with the use of sposies. I suspect that most of the cloth converted would admit that in the early days they used both until they had enough cloth nappies and had the routine down pat. Obviously you just need more :laughing: and :shame: naught naughty husbands will only learn not to say such things if you give them the nappy pail and let them do the wash. So is Baby beehinds your favourite? Better than the other type you tried? was that Green kids?
...... shame about the sunburn, DS1 is a bit like that. I do try to take him into the sun for a little while every day as he is as pale as a ghost, but he never tans and looks like a vampire! ..
HA HA you have just described me, which was fine in my younger days when I was a bit of a wanna be goth and trolled the clubs through the night and slept during the daylight hours. But now that i am a *cough* responsible and *cough*cough* upstanding citizen, and the large white streak running through my less black hair is not intentional, I curse the evil gene pool which condemned me to this life of off blue skin;).
melbabie
03-11-2006, 00:01
hi there every one
well my DD2 was born on the 31/12/05 i cant believe she is 10 months all ready it had gone fast. she is crawling around the house trying to stand up it wont be long now. well hope to get to chat more in this thread.:) :wave:
Sorry its been a while since I posted here. I am going through a bit of a rough patch at the moment. Not sure if anyone has seen my post in "parents in the armed forces" but for those that havent, DF is in Afghanistan. He gets 2 weeks leave during the deployment & his falls over Christmas. He has chosen to go to Rome with his mates instead of coming home, even though I told him how upset I was about it. Before he left, we had a bit of an argument about it and he told me he would come home. Now he has changed his mind. I thought he would jump at the opportunity to spend Christmas with DS but Europe is more appealing to him.
Anyway, Kayden is good. I dont think he has really started doing anything new since I last posted. He is very whingy lately though, always trying to climb up my legs which is sweet, but when I pick him up he sooks to get back down. He is a hard man to please. Just thought of something, he started day care 2 weeks ago. Just one day a week so I can have a bit of a break. He loves it. Considering he really hasnt been around anyone but me, he is coping really well. He cries a bit when I first leave but is fine after that.
Im not doing anything for Kaydens birthday. All my family are interstate and with Chris not being here it wont be as special as it should be. All my friends up here will be interstate because they are mainly defence partners too. Its really sad, he will only turn one once but I just cant get motivated about his birthday or Christmas
Well, thats about it for now. Hope all the other Dec mummies are good.
Sharen - I just wanted to post to say how sorry I am to hear that your partner is not coming home to OZ for christmas :thumbsdown: I don't know how I would handle something like that but it must be difficult for you and I can understand why you are less than enthusiastic about planning birthday or christmas celebrations
Sal - thanks for the PM invite to the Dec mummies :wave:
Hello all :wave:
Sorry, I've been one of the negligent december mummies - but i promise to make more of an effort! It's not that I've been ignoring the site, I do pop on & have a browse at least for 5 mins a day - but Ryan makes it very difficult at times to do anything other than browse for a few mins here & there.
Not much really going on with us.... sorry to bore you all.........:o Ryan has been so good at night lately, still sleeping from about 8 till 4, feed then back to sleep for usually only an hour, 2 if I'm lucky! I don't seem to be able to change his routine at all, so I've decided that 9pm is now my curfew, at least then I get a good sleep & don't feel like I'm dragging the chain the following day. How sad is that? I have almost the same bedtime as my 10 month old son :laughing: .
It's been good reading all your stories of late! Too many to mention, but they are most entertaining! Hope everyone is well, and welcome to you Alison, look forward to hearing of your adventures too!
We've spent a bit of time over the past few weekends making the house a bit more Ryan friendly. The computer room - which looked like an IT office (DH is in IT industry) is now super tidy, all cables out of site etc, so makes it a bit easier to be on computer, now Ryan can just concentrate on pulling the books off the book case 1 by 1 instead of eating the cords. We also put up a lovely shade sail over our pool - aahhhh, can't wait for it to heat up a bit. And yes - for all you Brisbaneites - no, it's not hot enough for me yet. I'm a girl who loves the heat, so bring on the days of 35C I say! Other than stuff like that, I've just been out & about, collecting bits & pieces to put into Ryans birthday / xmas pile. Oh, and purchasing some new items of clothing for the boy. Size 0 :crying: I can't believe it... yet another gentle reminder of my baby growing up.
While we were at pilates this am, Ryan was thinking he's the ladies man, cruising around, and gave this little girl a kiss. He thinks he is so grown up now. He's also decided he must be part of the cheer squad for 'deal or no deal', clapping in sync with the audience, and likewise when that add comes on where the teacher asks the little boy in the classroom to spell thaimine (don't know if I've even spelt it correctly here!) Ryan decides he must join in with the other kids and drop whatever it is he is doing and applaud. They are such funny little people aren't they. They really do bring so much pleasure to our lives.
Well, the time has come for me, I will be starting back at work on Sunday. I thought I was looking forward to it, but when I called to see if I needed to head in and get an update, I had the mixed feelings again! As my hubby said - I will probably go in & decide I'm over it. I told him - get ready I might come home on Sunday and say 'let's go' in reference to trying for another!!!!!! He liked the sound of that!
Should stop boring you all, hope you have a fantastic weekend & I will pop back in soon - promise xxx
hello ladies... just a really quick from me... no time to rest!
sharvs- :hugs: i imagaine that it would be hard for you. I know that if that was my dh i would be more than upset. shame he wont be home to spend xmas and your little ones 1st bday together..... we are always here if u want to talk!
chumps good luck at work!
well pp has started saying our dogs name... LEO
she stands at the sliding door and yells LEO LEO LEO DOG DOG \
its so adorable and has started saying hello and Uh Oh lol when she drops something! she is growing up too fast! :crying:
On the upside my friend had her bubba by emergency c section today i cant wait to go see her tomorrow! :smiliedance:
hello ladies,
im sorry to put a dampner on the thread but i dont know who else to talk too..
dh and I have decided to seperate for a while... we talked about it last night and it was actually a lot calmer and more civilized than last time.
i think im going to be staying with my parents until we sort more things out. :crying: I am sad but i think its probably the best thing at the moment. My dh is devestated and i know he is going to miss the princess so much but its something I need to do. I havent felyt 100% for a long time in the relationship and its not fair to any of us if i just keep ploting along so not to upset anyone. I need time to work out what it is that i want. I have never done that before and i think its time. I cant continue to be happy when im not. I am actually feeling quite calm about the whole thing, well im trying but my body must be feeling a little stressed because i spent the whole of thursday night, friday and this morning on the loo... :eek: :o Natural i guess.
I will keep u all updated on how things are going
thanks girls for listening to me ramble but it feels good to get it all out
:kiss:
mytwolilprinces
04-11-2006, 11:07
Brooke - big big BIG :hugs: to you. I am sure you will sort things out either way. We are all here for you if you need us.
Brooke - :hugs: I'm sorry to hear about your predicament. I can't imagine it's an easy time for you, but like you said, it's important to take time for yourself and sort out where you're at. Hope everything falls into place for you within time. As Jackie said, we are here for you. It is so easy to just blurp your feelings out to the pc :o and it can make you feel so much better.
BTW - PP must be so cute calling out your puppys name :yes: She is a clever little chicken. You are very lucky...... (as we all are to have such wonderful little bubs) :p .
Sorry I have also been MIA a lot lately - Caydence started sleeping through a week or so ago and I have been using the extra time to really catch up on some sleep. Since she's started sleeping through though she's getting up anywhere from 5am onwards:eek: we could just give her a bottle and put her back to bed but we've decided that we don't want to run the risk of her getting used to this. so she just goes down for her first nap at 7 or 8am.
She has been invited to a fairy party in a few weeks - it will be so cute - but where on earth am i going to find a fairy outfit in size 00!?! somehow i don't think she'll be turning up in fairy attire!
I am quite proud of myself, i got straight onto the housework this morning and had the floors vaccummed and bathroom cleaned by about 8am! but then wanted some breakfast and haven't done anything since:o
Caydence is walking really well now and 1/2 the time when we go out i don't even bother taking the pram! DH takes her for a walk every morning around the backyard - it's so cute - they walk hand in hand up to the garage then down around the clothesline and back up onto the deck! They both seem to really love the time together.
i have been busily organising Cayde's birthday party and now have all the plans organised - I just have to remember to get the paper for the invites now and we'll be sorted! I just really hope it doesn't decide to rain!!!
Oh someone asked about stats - here's ours(rough!)
Weight - 8kgs
Heights - 68cms
I really would have no idea about head circ!!!
Caydence has been really good while I've been on here - she's been quite happily pushing a box around the room like a car - she's even got the steering downpat! clever girl!
anyway, must dash - i'm sure she'll be needing a sleep soon!
Hey Jess -
Just a thought for the fairy party outfit. The place I got the tux for Ryan had some other things there. Not sure if they might have fairy bits & pieces in minute sizes. The shop is called Tiki at Aspley Pick & Pay Hypermarket. Worth giving a try!!!!!
:thumbsup: Thanks Chumps - will try to get over there this weekend - not braving the rain though(it's fantastic rain isn't it!!!)
thanks for the support girls! :hugs:
jess- we took pp to a fair party not that long ago... there are a few places where you can pick up small fair costumes... other wise maybe try on ebay or something like that! oh i love dress up parties! :D
Thanks for the tip Brooke - I checked out ebay and there is 2 on there(both the same 1 white and 1 pink) but they are more like tutu's than fairy dress'. Will check out the place Tracey suggested tomorrow and if i can't find anything then i'm going to *gulp* make it. I know i am going to regret saying that - 15000 pin pricks later, staying up all night the night before the party, i'll be cursing my cousin for deciding this theme but oh well - for now, i'll stick with that plan!:laughing:
I had quite a productive afternoon - lots of bubhubbing, a little bit of cooking, a spot of cleaning, and some playtime too! Caydence slept for about 3 hrs this afternoon(hence why i got so much done!). I have just started getting Caydence to help pack her toys away after each playtime - I'm getting sick of them laying all around the house! i had to pile them up on her little chair and carry that back from the lounge to the playroom this afternoon because there were so many of them:o oh well! it's all part of the fun!
going to cruise the hub a bit more before i get some sleep:wave:
Just wanted to give you a big:hugs: Brooke. I really hope you are doing ok. Considering you said you feel quite carm about it, its a pretty good indication you are doing the right thing. Sometimes a little break is all that is needed to make you appreciate things more. DF & I went through a really bad stage a couple of years ago. I moved out, it was horrible. Once we lived without each other & had a break, we worked out just how much we meant to each other. It really did our relationship good, it was the best thing that could have happened to us. I hope you and your DH are just as lucky.
Hey Sharvs :wave:
Well Tracey - I went to Tiki today but they were closed :thumbsdown: oh well - will just have to go back later in the week - but they did have a cute fairy dress in the window - might fit Caydence - will have to check it out when i go back!
sharon thanks for the hugs i needed them today! :hugs:
it all seems to be hitting home a bit more today thats all.... one day at a time!
Funkychicken
05-11-2006, 19:38
Brooke, I'm sorry to hear things haven't been too good for you. i really hope, like the other girls have said, that things work out the way you hope they do. Relationships are tough!
I have read through all the posts and I'm so happy to see the Dec mum's are back in full force! great to hear news from everyone.
We are finally seeing some light at the end after Hamish's illness. it has been such a long stretch of time and I feel like I was a hermit all last week. He is now eating food again and is eating all the good things he had been refusing for a while :yelclap: . He is so close to crawling too-he does this shuffling circles thing but then goes forward to a crawling position before sitting back on his butt again. Nearly time to start shutting bedroom doors!
I am really sore all over tonight-I did the funrun up Arthur's Seat today and I am so out of training. But I did find it a wee bit easier than last year when I was 7 1/2 months pregnant! This time Hamish got a ride in the pram instead of my tummy.:D
Hope you are all well-have a good week.
Hey Jess -
Just a thought for the fairy party outfit. The place I got the tux for Ryan had some other things there. Not sure if they might have fairy bits & pieces in minute sizes. The shop is called Tiki at Aspley Pick & Pay Hypermarket. Worth giving a try!!!!!
oh wow, they still have that shop!!???
i went there years ago and bought the girls flower girl dresses and will's page boy suit.
they were absolutely the most gorgeous things id ever seen and they were soo cheap!
i had always wondered if that place was still there.
