View Full Version : 5yr old still poohs himself - im soooo stressed out

sugar n spice
18-10-2006, 10:58
My ds always wees in the toilet well unless he has an accident in his jocks,

i dont put pull ups on him during the day only at night. Im exhausted i feel like i have been toilet training him for years now which i have. I thought it was just laziness but i took him to the drs like the chn reccommended and she thinks hes constipated.

The dr has me giving him some medicine every night to make him go regular ( as he was going 2 - 4 days without going) He has become more regular and has only been on the stuff for 4 days now but the problem is he is still poohing himself but now its mid arvo sort of 2ish and well kindy is back on today so im so stressed he will have an accident at school today as he rarely had accidents at school before.

The dr wants me to give him this medicine every night and then put him on the toilet for 10mins every morning 20mins after eating to get him into the routine of going every morning before school and emptying himself.

He sits there but doesnt do anything, its not so much he has the accidents i mean thats not good and not good that he holds on for so long either and is now constipated ( hes not in pain) its the stress on me that im panicing he will do it at school, next year is pre school and he will be there full time so im worried he will get teased and go from being popular to being scared, withdrawn and teased which i would hate to see happen and would not tolerate from the school either mind you. Im going to talk to his teacher today.

See the thing the dr has said is that because he has been constipated for so long he has stretched his bowl and no longer gets the signal to the brain to go if any its a faint signal so by the time he realises its too late, the above meathod and treatment from the dr is to train the brain to go regulary and for the bowl to tighten up from being stretched.

sorry ive rambled.

2s'nuff
18-10-2006, 11:24
Sugar...how long has this been going on (the constipation etc)? You might have to look into his diet. We were having problems with DD for a few months and I found doing the following helped:
- we changed from white bread to wholemeal
- if I make spaghetti or something similar I add a couple of dessert spoons of bran to the mix (it's also helping with my pg constipation)
- I try and give DD 4/5 apricots and/or some sultanas every day.
It took a couple of weeks before she was going regularly again, but it seems her bowel has been retrained and she goes daily.

If you find this doesn't help, you might find the:
http://www.fedupwithfoodadditives.info/
website has some interesting reading. I had a friend who's 5YO is having lots of problems with 'sneaky poos' (it happens without any warning) and she has narrowed his problem down to salicylates. Somthing that can be found in both natural and processed foods.

sugar n spice
18-10-2006, 11:25
Bump bump

I really need to know im not the only one would love to hear from others with children that pooh themselves but i mean around my boys age not younger.

rach

sugar n spice
18-10-2006, 11:35
Sugar...how long has this been going on (the constipation etc)? You might have to look into his diet. We were having problems with DD for a few months and I found doing the following helped:
- we changed from white bread to wholemeal
- if I make spaghetti or something similar I add a couple of dessert spoons of bran to the mix (it's also helping with my pg constipation)
- I try and give DD 4/5 apricots and/or some sultanas every day.
It took a couple of weeks before she was going regularly again, but it seems her bowel has been retrained and she goes daily.

If you find this doesn't help, you might find the:
http://www.fedupwithfoodadditives.info/
website has some interesting reading. I had a friend who's 5YO is having lots of problems with 'sneaky poos' (it happens without any warning) and she has narrowed his problem down to salicylates. Somthing that can be found in both natural and processed foods.

Thanks mousebrown, i nearly forgot i needed to buy wholemeal bread. I might buy some apricots aswell. That is what the dr has called the problem Sneaky pooh.

So what are Salicylates? He isnt constipated in that it its hard its that hes not regualr, slowly becoming regular again but unfortuantly not at a good time.

Prob a few months since he has done a pooh on the toilet.

sugar n spice
18-10-2006, 13:52
Is there really noone else that has had an issue similar to this.:confused:

2s'nuff
18-10-2006, 15:35
Sugar... Here are a couple of fact sheets to read from the fed up website.

Salicylates:
http://www.fedupwithfoodadditives.info/factsheets/Factsalicylates2.htm

Sneaky Poos:
http://www.fedupwithfoodadditives.info/factsheets/Factsneakypoos.htm

shorty_851
18-10-2006, 15:47
This maybe a little different and not much help but when we were toliet training DSS we used things um how can i explain this. Like ok he is only 3 so when we were teaching him to wee we bought him bob the builder undies etc and told him that the person on the front of his undies didn like to get wet so he had to go to the toliet.
We also put a ping pong ball in the toliet so he had something to aim for. That worked until the ping pong ball got flushed and stuck.

When we were teaching him to do number 2s we bought him some wiggles toddler wipes and we told him he could only use them if he would poo. Anyways he was always running to the toliet to try and squeeze one out so that he could use the wipes.

What im trying to say if that maybe you could also help with rewarding him. Like put a chart on the wall and if he doesn have an accident then you put a star up and tell him when he gets five stars he can have maccas.

I know that he has been told there is a bigger problem but you never know it might not help him want to go.

Sorry if this is no help

sugar n spice
18-10-2006, 18:14
shorty_851
Thanks for that i have used every reward imaginable, chocolate, toys everytime he went then i stopped buying toys and he stopped, behaviour chart etc.

I have now devised a new chart since being on the program sneaky poohs where i give him a gold start everytime he sits on the toilet for 10mins and a tick next to it when he does one in the toilet ( not that he has yet) this way he can see the progress and i can monitor how he is improving each wk.

angelickaren
18-10-2006, 20:27
hi suger n spice my 5yr boy (6) in dec is still in dry nites at night and he also does poohs in his pants he was down with his dad as we are seperated in adel last week and he did poohs in his pants every day he may only occasionaly do it when he is home here but he wets himself and poohs while he is with his dad i dont know if its stress or what. I find it if he does it its when he plays the x box or playsation or busy playing and forgets to go or may he leaves it to the last minute and cant hold it i dont know but i also feel like you he should be able to controls this as he is almost 6 but he wets himselves at night so i just keep him in dry nites as when i was pregs i was so tired of washing his bedding every day i just feel helpless i have tried alsort of things i guess he will one day he will keep his drynites dry and i can stop using them

Tisme
18-10-2006, 22:26
Sugar I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOO with you.

Sorry I only check in to the site then check back out again as I am with my parents (their computer THEY determine my time)

Here's my situation ..... My Son is 5 in Feb and off to school (Kindy) next year as well ...... He has had this "sneaky poo" since he was 2.5yr.
It is a hard battle with alot of doctors not REALLY sure how to dea with it but i'm assured it will get better.

I hope hearing you are not the only one helps, cos I can tell you I am glad that you are around and that I am not th only one.

Take care and if you need to vent/talk just pm me ..... !!

sugar n spice
19-10-2006, 13:56
thanks everyone for your replies its good to know im not the only one dealing with this and my son isnt the only one going through it.

Tisme
09-11-2006, 09:08
How is everything going?? My DS1 is Still having difficulties but is at least starting to get embarrassed by it all ... maybe by the time he is in year 10 he might get the hang of it .... :banghead:

sunnyflower
09-11-2006, 17:08
hi,my friend had the problem with her daughter,she was constantly pooing herself.she was always constiapted and yes the bowel can lose sensation so the child doesn't know that that are even pooing.also sometimes the bowel can be impacted which means that the bowel is full of hard poo and then the new poo just falls around it.i would personally get my child totally checked out for this ,you can ask the doctor fo ra referral to a paediatric gastroentrologist.if the bowel is impacted it needs to be removed at the hospital and then you can start again.i hope you get it sorted.good luck!!

sugar n spice
09-11-2006, 17:44
hey
nope not much luck at the moment, he is going regualry now he is on the para choc but hes gone from having an accident every few days in his jocks to every day:eek:

chant
30-11-2006, 16:20

I am hoping that the info I am giving here is not relevant to you at all, but just in case ...

There is a genetic disease called NID

Neuronal intestinal dysplasia (NID) is characterised by the reduced motility of the large intestine, caused by abnormalities of the enteric nerves.
The unusually slow passage of waste through the large intestine leads to chronic problems, such as constipation and uncontrollable soiling.
Treatment options include laxatives and surgery.I know the mum who started a support group called nidkids. Might be worth asking her for more info?

Tisme
23-12-2006, 21:04
how is everything going??

just thought I would check in and let you all know that FINALLY a doctor has realised the severity of my eldest's problem and is doing something about it. He is on 3 different medicines, 2 are reflux and anti-acidic meds and the other is a type of laxative. IF these don't clear the toddler diahorrea blockage then it will be hospitalisation where he gets an upside down Enema .... the liquid is put through a nasal gastro tube. YUCK :barf: :barf: