View Full Version : convert me!
hi girls,
i always was interested in cloth, but couldnīt be bothered on one side, and got some "me being superior" comments from cloth users, so i was NOT AT ALL interested in it :cool:
anyway, mors questionaire woke my desires up again, ans i thought just ask the girls here- they might wanna help ??
so- what do i need to get for my first essentials? what do i have to expect? (i have 3 kids- 2 of them in school- so i do not have too much time to fuss aroudn leaking cloth nappies IYKWIM :D )
and ?????
thanks to all of you in advance :thumbsup:
27-10-2006, 11:44
3bubsmum - I think it's great that you want to have another go at it.
First thing is first though.. I have four kids (one at school, one in childcare and 2 at home) and Dakota is the only one in nappies so try not to think of it as being hard, it really isn't. I understand your concerns as to not having much time ect.. but in all honesty if you're thinking of going fulltime then it's about 30mins if that out of your day. 10-15 minutes of that is stuffing the nappies at night whilst you watch tv or something.
For your first trial i strongly suggest getting 2 greenkids anytimes www.greenkids.com.au (there's alot of info on the site aswell) and 2 medium or large prefold hemparoos. See if they work and if they don't try not to fret because the re-sale on MCN is awesome.
i'll let someone else take over from here, need to feed bubby. :o Sorry!
stellarella
27-10-2006, 11:46
Ummmm, its hard to know where to start.
Firstly, I only wash every 3rd day (1 bub) so the washing is sooo not an issue for me. I just chuck all my nappies in with bubs other stuff, put in half the amount of detergent and voila!!
I soak my pooey ones in a bit of water and nappy soak (Tri Nature), however lots of ladies are dry pailing now, I just soak pooey ones cause I only wash every 3rd day YKWIM.
I dont want to bombard you with lots of info about different nappies as it can be confusing to see it all written in a post, however once you have even a slight peek into it its not confusing at all.
Maybe to start off have a look at some websites:
www.eenee.com.au (http://www.eenee.com.au)
www.ozclothnappies.org (http://www.ozclothnappies.org)
www.darlingsdownunder.com.au (http://www.darlingsdownunder.com.au)
www.allaboutnappies.com (http://www.allaboutnappies.com)
It may seem expensive when you initially start looking, however I spent about $500 on my cloth nappies and I have not spent a cent since, and I will be using them on all my future bubs. I cant imagine it would take long to make that money back compared to sposies.
BONUS:yelclap: Cloth nappying is so much fun!! I actually get a great deal of enjoyment out of cloth nappies. They look soooo cute and you get lots of comments, lets face it: everyone has seen standard white sposies, they are not exactly attractive, so even if its just that novelty factor of dressing your bub up:D
Im sure some lovely ladies will be along soon to give you more advice and links
Oh I just want to add something else....
I think its best to start out buying just a few nappies, to make sure they work for you first..also, I dont feel superior at all by using cloth nappies, I have never tried to force my opinion on anyone (on this topic, hahah), I think its great that you are keen to give it another go, and dont be daunted by it all, just start out as slowly as you want and if you have questions or problems we are all MORE than happy to help you out.
LOL - I read a blog article from the Canada this week about 'diaper snobs' talking about MCN are the new big thing. It made me laugh a bit, because it is saying that cloth is becoming the next baby fashion statement:
http://www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/LAC.20061014.ECKLER14/TPStory/TPEntertainment/Style/
I'm not in it for fashion, but rather economics, environment, no leaks and making an informed choice. I don't think I am any better than anyone else, and am disappointed that some people feel this is the way we come across. We should all respect all parenting choices, and I take it upon myself to contribute to enabling parents to make an educated choice, which way they go is up to them. :)
Anyway, glad you feel inspired!
A lot of parents find they have less leaks with fitted cloth, especially overnight!
You will get lots of tips if you search through the threads here started by cloth newbies, about where to start. If you find a few different brands that look popular, that's often a good way to start out, get say a pocket nappy to try, a fitted + PUL cover to try (bamboo) and an all in one (AIO) if you are inclined towards convenience (just keep in mind that without a second line of defence with a cover, pockets and AIOs can be more prone to leak than fitted + covers).
If you do end up with leaks, there is a wealth of information available here to help you find a solution.
And www.ozclothnappies.org is a brilliant place to go for all the information you could possibly need in one spot! (FAQs, pattern links, business links, yahoo discussion group, get together details)
thanks a LOT already girls
i surfed around and thought- AIO sounds great to me....
do you girls think they are any good? do i need to use a liner???
i am sooooo dumb!!! :thumbsdown:
thanks a LOT already girls
i surfed around and thought- AIO sounds great to me....
do you girls think they are any good? do i need to use a liner???
i am sooooo dumb!!! :thumbsdown:
sooooo not dumb! ;)
AIOs are a good start. the liner is sometimes sewn into the nappy, and makes cleaning up easier. You could try eenees biodegradable liners which can be flushed if they get poo on them, but washed a couple of times before they fall apart.
AIOs are super convenient, and particularly good for baby sitters, reluctant Dads and newbies. Some AIOs can take a while to dry (esp. compared with pocket nappies), and I mentioned above, they can be inclined to leak but not necessarily if they are a good brand. the next issue is to find one that you can easily get hold of! ;)
stellarella
27-10-2006, 11:55
Lots of ladies love AIO's.
I like the drying time factor of my eenees, as they take about 2 hours to dry.
Like Mor said, most ladies (I think) use a fitted with a wool or PUL cover (try baby beehinds) for night use.
I use flushable liners for the clean up factor and the stay dry factor, but you can get washable fleece ones too.
stellarella
27-10-2006, 11:57
You could try eenees biodegradable liners which can be flushed if they get poo on them, but washed a couple of times before they fall apart.
:confused: Are you saying the eenees liners can be washed???
I use these and there is no way they can be washed...
:confused: Are you saying the eenees liners can be washed??? I use these and there is no way they can be washed...
absolutely! I get one or 2 uses out of them if they are just wet. I discovered it once when I accidentally washed one with a nappy... it came out fine, a bit scrunched up, but not torn and worn, fine to be used again. Ofcourse, if it has poo on it, I flush it ;)
I really need to get off the PC!
stellarella
27-10-2006, 12:10
absolutely! I get one or 2 uses out of them if they are just wet. I discovered it once when I accidentally washed one with a nappy... it came out fine, a bit scrunched up, but not torn and worn, fine to be used again. Ofcourse, if it has poo on it, I flush it ;)
I really need to get off the PC!
OMG:D
I am going to try it!!!!
Thats just crazy....
doo dee doo...off to wash one of my liners....:p
27-10-2006, 12:13
We have 4 kids - 2 at home full time, 1 at kindy 1 day a week, DSS is here Sun - Thurs and has kindy on mondays...
2 at home are in nappies full time and Zach wears them to bed still.
We use baby beehinds hemp and bamboo's with PUL covers for the most part and fuzzibunz when I'm out for a quick trip.
My BB's have NEVER leaked. My fuzzis have, they'd never last through the night I don't think and I tried greenkids and they leaked all but one time... so I gave up on them pretty quick as I don't like the extra clothes washing lol
I wash every second day, we go through about 28 nappies for both girls fulltime and zach overnight in that time. If I got myself in order and bought a second nappy bin I could go 3-4 days as I have plenty of nappies but I never seem to have the spare hand to carry it when I'm shopping lol
Once you get started you won't regret the change!
OMG girls you are sooo helpful FANTASTIC....
only backdraw is-
everthing is SOLD OUT or OUT OF STOCK GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
but hey
i keep on searching :laughing:
love the colours:smiliedance: they ROCK
stellarella
27-10-2006, 12:23
Check out ebay..there are a few good ones on there at the moment...
Now you will probably outbid me...hehehe:eek:
OMG girls you are sooo helpful FANTASTIC....
only backdraw is-
everthing is SOLD OUT or OUT OF STOCK
are you looking for a particular style? If you ask here for someone to help you find what you are after, they may be able to direct you to where they are in stock or a similar alternative?
27-10-2006, 12:31
You can use a nappy sprayer which hooks into your toilet unit if you opt not use liners. I use both. She does a poo once a day like clockwork so i know when she's going to do it and put in a liner in that nappy change. The liner doesnt catch it all so thats when i use the sprayer.
Another good site is www.theweewuns.com.au
i was at a couple of sites and always found size large out of stock, or PUL out of stock- but i have been to ebay and YEP have some on my watchlist now....
ohhh how daunting this all is- AIO- fitted- liners- PUL....
thank you girls!!! :D
karnif00l
on the website site large states it goes to 13.6 kg....which is very close to bubbies weight at the moment- there is no XL...
is it really too small then?
also, what do you think of the rumpster AIO at www.darlingsdownunder.com.au (http://www.darlingsdownunder.com.au)
you girls are great- not superior at all......:laughing: why did these few persons sooo blend me??? you rock!!!
27-10-2006, 13:36
3bubsmum - It depends on the build of your child hon. If you are talking about Greenkids there are some cloth mummas on here with children over two years old still wearing them.
If you want a larger scale of nappy that is still one size fits all check out Fuzzi Bunz (http://www.fuzzibunz.com.au/Home) they have a huge variety of colours. They are a pocket nappy but you don't need a cover for them.
How old is your little one ?
edit to add: I haven't tried the Rumpsters.
he is exactly 1 year next week...but a bit ...ummmm---- stronger buildt :)
he is little in height- but wide...IYKWIM .... in clothes he needs size 1 in pants (at least)
i think i donīt talk about greenkids, but will have a look....
27-10-2006, 13:58
I found that for me the best starting point was to go with a one size fits all nappy and preferbly one that doesn't need a cover. I also went for a pocket nappy so i can boost it to how much boosting needed to be done, whether it was during the day or extra boosting for the night KWIM. Then once you get the hang of that you pretty much have it in the bag and explore other different sorts of MCN because you then have the confidence to do it.
Just don't be to daunted, its not as complicated as I sounds :) The best idea is probably to get a trial pack or just a nappy in a few different types to see what is best on your bub and what you like best.
It is confusing at first! :yes:
But in time at all you will work it out, I know...
I have 3 kids and its not much time spent using cloth. I reckon 10 mins a week. Whether you use sposies or cloth nappies still need changing iykwim. If you are using cloth itis just a lil more interesting I hink.
I think atm there is more demand than supply esp if you are looking at wahm made nappies.
I also wash the liners too - value!
I got so sick of everything being out of stock I decided to start making my own nappies.
Greenkids are re-stocking soon though, with a whole lot of new colours. I think these are a good place to start because they are a lot like a disposable in that they don't need a cover. They are also easy to buy as they don't go out of stock as much as some smaller WAHM ones. Its so heartbreaking when you first start out, you finally make a decision and go to buy one and they are sold out.
Cloth are a bit bulkier than disposables but you get used to it quite quickly and once you learn how to stuff them properly its only a slight difference. I think most people start out overstuffing a bit because its hard to believe that the inner will actually absorb much (but they do!).
I haven't ever converted anyone because I don't really have any justification for using cloth! LOL
I am not an environmentalist type person and as for the money savings, well we worked out that we would have got our money back by the time our baby is five months old, but the thing is that I buy all the nappies now out of MY money whereas the disposables would come out of the grocery money which DP pays for so I have actually done myself no favours there!
Now that I can make them a PUL nappy costs me about $10 to make and a fleece costs about $4.
But its all about the cuteness for me. Hey, I never said I was deep!
DP doesn't change nappies anyway and now he is even less likely because he says its too complicated (its not, he just doesn't want to do it). It doesn't bother me, I am quite happy for that to be my job.
The only thing I will say that sounds a bit "converty" is that now when bubby wears a disposable I find them to smell a bit p!ssy.
But on the other side of the coin, bubby will let me know if his cloth nappy is pooey...he will whinge as soon as it gets pooey, whereas in a sposie I have to check his nappy to see if its pooey as it doesn't seem to bother him. But I don't mind that so much either, I don't expect him to sit in a pooey nappy anyway!
thanks girls,
i got in touch with a cloth lady in my area and we will arrange so she can show me her range :)
i am soooo excited- i would love to start NOW!!!
thanks too for the pmīs i received- i will answer ASAP- have just 2 birthdays coming up and while i write this i am dressed up as fairy queen....LOL
woohoooo sooo excited!!! :smiliedance:
I know your bubba is nearly 1 but, I use BabyBeeHinds with a cover, the biggest thing I think would convert any new Mum is the fact that big breastfed baby blow outs are contained so much better in cloth, no "up-the-backers"! :)
3bubsmum it'll be a great idea for you to have a look and try some. My DD2 is 14mths but she's really petite, so relying on age to work out what size nappy you need doesn't really work. I used terry flats before getting hooked on BB's. I loved that they were 1 size fits all, so I didn't need to worry about whether they'd fit her, and I wouldn't have to buy the next size when she grew out of them like sized nappies.
Great to see you're going to try cloth:thumbsup: . Unlike alot of the ladies here, I didn't start because I liked the look. It was environmental and money savings that got me into it. The fact that they look great is just a bonus to me:)
.... but the thing is that I buy all the nappies now out of MY money whereas the disposables would come out of the grocery money which DP pays for so I have actually done myself no favours there!
DP doesn't change nappies anyway and now he is even less likely because he says its too complicated (its not, he just doesn't want to do it). It doesn't bother me, I am quite happy for that to be my job.
Same here! /:yes: My hubby was complaining about the cost of the nappies so I took it upon myself to use cloth. So I now pay for them as I pay for the kids clothes. He also has trouble changing nappies which isn't helped with having a wriggly bub too. But IF he practiced it wouldn't be so hard!
My reasons for using cloth include environmental and financial. I don't like wasting things. And I don't like having a full bin. I am trying to limit this. The added bonus is a cute butt! It is a hobby in a way. And I like that something as neccessary as bum changing can be made more interesting.
Having recently had my 3rd baby I am impressed++++ with range of cloth nappies available now and am very keen to try them. With 1st bub it seemed terry towel was only option apart from disposables. But with hemp etc now available, I think its going to take a bit of research!!! (and knowledge of abbreviations!). Baby shops should really start to stock them otherwise there will be a lot of people out there who will never know the options. Here's to a voyage of discovery and to getting the word out. I'm keen to hear what people like best??
Welcome beeware!
It is amazing what is available now in terms of cloth. Feel free to ask any qs you may have. You will understand the terminology soon enough. I researched a lot at first and now I am still learning (such is life.)
I like fitteds with wool soakers I knit myself. I like bamboo and side snapping also. Those are my preferences but there are many options available.
I found that for me the best starting point was to go with a one size fits all nappy and preferbly one that doesn't need a cover. I also went for a pocket nappy so i can boost it to how much boosting needed to be done, whether it was during the day or extra boosting for the night KWIM. Then once you get the hang of that you pretty much have it in the bag and explore other different sorts of MCN because you then have the confidence to do it.
Hi Lauren, I'm thinking of converting to cloth, and have spent the last 3 hrs researching...:eek: ... I'm curious to know what brand you're talking about in your post? I'm a bit confused about the whole cover thing... You have a funky coloured cloth nappy, then have to cover it up in a plain cover? So the ones your talking about sound good to me... Mitch wants to have a bright coloured bum, and his mummy needs to save cash! :D
There are quite a few brands that sell funky colored pocket nappies!!
There are Greenkids (most popular and restocking after christmas)
Happy Heiny's
DryBees Pockets
The Ozebaby site also has a lot of WAHM that sell pockets as does the WAHMania site.
Baby Bloomers
Cheekybutts
They are a just a few and can usually be found at the name of the nappy plus .com.au or a google search. If not just send me a pm and I will link you up!
Welcome to our world!!
Thankyou!
Well, after sleeping on the idea, I'm definately going to convert. It will take me a little while to get sorted though, with the cash flow problem over Christmas! :D
I wish I had've known about these nappies when I was pg... I only ever knew about the traditional white terry towelling ones. My sister used them for the first 12mths with her 2yo, & would always complain about them being so time consuming & bulky, so I got put off the idea of using cloth from her. She's not known for her domestic skills though IYKWIM :p !
And thanks for all the info... I'm going to look at all of these ones you suggested now.
Looks like I'm the newest convert.... Can't wait to go shopping!
Oh yeah.... & MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! :xmas:
yay another one :yelclap: I use drybees pockets atm they are a good fit :yes: not one size though....I also use bbh & i have a few AIO's...Get a berry plush there soooo soft ;)
Welcome Sarah! Pockets don't need a cover, just need stuffing for absorbency. Yeah there are some funky pockets around. I am a fan of fittedsand wool though.
All the best with the mcn journey!
MERRY CHRISTMAS!