Brooke: i just finished reading through the posts i had missed in the last few days, and when i read your posts it actually made me get shivers.
i feel so terrible that your going through this. gees i dont mean to make it worse.. but i just thought you guys sounded like the perfect lil family, i know that sometimes we all go through rough patches though so dont feel bad.
Give yourselves time to work it out, im sure things will work out for the best.
It makes it so hard when u got kids hey.
I remember when i seperated from my ex, the kids were only little and was extremely hard.
If you ever need to talk u can PM me or you know all of us girls are here to talk
big big hugs to you brooke
and by the way PP is getting so clever! :eek: :yelclap:
Brooke big big :hugs: I'm always here if you need someone to chat to.
Go Sal! A funrun! wow that's so energetic, especially after the rough nights you've had with Hamish - I'm glad things are looking up on the illness front, being sick is no fun:no:
Caydence did the cutest thing today and I just have to share! This morning we were out by the pool and she was just itching to put her feet in, so we rolled up her jeans and put her feet in, then she wanted to stand, so we let her stand. she kept trying so hard to get in the water that in the end we just stripped her off and let her get in while we held her hands from the edge! she had such a ball and splashed everywhere. in the end we were getting a bit tired of leaning in to hold her that we got her out, but she was quite happily playing in there for 15-20 mins. It was so cute to see her quite happily splashing around naky in the pool!
well must go get some sleep!:wave:
haha caydence is a cutie :D
indy doesnt like pools but loves the bath :cool:
i started (unsuccessfully) a thread about indy walking. LOL i really just excited but cant expect anyone else to be :laughing:
i love every little thing they do.. and its always exciting isnt it.
Reidymac
05-11-2006, 22:34
Hi Folks
I just wanted to send out big ((((hugs)))) to you all. I've been feeling quite heartbroken since reading the posts from Sharvs and Brooke.
Sharon I can't tell you how sorry I am that Christmas and Kaydens birthday will be spent without your DF and I can only imagine how sad and frustrated you must feel about his decision to travel to Rome. I don't get boys at all. Maybe he thinks coming all the way home will make it too hard to leave you again to finish his deployment. Please know that you have friends here in the Dec thread who are thinking of you and sending big :hugs: your way.
That goes for you too Brooke. You have friends in here who care about you so much and wish for you the peace and happiness that your looking for. I am so sorry that you and you partner have come to this cross roads but I hope the experience helps you to move into a better, happier stage of life whether that be as a couple or just as friends. As you say, one day at a time and when your feeling down and angry just remember what an amazing thing you have done together bringing the beautiful PP into the world.:hugs:
I so look forward to the weekends, in the vein hope that with DH home things will be calmer, the load shared, and the family enjoying each others company. But here I am again, Sunday night I am exhausted and I have a million things to do before Monday morning rolls in. Where did the weekend go!!!!!! Please DH don't leave me alone with the 3yo again. It's 2 against 1. The little one I can handle but I think the 3yo has it in for me and she is outsmarting me already. I may have to take a leaf out of Sal's book and learn to run. DD might be able to outsmart me but she might not be able to catch me ;)
Funkychicken
06-11-2006, 08:59
Reidy, I just want to say that you are one of the kindest, big-hearted people i have ever come across. Your posts are not only funny at times, they are caring and loving and you deserve a big bunch of :hugs: . Thank-you for always taking the time to respond so nicely.
PS-yes, running is an escapism for me-I can hand them over to DH and away I go! Although, there isn't much of it going on yet-I tend to walk a lot until I wean my babies and I don't know if I am ready to face that with Hamish for some time yet!
Go Caydence-it is so lovely to see the joy on a bubba's face and it usually comes from Mum and Dad just taking five minutes to let them explore.
Indy walking too. Wow these Dec bubs have grown fast.
mytwolilprinces
06-11-2006, 15:38
It's great to see so many posts again :smiliedance:
Brooke - I hope you are ok, I find myself thinking about you throughout the day as it could very easily be me in that situation and I know how hard that would be.
Reidy - Sal is right, you deserve extra :hugs: just for being so nice. Oh, and I so know what you're saying about 3 years olds - DS1 is on a mission to punish me for everything I've ever done wrong in life. He is really making life difficult atm but I am hoping that things will get better with him as he gets older :fingerscrossed:
Sal - talking of running. I just joined the gym on the weekend and went for my first run on the treadmill. It's been a LONG LONG LOOOONG time since I've done any physical activity but it felt good. I'm even considering going back again tonight ( just to get away from the kids! ha ha)
Hope you are all well.
emilysmumma
06-11-2006, 16:36
Hi all from Perth
I've sneaked off to the library but it wasn't as sucessful as I hoped as Emily is with me.
I just want to say that I caught up quickly on the posts yesterday at my brother's house but didn't get the chance to reply and have been fretting to get to a computer since.
Big big hugs to you Brooke and Sharon. :hugs:
Firstly Brooke I am so so sorry about you and your DH. It's so tough relationships and I really hope things work out either way for you both and PP.
Sharon I don't understand why men do what they do sometimes, I really feel for you being so far away from everyone.
I really can't say much more as buggles is on my lap and this is a one handed effort, but just had to let you know that my heart is with you both.
oh wow, they still have that shop!!???
Surely do! In fact someone from this site recommended it to me a while back. I couldn't believe when I went in there, they had all the size 00, 0 etc hanging up like in a real suit shop :o . It was just so cute!
Hi ho Sarah :wave: Hope Perth is treating you good. I can imagine you are having serious withdrawals not being able to get onto the hub, but there will be plenty of time to catch up again once you get back from your extended holidaying :D .
I survived the day at work. Although, its taken me a day to recover - havn't been this tired in a long time :o. Thank goodness it's only a day a week. And lucky for me, I don't actually have another day until 3 weeks from now!(Due to us going away) Aahhhh, so hard to return to the workforce.....
Hope you are all going well.
Reidymac
07-11-2006, 00:18
:o Awwwwwwww shucks you gals are far too kind to me.............:o
and don't think I didn't notice that you compleeeeeeetely avoided my question about our tropical island getaway miss funky!!!:shame: But I forgive you (cause you went and made my day !! and now I feel all warm and gooshy inside):D
And for those of you Qld gals in love with the tulle and satin delights of TiKi .............I would like to announce that there is an even bigger Tiki store at Tagum Village (just down the road from Aspley)
thanks for the support again girls it really means a lot! :hugs: :hugs:
im not going to post much tonight... my mind is still a bit all over the place!
how did everyone go at the melb cup??? hope you backed a winner...
mine came last as always! :laughing:
emilysmumma- im glad to hear u are having fun!
chumps- i know what you mean... the 3 days that i work... i could just fall asleep in my seat some times... haha
Funkychicken
07-11-2006, 19:58
Brooke, Ihave been thinking about you today and wondering if you are OK. You must be feeling so confused right now but I guess it's something you'll have to work through. Just letting you know again that we are here if you need us but don't feel like you HAVE to be here. If you need to take time out, go for it. Don't take my post about keeping the thread alive too seriously-take some time for you if you ned it. But remember if we don't hear from you for a week we will hunt you down! :laughing: No, only joking-hope you are OK.
mytwolilprinces
08-11-2006, 13:14
In answer to your question Brooke - yes I did back THE WINNER. However, DH got my bet wrong, I asked for $5 each way but he only put $2.50 each way on for me, still won $60 though so I am pretty pleased with that :smiliedance:
Had a bit of a pregnancy scare this month, I was 3 days late but lucky I got them today and all is well :thumbsup: I am just not in the position to cope with another baby atm.
Brooke, my thoughts are with you also, I hope that you are where you want to be and coping ok :hugs:
Had a bit of a pregnancy scare this month, I was 3 days late but lucky I got them today and all is well :thumbsup: I am just not in the position to cope with another baby atm
:eek: I can feel your worry from here!
YAY $60 on Melb cup - that's alright!
we had a sweep at work where the horse that came last still doubled their money - so of course mine didn't come in place or last:laughing: oh well - I'm just not the money winning type!
Brooke - I've been worried about you all day - :hugs: hope you are ok and things are starting to become a bit clearer for you.
Reidy - I'm 100% positive you can outrun your 3yo! although distract her before you run so that a) you get a headstart and most importantly B) she doesn't grab a hold of your leg...
Hi Sarah - hope Perth is treating you well.
Tracey - I'm so glad that you survived work - it does take a lot out of you, but after a few weeks back you'll develop a nice little routine and things will feel alot better and run a lot smoother.
Dannii - next time you are down the girls will be chasing each other around! sure beats them trying to sit on each other like last time hehehe!
I had better dash - lunch is waiting to be made...
hey ladies... thanks for the hugs...
sal... i love coming in here and reading what you all have to say... i tell you what it keeps me sane!
your all so sweet and your posts all make me laugh i wouldnt be with out you all!
emilysmumma
09-11-2006, 15:17
Heidy Ho Neighbours :wave:
Just another quick one as I really should be doing internet banking instead for work.
Emily's fourth tooth (top left) came through on Monday. So we can't call her a toothless tiger anymore.
She seems to have grown in length quite noticeably and finally she is getting some hair and it looks like it will be wavy.
But she has taken to making this annoying sound that's between a squeal, whinge and a hoarse protest. Not very likeable but I am hoping against hope it's just another development phase and it too shall pass as with all her other noises she use to make. I could live with the yodel she had even if it means she grows up to be a country singer but this damn sound gives me the you knowwhat.
Hugs all round to everyone and their beautiful bubs.
emilysmumma
10-11-2006, 17:06
I've had a chance now to read everyone's post properly rather than just skim over them and I can say Thank Goodness we are back on a roll.
I remember a month or so back I mentioned it was looking light on the posts, and now I'm not around you all come out to play :rolleyes:
It's funny how Tracey has said it's tough going back to work and how tired she is and Jess and Brooke said similiar things when they started. I guess it's not like a guy who gets to just go to work and come home and that's it, a mum has to do that AND organise baby, home, hubby etc etc to make sure it all runs smoothly. So no wonder you get exhausted.
Brooke- still heaps of love and kisses to you, your DD and PP and I hope everything works out for the best.
And it is so true what Reidy has said and as usual she is full of infinite wisdom.
Only another week to go here in Perth. We have been spending most of the time at the inlaws as they are getting such joy with Emily. She is playing it to the hilt and has learnt the actions to this dutch nursery rhyme that her Oma sings where she pats her head then holds her head and rocks it side to side. It is SO CUTE!!!! and they just eat it up.
Want to say heaps more but stinky bum here is trying to climb all over me with a stinky bum. Needless to say it's fairly ripe :laughing:
So can't hold my breath much longer, everyone take care and have a great weekend.
Hiya all.......
Just a quickie, hope everyone's week is going well (oops - went well) Just realised it's Friday :eek: .
Little update - Ryan cut tooth #5 AND he just started giving kisses :o . It makes me melt :p . He is kissing everything.......the lounge, the walls, the fridge, his teddybears, and best of all - ME :laughing: .
Only a week now till the DH's sisters wedding & Ryan gets to put on his tux! He has had a bit of a growth spurt this past week - nice timing I think! Means there will be less mucking around with the alterations!
It's almost countdown time till the #1 birthdays. What an amazing year we have all had.
Hope you all have a great weekend.
Funkychicken
10-11-2006, 20:38
Hi all Dec mummies. I have to share with you;
HAMISH IS CRAWLING!!:smiliedance:
Our little man is finally on the move and although I am thinking Uh-oh, time to start being pedantic about little things on the floor etc.. he is just so cute! He is so proud of himself and the nicest part was that he did it for the first time on the floor in front of my Grandpa. Grandpa is home but Nana was taken to the hospital last night-it seems she has gall stones-so he is very sad as they just adore each other and hate being seperated. Anyway, Hamish brightened his day andI'm sure he will be scooting along very soon!
Hope everyone has a great weekend. I have spent the last couple of days at a forum called Birth Week and it has been amazing. Last night we sat for 3 1/2 hours (I hadto go to get home to Hamish) and shared our birth experiences with each other. It was so powerful. I was told this morning that the rest of the women stayed until 2 am!!! :eek: I am so clucky again but know just how silly that would be.
i just come on here quickly before bed!
PP is cutting another tooth too... and this one isnt as easy as the last two! :crying:
chumps- how adorable... i just love baby kisses! nothing beats it!
and I really want to say!
GO HAMISH... WELL DONE MATEY ON THE CRAWLING! :smiliedance: :yelclap:
melbabie
10-11-2006, 21:03
hi there every one
well zoey cut three top teeth last night (thank god is was driving me cazy) that make her having 5 teeth now. i was at the shops today and i saw a sign saying only 45 days till :xmas: gee the year has gone fast that makes it only 51 days till my baby turns 1. i cant believe it it was like only yesterday that i had her. well i will chat later.
emilysmumma
11-11-2006, 12:23
Had a bit of a pregnancy scare this month, I was 3 days late but lucky I got them today and all is well :thumbsup: I am just not in the position to cope with another baby atm.
I had to giggle to myself Jackie when I read that as it means that you have the time and energy to have sex! :D
Don't let my DH know about goings on like that or I'll be in big trouble. I can just imagine the theme music from Benny Hill playing in the background as he chases me around our house.
But I've had a couple of those scares these past months but I think it's just my body trying to get in sync again. It's a damn shame because then I would have a rather good excuse to why I have put on weight this last month or so. I haven't weighed myself but I'm guessing it's about 5kg I've put on. Combined that with the 2kg I still had to go, I'm mortified.
My butt must think I sit on too many hard surfaces as it has acquired a substanial about of padding.
And just before my tropical holiday too :(
Hooray for Hamish!!!!!!!
It's like he has a special connection with his grandfather, do you think so Sal? Just when your grandfather needed a lift he brings out the crawl.
We get kisses too Tracey, but it's more an open mouth slobber that soaks the face.
Good luck on the teething front everyone. We don't like teeth coming through as cranky pants comes out to play. It must hurt so much for them.
Funkychicken
11-11-2006, 13:45
I had to giggle to myself Jackie when I read that as it means that you have the time and energy to have sex!
Don't let my DH know about goings on like that or I'll be in big trouble. I can just imagine the theme music from Benny Hill playing in the background as he chases me around our house.
:laughing: Thanks for giving me such a laugh, Sarah. I have these images in my head now so it's a good thing I don't have a clear picture of what you and your DH look like!
I agree, I think Hamish and my grandpa do have a connection but I think the most important thing is that Grandpa believes there is something special about Hamish. He has been calling him his little angel who 'woke him up'. That is what makes it so special, that Grandpa (pretty much an athiest) believes this 100 %.
Jackie, I remember one of those scares about 2 years ago. it made me realise that I didn't want any more babies-:D . Obviously we didn't learn from that experience. I couldn't imagine not having Hamish though, he is my world. He completes us as a family and makes us feel whole.
Hope everyone is having an enjoyable W/E. :wave:
Sal - you speak such beautiful words when you speak of your entire family - you really brighten my day!
Go Hamish!:yelclap: Clever boy!!!
:hugs: to all out there currently teething - I feel your pain! we are also going through it - #5 and #6 are just about to cut - it's been the first time in a long time that i've had to pack bonjella in the bag when going out - it's probably the first time in months i've even used it!
We had a lovely inpromtu(sp??) play date at a friends place today - dh was going past there and i got him to drop me off on the way - it was so cute my friends little boy(1mth younger) climbed over me whilst Caydence was sitting on my right knee and he lent forward, craned around to get to her cheek and gave her a kiss then sat back down! it was so cute! :kiss: we got some great photo's of the 2 of them playing together!
Tomorrow we have a breakfast date too - we're off to a kids cafe with my friends 13mth old and another friends 4yr old triplets! It should be a fun morning.
I can't believe christmas is getting so close:tree: I can't wait to put the lights up and go out looking at lights! that's my favorite part of christmas!
OMG - I can't believe i forgot earlier in my post! My cousin had a baby girl yesterday!!!! I don't have a name yet but she's 8lb 3oz and they are both doing well!
Also I got the fairy dress sorted - finally!!! I went to Tiki and they had a beautiful dress but for a party that's only lasting 1.5hrs I thought the $50 pricetag was a little too steep for me. I ended up buying her one that's a little on the big side for $10 and am just going to do the alterations myself to make it more Caydence sized! I just have to get her a fairy wand and she's set - Can't wait to dress her up on the day - I'll get lots of photo's and make sure I take one that is avatar perfect!
I'm sure my post is long enough! I feel like I've given you all an essay to read - sorry! Hope you all enjoy the remainder of your weekend - nighty night
i wish i could go to Tiki, i love that shop. maybe next time im in brisbane i will!!
congrats on your cousins baby jess! :smiliedance:
indy is now getting around so much and is funny if you try and chase her she gets the wobbles up trying to get a run happening!
she just learnt to get up and walk from sitting position.(she used to have to crawl to somewhere to get up)
anyways i am about to take emily over to her friends house for a play . so see u girls later
p.s what are you getting bubs for christmas.. i really need to hear all the ideas??
Reidymac
13-11-2006, 00:41
Hooray for Hamish. Three cheers for the bonnie wee boy :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: The forum you were at sounds brilliant Sal. Were you involved as part of your interest in becoming a doula?
Best wishes to all the teething babies and their mummies. Hope you are all coping OK. Liam has had his set of 8 choppers for quite a while now but we still have long days of much drooling, rosy cheeks, unpleasant disposition and frequent biting of the hand (breast) that feeds him and the shoulder attached to it. I wonder if it's teeth #'s 9 & 10 or if he's just still settling with the ones he's got. If it is more teeth he might just look like Donny Osmond for his first birthday.
Liam has really discovered his voice now. DH and I have been giggling all weekend because he has been shouting and yodelling at us demanding attention. Today DH was mowing the front yard when Liam caught sight of him, raced to the window, popped up to standing and hammered on the glass yelling daddy hello, hello, daddy in a surprisingly deep and loud voice. I couldn't get him to stop until DH was finished and out of sight.
Do you think you will be back in Brisbane anytime soon Danni? I'd love to catch up again. Maybe for a bit Tiki shopping or any activity that takes your fancy:D .
well im usually down that way every school holidays but its usually a down and straight back trip:thumbsdown:
i really will make it down there for a better visit, would love to catch up again. :kiss:
hello ladies...
hmmm teeth.. dont speak to me about teeth! lol
Paige has screamed non stop of 4 days now... so i am home from work today! I tell you what Womens and Childrens teething Gel and Neurophen our my new best friends! they seem to be the only thing that calms her down, she has no voice left from her screaming i hope they cut thru soon otherwise i think im going to need to be put in a straight jacket! :laughing:
Tiki sounds cute, I bought Paiges Bday dress last week it so adorable.. its pink satin with ittle bows on the staps and pink tulle! so adorable!
thats sounds so cute brooke. i must hurry up and buy indy's dress!
sorry to hear about all the teething probs hopefully it will be all over soon :fingerscrossed:
indy has only 3 teeth at the moment, possibly a 4th on its way.
thanks dannii- i cant wait to put her in it! should be cute!
has anyone else bought their kiddies an outfit for xmas day? i have been looking but cant seem to find much still!
brodiebunch
13-11-2006, 11:23
My ollie cut no. 3 &4 teeth yesterday.The top two.He has been a real handfull for the last week:devil6: he has had the usual teething problems and been pulling all food out of his mouth.He seems a bit better now.We have been using a natural teething remedy for the last 3 days and it seems to work.I had not thought about buying a special birthday outfit but now I think I will have to head to the shops:smiliedance: any excuse to shop is a good one.
brodiebunch
13-11-2006, 11:25
Yeah I got Ollie a santas little helper t-shirt and santa hat:xmas: .Found it at the warehouse
Hello everyone jsut trying to find other mums and dads who had a bub in Dec2005, no idea what i'm doing am i in the right spot?:confused:
i have looked for christmas outfits but havent got one yet. last year got her christmas stuff, and her little santas hat that said "baby's 1st chistmas!"
so cute
I've got a tshirt for Kayden that says "My new best friend" and it has a picture of Santa on it. I also got him a christmas bib - All from Myer, they had a few different things, very cute
Just looking to find other mums who had a bub in December 2005 not quite sure if i've got it right:confused:
Funkychicken
13-11-2006, 18:04
Welcome to Bub Hub and welcome to the Dec 05 mummies thread, Skyelet! Yo uare more than welocme to join us in here. We do chat quite a bit :rolleyes: , so hang around!
What date was your bub born?
Welcome Skyelet!:wave:
:hugs: to you Brooke - you are certainly a braver woman than I am - if Caydence screamed for 4 days straight I would have been put in a straight jacket 3 days ago!:laughing: I don't handle constant screaming too well these days!
Oh can't wait to buy a christmas day outfit - thanks for the tip Sharvs, I'll check out Myer. I saw a gorgeous dress for Caydence's birthday party but when i went back to buy it on the weekend I couldn't find it, oh well, just go looing again - there are so many cute dress's out there atm.
ok, just a quick warning, i'm about to vent!!! I'm so angry with daycare! Caydence got bitten today, on her back! how on earth a child got down and bit her on her back i have no idea. They said Caydence wasn't doing anything wrong, she was just sitting on the mat playing by herself - why a teacher didn't see this was happening and stop it i don't know!?! the mark is so red, and that's even after they'd applied ice. it apparently happened at 4pm, and at 6:30 dh took a photo of it because it was still so bad. he's going to show the director tomorrow. Not only that but to make matters worse she's not getting enough sleep there, she's only slept for 30mins today! she was so tired that she could barely eat her dinner - i will accept part blame for this, i could have put her down for a nap when we got home but i was too upset about the bite that i just wanted to chill and have some cuddles. anyway - why should my 2-3 hrs of the day with my dd be spent putting her down for a nap?!? i'm so furious with the whole thing so much so that i wish i had the option to stay at home again! but now with the business unfortunately that is a luxury that I can no longer afford:crying:
ok - vent over!
I'd be so lost without you lovely ladies - just sending out a huge THANK-YOU just for being here to listen and lend advice when needed - thank-you for being you - each and every one of you!
Funkychicken
13-11-2006, 20:36
Big :hugs: to Caydence. Poor mite-is the skin broken at all? If it is, make sure you wash it well with antiseptic as bites can harbour some real nasties!
:hugs: for you too, brooke. We have had some not nice days with what I think is teething but not anything like PP has had. My nephew had all his teeth by 10 months! :eek: He had the unhappiest babyhood as he spent it all crying and hurting. No joke, my SIL went through twelve bibs minimum on him every day! You could actually squeeze liquid out of them he drooled so badly.
Lovely to read your posts, Reidy. It is always nice to log on and see that you have made one of your 'wee hours' posts. I attened the birth forum purely as a visitor/participant. It was facilitated by some lovely women who I know and I thought it would be a nice place to visit. I loved being there so much I went back on four of the five days! On one evening we all shared birth stories and although I left by 10.30pm (baby to feed at home!) the other women were there until 2am! It was so raw and emotional in the room-lots of stories and parts of stories previously not spoken about out loud, so it was very, very healing for some.
Hmmmm..christmas outfits. I can openly admit that I haven't given it even a passing thought. I'm afraid third babies don't get the royalty treatment. Nothing like the 'My first Christmas' jumpsuit and matching hat I had for Tristan-who BTW, slept through the whole of his first christmas. I can gaurantee that I will grab something to wear from my wardrobe on my way to xmas lunch this year! If that's how much thought I put in my own outfit, the children don't stand a chance. :D
My Daughter Skye was born on the 20th of December '05 at Hornsby Hospital. She weighed 3600grams and was 51.5cm long. Since then she has grown into a little fatty! I can't wait till her 1st Birthday but i can't believe it's nearly here! i also can't wait till christmas!
As far as outfits go i agree that Myer has a great range of chirstmas themed outfits, but i also like their new brand Sprout it's their own brand and the clothes are gorgeous not to mention very resonably priced. Thanks again all i look forward to more.:yes:
Hello everyone jsut trying to find other mums and dads who had a bub in Dec2005, no idea what i'm doing am i in the right spot?:confused:
Definitely! Welcome! :wizard:
Reidymac
13-11-2006, 23:11
Welcome Skyelet :wave: can't wait to hear more about you and your lovely little person.
Lots more to say re: plan for Caydence exacting revenge on the little biter at CC and poor teething babies (not using other children as chew toys) but I fear I have said entirely too much on BH already this evening :o :ecomcity: :o . I think I took the "oath to post" a little to seriously and have wandered out in the wider world of BH with my silly rambling ways.
Must........
Be........
Quiet..........
Now.............
Sssshhhhhhhhhhhhh...foolish girl....shhhhhhhhhhh
brodiebunch
14-11-2006, 08:38
Hi skylet:wave: I to have only recently made my way here.I also find the prospect of bubs first bday exciting but also a little sad.
Reidymac I can so relate to running ammuc on BH with my ramblings.I call this my little addiction.Oh well if you have to be addicted to something then BH is a good one.It is just so hard to pull myself away.
Poor caydence!Is she alright today?My god daughter Cienna had a that happen to her at daycare too,She ended up with really bad bruising and needed antibiotics as it got infected,it messed with her sleep as well as she was in pain.I was so cross and she is not even my baby:mad:
Master Oliver is slepping at the moment so I think I will indulge in a long hot shower and do some house work while I can.Oh... I just had to share we have 2 new words,Ello(hello) and he says it when people come to our door, with a wave.The other one is Ovver(oliver) said when we call his name and he points to himself.Sooo cute it melts my heart even when he is doing somthing cheeky:D
Funkychicken
14-11-2006, 10:37
Welcome Skyelet can't wait to hear more about you and your lovely little person.
Lots more to say re: plan for Caydence exacting revenge on the little biter at CC and poor teething babies (not using other children as chew toys) but I fear I have said entirely too much on BH already this evening . I think I took the "oath to post" a little to seriously and have wandered out in the wider world of BH with my silly rambling ways.
Must........
Be........
Quiet..........
Now.............
Sssshhhhhhhhhhhhh...foolish girl....shhhhhhhhhhh
And it is sooooo nice to see/read you out and about in the other areas of the forum, Reidy! Your sense of wit and intelligence is much required out there. :D
oh jess , poor caydence :eek:
i hope she is alright.
i feel so sorry about what you said not being able to stay home with dd :crying:
i have been talking to DF about this recently, as we could do with some extra cash at the moment, and i suggested going back to work. the thought frightens me to leave Indy.
While im here welcome to Skyelet :wave:
Look forward to chatting to you some more and hearing all about skye!
also, Brooke.. just wanted to see how your doing. ?hope everything is ok
brodiebunch
14-11-2006, 11:34
I to am frightened by the thought that I will have to go back to work soon and find daycare for oliver,But i am thankfull that I have been able to have so long at home.I wish that there was a way around it,My friend keeps telling me it would be good for both me and DS as I would get time out and he would get some new stimulation.But I dont know!Maybe after christmas:tree: I'll give it a bit more thought.
hello ladies...
:hugs: to poor little caydence! PP got bitten at childcare on the arm the other week too.. its so horriable when it happens!
well we took pp to the doctors last night and she has an ear infection in both ears! my poor little princess... she has taken some amoxil and is so much better today thank god! she woke up at 9am and has been back asleep since 11! but now im not well i have been :barf: all day.. so my mummy is going to finish work early to come watch us!
thats all from me i feel like im gonna pass out so muct go!
emilysmumma
14-11-2006, 17:27
Oh Brooke, you poor thing. Sometimes it feels like it's not raining it's pouring. At least your mum is there for you and PP.
Welcome Skyelet. :wave: I've got a chubba bubba too, but it's so cute with all their rolls.
Poor Caydence. I can't believe they sat there and watched her get bitten. Lets hope it doesn't get infected.
So Reidy, are you letting loose on the hub?
I only get to quickly check now and then when I can over here in Perth and only check our thread. It would be good to see you around elsewhere though when I get the chance.
Not much to report. Looking forward to getting home though, but am a bit worried about the flight back. Emily is getting much more strong willed, mobile and vocal. So I'm already thinking she is going to be harder to contain flying as she is such a wiggle worm now.
Better go, the vocal one is being vocal in the local library whre I'm at. Don't want to be thrown out for unruly behaviour.
Brooke I hope u r felling better soon one thing worse than your kids being sick is being sick at the same time!
Today my dh had a job in the city so i thought i'd take Skye in to the DJ's christmas cave; we also went into Myer and they had a cute little train that big litte kids could ride on and of course both DJ's and Myer were giving out balloons (Skye loooves balloons). but she didn't think too much of santa or the talking tree in DJ's. but it was a nice day out. I went into the roxy store they have the cutest stuff for little girls but it costs a fortune! oh well she will just have to wait till i win the lottery.
I know what everyone means about going back 2 work, i thought i'd go back when Skye was one but i didn't realise she would still be so 'little' if u know what i mean!
I used to look after a few bubs at home b4 i had Skye so i'm thinking i'll do that again that way i'm still at home with her, earning som money and she gets a playmate!
I'll shut up now BYE
Hi Guys
I am back from my holidays.
So much has changed on here and there is so much to catch up on!!!
Glad to see some newbies :wave:
Look forward to chatting!
Funkychicken
15-11-2006, 09:17
Welcome back Seejay! :wave:
Hope you had a wonderful holiday.
seejay welcome back.. i was just thinking about u today.. i was going to post where are you!
i am feeling better today just very weak.. pp has gone to child care for most of the day so it gives me a break and some time to rest!
oh no, i have no idea where ive been posting. gees ive missed alot in this thread.
maybe we should close one down so dont confuse the *simple* people like myself :laughing:
mytwolilprinces
15-11-2006, 13:08
HAMISH IS CRAWLING!!:smiliedance:
I am so clucky again but know just how silly that would be.
Congrats to Hamish - sorry I know it was a while back now so I bet he's really on the move now.
As for being clucky - somebody - ANYBODY - please talk me out of it. Just the last few days ALL I can think about is pregnancy. I was even looking at the maternity clothes in Pumpkin Patch just to see what they have :eek: I don't know why this sudden obsession has come upon me. I have my hands full with my two little monsters and really think another pregnancy (and resulting baby) would tip me over the edge completley!
Emilysmumma - I don't have the time or energy for sex either, trust me it was a once off :laughing:
I still haven't had a chance to get through all the posts and now I've just noticed there is another thread - OH OH, which one do I post in? :confused:
brodiebunch
15-11-2006, 14:36
I am really clucky too!Thankfully the lack of libido is acting as wonderfull contraception at the moment..LOL...At mothers group today my friend passed me her new baby and I melted,sooo very clucky.Dr says I am not allowed to try until oliver is 2 cause of C/S complacations and PTSS with him so I guess I'll be waiting awhile.
Oliver is 11mths old today:yelclap: where did the time go?I am going to take a picture of him when he wakes up to put on under my name so every one can see my cheeky monkey.Are any of you having b'day parties and what are you doing as I need some ideas?:party:
As for being clucky - somebody - ANYBODY - please talk me out of it. Just the last few days ALL I can think about is pregnancy. I was even looking at the maternity clothes in Pumpkin Patch just to see what they have :eek: I don't know why this sudden obsession has come upon me. I have my hands full with my two little monsters and really think another pregnancy (and resulting baby) would tip me over the edge completley!
dont worry.. i have been clucky too!:eek: I know me of all people! :o I have even been thinking of names... wth!
trust me.. i dont have the time, energy or the money for another baby...and i am sure pp will be an only child!
mytwolilprinces
15-11-2006, 15:28
I think the 12 month mark is the "danger time" for being clucky. I fell pregnant with Blake when Josh was 12 months - so hopefully if I can just get through the next couple of months without falling pregnant I'll come to my senses :fingerscrossed:
Broadiebunch - as for party ideas ... we are having a pretty large party for Blake 58 people invited (but only about 16 are babies or toddlers) - we have hired a jumping castle, helium balloons and some childrens tables and chairs for the day. We have a "baby dinosaur" theme - everything fits in with the colours of the invites - purple, lime green and silver!! I'm so excited about it I'm sure Blake won't have a clue what's going on though :D
haha dont get me started on parties....
I have been know to go a bit OTT! But i just loooooove parties! :party:
Mummaof2
15-11-2006, 15:38
Hello fellow December 05 mums :wave:
Its been a while since i have been to one of our december threads. How is every and their little bubs (or should i say growing bubs)?
brodiebunch
15-11-2006, 18:31
Yay:smiliedance: I final put a photo of Oliver Simon on here.Just decided we are going to go to a kids free aqua park on the central coast(near sydney) for DS b'day.He can try his first fish and chips then to.I think it will have to be an aquatic theme probably Nemo.I love themes.He is in bed now so I am going to have a nice dinner and then it is off to bed:sleeping:
mytwolilprinces
15-11-2006, 19:33
Brodiebunch - what a cute pic of your little boy!!
wow oliver looks so much older than 11mths! what a little cutie! :kiss:
oh no, i have no idea where ive been posting. gees ive missed alot in this thread.
maybe we should close one down so dont confuse the *simple* people like myself :laughing:
Hee hee hee! I agree! :laughing: Sometimes there are just too many to choose from! I'm sure I'm a member of other ones, it's been a little quiet though lately! :sleeping:
How are your bubas doing? Mine is going well, bumping and smashing into things, typical boy! Today he decided to face plant into the desk and cut his bottom lip! Ouch! He is babbling a lot although we have NO IDEA what he is saying! LOL!
brodiebunch
16-11-2006, 07:33
Ollie always has looked older than he is we call him our little man.The good thing is that no one has ever asked me if he is a boy or a girl as it is pretty obvious.He is also changing in the last couple of weeks from a baby face to a toddler.
brodiebunch
16-11-2006, 07:38
Oh god!!!! which thread are december mums currently using?This is a little confusing.Please,please,please can we just have one or we will miss out on half the gossip:p
i totally am for just 1 dec group :o
and kuz78au: i know what u mean with the babes bumping into things etc.. indy cruising around walking but out of the blue she can trip on a stray hair laying on the floor and its all over :confused:
she often has her dummy so it can have a nasty result!!
i took her shopping the other day and she insisted on walking , but of course it was a big game and HAD to go the opposite direction to me so i would chase her. in the end she found all over in 2 minutes of course, then its back to the chasy game!!
wow oliver does look older than 11 months!
ive seen so many "lil men" lately.
ive met up for a few bubhub girls in gladstone, and some of their bubbas are adorable, but dont look their age, they look like little men :D
indy just looks like a baby, if i dressed her in boys clothes she'd pass for a boy and if shes all pretty in pink could pass as a girl that she is.
shes my cutie though :D
has anyone else been out spending today at the toy sales??? i love a good sale!
has everyone got their xmas shopping sorted yet??
mytwolilprinces
16-11-2006, 15:22
Not sure if there was any actual "sales" on in Sydney today. But for the first time in a long time, I am organised this year and have already bought the kids their chrissy presents! Blake isn't getting that much though because his b'day party is costing us around $1000 :eek:
I have still got him a few things, some cute pumpkin patch outfits and some swimmers and toys for the pool etc.... he will be more interested in the wrapping paper though - :rolleyes: always the way!
$1000! :eek: thats some party! i cant wait to see the piccys!
mytwolilprinces
16-11-2006, 16:53
$1000! :eek: thats some party! i cant wait to see the piccys! I will make sure I post some pics after the big event. It was never meant to be such a huge party. It kind of just grew and grew and took a life on of it's own! The cost is mostly due to the jumping castle and table & chairs etc we are hiring. Then you have the food, the cake, drinks etc for 58 people adding to the cost. We also have to get a gardener in to clean up our yard a bit as it's overgrown and looks pretty yuck, we just don't have the time (or the know how) to fix it up ourselves - DH was going to attempt it but last time I let him loose with the weedkiller he killed all our grass :laughing: - he walked it all over the lawn and there are dead patches in the shape of footprints all over the place :eek:
Hello all!
