View Full Version : How much do you spend...

10-10-2006, 12:17
on your child(ren) for Xmas each year?

Hayley's first Xmas she was only 2 and a half months so we didn't get her a whole heap of stuff, we only spent about $50.
Last year she was 1 (14 and a half months) and we spend about $120
This year I have put a few things on layby and also bought a few things over the year so we we probably spend around $200.

~rambox~
10-10-2006, 12:25
We usually spend about 150 on each child. So that is why I buy a lot ofmy pressies at the after xmas sales and on Ebay where you get more for your money.

1+1=5
10-10-2006, 12:40
last year we spent $500 on DS and this year we blew it out to $600....the way i see it is its the only time of the year he gets pressies (we take him somewhere for his birthday but he doesn't get pressies yet) because his birthday is so close to christmas. plus we don't have family who spoil him and hes an only child........next that will change. maybe then we'll be spending about $300 on each.

~rambox~
10-10-2006, 12:42
last year we spent $500 on DS and this year we blew it out to $600....the way i see it is its the only time of the year he gets pressies (we take him somewhere for his birthday but he doesn't get pressies yet) because his birthday is so close to christmas. plus we don't have family who spoil him and hes an only child........next that will change. maybe then we'll be spending about $300 on each.

Yep it will change i did the same with my DS#1 :D

SassyMummy
10-10-2006, 12:45
DD's only had 1 Christmas, and she was 5 months spot-on Christmas day. I think we spent a fair bit (I mean...I spent a fair bit...DP gave me a measly $50 towards it all...:rolleyes: ). I think it was between $250-$300. I went overboard...that's for sure... but she still uses a lot of those toys now (she's 14.5 months), and I hardly buy her toys throughout the year...so it's worth it.

I still haven't bought a SINGLE Christmas present yet...and i'm starting to worry I won't have enough money either.

Shakey
10-10-2006, 12:46
for my son's first xmas, he was only 6mths old so didn't really get much, his second xmas we probably spent $100, this year i've put stuff on layby, probably totals somewhere around $200

Little Gorilla
10-10-2006, 13:00
For his first christmas my son was 11ish months old...I didn't spend that much as we travelled to sydney (so didn't want too much to carry) - I'd say about $150 - my sister spent about $400.

This year I have decided he will be spoilt rotten - he will be 22 months - perfect age to really get into the whole thing - I would say about $300-400..maybe a little more - but me and DF don't get each other pressies anymore so whatever we would normally spend on each other will now go on bub.

tommygirl
10-10-2006, 13:03
on my part i don't actually have any idea how much i spent last Christmas :no: ..'coz it was our first Christmas here last yr. maybe this coming holiday season, i'll know how much. last yr all of our Christmas clothes came fr Philippines and they're heaps of them. it's a lot cheaper to shop clothes and stuffs fr Phils compared here in Australia, maybe it's because of the labor cost, i guess...:confused:

jhet

~mia&ryan~
10-10-2006, 13:06
This will be Mia's first chrissie, she will be 8 months, but I have already spent a fair bit on her. So far around $200 :( I can't help myself lol mind you I am buying her things that she will continue to use. Plus clothes, hats, etc. She is very spoilt:laughing: :D

~rambox~
10-10-2006, 13:08
This will be Mia's first chrissie, she will be 8 months, but I have already spent a fair bit on her. So far around $200 :( I can't help myself lol mind you I am buying her things that she will continue to use. Plus clothes, hats, etc. She is very spoilt:laughing: :D

Do you go in and test all the toys first?? COme on guys I know I do cause if it doesnt entertain me I dont buy it :laughing:

melbryan
10-10-2006, 13:16
They get one big present and a couple of small things it's hard our baby will be 5 mths so I bought him a tickle me elmo and TJ bear and my 2 1/2 yr old a wiggles electric car. Both cot me about $170-200 each. I am a real sucker for toys and toy sales.

Shakey
10-10-2006, 13:17
Do you go in and test all the toys first?? COme on guys I know I do cause if it doesnt entertain me I dont buy it :laughing:

:laughing: :laughing: Of course, have to try before I buy pmsl,

LadyLauren
10-10-2006, 13:46
Im a spoiler at christmas.

My son gets atleast $600 on him. This year his getting a new bike, and i have $400 worth of toys on layby.

But on the same token my mum gets easy $200 spent on her..

I cant help it i was always spoilt as a child, i have a spare room at my dads where i keep all the pressies... cause i start in january.

I also buy for the Target tree. Atleast 3 presents.

spiritedfamily
10-10-2006, 13:58
I have found after 4 kids which equates to 10 Christmas's...We now have enough toys and this Christmas I have had to think about what we want to do because our kids don't really need anything (and what a blessing that is).

Its looking like we are buying an item which is suitable for all the kids but more so for the oldest (table tennis) and 2 toy items for each child and the books they want..

So I'd say between all of them - we'll spend $300...$75.00 each

Niki
10-10-2006, 14:35
we have spent about $300 so far on xmas prezzies for ds and his bday is a few days after so i have spent nearly the same on that, df is now trying to keep me from the shops becoz i cant help but buying all those cute lil toys that come out

SamanthaJane
10-10-2006, 14:47
DD will only be about 2 months old by the time Christmas comes... to be honest the only thing I have decided on getting her is a BIG white christmas teddy bear... i've only found one i like so far and that's $40.00. I'm going to get her a "My 1st Christmas" stocking and a few other little "My 1st Christmas" things.... So i think my total on her will be $70, if that! I've got enough clothes and toys (i went way too overboard on my pregnancy buying) for the next year of her life already ... there's not much else i can get her that she can use? Next christmas she will be 1 and no doubt i will spoil her then, coz there'll be SO much more she can do :o

10-10-2006, 15:15
We usually spend about 150 on each child. So that is why I buy a lot ofmy pressies at the after xmas sales and on Ebay where you get more for your money.

Yeah I've bought a few things on eBAY, I WAS going to get a slide off there for Hayley but I missed the auction by 10 minutes. :banghead: Oh well, theres always next time.

SnoozesWithCats
10-10-2006, 15:32
I think the total will come to about $100 for Rachel and $50 for Julia this year. We don't like to have too much in our house - there's enough guff there already! And I hate getting rid of stuff, so I figure the way to avoid having our posessions crowding us out of our house is to avoid buying stuff in the first place!

2s'nuff
10-10-2006, 16:15
I don't really pay much attention to how much I spend at Christmas as so far we've only had DD to buy for.

Last Christmas I bought her a LeapFrog LeapPad and quite a few small items as we flew to Darwin for Christmas.

This year DD got a cubby house for her birthday ($1000 worth) so I've decided against buying anything big for Christmas. Instead I've set aside a few toys for her cubby (toaster, vacuum etc) and bought a few more books for her LeapPad.

Having said that however, we might buy her (before Christmas) a bedroom suite as she is moving rooms to make way for the new arrival. So she'll probably be getting something big, but just not as a Christmas present.

angcaltam
10-10-2006, 16:44
We spend about $100 on each kid then we get them a joint present.

10-10-2006, 16:51
AS DS's birthday is kind of close to Christmas, I've brought all those presents as well with his Christmas gifts. I spent $150 on toys, $80 on clothes for him and they will be split between the two events.

Being the first grandchild for both sides though - believe me, I don't need to really get him anything :eek: Everyone else has done the craziness for me!

