View Full Version : Which sunscreen?

dee dee
05-10-2005, 09:07
Hi all.

Just a quick question about sunscreen. Do you use it on your little one?
What brand have you found to be the best? Do you have any recommendations? My little one has inherited my pale sensitive skin and I want to be careful, especially now that the weather is starting to warm up.

Thanks,
dee dee

Briannabear
05-10-2005, 09:10
I use sunscreen because both Brianna and I have very fair sensitive skin. At the moment Im using Banana Boat Baby roll on sunscreen. You can get it at most supermarket and pharmacies.
I just dont want to take any risks - I had 2 melanomas taken out at age 12. :(

Harmony83
05-10-2005, 09:12
We recently bought Banana Boat Baby roll on sunscreen, which we got from Woolies! We have used it twice and he has had no reaction to it! Because its a roll on its so much easier to use!!! I'm not sure if there is a sunscreen out there for babies with sensitive skin, but I reckon there would have to be!! :D

jamb
05-10-2005, 09:13
We spend alot of time at the beach and use the kmart brand sunscreen and banana boat baby sunscreen. Both are equally as good for bub. He isnt sensitive skinned, his stuff gets washed with ours due to tank water restrictions so I can pretty much use anything on him. I put it on his arms/head/legs but not his hands as he licks it off- nice.

The cancer council do the best hats IMO, we got one in lycra material for when he is wet and the broad brimmed eel hat for day to day use. And our cancer council sun shelter is a godsend- not only from the sun but as a wind shelter as well.

Rell
05-10-2005, 10:35
If your bub does not have very sensative skin you can use any sunscreen on them, just try a little bit on them first to make sure there is no reaction. Other wise a baby and toddler sunscreen is best. As for the brand it makes no difference which brand you use Homebrand or an expensive one they all must pass the same standards.

Chickadee
05-10-2005, 11:18
I use the Cancer Council Toddler Sunscreen. Mainly because I like the idea of supporting them but price-wise it's similar to others.

mum2rhys
05-10-2005, 11:24
I was talking to a Mum about this very thing the other day and she said that she has always had very sensitive skin and her son is turning out to be the same. She only uses Jurlique sunscreen. She said it was a bit more expensive than she would like but she has used it successfully for both her son and herself. I think you would be able to find it on the net.

TwoBlue
05-10-2005, 12:54
last summer i discovered Le Tan sunscreen wipes (for babies) !!
These come in a small plastic container and pop out like "wet ones" wipes
It made applying the sunscreen SOOOOO easy !! Great idea
I think Kmart and Target sell them

Kassiasmum
05-10-2005, 14:01
I use Uv natural baby sunscreen on my dd. It is a bit expensive but lasts a really long time and has been great. You can get it at most baby shops and health food/organic/natural stores.

Tracey

dee dee
05-10-2005, 17:48
Thanks for the advice. I'm so excited now that summer is just around the corner!!!! :D