View Full Version : You are all busy too!

MonMic
05-10-2005, 03:46 PM
I have to grin,

Here I was thinking everyone else is probably chatting away madly but by the looks of it you are all busy with your babies too!

Isn't it different from those last 6 weeks of pregnancy when the waiting is horrible and Bubhub was the only relief!

I hope all the August mums are Doing OK

take care
monica

zenifa
06-10-2005, 01:51 AM
Hi Monica
Yeah I too have noticed that the August mummies have been quiet lately - I guess the first 6-8 weeks with a newborn are pretty hectic to say the least plus it takes a lot of time to get to know this new person!!
Those last weeks of pregnancy seem like ages ago - but I do remember they did drag a bit and bubhub was a lifeline for most of us!! Now I'm lucky to get on for a few minutes/day, and hardly any time to post.
Anyway I should get back to sleep as I've just finished feeding Romilly.

Best wishes to all the August mums out there!!! Z :)

06-10-2005, 08:26 AM
Hey girls, GOD i need SLEEEEEEP!! Although Charlee is now only waking once a night, its still not enough, especially when hubby is away so much and i don't get any breaks...otherwise i could handle it....but....that's the way life goes i guess....I don't know how all the single mums out there do it, at least i get a bit of a break on weekends. I too noticed that there weren't as many August mums posting much any more, don't blame them really...i 'm lucky to get a break to go to the loo at the moment let alone sit on here for a while!! :p

Sorry Z, for not replying to let you know how Charlee was doing, i hadn't had her weighed recently, but i posted in the birth groups thread yesterday with all the details...hope Romilly is doing well,

Love Shannon :)

zenifa
06-10-2005, 03:55 PM
Hey Shannon
No worries, I know what you mean - I'm lucky to get on here at all these days, I've been quite busy and am off to have a nap once I've posted this.
Romilly is still getting up twice per night (around 2am and 6am), must be due to the cloth nappies and breastfeeding - I heard that disposables and formula feeding can lead to babies sleeping through the night sooner - what do you think?
Romilly is doing great, glad to hear that Charlee is too - drop us an email when you get time (no pressure, get some rest girl!!)
Z :)

yeahagirl!
07-10-2005, 05:29 AM
yes ive only been able to jump on here very quickly lately and only to read what everyone else is up to!
we had a good night last night Maya slept for 5hours then 4 hours and is back to bed again now YAY!! i really was starting to loose it the night before as she was waking every two to two and a half hours!!

i have noticed my milk supply is feeling low towards the end of the day (5or 6 oclock) and maybe this is the cause of the wingy hours? anyone else noticed this?

anyway is nice to keep in contact with you all

Amy

MonMic
07-10-2005, 02:13 PM
Hiya,

Yes Shannon I feel for you, I have 2 (1X 2 1/2yo girl and our new little 8wk Boy) and its exhausting doing it by yourself when DH is away, I keep thinking gee why am I so tired all the time oh yeah I have 2 kids now!

Has anyone left the house and nearly forgotten the baby? I managed to get to the back door , keys in hand and thought 'there is something missing'. ! Mummy brain strikes again.

Our little man has started to wake up this week, spending more time awake and looking around, and he is loosing his real newborn baby/ kitten cry and getting a good loud squark , we have some experimental smiling going on but nothing finished yet.

Oh how they grow quick!

Take care everyone
Monica

Luvmyfam
14-10-2005, 04:37 PM
Howdy all,

WOW, how busy is this new mum buisness? I haven't posted for a while because of that. For the first couple of weeks I was quite depressed, with my excessive blood loss came low iron levels and add to that the overwhelming feeling of being a new mum and some days I was a mess.

Now I am a completely different person and loving motherhood. My little girl is beautiful, breastfeeding fine (despite a few positioning issues at the beginning)and starting to sleep some impressive hours at night. Last night she slept 9 hrs! I checked her twice. Then today whilst we were getting our 8 week vaccs (now that was tough!) I asked the doc about sleeping that long. She said not to worry, she is adjusting and I am of the opinion that I really shouldn't mess with it, she obviously doesn't need to wake. She is smiling beautifully and really is a lovely little bub. She had a weigh in this week, she weighs 5200gms and is 60cm long. Growing well.

I have noticed my milk supply is low at the end of the day too Amy. It was explained to me why some time back but I can't remember why. But I experience the same thing.

Zenifa, I gave my girl a formula feed two nights in a row some time back to see how she slept (so I could maybe get some sleep). It didn't make her sleep longer, if anything it was harder for her to pass, and I think this made her a little aggitated. I always use disposables so I can't comment on using cloth nappies. So I think that a baby will wake when they need to and sleep longer when they are ready. This was just my experience.

Its good to see how you are all going, its also good to be back on the forum. Chat again soon!!

vikki a
19-10-2005, 02:37 PM
Well i finally got time to sit here long enough to post!!ya.... Jade 's doing well, she's sleeping 7to8 hours a night, which is good. Im breast feeding and using cloth nappies, so i think its up to bubby when they sleep though the night. Jazz my 20mht old has mastered the art of climbing, opening doors, aand the frigde!!! He stands there with his little chubby hand pointing and grunting at me to get him some kind of food!!! Which he then trys to share with Jade....
I was feeding Jade the other day and the next thing i know is there was tissues ever where!!! Ah kids!!! So between the both of them i hardly have time to even look at the computer!!!! Thank goodness the other 2 are able to get them sleves up and going in the morning, or they would never get to school!!
Well i better go as Jade is crying, Jazz is in one of the kids rooms making a mess....Did i say KIDS!! :eek:

zenifa
19-10-2005, 04:31 PM
Thanks Mumofmash and Vicki for your tips.

I guess I will just stick with breastfeeding and cloth nappies for now. Romilly sleeps on average 4 hrs between feeds and gets up once or twice per night, there have been the odd 6hr and 8hr sleeps, for which I've been grateful!! I've got the nappy service for a few more weeks, after that, I'll use my own cloth nappies during the day and disposables at night.

I took Romilly to the GP today and she had her 2 month vaccinations, gosh that was tough for me, heartbreaking, I cried more than her (sad I know!!). She's gaining weight and doing really well.

I also went to my first ABA meeting this week, which was great, so I do recommend them to breastfeeding mums or mums to be. Given the number of threads/posts re:breastfeeding on bubhub, I guess there is a need out there for info and support.
Thankfully my nipples have recovered and feeding is no longer painful - now Romilly gets the occasional colicy type wind/tummy ache thing which makes her grizzling worse in the evenings. Also I think my letdown must be fast, as at the start of feeds she is just gulping to keep up. I've tried expressing a bit first but it hasn't really helped. Anyone else experienced this or have any tips?

I'm off for a nap now Z :)

20-10-2005, 03:41 PM
Hey Z, I'm glad to hear Romilly's doing well, and that you got through the needles without too much crying!! It is tough, but you do get used to it....its hard seeing them cry though. :(

Good to hear everyone else's bubs are good too. Charlee is starting to get a real little personality of her own. She smiles and coos as her big sis comes into the room, and when i'm near her. She gets really loud sometimes, you'll hear her talking to herself from the next room!

I keep forgetting to check this thread as i mainly post on the other one in births, but now i see you are all posting on here too, i'll have to try and remember to check.

Keep having fun with your beautiful little bubbas everyone, stay well... :)

vikki a
23-10-2005, 12:08 PM
Zenifa i had and have the same prob as you, when it comes to too much milk!! My 1st bub was the worst, i would star to feed her and my milk would just gush out. She would start to choke, cough and so on. Anyway the best way to feed when your milk is like that is to lay down, and make her do all the work, by sucking the milk up to her. So give that a go, i know that its not allways pratical to lay down but its better than bubby choking!!
Jades off to have her neddles this week! :eek: I really don't like going, their all happy or sleeping and then the nurse gives them that neddle and then their crying, and i'm feeling guity!!! I hate neddles myself!!! Any way i better go as the plie of washing is calling me!!! Take care... :o

zenifa
23-10-2005, 11:07 PM
Vikki
Thanks for your tip, I will try feeding Romilly lying on our recliner sofa and have her on top, so she has to suck the milk.
Like you I hate needles but Romilly and I got through the first immunisations this week, okay, so I can understand how you are feeling about taking Jade this week. Hope it all goes well and there aren't too many tears (from mum or bub)

vikki a
29-10-2005, 01:14 PM
Hi all, well we got through Jades neddles without too many tears!! She was very grumpy that night :( , which i don't blame her for!! Were off to vic to introduce Jade to the family!! That will be fun with the two little ones and all there stuff!! So in about two weeks time Jade will have her first plane ride! :) Zenifa did u try laying down to feed? Was that better for u both? Hope so....i better go as there is more house work calling me... :eek: Take care..

29-10-2005, 06:22 PM
Hey Vikki,

I'm glad all went well with Jade's needles! Charlee was fine for a few ours after hers an di thought i was lucky but then she had a crappy night....i spoke too soon!

I'm sure your trip to Victoria will be so much fun with all the accessories that little ones need! I was just getting used to travelling with Mackenzie and not having to take everything but the kitchen sink, and now i have to do it all over again! Only a couple more years and we'll be right....

Hope everyone and their bubs are all well...

Bonnie77
10-11-2005, 09:05 PM
G'day,
I've just signed up and thought I'd say Hi. My precious bundle, Alyssa arrived on August 4, 2005 weighing 8lb 13oz. She is little sister to Hayden 29/05/03 who just adores her. (A little too much sometimes!!)
The poor thing has been stepped on, sat on, pinched, poked, kissed, hugged, squeezed and slobbered over!
Luckily she is a cruisey babe who takes most of it in good humour.
Look forward to getting to know everyone.