View Full Version : hair cut for bubs?

jessica
05-10-2005, 11:51
Hi, I know hair length is not a developmental issue but I had no idea where else to post this!!

Bubs has heaps of hair, it all whisping over her ears and her fringe is getting a tad too long - I'm scared if I try and cut it
a) she will whinge, whine, wriggle and squirm and she will lose an ear
b) she'll end up with a bowl haircut that looks absolutely shocking!

Did others cut their little ones hair or take them to a hairdresser? I want her to grow her hair but I figure a trim is long overdue!

Sarie
05-10-2005, 11:55
Nathan was a bald baby and when he did develope hair it was white blonde. He was about 15mnths when he had his first hair cut, which I did myself with a set of clippers. He didn't have his first 'real' hair cut by a hair dresser till he was 2 and I was surprised. He didn't move at all, he just watched intently what was being done.
Our second son has very dark hair and he had quite a bit when he was born. He's nearly ready for a hair cut, probably with in a few months time (He's only 6 months) but I have no idea how he will react. The same I hope!

05-10-2005, 12:11
If your a bit worried to do it yourself, take bub to a hairdresser. Most salons offer baby's 1st haircut FREE!!( Under 12 mnths) I should know I'm a hairdresser! At least that way you'll only have to entertain bub!

JenNT
05-10-2005, 12:12
Hope this helps....i'm a hairdresser and on babies i usually cut their hair with thinning scissors so you don't get a 'just had a haircut' look. It still looks feathery but tidy and also retains any little curl babies have :p You can buy cheap thinning scissors from a chemist if you want to try yourself..they are scissors with a blade on one side and a comb blade on the othe other.
Cheers Jen

rynosmum
05-10-2005, 19:28
My 16mo just has his first haircut. I took him to a barber (DH insisted rather than a 'girly' salon). They put him on a booster seat and put a cape on him.

A bit scary for bubs so he had a dummy but it was over within 5 minutes and he looked so much better without his comb-over :D

amy densley
05-10-2005, 19:40
im a hairdresser and have had heaps of experience cutting babies hair ,take her to a hairdresser you trust and if she doesnt like it then do a little bit at a time even if the first time she just gets to know the hairdresser ,the more yoo take her the more she will get used to it ,the best way to cut a baby girls hair and try and grow it at the same time is to cut the whispy bits and then cut a straight line at the bottom so it will thicken up ,good luck. :D

HoopDeeDoo
06-10-2005, 09:09
I just recently gave my son a trim. It was really hard and scary, so I had to wait until my husband got home so he could distract him. I just trimmed behind his ears and the back of his head. He looks so much better for it, and he's not scratching at his ears anymore.
But I had to be really sneaky becuase everytime he saw the scissors and the comb he wanted them!

~MUMMY~
06-10-2005, 22:15
our son is a horrable when it comes to hair cuts !!!
we take him to the barbers ! ( DH also thinks it's a mans job to cut mans hair)
Despite all the screaming , head shaking, jumping, bouncing, wriggling, bending from side to side to avoid the scissors and clippers, it still ends out looking really good.
he even broke the clippers last time... smacking them out of the barbers hand ! woops !

jessica
07-10-2005, 14:00
Thanks for all the advice, am taking her in for the chop this weekend!! very exciting! Will I look like an over enthusiastic, dorky mum if I take the camera? It is a big event and needs recording don't you think? :p

07-10-2005, 19:20
Absolutey not!!! Go for it!!! I can't tell you how many pickies i'm in from doing 1st haircut! :p It's a big milestone! Make sure you keep some hair too!!
Have fun!!!

Becky

JanetF
08-10-2005, 10:46
I just trim my son's fringe. There's no way I'd get him to sit still while waving sharp instruments near his eyes. I do it when he's asleep in the crook of my left arm. I have a damp sponge and a fine comb ready. I damp the hair, comb it down and then snip his fringe. No danger, no crying, no worries!

08-10-2005, 14:22
DS had his first hair cut at 12months as Dh family dont believe in giving baby a hair cut before then-its a cultural belief his Indigenous and they believe you shouldnt change babies appearence for the first year of life.
Which is fine if your child isnt growing a mullet like DS was! He had so much hair it was ridiculous LOL but Im glad we waited it was very important to DH.
We actually got a good friend of mine (whose also my hair dresser) to do it and she gave him a shave with no comb using the clippers.....so he was basically bald when she finished :eek:
He actually looked really cute, pity its grown back so fast, its time for another one.
DH got his head shaved too, so DS wouldnt be the only one with no hair!

ThomasMum
12-10-2005, 07:28
Weve been thinking to cut Thomas's hair soon because his hair is so WILD! Joshua had a chat with his hairdresser he said that the younger you introduce them to this activity the better...

And yes Sarah, at some cultures cutting baby's 1st haircut is a HUGE issue. I remember when we used to live in Indonesia (my Dad used to work for UN), we were invited for a 3 days/nights ceremony just for that!

Thomas'sM