Caydence is much better from her bite - thanks for all of your concerns. She's still got a little bruise. It didn't break the skin so we are lucky about that. I'm still angry at our daycare about it and subsequently have looked at a few other centres just to see what's around. I found a great centre with a new centre about to open 1min from where she currently is. For an extra $1 a day they provide all nappies(except 1 to go home in) and all meals(planned with the help of nutrician australia to make sure that the littlies get everything they need in a day - oh and hot meals for lunch) so obviously with these conveniences this is ranking it up there as my fav centre. Also one of the girls from work used to work there(up until the start of this year) and when i asked her "if you had kids would you send them there?" she thought for a second and said "yes" so that was a good indication for me. The only thing that is holding us back from changing her over straight away is that we don't want to take her away from her friends that she's already made and she really loves her "group leader" - she won't let me leave in the afternoon until she's found her and given her a cuddle! so more thought needs to go into things before we change centres.
I finally got a haircut today! YAY!!! it's been about 7-8mths so it was very very overdue, so i got about 3 inches cut off! i'm happy with the result though!
Brooke - I'm glad you are feeling better today - there is no fun in being sick! Good thing you too PP to the dr's and found out about the ear infections - helps to explain why she was screaming day and night for you. You are so lucky to have your mum there to look after you both when you are not so well.:thumbsup: to your mum!
OMG:eek: clucky again!!! everyone keeps asking me when am i going to have another bub and i keep saying i don't want one. i just keep telling people 1 is a lovely number thanks - i know it sounds awful but i couldn't think of anything worse than being pregnant again right now. my life is full enough without adding to what's already on my plate... isn't it funny how different we all are - some can't wait for another, some don't want another.
oh parties - we aren't really having a theme - just pink and purple i guess - that's what the invites were. i haven't really organised too much about the party, just when, where and sent out the invites. it's going to be a pretty cas bbq so i should just be able to pick everything up the day before.
Jackie - smart thinking about the gardener! I just weeded our front yard on sunday - i scrubbed and scrubbed my hands and couldn't get them cleaned properly until monday night! but now that it's done I'm so keep to plant some new plants - i want some flowers in there - i really think flowers add a homely touch to the front of a house - am i strange or does anyone else think that too?
anyway, dh is bugging me about dinner and i know there are bottles to wash and prep as well as a shirt for me that needs ironing for the morning - so much to do so little time! night night:wave:
i took her shopping the other day and she insisted on walking , but of course it was a big game and HAD to go the opposite direction to me so i would chase her. in the end she found all over in 2 minutes of course, then its back to the chasy game!!
OMG, that's why I can wait for Will to walk! Hee hee hee! :laughing: ;)
haha welcome back jess. i have been wondering where you have gotten too...
its such a hard decision to take them from one day care to another! The new one sounds nice but u are right you need to think about how caydence feels....
Jackie- a gardner... hmmm i think thats what we need at our place our yard looks! :eek: :barf:
We really need to do something with it but just dont have the time! it would be nice to have a beautiful functional backyard! we just got a new out door setting but are yet to sit at it! :laughing:
brodiebunch
17-11-2006, 07:37
I would just like to have a garden!Our back yard is so small that if we did anything in it we would have to get rid of the clothes line.
:tree: Christmas shopping is almost all sorted:yelclap: I have that many neices and two god daughters under the age of 2 that I am sick of baby toys.I found some really cool ones in IKEA though.The best thing was that they are wood,good quality,safe, look really expensive but werent.
I am off to another christening today,it is in western NSW and it is supposed to be a stinker of a day tomorrow.It is a fellow BH members DD and another baby to add to my god daughters list.She is seven weeks old and I cant wait to hug her.The mum is Becebabe the baby is Ella Murphy.So I guess I wont be online for a couple of days so have a great weekend everyone:wave:
mytwolilprinces
17-11-2006, 14:12
Ok, how do I put this. After all my talk about being Clucky but not thinking I can handle another pregnancy just yet DH and I have come to a decision, we are going to start TTC after christmas :eek:
Our theory behind this somewhat CRAZY decision is that we know we want 3 kids, I would love to go back to work. Josh (DS1) goes to preschool at the moment but it is from age 2 and up, so Blake can't go there for another year. So that means that I am home with Blake for another year until he can join his brother in preschool. Might as well do something productive with that time and grow myself our 3rd and final baby. It's all very scary and I know having 3 so close together will be VERY difficult, but I think those first few years of hardship will pay off and we will hopefully have 3 beautiful little ones who are great friends.
Anyway, I'll keep you all posted if anything happens. If anyone wants to talk me out of it FEEL FREE ..... as it's probably a completley stupid thing to do considering how busy and tired I am already.
jackie- dont worry.. haha i just posted in my adelaide thread that i am so clucky! OMG please someone tell me im crazy! all my thoughts are consumed with the thought of having another baby! I cant believe what i am saying! :eek: I even talked to my friend today and said i have a girls name that I really really want to use...!!! I wish someone could garantee me i wouldnt be sick, I wouldnt have to be in labour for so long, it wouldnt hurt as much, i wouldnt be in so much pain after and that i wouldnt get fat oh yeah and the most important! THAT IT WOULD BE ANOTHER GIRL!
mytwolilprinces
17-11-2006, 17:21
Brooke - I remember you saying not that long ago " I am never having another baby" :laughing: I knew it wouldn't last! That is what I said after my first as well. There is something about the 12 month mark that makes you want another - it must be natures way of making sure this earth is populated!
I would also love a girl. No doubt I'll end up with 3 boys though :rolleyes:
:laughing: i know.. but im not sure that i would follow thru with it... still so scared!
mytwolilprinces
17-11-2006, 19:05
It's not as bad as the first time around, well, it was easier for me the second time anyway! Just hard when you actually HAVE the baby. No sleep plus a toddler is a scary mix!
Funkychicken
17-11-2006, 21:47
New babies!!!!!!!!!!!! Please, please have more babies so then I can be all gooey with you girls. :D
That is really exciting that you are going to try for another bub Jackie. The third bub is the extra specially one. Well in our case he has been. I hang onto every little bit of his babyhood-no hurrying to grow up here! Have you ever read or come across Hazel Chesterman Phillips book on choosing the sex of your baby. Very interesting book and gives all sorts of info on when it is best to concieve both girls and boys. She helped us get our boy/girl pair! I have her book (although another bubhubber has it at the moment) if you are interested in having a look at it I am more than happy to send it onto you.
Brooke, hope you are well. You love being a mummy too much NOT to have another one. :p
Hi to all the Dec mums-have a great W/E.
mytwolilprinces
18-11-2006, 10:16
Sal - I agree that the third will be special - mostly because it will be the LAST! I'm 100% sure on that. No, I haven't read that book, another bubhub member sent me info on the "shettles" method which had some interesting tips.
Is your book along these lines for a girl:
Sex up until 2 or 3 days before ovulation - then so sex.
No caffeine
Eat lots of dairy
Missionary Postion
and this is the scary one ...
Douche with lemon or vinegar solution 30 mins prior to sex? (sorry, but I couldn't bring myself to do this one as it just seems weird to me! )
Anyway, I am addicted to diet coke so I've officially given up today!
I also went out and bought lots of yoghurts and had one for breaky.
We are not even going to try until after christmas ( so I can safely have a few drinks at chrissy and not worry about being pregnant ). But I thought I would get a head start on preparing my body to only let those little girl sperms thru :fingerscrossed:
Funkychicken
18-11-2006, 10:47
Good morning all.
Jackie, it sounds like you have done a bit of research. When we were trting to concieve Ella, we went very slowly. Had heaps of 'practice' runs protected to help reduce DH's sperm count and then only tried to conceive up until 3-5 days before I ovulated. I think we did the every second day thing until I felt we were close enough. It took five months and the month we actually conceived I had thought, No way, we stopped too early (5 days before ov) and on the night I thought we should try, DH was way too tired!:laughing: The one and only time he has EVER said no! Anyway, it worked and Ella was conceived. I never really bothered too much with the diet or taking my temperature. I could never remember to take it. I basically watched my own cervical mucous really closely for a few months. I have watched our vet do this to the mares sooo many times-he puts his arm up there though and when he brings his hand out he seperates his fingers to check the consistency of the mucous. if it is like egg white and kind of springs between his fingers, then she is ovulating. It's the same with us. hope that didn't come across as way too much information! :p
mytwolilprinces
18-11-2006, 11:43
Sal - thanks for the extra info. Looks like it could take a while so maybe we'll have to start trying now :D - knowing my luck I would fall pregnant first try though and I'm not ready for it just yet, maybe in a couple of months.
Ok, so I'll revise my plan and stop 3 - 5 days prior to ovulation instead. I am sure DH is going to be over the moon with intercourse every 2nd day! When we were talking about it last night he said that he's happy to try for a baby if it means we get to have sex :laughing: as it's a rare occurance these days. He also said he hoped I didn't get pregnant the first month as he wants to get a few good months in of trying first as he knows that once I'm pregnant I will be too tired/sick/emotional/fat etc :laughing: :laughing:
OMG so much baby talk! am i the only 1 not going through the "12mth clucky stage"?
We went to our fairy party today and Caydence looked great! She seemed to have a ball and I got lots of photo's - so when i get dh to download them i'll change my avatar so you all get to see my fairy princess! oh and the dress(that i sat up last night making alterations too:laughing: )
well it's saturday and I'd like to get out into the yard to do a bit of work this afternoon so as much as I'd love to, i'd better not sit here too long!
Enjoy your weekend!
Am I just slow or has it only just happened? but I just noticed Niki's changed her signature and she's expecting twins!!! YAY!!!! the first dec mummy to "go again" and it's with twins!
Big Huge CONGRATULATIONS to Niki!!!:smiliedance:
omg twins! she is going to have her work cut out for her! talk about instant family! congratualtions to niki!
i wish she would come back and talk to us decemeber mummies!
jackie- it sounds like someone is desperate for a sweet little girl! i just adore my little princess!
mytwolilprinces
19-11-2006, 09:03
twins :eek: she will have her hands full, good on her though!
Well, I am desperate for a little girl but after this morning I'm not so sure if I am ready to be pregnant again. DS1 has been crying all morning. We took him to the beach and all he did was cry, he is nearly 3 and is just so naughty and whingy. He made DH carry him the WHOLE time we were there and wanted a dummy like a baby. It was horrible .....
Hmmmm, I just don't know what to do. I really want a chance to have a little girl but it could be another boy and then I'm scared I'll be really dissapointed and sad.
wow twins!
i was hoping for twins when i was TTC indy. as cute as she is, im kinda glad that theres not 2 of her :laughing:
wow twins!
i was hoping for twins when i was TTC indy. as cute as she is, im kinda glad that theres not 2 of her :laughing:
:laughing: I know what you mean!
Jackie - how lovely a family trip to the beach(of course minus the carry on from DS1 - i hope he left it at the beach!)
We just got back from the shops a little while ago, we bought some more christmas lights so now dh has to get his act together and put them all up!
I also bought some icy-pole containers, I thought I might make the kids some icy-poles for Caydence's party - it'll be messy but I'm sure the kids/bubs will like them. I can't beleive we are having Caydence's party in 2 weeks:eek: I've got so much to organise - I'll be running around next weekend like a mad-woman I'm sure getting all the decorations and party foods - then it'll just be the cake, sausages and buns and we're organised - sounds easy, doesn't it?!? I'm sure it won't be as easy as I'm currently thinking!
I've got a busy afternoon planned, mowing lawns, trimming hedges, and I've got some sand that I want to spread on the front lawn as I've got a feeling it'll rain this week and that should help keep the moisture in and :fingerscrossed: we get some green grass!
Enjoy your weekends!
Funkychicken
19-11-2006, 12:54
:laughing: I
I also bought some icy-pole containers, I thought I might make the kids some icy-poles for Caydence's party - it'll be messy but I'm sure the kids/bubs will like them.
Ooohh..we make tham all the time. I usually puree a mango or some nectarines or peaches and then chuck in a heap of yoghurt and mmmm..instant icy-poles on the healthy side. Tristan refuses to eat all but a couple of fruits so this way he is getting it without having to consciously eat it!
I checked out Niki's posts last night after your post Jess. Wow-twins, that is huge!!!
jess- sounds like you had a great time today!
Hmm easy?? i dont know about that! I always get myself into things that sounds easy and then turn out way harder! haha Im sure you will be fine!
jackie- i am sure by the time your next little bubba gets here... ds1 will be much older.. a year older and probably a lot better and may even be able to help a little! :thumbsup:
OMG so much baby talk! am i the only 1 not going through the "12mth clucky stage"?
You're not alone, JRmumma - I'm not clucky at all. Dont get me wrong, I do go gooey when I see a newborn but the thought of having another baby at the moment, isnt appealing to me.... Although, I think that is mainly only because DF is away so I dont get any help - I keep forgetting that he will be home & this isnt the way the rest of my life will be.
Well, its my birthday today... My parents flew up from SA so I wouldnt be alone. They were here less than 48 hours but it was great to see them. I havent spoken to DF since last week but I didnt get anything from him :confused: maybe its still coming....
Kayden has been quite sick. Wednesday he was throwing up & had severe diarrhoea. By Wednesday night he couldnt even keep water down so I rang the 13 Health number & they told me to take him to the hospital - we waited in the emergency room for 3 hours without being seen... I left at 1.30am & bought him home. I figured if he got any worse I would ring an ambulance & atleast we would get seen to... I was so angry. He still has diarrhoea but the vomitting has stopped. He has no appetite at all but he is drinking some water & gastrolite so he wont dehydrate. I think we might be going back to the doctor tomorrow.
Thats huge news about Niki, I havent seen her post anything for ages.
Happy Birthday Sharvs! happybirthday :party: happybirthday :party:
im so glad that your parents could spend some time with you!
I hope your little man feels better soon... Hmm dont speak to me about emergency rooms! I spent 8hrs waiting in our local one yesterday! I was so ill... still am they dont seem to care! The health system is a disgrace sometimes!
:hugs: to Sharvs and Brooke.
I hope Kayden is on the mend soon - sounds like a classic case of gastro - it's so hard and I bet it's 1000 times harder alone. I am so glad that your parents came to visit for your birthday! Happy birthday happybirthday
Brooke - I hope you are feeling better? Rest and take it easy - you don't want to get too run-down. Don't forget to let your mum help you heaps!
Thanks for the tip Sal - I think I'll be making quite a few icy poles this summer - with all the fruit and yoghurt they sound like the perfect summer afternoon tea!
I'd better make the most of it, it's sunday night, just before 8:30, all the weeks ironing is done, lunches are made, bags are packed... only thing left to do is sleep!!!:sleeping:
Nighty-night
Funkychicken
19-11-2006, 20:35
happybirthday happybirthday to you Sharvs!!
How lovely for you that your parents came up to be with you. Hamish had an awful gastro/rotavirus thing a couple of weeks ago and it was just exhausting. He wouldn't eat, slept hours (that was kind of nice) and BF like a newborn so we were all tired. I hope Kayden feels better soon. :hugs:
Brooke, are you OK? Your illness seems to have been ongoing for a while. I wish you a speedy recovery.
Jess, I hope your little working bee was fun. I love getting stuck into the yard with the mower and rake and broom.
thats jess and sal! :kiss:
yeah i feel like im forever ill... its all been since i have had pp too.... the joys of having bad morning sickness! My appendix have been rumbeling lately so now we just have to watch them closely, i will probably eventually need them out! And we all know how well i will cope with that... NOT! :o
plus im for ever throwing up lately... or if im not them i feel sick... its so horriable! Plus I have lost so much weight so its back to the specialist for me!
emilysmumma
19-11-2006, 21:16
Hi Guys
We got back last night from Perth after a dream run with Emily on the plane. I was a bit aphrensive about it as she is getting so wiggly and stubborn, but thankfully she slept for the first 2 hours on my lap.
2 things have happened. The first being that she stood up by herself on Wednesday in a surfing stance, oh so cute. No wobbles at all and she received a big round of applause from us all.:yelclap:
Secondly we have had to lower her mattress in the cot so she doesn't flip over. It's sad as it means she is growing up. I remember when I first had to put the side up and having the same thought then.
Ok guys don't get me started on clucky. I can't stop myself from searching out for any babies when I go out just so I can have a peak. Today we took the dogs down to the dog park (near your place Tracey) and a lady arrived with the most adorable 7 month old boy. He was divine and I am still feeling excited from the hold I had of him. I think she got a bit worried I wasn't going to give him back :o
I had to laugh Jackie about your DH footprints in the lawn as my DH has done the exactly same thing.
I might of missed it as I only ever got to read quickly everyones posts in Perth and I need to go back over them properly, but did you Jackie go to Melbourne?
And hooray for another baby. I'm so excited for you I'm like this :smiliedance:
Brooke :hugs: for you and your sickness. I've had the opposite since Emily has been born, I haven't been sick once when usually I've always got something going on. That is except the last few days I've started to come down with a sore throat/earache thing but it hasn't gotten any worse yet. I'm doing my best to nip it in the bud as I don't want to be sick overseas.
Sharvs- A big HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!! to you. That was lovely of your parents to come even if it was only for a couple of days. I hope your little one is better soon.
Plenty more to ramble on about but don't want to bore you all to death. But it's good to be back home and back to you guys.
Funkychicken
20-11-2006, 09:07
thats jess and sal! :kiss:
yeah i feel like im forever ill... its all been since i have had pp too.... the joys of having bad morning sickness! My appendix have been rumbeling lately so now we just have to watch them closely, i will probably eventually need them out! And we all know how well i will cope with that... NOT! :o
plus im for ever throwing up lately... or if im not them i feel sick... its so horriable! Plus I have lost so much weight so its back to the specialist for me!
Just a suggestion Brooke. Have you been checked out for gall stones? I have had two people in my life recently that spent months throwing up and losing weight only to find out they had gall stones. Don't want to make you feel yuk or anything, just thought I'd mention it. :)
Mummaof2
20-11-2006, 14:29
Would you girsl mind if i joined back in the Dec05 mums thread. I was a regular up until i returned to work back in June and have been MIA since but would love to chat with you girls again.:fingerscrossed:
:wave: girls sorry i have been MIA in this thread but im back if you will all have me lol
Mummaof2
20-11-2006, 14:59
:wave: girls sorry i have been MIA in this thread but im back if you will all have me lol
Hi Niki,
I too have been MIL since June 2006. So hopefully the girls have missed us and will enjoy having us back on the thread (not sure if anyone will remember me though)
welcome back girls.. we missed you around here!
and of course we remember you.. us ladies never forget anyone!
:smiliedance: For emily! what a clever girl!
PP has been doing the same thing... i cant wait for her to start walking!
Funkychicken
20-11-2006, 18:13
girls sorry i have been MIA in this thread but im back if you will all have me lol
Hi Niki,
Great to see you popping in here-you are always welcome.
And..............
CONGRATULATIONS
:smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Twins-wow, that's fantastic news!!
Funkychicken
20-11-2006, 18:15
Would you girsl mind if i joined back in the Dec05 mums thread. I was a regular up until i returned to work back in June and have been MIA since but would love to chat with you girls again.:fingerscrossed:
Of course you are welcome back! I remember you as I remember your children's names. Hang around and catch up on all the Dec mummies goss!
I feel like breaking into song and dance of "welcome back, welcome back, welcome back" - thank fully for you ladies you can't hear me sing - I'm terrible:laughing:
Sal - yeah it was great to get in the garden, but it would have been better if dh had trimmed the hedges:shame: oh well, can't have my cake and eat it too i guess!
when are you all putting up your :tree: ?
must run, bottles to wash, lunches to make - the work never ends:gloomy:
i havent put our tree up yet! I am so hesitant (sp?) to put it up because of tiny hands! hmm someone likes to touch things that she shouldnt!
plus we have all glass ball balls which is scary! I think we need a little fence around ours or something....
yes the :tree:
my older 2 have bugged me about putting up the tree.. im nervous to see what indy is going to do to it :eek:
Reidymac
20-11-2006, 23:27
Welcome back Mummaof2 and Niki. It's great to hear from you both again, you have been missed.
Congratulations on expecting twins Niki :smiliedance: :smiliedance: . Twice the fun and three times the joy for you soon. You really are Luckyniki
The TREE! I Lurrrrve Christmas and all things celebrating the joys and milestones of life so I am always pretty keen on setting up the Christmas tree on Dec 1. Last year (not unlike us all I imagine) I was very tied, sick and pregnant on Dec 1 so started to set up the tree, stopped to rest before adding decorations, couldn't restart, had a baby, stayed in hospital for a week and arrived home to find a very odd looking 7ft indoor plant taking up a large portion of the living room:rolleyes: . My first night home with new baby was spent up a ladder adding lights and decorations to said indoor plant to transform it back into a Christmas tree.
Hope you are all doing well tonight. I have just finished sending the worlds longest PM to you brissy gals ;) so I better be quiet now
Reidymac
20-11-2006, 23:45
Just a suggestion Brooke. Have you been checked out for gall stones? I have had two people in my life recently that spent months throwing up and losing weight only to find out they had gall stones. Don't want to make you feel yuk or anything, just thought I'd mention it
Hmmmmmmm interesting thought :detective: . It is worth a check Brooke. I had my gallbaldder removed a few months after DD was born, That was a horror few months of accute attacks, very sick and miserable. Did I mention how cr@p I am at being pregnant and post partum:laughing: . Lucky I am a speedy gonzales birthing godess or I would have to be committed for being this clucky:laughing:
I forgot to say WELCOME BACK for your Brisbane stopover Sarah. Hows the packing going for your tropical getaway?
and
HAPPY BIRTHDAY happybirthday for Sunday Sharon. Hope you had a lovley day
mytwolilprinces
21-11-2006, 11:23
Hi Girls!
Welcome back Niki and Mummaof2 - and congrats on the twins Niki - that's great news!
Brooke - hope you are ok, if I were you I would be asking for tests, tests and more tests - it's no good to take chances with your health.
As for my melbourne trip - it's THIS weekend, to be honest I am not really that keen on going anymore. I will really miss Blake (and Joshua too) probably won't miss DH though :laughing: :laughing:
Well, I am still pretty keen for another bubba, can't stop thinking about it and I've settled on seeing how I feel after christmas and then "seeing what happens".
As for christmas trees - is it bad to put it up before Dec - I have heard that it's bad luck ( not that I believe in those things but still, don't want to push it) I was considering putting it up earlier as we are going away for christmas so I want the kids to be able to enjoy the tree at home for a while before we go away. Not sure how the tree is going to survive with Blake around. I am sure that the only thing I'll find under the tree this year IS Blake, I am sure he will pull it over on top of him - I've never heard of a baby being crushed by a christmas tree so I'm hoping he'll survive if that is what happens.
Poor thing has had so many accidents latley. Our entire house is tiled (apart from bedrooms) and he is constantly falling and hitting his head on the tiles. He has so many lumps and bruises. He also gets hit in the head by DS1 who has a habit of throwing toys at him when I'm not looking. Hopefully it isn't doing any damage to him - just knocking some sense into him for future use I hope!
Well, enough rambling from me.
Glad to see our little thread going strong again. It's nice to log in and actually have "pages" to read, not just one or two posts :smiliedance:
Hidy ho -
We are still away, will be back in Brissy tomorrow where I will have a chance to review all posts properly! God Jackie, I did a quick scan last night and thought you were actually preggo again already :eek: . Then read a bit more to realise you were just seriously thinking about it! As for myself, I think I'm renigging for a bit - much to DH disappointment.
The little tux was worn with pride! When we return home, I will get DH to make my new avatar with a Ryan party shot :party: . I'm not talented anough to do it myself. We've had a very LONG, but nice week away from the usual. Ryan of course is a little out of sorts, but not too bad.
Anyway, just a quick hi to everyone. Will write more over the next few days when I am home. Hope everyone & bubs are well.
welcome back chumps and reidy!
we missed you lovely ladies around here!
i cant wait to see the shots of ryan in the mini tux how adorable! :D
Funkychicken
21-11-2006, 20:54
Oh so nice to see a busy thread again!:yes: We do this in bursts, don't we. Reidy you have sent me on a nostalgic trip to this time last year and the tree decorating by the pregnant woman! I was still doing OK at this stage. Madly trying to finish hand made gifts for our two children, three children O/S who belong to friends of ours, finishing up the markets for the year, trying to start the Advent stories with the children (did OK, I think we managed one every night for about three weeks), celebrate DH's b'day (Dec 13), plan the birth of number three and I could go on....I remember feeling like I had to get sooo much done before I could have the baby. I don't know if part of that was the fear I still had about having another baby. I still hadn't come to terms with it then! Anyway, we wait until Dec 14th to do our tree as this is what was traditional for DH when he grew up so as not to take the magic away from his birthday. I know we got our tree from the xmas tree farm about 4 kms down the road and we strapped it to the bull bar to get it home! :laughing: I couldn't face pine needles in the back of the car while I was THAT pregnant. I had my friends hold my mother blessing ceremony in early December and after that I sorted of wound down a bit. By the time the 23rd arrived, I was well and truly over being pregnant. Off to the birth centre, Hamish born 3 hrs later and back home that afternoon (24th) to spend xmas eve with the children, DH, the new baby and to play Santa! Phew-I'm exhausted remembering it. I know we have some great video footage of the tree decorating with my enormous bump! :tree:
:wave: girls
not much for me to say really jake has been so good lately considering most of the time im too tired to play much with him. we are still co-sleeping with him to an extent we are side caring, but he moves around so much he ends up taking all the bed. we are going to try put him into his own room soon :crying: i get lots of negative comments about him still being in our room but i love him being there
he is off playing with df at the moment, df hides then jake finds him and then df chases him lol its so funny to watch jake runs away screaming with joy lol
Whilst we are all reminicing back to last year then i'll add my little story!
Decorating the tree wasn't too bad, but seeing all the gifts under there for "baby" made me so worried that I'd still be preg on christmas day and that all these presents wouldn't get to be opened:( but that idea went out when i was having contractions one day in early/mid dec so got DH home to take me to my dr's appointment. I was so sure i was in labour that i made dh take a photo of me standing next to the christmas tree!:laughing: well, again it was another false alarm and when i did actually go into labour on the 20th i didn't even think for a second that these "unusually strong braxton hicks" were the real deal:laughing: I can be so stubborn sometimes!
Just a quick little note to add about our day - Caydence has started feeding herself with a spoon and has mastered the kiss noise! so cute! She also came in to visit me at work this afternoon and charmed all the guys i work with. i was very proud! DH and i also had our first "parent-teacher" interview night - what a strange experience! I didn't think this happened until school!
I think my post and day has been long enough, so i better stop rambling and go to bed!
Nighty night!
Reidymac
21-11-2006, 22:27
Whilst we are all reminicing back to last year then i'll add my little story!
:D I love hearing your stories Jess and Sal. Thank you so much for sharing them. I must admit when DD first birthday came around I was very excited for her but mostly amazed by how I felt, so many memories came flooding back, I finally had the time and space to look back and say "WOW, look what I made_I am f'ing awesome and the most clever person ever in the history of everness" :D (modest as always). I'm starting to feel very nostalgic again as we get closer to dec.
:idea: We were talking about having a special Dec thread to mark the milestones of the babies turning 1, maybe we should also have a special Dec thread where we can share our memories of the babies births and remember how clever and strong we are (just between us gals, here in the privacy of the Dec05 threads ;) )
emilysmumma
22-11-2006, 08:05
Hey Brizzy Girls
Can you please tell me if you received my PM in reply to Reidy's "inaugural bash" pm?
It's just that it's not in my sent items but it has the reply thingy next to Reidy's pm.
If you did get it there is most likely two pm's (both the same) :o
emilysmumma
22-11-2006, 10:52
A big WELCOME BACK to Niki and Mummaof2.
If you go through the posts Niki there has been some wonder in where you got to. Congratulations on the twins!!!!!! Wow, that's just amazing, do they run in the family?
Have I started packing yet for Vanuatu? What a silly question Reidy.....of course not. I haven't even finished unpacking from Perth. :eek: I seem to do things last minute nowadays with Emily about. Not as super organised as I once was, but I still have lists so I don't forget what I have to do. I don't think I could operate without lists. The only problem with them is as soon as I cross one thing off another 2 get added.
Jess I have been wondering when is it they are suspose to start feeding themselves with a spoon. She loves fingerfood but seems to always get the wrong end of the spoon in her mouth and flicks the food everywhere. So hooray for Caydence.
This time last year. I have quite a bad memory but I do remember DH wouldn't let me drive anywhere by myself for the last 2 weeks and also taking both the dogs to the vets for the vaccinations and the vet saying I looked like I was due to have a baby shortly, to which I replied "yes I am, 2 days ago actually".
I have to say I'm not really into the chrissy thing. I always don't want a tree up but DH can't help himself and I think compensates for my lack of interest by getting out the lights and tree. I do love decorating the tree though. But now Emily has come along I will make an effort and am even going out to buy some new decorations. Maybe even a new chrissy tree as a friend of ours in Perth had a pink one up, and it was sooooo pretty.
Got to go add some things to my list....................
Reidymac
22-11-2006, 11:55
Hey Brizzy Girls
Can you please tell me if you received my PM in reply to Reidy's "inaugural bash" pm?
It's just that it's not in my sent items but it has the reply thingy next to Reidy's pm.
If you did get it there is most likely two pm's (both the same)
Got it :thumbsup:
BH posted a notice recently that sent PM's will no longer be automatically be saved in your out box. You must tick the option at the bottom of the page before sending each PM. Your PM went out to the whole Brizzy group from what I can see.:D :party: :D
emilysmumma
22-11-2006, 12:37
Thanks Reidy. :thumbsup:
I still don't know how to work this site to it's full potential.
Funkychicken
22-11-2006, 13:02
What a wonderful idea Reidy! I nominate you start-you may go forth and create a thread!
When each of our big one's have a birthday, we have created a tradition of telling them their birth story at bedtime. As each year has passed, the story has been adapted for their ages. We add in things that they find funny (me trying to phone daddy when I was told I was to be induced and he didn't hear the phone because he was clipping his hair!), daddy trying hard to drive slow on our dirt road and it making no difference to my contractions, the dr using the 'salad spoons' to pull Tristan out :D . As they have gotten older, we have started to include things in more detail without getting too technical. But for two children who watch mares being served and foaling each year, the birth thing is pretty straightforward in their eyes!
Sarah, I know what you mean about lists-they are my only way to keep sanity in my life some days! I'm glad your Perth trip went well.
Hope everyone is well and happy. :)
Mummaof2
22-11-2006, 15:08
Well since I have been MIL for a while I thought I would update you on Cooper's milestones etc.
Cooper commando crawled for about 3 months and then started crawling properly at 9mths old and very soon after started pulling himself up holding onto the lounge etc. By 10mths he was getting into everything and wanting to walk everywhere even though he still isnt walking. 10.5mths he finally got his first tooth and they have been coming 1 every week since but he has still been sleeping through the night most of the time while teething.
His vocabulary at the moment is Mum, Dad, Sis, Pop, Nanna, duck, Ta, Bye and Bot he cant get the "tle" out yet. He loves the water and baths without a seat now and just last night he started laying on his stomach and DD showed him how to blow bubbles in the water and he did it straight away and thought it was funny. His laugh is just so cute.
He has learnt how to climb up on the lounge and then onto the back of the lounge to look at our neighbours horses. Which is a bit worrying especially if he does when im not watching.
Oh and he had his first Pre-School class photos last week.:yes:
In regards to reminiscing about this time last year:
I was counting down the days till I went on maternity leave and really wasnt into christmas at all. We did put the xmas tree up but as i was suffering from PSD and needed to rest as much as possible i just sat back while DH & DD put up the tree and decorated it. But this year we will be making it a family affair and will all be helping although I know that decos will be getting pulled off as often as they are put on as Coop is just a busy body. We are also having our very first family holiday this year leaving xmas day arvo and driving to brisbane for 2 weeks.
Well hope you aren't all to overheated today.
ok i think ill update u all on jakes progess too lol
he has been walking for over a month and a half and now he is running, its the cutest thing, he can say mama, dada, nane, ca ca (my sister) and ta..he has 8 teeth, his afvourite game is hide and seek, and he is still a water baby :D
WOW all these bubs have such huge vocabularies! What clever bubs we have!
I'm pretty exhausted tonight so won't post for long - just wanted to get another one in for the week as friday night is our big industry awards so i need to get a good nights sleep tomorrow night:fingerscrossed: I've even got to get up on stage on friday night and present an award:yes: I hope i don't have to say anything - I'm a coward when it comes to public speaking... oh well.
Caydence was going to stay at mum and dad's on friday night, but i'm just not yet ready to spend a night away from her. Anyone else let bub have a sleep over yet? where you worried, scared, missing your littlie?
I said it won't be a long one so better get a move on.
emilysmumma
22-11-2006, 20:45
We can make out bye bye and hello from Emily, as well as mumma and dada. That's about it on the talking front.
I haven't been longer than a couple of hours away from Emily since she arrived. Today I was away for 2.5 hours which has been the longest yet for quite some time.
With BF and not expressing an overnighter would just not be possible even if I wanted too. And I definetly don't want too.
Hope you get some good sleep Jess. Think I might join you (so to speak)
:sleeping:
Reidymac
23-11-2006, 00:38
What a wonderful idea Reidy! I nominate you start-you may go forth and create a thread!
OK girls, I'm onto it. :detective: I will have two new threads created by the end of this week. 1 for baby birthdays and milestones & 1 for celebrating, reminiscing and birth stories. I have been scanning over the old threads to make sure we don't miss any birthdates.......... so get those typing fingers limbered up and get writing :p
I'm sorry Sarah. You wont be allowed to go to Vanuatu until you have completed your Dec05 mummies writing homework ;):D
mytwolilprinces
23-11-2006, 06:20
That is such a great idea about the thread for bubs b'day's etc ..... I can't wait to add my little story!
Well, Blake is not quite as talented as some of the other Dec bubs. His only word is Dad Dad Dad ( and to be honest, I don't think he even knows what he's saying :) ) He does make a few other random sounds that sometimes fluke at being a word - he said "uh oh" once when something fell of the bench but has never said it since??
He is starting to pull himself up on things though and loves standing up.
We put up the Chrissy tree last night, DS1 was out having a swim at the time and when he came home he sat on the rug in front of it and stared in aw saying "wow!" When he woke up this morning the first thing he said was "chris tree!" and ran out to have a look. Makes it all worth it:D
As for Blake with the christmas tree - hmmmmm, can't say it was easy with him crawling under it, pulling the decorations off and trying to eat them ..... I've had to become the "tree Nazi" and insist that there is to be NO TOUCHING!
I'm starting to get really excited about Christmas now. I usually don't care for it too much but I think now that DS1 is getting older and has some understanding about Santa it's getting more exciting for everyone.
Better go. I've managed to ramble away enough already! Take care everyone.
emilysmumma
23-11-2006, 10:06
Morning All
Well it's finally happened. Emily is sick for her first time.:crying:
It started yesterday with feeling quite hot and having a doze on her dad late in the afternoon which she never does. She has had a bit of a runny nose and she keeps poking her fingers in her ears for the last couple of days.
But last night she was on fire and of course my fandangled no-touch thermonter (sp?) which I've never had to use had a flat battery :banghead:
She wouldn't go to sleep even though she was tired and after doing a spectacular :barf: all over me as she choked on the baby panadol, we managed to get another dose in and put her into bed with us as she wouldn't sleep any other way.
Still warm this morning, but will take her to the doc's later this afternoon if she isn't any better just to make sure. We are in between thinking she may have my cold, an ear infection as she keeps poking her ears or teething as she bit on a rusk yesterday and screamed as well as biting my shoulder this morning and a slightly swollen gum next to her top right tooth.
I know it's only mild and your other bubs have had much, much worse but it still breaks your heart.
Anyway so much to do with so little time.
:hugs: i hope Emily gets better real soon poor bub
Hi all -
Sarah - I hope lil Emily is ok & that it is nothing too sinister :) .
We put up the Chrissy tree last night, DS1 was out having a swim at the time and when he came home he sat on the rug in front of it and stared in aw saying "wow!" When he woke up this morning the first thing he said was "chris tree!" and ran out to have a look. Makes it all worth it:D
That is the cutest thing i have ever heard!:hugs:
sarah i hope little emily feels better soon! :hugs: :kiss:
Well i went and bought pps little trike for her birthday it has a little handle at the back so we can push her and a basket and streamers at the front! I cant wait to give it to her!
mytwolilprinces
23-11-2006, 18:31
Sarah - hope emily is feeling a little better now? It's horrible when they get sick isn't it?
emilysmumma
23-11-2006, 21:10
Thanks guys, it's really heart warming to read all your posts wishing Emily well.
I think it's safe to say she is much better now than she was. Her temperature is down but was still a bit out of sorts today with only two 45 minute naps and then took an hour to get to sleep tonight. But :fingerscrossed: I think she will have a good sleep tonight as so far I haven't heard a peep from her.
Oh Brooke I'm so excited for PP about her trike. It sounds so cute. I think they are a great idea with the handle at the back. I remember a bike I had when I was about 5 that had the streamers coming out of the ends of the handle bars and a basket at the front with plastic flowers on it. :o
sarah, Im so glad to hear that emily is much better!
its so awful when they arent well and there isnt much we can do!
Im so excited about giving pp her trike that i couldnt sleep last night i kept waking up thinking about how excited she is going to be! Im such a kid sometimes! :laughing: I want a little trikey for me too... LOL is that bad?????
girls me again.. haha
i managed to find a link to pps little trike
http://dstore.com.au/Toys/Eurotrike-Super-Deluxe-Trike---Girls/692651.html
its just the cutest thing! :o
emilysmumma
24-11-2006, 09:12
sarah, Im so glad to hear that emily is much better!
its so awful when they arent well and there isnt much we can do!
Im so excited about giving pp her trike that i couldnt sleep last night i kept waking up thinking about how excited she is going to be! Im such a kid sometimes! I want a little trikey for me too... LOL is that bad?????
You have me laughing Brooke. You couldn't sleep :laughing:
Very cute and the little tray at the back comes in very handy for transporting dolls/teddies etc ;)
I couldn't sleep either but for different reasons. After I trawled BH for a few hours, I hop into bed only to get up again as the little miss decided after a solid 4 hour sleep she wanted to get up. :banghead:
So after taking an hour to get her back to sleep, up again 15 minutes later then finally we got an hour's sleep but then at 3.00 she was ready to party. Thankfully DH got up and looked after her till she went back to sleep at 5 and we woke up at 7.30.
I was at the end of my tether as I only got to sleep between 2-3 that DH must of heard it in my voice as took heart and got up.
Funny story though. When she finally went to sleep on the lounge, DH made sure there were pillows all around her and on the floor so he could go into her room and make sure the cot was ready for her. He gets up off the lounge and Emily sits up, laughs her head off for 5 seconds and promptly lays back down and goes to sleep.
Anyway really must get off her and go to the shops to get some last minute things. Only 7 hours to get to the airport. Excited but nervous as well being the first overseas trip with a bubba. :fingerscrossed: it all goes well.
Hope you have an awesome holiday Sarah & Emily :)
What is going on at the moment? Are everyone elses bubs putting them through the ringer? Sounds like Sarah's getting the run around, a couple of other friends of mine are having troubles & I'm also at my wits end :eek: . I know we've been away, so Ryan being a bit out of sorts could well be due to that. But prior to going away, we had a really good rountine happening, 3-4 booby feeds / day, 3 great sized solid meals, sleeping like a champion from 8 - 4/5. Now, we're back to demand feeds (up to 6/7 times a day), constant whinging, tantrums here, there and everywhere, won't sit in the high chair, waking up to 3 times during the night etc etc. Feel like I have a newborn again........ so much for our plan to start TTC again after our holiday. There is absolutely no way DH is getting near me without some serious contraception going on.
Sorry bout the vent, but I'm going crazy :o . Thank goodness he is asleep now - gives me 10 minutes to myself (knowing what he has been like lately, thats probably all I will get all day).
emilysmumma
24-11-2006, 15:29
I'm hearing you Tracey. Our little miss has seemed to of done a complete turnaround.
The whinging and crying is incessant.:banghead:
She stayed awake for 5 hours this morning and refused to go to sleep. Thankfully she ended up having an hour and a half so at least I could pack.
Well off to the airport in half an hour so best be off.
See you all in Vanuatu by the pool sipping cocktails.
No make it in the pool at the pool bar but sipping a mocktail....guess you can't have it all ;)
Bon vovage, keep well everyone.:wave:
Mummaof2
24-11-2006, 15:52
I hear you ladies.
My DS has gone from being a non-crying baby to crying everytime i put him on the floor, in his high chair, in his pram, in the car, in the cot. It is driving me insane and to make things worse my DD has started doing the same (think its just for attention) she just sulks all the time if she doesnt get what she wants. Oh and I better no forget DH who sulks just as much as the kids do. Last night I had almost had enough i was going to go for a walk at 9pm but was too exhausted to get up then I heard DS crying in our room and so I went in to see what was wrong and he was just sitting on the floor in the dark as DH had turned the light off to watch TV and subsequently fell asleep. My heart just melted seeing DS just sitting there crying but he has still been driving me insane.
Hopefully its just a stage they go through and all our little bubs will be back to themselves very soon:fingerscrossed:
mytwolilprinces
24-11-2006, 18:04
OMG! Blake has been doing the same thing. He refuses to sit in the high chair - I literally can not get him in there. I try to push him into it and quickly put the tray on but he arches his back and screams and I can not get him to sit in there. I end up feeding him on the floor ( he takes a few mouthfulls, crawls off and I chase him around with the spoon!) He does the same with the carseat. Being put on the floor (he flings himself backwards and has a huge tantrum) I end up just laying him on the floor and letting him cry - don't want to be giving into his nonsense and letting him think he can get away with it.
DS1 NEVER had these sort of tantrums ( not this early on anyway ) - hope it's just a "stage!!!!!"
Have a good weekend everyone. I'll be in Melbourne shopping my little heart out!:smiliedance:
omg im glad its not just my terror child! PP refuses to sit in anything where she is restrained and no one is aloud to hold her... as for eating... hmm i give up!
oh please lord let this stage pass qucikly! :eek:
Ah yes the little wriggle pots. They have discovered locomotion and they are enjoying the novelty.
I almost feel like singing the halleujah chorus when she goes to sleep sometimes. Its wonderful just to relax and not be up and down all the time pulling this or that out of her hands.
Mum tells me when they discover walking, they run:eek: Well I guess that will help to knock off those Christmas kilos.
I almost feel like singing the halleujah chorus when she goes to sleep sometimes. Its wonderful just to relax and not be up and down all the time pulling this or that out of her hands.
Mum tells me when they discover walking, they run:eek: Well I guess that will help to knock off those Christmas kilos.
:laughing: that is so true the minute she goes down for a nap its like a weight is lifted off my shjolders and i feel "free" well that is until i realise there is washing to be done a dishwasher to be loaded and a floor to be vacuumed! :eek: :rolleyes:
mytwolilprinces
24-11-2006, 20:19
How true is it that sleep time is "free" time ... the problem is I spend half the day TRYING to get him to sleep, then spend the whole time he is asleep trying not to make a sound incase he wakes :eek:
How true that is :yes: . Sometimes I think I'm the only one who has a livewire who sleeps hardly ever during the day! I can not tell you all how good it is to hear everyone is having the same issues. It doesn't make everything seem like a big deal when you know that others are in the same boat :D . It also makes it much easier to accept.
Morning all!
Big :hugs: and :kiss: to all the mummies having a troublesome time with their bubba's. It's hard when they get like this. I was told that trantrums and misbehaving is just part of becoming independant - bubs want to do things for themselves but don't understand the dangers etc of doing it hence when we tell them "stop" they think it's a game. :fingerscrossed: it passes quickly.
Caydence spent the night at nannies last night! By the end of the night i was pretty tired and the thought of a sleep in was quite appealing - only slept in til 6am and got woken up by dh!!! oh well... you win some you loose some!
I got up on stage last night with no stage fright at all and ended up presenting 2 awards. I felt quite special and popular when they asked me up on stage to do the presentations as there were people clapping and cheering for me from all parts of the room(600 ppl!) and the mc was commenting on my dress for 1/2 the night after i was on stage - it felt very good to be noticed iykwim!
we checked out the location today for Caydences birthday party next weekend - have the perfect spot picked out and today i'm off to get all the decorations and try to find a party dress(we have a party to go to tonight so she'll get to wear it tonight too!)
Can't remember if i told you all or not yet, but the other afternoon we bought Caydence a teddy/dolly to take to bed with her - it's so cute, she grabs her and hugs her/pats her back, and when we go in when she's asleep she's always hugging her. yesterday morning when i got up i heard her babbling away to dolly - so cute!
Oh must cut this short, Caydence has awoken!
Funkychicken
26-11-2006, 20:25
Good evening Dec mummies!
Sorry that I have been MIA for a while. We have been absorbed by the situation with my grandparents and it is so tiring. Just quickly, Nana is in hospital-she had her gall bladder out (she had left it so long, there were ltos of complications) and had a heart attack on the table but is stable now. She has been so down and saying she wants to die but I have been feeding her little bits of info like, "You have one month to get well, Nana, as you have to be home for our christmas breakfast." She seems to be responding to this sort of talk so we are just trying to keep her spirits up. Grandpa has had to stay in a nursing home while Nana is in hospital and he HATES it. They just want to be together and it just can't happen. then of course there is a whole story that I won't go into to do with warring family member's so it's getting a bit nasty.
I have read (I think) all the posts. I hope Emily is getting better Sarah. it's so awful when they are sick. We did a week of it with Hamish recently and he was like a newborn again-feeding around the clock and taking no solids. I was so relieved to be still breastfeeding as he would have had to go into hospital on a drip otherwise as he wouldn't even take water.
That seems to be well and truly over and Hamish seems to have decide to go on a booby strike again! This has been really hard as I want to keep BF him indefinately but he is back to just biting me again. He is feeding in the morning, evening and 1-32 times through the night so i guess for an 11 month old, he is feeding often enough, but as he refuses to feed in the day, it just feels like he is saying no to continued BFing. I am going to take it day by day and just see what happens. Some days he will have a feed at lunchtime, so as long as I can cope with his biting (it's more nipping and looking up for my reaction!) I'll power on.
I have more to say to all of you but my post is long enough for now-don't want everyone doing this :rolleyes: at my too-long posts!
brodiebunch
27-11-2006, 08:24
Hi girls,it has been awhile!So many posts to read when you are gone for a week.
Funkychicken,sorry to hear that BF does not sound like to much fun for you at the moment.Oliver did a similar thing to me at 9.5mths.The biting,kicking scratching got that bad that he just refused to BF completely,But he would not take formula.The ABA counciler(also CHN) visited to see what was happening and decided that yes he was self weaning.She rang Dr. and decided that we should offer him cows milk with pentavite as he has a good diet.I attempted to give him one last BF amid tears from both of us and gave him the Bottle:crying: .He never looked back. I missed BF heaps and sometimes still get a little sad when I see BF mothers but on the up side I can leave him with DP and get some time out and I have so much more energy.It was heartbreaking.
Now for an update.We have another new word:yelclap: Giggle and he says it so clearly a friend heard it over the phone.We have 4 teeth top 2 and bottom 2 and 2 more on the way...EEEK.Tantrums have started with us as well,because he is not allowed in the kitchen to play so he throws his toys through or over the saftey gate then starts screaming.He does not get them back straight away so that makes him angry:mad: Day sleeps....... well a week ago he was flatley refusing to sleep.why sleep when you can stand at the end of the cot screaming mum,mum,mum and cruise around the sides!He would be that exhausted that by the time DP got home from work he was to tired to stand up(but he could still sit and yell).A good friend in sydney express posted me her saftey sleeper so amid fears he would have a tanty about being strapped down I used it.He wiggled for a few minutes and tried to stand up gave up and was asleep in 10 minutes of hitting the cot.We are back to 2 day sleeps of at least 1.5 hrs but we dont use it at night as he doesn't need it then.What a life saver.
I am getting so excited about christmas.Xmas day is also my b'day and as last year was my 1st xmas away from family andI had C/S complications it was a real non-event.This year is going to be great.there are 3 Crawlers in my family and a 4yr old.I am 26 and ollie will be 1 and 10 days.It should be a great party.We are setting the tree up on the weekend and the theme this year is purple,blue,silver and green.My DP loves tinsel,I hate it but have decided that we will have some for ollie,and probably the crazy cats.Got to go now and do some house work.Talk to you all soon.
brodiebunch
27-11-2006, 14:37
I forgot.Does anyone know how to make good bubble blowing detergant and play dough???:detective: