View Full Version : Hi Dec mummies
dec05mum
28-09-2005, 10:57 AM
New here and I just wanted to introduce myself.
I have been posting on an American based site so it's nice to have people to talk to who will also be having Summer Christmas babies!!!
My m/s went on from 3weeks -5months(I got to know my bucket very well!)
then I had a nuchal scan followed by an amnio and I've racked up 6 u/s.......
I guess I just expected to breeze through with no complications,dumb huh?
The funny thing is (I can't believe I'm saying this) I'm already thinking about #2....
Anyway look forward to chatting with you!
28-09-2005, 12:52 PM
HI!
I'm due on the 19th December. My m/s was from 6 wks to 16-17 wks this time around (much better than the 1st time!).
I think that that all the yucky stuff we have to go through doesn't compare to wonderful gift of children. It's totally worth it!! :D
Good luck!
Becky
dec05mum
28-09-2005, 01:14 PM
Hi Becky,
I agree that after everything it will be worth all the troubles!!!
I can't help feeling anxious though first baby syndrome probably!
Mum2Tyla
28-09-2005, 03:56 PM
hI,
I had no morning sickness but I have developed carpal tunnel due to fluid retention, have also put on about 24kgs and I have a skin condition that was so bad in the first trimester I could hardly move and got hardly any sleep but it will all be worth it in the end a small price to pay I think, well good luck to everyone.
kelly :o
dec05mum
28-09-2005, 05:26 PM
Hi Kelly
Boy were you lucky no m/s,My bucket became my best friend for 5months...
I think I've had nearly everything this pg.on the up side my next one should be trouble free right?????? :)
Mummaof2
29-09-2005, 03:01 PM
I too didn't suffer from m/s this time round. I kept expecting it to start as i suffered for 6 months with it with my first PG. But that doesnt mean I have had a trouble free pregnancy. Ive had 4 ultrasounds due to severe stomach cramping, was admitted to hospital at 24 weeks as had a threatened premature labour and now have been diagnosed with Syphasys Pubis Diastasis and have to wear a support belt till the end of pregnancy so i am hoping the next 12 weeks fly by.
Mum_2B
Emma 25yrs
DH 27yrs
DD 4.5yrs
DS - EDD 22/12/05
How are you feeling now the count down has truely began??
I had a 30 week scan yesterday to check a couple of things out, luckily everything has sorted it's self out.
But the point of this thread is to say that I haven't stopped smiling since, seeing his little face has just thrilled me. Before the scan I was getting down and tearful, now I feel like a different person. If you feeling similar to I did, don't, we haven't got long to go now before we meet out little bundle!!
Hels x
Funkychicken
07-10-2005, 03:21 PM
My babe is also due in Dec-we think about the 27th! Third babe and a complete surprise to us. I have just returned from the midwives for 28 wk check and all is well. Iron good-finally. This took a lot of effort on my behalf to achieve-lots of iron tonic, iron rich foods and no caffeine. I think I'll treat myself to a coffee tonight as I have been missing it. Will keep up the reports. SalOO8.
austi05
08-10-2005, 10:46 AM
We went to our first antenatal class this week which was very...informative! Haven't been thinking too much about the actual labour up to this point (taking one day at a time) - but now I'm freaking out a bit...! :eek: Hope it all goes well (due date 28 Dec).
dec05mum
10-10-2005, 01:28 PM
Hi December Mummies to be!!!!
Well I'm feeling about 12 or 13 months pregnant right now!
My OB has told me I have too much amniotic fluid around Ivy so we are on weekly visits a little earlier than anticipated....
I have to ask....How is everybody managing to shave their legs?????
I'm sure mine are starting to look like feral territory! DH is very nice about it,he has even offered to do them for me! To be honest though my bigger concern is my bikini line(or lack thereof) thankfully I can no longer see this area so I only need to feel sorry for hubby LOL!!!!!
My hospital bag is slowly coming together I'm adding to it every day almost!!! hopefully by Dec it will be ready to go!
Any way hope to hear from you all soon.. :) :D :)
Mummaof2
10-10-2005, 01:34 PM
I too didn't suffer from m/s this time round. I kept expecting it to start as i suffered for 6 months with it with my first PG. But that doesnt mean I have had a trouble free pregnancy. Ive had 4 ultrasounds due to severe stomach cramping, was admitted to hospital at 24 weeks as had a threatened premature labour and now have been diagnosed with Syphasys Pubis Diastasis and have to wear a support belt till the end of pregnancy so i am hoping the next 12 weeks fly by.
Mum_2B
Emma 25yrs
DH 27yrs
DD 4.5yrs
DS - EDD 22/12/05
Well since my previous post (see above) I now have another issue to add to my pregnancy I have been diagnosed with possible gestational diabeted and have to have my 75g glucose test on friday.
How is all the other december mums going??
dec05mum
10-10-2005, 02:02 PM
Oh no Mum_2B.....
I can sympathise this pregnancy for me has been one bad appointment after another,very problematic.
I hope your test goes well,let us know.
Good luck!!!!!!! :)
charli
10-10-2005, 03:59 PM
hi all,
To Dec05mum -
I was shocked for about the first 4 months I had to shave my legs every second day now at 28 weeks from 4 months onwards I have shaved about 3 times and I just did it for the sake of doing it! The hair just ain't growing their at all!...
Ciao
Charli
Funkychicken
10-10-2005, 06:58 PM
I don't try to shave them-I get them waxed which is so much nicer. The growth is slower due to pregnancy but with waxing the regrowth takes ages, plus no yucky prickles, only fluffy hairs and believ4e me I am dark haired and usually have fairly thick, rapid growth. Plus it's nice to be a bit pampered!
Mum2Tyla
11-10-2005, 10:24 PM
Totally understand the bikini line thing I was obsessive about my body hair before I got pregnant now I can't even see my bikini line so shave blindly. If one more person tells me not long to go now i think i will kill them, 10 weeks seems like an eternity when you are getting about 2 hrs sleep a night and working full time. Well good luck everyone
Kelly :p
dec05mum
12-10-2005, 07:43 AM
Well yesterday I had my hospital book in and tour......Very informative and the midwives were lovely!!!!
I live in a semi country town (Lithgow) so the hospital isn't huge so I was expecting not to like it and instead do the drive to Nepean hospital!!!!!
But it was lovely there are only 2 birthing suites but they both have huge tubs and showers as well as birthing aids.
And as the hospital is not busy I'll likely be the only one in there having a baby on the day!!!!!
Luckily my OB will be delivering Ivy so I feel comfortable and confident that things will be fine.
I'm also booked in for anti-natal classes from 1/11 that go for 6 weeks 2 hours a week.The cost is only $20 for the entire 6 weeks and includes supper!!!!!
Anyway have a great day ladies. :)
pinkandblue
12-10-2005, 03:57 PM
I am now 31 weeks pregnant! Only 9 weeks to go! My pregnancy has been great so far.
I get a little heartburn here and there but not as much as with my first pregnancy. Has anyone heard that if you get alot of heartburn your baby is born with a head full of hair? I had alot of heartburn in my first pregnancy and my daughter was born with alot of hair. I've been thinking that because I haven't had alot of heartburn, I might have a bald baby.
I havent been getting up to go to the toilet during the night yet so that is a good thing. And I havent been shaving my legs as much either.
We are having a boy and I really dont like many of the boys clothes around at the moment. I have alot of the bonds stuff and my friend has given me some stuff from her two boys so I should have enough clothes for my little one. Now I just need to buy a new stroller because my old one doesnt fit in the boot of my car and then I think I have everything.
Last thing, how is everyone going with baby names? We are having a boy and cannot think of one name that we like. We dont like common names (eg John, Peter, Steve), we like something different but just cant find anything. I'm just hoping something will come to me or that when the baby is born, there will be a name that suits him.
Anyway I think thats enough for now. Chat again soon
Natalie
Mummaof2
12-10-2005, 04:14 PM
Totally understand the bikini line thing I was obsessive about my body hair before I got pregnant now I can't even see my bikini line so shave blindly. If one more person tells me not long to go now i think i will kill them, 10 weeks seems like an eternity when you are getting about 2 hrs sleep a night and working full time. Well good luck everyone
Kelly :p
Hi kelly,
I also have 10 weeks to go and feel like its never going to end. Im also still working full time and am getting hardly any sleep during the night as I am most comfortable sleeping on my back but when i do it feels like bub is laying on my bladder. :rolleyes:
Emma
Mummaof2
12-10-2005, 04:20 PM
I get a little heartburn here and there but not as much as with my first pregnancy. Has anyone heard that if you get alot of heartburn your baby is born with a head full of hair? I had alot of heartburn in my first pregnancy and my daughter was born with alot of hair. I've been thinking that because I haven't had alot of heartburn, I might have a bald baby.
Last thing, how is everyone going with baby names? We are having a boy and cannot think of one name that we like. We dont like common names (eg John, Peter, Steve), we like something different but just cant find anything. I'm just hoping something will come to me or that when the baby is born, there will be a name that suits him.
Anyway I think thats enough for now. Chat again soon
Natalie[/QUOTE]
Natalie,
I had extreme heart burn during my pregnancy with my DD...so bad in fact i remember going to the hospital one night as i thought i was actually having a heart attack. DD was born with a full head of jet black hair and is now blonde. With this pregnancy i have only had reflux every now and then but no heartburn and am also having a boy.
My DH and I have chosen the name Cooper for our DS2B. When we first chose the name we didnt think it was very common but since then we hear it all the time.
Emma
brooke
13-10-2005, 10:57 AM
hello everyone,
how is everyone going???
im so excitied i cant wait to meet our little girl!!!!
she has been so active, my husband took a video of my tummy moving last night
it looked so weird!!! :D
i have just gone and bought all the stuff for my hopsital bag .. cost us a fortune!!!
has anyone started buying their little bubbas anything for xmas yet?
we bought "paiges first xmas" stocking last week!
let hope shes not late and makes it for xmas other wise it will have to wait for next year! ha ha ha
dec05mum
14-10-2005, 09:47 AM
Brooke
I was looking at Christmas stockings yesterday!!! Still haven't found one I like...
We are going to get a special tree ornament for Ivy,as she already has about 10+ pressies from us she better be on time!!!!!!!!
How are you finding your time away from work?
I can't wait till I'm finished.
I've started doing an hour long walk in the mornings from 6 till 7 with DH .I'm hoping this will help labour along in about 9 weeks(no longer!!) plus I guess it will help keep weight gain to a minimum although probably cutting out the chocolate I've been pigging out on would help that more!!!!!
Ivy seems to have slowed down in her movements over the last week or so,but I am assured that this is normal so I'm not too concerned.Not yet anyway..I do have my OB on speed dial LOL he will be so glad when I've delivered.
Anyway have a great day December mummies
**********62 days to go**********
:) :)
Mum2Tyla
15-10-2005, 11:30 AM
Hi kelly,
I also have 10 weeks to go and feel like its never going to end. Im also still working full time and am getting hardly any sleep during the night as I am most comfortable sleeping on my back but when i do it feels like bub is laying on my bladder. :rolleyes:
Emma
I know exactly how you feel I normally sleep on my back but wake up having trouble breathing so have to sleep on my side. Had my first antenatal class the other night and cried for about an hour when I got home I knew I was big but compared to the other girls in the class I was massive I have put on 27kgs. Before I got pregnant I worked out 6 days a week and ate really healthy but when i got pregnant I was sick for 9 weeks so didnt set foot in a gym and ate heaps of **** because I could'nt be bothered cooking, I admit I do eat a bit of junk but not heaps,was a bit depressing thats all, sorry to sound like a whinger, my BF just does'nt understand. Good luck everyone.
Kelly :o
Mum2Tyla
15-10-2005, 11:34 AM
Baby is due december 22nd we figure everyone will buy here so much stuff that it is wiser for us to save the money as we have been given so many clothes and toys already and finances are going to tight, and she won;t know any different anyway. I am not a huge fan of xmas, our family just gets together for lunch and before xmas we all pick a name out of a hat and you buy for that person and the limit is $100.
Kelly
Funkychicken
16-10-2005, 12:15 PM
I know exactly how you feel I normally sleep on my back but wake up having trouble breathing so have to sleep on my side. Had my first antenatal class the other night and cried for about an hour when I got home I knew I was big but compared to the other girls in the class I was massive I have put on 27kgs. Before I got pregnant I worked out 6 days a week and ate really healthy but when i got pregnant I was sick for 9 weeks so didnt set foot in a gym and ate heaps of **** because I could'nt be bothered cooking, I admit I do eat a bit of junk but not heaps,was a bit depressing thats all, sorry to sound like a whinger, my BF just does'nt understand. Good luck everyone.
Kelly :o
Hi Kelly,
I know EXACTLY how you are feeling. I have been there too. My first pregnancy was when I went from a small 54kgs to 82kgs! It was horrendous. I was devastated by the weight gain and hated my body-especially immediately following his birth. Big stretch marks on my belly and I was so fluid filled I could barely bend my legs. I also felt like I was the only person to have ever gained so much weight in pregnancy. I would see other preg women with neat little bumps and no obvious fat anywhere else and I would cry and hate myself even more and blame myself.
The good news, although it took some time, is that I did manage to lose most of the weight. Primarily through breastfeeding as my son was a HUGE feeder-feeding every two hours for the first four or so months and he just sucked most of it out of me. I also walked a few kms each day and within six months I was feeling much better. I know this sounds like a long time but believe me it flew by-in fact that was seven years ago now. By the time I became pregnant with babe
no.2 I was actually fitter than I was pre first pregnancy. I gained about 20 kgs second time around but was a lot less stressed about it because I had already been there and knew it was wasted time dwelling on it. Unfortunately my daughter didn't feed a lot so although she was fully breastfed I didn't lose it as quick and had to work at it a bit harder. Breastfeeding is absolutely the quickest way to start shifting the weight. Babe no.3 is due in about 9 weeks and I have been so relaxed about the weight thing this time. I didn't focus on it at all and have basically just kept eating my usual fare which does include a bit of junk.
Don't beat yourself up over it-you will lose the weight again, even if your shape changes-which happens after all pregnancies regardless of weight gain. You are expecting a beautiful gift soon and it can be easy to waste time stressing over how to lose weight after the birth but their babyhood is so short, make the most of every minute and it will work out.
dec05mum
17-10-2005, 10:20 AM
Happy Monday morning everyone!
Weight gain geeez the thought of my OBs scales scares me.......
I have definately gained in a big way over the last 2 or so weeks!!!
I'm fairly tall 180cm so I can carry extra weight but I think I have already gained 20kg and I still have 60 days to go!!!!
I have my weekly appointment on Thursday with the added bonus of another u/s ( this is to check my fluid levels!)
I cant believe that the time is flying by sooo quickly!!!
I had a dream last night that Ivy arrived 2 weeks earlier than planned and then for some reason I forgot I had a baby then when I walked into the nursery there was someone else there yelling at me for forgetting her!!!
Anyone else having weird dreams????? :eek:
Anyway have a great day everyone. :)
Funkychicken
17-10-2005, 11:10 AM
Hi Kelly,
I know EXACTLY how you are feeling. I have been there too. My first pregnancy was when I went from a small 54kgs to 82kgs! It was horrendous. I was devastated by the weight gain and hated my body-especially immediately following his birth. Big stretch marks on my belly and I was so fluid filled I could barely bend my legs. I also felt like I was the only person to have ever gained so much weight in pregnancy. I would see other preg women with neat little bumps and no obvious fat anywhere else and I would cry and hate myself even more and blame myself.
The good news, although it took some time, is that I did manage to lose most of the weight. Primarily through breastfeeding as my son was a HUGE feeder-feeding every two hours for the first four or so months and he just sucked most of it out of me. I also walked a few kms each day and within six months I was feeling much better. I know this sounds like a long time but believe me it flew by-in fact that was seven years ago now. By the time I became pregnant with babe
no.2 I was actually fitter than I was pre first pregnancy. I gained about 20 kgs second time around but was a lot less stressed about it because I had already been there and knew it was wasted time dwelling on it. Unfortunately my daughter didn't feed a lot so although she was fully breastfed I didn't lose it as quick and had to work at it a bit harder. Breastfeeding is absolutely the quickest way to start shifting the weight. Babe no.3 is due in about 9 weeks and I have been so relaxed about the weight thing this time. I didn't focus on it at all and have basically just kept eating my usual fare which does include a bit of junk.
Don't beat yourself up over it-you will lose the weight again, even if your shape changes-which happens after all pregnancies regardless of weight gain. You are expecting a beautiful gift soon and it can be easy to waste time stressing over how to lose weight after the birth but their babyhood is so short, make the most of every minute and it will work out.
PS I forgot to mentio that during this pregnancy I haven't looked at the scales once. I decided not to know my weight gain as I didn't feel the need for that sort of stress. My GP and midwives are fine with this decision and never announce out loud my weight.
brooke
17-10-2005, 11:41 AM
hi everyone,
paige- answer to your question re my leave i am loving it so far...
have been so busy hardly noticed i havent been at work!
im a little scared because it also ment no more getting paid for me! :eek:
i really feel for everyone that has gained weight, that must be hard.
a friend of mine is pregnant and is bigger than me already and isnt due til march!
i was panicing because ive put on 4.5 kgs. I find it really hard dealing with all the changes to my body! My husband says all the time that i look beautiful and sexy
but i just cant see it!!!! (some time i think he will say anything to keep me happy) :)
i am really looking forward to bubs arriving, we have sorted all of her little clothes in to sizes ( e.g 0000, 000, 00 and 0 )
she has so many clothes it crazy!!!! oh well at least we should have to buy many until she is about 1 :D
i keep having weird dreams that i am going in to labour and in every dream
i yell to my husband "quick! you have to catch her!!!! "
ive got another antenatal class tonight: labour and giving birth
cant wait! just hope they dont show the video dont think i could deal with that.....
ha ha ha
anyway girls think ive rambled enough hope everyone is doing well!!!! :D
Mel's Belle
17-10-2005, 01:36 PM
Hi all December mums!
At least it's not long now! I can't believe how quickly it's gone so far! I'm due Dec 7 and find out this week my little one's estimated weight, as I was a bit worried she might be a little large to deliver naturally. Fingers crossed, she's not too big! I've put on 10kgs so far (with 7 weeks of growing still to go) and have some stretch marks to prove it, but all in all, I'm happy with my pregnancy figure. I've been trying to keep active by taking walks and the doing the occasional Pilates (pregnancy safe) DVD.
I'm finishing up work this week and my DH is convinced I will be bored, but I've been reading the posts about what to do when you go on maternity leave, so I'm sure I'll find plenty to do, including sleep-ins, afternoon naps and a fair share of daytime television. Plus I haven't bought many clothes for bub's yet and need to wash the ones I have got. I haven't fully packed my hospital bag yet, but plan to do so next week. Has everyone else fully packed?
Is anyone having a baby shower? I've planned mine for the 30th October and need to organise a few things for it still, but thankfully it's at my parent's house.
I've been having some really bizarre dreams for sometime now and just put it down to hormonal changes, however they do get pretty scary sometimes!
Good luck to all the December mums in the final 2 months! :D
Baby 1205
Due 7th December
brooke
19-10-2005, 12:07 PM
hello girls,
how is everyone going???
has anyone started their antenatal classes yet??
im finding mine very boring.... all the lady does is talk and talk and talk
we watched the labour video (scary) :eek: but we havent even started
looking at how to breathe etc...
im sure that this is what we are ment to learn
and next week is c-sections and interventions!!!!!
oh well... hope everyone is doing well...
i cant wait to meet my bubba! I almost wish she could just come now!
dec05mum
20-10-2005, 10:30 AM
I start my anti natal classes on 1/11 I'm looking forward to it...... :)
Well I had my 32 week appointment this morning!! OB says everything is looking good I have an u/s this arvo to check fluid levels but I'm not really worried!
He did say that Ivy is in a transverse position (laying across my belly ) but says she still has till about 35-36 weeks to move into the correct position.
Her weight is apparently on the 50 percentile????
I guess this means she is about middle of the road thank God as I was convinced I was having a small whale!!!
Anyway better make the most of this day off(washing vacuuming etc...) if the weather clears up I could actually enjoy the day!!!!!
Mum2Tyla
21-10-2005, 07:54 PM
we started antenatal classes about 2 weeks ago they are really good we have a different midwife each week so we meet them all before we give birth, I am having my baby at a birthing centre so not much talk about caesars etc, alot about breathing, massage , baths etc as pain relief, we watched some birthing videos but they were nothing like the gory ones I remember they were beautiful, even my boyfriend who is quesy was okay, it did'nt sugar coat it but was;nt all blood, guts and screaming and all the mums spoke at the end. Good luck everyone we are on the home stretch.
Kelly :)
austi05
21-10-2005, 09:07 PM
We've been enjoying our antenatal classes so far. Next week we go on hospital tour of birth centre and labour ward - which should be fun. Nice group of people too. It's good to know that we're all in the same boat. A bit scared, anxious but desperately looking forward to our little baby...
dec05mum
25-10-2005, 09:09 AM
With all this talk of anti-natal classes I really just want mine to start..I have another week though!
My back is starting to get quite uncomfortable, but as she is still laying across my belly she seems to enjoy poking my kidneys!!!!!
I think I'm getting a little tired of being pregnant,anyone else feeling this way? please tell me I'm not the only one!
As for sleeping well I too seem to find myself more comfortable on my back,I try to sleep on my side but find I get pains after a while!
I think that at this stage of pg any position we are in is going to be somewhat uncomfortable.... :(
Funkychicken
25-10-2005, 10:03 AM
Hi all Dec mums,
The sleeping thing is getting harder now and I find I wake throughout the night when trying to turn onto my other side-as well as drag the 'between the knees' pillow over with me. I did read though that back sleeping is OK if you prop your right side up a little bit as this relieves the pressure on the nerves. It seems to work for me when I try it.
Thought I'd share this funny story-we have been making a point of sending our 5 yo DD back into bed if she creeps in before 5 am. She has done this for as long as I can remember and it has never bothered my DH and I and the cuddles are actually quite nice but with the impending arrival of no.3 we thought it best to take care of this issue sooner rather than later. Anyway I got up to go to the loo last night at about 3 am and on my return DH greeted me with a "GET BACK TO BED" really loud. He thought it was DD and thought he had busted her as he often sleeps through her arriving in our bed. I explained I was getting into bed if he would move off my side and let me in. We ended up giggling about htis for the next 15 mins or so and DD didn't actually arrive in our bed until 7.15 am!
Look after yourselves girls,
Sal-7 wks to go!
brooke
25-10-2005, 12:37 PM
hi girls,
I have had some trouble sleeping at night also... I have been doing the pillow between my knees thing also..
I have got one more week left of my antenatal classes dont know what i will do after they are finished!
I cant wait until bubs arrives! i cant wait to just hold her!
Not much longer to go now! bubs is currnetly head down bum up! so hope she stays that way!
austi05
25-10-2005, 08:28 PM
Hey, delicate question for you all... Is anyone else out there finding sex is getting really uncomfortable now?? I've gone off the idea totally (which is a bit unfortuante for poor ol DH). Is it just me...?
brooke
25-10-2005, 08:51 PM
dont worry your not the only one..... :o
my husband and i have pretty much agreed that we should just give up!
everything just gets in the way or i get a leg cramp or something! ha ha ha
so if anyone has any suggestions......... :D
1stbaby
26-10-2005, 12:24 PM
My husband is trying to get his quota in before the baby comes but I must say I find it a big effort and find getting out of bed a struggle without trying to fling myself around the bed.
dec05mum
26-10-2005, 12:55 PM
Too Funny!!!!!
I can't wait till it's enjoyable again :)
BUT they say that having sex in the weeks leading up to the due date can help induce labour if thats the case then I'm up for as much as DH can handle uncomfortable or not.......
Mummaof2
26-10-2005, 02:04 PM
I have found the easiest positions at the moment is me on top or me on the edge of the bed or wherever and him on top or there is always the doggy style.
Sorry if TMI.
1stbaby
27-10-2005, 08:43 AM
Pleased you bought it out because I was going to suggest the same positions, but was too shy to spell it out :o
Speaking of hurrying up labour, I'm due on Xmas day but when I went for my last antenatal appointment, my fundal height was a more than the weeks and the midwife said he might come a bit early. Does anyone know if that is accurate.
I am finding these last weeks hard, what with the reflux and I can't seem to walk for longer than 15 minutes without having to go to the toilet!
Mummaof2
28-10-2005, 04:44 PM
I had my 32 week check up today and DS head is already starting to engage. Yes I know that he can probably turn around many times before i go into labour but its still exciting knowing that he has started to engage but a bit scary at the same time.
Anyway hope all is well with everyone. Have a good weekend. :)
brooke
28-10-2005, 06:31 PM
HELLO MUM2B...
i think i might have to look into some of your tips... :o
My bubbas head is engaged too.. just hope it stays that way...
Hope everyone is feeling well...
Not long to go now! :D
dec05mum
02-11-2005, 08:36 AM
Hi December Mummies...
I had my first ante-natal class last night WOW talk about bored to tears!!! :(
I'm sure it will get better as they progress though, next week we are doing labour positions and pelvic floor exercises.
Ivy is still in the transverse position and seems to be going nowhere fast......
I really hope she turns soon!
Anyway I hope all is well with everyone. :)
brooke
02-11-2005, 11:25 AM
hello paige,
I found my first 3 really boring and the last one i had on monday was the best by far! i learnt more in that lesson than i did in all 3 of the others! and at least that lady was funny!
I hope they get better for you! i hated the forst 3 weeks and almost thought about missing the last one because i was so bored! i was so glad when it was a different lady to the others!
I hope everyone is feeling well!
Funkychicken
02-11-2005, 01:01 PM
Well, being babe no.#3 you don't even hear about classes at ante-natal appointments let alone get a choice in attending them. When pregnant with babe #1 we attended classes, along with 29 other couples, and found some aspects OK, others not. It depended on the presenter as to whether thet were interesting. My DH was quite over them so used a bit of humour to keep things interesting. During the class on breastfeeding, the midwife was talking about the rooting reflex and DH piped up really loudly and said to all, "Isn't that what got us in this trouble to begin with?"
As we live/work on a horse stud he made comments with reference to me being put out into the stables to 'foal down'. Some of the other parents-to-be were a bit horrified-I think they left their sense of humour at home.
Anyway, no classes this time but my appointments are now fortnightly and all is well. The heat is horrible though. I'm feeling like a sweaty cow at the moment and someone just told me to expect a very hot summer! Great-just what I needed to hear. The wardrobe issue was big this morning. I dont have any summer pregnancy clothes and had a bit of a tanty trying to find something that is cool and actually fits. I refuse to spend money on clothes that I am only going to wear for 4-6 wks, so it looks like I'll be visiting the op shop for a few bits.
------------------------------------------------
Sal-6 wks to go!
1stbaby
02-11-2005, 01:31 PM
I have my 32 week check up tomorrow. You lucky ones who are due at the beginning of Dec. You get to spend Christmas with your bubs! I am due to be in labour that day! The midwife said he might come early because his size is ahead of the weeks but do they really know?
I am also finding it hard to find clothes. My t=shirts are all stretched across my stomach and I dont want to buy clothes knowing I wont want to wear them after bubs is born.
I haven't started my antenatal classes because I"ve been moving around this pregnancy and booked in late. I am mainly interestd in finding out how to cope with labour and birth, and then how to look after a newborn because I dont know much.....scarey!
dannii
02-11-2005, 07:00 PM
Im new on here, and thought i'd join in on the dec mummies!
I came on here once ages ago to find other dec mums however forgot to check back!
My best friend is always talking about bubhub (she is also pregnant) so i thought i would come on and give it a try!
Im about 35 weeks preg at the moment due December 4th with my 3rd child.
anyways i hope to talk to you all soon. and get to know you all
:p
Funkychicken
02-11-2005, 07:10 PM
Im new on here, and thought i'd join in on the dec mummies!
I came on here once ages ago to find other dec mums however forgot to check back!
My best friend is always talking about bubhub (she is also pregnant) so i thought i would come on and give it a try!
Im about 35 weeks preg at the moment due December 4th with my 3rd child.
anyways i hope to talk to you all soon. and get to know you all
:p
Welcome Danni,
BEWARE- Bubhub is an addictive pastime!!!!
-----------------------------
Sal-6 wks to go!
brooke
02-11-2005, 08:18 PM
Hello dannii-
im with sal bubhib is so addictive!
Hope all is well with your pregnancy!!!!
dannii
02-11-2005, 09:26 PM
hahaha thanks for the warning girls :p
So far this pregnancy has been fine... very eventful! but fine. i have had to re take nearly every test along the way. Due to them thinking there was problems but once i get called back to re-test, it turns out im fine!
ive had 3 ultrasounds, due to them thinking bub was too big for the dates (it turned out fine also!
ive had 3 lots of Full blood counts - due to low iron levels
2 gestational diabetes tests - which turned out normal
the list goes on.................
i hope you all have had good pregnancies.
sorry, i just get ion here and already raving on and on!!
how many of you found out the sex of your baby? or did u decide to keep it a surprise?
and has anyone picked names yet??
i found out at my 20 week scan... im havin a girl !
gees i could chat on here forever.. better go... :eek:
*waves*
Twinkle
02-11-2005, 11:16 PM
Hi eveyone, I'm new here too.
EDD: Dec 9th.
I'm also having a girl who they say is big for dates...I'm hoping she'll come a bit early.
Too hot to type much tonight but I just wanted to say hi.
Me: Angie...37,
DH: Rob...39,
DD: Layla...5 (6 in a month or so)
another DD: due Dec 9,
34w+6d preg.
1stbaby
03-11-2005, 04:06 AM
Hi Danni and Twinkle.
Yes I find it addictive too....so much so even though i have left Australia, I still keep reading and posting!
I am having a boy...I couldn't resist checking on the 20 week scan and I was so convinced I was having a girl. Not that I mind at all. I've got rather tickled by the idea of a naughty cheeky little boy! :D
My hairdresser yesterday said straight away "oh you are having a boy" when i asked how she knew she said because i was carrying so high. i can't fit anything under my ribs(ie my hands wont sit there) Apparently if you are having a girl you should be able to fit your hands under your ribs before you feel your bump. Does anyone want to test that theory?
This is totally unscientific but according to her, girls engage early and get ready for birth whilst boys are still mucking around with their bums in the air.....like I said totally unscientific!
Mummaof2
03-11-2005, 08:48 AM
girls engage early and get ready for birth whilst boys are still mucking around with their bums in the air.....like I said totally unscientific!
Well I hope this theory isn't right as I am 33 weeks and found out the sex of my bub which is a boy and he is already head down. I have another ultrasound next wednesday to check the length of my cervix so i think I might check the sex again just in case.
Not long to go now girls!!! :D
dannii
03-11-2005, 04:17 PM
I've got rather tickled by the idea of a naughty cheeky little boy! :D
Such a cute way of looking at it!@! haha. So 1stbaby , if you left australia, where are you living now?
Twinkle: good to hear someone else new to the group!! :) And our bubs are due very close to eachother, both girls, and estimated big bubba's :p It will be interesting! Not too much longer to go .
Mum_2B : i also double checked the sex of my baby at my other ultrasound. just for peace of mind, i wasnt game enough to wash all the girls clothes - or even take the tags off..
i had my last scan at about 29 weeks. It was so fantastic, everything was so clear! and i had no more doubt at what sex she was! :D
Everyone had a horror story to tell about the time "so-and-so" thought they were having a girl, and turned out to be a boy or vice versa. Funny enough.. ive heard this sooo many times yet never actually known ANYONE that its really happened to!!.
Has anyone known anyone personally???? id be curious at how many times this has really happened.
Anyways ,
Have a good day.. chat to you later !!
1stbaby
04-11-2005, 12:17 PM
Danni
I moved back to NZ. I spent some of my pregnancy in Australia and because of my DH's job, I've switched twice. So back home now to stay. But I haven't found a New Zealand site because Im so addicted to this one.
Mum_2b my boy's head is down too and he definitely had the boy parts in the 20 week scan. So yeah the theory is out the window. Somehow he has his head down but still manages to have his bottom or legs up near my ribs. Its not good for indigestion.
Sometimes he moves and i can feel a little part like knees or a bottom. It feels like he is trying to get comfortable and my skin tightens. The midwife says its braxton hicks but i thought it was the baby adjusting. Has anyone else had this?
austi05
11-11-2005, 08:06 AM
Hi gals, my bub was head down and then decided to flip herself at 32-33 weeks! :confused: Doctor said babies are still moving around at this stage and I shouldn't worry about being breech at this stage. Any suggestions to get her to turn head-down again?? Do the rocking exercises really work?
brooke
11-11-2005, 09:13 AM
my SIL is a huge believer in the rocking exersises to turn bubs because both her bubs were still breach at 36wks and she did those exercises and they turned!
Not long to go now! Im 35wks and 2days but hey whos counting!
Mummaof2
11-11-2005, 09:25 AM
Well i had my ultrasound on Wednesday (34 weeks) everything is fine with bub and my cervix is still intact. DS is still head down and is weighing 2.3kg (5lb). And I checked with the ultrasound lady and she said he definately has all his little boy bits. So now i can't wait for the next 6 weeks to pass.
Sarah.V.
12-11-2005, 12:11 PM
Hi, all december mum's I have'nt posted anything for a fair while so I thought I would say Hi to you all. 5 weeks to go. (EDD 19/12/05). Glad to see everyone seems to be going o.k. I think I have had enough of being pregnant, I am ready now. I am however having those little fears that seem to creep in at about this time about the impending delivery. Although this is my third I am still scared. My DH is being very understanding lately and I think secretly he will be happy when it is all over. We did find out the sex of our baby, s'posed to be a girl. We are yet to decide on a name. Any way I hope you all are well and also excited. Talk to you soon.
Sarah. :p :p
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.