View Full Version : Wednesday wedding?

10-10-2006, 10:07 AM
What does everyone think about a wednesday wedding?

Our 5th anniversary is a wednesday and I'd love to get married then as the date is also significant for other reasons close to the heart

I'm just worried as it would mean people finishing work early or having the day off... one of my friends said 'have it whenever i want it, those that matter wont mind having the day off and would like the excuse' but then theres people like my dad who are tight on money and short on 'leave' as hes at a new job... so he might struggle to get it off....

Opinions please!!

Lirael
10-10-2006, 10:16 AM
make a poll!! i say yes, im all for weddings that break the weekend rules:thumbsup:

luckymama
10-10-2006, 10:20 AM
yup its a great idea, we are getting married wed 8/11/06 at the registry office, its much cheaper too :thumbsup:

JuniorMinime
10-10-2006, 10:38 AM
One thing I have been told by everyone I know is that you do it whenever you want to do it, because it's your day!!!!!! If people don't like it well that's their fault. I have also been told you find out who your real friends are in times like this and it's so true!!

I think we will be having a weekedn wedding though cause we will be having family coming over from overseas so it's easier for them. But I also want a saturday wedding!!!!

So do what you want!!!!!

10-10-2006, 10:40 AM
I say go for it. It's your day :yelclap:

Just make sure that everyone you really want there can take the day off so tell them well in advance.

aggero
10-10-2006, 10:41 AM
As long as you give everyone plenty of notice I think it's fine. As people will have to work the next day though maybe you could consider a lunchtime reception so that they have time to recover from the celebrations :cool:

Niki
10-10-2006, 10:47 AM
:thumbsup: go for it its your day.. i also agree about planty of notice thou for people who have to take the day off work

10-10-2006, 12:09 PM
I think its alot cheaper (from what I've heard) to get married in the "off season" so many people want to get married on the weekend so many places are booked out. I say go for it. :thumbsup:

I am hoping to get married either in the Summer sometime OR on our annervisary next Oct 26th which will land on a Friday.

bec79
10-10-2006, 12:23 PM
:yes: A week day wedding is heaps cheaper. If you really want to do it, I say go for it.:thumbsup:

Although, you will have to give people plenty of notice.
I am having a Saturday wedding, but only because we are inviting people from overseas and interstate. I just thought it would have been unfair to them to have to take 3 days off work...(2 to travel and the wedding day.)

tickle
10-10-2006, 12:28 PM
My Friday wedding was heaps cheaper than a Saturday or Sunday one. Definately keep in mind that everyone will have to go to work the next day too. I like the lunch reception idea.
My BIL is getting married on this coming Friday the 13th. Bit of a different day, but that's the day they could do it. :)

mochridhe
10-10-2006, 12:37 PM
I love the idea of a weekday wedding. Plus, if you give your guests plenty of notice (which is usually the case with weddings anyway) they'll probably all love the idea of having at the very least a day off during the week, or if they plan it well, a long weekend!

We actually wanted ours on the Friday, but the Friday we wanted was Australia Day, and as someone pointed out to me, hairdressers etc. would either not be open, or would charge a fortune. So we started looking at other dates & funnily enough the only ones available at the vebue we wanted were a few Saturdays! All the weekdays were booked out! So we ended up having the traditional Saturday evening wedding.

I've since been to two weekday weddings, so it is definitely becoming much more commonplace.

Good luck with it all!! :thumbsup:

Sholmes
10-10-2006, 12:37 PM
I had a Friday wedding interstate in QLD. I think if people want to share your special day, they'll take the time off. They can take a half day to be there after all. You'd expect family to take the day off especially. Having a weekday wedding certainly saves on costs and it'll be easier to book venues at shorter notice and there won't any competition for a date either. Good luck, I hope you have the celebration you want!

M O P
10-10-2006, 12:51 PM
I think it depends what kind of wedding you're having.

If you're having the full church and sit down reception I'd say no, don't do it. I went to a wedding like that on a Sunday and quite frankly it sucked getting a day off work Monday, I had to travel to it from away, as I was casual so it was a very expensive wedding to attend by the time I stayed somewhere, got a present, taxis etc.
If you're having say a late arvo civil ceremony with a cocktail reception I'd say do it.

I actually got married on a Wednesday, it was with just our immediate family and we were all on holidays, so I picked for the date- 05.01.05.

10-10-2006, 04:10 PM
thank you all for your input, I'd love to do a poll but cant figure out how to add one now ive already finished the post :S ?

if anyone else has anything to add plz feel free!! :)

dani775
14-10-2006, 06:14 AM
Yes Charmzy, definately do what u want as its ur day! When my man proposed we wanted to get married on our 5 yr anniversary (5/1/08) which just so happens to be a saturday but if it was another day we still would because it means something to us!

And ur family and true friends will be there for ur wedding! (no matter what day u have it) so i think thats all that matters!

Goodluck with all ur planning!

