View Full Version : Bubs uncovered in cot
Those who have done cc know that your bubs moves around a bit when waking and then settling. Do you worry that your bubs is uncovered :confused: . I tuck my DS in but he is often upside down in his cot or sideways etc without his blanket :eek: . It is hard to dress him too warmly due to the climate in Qld being warmish early evening. I usually put him in a wondersuit and add socks if it is going to be cold. Wondering what others do? I think it is too warm to use a sleeping bag, he also sleeps on his side or tummy now whereas he didn't before I did the cc. :confused:
jess_live_die
10-10-2006, 22:52
i live in perth but even in summer i dress my girls in winter clothes and just put a sheet over them and they dnt get to hearted i hope that helps
CrazyBeautiful
11-10-2006, 01:33
My DS used to wake up during the night crying due to kicking off his sheet and blankets. I invested in a gro-bag and it's the best thing I ever did. Doesn't wake up during the night at all now. I've had peaceful nights the past 3 months using this method.
luckie_me
11-10-2006, 06:19
Every morning when DP and I wake DS is sideways in his cot I really worry that he might hurt his head so i try to move him with out waking him.. doesnt always work! I also dress in a wondersuit for bed! he wasnt the wamest this morning so he ended up in my bed! Best way to warm him up!
Megan
Little Gorilla
11-10-2006, 06:54
My son has never like covers on him...still doesn't and he is 20 months now.
I'm on the Gold Coast and he usually goes to sleep around 730pm which by then its getting a little cooler. I dress him in his pjs around 7pm - he wears a singlet (some nights if its cooler) and a thin fleecy top and bottom (with little feet already in them).
Having said that, my bub has always been a sweaty bub though.
Wish_Bear
11-10-2006, 10:19
GO THE GRO-BAG!!
I bought a gro bag for the exact reason we were starting controlled crying. It has worked a treat and is adaptable for all weather conditions. You can also buy a lighter weight one for summer months. They come with a thermometer that tells you what the temp is in your bubs room and what to dress them in so they will be comfortable in the gro bag. It has heaps of room and the zip is backwards so they are not uncomfortable.
Gives you piece of mind as they can't kick of blankets etc. and nothing can go over their heads. I bought mine at Babies Galore. They are $80 but will fit bub for years.
CrazyBeautiful
11-10-2006, 11:04
They are good. I don't use CC so I was constantly getting up during the night to rock him back to sleep, very tiresome. But as soon as I got the grobap... no probs!!!:yelclap: I got mine from Bambini Pronto (formerly Bump to 3) for about $60.
Rhys'Mum
11-10-2006, 16:49
We use a Grobag, and now another similar cheaper one as well. We have a really light weight one for summer for just this reason.
We live in Canberra so over winter it is freezing and the sleeping bag is great. (Although I'm a bit of a sook and we have central heating so our house really doesn't get below about 18 degrees). But surprising though it might be to some, Canberra can also get really hot and I've found a summer sleeping bag worked well then.
We took the little man overseas with us recently and it was mid to high 30s and pretty muggy so I put him in the summer sleeping bag just in his nappy. I figured it was like going to bed in summer... I prefer to have my undies on and a sheet than summer PJs and no sheet. (He can disagree when he gets older but for now sleeping bag it is....)
brodiebunch
23-10-2006, 15:03
My son is so active even in his sleep that sheets etc. are dangerous.He is still in his winter sleeping bag as we livein a cooler winter climate but as we don't have alot of money to get a summer one I have turned to a relative and a sewing machine.The pattern was only $11 and the materials for two was $6.I hope they do the trick and best of all I can have as many different weights as there is weather changes:)
Thanks. I haven't used his sleeping bag (just a Big W brand) since he started pulling himself up on furniture, haven't seen those grow bags. Anyway, because he is cruising on furniture before bed and extremely tired when I put him down if I had to change him into a sleeping bag he would get all cranky.
Do you put bubs in the sleeping bag just before they go to bed so you undress them again :confused:
vickster
23-10-2006, 22:25
I worry about my daughter too. She has never liked being under the blankets! I put a spencer and socks on in winter and a have a small column heater on low (although not a widely reccommended practise!) - we're in NSW. At the moment she's in long sleeve cotton jammies with singlet and socks and the heater on low.....I know, its crazy weather here!
I still sneak in and cover her over with a blanket, but with her feet sticking out. She seems more likely to keep the blanket on this way.
However, you can get light weight summer sleeping bags. Maybe this will help ease your mind? Hope it helps!
Vicki:fingerscrossed:
brodiebunch
24-10-2006, 08:41
I just slip sleeping bag over whatever clothes DS has on and put him down in the day.I use a sleeveless one for that and so far he has not had an issue with the pulling himself up as he eventually gave up as it was to hard.At night he has a bath just before bed ,we have the luxury of no water restrictions or problems yet in our area, so he has to get fully dressed anyway.
Do you put bubs in the sleeping bag just before they go to bed so you undress them again :confused:
No - with the gro bag you just put it over the clothes as a last thing before putting them to bed. Sometimes we only zip it up after we lay him down. In summer he just has a nappy, t shirt or pj top on underneath and in winter it is a nappy, wondersuit and singlet.
thanks will have to check out where sells these.