View Full Version : pram sleeping issues
Hi all.
I have a six 1/2 month old boy who is pretty good at sleeping. However, he just will not sleep in the pram, which makes it difficult if we are out and about and he gets tired!! He also won't let me rock him to sleep (rather independent buddy), but that is just him I think...
Does anyone have any advice on getting them to learn how to sleep in pram? If that is just him, we will just work around it I know... but would be useful!!
Any ideas would be great!
Thanks all.
Happy parenting.
Hey
No advice here, my bub is the same. He stopped sleeping in it months ago, and these days will only fall asleep if he is desperately tired, AND if I am walking at a good pace. Otherwise it just doesn't happen!
I just try to go out AFTER his naps and not stay out too long. Or, go out with family, so he can get passed around and amuse himself out of being too tired.
I think some bubs just dont' feel comfy in them once they aren't newborns anymore. I've tried EVERYTHING and it just doesn't work. So I just adjust our lifestyle as best I can.
Sorry I can't be of any help, but rest assured, you aren't alone!
Hi there.
Thanks for that. It's nice to know you aren't the only one in the world whose darling child isn't one of "those" who just nod off in the shopping centre. It isn't a surprise really. He's only ever fallen asleep in the pram once (since being a newborn) - once he turned 8 week, any idea of sleeping in that thing just stopped. I didn't mind cause I used the sling (which he slept in without fail) but the little luv is too heavy now AND too interested in what's going on at such a high level that the idea of sleeping is far far away.
I just thought that because he falls asleep on his own at home without too much fuss now (you know, the getting older thing) then that would translate to the pram too! Oh well.. No such luck there...!
Nevermind... Every baby has their "thing" don't they!
Gotta luv 'em
I've also got one! Same age and will not fall asleep if we are at the shops- makes for one really good sleep in the car on the way home though!!
But if I'm out walking for exercise etc then he will usually nod off!
Must be that I am too slow when window shopping, but where's the fun if i pick up the pace as looking is about all i can afford at the moment :D
here's to that mummajack! we are still on one wage as I keep putting off going back to work (I just don't want to - never EVER thought I'd hear myself say that!). Bubs is just getting fun now!
Yes, I agree... The trip home from shops with an overtired bubs usually begins with about 30 seconds seconds of crying then there's stillness all the way... The car seat is his second bed. Gives me a chance to make a cup of tea when I get home, and an excuse to sit read a magazine while parked in a comfy chair next to the carport in the front yard (I can't leave him you see...!)
Oh well. I will just look with envy (being tongue in cheek of course) at those lucky mums whose littlies have nodded off... And they are having a leisurely browse.
I can't complain. Even though he's awake the shopping centre is one of his fave spots. So there's rarely a grizzle - unless he's VERY overtired... :)
Same with the no grizzling- weird! He must love shopping as much as his mum does, I reckon there is heaps to look at as well!!
And yep, i leave him the car seat, unpack the car and then pull up a chair near the car- then make a start on the magazine i bought (its my one and only indulgence now). Probably will be for a while as i dont want to go back to work either- the interaction is just beginning!
Nice to see I'm not alone here. Sienna will not sleep in her pram, but like some of the other bubs, if we are out shopping she doesn't grizzle and has a ball, so I guess I can't complain. I would just feel more relaxed about going out if I knew that she would sleep so she wouldn't grizzle when we got home.
30-09-2005, 18:42
MJ used to doze in the pram then just stopped. Now to get her to sleep I have to wrap her top half so I can still hve the strap around her waist and between her legs and cover the prm with a blanket.
If ds is sleepy enough, he will have a nap while shopping but I have to
- recline the pram all the way
- cover him with something warm
- give him a dummy
- black out the pram (I bought a big piece of navy polar fleece)
He might only have a15 minute nap, but it's usually enough to get him through until we get home.