Caithi
17-10-2006, 07:43 AM
I would def do it but remember, more people will turn up to the reception than the wedding because some may not be bale to take the full day off.:thumbsup:

18-10-2006, 05:39 PM
thanks for that caithi I hadnt thought of that! Ithink we've basically decided that yep it will be our anniversary, the date is just too significant to choose another one hehe :)

2s'nuff
19-10-2006, 09:02 AM
If you decide on a Wednesday, just make sure you give people plenty of notice. I like the idea of the luncheon (sp?). We went to a Sunday afternoon wedding once (DH was best man) and most of the guests (including us and the maid of honour) had bailed before the bride and groom had left. We felt horrible, but we also had to work the next day. The fact that it was one of the most disorganised weddings we have ever attended didn't help the fact.

QTB
19-10-2006, 09:22 AM
i got married on a thursday cos we liked the date....

every guest we invited turned up, we had quite a few people saying stuff 'its stupid being a thursday' etc, but as soon as they found out why they were good about it....

its YOUR day, you have the date YOU want!!! :D

Toffee apple
YAY do it do it do it is all i can say ......:smiliedance:
We got married on our tenth anniversary (18/06/03) & that fell on a Wednesday , yes we had a church cerimony & a sit down dinner with family & dear friends, & then had a huge party at a bar with about 180 people , & they did not charge us :eek: becase we garenteed that many people on a usually quiet night & the bar had not long opened ,it was a beautiful day/night & everyone loved it i wore white lol & well it was just magic & to be honest i love the fact we got married on our anniversary & on a Wednesday ,do it do it do it :yelclap: .
oh & we organised our wedding in 8 weeks ,i had the it's now or never bug so we just did it .
Oh & congratulations it's such a beautiful time .:p

Caithi
We went to a Sunday afternoon wedding once (DH was best man) and most of the guests (including us and the maid of honour) had bailed before the bride and groom had left.

I would have been dev. if my bridal party left before me :thumbsdown: Ours was on a Saturday but c'mon.. its one day lol JMO Mousey - :hugs: your way!
I have been invited to Thursday one ( last night actually :yelclap: ) and she has the same concerns as you but as long as you are ok with some people not coming to the actual wedding, as I said before, it really doesnt matter.

I remember ( before belly ) going out on different nights during the week til LATE and going into work - maybe a little worse for wear - the next morning and that was just for a night out with the girls.

Im sure that most guests will stay till its finished lovely. Just ENJOY YOUR DAY! :smiliedance:

melbryan
19-10-2006, 09:36 AM
We had our wedding on a Thursday, because the 5th of July was when we got engaged so one year to the day we were married.

Give people plenty of notice and they will organise themselves to be there. I sya it's a good idea.
No one came to ours cause it was in Vanuatu, so it duidn't matter that it was on a week day.

2s'nuff
19-10-2006, 09:38 AM
I would have been dev. if my bridal party left before me :thumbsdown: Ours was on a Saturday but c'mon.. its one day lol JMO Mousey - :hugs: your way!

I know....extreemly rude of us, but we'd had enough of the bride and groom by the time the wedding rolled around. 6 weeks before the wedding DH was asked to be best man. We'd had the invite for a while and I'd already spent lots of money on the present, only to find it was another $270 on the suit. The wedding was set to start at 4pm in Midland, instead it was about 4.30. Reception was 45 min away at Hillary's and supposed to start at 5.30 (we didn't leave the church until 5.45). The by the time the couple had photo's across the city and then stopped off at the servo for smokes it was 7.30 before they arrived at the ceremony. The fact that I was 5 weeks pg with DD and extreemly tired and hormonal didn't help either.

Sorry to get off track.

Caithi
19-10-2006, 10:26 AM
When is the actual wedding? :detective: All excited for you :smiliedance: .... any other details? :thumbsup:

mini_me
20-10-2006, 08:55 AM
I think it depends what kind of wedding you're having.

If you're having the full church and sit down reception I'd say no, don't do it. I went to a wedding like that on a Sunday and quite frankly it sucked getting a day off work Monday, I had to travel to it from away, as I was casual so it was a very expensive wedding to attend by the time I stayed somewhere, got a present, taxis etc.
If you're having say a late arvo civil ceremony with a cocktail reception I'd say do it.

I actually got married on a Wednesday, it was with just our immediate family and we were all on holidays, so I picked for the date- 05.01.05.

Hey Kezza we got married on the same day ... however i think i was earlier - we had sunrise wedding @ 6am as the sun was coming up really nice - that could be a way of getting people to come along if you have it early or later in the day people could have a half day off from work... it worked with ours many people carried work stuff and left afterwards - well its your wedding you should plan it how you fell but even a 4pm/later you could have a dinner as you reception

AngelGirl
23-10-2006, 12:02 PM
If I can just throw my 2 cents worth in!

Just be mindful that because it is in the middle of the week, there will be people who can't make it or who can only attend part of the day and there may be a few who will leave the reception early.

It's a bit harsh to say only a 'true friend' will be able to attend. Things happen, people have commitments. It doesnt mean they care for you any less. It's just life.

Having said that, most people will be able to make alternate arrangments provided you give them enough notice.

The best things you could do is not run a poll on bubhub but rather run a poll with your friends and family who you'll be inviting to the wedding. Get their opinions and see what their reactions are. That will be the best judge for you.

Having a Wednesday Wedding will definitely save you money as opposed to a Saturday wedding but just keep those things in mind. You'll also be able to pick and choose and be in a better position for negotiations with suppliers!!

Congratulations to you and all the best!:yelclap: