View Full Version : this is going to be long

jessgray
07-10-2006, 08:18
my ds is sick. we spent from 9:30pm till 3:30am at emergency. only for the dr to say he didnt need to be admitted and he could go home. he cant keep anything down, not water or the gastrolyte stuff :( and this dr somehow expects us to get a urine sample from ds and bring it in to the hospitial today when ds still cant keep down food or fluids and all he wants to do is sleep but cant coz he wakes up crying and vomits. well he tries i think there is nothing left in his tummy now to bring up.

anyway i have had about 2 hours sleep so if my ramblings dont make sense thats why lol. we were told by 1 dr that ds may have a stomach flu but the dr wanted to do a urine test to be sure it wasnt a urine infection or something else. and a 2nd dr who for some wierd reason took over deicded ds has gastro (he doesnt have the runs just vomiting and we kept telling the dr this) and that he was fine to go home even though he couldnt keep down the gastrolyte icypoles the 1st dr got the nurse to give him. and the 2nd dr went through a fact sheet with me on gastro and what i needed to do to make ds better and when to bring him in even though i said 5 times "i dont think its gastro he doesnt have diarhea and he cant keep down water or the icypoles how we spose to keep him from dhydration?" but the dr didnt listen:banghead:

so now i have been up since 6am ds is trying to sleep, trying being the keyword he keeps waking up crying and trying to spew but what can you spew when you havent got anything in your tummy?DP is getting some sleep once he is up we are taking him back i dont care what that 2nd dr thinks my ds is sick and i cant get a urine sample for her if he cant keep fluids down to make urine lol

i think it was silly he was sent home. he had 2 asthma attacks while in the consult room coz he found the spewing that upsetting and although he loved the gastrolyte icypoles he couldnt keep them down and ended up wanting to sleep. he has been like this since 6:30pm.

he was fine when he went to daycare yesturday, when i went to pick him up at 4pm he didnt seem himself and was quieter then normal and he slept a bit then 6:30 cam eand he woke up and had a big spew and hasnt stopped. we dont know if it was somethign he ate or if its a bug or what. the childcare worker i spoek to when i picked him up commented on how ds was starting to get upset just before i arrived and he hadnt eaten much (bit unusual for my ds lol)

DP wants to pull ds out of daycare completly he is fed up with ds being sick all the time. i know looking after my ds is a bit more demanding then some kids his age: he has hearing problems,sevre asthma,allergies and he is very active. but i can say i am starting to agree with DP its not fair that ds will go to daycare healthy and return sick we keep ds home when he has a cold and yet somehow he can come home withthings like gastro,the flu,etc i know its all normal for daycare but its one centre in particular (ds goes to 2 different ones) that seems to have bugs goign round more.

i dont know if we are doing the right thing by pulling ds out. this is the sickest ds has ever been:crying: its jsut so upsetting to see him trying to spew when his little tummy is empty and he is upset :(
i do plan on ringing the centre to find out if thre are other kids in ds's room affected by this on monday morning.

i am due in 10 days and now i dont want to go into labor before my due date coz ds is so sick.notthat i dont have faith that dp will do the best job in looking after ds while i am in hospitial its jsut that ds wants me when he is sick and will push dp away.
i just want sleep and to know whats wrong with ds.

jessgray
07-10-2006, 08:58
would you pull your child out of daycare?

indigoin0z
07-10-2006, 08:58
hugs to you jessgray.. :hugs:

that sounds really terrible the way they are treating you, like derrr i dont know my own bub,
& they are meant to be veeery careful about dehydration with bubs...
it just doesnt make sense what they are telling you...

as for the daycare, its one of those hard questions isnt it?
we have luckily only had to use occasional care before temporarily, but for the same reason we didnt continue because they would always come home sick... they would get better & we would send them back & come home with something else... totally ridiculous.. [eldest DS just started at pre-kinder yesterday, so we are hoping it doesnt start all over again...]

i wonder if you could find out what he ate yesterday..
do they have a document thing at that centre where they note every toilet & feed etc...
have you checked him over for bites etc...

poor little boy... :crying:
demand you & your bub get the attention you well deserve today.
trust your instincts!! :yes:

good luck & take care:fingerscrossed:

jessgray
07-10-2006, 09:37
the worker i spoke to when i picked him up told me ds had 1/4 of a serving of mixed vegies for lunch (normally he has 1 or 2 serves ) and for afternoon tea he had sandwiches but didnt really want them he just played with them and he ate 2 (they were cutinto quaters ) so he ate half a sandwich all up. he never drinks his formula at daycare no one has been able to get him to do it. he refused morning tea and that was fruit. so we are at a loss on why he is so sick :(

DS just downed 40ml of water :fingerscrossed: he keeps it down be the first thing he has kept down since 6:30pm last night if he does. it seemed like alot of bubs were coming in with similar symptoms to my ds (going by what i saw) so i am guessing its possibley a bug going round and lucky ds has got it:thumbsdown:

hey are meant to be veeery careful about dehydration with bubs...
it just doesnt make sense what they are telling you.you're telling me lol DP asked me when the 2nd dr had left the room if i thought the next step would be a drip of some kind and i said probably. and the 1st dr had gone to go speak to a padtrician on whether or not a catather would be the best way to get a wee sample from ds coz he just wouldnt pee on comand lol the 2nd dr wants us to lave ds nappy free and try and "catch" some wee into a urine sample jar like that is gunna happen lol

EskimoMumma
07-10-2006, 09:45
DS recently had a stomach bug as well, he was always vomitting , had no diarrhoe, when i rang nurses on call they advised that if you give them too much fluids while they are still not holding anything down it can just make them keep vomitting, IYKWIM. Wait a few hours after the last ovmit and then reintroduce the solids and it is best to let them sleep as long as they do not appear dehydrated.

That being said, there is a considerable age gap between our two boys so i would suggest going back to the hospital in regards to this and if you happen to get eh same doctor, request for a nother one. You have every right to refuse care from that particular doctor.

Best of luck :hugs:

jessgray
07-10-2006, 09:50
:thumbsup: thanks for the info i am giving ds small amounts of water but the little terror wont let me hold his bottle so i can control how much he drinks so i am putting tiny amounts of water in his bottle.

i am waiting for DP to wake up so we can go back to the hospitial to get ds checked coz he hasnt had a wet nappy since we left the hospitial :eek: DP cant handle vomit or the smell of it and last night was the 1st time i have seen him be near vomit and not vomit himself.

indigoin0z
07-10-2006, 09:59
.....and the 1st dr had gone to go speak to a padtrician on whether or not a catather would be the best way to get a wee sample from ds coz he just wouldnt pee on comand lol the 2nd dr wants us to lave ds nappy free and try and "catch" some wee into a urine sample jar like that is gunna happen lol

the **** these people come out with is amazing...:eek:

i remember [after my little boy had ops] i got little plastic sticky bag things you stick over their area & it catches the wee....
why wouldnt they give you a couple of those...
did these people have their learners plate on or something..:banghead:

jessgray
07-10-2006, 10:15
the 1st dr had one of the wee bags on ds but coz he just couldnt provide a sample she went to go see if a catather was a good option coz she didnt want to subject ds to any needlesorpain he could avoid. the 2nd dr well...i think she got her medical degree from a weeties packet:laughing:

its spose to be 26 degrees today so it looks like ds will probably be admitted eventually for dhydration coz he just cant keep fluids down :( and on a non sick day he sweats alot on warm days like his dad

07-10-2006, 10:26
:hugs: to you!!!!! I hope that he gets better today. I would take him back and demand them to listen to you!!!

If it was me I would pull him out of daycare, but thats just me

jessgray
07-10-2006, 10:30
i am unsure of how much notice his wednesday and friday daycare (same centre he was at yesturday he goes 2 days a week)need. his thursday centre requires 2 weeks notice which is fair enough :)
i am gunna have to try and find the booklet i was given that has all the policies of the centre in it too see how much notice they need. coz the other centre had all the info on their site lol

Chickadee
07-10-2006, 10:51
Hugs Jess :hugs:

DS recently had a stomach bug as well, he was always vomitting , had no diarrhoe, when i rang nurses on call they advised that if you give them too much fluids while they are still not holding anything down it can just make them keep vomitting, IYKWIM.
I agree with this 100%. When DD was around 22 months old she had gastro. No diarrhea just vomitting for over 24 hours. At that point she refused ALL liquid, got very listless (sign of dehydration) and we went off to hospital. I'm not sure if this is going to be appropriate for your little boy, but I'll repeat what I was told to do at the hospital. This was an oral rehydration progrram that they use:

After being checked in with our details and before seeing the doctor, I was given a 10 ml syringe and a glass of pedialyte. Every 5 minutes I had to syringe 5ml (I think - it was based on her weight) of pedialyte into her mouth. I did that for over an hour while waiting to see a dr, and then for at least another 30-60 minutes, so 1.5 to 2 hours total. DD didn't like it much at first but couldn't put up much fight, she was so tired and listless. By the end of the 1.5 hours she was really fighting it which showed me she was getting hydrated and feeling better. The small syringe amounts weren't rejected by her empty and upset belly, and she really did rehydrate quickly.

You could try something similar, either with a syringe if he's used to taking medicine that way, or with his sippy cup. Melt one of the pedialyte iceypoles to use, or cut one into quarters and give him only one bit every 5 or 10 minutes.

I hope he's feeling better soon.

jessgray
07-10-2006, 10:58
we gavehim the icypoles in small bits at the hospitial and they still didnt go down well :( he is asleep so i still dont knowif he is last drink has stayed down. but if it doesnt i am gunna start giving him fluids by syringe:)

Chickadee
07-10-2006, 11:06
Maybe the coldness of the iceypoles is harsh on his empty stomach? DD really really didn't like having the fluids by syringe. But it did work.

jessgray
07-10-2006, 11:25
not sure.

ds hasnt had a wet or dirty nappy today so far i think i will call the emergecny see what they think i should do coz he kept the 40ml down so far which is a good sign just no wee's

jessgray
07-10-2006, 11:41
is a tempreture of 37.1 classes as a fever? thats ds's temp at the moment i took it under his arm.

07-10-2006, 13:02
Hi Jess! hugs to you :hugs:
That temp is actually pretty good considering all that's going on in his little body. Pretty normal. Is he a bit more hydrated now?

Kassiasmum
07-10-2006, 14:57
My dd is the same at the moment except she has diarrehea?sp to go with it, she is 2.7yrs old. She started on Wednesday with a cold and then Wed arvo she had fevers, Thursday fevers up to 39.7, woke up Friday seemed alright, went to drop dss off and she :barf: all in the car in her seat, lovely. That was about 12.00 yesterday and hasn't kept anything down since about lunch time today, she had some baked beans and is now asleep so hopefully she will keep them down. She is just not herself, all she wants to do watch New McDonalds Farm all day which is so not like her, she doesn't normally watch TV for more than 5 minutes at a time.
I hope your ds gets better soon, there's nothing worse than watching them :barf: when there is nothing for them to bring up and the poor tykes don't know what's going on. I will be taking her to emergency if she starts throwing up again at all today. :hugs: to you and I hope you get some sleep and get those dr's to listen to you.

jessgray
07-10-2006, 20:16
hi guys
well we ended up back at the hospitial coz i was a bit worried about ds not wee-ing. so from 12noon till about 30 mins ago i was in emergency :laughing: ds waited 5 hours to see a dr. then the dr had to try andgt him to wee enough for a urine test that took ageslol but it ended up coming back clear of any bugs :)
the dr wasnt one we had last night she was really nice. she said it's defintly gastro ds has.its in the early stages so ds will probably start having runs soon.he is keeping down fluids now which is good.and he ended up with a temp of 39 when the dr was treating him. some panadol was given to him which has helped.
i stopped a nurse from givingds nurofen.i asked what the medine was and she said nurofen and i was like :eek: he is asthmatic itsnotgoodfor asthma to have nurofen & she checked his chart and said i was right and organised panadol for ds. so if i didnt say something who knows what would have happened. ds is sleeping right now he was deemed well enough to come home.but he has to be checked out by gp tomorow sometimeto be sure he isnt getting worse.

Dannielle
07-10-2006, 21:38
Hi, I hope your DS gets better soon. :hugs:

My DD3 had it too about 4 weeks ago. She was exactly the same as your DS right down to me picking her up from daycare. She wasn't herself and hadn't eaten much. (which is extremely unusual for her) She vomited heaps and got listless, and we also ended up at hospital. But luckily she managed to keep down the gastrolyte icy pole and improved. But when she refused to have another one later on I had to seringe little bits at a time into her mouth. She ended up with diarrhea just as the vomiting slowed down.

My DD2 and DD3 are twins and I have had enough of them getting sick all the time from daycare. DD2 is sick again today and I have decided to cancel 1 day. They have been getting sick alot more since we changed them to 2 days.

07-10-2006, 21:42
Jess, that's shocking about the nurofen, FFS I hate the relaxed manner in which nurses dish that stuff out!! HELLO- no long term studies on the stuff yet, so I think I'll just use paracetemol thanks!! Our DS had a heart condition until recently and also couldn't have it. The amount of times I had to explain that to people who should have already known!! :banghead: :banghead:

Anyway, 'scuse the rant. Hope that you're not over your head trying to deal with the runs tonight. Glad to hear that the little man is taking fluid and that a recovery is in sight. :hugs: to you. You deserve a big sleep in somtime next week when hopefully he is fully recovered!!

jessgray
08-10-2006, 07:29
ds stilll hasnt got the runs lol he is keeping his fluids up no vomiting anymore except last nite when he stole someof my kfc chips lol thenwhen he vomited he waslike hmmm better not eat them now lol
he is very grumpy and clingy to me so i am the one up and down all night :(
he wonthave a bar of dp.

jessgray
08-10-2006, 15:33
my ds now cant walk his legs turn to jelly when he stands :( what should i do

Chickadee
08-10-2006, 15:41
Jess, has he had anything other than water since he's gotten sick? I seem to remember reading that water isn't enough for more than 24 hours, so he may be weak due to that?

