View Full Version : Christmas dinner......
Well Christmas is fast approaching and every year the same discussion happens in our family around this time...
What to eat on Christmas day???
I love the traditional Christmas dinner myself but my bro and SIL always want seafood.. we tend to compromise and have seafood entree and turkey/ham and veg for mains, then we have plum pudding, custard and brandy butter plus usually another dessert like Pav. or Cheesecake.....
So share with me what you will be doing for meals...
Do you have a special meal at Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner
Traditional Roast Turkey and ham or seafood...???
Or something else....
Whats on the menu for you this year
Perhaps you can give me a new and exciting idea.....
mmmmmm i am getting hungry already just thinking about it!!
EskimoMumma
16-10-2006, 13:30
I would give my two legs to have a traditional christmas dinner, roasts and all the other goodies, in colder weather. (i grew up in alaska, those kind of christmas's are just so darn good! a real WHITE christmas :thumbsup: )
That said i think a BBQ would be great as its to hot to enjoy a real roast dinner, or even enjoy cooking it :laughing:
shorty_851
16-10-2006, 13:32
I seen christmas and dinner in the same sentence so i had to cme to this thread :laughing:
Christmas day is so hactic at our family. We have christmas breakfast with MIL and family and dinner with my family and somewhere i try and squeeze in a sleep.
This year for breakfast SIL and i are organising so that should be fun. We are having the works pancakes, bacon , eggs, champagne you name it everything you can have for breakfast we are getting.
The best bit is we dont have to clean anything up becuase we aren havving any of it at our place
16-10-2006, 13:34
It is far too hot up here to have a traditional Christmas..... normally Christmas day is at least 40!! :eek:
We normally have cold meats & salads & some seafood.
And an array of desserts & lollies :yelclap:
We ALWAYS eat far too much :laughing:
Xmas:yelclap:
We are looking forward to xmas this year at my parents. Worth the 6 hour drive to catch up!
We have xmas lunch and leftovers for dinner, cheaper that
way:)
We have a hot turkey and chickens. Then we have cold meats like leg ham(dad gets a huge one each year) and salads.
We normally get a pavlova or cheesecake for later:thumbsup:
Simple but delicious, and not too difficult to tidy up either:smiliedance:
its to hot to enjoy a real roast dinner, or even enjoy cooking it :laughing:
Its always a drag cooking it because its usually warm weather but its not a drag eating it !!
This year for breakfast SIL and i are organising so that should be fun. We are having the works pancakes, bacon , eggs, champagne you name it everything you can have for breakfast we are getting.
Mmmmmm Yummo sounds sooooo good !!
We ALWAYS eat far too much :laughing:
Same ! Our family are HUGE eaters anyway... Christmas day we all roll home :laughing:
Angelinalily
16-10-2006, 13:37
We normally have a bit of a mix.
Bacon, Eggs and mushrooms for breakfast.
Ham. chickens, Prawns and salad with either potato bake or roast potatoes for lunch.
More prawns and bugs and crabs for dinner.
We used to have a full cooked lunch, but it was just way too hot. Would rather have cold meats and salad and jump in and out of the pool.
Ana Gram
16-10-2006, 13:38
When we have the whole family together (my mothers side), there are usually around 20+ of us.
We have everything. Turkey, chicken, lamb, ham, beef, seafood and sometimes rabbit. And then we have the traditional 100 ways with potatoes as side dishes. Irish heritage.
16-10-2006, 13:40
I'm not sure what I'm doing for Christmas yet :o
If I was to do a day of Christmas eating it would be...
B: champagne, fresh fruits, bacon, eggs, toast, pancakes with lots of real maple syrup
L: ham, cold chicken,BBQ meats, salads, fresh rolls, more fruit, banana sundaes
EskimoMumma
16-10-2006, 13:40
When we have the whole family together (my mothers side), there are usually around 20+ of us.
We have everything. Turkey, chicken, lamb, ham, beef, seafood and sometimes rabbit. And then we have the traditional 100 ways with potatoes as side dishes. Irish heritage.
Eating that, even once a year, i dont know how id keep the weight off :laughing: sounds sooo good though, i envy you this year! :wave:
16-10-2006, 13:41
I like all food at Xmas :D I remember a few years ago we went to my dad's girlfriend's parent's house (did you get that?) and we had an Aussie bbq, chicken, turkey (all the normal Xmas stuff) and some vietnamese (dad's gf is vietnames) and some Greek food coz they had a few Greek in-laws, there was heaps of food but it was really good to have all the different traditions etc. I love seafood at Xmas esp if its a hot day.
And then we have the traditional 100 ways with potatoes as side dishes. Irish heritage.
hehe yes Chelle i know all about that with Irish heritage too :yes:
Reading everyones replies is making me sooooo hungry :laughing:
SassyMummy
16-10-2006, 14:05
I get very disappointed when we have to have Christmas at someone else's house...usually because everyone else seems to have "untraditional" meals (cold meats and salads...).
We live in QLD, and last Christmas, even with the air-con going full-ball, it was SHOCKINGLY hot. Still, we had our traditional roast and roast veges. I can't have it any other way...it's more "special" when effort is put in IMO... anyone can slap together a salad and cold meat.
We usually have more than one "Christmas Dinner" anyway (it's actually more of a late-lunch, early-dinner)... because my parents are divorced. We always have at least 2 (sometimes more to accommodate other people). Last "fake Christmas" we had the traditional menu, and then cold prawns as well... because Mum's bf was there, and he likes prawns. I didn't mind - because i still got what I wanted.
This year we're going to be in WA...and I have no idea what to expect.
DH's parents do breakfast...usually horribly greasy bacon, eggs, sausages and steak (yes, steak at 8am :eek: ) usually with bread rolls and juice/soft drink. They definatly aren't the most healthy people, this is what they always cook when they have people over to eat, doesn't matter what meal they are serving. I'm planning on taking a huge palte of fruit with me this year so DD, DS and myself have something to eat, we all eat the stuff they cook, just not that early in the day.
My parents usuallu do lunch. Cold meats (ham, chicken, turkey, pork) prawns, seafood salad, pasta salad, coleslaw, rice salad, lettuce salad, any other salad type stuff that doesn't fit anywhere (beetroot, gerkins, etc), bread rolls (homemade if we are lucky), I'm sure I've forgotten stuff too.
Then there's desert...choc mouse, pav, fruit salad, mixed fruit platter, jelly, ice cream, custard, christmas cake, some strange pudding that only my nana eats, rum balls (nana makes those), cream, etc to go with whatever we are having.
Mum calls it lunch, but we usually all sit for lunch at about 1:30pm then we kinda just eat all afternoon/evening til we are ready to go home...then we go back for the next 2 or 3 days to help finish the leftovers :laughing: :o
~mia&ryan~
16-10-2006, 14:54
We usually have a big brekky with my dad and DF's family. All the good stuff bacon, eggs, mushies, tomatoes, croissants, smoked salmon, fruit, choccies lol! Then we have lunch with DF's extended family all cold meat and salads. Then comes the good stuff dinner! My ma goes all out and does the traditional hot dinner with all the trimmings, there is so much food it us unbelievable LOL:yelclap: . Oh yum I can't wait! Plus we do a chrissie eve dinner with friends at our place.:laughing:
I could not resist this thread!!!
Breakfast-we have the works-pancakes, bacon, eggs, juice, tea noice and healthy
Lunch we have a big lunch at my nana's house- cold ham, roast chicken, roast beef, roast lamb, potato salad, seafood salad, green salad, coleslaw, pineapple, peas, corn, gravy, roast potatoes, nana's secret recipe fruit cake, mudcake, ice cream, pudding, custard
Then we go to our second unch at DH's fmaily which I hope to god is a dinner this year for-mexican chicken and a BBQ with all salads and roast chicken and the whole shebang!
We roll everywhere for the next 4 weeks after!
Nicpolsta
16-10-2006, 15:03
Well we are at week 36 of the pregnancy, we just bought a house with a pool that gets settled on the same week as bub is due. There is talk in the family of us holding the Christmas day at the new house because of the pool etc.
Thing is a Christmas do with my partners family means an Italian extravaganza, seafood, pasta, hams, roasts, salads, vegies etc etc. I mean you name it is on for Christmas Day. The thought of hosting Chrissy Day with a six week old bub with a herd of hungry italians scares me! There would be 23 people at the house and Christmas Day means from 10am to 10pm.!:eek:
BlessedWithBlue
16-10-2006, 15:05
Depends if df's mum is in the country at the time. Df's family celebrate Xmas the day before so it works out perfectly for us! We usually have dinner with df's side of the family the night before, Honey Ham, Cold Cuts, Salads and lots of fruits etc then at 12am present opening. And then Xmas day it's usually at my aunties or grandma's house and df's family usually come too. We have Roast meats, vegies, potatoes, salads, gravy and seafood etc.
Christmas Breakfast is at my place this year - we are having a BBQ breakfast with Chipolatas, Scrambled Eggs, Bacon, Toast etc with Croissants, Cereal, Juice and whatever else I manage to pull together...
We usually skip lunch and have an early dinner and have 4 or so different meat choices, prawns, roast vegetables and a few different salads. Plus dessert - generally trifle and pavlova and I think I am making a Christmas Pudding this year. Plus Dad's Birthday Cake cause he's a Christmas Baby.....
I'm in charge every year :banghead: but I'm giving people things to do this year since I would have only had a caesarean not even a week before hand :rolleyes:
we have Christmas lunch at my dad's and dinner at my in-law's...
Lunch is always a feast of seafood, prawns, cold ham, potato salad.. mmmmmmm
Dinner, however, is a roast pork, roast turkey, roast vegies... that sorta gear. :)
Yummmm!
And now that we're our own family, I'm going to create Marinated Chicken & Champers breakfast for us! :D (which is what mum & dad used to do... we'd go to a park somewhere and have a nice breakfast before going to my aunty's)
Oohh i love christmas.. Its always so hectic though !! Like we have christmas with mum and dad and theres always 50+ people there for lunch & dinner.They do the works...turkey..beef..chicken..lamb..seafood...spa ghetti...100+ salads and then all the desserts ! Soo yummo... Dinner is usually left overs !!
Then at dp's theres only like 15 of us max and they do the seafood and turkey and salads.. soo yummo !!!
I lurveee xmas food !!
we usually go to my parents.. last year we had the cold meats and salads as its getting too much for mum to do it all. The last couple of christmas' here havent been too hot at all.
Have no idea what we are doing this year
Ruby Slippers
16-10-2006, 16:28
I look forward to my Mums traditional christmas dinner,
Roast chicken , turkey the works I love christmas dinner / lunch at my Mum and Dads
she also makes christmas pudding ,
now I really can't wait :yelclap: .
The one thing i hate about christmas is baked dinners.... Cooked meat, cooked vegetables, same thing year after year no variation and no imagination. I'd love to throw my own Christmas this year with my partner (who is a chef) and just turn everything on its head and do a variety of interesting and unexpected creative dishes. I'm a bit of a lazy vego, meaning I eat meat rarely, but I hate being able to predict what I'll be eating in 6 weeks time (or in a years time) today.... boring....
Angelinalily
16-10-2006, 19:22
Thing is a Christmas do with my partners family means an Italian extravaganza, seafood, pasta, hams, roasts, salads, vegies etc etc. I mean you name it is on for Christmas Day. The thought of hosting Chrissy Day with a six week old bub with a herd of hungry italians scares me! There would be 23 people at the house and Christmas Day means from 10am to 10pm.!
Could you maybe say you are happy to have it at your house, if the catering list is split up between the relatives. Everyone could be allocated certain dishes to bring, and of course you allocate yourself the easiest ones :thumbsup: . Surely the family would understand this if you have just moved and have a new baby.
misskittyfantastico
16-10-2006, 19:41
We have a lunch (about 2pm) with either a seafood or pasta entree (Italian family!) with roast pork, turkey, roast vegies, casata and christmas pudding and custard.
Boxing day is a seafood barbie in the evening with loads of garlicky, olive oil dressed salads! and other good stuff!
My parents have a brunch thing at 10:00amish that includes:
Ham
Turkey
Duck
Chicken
Pork with crackling
Beef Roast
Vege Roast ( for me ):smiliedance:
Cranberry Sauce
Apple Sauce
Gravy
EVERY vegetable under the sun baked
Seafood - Prawns, crab, lobster, smoked salmon etc etc etc
Seafood sauce
lemon juice & pepper
Traditional Pudding ( started in October)
Brandy Sauce
Then my house for:
Crates of mango, watermelon etc etc in pool so you dont get sticky
Then my DHs house for the
Pasta
Canoli
Caneloni
Salads
Egg plant, tomato etc etc on BBQ
THE WALKERS/ROMEOS EAT!
Ohhhhhhhhhh, did I menton the copious amounts of alcohol at every point lol? :laughing: (tomato juice for me this year)
And then we have the Boxing Day Pic Nic lasting all day feuled with more food and alcohol etc etc
Its more of a binge eat/drink/sleep week period between Christmas Eve and New Years Day ( yes, we have a New Years Day thing too! ):laughing:
we celebrate xmas with my family at my grandparents house... we have xmas dinner on the 24th because that's the way my grandparents did it when they were young and in their birthplaces of Czech Republic and Austria...
we have a really yummy vegetable and chicken soup that my grandfather makes with homemade croutons... then we have crumbed fish that my grandfather does, chicken schnitzel and potato salad that my grandmother makes... afterwards we have some special xmas biscuits that i help make the day before, cakes and coffee or tea...
after everybody is full, 1 of the adults takes all the kids in the car to go 'looking for santa'... they're usually gone for about 1/2 hour, so kitchen tidied up a bit, and presents are put under the tree... then kids come back and surprise... santa's been! then we all sit around lounge room and open our presents... we clean up the kitchen properly, and depending on what the time is and how tired everybody is, sometimes we stay until midnight to sing happy birthday to mum...
25th is mum's birthday, so we have a champagne breakfast at my grandparents house with whole family... prawn cocktails, oyesters, cold meats, BBQ chicken, salads, fresh bread rolls, lots of little nibblie type things, alcohol/juice/softdrink... after eating we usually clean up and stay until we feel like going home...
we usually eat so much for breakfast that we don't have lunch, and dinner is something quick and easy, usually pasta or salad or something...
RedPanda
17-10-2006, 12:02
We have a seafood breakfast with my family, then a traditional roast lunch with DH's family (turkey, ham etc), and another traditional roast with my family for dinner! I eat far too much on Christmas day!!:shame: