View Full Version : Doula or Independent Midwife recommendations in Brisbane?
I am not PG at the moment, but DH and I have decided to start TTC again soon and I thought it would be a good time to start researching doulas/independent midwifes who can help DH and I achieve a natural, low-intervention hospital birth.
Has anyone had a fantastic experience with a Brissy doula/independent midwife that they could recommend?
Brisbane is an extremely difficult place for IM's at the moment, most of them having been witch hunted out of the job.
If you were to find one, I'm not really sure how many of them are keen on hospy support, and it may cost you about $1000.
I had a wonderful doula at my homebirth in January, she is a member here, Tracie.
I highly recommend her!
Just as an aside, if you are willing to hire an IM anyway, perhaps look into the option of a homebirth, as it is the very best way to increase your chances of a natural, non-interventionist birth.
All the best, if you would like details of home birth meetings in Brisbane, drop me a PM.
Thanks heaps ApprenticeMomma!
It is so hard in Brisbane at the moment to find good, holistic pregnancy/birth care.
I don't think I'm brave enough for a homebirth for my first bubby, but it isn't out of the question - I suppose I really want the strength and care of a midwife, with an OB in the wings just in case.
Although, I am pretty disappointed with Brissy OB's generally - I saw one recently who informed me that "you'll need a CS if you want a healthy baby" and this was before I even had my knickers off!!
Anyhow, I shall keep investigating - thanks again!
grecksta
11-11-2006, 18:36
I am not PG at the moment, but DH and I have decided to start TTC again soon and I thought it would be a good time to start researching doulas/independent midwifes who can help DH and I achieve a natural, low-intervention hospital birth.
Has anyone had a fantastic experience with a Brissy doula/independent midwife that they could recommend?
hi there yes i moved to the sunshine coast and i was in brissie when i first got my doula off here her name is kylie she is on here a bit. she is fantastic dh and i cannot praise her enough she gave us a wonderful experience and my birth was all natural no pain relief and no medical interventions it was lovley. i truley recomend her i encourage you to read my birth story its called Jordan riley.. posted yesterday cheers you can e mail me at turpinjjj@hotmail for furthur infomation cheers and baby dust blown your way.
Claire-Bear
12-11-2006, 06:59
There are some awesome doulas in Brissy!
I work with Eleni on occasion, who is great, really caring and respectful.
There is also Tracie and Liz Leys both great.
AmandaMum2B
12-11-2006, 07:49
I gave birth to my beautiful little boy last Sunday morning at RBWH and Eleni attended as doula. She was so valuable and really guided both myself and my husband through all the nitty gritty.
I highly recommend her, her caring and friendly nature made our experience (while not exactly to plan) positive.
PM me if you would like her contact details.
Amanda
mummy short legs
12-11-2006, 12:14
hi
We recommend Liz Leys, will be more than happy to forward details on to you. Very natural approach to myself and hubby and she really help get our much wanted birth we want. Due to have bub soon.
Tennille:smiliedance:
dragonflyblu
13-12-2006, 14:38
Hi, my doula is Eleni and she has been wonderful. I will PM you her details, I think its great that you are thinking of the whole thing now. I am having a hospital birth at RWBH and would have been quite lost without a doula.
Thanks so much for all of your responses. It's just lovely to hear about the positive doula experiences you're having/have had.
Please accept my apologies for my delay in response, I didn't realise that your wonderful posts were here waiting for me until I checked my PM's.
Thanks again guys - I really appreciate your input.
Now, for that BFP... :wizard:
littlepickle
17-12-2006, 16:55
I would also recommend Tracie. She attended my birth and was absolutely wonderful. She is lovely person, ery kind and supportive:yes: :angel:
Claire-Bear
18-12-2006, 13:50
Well there you go, lots of recommendations! It is great that you are thinking of this now. I wish you a beautiful pregnancy & birth.
Amanda, I am really glad to hear you birth was positive. You must have been really over pregnancy by the time bubby came along though.
Kylie, I hope the move went well and this up coming birth is a breeze for you.
Claire
AmandaMum2B
18-12-2006, 17:25
Hi Claire,
Yes was totally fed up with being pregnant, but was so gla to finally have a strong, healthy little boy!
Did my first triathlon yesterday, didn't see you there, and was so proud to say I did the enticer 6 weeks after our son was born. Don't know if Eleni had anything to do with it but I will give her some credit!
Amanda
Claire-Bear
20-12-2006, 10:10
YOU ROCK!!!!
That is awesome! Congratulations.
Unfortunately I have had a problem knee, but I will be at Robina in January, Tessa my oldest daughter will be doing her first one then too.
Congrats again, that really is great.