I'd probably be phoning the Nurse Direct number or going to hospital if I were you.

jessgray
08-10-2006, 16:05
he cant keep down food :( he only started keeping down water late yesturday afternoon. do you think the baby food gels might be a good option to try?

Dannielle
08-10-2006, 16:23
It's worth a try or maybe some toast with just margarine/butter or a plain sao/salada etc. I hope he gets better soon.

jessgray
08-10-2006, 16:38
he cant keep down toast :(tried that earlier and i tried saladas he just vomited them up. he vomited up water just before :( its like he is getting worse

Dannielle
08-10-2006, 17:20
Is he still weak? Did you try the baby jelly?

If he's not keeping down water and still weak he might need to go back to hospital. If he can't keep anything down including water he might need a drip. That's if you get a decent doctor that is.

jessgray
08-10-2006, 18:03
he kept down a tiny bit of water but wont eat the gel so he is still weak:(
he kept down about 15ml

Dannielle
08-10-2006, 21:21
I'd take him to hospital if he doesn't improve.

jessgray
08-10-2006, 21:30
what should i do if the hospitial still wants to send him home :gloomy:

08-10-2006, 21:41
Stand your ground
ask for another doctor.
DEMAND that he's seen properly!

Good luck, if he hasn't eaten or drank that much (or kept it down) and being very weak I doubt any hospital would turn him away. OR you could try going to a GP in the morning (or an all night one???) and see if they'll give you a referral.. (I remember my mum doing this for me when I had appendicitus.. I don't know if they actually do this for other ailment, IYKWIM?)

I wish him a speedy recovery! :fingerscrossed: :kiss:

jessgray
09-10-2006, 08:06
:) i will do that.

i have good news. DS ate a whole piece of toast (plain) and so far its stayed down :yelclap: hoping it stays down. he is asleep now so we will see if it comes up when he wakes up. he is keeping his water down but its the only fluid that stays down. so maybe this time tomorow he will be almost back to normal.

Kassiasmum
09-10-2006, 11:50
Glad to hear your DS is getting better, hopefully this is the start of his full recovery. It's an awful bug isn't it. I took DD to the Dr's yesterday, she had exactly the same thing as your ds and yesterday was her 3rd day of it, the dr told me that she had slight tonsilitis, I was like wtf that wouldn't make her as sick as she is, then I called the after hours dr's that we are members of and after waiting 3 hours I rang them again and they had the wrong address:confused: so I just cancelled it because she was asleep, needless to say I was not happy with them. Anyway, she is on the road to recovery now and has kept food down for about 12 hours now, so a good sign for your ds if he can keep his food down.

jessgray
09-10-2006, 12:50
i am hoping he will keep down milk next so far he has kept down 2 pieces of toast today as well as water. milk didnt stay down lastnight when i gave it to him lol he is on s26 LF formula

Chickadee
09-10-2006, 12:50
I'm glad to hear he's keeping water down now. But he really should be getting something with a bit more nutrition in it by now (it's been 2 or 3 days hasn't it?) Some things that you could try:
- low sodium broth or clear soup, try it diluted first
- throw a handful of rice into a small pot of water and boil it, cool the water and then give him that. The starch from the rice will help settle his gut. You could also see if he can keep a small spoonful of rice down.

Chickadee
09-10-2006, 12:53
i am hoping he will keep down milk next so far he has kept down 2 pieces of toast today as well as water. milk didnt stay down lastnight when i gave it to him lol he is on s26 LF formula
Whoa!! No milk. Try other clear fluids first as milk or any dairy is pretty likely to come back up again. If you really really want to give him milk then dilute his formula with at least an equal amount of water.

jessgray
09-10-2006, 13:50
i gave ds some diluted formula and its staying down so far he snatched the bottle out of my hand lol so far he has drank 100ml of formula. :smiliedance:

Dannielle
09-10-2006, 15:44
I'm glad to hear he seems to be getting better.:)

jessgray
09-10-2006, 16:01
i am thinking its wierd he just downed full strength formula and kept it down last time he had gastro it took him a few days to handle formula at full strength.maybe it wasnt gastro:confused: