View Full Version : Any Stay At Home Mums have their little one in day care??
I am considering putting DD-13mths into day care next year for occassional care or one day per week.
I went today to have a look at a centre and as someone who has no experience whatsoever with day care I was really impressed. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful and welcoming. The centre was clean and bright and DD loved it and cried when we went to leave.
I feel a slight bit lazy/guilty putting her in. But I actually think it will be good for her, keep her occupied. Good for me, gives me a recharge and refresh and help me to be a better mum. My husband works long hours and then works around our big house on the weekneds and whilst he is a fabulous dad, the child rearing is really left to me. I am at the moment also very off having a second child because of this.
It will be nice for me to have a day to get some good house work done, or catch up with someone sans child or get my hair done etc. If I were to get pregnant again, I would most definately need that day.
The other query is whether we are eligible for any Child Care Rebate as he earns very good money, and we are not usually eligible for anything.
Thanks, would love to hear your advice / situations etc.
Milktini
08-12-2011, 16:09
As for rebate - I'm not entirely sure, but I think both parents need to be working, studying or working/studying - but it would be worth giving centrelink a call to make sure.
My boys are in care, DS1 (almost 4) goes 2 days a week, and DS2(2yrs) goes once a week increasing to twice a week for the start of next year and then they will both be going 3 days a week while I study. I guess it is a personal decision for me, I find they get a lot of good out of it, A chance to socialize, make friends and do things I am unable to do with them (there is only so many times I can do playdough/craft/dressups etc) Since going their speach has progessed much better (DS1 had a slight delay) We are now able to understand him much better and it means we avoid having to go through therapy. They can count, read, recognize shapes and colours etc. All with plenty of help from daycare. And while they are in care it gives me a chanced to catch up on anything I have to do and I really do appreciate the break.
TripleTime
08-12-2011, 16:12
I do, i have to or i go crazy.
CCR, you both have to be working/study/volunteering for 15+ hours a week or looking for work.
mumma2ajem
08-12-2011, 16:28
I am considering putting DD-13mths into day care next year for occassional care or one day per week.
I went today to have a look at a centre and as someone who has no experience whatsoever with day care I was really impressed. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful and welcoming. The centre was clean and bright and DD loved it and cried when we went to leave.
I feel a slight bit lazy/guilty putting her in. But I actually think it will be good for her, keep her occupied. Good for me, gives me a recharge and refresh and help me to be a better mum. My husband works long hours and then works around our big house on the weekneds and whilst he is a fabulous dad, the child rearing is really left to me. I am at the moment also very off having a second child because of this.
It will be nice for me to have a day to get some good house work done, or catch up with someone sans child or get my hair done etc. If I were to get pregnant again, I would most definately need that day.
The other query is whether we are eligible for any Child Care Rebate as he earns very good money, and we are not usually eligible for anything.
Thanks, would love to hear your advice / situations etc.
for me i would not put a 13 month old in care when i was not working however that is just me and every family / person is different and every child is different so it is a individual thing :) from a childcare workers perspective also there is no social reason that a child that age needs to be in care as they get enough from home with mummy but once again every family is different and everyones well being circumstances are different
as for rebates if you are a SAHM and not on paid / unpaid maternity leave or studying then no you wont receive the 50% back every 3 months or yearly and if you receive nothing from centrelink now you will more then likely end up paying full fees so it can be expensive with some centers charging up to $100 per day for a child of that age.
occasional child care centers are different in there own fee structures as well but IMPO if you were going to go the daycare route i would go for a actual center not just occasional care as they are run a little differently and quite often varying staff and they wont have the set structure of a daycare center ( as in same staff same kids etc )
do you have any mummy friends near you maybe you guys could do a baby sitting swap? say on tues you have a friends kids for 2-3 hours and on a thurs she has your kid for 2-3 hours that way you get some away time but your child is with a friend and it costs you nothing or maybe even a babysitter for a few hours on a set day each week that way they come to you and it will work out cheaper once again
SpottySocks
08-12-2011, 16:46
My sister is on maternity leave and her older child goes to family day care 2 days a week - she gets the child care rebate even though she is not at work. She actually gets a higher rebate now than she did when she was working , I think because they are on a lower combined income, although I'm not really sure how it works!
Would be worth registering for to find out if you are eligible.
Sorry, crashing thread but I'm fairly sure SAHMs are entitled to rebate for one or two days for the sake of respite with Centrelink. I'd give them a call TBH and find out exactly what you would be entitled to :)
lil miss
08-12-2011, 17:36
DD1 is in daycare 2 days a week, and I get 70-something % CCB, and 100% CCR, up to 50 hours a week care. It was 100% CCB but hubbys income has increased, so we dropped down a bit.
Sent from my iPad using Bub Hub app
TripleTime
08-12-2011, 17:46
Sorry, crashing thread but I'm fairly sure SAHMs are entitled to rebate for one or two days for the sake of respite with Centrelink. I'd give them a call TBH and find out exactly what you would be entitled to :)
No, only if your working/studying/volunteering or looking for work. Even my mental health issues don't count for respite to get CCTR.
Everyone is entitled to CCB but not CCR.
lil miss
08-12-2011, 17:49
No, only if your working/studying/volunteering or looking for work. Even my mental health issues don't count for respite to get CCTR.
Everyone is entitled to CCB but not CCR.
I have always received CCR. The only thing I had to prove I was looking for work for was to increase my eligible daycare hours from 24 a week to 50 a week.
i plan on sending DD2 to daycare just one day a week at around 18mths
Bernard.Manny.Fran
08-12-2011, 17:55
for me i would not put a 13 month old in care when i was not working however that is just me and every family / person is different and every child is different so it is a individual thing :) from a childcare workers perspective also there is no social reason that a child that age needs to be in care as they get enough from home with mummy but once again every family is different and everyones well being circumstances are different
again
I'm going to be honest and say I think the bit of your post I have quoted is a bit un called for. Sure you may not put a 13 month old in care for one day a week, OP sounds as though she could really use it. She stated she felt a bit guilty about it however also said her husband works long hours and she really needs the break.
My ds goes to daycare one day a week. I go to uni, but he still goes during all the holidays when I have nothing on. He, as an only child has gained heaps from going. I used to work in childcare too, so I can see it from a 'child care workers prospective'.
mumma2ajem
08-12-2011, 18:04
My sister is on maternity leave and her older child goes to family day care 2 days a week - she gets the child care rebate even though she is not at work. She actually gets a higher rebate now than she did when she was working , I think because they are on a lower combined income, although I'm not really sure how it works!
Would be worth registering for to find out if you are eligible.
if you are on paid or unpaid mat leave you are still entitled
you will get your CCB but not CCR
I'm going to be honest and say I think the bit of your post I have quoted is a bit un called for. Sure you may not put a 13 month old in care for one day a week, OP sounds as though she could really use it. She stated she felt a bit guilty about it however also said her husband works long hours and she really needs the break.
My ds goes to daycare one day a week. I go to uni, but he still goes during all the holidays when I have nothing on. He, as an only child has gained heaps from going. I used to work in childcare too, so I can see it from a 'child care workers prospective'.
how is it uncalled for she asked for opinions i agve mine and as i clearly stated EVERY CHILD / FAMILY IS DIFFERENT AND HAVE DIFFERENT NEEDS not once did i say dont do it your horrible your being lazy blah blah blah i wrote my post nicely so i dont think it was un called for it was a honest opinion which was asked
lil miss
08-12-2011, 18:07
you will get your CCB but not CCR
Yes, you do.
mumma2ajem
08-12-2011, 18:10
Yes, you do.
t
o be eligable for ccr you need to work at least 15 hours per week and/or be studying or be on paid/unpaid leave
TripleTime
08-12-2011, 18:12
Yes, you do.
No you don't. You have to need to work/study agreement to receive CCR. Trust me, I tried to get CCR on grounds of being mentally unstable.
taken from centrelink website
If you are using approved care, you will get up to 24 hours of Child Care Benefit per child per week without having to meet the work, training, study test.
If you wish to claim between 24 and 50 hours of Child Care Benefit per child per week, you have to show that you and your partner have work related commitments for:
at least 15 hours a week; or
30 hours a fortnight; or
have an exemption.
TripleTime
08-12-2011, 18:14
I have always received CCR. The only thing I had to prove I was looking for work for was to increase my eligible daycare hours from 24 a week to 50 a week.
Read my post again. I said you need to be working, LOOKING for work, studying or volemteering more than 15 hours a week. You don't get it if your not doing one of the above.
lil miss
08-12-2011, 18:15
No you don't. You have to need to work/study agreement to receive CCR. Trust me, I tried to get CCR on grounds of being mentally unstable.
Nope. I've never had too. The only thing I needed to enter into an agreement for was to increase my hours. Centrelink were the ones who told me I was able to get the CCR.
Mine are in 1 day a week I do not work look for work or study DH works casual we get 100% CCR for 1 and 110% CCR for the other. I didnt ask they just did it when I rang to register them (centrelink)
mumma2ajem
08-12-2011, 18:21
Nope. I've never had too. The only thing I needed to enter into an agreement for was to increase my hours. Centrelink were the ones who told me I was able to get the CCR.
do you work at all ? just asking because it seems centrelink have changed it this is off the site
How do I meet the test for the Child Care Rebate? You and your partner only have to participate in work related commitments at some time during a week or have an exemption. No minimum number of hours is required.
mumma2ajem
08-12-2011, 18:22
but if you are not working at all be careful because eventually it could take years they will realize and then you will owe them $$$$$ it happened to a friend of mine :(
luvmyboys
08-12-2011, 18:24
I work in the industry so have accurate knowledge of Child Care Benefit and Child Care Rebate, I really shake my head at centrelink staff though sometimes, quite a number of them have no idea.
If you work/study/train/volunteer for less than 15 hrs you are eligible for ccb for up to 25 hrs a week
If you work/study/train/volunteer for more than 15 hrs you are eligible for ccb for up to 50 hrs a week
CCB is worked out on a sliding scale depending on income
If you work/study/train/volunteer for any amount of time during the week you are eligible for CCR.
lil miss
08-12-2011, 18:25
do you work at all ? just asking because it seems centrelink have changed it this is off the site
How do I meet the test for the Child Care Rebate? You and your partner only have to participate in work related commitments at some time during a week or have an exemption. No minimum number of hours is required.
Originally (for the first 4 years), no I wasn't. And I had spoken to centrelink several times about it to make sure it was correct, and was told everything is good.
RE what you're entitled to, call clink, we can argue all day but they'll be able to tell you for sure.
I would do it if you need the break. I'm putting DD into care one day a week next year for this reason. I just need a bit of a time out, and with a new bub due next year I would like to have some time just for the new bub and I too.
mumma2ajem
08-12-2011, 18:38
I work in the industry so have accurate knowledge of Child Care Benefit and Child Care Rebate, I really shake my head at centrelink staff though sometimes, quite a number of them have no idea.
If you work/study/train/volunteer for less than 15 hrs you are eligible for ccb for up to 25 hrs a week
If you work/study/train/volunteer for more than 15 hrs you are eligible for ccb for up to 50 hrs a week
CCB is worked out on a sliding scale depending on income
If you work/study/train/volunteer for any amount of time during the week you are eligible for CCR.
t
hat is exactly right although i have just realised they have changed the ccr from being a minimum of 15 hrs of work/study/volunteer to any amount of hours when did this come into play i have just came back into the child care sector from mat leave someone said it came in with the new CCR rules which made payments to the centre available
mumma2ajem
08-12-2011, 18:39
Originally (for the first 4 years), no I wasn't. And I had spoken to centrelink several times about it to make sure it was correct, and was told everything is good.
id ring them again or even go in and get them to print out a letter stating that you are entitled to it and who has told you id hate for you to be left with a big bill :( sometimes all the staff have different answers at least if you have it in writing it will be someone elses problem and not yours when they realise
mumma2ajem
08-12-2011, 18:41
RE what you're entitled to, call clink, we can argue all day but they'll be able to tell you for sure.
I would do it if you need the break. I'm putting DD into care one day a week next year for this reason. I just need a bit of a time out, and with a new bub due next year I would like to have some time just for the new bub and I too.
even when ringing centrelink you cant get straight answers although if you start a thread about centrelink payments int he finance section there is actually a centrelink person who answers the questions :)
Janesmum123
08-12-2011, 18:45
How come people I know who don't work or study have their kids in daycare for 2 or 3 days a week and pay $10 a day? Genuine question I'm wondering how it works.
mumma2ajem
08-12-2011, 18:50
How come people I know who don't work or study have their kids in daycare for 2 or 3 days a week and pay $10 a day? Genuine question I'm wondering how it works.
for anyone who does not work study etc they are entitled to up to 25 hours care with ccb rates ( when i say 25 hrs that goes on the centre opening times so a center that is 6am-6pm is classed as 12 hours not just the hours you use ) which means it usually always equates to 2 days of care anymore then that they pay full fees for the extra day or they are dodgying the system :) but there are also special cases ppl on carers allowance , people whose kids are at risk, parents who have a known medical condition / mental health ( although you have to qualify for all these you just cant say i have xyz etc ) , foster parents etc
Cheerilee
08-12-2011, 18:50
There are 2 separate payments or allowances. There is CCB (Child Care Benefit) and CCR (child care rebate). They are not one and the same thing. The $10 a day would be their CCB not their CCR. Have a look on the centrelink website.
If you earn to much to qualify for CCB you may still qualify for CCR which you can choose to either be paid directly to you or to the service provider.
lil miss
08-12-2011, 18:54
for anyone who does not work study etc they are entitled to up to 25 hours care with ccb rates ( when i say 25 hrs that goes on the centre opening times so a center that is 6am-6pm is classed as 12 hours not just the hours you use ) which means it usually always equates to 2 days of care anymore then that they pay full fees for the extra day or they are dodgying the system :) but there are also special cases ppl on carers allowance , people whose kids are at risk, parents who have a known medical condition / mental health ( although you have to qualify for all these you just cant say i have xyz etc ) , foster parents etc
That explains it then. We were foster carers for a lot of that time. The foster kids weren't in day care (they were school age).
mumma2ajem
08-12-2011, 18:57
That explains it then. We were foster carers for a lot of that time. The foster kids weren't in day care (they were school age).
yep that would be it foster carers come under a different agreement :) on another note and totally off topic how did you go about starting up being a foster carer i would love to do that one day :) but im not sure if given my age and kids ages they would allow it
Kimberleygal1
08-12-2011, 18:59
If you earn a combined income over $109,000 you are not eligible for the ccb but you can get the ccr over this amount. My dh and I both earn good money over $200,000 and still get the ccr. If I was a stay at home mum I would not have my kids in daycare for more than a day a week as that's what I would be staying home for In the first place, "to raise our kids". It erks me that so many kids with mums at home take up positions in daycare when working parents often can't get positions for their kids and have to stop work.
mumma2ajem
08-12-2011, 19:09
If you earn a combined income over $109,000 you are not eligible for the ccb but you can get the ccr over this amount. My dh and I both earn good money over $200,000 and still get the ccr. If I was a stay at home mum I would not have my kids in daycare for more than a day a week as that's what I would be staying home for In the first place, "to raise our kids". It erks me that so many kids with mums at home take up positions in daycare when working parents often can't get positions for their kids and have to stop work.
at a centre i used to be at we had 2 kids in 4 days a week dad worked but mum did not they were well off and paying full fees for it all because mum needed time to keep up with her own social life :(
Janesmum123
08-12-2011, 19:17
I thought parents that work have priority?
bellalika
08-12-2011, 19:19
My boys do occasional care. I work 1 day a fortnight but they go weekly. DS1 actually goes twice weekly in prep for kinder next year. They only go for 4 hours though so not a massive day. I frantically clean while they are in as they destroy quicker than I clean when they are home. This week I went and picked up the Christmas layby without them. And had a proper coffee, in a cafe, and drank it while it was hot!
Janesmum123
08-12-2011, 19:20
My boys do occasional care. I work 1 day a fortnight but they go weekly. DS1 actually goes twice weekly in prep for kinder next year. They only go for 4 hours though so not a massive day. I frantically clean while they are in as they destroy quicker than I clean when they are home. This week I went and picked up the Christmas layby without them. And had a proper coffee, in a cafe, and drank it while it was hot!
How dare you... Lol
bellalika
08-12-2011, 19:21
Meant to, but rarely happens. Especially at our occasional care centre. I've had to beg relatives a few times when I couldn't get them in. Mum already does pick up for me when I work. She takes them to her place, let's them sleep and gives then afternoon tea. I'm usually home shortly afterwards. A full day is hard as she has a few health issues ATM, but most are temporary and not life threatening.
bellalika
08-12-2011, 19:22
How dare you... Lol
It was great! Even fb status worthy.
mumma2ajem
08-12-2011, 19:26
not all the time as when a child is in a center a child of a non working parent can not be asked to leave they can be asked to change days etc but they do not have to once they are in there in but a center has to try there hardest to try and shuffle a few parents if need be but in my area that is near impossible we have a waiting list that is very long as it is
CCB and CCR are different things and clearly by some people's responses they are getting them confused........again!
mrskylie
08-12-2011, 19:48
I am a SAHM and I put my dd1 into childcare 1 day a week just after her first birthday. She still goes 1 day a week now and loves it as do I :) i will be putting dd2 in 1 day a week next year after her first birthday also. I am entitled to 24hrs a week per child on the rebate. Her fees are $71.60 per day and I only pay $54, however I'm not entitled to 50% of that back coz I don't work. I get about 5% annually lol.
Kimberleygal1
08-12-2011, 21:45
I thought parents that work have priority? Yes that's correct but parents don't have to prove they work, I guess they just say they are!
Thank you everyone. I tried to call centre link today but was on hold for about 3 hrs which I don't gave time for.
I don't work study or anything & dh earns over $200k so if anything is means tested we won't qualify (please don't judge me for what he earns, this is why he works such long hrs)
DD will be 15 mths next Jan when I expect to put her in care by the way
miss sparkle
08-12-2011, 22:13
I am confused :confused:
I just went to Centrelink Website and looked up eligibility for child care rebate (Not Benefit I know the difference) it says to be eligible
"you and your partner meet the work, training or study requirements"
http://www.centrelink.gov.au/internet/internet.nsf/payments/ccr_eligible.htm
However when I click on the link that explains the work, training, study requirements it takes me to Family Assistance Office website which clearly says the following
"If you are using approved care (http://www.familyassist.gov.au/payments/family-assistance-payments/child-care-benefit/approved-care.php), you will get up to 24 hours of Child Care Benefit per child per week without having to meet the work, training, study test."
http://www.familyassist.gov.au/payments/family-assistance-payments/child-care-benefit/child-care-benefit-work-training-study-test.php
This clearly tells me that the two days DS is in day care I should be eligible for a return of 50% of out of pocket expenses (I am not working, looking for work or studying at the moment and my income is below any thresholds)
Is this not correct?????
However the guide to family assistance is not quite as clear although I am interpreting to only apply to above 24 hours of childcare per week
http://www.facs.gov.au/guides_acts/fag/faguide-2/faguide-2.9.html
Seriously I would be putting your child in care and not worrying about the rebates and benefits etc. Apply for them but expect nothing and be pleasently surprised if you qualify.
I WILL suggest one thing though. More of a pleading request. PLEASE make it known that you are flexible for your day. If somone needs the day you have, you can swap. I say that because it can be so hard to get work to give you hours you need when you need that income. And to try and have work line up with daycare is like trying to play jenga in an earthquake.
Manny. You will get CCR.
The Child Care Rebate pays up to 50% of your out of pocket expenses for child care up to an annual cap. From 1 July 2011 the Child Care Rebate annual cap is $7,500 per child per year.
It is NOT income tested, so you may be eligible to receive it even if you don’t get the Child Care Benefit from your fees.
I dont know what people are talking about on here saying they cant get CCR... Go online and fill in a claim. You do 'work' at home everyday!
share a book
09-12-2011, 00:00
I am confused :confused:
I just went to Centrelink Website and looked up eligibility for child care rebate (Not Benefit I know the difference) it says to be eligible
"you and your partner meet the work, training or study requirements"
http://www.centrelink.gov.au/internet/internet.nsf/payments/ccr_eligible.htm
However when I click on the link that explains the work, training, study requirements it takes me to Family Assistance Office website which clearly says the following
"If you are using approved care (http://www.familyassist.gov.au/payments/family-assistance-payments/child-care-benefit/approved-care.php), you will get up to 24 hours of Child Care Benefit per child per week without having to meet the work, training, study test."
http://www.familyassist.gov.au/payments/family-assistance-payments/child-care-benefit/child-care-benefit-work-training-study-test.php
This clearly tells me that the two days DS is in day care I should be eligible for a return of 50% of out of pocket expenses (I am not working, looking for work or studying at the moment and my income is below any thresholds)
Is this not correct?????
However the guide to family assistance is not quite as clear although I am interpreting to only apply to above 24 hours of childcare per week
http://www.facs.gov.au/guides_acts/fag/faguide-2/faguide-2.9.html
You can use 24 hours of care subsidised by CCB or 50 hours if you work/study/look for work for 15 hours per week or more. If you qualify for 50 hours (which is also for parents with a disability, parents with a child who has a disability, parents who are carers for another person with a disability, or parents or guardians who are involved with child safety) then you also qualify for the CCR but if you do not qualify for CCR you may still have reduced fees by way of CCB for 24 hours a week.
TheSudgestionator
09-12-2011, 00:36
I havnt read the whole thread, only your 1st post. But thought I'd let you know my DH is on good money & I work PT and the gov pays 58% (all up) of DDs care UPTO 24 hours pr week. So in other words I only have to pay 42% of the overall cost for the first 24 hours, any additional hours I pay 100% of the cost.
Dds only there 1 day a week. She needs it more then I do. While I do enjoy lunch with the girls or doing the shopping in peace, shes in care to learn to socialize (something she struggles with) and also to help form good eatting habits. So far she's doing great with both.
TheSudgestionator
09-12-2011, 00:39
Oh and PP is kinda right. If my DD needed to be incare because I (as the main care giver) worked more then 15 hrs a week, the give would subsidize an extra 15 hours. So insted of 24 hrs I'd get 39 hrs at 58% off full care cost.
mumma2ajem
09-12-2011, 14:28
I havnt read the whole thread, only your 1st post. But thought I'd let you know my DH is on good money & I work PT and the gov pays 58% (all up) of DDs care UPTO 24 hours pr week. So in other words I only have to pay 42% of the overall cost for the first 24 hours, any additional hours I pay 100% of the cost.
Dds only there 1 day a week. She needs it more then I do. While I do enjoy lunch with the girls or doing the shopping in peace, shes in care to learn to socialize (something she struggles with) and also to help form good eatting habits. So far she's doing great with both.
because you get 58% ccb that does not mean they pay 58% of the fees it is worked out on a hourly rate of $3.80ish that is where alot of parents go wrong
say your centre is open for 12 hours per day and charges $70 so you divide $70 by 12 = $5.83 per hour then the gov will pay up to $3.80 of that per hour so if your on 100% they will pay $3.80 out of the $5.83 where as your on 58% which means they pay 58% of the $3.80 which means they pay around $2.20 per hour which leaves you with a balance of $3.63 per hour x 12 hours which is around $43 i have probably just confused a few ppl with this but it is based on the $3.80 not the full fee :)
mumma2ajem
09-12-2011, 14:33
Oh and PP is kinda right. If my DD needed to be incare because I (as the main care giver) worked more then 15 hrs a week, the give would subsidize an extra 15 hours. So insted of 24 hrs I'd get 39 hrs at 58% off full care cost.
and you either get 25 hours if you dont work or work under 15 hrs per week or 50 hours if you work over 15 hours :) they dont do it in 15 hr lots :)
lemongrass
09-12-2011, 18:00
I am sahm I put DS at daycare since he's 3,5 years old. He goes 5 days a week I drop him at 8.30 and pick him up at 5 pm.
MrsTiggyWinkle
09-12-2011, 18:26
I put both mine in occ care 3 or 5 hours a week since they were 1yo. Cost aside, do it! Its great for your sanity esp if you have no break otherwise. And particularly if you get a good feel about the centre :yes:
share a book
09-12-2011, 19:12
Only claim to work if you are in paid work. Otherwise you are committing fraud.
TripleTime
09-12-2011, 19:38
Only claim to work if you are in paid work. Otherwise you are committing fraud.
Volunteering & studying get the same CCR result.
share a book
09-12-2011, 19:42
Volunteering & studying get the same CCR result.
Yes I know but a pp said to just tell them you work. The same with studying or volunteering, only say you are if you are, otherwise it's dishonest.
mumma2ajem
11-12-2011, 19:30
Yes I know but a pp said to just tell them you work. The same with studying or volunteering, only say you are if you are, otherwise it's dishonest.
ditto and it is ppl like that who wreck it for the rest of us
happygrl
11-12-2011, 20:05
Seriously I would be putting your child in care and not worrying about the rebates and benefits etc. Apply for them but expect nothing and be pleasently surprised if you qualify.
I WILL suggest one thing though. More of a pleading request. PLEASE make it known that you are flexible for your day. If somone needs the day you have, you can swap. I say that because it can be so hard to get work to give you hours you need when you need that income. And to try and have work line up with daycare is like trying to play jenga in an earthquake.
I'm putting DS in one day a week next year on a Thursday. I don't know if it's all centers but the ones I spoke to you still have to pay for public holidays even if they are shut.
I'd think about changing to a Wednesday, but not any other day for this reason.
bellalika
11-12-2011, 21:45
I'm putting DS in one day a week next year on a Thursday. I don't know if it's all centers but the ones I spoke to you still have to pay for public holidays even if they are shut.
Unless it is occasional care than yes, I believe so.
Myztiks#1Fan
11-12-2011, 21:48
Yes that is correct. Its the same.if your child doesnt go the day they are enrolled to go, you still have to pay. If your centre is small, you coukd always see if you could swap that day to do a make up day. I swap days as i need them. I have also done make up days when coop was sick with no extra charges as my centre is small and has the room to swap and change even at a moments notice.
Sent from my GT-I9000T using BubHub
Next year I will be a SAHM as I am due with #2 in Feb and am planning to take the year off. I will keep DS is daycare for 2 days at the start of the year and then drop down to 1 day after a couple of months.
I personally wouldn't send my child by choice until they were around 18m+, as I found DS didn't really settle in well until he was closer to 2 years old, but I had to send him from 12 months as I had no choice.
Yep, well have to pay for public holidays but can't access care.
Very frustrating for someone like me. I am a single mum, I have set days and set timetables. I work for a national company so I only get national public holidays off. If it's a holiday in my state I have no care, but I still have to work.
So I need to Pay for daycare, still find alternate care so pay again, Get him somewhere else on a public holiday (less public transport) and still work.
I'm so lucky my work let me pick my work days based on what day I could get my son into daycare. It's taken almost a full year to be able to swap one of my days to better suit my work. I'm supposed to get priority on my care days as I am a single working mum, but over a year to get him in at all, and an aditional 8-9months to get the days I wanted for my work... Imagine if my work wasn't flexible.
Daycare places are gold. No-one should take them for granted.
For the record, I finally got through to Centrelink today.
To qualify for CCR, both my husband and I need to qualify for the work test - which I dont as I wont be working, studying at all... so thats a shame.
I may still look into Occassional Care though as 1 day a week Childcare is going to cost us near $5k a year that we dont really want/have to spend.
mumma2ajem
12-12-2011, 19:43
Yep, well have to pay for public holidays but can't access care.
Very frustrating for someone like me. I am a single mum, I have set days and set timetables. I work for a national company so I only get national public holidays off. If it's a holiday in my state I have no care, but I still have to work.
So I need to Pay for daycare, still find alternate care so pay again, Get him somewhere else on a public holiday (less public transport) and still work.
I'm so lucky my work let me pick my work days based on what day I could get my son into daycare. It's taken almost a full year to be able to swap one of my days to better suit my work. I'm supposed to get priority on my care days as I am a single working mum, but over a year to get him in at all, and an aditional 8-9months to get the days I wanted for my work... Imagine if my work wasn't flexible.
Daycare places are gold. No-one should take them for granted.
i understand it is frustrating having to pay for public holidays etc but just remember the owner still has to pay the staff for the public holiday and same with if your child is sick staff are still allocated for a set number of childre
agreed! And it's rather frightening to think how little carers actually get considering that they are moulding the future. How can that be any less valuable than our solicitors, accountants etc?
Please don't think that my little rant was about it being unfair on the centres... It was moreso to offer perspective on how holiday time effects others who use care for work days only.
My DS has been going to day care once a week since he was 10 months old. I'm planning on going back to work soonish and I study via distance, so it was a way for him to get use to day care and give me a chance to study.
I also thought it might help he get use to being around other small children (he doesn't see many other babies besides in my mother's group).
The first 6 weeks I only left him in for half a day, but now he goes in for most of the day and we don't have any issues with it. I felt really guilty at the start though!
My personal opinion is that mothers should be able to do whatever they want (back to the original question) in terms of putting their kids in occasional day care even if they're stay at home mums.
However, I disagree with having tax payers money pay for any amount of subsidy if one parent is at home and is capable of caring for the child/ren (ie not disabled or otherwise hampered). I know its expensive without any rebate, but that's because quite frankly it's a luxury if one parent is at home.
MrsTiggyWinkle
19-01-2012, 07:36
My personal opinion is that mothers should be able to do whatever they want (back to the original question) in terms of putting their kids in occasional day care even if they're stay at home mums.
However, I disagree with having tax payers money pay for any amount of subsidy if one parent is at home and is capable of caring for the child/ren (ie not disabled or otherwise hampered). I know its expensive without any rebate, but that's because quite frankly it's a luxury if one parent is at home.
Not quite sure where you are based but to the best of my knowledge if one parent is at home and not 'otherwise hampered' (ie working, studying or actively seeking work) then there ARE no rebates. And if there are please tell me about them because I would kill for a day to myself - in 4 years of parenting, on one income, with no famiily nearby, i have never had a kid-free day and I could seriously use a bit of luxury...
Mrstiggywinkle, from memory you are entitled to about 15 hours of ccb without satisfying an activity test, but it's means tested.
So unless your family income is low, it won't be much money.
BlissedOut
19-01-2012, 07:53
Lol, these posts always are amusing.
Witwicky
19-01-2012, 08:26
Mrstiggywinkle, from memory you are entitled to about 15 hours of ccb without satisfying an activity test, but it's means tested.
So unless your family income is low, it won't be much money.
This is true. I looked into putting DS1 in for one day a week when DS2 was a newborn, because I was so exhausted and doing everything alone. I was told that I was entitled to 15 hours, and I was able to receive the whole amount (I was on the single parenting payment). I didn't end up putting him in, but it was comforting to know the option was there.
Witwicky- being on the PPS is completely different assessment to partnered.
Witwicky
19-01-2012, 11:10
Oh ok. In that case, as you were :D
BlissedOut
19-01-2012, 14:02
I'm partnered and a SAHM, we get 15 hours of income assessed hours. It's $30 a day on DHs low income.
VintageLover
19-01-2012, 14:09
I would not cope without childcare. I have no family support, even though we are now an hour away instead of nine..
We run a business so ive been in and out of work for six years but it doesn't affect childcare as we are 50/50.
I love my child free days and believe all us mums deserve them!