View Full Version : Tell me everything about YEPPOON!!
spideysmummy
14-02-2012, 06:55
Dh is looking at getting into the mines within the next 12 months (he has a friend helping him do this) and we are thinking of moving to Yeppoon, from Adelaide.
Most likely this would happen after Christmas. We know another family there, just moved 6 weeks ago and so far they love it.
By that time we'll have a 21 month old ds and 6 month old babe.
Soooo, tell me everything about the area!
Mummy & Daddy - expanding our family! Our little man born April 2011 and now expecting another munchkin in August 2012! Loving it!!!!! :D
SpongebobMummyPants
14-02-2012, 07:21
It's gorgeous! Like a mini sunshine coast without all the commercialism. I know lots of people who live in Yeppoon and drive down to Rocky for work.
jessesgirl
11-03-2012, 09:14
I love yeppoon!! We are moving there in the next 2 months! I can't wait!
We have friends there and it's just a lovely small beachside town..
We live in Rockhampton, which is about 40km away from Yeppoon. Yeppoon has great services - schools, supermarkets, takeaways etc as well as being the local destination for beach holidays. Everyone that I know that has lived in Yeppoon loves it - a beachy lifestyle while having everything close to hand. Very laid back atmosphere!
There is a variety of housing available - from the old Qlder style houses to new developments being built all the time.
It is also the closest town to Byfield National Park. If you do not want to live too close to the beach there are more rural alternatives.
spideysmummy
11-03-2012, 15:07
So our plans have changed.... We are leaving Adelaide on 15th May!!!! Will be there by the end of May! So scary & so exciting!!
jessesgirl
11-03-2012, 19:51
So our plans have changed.... We are leaving Adelaide on 15th May!!!! Will be there by the end of May! So scary & so exciting!!
Awesome!! How exciting! Did your dh find a job?? I'd say we will be there around that time too!!
spideysmummy
12-03-2012, 06:00
Awesome!! How exciting! Did your dh find a job?? I'd say we will be there around that time too!!
He already has worked lined up there - whether we go now or next year. He'll be working for a mining company but based offsite at Rocky :)
The reason we were waiting til after Christmas is because I was pregnant (due August) and we wanted to be here to have bub etc. However we sadly lost that pregnancy a couple of weeks ago at 14 weeks, so now we figure why stay here and keep living week to week when we can go there and be ahead!
Will your dh be working in the mines?? Seems that's what most people head there for!
jessesgirl
12-03-2012, 08:29
Oh gosh I'm so sorry to hear hun...
That's awesome! Have u looked into costs for relocating.... Oh not cheap at all! Haha.
Dh got a job in Gladstone doing 10 on 4 off soil testing for a mining company.. If you like slow beachside towns then you'll love yeppoon! My good friend lives there and we love going up.. So excited to be moving there..
Have u looked at a home yet? I can't see much ATM...
spideysmummy
12-03-2012, 09:38
Yeah looked into moving costs.. Well our friends did lol, they had everything stored in our garage and it only went up 2 weeks ago. Cost them $3000 for heaps of stuff so not too bad. We are selling everything !!! Selling it all, taking only what we can fit in and on our car!!! So a whole new start up there.
I've been looking at houses, but our friends are setting up their carpeted garage for us with air con, bed etc so we can stay there for a month or 2 til we find somewhere. 4 adults & 4 kids I'm sure we will be wanting to find our own place and get settled lol.
I have been to Mackay quite afew times but never Yeppoon so a bit scary! Mostly exciting.
How are your moving plans going?
jessesgirl
12-03-2012, 20:07
Oh wow that's nice of your friends! But yes I would imagine the squishiness!! Haha all part of the fun!!
I've asked around and I've got quotes $1475 up to $2700!
I think we will be up there around the same time as you! Rents are a lot cheaper than the coast from what I've seen!
jessesgirl
12-03-2012, 20:09
We sold all our furniture when we sold our house but bought new stuff and put it all in storage... Wish I didn't now!!! Haha
At least you can go furniture shopping when u get up there!! Haha
spideysmummy
13-03-2012, 06:55
Hahaha oh. Atleast it's already packed up lol.
Yup furniture shopping will be fun! Rent is pretty comparable to where we live in Adelaide but def cheaper than GC! (that is where you are isn't it haha)
How exciting hey?! 9 weeks til we will be on the way up OMG !!!!!
jessesgirl
13-03-2012, 19:55
Yep rents are high-ish on the gold coast! Have dropped a bit with the gfc but still! I'm just looking forward to a new adventure and a better lifestyle.
Yes it's all in storage but still our bed, 2 teles, yadda yadda as well as the crap we have accumulated over the year we have been at my mums! I've started doing major clean out chucking bags of clothes and donating them to animal welfare leagues, so hopefully it's just the car we fill and the rest in a removalist truck!
9 weeks will go so fast too! Will u drive??
spideysmummy
17-03-2012, 07:37
Yeah we are driving.... 8 weeks today til we leave !!!!
jessesgirl
21-03-2012, 07:11
Hey spideysmum,
How are you going hun? Saw your other post and now I feel so silly carrying on so much with this trip to yeppoon..
I hope your ok lovely...
spideysmummy
22-03-2012, 08:33
Thanks hun. Don't feel silly. Planning the move has been a great distraction for me... Except now it's pretty much all planned so it's just a waiting game.
I havent cried in afew days so that's a good sign I think, but it's still hard. I am really looking forward to our holiday on the way up. We are spending afew days in Byron & another few days on the GC. Will be good to relax and be somewhere different.
How are you going with the plans? Set a date?
jessesgirl
27-03-2012, 16:20
Oh that sounds nice! Jealous actually! Sounds like the break you need! How are you feeling?
I can't understand what your feeling but I could def imagine.. You are so blessed to have a gorgeous lil boy!
How are you going with selling your furniture? I have sold a few bits and pieces along with my coffee table, it has the fake chunky silver legs which will rust in a second being on the beach + then I don't have to cart it up to poon.
I announced our move the other day on fb! Everyone was so surprised! I can't wait! Rung a few agents - apparently its crazy with the mining boom! But we will be up there on the 12-15th to stay with friends and look at a few homes..
Dh leaves on sat to start work on the Monday! Long drive ahead! I'll miss him like crazy!!
Hope your well! X
unicornmoon
30-03-2012, 10:21
Hope you dont mind me adding to your thread :)
My hubby works in the mines out from Rocky and we are looking at moving closer so around Yeppoon. We are currently on the Sunshine Coast. We are going up to take a look around next wk. Will let you know if we decide to move up there :)
Trish
unicornmoon
30-03-2012, 10:28
Hey!
Hope you both dont mind me replying to your thread!
Hubby and I also may be moving to Yeppoon as he works in mines out from Rocky. Currently on Sunny Coast and wanting to be closer so we can start a family. Glad to know there are alot of others moving to the area in similar situation. There seems to be alot of homes being built up there. We are headed up again next week to take a further look around. I will let you know if we end up moving up! Do any of your friends know if its hard to get into doctors in Yeppoon? I used to live in Tamworth and it was really hard!
Trish :)
jessesgirl
30-03-2012, 15:30
Hey!
Hope you both dont mind me replying to your thread!
Hubby and I also may be moving to Yeppoon as he works in mines out from Rocky. Currently on Sunny Coast and wanting to be closer so we can start a family. Glad to know there are alot of others moving to the area in similar situation. There seems to be alot of homes being built up there. We are headed up again next week to take a further look around. I will let you know if we end up moving up! Do any of your friends know if its hard to get into doctors in Yeppoon? I used to live in Tamworth and it was really hard!
Trish :)
Hi Trish!
Welcome aboard! I love yeppoon! As you can see! Haha
As for docs I'm not sure! I'll ask my friend who lives in poon.. I know it's hard on tamworth... Don't think it's that hard up there..
I'll pop on later just picking dh up!
X
spideysmummy
30-03-2012, 18:05
Hey girls, welcome Trish.
No idea about doctors either, haven't even thought about it to be honest.. Stupid since we have a 1 year old lol.
Jessesgirl... DEF the break we need! Counting down, cannot wait! 6 weeks tomorrow we leave!!! I'm actually doing okay, one month today since I had the procedure done. Been a bit sad the last couple of days but I am very excited for our future and loving every minute with ds :)
Going well selling stuff, I know where most of its going but it's not being picked up for a couple of weeks yet. Having a garage sale tomorrow to clear out more *ahem* "stuff".
Sucks you're gonna be there alone but not long til you join him! ! I have been watching rentals online but can't do much from here anyway. We have great references though and atleast we are set up to begin with. Sounds like we'll be getting there a week or so after you! :-)
unicornmoon
02-04-2012, 17:20
Hey!
Thanks for the info. I know a girl in Rocky and she said she has had no troubles getting her bub into a doc. Good to know. I am heading up tomorrow to pick up hubby from work then we staying in a caravan park in Yeppoon for the night to check the place out. Quite excited to have a break! Hope you both hav a fun Easter! I'll let you know how we go!
spideysmummy
04-04-2012, 09:44
Ohh how did your night in Yeppoon go??
jessesgirl
04-04-2012, 15:45
Yes, def interested to know how your night went! 😄
Looks like I'm flying up to rocky next week then dh and I will drive to yeppoon. Looking forward to time away. Missing dh like crazy and it's only been 5 days! I keep rolling over in bed to snuggle! Haha
How are you going spideysmum?
Not long till you pack and up start driving!
We have a dilemma ATM... We got another bfn last week and now gearing up for a frozen cycle. Fs wants to transfer our 2 remaining frozen embys... I'm not sure about it... Was wondering if we should transfer one then of it doesn't work we have the back up with our last one.. Or should we transfer 2 and hope one or both stick then move to yeppoon and have a fresh start....
What would you girls do?
Money wise each frozen cycle is $2700 so I'd be up for that.. If it fails then saving another $10k would take a few months..
I'm so confused!!!!!
X
spideysmummy
04-04-2012, 16:27
Yes, def interested to know how your night went! 😄
Looks like I'm flying up to rocky next week then dh and I will drive to yeppoon. Looking forward to time away. Missing dh like crazy and it's only been 5 days! I keep rolling over in bed to snuggle! Haha
How are you going spideysmum?
Not long till you pack and up start driving!
We have a dilemma ATM... We got another bfn last week and now gearing up for a frozen cycle. Fs wants to transfer our 2 remaining frozen embys... I'm not sure about it... Was wondering if we should transfer one then of it doesn't work we have the back up with our last one.. Or should we transfer 2 and hope one or both stick then move to yeppoon and have a fresh start....
What would you girls do?
Money wise each frozen cycle is $2700 so I'd be up for that.. If it fails then saving another $10k would take a few months..
I'm so confused!!!!!
X
I had to quote so I didn't forget what you said, lol. That will be a quick flight!! I bet youre counting down the days (nights!!!) Don't you find nights are the hardest to be apart?!
Going well. Garage sale went well, everything else pretty much has a home and is getting picked up in the next 2 weeks. Ds 1st birthday party is next weekend 14th so ive been busy getting everything organized for that too :) Dh gave notice! They were changing management structure and a whole heap of things with the business so he felt really guilty. They were shocked but took it really well. Last working day 10th May then we leave on the 12th!!! It's so real now!!!
In regards to your dilemma. Gosh that is a tough call isn't it. Are there any stats on transferring 1 vs. 2? Im inclined to go with 2 - however that's basically a stab in the dark as I don't know a lot about the process.
I was thinking I want to look into birthing facilities around Yeppoon / rocky. Not that I will need them for a while, but it's good to know what's around.
Whether you go with 1 or 2, I hope it brings a sticky bub and you get a BFP! When's your next appt with fs? ....Or is it when you make the decision?
jessesgirl
05-04-2012, 21:53
Hey girls!
Last minute trip! I'm in Gladstone visiting dh! Then we are driving up to yeppoon tomorrow morning to stay with my friend! So happy to see dh!!
I am thinking your right spideysmum, think we will do a double transfer..
I had a phone interview on Monday for an employment consultant and today racq called me for an interview to work in the branch.. So if things work out I could be moving in 4 weeks!
Glad the garage sale went well! I love a good clean out! I'm chucking all our pillows and buying new ones! Layby'd new sheets etc for a new start! I seem to do that every time we buy a house.. Odd huh! So like every 4 years!
Anyways I hope you have a lovely Easter with your family! Smile hun!
X
spideysmummy
06-04-2012, 06:10
Oh awesome !!! Have a great time!
Great news about work too. What agency did you contact? I'm considering returning to work when we get there. Will have been out of the workforce almost 2 years! I have done some casual work in that time, but for most of my pregnancy I was too sick to work.
Hope you have a great Easter weekend with hubby x x x
spideysmummy
08-04-2012, 06:25
Happy Easter jg!
Eagerly awaiting an update!! :-)
jessesgirl
08-04-2012, 08:12
Happy Easter jg!
Eagerly awaiting an update!! :-)
Thanks gorgeous!! Happy Easter to you too! Beautiful day in yeppoon!
Are you on fb? X
spideysmummy
08-04-2012, 08:41
Yup - have pmd you :)
unicornmoon
09-04-2012, 12:30
Hey girls!
Hope you both had an awesome easter! We had a fab time in Yeppoon - such a pretty place! We checked out some land and think we will make an offer at this stage...just scary moving to somewhere where we dont know anyone! My parents are moving back from WA at the end of the year to here, and then we considered moving back to Tamworth but you cant get into a doctor there but we have friends there....so hard to make a choice! I still think a fresh start in Yeppoon is the best option..what you guys reckon? Living here is just too far for dh to be travelling. What rosters do your dh's do? Mine does 7/7...
JG - thats great news about having an interview already! Exciting!
Spideysmummy- not long now!
Whereabouts in Yeppoon are you both going to be living? The block we are looking at is in Tanby Heights Estate...very nice there. See if they accept our offer!
Hey where do you go to enter that info about yourself into the footer of each reply? I didnt do it when I signed up! New to this forum stuff hehe...
Are you guys still gona chat on here, or now of FBook? Would like to keep in touch :)
spideysmummy
09-04-2012, 15:08
Hey girls!
Hope you both had an awesome easter! We had a fab time in Yeppoon - such a pretty place! We checked out some land and think we will make an offer at this stage...just scary moving to somewhere where we dont know anyone! My parents are moving back from WA at the end of the year to here, and then we considered moving back to Tamworth but you cant get into a doctor there but we have friends there....so hard to make a choice! I still think a fresh start in Yeppoon is the best option..what you guys reckon? Living here is just too far for dh to be travelling. What rosters do your dh's do? Mine does 7/7...
JG - thats great news about having an interview already! Exciting!
Spideysmummy- not long now!
Whereabouts in Yeppoon are you both going to be living? The block we are looking at is in Tanby Heights Estate...very nice there. See if they accept our offer!
Hey where do you go to enter that info about yourself into the footer of each reply? I didnt do it when I signed up! New to this forum stuff hehe...
Are you guys still gona chat on here, or now of FBook? Would like to keep in touch :)
Glad you had a good time and liked it there!! I know what you mean about scary! We are moving 2500km across the country to a place we've never been and know only one couple. Scary alright! How exciting putting in an offer on the land. We will be staying with our friends at Lammermoor until we find a place to rent.
My dh will be based at Rocky so will come home every night. He has the option of mon - fri or the lifestyle roster which I think is 4 / 4.
To make a signature go into 'user control panel' I think it is and it's in the menu on the left. I only have net on my phone now so can't remember lol. Also can't see sigs on phones :)
Easter has been pretty quiet for us, dh has worked all weekend and works through til Thursday. I've been a bit sad as we should have been going for our morph scan this week (we lost bub at 14 weeks, 6 weeks ago) but am throwing my energy into ds' 1st bday party (which is on sat) and also packing as we have to be out of here in 2 weeks!!
Hope you had a great Easter hun. Pm me your name and I'll find you on fb x
unicornmoon
09-04-2012, 16:36
Hey!
Thats awesome that your dh can come home everynight!
A couple of my friends have miscarried in last couple months. Glad you have other things to occupy you as horrible as packing is! We are trying atm, we have moved around so much in the last 4 years and just wanted to wait until we were a bit more settled. Im 30 next month but dh is 4 years younger than me, so now is the time, and thats why we wanting to be closer in Yeppoon.
I messaged you my name to add me on Fbook...I also found a few playgroups in Yeppoon that have FBook pages also that catch up and stuff.
Oh with the birthing facilites in Yeppoon, I have heard that Yeppoon hospital doesnt do maturnity, so people have to go to Rocky, but who knows if that has changed with all the people relocating to the area.
Good luck with the packing! :) Chat soon x
spideysmummy
10-04-2012, 08:18
I've sent you a request and I see you already found JG :)
Will have to get you to link those pages to me! I've been looking for some but its hard only having net on my phone. Also trying to find the online garage sale / buy swap sell pages for Yeppoon / rocky! As we have to buy a whole house I furniture when we get there lol.
I also researched maternity. Yeppoon hospital has under 50 beds (I think 2 are maternity!!) so makes sense not to be there lol. My birth centre with ds was about 30 - 40 from home so I don't mind driving. Well actually, while in labour it sucks but you forget about it pretty quickly! Just make sure ambulance cover is current incase you don't make it to hospital haha.
unicornmoon
10-04-2012, 11:58
Hey
with ambulance cover in QLD everyone is covered, as we pay it on our electricity bill each qtr- so as long as you are living in a house in qld and have ur address as qld residence, you are covered. I will send you the names of those groups for you to join too :)
spideysmummy
10-04-2012, 12:18
Hey
with ambulance cover in QLD everyone is covered, as we pay it on our electricity bill each qtr- so as long as you are living in a house in qld and have ur address as qld residence, you are covered. I will send you the names of those groups for you to join too :)
Wow that's awesome! I actually used to live in brissie but I don't remember that - is it new?? I will still be renewing ours as it just expired, but if we happened to have an accident on the way to qld then id want to be covered!!! I think I can cancel once we have found somewhere though :)
jessesgirl
11-04-2012, 19:28
Hey girls!
How are you? Have my interview tomorrow at racq... Ah I hate interviews! Haha I haven't been to an interview in 6 years!
Unicorn- hows the offer on the labs going? Where did I say it was again? We will rent for 12 months before we decide what we want to do.
How are you going spideysmum? You have the cutest little boy! And he's nearly one!!!!
I didnt want to write on anyones wall just incase! Haha!
X
unicornmoon
12-04-2012, 11:29
Hey Girls!
Unfortunately the land sold :( but we were still a bit iffy with the cost of building blowing out...so all happens for a reason...I have suggested to hubby we should rent for a while and then we are up there to look around to buy, but we are getting super cheap rent here atm so will keep looking from here whats on the market and visiting when we need to! Guess it will all work out.
Thats awesome bout ur interview! Best of Luck - im sure you will get the gig! let us know how you go :)
Yeh the ambulance thing has been around for quite a while - best to renew yours-dont want anything happening to you all on ur big trip!
Keep me posted on the move etc :)
How hard was it to find a rental in Yeppoon? What are the prices like?
spideysmummy
14-04-2012, 06:28
Not sure if you heard - S got the job :-)
Neither of us have rentals yet. They're looking for something. We are staying with friends until we find somewhere. check out www.realestate.com.au
We're hoping to find a 3br place for $350 - $400 a week. Which we should definitely be able to do.
4 weeks today until we leave!!!!
jessesgirl
15-04-2012, 07:39
Hi girls!!
How are you both on this Sunday morning?
I'm in bed and have been since Friday night 11pm... Got a bout of gastro I think.. It was sickening.. So violently I'll.. Nothing I've ever experienced before. Really needed this weekend to start going thru our bedroom! Aghh!! These steroids im on lower my immune system,. All to have a baby!
Sorry to hear about the land selling! That sucks but in saying that it's prob a good idea to look around and maybe rent first. That's what I'd do.. There's lots of lovely areas to build in yeppoon. As spideysmum said check out realestate.com.au I look each day. I've Called a few to have a look at next week.
How's the furniture selling going missy? Love your bed!! Very nice! What will you do if u don't get everything sold in time? I have to organize a truck for 2 weeks time.. Man this is going to go so fast!!!
Have a nice Sunday girls! X
jessesgirl
15-04-2012, 07:40
Oh and yes! I did get the job! Eek! Start the 1may! They wanted me to start in a week! Crazy!!! X
spideysmummy
15-04-2012, 10:35
I'm procrastinating... P is napping so I should be cleaning up from the party but I'm having a break. Been a big week for us!!
So crap you've been sick. And yes we do sacrifice a lot to have & raise babies :O
I will just mark things down really cheap to get rid of them - we don't have much choice really. Will probably end up giving some stuff away too :-)
Next weekend we have our modular lounge, big tv, sofa bed, fridge, cot, dining table, washing machine & dryer all being collected. So that's most of the big things! So scary!!!!
spideysmummy
20-04-2012, 15:21
Not long now !!!'
jessesgirl
20-04-2012, 15:44
Yay!!!! Not long at all!!!
I'm in hosp today! Having an intralipid transfusion! Spose to be amazing! Hoping this works!!
X
spideysmummy
21-04-2012, 12:00
Yay!!!! Not long at all!!!
I'm in hosp today! Having an intralipid transfusion! Spose to be amazing! Hoping this works!!
X
Wow good luck! I will have to google, I really know nothing about it but I hope it does work for you!
Are you home now or did you have to stay longer??
I'm just sitting at our garage sale.. Have sold heaps but still got a fair bit left! Was very busy this morning now starting to quieten down a bit will stop in an hour or 2 :-)
jessesgirl
29-04-2012, 20:31
Just thought I'd let you know it was a stunning day in yeppoon today!! Haha x
spideysmummy
01-05-2012, 07:10
Cold and miserable here today... Meant to hit 22 I think but with the rain & wind its bloody cold!
Hi girls!!
Was just reading through the comment thread and am so glad im not the only one relocating with a little one for hubbys work haha My husband has been working in Gladstone for the past year and we are on the Sunshine Coast, its been so hard on our 21mth old not seeing dad and me not seeing my hubby so we've decided to up and move to Yeppoon! We visited there a few months ago and it was so beautiful, seemed like a nice small version of Kings Beach (where we are atm).
How have you all gone with the move/s and settling in? How are you finding the place? Im hoping to make a few friends before moving up to make the transitione asier as we know absolutely no one up there :(
jessesgirl
10-07-2012, 20:05
Hi Oli Mac!
Yay! Another yeppoon-ian!! It's great here! Very laid back and perfect for families. My husband also works in Gladstone and is away 2 weeks at a time.
When are you moving?? Just a word of warning it's hard-ish to get rentals so I'd be looking as soon as you know dates. Us girls now talk more often on fb than on here, the more the merrier!!
X
Oh fantastic! Im so glad to hear its nice for families! Wow 2 weeks away at a time would be really hard, im lucky enough that jeremy gets every wkend off so will it makes life much easier for me. I have 2 interviews next Tuesday up there (im a town planner) and if successful im aiming to be up there by the end of this month :D Ive been looking at rentals and some places are pretty pricey, but thats to be expected I suppose, at least its not as expensive as Gladstone. Hit me up on fb girls, you can find me here;
http://www.facebook.com/shayne.mccormick.7
Id love to keep in touch and catch up when we venture up :) x
unicornmoon
12-07-2012, 07:40
Hi Oli Mac! I am moving to Yeppoon in few weeks same reason as us all - Andrew works 7 on/7 off our near Moura- diesel fitter.
I am on the Sunny Coast atm also - in Aroona/Currimundi area so not far from you now! Do you work at the council in Caloundra? had a friend that worked there. All us girls should definately catch up for a coffee or something when we all get up there! Our furniture goes on the 24th July, so Ill be up next day at this stage, hubby will already be up there. Ill add you on fb :) Good luck with the house hunting :)
unicornmoon
12-07-2012, 07:44
PS my name is Trisha Speering on fbook....just added you....so you know who this random person is adding u! :)