View Full Version : What did you do for your child's 1st birthday?
proud_mama
11-10-2006, 11:33
Hello All,
DS turns 1 in 2 months time, and i have no idea what to do? So i was wondering if anyone could tell me what they did for their child's 1st birthday?
The only idea i have so far is that DS loves Blue's Clues, so i was going to make him a Blue's Clues cake. But thats as far as i have so far...
Any ideas welcome.:yelclap:
I just invited a few friends over who had children round the same age as DD. Had a few nibblies to eat, the kiddies played, the parents chatted, DD tried to open presents by herself... nothing too formal as such.
I was too slack to make a cake that year, so I ordered a Barbie Cake and added a few more decorations myself.
Because all the kids were younger, most of them were sleeping by the end of it :rolleyes:
For her 2nd birthday we had a butterfly themed party. I put up a shade cover thing (3m x 3m) and hung butterflies and taffeta (sp) from it - looked really girly. Had a small jumping castle and the children played in the back yard and fed their little faces.
DD loved it...
I think it would depend on the age group (if you are having a party) as to what you could plan - eg no point playing party games such as pass the parcel if all the guests are 1 year old or of a similar age.
If you go with the Blue's Clues cake, maybe you could make/buy Blue's Clues decorations and have a room that is all Blue's Clues :confused:
11-10-2006, 12:43
We had a bbq at home with family and friends.
We also just had a small BBQ at home with family and close friends.
I am saving the 'big' parties till when she can actually understand whats going on.
11-10-2006, 12:57
We had a BBQ at the park with our family & friends. I'm horrible at making cakes so we just ordered a princess one from Wendy's and MIL made Summer a cake with her photo on it- was so pretty!!
We put balloons up and decorations up around the tables. Glad we had it at the park - so much easier to clean up!
Ange&Seth
11-10-2006, 14:41
DS's 1st bday is this Sunday and we're just having a bbq with friends and family.
mumofcaleb
12-10-2006, 19:36
We had a BBQ at the park with our family & friends. I'm horrible at making cakes so we just ordered a princess one from Wendy's and MIL made Summer a cake with her photo on it- was so pretty!!
We put balloons up and decorations up around the tables. Glad we had it at the park - so much easier to clean up!
Our little man turns 1 in a few weeks and we're going to do the exact same thing!
i havent decided exactly wat to do for ds's bday, my mum said i can have it at her house but i might have it at a park instead as there are so many kids and i doubt she wants them all touching her stuff:D
My LO just had hers on Friday and I had it at my house. I invited my mothers group and my family. I just bought a whole heap of frozen pastry/party food and popped those in the oven. I had cupcakes made for her by a cake shop with all pink icing and little stars and hearts lollies on the top.
I had presents opened there at the party just before the cake/happy birthday singing. During the opening of the presents I had everyone sit near the tele and I played a disc of photos of LO in chronological order right from when I was preggers with her up till this week.
Mostly it was just eating/chatting and taking care of LO's inbetween.
All the bubs were younger than my LO so nothing much happened otherwise.
It doesn't sound like much, but I was EXHAUSTED by the eod, absolutely shattered. Hint - take your Berroca in the morning;)
For DD's first birthday we had a BBQ lunch for family and friends. I had some party food for the kids, but didn't bother with any games. For the cake I looked at making something elaborate, but decided DD wouldn't know the difference that year and the fancy cake could wait for another year. Instead I made a rectangular cake, covered it in green icing and put little people farm animals all over it. Very easy.
Our son turns 1 tomorrow- we are having family and friends over. Having lunch early as many of ou friends have little ones so they can get home for afternoon naps!!!!
Buying EVERYTHING as I have better things to do and the food we buy tastes just as good- chicken pieces (Red Rooster), fish cocktails, meat and cheese platter, rolls and salad. Simple and easy so that we can enjoy ourselves rather than slaving in the kitchen!!!!
blessedmummy
21-10-2006, 19:23
for emily... um.. nothin really, cause we were living in a remote area and no family close by, but we did something when she was 2! also for clare, it was the same, but we were living here.. only cause she didnt really know what was goin on, and decided to wait til she was 2, she knew a bit more then.
mythreelittlemonkeys
21-10-2006, 20:23
ok I really naive here - do one year olds not know what going on? I had planned (ok in advance!!) to have a travelling farm to our back yard for dd's 1st bday...as her room is farmyard and she will recognise the animals by 1 wont she?? if not I will wait till 2 and just have few friends over for 1
yeah I thought of doing the farm thing for my LO but decided to wait until bday #2. I just figured she would get more out of it then. Also I was afraid she might hurt the poor little critters, not understanding "gentle, gentle" yet. She had a close call with a dog she was "patting" and it whipped around and almost chomped her hand off:eek:
we just had close family over, and had a bbq.. nibblies and cake.
Well, you know your child best, and if you think she will enjoy having a farmyard at her party, why not?
Most of our family live interstate, so we just had a backyard BBQ and invited anyone who wanted to stay the night - some stayed inside, others brought a campervan, and others stayed at other friends places. We ordered a cake from Woolies and had a few nibblies, then a basic sausage sizzle for lunch. Our DD even went down for a nap for an hour in the middle of it, then got back up and came back to have her cake and play some more.
It ended up being quite a big event - far more people came than we expected - but it was a lovely day and we all enjoyed catching up with family from afar. As so many people stayed at our house, we had heaps of help cleaning up, and it was all quite easy!
I think a party at a park is also a great idea - easier to clean up, and playground equipment for the kids. Just get people to bring a picnic blanket if there isn't much seating at the venue.
We had a barbie as well! A few decorations and a carrot birthday cake that the littlies could eat as well if they wanted. It was pretty low-stress - I'm saving the extravaganzas for later!!
we has inlaws over for cake but dd was sick on her 1st bday :(
Kaileysmum
08-11-2006, 12:11
For DD's 1st birthday last month we just went to a local park with a small group of family and friends and had a bbq. She loved it!!