View Full Version : Are you all prepared for Christmas?

spideysmummy
05-12-2011, 14:05
Out of curiousity... Who IS prepared, and who goes crazy at the last minute?

I still have a bit to do.... But I know where I'm at so I feel okay about that.

Find present for my brother. Probably clothes.

Buy massage voucher for best friend.

Take ds to visit Santa, then print photos of ds for rellies.

The week leading up to Christmas in going to be busy baking cookies & such.

How are you going??

loving6
05-12-2011, 14:16
:no: Not at all. I think this has been the hardest one yet.

I am Trying to look past all the stress (the pain, my surgery, the pregnancy and heap of money issues) and get into the Christmas spirit. I have the Christmas carols on while I am doing a big spring clean.

I am sure it will all work in the end. It might be dd last Christmas with us for a while.

shani2
05-12-2011, 14:17
I'm feeling pretty organized, although we are not eating here so I don't need to arrange that.
All my pressies are bought and wrapped under my tree except DPs which is still at the shop waiting to be collected cos he is a terrible snoop and I want surprise!!
Baking to do 23rd for my grandmothers 80th on Xmas eve plus shortbread which I will buy all ingredients for tomorrow on food shop.
In saying all that I go back to work tomorrow after a month off onto night duty for 2 weeks then 12 hr shifts again is have to be organized!!!

Allycatshank
05-12-2011, 14:18
I'm sort of prepared, Still got to do some christmas shopping, but that will be done next week on wednesday afternoon. As the kids and I go to my parents for a week holiday and we go with my mum and do the shopping as she can put it on her credit card. With out my dad knowing. Which I realy love my mum for doing that. Plus we don't have a car at the moment and the ex is driving us down to my parents. They live on south side of brissie. We go to Garden city. I'll have the kids go sit on santas lap at shop near my mums as we can take our own photos.:smiliedance:Just have to get the ham, and christmas meal and lollies and penuts and then done. But that gets done week leading up to christmas. We're using hubbys mums car also ,but he manily can only use it for work and around our area. Love christmas:xmas:

MrsBeee
05-12-2011, 14:22
I'm done, except for photo calendar things for DD's grandparents. I was waiting to get a photo with Santa for the december page, but DD was terrified of him, so that idea didn't pan out. Will just dress her up and take one in front of the tree I think.

I haven't got gifts for DH's parents, he refuses to help, so I've told him he's in charge of their presents.

I also have to send him to buy *my* present.

I do have to do some xmas cooking though, rum balls, macadamia nut balls etc.

louellyn
05-12-2011, 14:24
I describe where I am at as organised chaos lol

Most presents have been purchased, a few more to go but they are all vouchers purchased online. Nothing has been wrapped and so DH and I will do that this week hopefully.

We have only just finished decorating the house inside and out. It has taken over a week and we are exhausted heh

My family are coming to us for Christmas for the first time so there will be a very busy week before the big day - lots of cooking, cleaning and hopefully some fun thrown in there also :-)

Nazgul
05-12-2011, 14:25
I haven't done a thing!
Haha
I've bought one present for my niece and that's it!!
When DP has a day off work we will go and pretty much buy everyone's presents at once, then closer to Xmas I'll get the things I need to make my cake and cake pops for Xmas lunch.

mumof1expecting2
05-12-2011, 14:27
Not at all!!! Lol
I'm not going on maternity leave til Christmas Eve when I'll be 38 weeks. For us, preparing for baby is more important this year. I've got all DS's presents done and that's it. I'll probably do some baking for work colleagues Christmas week if I feel up to it. I work in retail liquor so u can only imagine how busy that is at this time of year.

Having Christmas lunch at the inlaws which I'm not too keen on (that's a whole other thread!! Lol) but at least I can get out of being there all day being so heavily pregnant!!

Lillynix
05-12-2011, 14:31
I'm all done :D

We bought everything for the children online this year, and everything has been delivered, except for the trampoline which will still definitely be here in time though.

So presents are all organised. Tree is up. I would like to get a few cheap stocking fillers still, just crafty bits/bubbles/pencils etc which I can do any old time from the $2 shop. We've got plans to make some more decorations just as fun craft activities, and I don't need to worry about food or cooking this year as we'll be headed to MIL's, so yep. I'm all done baby (well, except for the gift wrapping, which i'll do during the evenings when children are sleeping) :D

funnymama
05-12-2011, 14:34
Bahumbug! I haven't done a thing and I don't feel like doing anything either. I'm usually so organised and keen but this year I don't care. My dh is calling me the grinch.

MothersMilk
05-12-2011, 14:36
Sort of. DD's presents are all done. I was going to bake stuff for everyone else but doubt i'll be bothered now. No Christmas tree, one lonely decoration hanging on my wall, no plans to improve my level of decoration.
I've stopped being excited about Christmas now that DH will likely not be here for it - i've turned into a real scrooge. :(
Bah humbug!

ICanDream
05-12-2011, 14:38
Not prepared, mentally, emotionally, socially or any kind of ready LOL. Haven't bought anything for anyone yet and starting to think I really ned to get a move on. We did finally buy and put up the tree yesterday but I am finding it hard to get in the groove this year.

me+he=3
05-12-2011, 14:44
Not even remotely but my plan is that by the end of this week, I'll be completely sorted. DH did some hardcore overtime last week so as soon as he's been paid that, I'll be out there spending it!! :D

In my defense, I am having a baby next week!! :laughing:

Myztiks#1Fan
05-12-2011, 15:09
Not really. I know what i need to buy so tha s a start. Will need to cancel some laybys and pick one up being coops one that he chose. Still need to get a camera for him and he is all done.

We have our tree up and a few decos now but i didnt do them.

We leave brissy in 2wks to go away so i am concentrating on the house with getting it all sorted before we go away.

Sent from my GT-I9000T using BubHub

Leeee
05-12-2011, 15:15
i don't have much to do. mum prefers me not to go buying gifts if i have money issues, which i have a lot of right now. for immediate family mum wants to do a secret santa so i'm waiting for mum to draw that so i know who i have to spend a whole $20 or whatever on.
work has a secret santa but it's opt in, and i didn't because i have money issues. it's only like $10 but still. i mean, chances are the person i'd get is someone i only know by name, if that, anyway (food/retail industry, large chain restaurant so lots of staff). can't be screwed.

Milktini
05-12-2011, 15:21
I feel prepared - But i'm not. I think i'm just far to relaxed for this time of the year :laughing:
Our tree is up, it's a start, right?

But really, the kids have their presents on layby and I have one part of DP's present, when I think about how much more I have to do, I stress out, so i'll just put it back to the back of my mind lol.

DailyDiversion
05-12-2011, 15:25
I think having a baby is a pretty good excuse Maddy's mum.

I'm using that one too if something goes awry. I'm having a baby in 2 weeks, I should be back home by Christmas Eve when when my MIL arrives from OS.

I think I'm reasonably organised this year. I just finished wrapping the presents, tree is done, I've ordered a ham and other groceries are also ordered and will be delivered. Christmas day itself is at my brother's so no cooking for me on the day.

Baby's gear is washed and ready and his hospy bag is packed, I just need to pack my hospy bag and finish up Spring cleaning.

The main thing I haven't yet finished this year are the annual photobooks for grandies but I hope to finish those this week.

SpecialPatrolGroup
05-12-2011, 15:26
I am in a serious state of financial denial about christmas. I am hoping that some of my stuff sells on ebay so I can afford the $24 shoes that I need at Big W (It kinda is a need because my feet are so terrible that I can't walk without pain in many shoes).

Hanging out for some little cash-fairy to come my way!

MamaC
05-12-2011, 15:50
I thought I was super organised, but the other day I suddenly realised that there's only 2 pays until Xmas and I've got land and water rates to pay before Xmas!!! :freakingout:

TeamAwesome
05-12-2011, 15:50
Nope, not organised at all and I'm not stressed or worried.

DH hasn't been working since May until few weeks ago so we're still catching up on bills which is loads more important.

We are taking a simple approach to Christmas this year either way. Kids get too much stuff these days and we have a small house with not much storage so they don't need more stuff unless they can use it or do things with it.

It'll be a good day it's our just us this year which I love because it's a fun cruisy day, plan on lots of family bonding activities like baking, crafts, take photos and walking. It'll be fun.

Out To Pasture
06-12-2011, 09:42
We aren't entirely ready for Xmas.

Still got DS's present on layby, still have to finish putting up the decorations, still need to send the Christmas cards.

The most I got going right now, is the tree is up, and I have written my shopping list for the Christmas feast.

Comes down totally to the fact, of money. I just recently moved house, and every single avenue is drained. So a little stressful here at the moment. Haven't put anything on the layby in just over 3 weeks.

Pinkzy
06-12-2011, 10:01
Tree has been up for a month, all the presents are wrapped under the tree, have organised all the Christmas plans :) DH hasn't even started his shopping yet...typical :laughing:.

summastarlet
06-12-2011, 11:03
Almost organised. I figured I wouldn't want to be doing all the Christmas running around once I finish work next week so decided to get my butt into gear for once!

The tree is up, only a few little gifts left to buy (done the major ones) and wrap. The only thing left for me to do is the Christmas cooking (rum balls and shortbreads) which I'll do over the next week or so...

It's nice to be organised. Usually I leave it all to the last minute!

Lil M
06-12-2011, 11:09
Nope, no tree up yet, bought 1 pressie (for my Dad) so far, no idea what food DF will be doing (we have MIL & FIL over from the uk for Christmas & my parents for NY) TBH we are getting married on 3rd Jan so wedding plans have been a priority. Will probably organise everything 2 weeks before Christmas while MIL & FIL are here to help with DS:laughing:

Janesmum123
06-12-2011, 11:10
I have nothing done nothing, zip, zero, squat. Crap I just can get into it this year.

EmPowering
06-12-2011, 11:15
yeah mostly ready. I have my
sisters and mums birthday before Christmas though haha so organized for that. Christmas presents are
prett much done just need to get my sister somethig and probably an extra something for mum. and buy a photoframe to put a photo in for my grandma

tree is up etc :) we organize food inthe week before as fridge isn't big enough for the ham and turkey prior/ makes Christmas eve fun making the trifle etc :)

rainbow road
06-12-2011, 11:16
I'm semi organised. I've bought for mum, 2 of my brothers, 1 of my cousins and my nephew. I know what I'm getting dad, so I have nan and pop, one cousin and one brother left to buy for.

Luckily DPs family aren't doing presents except for the kids and there's only one kid. And DP and I don't do presents (we're both strapped for cash until she starts properly working and that is only the week before Xmas - so I'm not too stressed. I've put up the tree and such but I'm more stressed about the logistics of Christmas Eve and day - I have so many places to be at once. Gah!

Beachside Mumma
06-12-2011, 11:42
I'm sort of organized. I just have to pick up a layby, get the rest if DP's present and grab some stocking fillers for DD2. I've made a list for food but that's as far as I've gotten there. I haven't wrapped anything and I have no desire to. Hopefully I find some motivation soon.

Melting Mayo
06-12-2011, 12:07
I did nearly all of my present buying online on my iPhone while I was bfing or had bubs on my chest putting him to sleep. Hee hee :)

EmPowering
06-12-2011, 12:18
yeah I found doing majority of my shopping online this year SO much easier !

Milktini
19-12-2011, 20:59
I.AM.DONE. :smiliedance:
Started today, finished today, my legs are killing me and I am not the least bit excited about having to wrap all the presents, should have just gotten gifts bags :laughing:

kristinandchloe
19-12-2011, 21:18
I feel like christmas has had such a big lead up this year as I've had mine all done for about 5 weeks! Now living in a town where choice is slim and prices are high, I had to do it all when I went back home to coffs..
I used to hate the choice of shops there now I love that there is more than one place to go:)
I too though am not looking forward to wrapping the presents, but am looking forward to my 2.5yo dd face christmas morning :goodvibes:

MamaC
20-12-2011, 00:13
All the presents are bought, half are wrapped and homemade gifts are planned and will be started on Thursday night after work.
Plus land+water rates are paid :goodvibes:

On another note, I have SO much work to do this week, getting lots of patients set for the weekend so the weekend nurses can have shorter Xmas and boxing days!

