View Full Version : Not using cloth nappies at all
mumofcaleb
09-10-2006, 11:33
I haven't used cloth nappies at all with my 11 month old. I didn't realise so many people still used them. Does this make me bad, I feel terrible about what I'm contributing to the environment! Does anyone else just use disposable:confused:
You could still make a difference MumofCaleb!!!;)
There's plenty of parents who do use cloth, and just 1 person changing from disgustables to cloth makes such a huge impact on our environment, and your hip pocket! Plus they look sooo much better!
Well, to be honest, I only started to use cloth because they look so cute. It wasn't about the environment :o
Now I LOVE them. They ARE cute and so much more absorbent than the paper ones. Once you have them figured out they NEVER leak.
I still use disposables every now and then. He has one pair of jeans that need a sposie under them because of the cut of them, and I have a sposie next to our bed in case he needs changing in the middle of the night.
I also love not having to buy nappies with our shopping. I get the fun of buying them over the net, and now I am making them as well. The last pack of disposable we bought has lasted a month so far and its only half used.
I feel terrible about what I'm contributing to the environment!
My first reason for using cloth wasn't actually enviromental factors at all it was more money issues;)
I just love cloth nappies though, the look of them them on bub's tooshies, how much money you save, and also the environmental factor.:thumbsup:
mumofcaleb
09-10-2006, 11:57
How much time does everyone put into washing them everyday? I couldn't think of anything worse. I'd rather be spending time with my son!
When I take one off I chuck it in the dry pail. I use liners so that gets chucked.
When I have a full load I take out the inserts and chuck the whole lot in the wash.
Thats about it.
How much time does everyone put into washing them everyday? I couldn't think of anything worse. I'd rather be spending time with my son!
It takes 2 mins to chuck them in the machine. Another 5 to hang them out, or just chuck them in the dryer. That's it. It's not like it takes 1/2 the day just to wash your nappies. And depending on how many nappies you have will depend on how often you have to wash. Some ppl only have a few so they wash every day, but others have quite a large stash so they only have to wash every 3-4 days (maybe more if the stash is enormous:D ). I wash every 2nd-3rd day, so that's only 21 minutes max per week that I'm not spending with DD2;) . Besides, I think she'd thank me in the long run for not ruining her environment.
I think most ppl think about what's happening NOW rather than what will happen in the FUTURE. How's your son going to feel when his environment has gone to s**t because of ppl wanting the easiest and quickest, yet environmentally detrimental, products? I hope I don't offend you, but it's just my opinion and I LOVE nature so it's a subject close to my heart.
I only do 1 load of washing a day, which to me is no more than a person using disposable nappies would do;)
(When I say 1 load that is either nappies or clothes etc, not 1 load of each):thumbsup:
InSaneOne
09-10-2006, 12:19
i don't do much more washing now than i did using diposables. myabe 2 - 3 loads per week. which is nothing. the nappies are so easy to hang out too and much quicker than hanging out clothes.
i only have a small stash of fitteds so i use mainly terry flats or disposables. but as long as you don't go overboard buying cute nappies you save heaps of money.
Little_Toad
09-10-2006, 12:34
I think most ppl think about what's happening NOW rather than what will happen in the FUTURE. How's your son going to feel when his environment has gone to s**t because of ppl wanting the easiest and quickest, yet environmentally detrimental, products? I hope I don't offend you, but it's just my opinion and I LOVE nature so it's a subject close to my heart.
yeah gremily!
09-10-2006, 13:21
When I was using terry flats with DS I soaked overnight, rinsed, washed, hung out and folded.
