View Full Version : menus please

lucyp
04-10-2005, 13:17
hi! Was wanting to get an idea of what the mummies with 8month old bubs are presetning their little ones in the way of food each day. Do you try to vary it??Have you made up a menu planner (or is that going above and beyond).
We are currently doing

brekky - bellamies porridge with fruit and yoghurt

morning tea - fruit of some decription

Lunch - meat (chick or beef at this stage) and 3 veg of some description or just plain vegies of sorts ( alternate meat betwwen dinner and lunch)

avo tea - fruit or yoghurt
Dinner - meat and 3 veg or just mixed veg and some custard

Love to hear what others are putting on the table!!:)

Ta

Supermum
04-10-2005, 13:28
Hi LucyP

My children are a bit older than 8 months now but I do remember what I used to feed them at that age.

My daughter was eating sandwiches at 6 months so I was fortunate to be able to put anything in front of her.

We ate Pumpkin Risotto, Chicken & Mushroom Risotto, Stir Fry's, Stew, Apricot Chicken, Baked Beans and trusty old cheese on toast.

I always checked the ingredients of everything in a packet or box including chicken stock ... steering clear of additives and preservatives. I actually make my own chicken stock now using vege's and chicken carcasses now so at least I know it's wholesome and safe.

We always salted our food separately as well.

lucyp
04-10-2005, 16:33
Look at all the people on line! Doesn;t anyone else have a basic daily food thing they do with thier little one :confused: :D

clarey
04-10-2005, 16:57
Hi there!
I used the Annabel Karmel book for my little girl - there's loads of recipes to choose from and you all get to eat together too! :)

Harmony83
04-10-2005, 20:56
Gday, I have a six month old so I don't know how much help I'll be, but at the moment. With his menus we do try mix it up a little (lunch anyway) for example for brekky he always has baby cereal with a fruit (apple, pear or banana), for lunch he'll have either, yoghurt, toast fingers, sandwich, pureed fruit or veg and for dinner he'll have meat and three vege or just mixed vege... I bought the Womens Weekly Baby & Toddler cook book which is really good, in it, it says you can start feeding your little one lumps then try finger foods, ie steamed vegies, soft fruit, bread (oops I started early), or meat.
I found some yummy sounding recipes for babies aged 8 months onwards

OAT PORRIDGE
1/3 cup (80)g) rolled oats
3/4 cup (180ml) milk

Combine ingredients in small saucepan; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered for about 8 minutes or until all liquid is almost absorbed. Cool. MAKES 1/2 CUP.

SWEET COUSCOUS
1 cup (250ml) milk
1 tablespoon couscous
1 teaspoon white sugar
pinch of ground cinnamon

Combine ingredients in small saucepan; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, stirring, about 10 minutes or until mixture thickens. MAKES 1/3 CUP.

SCRAMBLED EGG
1 egg
2 tablespoons milk
5g butter

Combine egg and milk in small bowl. Heat butter in small frying pan; cook egg mixture, stirring over low heat until egg sets.

Anyway hope I have helped a little bit!!! Goodluck

harmony83

draught
04-10-2005, 21:42
Lucy
My littlest one is nearly one but we follow a similar pattern to yours with her and her older sister except that lunch is normally a combination of any of the following - ham, cheese, avocado sandwich, raw mushroom (surprisingly successful), cold cooked pasta, cherry tomatoes in quarters, fruit.

For dinner they often have what we call "tuna vegie pasta" where the pureed vegies (sweet potato, carrot, zucchini and capsicum) get mixed with some tuna and then used as a sauce on spiral pasta. That way when they treat the pasta like fingerfood they are still getting vegies and fish - and they get to make a big mess at the same time!

jembelina
05-10-2005, 07:20
Hi lucy....

This is how Zack's day goes food wise...

breaky - baby porridge + fruit (whole piece or either banana, pear, stewed apple, kiwi fruit) I'm thinking of moving to normal oat porridge soon. This morning he had 1/4 piece vegemite toast too - his appetite is getting bigger and bigger!!!

morning tea I only just started 2 days ago so this is what we have tried so far - blueberries (LOVES them), orange segments, kiwifruit in fingers, grilled cheese on toast, vegemite s'which.

lunch - natural youghurt + fruit. Again a whole piece from the same list as above. Generally don't give kiwi as it's just not enough!! Some days he will want more so I give bread or more fruit.

dinner - any combination of - potatoe, pumpkin, peas, grated zucchini, cauliflower, brocoli. Sometimes it's 3 veg, sometimes it's 5, depnds what I have! I also add pasta about every second night. Have given tuna mixed in twice too - He's not big on the texture of it though. I'm thinking about mixing it with come cheese sauce, peas & pasta - see how that goes! Last night I gave him some pasta with a tomatoe based sauce I had made & it was a big hit. My plan of action is going to be to introduce something different like that once or maybe twice a week.

I can't wait to get more adventurous(sp?) with fruit, just waiting for all the yummy stuff to come into season!! I'm starting to get stumped for ideas as his appetite get bigger too. Hope this helps!!