Milktini
20-12-2011, 00:34
I decided to try be organised and wrap all the pressies tonight. I ran out of wrapping paper with just one left to wrap :hair: Looks like I am going to have to brave the shops once more :freakingout:

IndigoJ
20-12-2011, 00:38
Yep, just need one more food shop. We are leaving on the 27th so im just buying a few things for the christmas and boxing day.

mummaof4
20-12-2011, 00:40
i love wrapping presents!! i think that's my favourite part of the gift process!! :D

MamaC
20-12-2011, 01:20
I decided to try be organised and wrap all the pressies tonight. I ran out of wrapping paper with just one left to wrap :hair: Looks like I am going to have to brave the shops once more :freakingout:

Stay away from the shops! Insane! Lol :)
Just pop into your local newsagency :yes:

ETA: I still have my food shopping to do, but as I'm providing the desserts I'm not too worried :)
Oh and wrapping is my favourite too! :goodvibes:
But I only like to wrap whilst watching a Christmas movie and this year there have been hardly any on tv, pooh!

spideysmummy
20-12-2011, 06:48
Stay away from the shops! Insane! Lol :)
Just pop into your local newsagency :yes:

ETA: I still have my food shopping to do, but as I'm providing the desserts I'm not too worried :)
Oh and wrapping is my favourite too! :goodvibes:
But I only like to wrap whilst watching a Christmas movie and this year there have been hardly any on tv, pooh!

I am INSANE. I am going to a big shopping centre today.

Not even for shopping. Lunch with a couple of mummy friends & taking our boys to see giggle & hoot (along with how many others!) who are making a special appearance.

My Xmas baking is the only thing left to do. Had planned to do it Xmas eve morning but now I'm working from 9 instead of from 12.... So will have to do it fri after work.

Boobycino
20-12-2011, 06:50
I've just gotta wrap the presents 'from santa' & pick up a box of chocolates for my auntie who's hosting Christmas dinner, and also shop for whatever I'm bringing to Christmas dinner. But otherwise I'm sweet :)

I'd done 90% of it in November. 'Santa' just decided to pick up a few bits & pieces for jasper yesterday.

waterlily
20-12-2011, 07:07
I'm pretty much done. DD is getting a wooden cubby/slide/swing/tramp set so that has to be put together on christmas eve.

I have brought her some presents for under the tree but after wrapping them last night I realised I have only brought her 11 books and a towel :laughing: so I'm going to buy her a toy of some kind to open on the day. Santa has filled her stocking and brought her a sand and water table. So she is pretty much done.

Brought for ILs and just need to buy a bunnings voucher for dad and my parents are done.

Got DH books, a DVD and shoes, so he is pretty much done just need to grab some socks and undies for his stocking from Santa

Brought all the food yesterday. So a quick trip to Kmart and I'm 100% done :)

waterlily
20-12-2011, 07:08
I should add normally I leave it till the last day!! Ice never been this organized before EVER! Lol

Milktini
20-12-2011, 09:05
I should add normally I leave it till the last day!! Ice never been this organized before EVER! Lol

Lol, im the opposite - usually very organised, but this year I couldn't be bothered. Last minute shopping hasn't been as bad as I thought. Have fun assembling the outdoor playset, we did a 13" tramploline last year and it was pouring down the whole time :freakingout:

MamaC - I didn't even think of the newsagency! Will def just pop in there and grab some wrapping paper :highfive:

Allycatshank
20-12-2011, 11:26
I'm finally done with all the christmas presents shopping, wraped them all up not like hubby he still has to shop for me, his dad,brother,sister and the kids. Not his mum cos I did that. He's doing it tomorrow when he gets paid. Then I've the christmas food shopping to do tomorrow including the booze :celebrate:

rainbow road
20-12-2011, 11:36
I'm virtually done :smiliedance:

All I need to get is a present for dad's mum and renew my dad's mag subscription!

MamaC
20-12-2011, 19:30
I am INSANE. I am going to a big shopping centre today.

Not even for shopping. Lunch with a couple of mummy friends & taking our boys to see giggle & hoot (along with how many others!) who are making a special appearance.

My Xmas baking is the only thing left to do. Had planned to do it Xmas eve morning but now I'm working from 9 instead of from 12.... So will have to do it fri after work.

:laughing: I must admit I adore shopping Christmas eve. I go every year for the 'extras' I don't need :) I love the energy, the buzz and most of all I love watching the freaked out ppl freakingout out because they've left it to the last minute :laughing:

For me thus week it'll be:
Tuesday - wrapping
Wednesday - wrapping
Thursday - shopping
Friday - baking (was meant to be Thursday, but I forgot I needed to actually buy the food to be able to make the homemade gifts!)
Saturday - watch zombie movie with DH while I make the trifle :)

EmPowering
20-12-2011, 20:01
yeah almost all done just need to get my sister a present ( which she's picking out at the shops on Thursday as she's impossible to buy for haha so she would rather pick something she likes)

all is wrapped under the tree :)

loving6
20-12-2011, 20:20
I am very slowly getting there.

With out be able to drive (no public transport) DH away and only being able to walk for short periods. I am doing so much better than I thought I would be.

higgleandgoot
20-12-2011, 20:49
Almost done! Just food shopping to do, and two more presents to go for relatives. But I know what to get, it's just a matter of finding them! Lol. Still have the trampoline to set up, but will be doing that Christmas eve :)

MamaC
21-12-2011, 00:50
*yawn* halfway done with the wrapping!
Now off to bed to get some sleep before 5am start for the work day!

Good luck everyone with your last minute shopping, wrapping and baking! :goodvibes:

kezanazz
21-12-2011, 08:13
IM DONE!!!!! All the pressies are bought! Just have 2 more to wrap.
Food shopping tomorrow then All done!

Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub-that's why it's full of bad grammar and spelling mistakes!

bellalika
21-12-2011, 08:22
*Presents are done, but only 1/3 wrapped.
*I'm meeting with Mum today to discuss menu option for Sunday (reality is she is looking after the boys while I'm at physio so we'll chat over a cuppa when I get back).
*Food shopping tomorrow for my part of cooking on Sunday and what I'm taking to the in laws on Saturday when we do Christmas Eve there.
*Saturday Dad is going to pick up the meat that I ordered a fortnight ago through the butcher.

SimplyMum
21-12-2011, 08:23
Almost all done. This week I have to get 2 DS games (one from me, one from my sister), 2 Itunes cards, an Iphone case (for me), my nails done, my hair done and some little bits and pieces for stocking stuffers for DS. I feel comforatabe with all that I need to do. I work right next to a westfeild so get it all done on my lunch break! :D

Out To Pasture
21-12-2011, 09:17
I am getting closer to being ready.
Wrapping the DS's present on Christmas eve after he goes to bed.
Cleaning the house/fridge maybe Friday night after the DS is in bed. Message everyone to bring their own alcohol and food trays for left overs, and make sure everyone knows lunch is at 1pm.
Shopping arrives tomorrow, so I will check through everything a bazillion times.
Heading to the Queen Vic on Christmas Eve, to meet up with my Sister and Mum, to shop for the essentials for Christmas Lunch. Get home and make some Rum/Peppermint balls. And make jelly to set over night.
Christmas Day, Make Christmas Trifle, Christmas punch and maybe Egg nog, organise dessert trays. Decorate and organise tables in the carport.

Things that need to be figured out.
Need to mow the lawn, have no lawn mower.
And finding enough serving dishes for food.