View Full Version : Nearly 11 months......not crawling.

Nan
09-10-2006, 16:38
Okay....so I said I'd never compare my child to anyone else's, but its so bloomin' hard!! :o As you can see from my title, my DD isn't crawling yet and seems to have no inclination whatsoever to do so! She pushes herself backwards with her arms a fair bit, but that's about it. :(
What makes it so hard is that people always ask how old she is then their next statement is ALWAYS (I kid you not!) "Oh, so she'd be crawling then?" Aaaaaaarrrgghh! It is starting to really irk me! I hate having to say "No, not yet". I don't know why I'm embarrassed about it as I know she is gifted in other areas.
I guess I'm just looking for people to reassure me. Does anyone else have similar story to share?

mum2tara
09-10-2006, 16:47

One of the boys in our parents group is almost 13 months and still doesn't crawl much - but he now has an absolutely massive vocabulary, way beyond what any of the rest of our bubs is saying.

Probably Eden is the same and she's just taking things in at the moment and waiting her time patiently!

Apparently bubs develop one thing at a time - so some babies will be real talkers and develop intellectually faster whilst others are lil action machines and won't develop intellectually til later.

So, I say just appreciate her for what she is (and she's a gorgeous lil thing too!)

That said I do find myself asking why Tara isn't walking yet :laughing: - it happens to us all!

damien's mum
09-10-2006, 16:50
I don't have a simliar story for you...

But just wanted to remind you that, each child grows and develops at different times. And as you said, she is gifted in different area's, just tell them to mind their own, you know what your child is capable of doing.

TwoBlue
09-10-2006, 16:50
Oh Nan.. it is hard to not worry and not compare isnt it...

I cant offer you reassurance from experience as Samuel crawled early and Ethan started a few weeks back now but i know of HEAPS or friends with "late" crawlers ( i hate calling it late because i believe very strongly that each child does things in their own time..)

I really, truly wouldnt worry about it... Eden will crawl when she is ready ...

Here is a story for you though....My girlfriends DD crawled really early, everyone commented on how clever she was.. that she was crawling sooooo early... anyway she is now 17mths and is still crawling and not interested in walking at all... She's not ready...

Each child is so different... by all means if your concerned talk to your Gp or MCHN but really i think she is probably just fine :thumbsup:

Percy
09-10-2006, 16:51
Lots of :hugs: for you. I know exactly how you feel.

DS has been quite late in most things. I was beginning to think he would never crawl, let along do anything else.

Then about a week before his first birthday, he started crawling. Has only just started walking now at 16 months.

Try not to let other peoples comments get to you. I know how irritating they are, and can somtimes be hurtful, but she will crawl when she is ready.

09-10-2006, 16:53
i wouldn't worry

my brother didn't start crawling till he was just over 12 months

mum2tara
09-10-2006, 16:54
Just remembered too - Tara's little cousin was a kind of late crawler (probably not til 11 months at least) but he only crawled for about a week....then took off walking! He's now a lil terror speeding around everywhere...so maybe be grateful she's giving you a bit longer to rest before chasing her everywhere!

Miaow
09-10-2006, 20:24
Try not to let peoples comments get to you - i also get them a bit from one friend:/

Ejs nearly 11 months and only in the last couple of days has she actually got a sort of crawl going (she mainly bum shuffled around before) its not a normal type of crawl but she's fast lol She sorta uses hands, one foot and a knee Lol

All babies develop in their own time they say - EJ was the 1st to sit out of the babies at mothers group but theres a few others crawling now before her

mytwolilprinces
09-10-2006, 20:28
My DS1 didn't crawl until sometime after 10 months. DS2 is heading in the same direction, he is almost 10 months and still not crawling. He does get onto his hands and knees but as soon as he tries to move he lands flat on his face.