These days with modern cloth there's no soaking- you just throw the nappy in a dry bucket with a lid, then when you have enough for a wash, you put it in the machine with 1/2 the usual amount of powder. The fabrics used- bamboo, hemp, microsuede etc dry in record time, and there's no folding.
jess_live_die
09-10-2006, 13:27
i dnt use cloth nappies and my daughters are a 16month old and a 3 year old
09-10-2006, 13:27
I used to think I'd be washing all day too!! But no!! I pop them in the mashine after the kids are in bed at night & hang them out in the morning then fold them in the arvo. I only wash nappies every 2 days. I guess all up it takes up 1/2 of my time in total. So 1/2 hour every 2 days isn't bad really!! :D
mumofcaleb
09-10-2006, 13:33
Thanks everyone for your feedback. You have made it sound way easier than it seemed to me. Will give it a try. Cheers!
jessgray
09-10-2006, 13:37
there are enviro friendly disposables :)
i use huggies on my ds at the moment coz we are yet to find cloth that doesnt irrate. disposables also irrate butnot as much as some cloth fabrics :(
09-10-2006, 13:43
I turned to cloth for cuteness first off, then realised the huge cost benefits and how easy they really are..... and thennnnnnnn thought 'wow this is heaps better for the environment too' lol
jessgray mentioned enviro friendly disposables but from what i know most of these are only better for the environment if you put thme in your compost... not if they go to the tip, then i think they're close on equal to normal ones.
I wash every 2-3 days and it takes me about 20 mins of 'work' to wash dry and put them away.. not including rinsing off dirtied ones as i take them off bubs tho but that only takes a few seconds a cpl of times a day :)
there are enviro friendly disposables :)
i use huggies on my ds at the moment coz we are yet to find cloth that doesnt irrate. disposables also irrate butnot as much as some cloth fabrics :(
The enviro 'friendly' disgustables are alright if you're going to compost them, but how many ppl do that? And it's not the nappy as such that's more environmentally friendly, but the production. They've changed the process, so minimizing energy, factory emissions and reducing environmentally hazardous substances in the nappy.:thumbsup: A fantastic move that all nappy companies should all do, because we all know they're never going to go away:rolleyes:
Parts of a disposable nappy are potentially biodegradable, but whether they do biodegrade and how long it takes depends on the type of landfill, and whether bacteria needed for decomposition have access to air, water and light. Most disposable nappies end up in landfill. Landfill is anaerobic, meaning that there is no access to air, water and light. Nappies thrown into landfill will not biodegrade.
I also love using cloth because my family think I have turned into some way out hippie momma freak.
It amuses me no end to nick them in the head in this manner. :D
I am prolly gonna get jumped on here for this, but want to chuck it out there.
Isn't it as bad doing washing with all the chemicals used to wash the cloth nappies? Plus all that water?
I only chose disposables because I was trying to weigh it up and came to the conclusion that disposables cause less nappy rash as they pull the liquid away from the body. Also, being a single mum, or even just a mum at that, that doing more than I have to is crazy. I hardly have time to sit down let alone wash more things.
Having read about cloth users and their thoughts, I am starting to think that maybe cloth isn't such a bad idea, but the only thing that nags at me is the extra water used (machines use a lot) and the chemicals used to sterilise the nappy etc.
Also, I thought that these days, disposables didn't use plastic in their product anymore, therefore was more biodegradable. That was my understanding. Correct me if I'm wrong?!
Isn't it as bad doing washing with all the chemicals used to wash the cloth nappies? Plus all that water?
A tiny amount of washing powder I don't really class as alot of chemicals. You don't soak nappies before washing anymore, you dry pail which is where you put the nappies into an empty bucket/bag or whatever you want.
I only chose disposables because I was trying to weigh it up and came to the conclusion that disposables cause less nappy rash as they pull the liquid away from the body.
Cloth nappies can pull the liquid away from the skin too;)
Having read about cloth users and their thoughts, I am starting to think that maybe cloth isn't such a bad idea, but the only thing that nags at me is the extra water used (machines use a lot) and the chemicals used to sterilise the nappy etc.
As I mentioned above no need to soak in chemicals like napisan anymore. If you have a front loader machine they are pretty water efficient anyway. Also remember not to do a load of washing until you have enough for a full load - not half loads etc!
Thanks for clearing that up Oscar's mum!
I didn't realise you dry pail... my mum did the soaking in her day.
You know what?! I am going to toilet train DD in the next few months to a year (it may take a while) but I think I am going to switch to cloth! I hate buying nappies. They are expensive!!!
Yay for me!
With modern fitted cloth his skin is kept dry (that's the 'modern' part, or part of the modern part).
The hemp inner draws the moisture away from the skin and the PUL outer keeps the moisture in the nappy so it doesn't leak. So bubby is kept dry but the nappy doesn't leak, see?
We bought a front loader so the extra two loads of washing per week is cancelled out by that coz our old top loader would still have been using more water than what we are using now.
That's not why we bought it though. We bought it because the top loader was too rough on his little clothes and it gave me the sh*ts.
Thanks for clearing that up Oscar's mum!
Check out these sites you will probably find them useful:
http://www.allaboutnappies.com/understanding.php
and
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ozclothnappies/
the_queen
09-10-2006, 17:25
I have to add something - I've been using disposables for a couple of weeks, due to me not having a washing machine, and I've switched back to cloth today for 2 reasons: I am so sick of paying for nappies when I have a gigantic stash here; and, I find that disposables STINK!! Really really Stink!!! Like, I can smell when a hemp nappy has been wee'd in, it's that, erm, wet-hemp smell :D but wet disposables really are yukky yukky yukky!!
09-10-2006, 17:35
MJ likes to help me with the washing so i'm never not with her. She helps me put the detergent in, closes the lid, pushes the buttons etc. Then when we're hanging them out, she passes me the pegs. She loves helping mummy. She also helps me fold the nappies (ok thats not a help i admit:p )
I changed to cloth for $$ & the look. They are so cute :yes:
09-10-2006, 17:37
I find that disposables STINK!! Really really Stink!!! Like, I can smell when a hemp nappy has been wee'd in, it's that, erm, wet-hemp smell :D but wet disposables really are yukky yukky yukky!!
They do smell so much more than cloth. I cant take MJ out the back in s sposie or the dogs chase her biting her bum :laughing:
That is what is so amazing about modern cloth
NO CHEMICALS< NO SOAKING < NO WORRIES
You don't even have to use pins or fold any more.
I have three kids so of course I don't have much time.
I think the wash load is fine. Washing a few nappies every second day doesn't make much difference to me.
09-10-2006, 18:52
You don't even have to use pins or fold any more.
What do you do then? My mum used cloth nappies 9 years ago with my little sister & I was going to use them too but she told me not to because of the folding, the pins (dangerous!) and all the washing and soaking that is involved. She turned me off the idea. I have no idea about the modern ways now :D Can someone enlighten me? Make me change my mind :D
oh Krissy Krissy Krissy...so much to teach you Grasshopper!!
Are you sure you WANT your mind changed?? Its bloody addictive.
Modern cloth have velcro (Aplix) or snaps. There are pockets (my preference) or AIO (All in Ones) or fitteds with covers (more like the old fashioned ones in my opinion but they have their fan base!).
You just put it on bub's butt the same as a disposable. You just throw it in the wash and hang it out. The modern materials are absorbent and leak proof and CUUUUUUUTE!!!
09-10-2006, 19:07
WOW they sound so much more easier these days :eek: I imagined them to be just like they were 9 years ago... :laughing:
Cheeky Little Monkey
09-10-2006, 19:08
I have to add something - I've been using disposables for a couple of weeks, due to me not having a washing machine, and I've switched back to cloth today for 2 reasons: I am so sick of paying for nappies when I have a gigantic stash here; and, I find that disposables STINK!! Really really Stink!!! Like, I can smell when a hemp nappy has been wee'd in, it's that, erm, wet-hemp smell :D but wet disposables really are yukky yukky yukky!!
I'm so glad someone else thinks they stink!!! I was without a washing machine a few weeks ago and had to resort to full time disposables for a week or so and the smell of them once piddled in was Yucky!! I thought it was my sense of smell that is currently in overdrive due to being pregnant......you sure you aren't "with child" Queenie???:laughing:
Hey Krissy :wave:
Yes very easy!
Put them on just like a disposable then wash as normal clothes. How easy is that? And cheapr. And nicer for the environment. And less smelly. And nicer to change!
And I could go on!
the_queen
09-10-2006, 19:11
http://www.cherubskiss.com
(They're restocking tomorrow BTW)
Also look at http://www.nappiescovered.com.au, they have nappy making kits as well as already-made nappies, wet bags, boosters, liners, etc.
Aaaaaaaand http://www.darlingsdownunder.com.au
:D enjoy!
Those new to nappies - try a package from http://www.nurturenappies.com.au
It gives a few options there.
the_queen
09-10-2006, 19:14
I'm so glad someone else thinks they stink!!! I was without a washing machine a few weeks ago and had to resort to full time disposables for a week or so and the smell of them once piddled in was Yucky!! I thought it was my sense of smell that is currently in overdrive due to being pregnant......you sure you aren't "with child" Queenie???:laughing:
ohmy GORD no!!!!No, no no no no no, no no, no no no no no, no no no.
No.
Nope, nuh, nort-larkly, nein, no, negatory good buddy.
(In all seriousness, I actually left my husband about a month ago so it's not really possible.... I'm not getting much casual sex, sadly.... :laughing:)
09-10-2006, 19:16
We changed for a combination of things .... Environmental, monetary & major cuteness :p
Modern cloth has soooooo many different things to offer. Different styles colours etc etc etc. There is a nappy for everyone !
I agree disgustables smell like the worst thing ever even Boof hates seeing them lol ! We dont use them anymore & i refuse to when it comes down to it because there is no need whatsoever but i also dont think there is a need to berate those that choose to use them for whatever reasons.
I will however try to convert as many as i can :p :devil6:
the_queen
09-10-2006, 19:16
Back on-topic - http://www.ozebaby.com.au
This place is really great, lots of different nappy vendors in the one place, different products too, not just only nappies. Brilliant brilliant brilliant.
hey? How is that back on topic? haha! That place is just too tempting!
mumofcaleb
09-10-2006, 20:01
Modern cloth have velcro (Aplix) or snaps. There are pockets (my preference) or AIO (All in Ones) or fitteds with covers (more like the old fashioned ones in my opinion but they have their fan base!).
You just put it on bub's butt the same as a disposable. You just throw it in the wash and hang it out. The modern materials are absorbent and leak proof and CUUUUUUUTE!!![/quote]
So where do you get these from?
Another reason I was also turned-off using cloth was because of the terrible nappy rash babies get from cloth nappies. My sister's boys both got terrible nappy rash from them.
09-10-2006, 20:30
Start at :
www.ozclothnappies.org
www.modernclothnappies.org
www.nappycino.com
I would advise getting a couple of different types of nappies say a couple of pockets, a couple of AIO's & a couple of fitted with covers then trying them out & seeing what you like & prefer as well as whats easiest for you.
For us we prefer pockets because they dry quick & we can boost them to suit our needs.
These are some great sites to have a look at of WAHM's :
www.greennappies.com
www.fruitsalad.com
www.cherubskiss.com
www.bubblebubs.com
There is also :
www.theweewuns.com.au
www.ozebaby.com.au
Good luck :D
mumofcaleb
09-10-2006, 20:38
Thanks very much everyone!
Cassalina
09-10-2006, 23:00
After using cloth on DS for about 5 months now, I was amazed at the terrible rash he got after being in a disposable for only a couple of hours!!!!
It really hit home for me the chemicals that must be in these things.
He's not a really "rashy" baby either, but a couple of hours in one it was flaring!! :barf:
Go modern cloth!!! The best decision I made in a looonngg time.
I just tried to convince a mum I met in the hospital tonight to switch but didn't have enough time to pin her down on a decision!!! If only I had taken my stash with me....:thumbsup:
The enviro 'friendly' disgustables are alright if you're going to compost them, but how many ppl do that? And it's not the nappy as such that's more environmentally friendly, but the production. They've changed the process, so minimizing energy, factory emissions and reducing environmentally hazardous substances in the nappy
This is rather more controversial than it appears. Only one study, to the best of my knowledge, has been done to examine this claim. That can be found here.
http://www.cheque.uq.edu.au/ugrad/theses/2004/pdf/CHEE4006/oliveR.doc
While some of the assumptions about cloth nappies are seriously flawed (as in all the recent LCAs I've seen), it's the land area use related to compostable nappy pads vs mainstream disposables that caught my eye - compostable pads requiring 1.4 times as much land area than disposables. There was insufficient data to draw a full conclusion on energy use and emissions, but the data they had suggested that compostable pad manufacture also required more energy than mainstream disposables.
Lara