View Full Version : mega blocks to LEGO

CookieMonsters
30-11-2011, 15:59
I have a 3.5 and 5.5 yr old ds' and they love their mega blocks. Im not wanting to get rid of it just yet but for chrissy their nan has bought a lego table. Ive looked on ebay and found some just block lego pieces (not associated with any characters ect JUST the blocks) and do you think there are any in the toy shops nope. I cant compare prices as all the shops have are cars 2 lego or the pirates of the carribean and star wars. All i want is plain lego to ease them into and buy some simple things to build but not with a brand name.They have quite a bit for chrissy already but i think lego is going to be good gift thing for them until they are about 14 which i think is when my younger brother got out of it. So my main question is where do i begin???

expression
30-11-2011, 16:07
Do you mean you are looking for lego as in just the tiny little blocks where they can build something with their own imagination and not have to build something in particular?

If so, Big W sell the containers of lego. Just all different sized blocks. I can't remember how much but I got my DS some last Christmas (when he was 3). Hope that helps :)

BlissedOut
30-11-2011, 16:23
BigW, KMart and Target all sell Lego either sets or containers of just bricks.

My kids have heaps of Duplo (toddler sized Lego).

swizzlestick
30-11-2011, 16:53

Alexander Beetle
30-11-2011, 16:56
Well, I've been looking at Lego and Duplo for the last few days and I can't believe how many choices there are. I'm getting Duplo not Lego for my 3 yo DS, but it's similarly priced. DO NOT buy from Toys R Us. I couldn't believe it, a box of Lego that retails for $50 at K Mart is $89 at Toys R Us! It's such a rip off. K mart is cheap but has a small range. Target has a good range at a good price. I know you can buy an XXL box for $99. I reckon have a squiz in the shops and try eBay if you want to save money.

swizzlestick
30-11-2011, 16:59
Woops, Double post!

CookieMonsters
01-12-2011, 00:08
Unfortunatley i only have target country (no kmart or big w) it really sux lol and the 2 toy shops dont sell just lego bricks only construction kits with instructions especially brand name ones like cars 2, star wars and pirates of the carribean.

For the ages they are now i dont think theyll follow instructions for the building ones (with help maybe so dp will come in handy and im sure he'll love it lol) They absolutley love building with mega blocks so its kinda the same just downsized.

We also dont have toys r us but it is unbelievable the diff in prices shop to shop. Oh well might get some small building ones and hopefull we can squeeze a weekend trip to the closet town for kmart, ebay doesnt have much and ill google when net speed is back up

swizzlestick
01-12-2011, 02:40
Try:

http://www.bigw.com.au/toys/construction/lego/duplo/bpnBIGW_0000000121010/lego-duplo-large-brick-box-5506

http://www.bigw.com.au/toys/construction/lego/brick-sets-tubs/bpnBIGW_0000000086982/lego-brick-box-large

http://www.bigw.com.au/toys/construction/lego/accessories/bpnBIGW_0000000261552/lego-basic-bricks-5529

I'm not sure what their delivery rates are for your area though. HTHs