View Full Version : when will you buy....

collyspark
20-10-2006, 02:16 PM
stuff like a breat pump?

i really want to give breast feeding a go and i really want hubby to be able to have a go at feeding as well, do you think its silly to purchase on before the baby comes?

i bought 4 advent bottles and some dummies on sale from target last week to add to the baby stuff, but other then that i have no feeding aparatus!

what are you girls going to do feeding wise?

TickledPink
20-10-2006, 03:22 PM
i want to have everything before the baby arrives, i am just going to keep an eye out on the sales and slowly get things that way.

we have most of the big things (cot and changetable on layby).

and no i dont think that its a silly idea to get it first - at least you will be prepared and not running around right at the last minute like a chook without a head

Jodiee
20-10-2006, 03:36 PM
Seriously, its better to have it all at the start, my friend and I spent a whole night trying to find an open chemist at 11pm, to buy bottles and formula when her bubs was 5 days old and starving but refusing to take the breast!!

I have it all from the other kids, luckily I kept my electric pump, dont know why, just put it in a cupboard and didnt think of it again!!

Just need all storage bottles etc, and Im set..

Jo

SammiJane
20-10-2006, 04:12 PM
I was actually thinking about this yesterday when i went shopping with my mum. She made me put a few things i needed on Layby and she is going to pay them off. I picked up a breast pump etc and then put it back down. I think maybe i will pick it all up before bub is born just in case.
I really want to give breast feeding a go this time round, I just didnt get any milk at all with either of my boys, I tried for the first few weeks but it just didnt happen.
Opps sorry blubbering on a bit :ecomcity:
Sam xx

mousey
20-10-2006, 06:30 PM
Last time I bought a breast pump beforehand, but I found it to be useless afterwards cos it was too fiddly...

I ended up hiring a Medela (big hospital electric pump) from the chemist where you have to buy an attachment which turns into a manual pump - it is brilliant! Easy to put together and just chuck in the dishwasher :D (and half the price :P)
But I had some feeding issues to begin with as DD was severely jaundiced, so needed the better pump.

I had everything before bub arrived last time, and made sure it was all put in the nursery/in its place by the beginning of the month she was due (she was due end of the month).

So this time I don't need anything, but I am slowly buying cloth nappies to use (I only used terry flats last time, but would like to give modern cloth a try this time around).

squiglet
20-10-2006, 08:04 PM
Colly, I'm going with Avent too. I bought the Avent breast pump as well. Just the hand one. I think it's a great idea and my dh is looking forward to being able to feed the baby as well.
It will give us girls a bit of a rest here and there once baby is born.

I've been trying to buy everything before the baby arives. I feel like time is running out though and the list dosn't seem to be getting smaller.
Boy do little babys need a lot of stuff!

nuddle
20-10-2006, 09:07 PM
When I was pg with my first, I didnt buy a pump until afterwards, I would not like to spend the money, incase you cant feed, and then have to use for it, thought I guess there is always ebay for those cases.
Taylor, letting dh do the feeding after you have pumped never worked for me, he would say to me, you sleep through, I will get up and feed, but the reality is that you are awake anyway, because your boozies are full, and need bubs to drink at regular times. That is just what I found.

collyspark
21-10-2006, 06:11 AM
Thanks for the replies girls! For those who have used breast pumps before, are the hand pump ones just as good as the electic ones?

nuddle
21-10-2006, 06:44 AM
I only used a hand one, but I have a huge supply, and after a few pumps, it would just run out, I think if you had a low supply, the electric ones would probably be better.

FourAngelKisses
21-10-2006, 07:40 AM
I am going to bottle feed this baby. Tried breastfeeding my other 3 and it didn't work out, plus I totally hated it. I also wont have time to sit on my but for longer than 10mins at a time with a house to run and 3 other kids to look after.

I want to buy tins of formula now, but I had 2 babies who needed reflux formula, so I don't want to stock up on regular formula only to find I will have to use reflux stuff again.

BlakeNatsMum
21-10-2006, 09:22 AM

I was actually thinking about looking at an electric motorised breast pump this time, because I found that I used to have an absolute gallon of milk at feeding times for my son, and as he was feeding the other breast was spraying every where, So I figured if I could pump the milk out of the other breast while breast feeding the new bubba I could save that milk. Also I would use it for a quick relief when needed, because I remember my boozies being so full at times it felt like they were burning and wanted to EXPLODE, they were that full! So if I can just whack a motorised pump on then I would get relief fairly quick, rather than having to manually pump it out like I did last time, and also have a boozie on hand if it was needed at that time as well!.. We are gonna go and have abit of a look around at Big W today and I was gonna see if I could find one that may do the job.

If anyone else has any more tips about which one they think is good or have heard is good, I would be happy to take that on board! :)

Jodiee
21-10-2006, 09:31 AM
I have the ameda electric pump, which a nurse friend bought from her work via me, it is fabulous, I agree with what mousey said tho, the medela is by far the best, you buy the attatchments, $70 I think, then hire the pump, from the chemist, its fantastic..

Avent do a good one also, ebay is good for pumps, you can use the actual elecrtic bit, which no milk touches, and buy all the attatchments new..

kas_chat
22-10-2006, 10:07 AM
Thanks for the replies girls! For those who have used breast pumps before, are the hand pump ones just as good as the electic ones?

I used the madela electric one in the hospital after I had my c-section because bub wasn't feeding well in the first 24 hours and they admitted him to the special care nursery... and so when I got home I did end up buying a electric pump, but it was so noisy and splurted milk out the side and ended up being really annoying, so i went and bought a hand pump by avent which is brilliant and I found it really easy with being able to break it all apart and put the whole thing in the dishwasher... also as bubs still wasn't attaching well when I was home (day 5) and I wanted to breast feed and get bubs off the formula, the midwife who visited to check up on me gave me a madella nipple shield and it worked immediately, it helped shape my nipple so he could actually get a mouthful and I bought 2 more packets and used them for 12 weeks until the pains passed and then bubs had figured out how to attach on his own. I washed the nipple shield with warm water and salt rubbed in and then pour hot water over it and left it to dry or used it straight away. I was handy to carry a few in the nappy bag. I stored them in little plastic containers that were later used for frozen pureed vege/fruit. The madela pump I still have but won't use and the avent hand pump i still have and will use. The madela bottles were useful to freeze expressed milk as I went... very handy in fact... i found using icetrays too messy. My milk flow was poor for the first maybe 8 days, but the more he got to feed using the nipple shield and then I would try and express 10 ml or so after his feed, by the 4th week i would feed him and still get 100 ml per breast and freeze that, ... by about week 10 i started using the expressed milk for the midday feed and that worked well so other family members could help out.

Also I had what I think was carpel tunnel and holding the pump was an issue for a while because it hurt my wrists and thumbs to press the leaver in, so I'm not looking forward to that this time round. I had reduced breast feeds down to morning middle of the night and late evening by the time he was 6 months and he took one week to wean fully onto expressed and a fortnight to move him onto formula after 3 solids a day (pureed apple and mash potato to start with).

btw I used to call my milk liquid gold and felt terrible if any drips got "wasted" during the transfer from storage to bottle for feeding!!!

kas_chat
22-10-2006, 10:16 AM

I was actually thinking about looking at an electric motorised breast pump this time, because I found that I used to have an absolute gallon of milk at feeding times for my son, and as he was feeding the other breast was spraying every where, So I figured if I could pump the milk out of the other breast while breast feeding the new bubba I could save that milk. Also I would use it for a quick relief when needed, because I remember my boozies being so full at times it felt like they were burning and wanted to EXPLODE, they were that full! So if I can just whack a motorised pump on then I would get relief fairly quick, rather than having to manually pump it out like I did last time, and also have a boozie on hand if it was needed at that time as well!.. We are gonna go and have abit of a look around at Big W today and I was gonna see if I could find one that may do the job.

If anyone else has any more tips about which one they think is good or have heard is good, I would be happy to take that on board! :)

Heehhehe... i felt like a milk factory!!! I would feed DS on one breat and pump the other side for 50 ml and then swap over. .... It looked silly but it worked!!

tootiredtosleep
22-10-2006, 11:20 AM
I purchased everything before DD was born. I was working fulltime then and found it easy to get something every week, rather than trying to find money when I had stopped working.

My SIL laughed at how much stuff I had, but it has paid off. I haven't had to buy nappies or creams/lotions etc all at yet, and because we have heaps of clothes, blankets etc I don't have to wash every day.
I bought a breast pump so hubby could help with feeds, but didnt use it for the first 3 months, I enjoyed the closeness with bub, and the opportunity to sit down and relax.

squiglet
22-10-2006, 12:58 PM
Nuddle I'm not going to get dh to feed the baby because he has too. My plan is more along the lines of giving him a chance to hold and feed the baby onece in a wile for fun, and because he whants too as well.
I've also read that breastpumps are good for engorgement (sp?) when your milk comes in.

tootiredtosleep I'm trying to buy everything before baby comes too. I whant to be able to focus on the baby, me and dh. Not having to shop for nappys Iykwim?

FourAngelKisses
22-10-2006, 01:28 PM
I had an Avent hand pump that I used a lot after I had Matthew. I ended up with RSI in both thumbs for the next 20mths or so.

SammiJane
22-10-2006, 01:52 PM
When is the best time to start shopping for all the bits and pieces, like lotions and bath stuff etc. I was going to start buying something every time i went grocery shopping but wasnt sure when to actually start doing so.
I'm not sure if i should buy a breast pump cause i didnt have any milk with my boys but really hoping i will have this time.
I had a hormonal problem at one stage when i we first started to ttc and i was producing milk then so :fingerscrossed: it might happen this time.

Sam xx

FourAngelKisses
22-10-2006, 01:58 PM
Try emailing companies asking for product samples. They usually send out enough stuff to keep you going for 2-3wks.

SammiJane
22-10-2006, 02:02 PM
Thats a good idea, thanks angel-kisses
I emailed Avent and i got one little container :o
I will have to try some more.
I really do feel like a first time mum sometimes, asking silly questions:banghead:

sam xx

squiglet
23-10-2006, 06:36 AM
And visit a baby show. I got given so many bottles of changing lotion, baby balsam, baby oil, powder, wipes.............................
I haven't needed to buy any.

I'm going a bit 'Hippy' with all this though. I'm not going to use lotions or products on my baby. Was planning on just using Sorbeline, camomile (sp?) and water. With all the products as back up if my great plan fails:laughing:

FourAngelKisses
23-10-2006, 07:07 AM
The only thing I've ever used on my kids is shampoo and bath lotion. And if they have a nappy rash, THEN I will use cream (bepanthen).

My sister goes the whole hog, nappy wipes every bum change, even if it's only wee, vaseline, baby powder, baby oil.

Jodiee
23-10-2006, 07:18 AM
no, nothing here, either, we all have bad skin (laura had severe excema as a kid, and I have psoriasis) so we only use sorbelene and baby shampoo when needed, I dont even use anything, I cant, and both Laura and I cant use sunscreen without screaming in pain, so I have to be really careful at the start to see what can and cant be tolerated, its weird really, nappies, some give my kids rash, but the only ones that dont are huggies, and bilo homebrand (which I secretly think are huggies with a different picture etc)..

I have things like the bouncer, pram, nappybag, a few unisex clothes, and my cousin who is a sweetheart is getting me the bassinet..

I have another nappy bag on layby, but just bought a newie, from here, which is pretty trendy (not at all like me)..

With all my other babies, I bought waaayyy too much, and had so much "stuff" that it was ridiculous, but for those thinking along this track, the best infant "thing" I bought was an amby hammock (which, damn, I sold to my SIL), for Charleigh, it was the best thing ever for newborns to sleep in, and goodlooking as well!!

better go, today is the main painting day!!

cya Jo

mousey
23-10-2006, 07:54 AM
btw I used to call my milk liquid gold and felt terrible if any drips got "wasted" during the transfer from storage to bottle for feeding!!!

I know what you mean! I once knocked over an 80mL bottle I had just expressed and nearly cried! LOL

I only use bepanthen too. Its a great all-purpose cream. Good for cracked nipples, baby's bottom (using separate tubes of course! LOL) and also cradle cap :)

We have skin problems here too, so I'm very careful about what wipes etc we buy.

Mikeswifey
23-10-2006, 11:52 AM
I am bottle feeding this baby and I will buy all brand new bottles and teats before baby is born.

I have so much from DD1 that I will just use the same bed linen, clothes etc except if its a boy then we will have to change colours.

But everything else like bouncer etc, I have it all so I'm pratically all set.

But I dont think its ever to early to buy anything for your bubba.

mamesmumma
23-10-2006, 02:19 PM
Hi guys, can I get some advice too please :D hehehe this is just what I wanted to know....but a little extra. I have bed for Mame and a spattering of clothes. Mum's brought a few items too. But lets say 10 sets all up. And that is it. I keep telling DH we should start stocking up but he always says its too soon. So your info is good, thanks. But....

Joy upon all joy, bliss and happiness its looking like I may be able to come back to Australia for the birth. Oh the relief!!! Anywho, that means at leats 7 days in Australia for bubs. So what do I buy in the month before in Australia for the first 7 days of life. Will fly directly to PIL's house for introductions and they say they will buy whatever we want so pram and car seat are Japan things. Should I get the breast pump in Australia to use there or buy it here first and use it when I come home.

How many newborn nappies do I get for 7 days, and how many for after that? ahhhhh logistics. Whats essential, and in what amounts, for the first 7 days?

FourAngelKisses
23-10-2006, 03:54 PM
When are you planning on coming back to Australia?? Airlines generally wont let you fly after 7mths. Nappies for 7 days....I'd say probably anywhere from 60 to 80. They tend to poop a lot in those first few days, lol.

Clothes......10 sets for a newborn should be enough. With the breast pump, I can't see it making a difference really, as long as you have enough compatible bottles for it.

Mikeswifey
23-10-2006, 06:00 PM
I dont use anything special on DD. We use nappy rash cream when needed and of course shampoo and baby wash.

But no lotions potions etc.

I think some people can go over the top.

nuddle
23-10-2006, 06:05 PM
ditto the flying, they wont let you fly that close to giving birth, and as for nappies, you wont have to stock up on them before hand, you can always go to the supermarket to get some more, or get your mum to get you some...

Mikeswifey
23-10-2006, 06:15 PM
They wouldnt let me fly on my wedding honeymoon i was 6 months preg so we stayed in victoria and drove 4hrs away.

We had big plans for QLD.

Katie79
23-10-2006, 07:59 PM
They wouldnt let me fly on my wedding honeymoon i was 6 months preg so we stayed in victoria and drove 4hrs away.

We had big plans for QLD.

I am surprised to hear that you couldnt fly inter state being 6 months pregnant.
Do you mind me asking what airline you were looking at flying with?

I know my best friend flew to Brisbane up untill she was about 7.5 months.

Maybe it was just a dodgy airline...who knows:confused:

mamesmumma
23-10-2006, 11:15 PM
me too Katie79 I can fly up to one month before the due date as long as I have a doctors note saying I have a low risk pregnancy. No medical checks or anything. Just need to have the note in case, I suppose for their insurance. I dont even need to show the note to book or get on the flight apparently. This is thru qantas. And as far as I was aware domestic travel was more lax. Maybe things are changing, dad told me babies cant fly for 6 weeks after birth, but its 7 days now....not saying your as old as my dad Mikeyswifey :no::D

And thanks for the nappy info 60-80 I never would have got that much. Hehehe would have had to send mum out! So I have a month in Australia B4 the due date but I have a sneaking suspision bubs will be a few days early as U/S dates are based on size and mum said I was a very small baby - not much over 2kgs they reckon. So I using my U/S dates but considering that early is a possiblity. Im gunna do all the shopping I need for those 7 days that first week back in Australia (if I get to come...still waiting on info from the government)

ButterflyMama
24-10-2006, 03:08 PM
I want to get a breast pump but I don't know whether to get an electric or a hand-held one.

Any suggestions?

TickledPink
24-10-2006, 06:16 PM
i am going to get an electric breast pump, one of my friends got a manual one and found that it would take forever to get any milk out so she ended up buying am electric one. So i am just going to start off with an electric one.

having said that if you have a good milk supply then i guess a manual one would be fine.

charlis_mum
24-10-2006, 06:33 PM
I had a medela mini-electric - it was OK, but the medela I used in the hospital (the $3K model was heaps better. hehe) Then my sister lent me her Avent hand pump & I absolutely loved it! It was so much gentler than the medela, and i would get more milk using the Avent pump. Aparently Avent have a new electric pump based on the Avent Isis hand held one. I will probably end up buying that one.