Lirael
10-10-2006, 16:53
We spend about $100 on each kid then we get them a joint present.

thats same with us. well, me. money is tight this year so they are getting a playhouse(under 100) and $60 each for little toys. i have a few items of clothing i bought in feb put aside too. DP is getting a little toy kitchen for DD and a talking buzz lightyear for DS
both the kids, DP, BIL, and 2 nieces all have birthdays in 2 months either side of christmas so we have alot to buy!!

rainbowbaby
10-10-2006, 17:07
I had to tell you this one as I am stoked with it, we have Amex which is purely a charge card and pay it all off end of month so we use it for most things and as it has reward points you put towards things, you can use with flights but we never get to go anywhere, anyway we have around 300,000+ points and never use them for anything. So this year I used 80,000 points and my DD is getting an Battery Powered Car and a Mercedes Benz convertible at that! I know that sounds a bit spoiled but for me buying the groceries and whatever we can on Amex for the things we needed I have been able to buy my DD an unreal present that didn't cost me any extra. HOORAY:smiliedance: last year I used 30,000 points and bought her her first tricycle with a push handle. (only problem is the car has arrived no idea where to put it until Christmas Day

~mia&ryan~
12-10-2006, 10:04
I had to tell you this one as I am stoked with it, we have Amex which is purely a charge card and pay it all off end of month so we use it for most things and as it has reward points you put towards things, you can use with flights but we never get to go anywhere, anyway we have around 300,000+ points and never use them for anything. So this year I used 80,000 points and my DD is getting an Battery Powered Car and a Mercedes Benz convertible at that! I know that sounds a bit spoiled but for me buying the groceries and whatever we can on Amex for the things we needed I have been able to buy my DD an unreal present that didn't cost me any extra. HOORAY:smiliedance: last year I used 30,000 points and bought her her first tricycle with a push handle. (only problem is the car has arrived no idea where to put it until Christmas Day

:thumbsup: Good on you! Love it when you can get something awesome just for doing what you normally do:laughing:

OF COURSE I try before I buy! Who doesnt hahahahaha:D

~Danni~
12-10-2006, 10:13
we spent around $300 for DD's first christmas when she was 2 months this year we have spent well over $1000 on both of the kids....

We mixed in some things they need like bigger clothes for the next year as well as new sheets etc plus all the toys. We don't have family on either side who give pressies really so we picked up the slack:rolleyes:

We also bought toys etc for future years out of that money jut incase next year money is tight or the next year, that way we will always have a little somthing for birthdays and christmas no matter what happens:o

~Emma~
12-10-2006, 11:58
I think I've spent just over $200 so far on DD... Probably get a few more things though

I've spent only about $50 so far on the little one and have no idea on what else to get him since he'll only be 6 days old..

My sister put on a big layby for her 2 girls when the shops had their big toy sales.... something like $1000 upwards... Told her it was ridiculous at the time - now she's only just realised :rolleyes:

Our Dad spends way too much on the grandkids too :rolleyes: but who am I to tell him lol... $150 - $200 at least each plus hes making a habit of buying them BIG stuffed toys - last year it was an 80cm bear each and this year its a dog about the same size.... Lucky I don't live in a tiny 2 bedroom unit :laughing:

~Santa Claus is coming to town~

lilpearl
18-10-2006, 11:09
So far this year, I've spent over $250 for two children (on lay-buys), and will buy a few other things closer to Christmas...so probably about $200 - $250 on each child. However, this year I'm only buying very educational toys (i.e...blocks, magnets, etc) because they have too many other stupid toys that are driving me insane!! My son is 2 and my daughter about to turn 1....it's scary to think of all the other toys they'll accumulate over the years - where do people store them???

JordansMummy
18-10-2006, 11:32
I've spent only about $50 so far on the little one and have no idea on what else to get him since he'll only be 6 days old..

:fingerscrossed: If he comes on time :p

M O P
18-10-2006, 11:33
Man I must be such a tight ****!
I've got a book for Hugh ($22) from us and a Baby Lego plane ($10) from FC. The FC present will be reused too as he'll get it from FC at our town's family day the week before Christmas then on Christmas Day- as clever as I think my baby is- he won't know! He also won't know that he might not be getting as much as other babies!

I really can't see the point in buying him too much. He was given so much when he was born, family will have presents for him too and he has his 1st birthday next year.

JordansMummy
18-10-2006, 11:37
Kazza you are spot on :thumbsup: Babies don't know so why not wait til they do. My son was 2 in August and only now has he clicked on to the whole present thing. We do end up spending alot on him and did when he was little. Now I know it was stupid. This year will be no different but now he is getting some understanding which makes it more exciting.

Ana Gram
18-10-2006, 12:51
Her first year I spent $40, second year I spent $10. Now I know that sounds very cheap but it was one of those little strollers and she has got a lot of use out of it. This year it is paining me to spend $70.

zenifa
18-10-2006, 13:37
Last year DD was 4.5mths old so we only got her a few little Xmas presents (mummy brain, I can't even remember how much we spent, but if I had to put a figure on it $50) and we knew that she would get spoilt by her grandparents etc.
This year I have already spent around $100 on 3 toys (layby from the toysales a few months ago) and I've spent $100 on clothes.
We only plan on getting her things for her b'day and Xmas, so I'm not worried about how much I spend, as I'm not getting her stuff all the time.

Jem
18-10-2006, 13:39
Well this is the most expensive year EVER!! :o

I usually get a load of good toys from the op shop, and some cheap stocking fillers from crazy prices, and maybe one big thing as a combined pressie.
Usually on a couple hundred is spent.

This year i went a bit over board at the target toy sale, and spent $700.. but included in there is a trampoline, and swing set, and they arent too cheap.

dannii
18-10-2006, 13:48
we usually spend around the $150 - $170 per child.

Which isnt too hard these days! they get 1 main present for around $100 and then a few little ones to open.

And then we usually get one big combined present
one year it was trampoline another was a quad motorbike just really depends what they're into.

indy was only 3 weeks old last year so she didnt really get much, but im sure this year will be different.

A Party of Five
18-10-2006, 15:25
We spend around $100 per child. And they get one big present from Santa to share.

my_lot
18-10-2006, 20:44
i have a friend that thinks i buy too much, but they have alot of family that ask what their children want, and buy just that ...but we dont have that.

im not sure i buy to make up for that or if id buy less if we had family to spoil them.

i am reading so many posts that say the grandparents ect will spoil the kids....

im just wondering- if you didnt have these people in the childs life to buy for them... would you buy them more or would you still buy the same?

18-10-2006, 20:59
We've spent $40 on cobes so far, just an activity tree. Over the next few weeks I'll pick up some toys as he'll be 5 months at Christmas so just getting into playing (Am I right???)

People have been asking me what he wants and I'm at a complete loss! I think the in-laws might have the task of buying him a music mat for the jolly jumper, my SIL is buying him a thomas flip-out couch... but that's all I can think of.....

M O P
19-10-2006, 07:20
im just wondering- if you didnt have these people in the childs life to buy for them... would you buy them more or would you still buy the same?

the same here-
I really don't see the need for heaps of material possessions,
got over that when I was about 25!

shed
19-10-2006, 07:29
a music mat for the jolly jumper, my SIL is buying him a thomas flip-out couch... but that's all I can think of.....

Brilliant!! thank you so much Seekrit. I have been wracking my brain. I am going to say those things when the in laws ask.

Thank you thank you. its so great having you just that little bit ahead, I can just relax and copy you :laughing: (I'm so lazy!!)

~Emma~
19-10-2006, 08:12
:fingerscrossed: If he comes on time :p

I'm having a caesarean so he better be here on time :fingerscrossed:

19-10-2006, 08:16
Well I always go overboard at the Kmart toy sales. Last year we spent $400 on Summer's first xmas. This year we spent $500 on each child- thank god for layby! :D

19-10-2006, 14:58
We honestly loose count of what we spend on MJ :o She's up to about $500 so far for this christmas :eek: Here's (http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b136/vert-01/100_0731.jpg) a pic from last year

I wouldnt mind so much but DH buys me about $200 worth of stuff too. I cant afford to spend that on him, but feel bad if i dont.