I also try not to worry, but it can be hard when you get so many comments. Each bub does develop at their own pace and if they are up to speed in other areas then it shouldn't be an issue :)

EskimoMumma
09-10-2006, 20:29
DD isnt a typical crawler either. Before she would only drag herself around with her arms whilest on your tummy, but lately she has been able to go from sitting up position to the REAL crawling position, although she doesnt move her knees when she crawls. its more sort of a "hey, i worked out i can drag myself FASTER with my knees up" :laughing: and shes all leaning towards one side, i think its great because shes even MORE mobile and the other day she crawled from the lounge to the otehr side of the house :smiliedance:

DD is only 10months old as well but please dont worry. DP didnt do anything until 14months..:banghead:

caz
09-10-2006, 20:32
I wouldn't worry (I know, easier said than done) Eden will do things in her own time. Aidan has only just started crawling and he's 13 months.

I know what you mean by not wanting to compare babies to others. My nieces are 3 weeks older than Aidan, they were also 7 weeks prem and they are both more advanced than him. My whole family are like "so when is Aidan going to do this or that?" My response "When he bl*%dy well feels like it and not a moment before"

Cheeky Little Monkey
09-10-2006, 21:52
My DD is getting close to 11 months old and still not really crawling. She rolls everywhere and only in the last week has started to "drag" herself across the room with her arms while on her belly.
It is so annoying and frustrating when people keep saying "Isn't she crawling YET" but I try to mellow out now and figure she will do what she wants in her own time.

mrsh
10-10-2006, 20:58
my daughter is exactly the same! 11 months next week and not crawling. and i am beyond sick of people asking me about it. in fact it's got to the point now where people are asking if she's walking!!!
our doctor has said it's all fine, she will do it when she's ready. she is much happier to sit and play. and according to our dr she is also very advanced intellectually so it's all good.

was a relief to get on here and hear of similar stories as my husband and i do still have our moments of stress about it.

Angelmist♥
10-10-2006, 21:41
:hugs: Nan.I know it's hard but seriously don't worry about it.My brother never crawled at all, just got up one day and started walking.DS2 was nearly the same, he commando crawled ha ha pulling his body along with his arms and then walked around 11.5months.

I have everyone saying "OMG Ellie still doesn't have teeth":banghead: LOL or "So, she'd be walking then?" Umm no she's not even 11mths yet, give her a break!

:fingerscrossed: Eden's not too far away so everyone can shut up and move onto the next milestone:rolleyes:

Nan
14-10-2006, 12:12
Thanks for the encouragement and stories guys. I guess I have to just chill out a bit. Easier said than done though.

I'm not sure who commented on kids developing one thing at a time, but I agree with you! Eden is somewhat like the child you mentioned in that she seems to show a lot of social intelligence with talking etc. I've heard her say about 6 words correctly and she understand about 20 words (probably heaps more). This morning I was just talking more to myself but I said "okay lets go and say bye-bye to dadda" and she immediately started waving!!!!! I didn't even tell her to. She just knows that's what you do! So, obviously her social interaction is more mature than her physical development. I just wish she's crawl......even show a remote interest in it! :rolleyes:

Nara - I know what you mean about teeth. Still none for Eden either!! :o

mrsh - I've had someone ask if Eden is walking now, too!! I just laughed at them!! heehee

14-10-2006, 12:29
Mum tells me I never crawled!! Apparently I bum shuffled everywhere then got up and walked at 14months. For a kid who never crawled I grew up as a very talented ballet dancer and gymnast, I'm proof that it doesn't make any difference.
So poo to those idiots who make you and your daughter feel less than clever for her physical development.
In the grand scheme of things it is soooo unimportant at what age they crawl or walk, as by the time they are off to kindy they are all nearly the same anyway!!
I guess people will give you **** for everything though aye, because my boy crawled at 6months and walked at 10months and all people ask me is why isnt he reciting story books yet arrgh, he is 18months and is doing fine, you just can't win!!:rolleyes:

Nan
18-10-2006, 16:07
Apparently I never crawled either! I bum shuffled, too! Maybe it is genetic??