View Full Version : cloth pads

Pages : [1] 2

gremily
06-10-2006, 10:19
Thought I'd start a thread for cloth pads.
For those of you who use cloth nappies (I'm assuming that's why you're in the cloth thread;) ) do you use cloth pads? I'm beginning to make the switch atm, as I find it extremely contradictory to put DD2 in cloth nappies and wear plastic myself.
Although I posted these in another thread just before, I'll add them here:
http://www.labyrinth.net.au/~obsidian/paganpads/
http://www.obsidianstar.net/

I've found Obsidian to be really helpful and her sites have some interesting info on pads, cups, reviews, etc:thumbsup:

06-10-2006, 10:53
Its all new to me.
Since discovering mcn cloth I figure that why is it that my bub is so spoilt!?!
I haven't had AF around for over18 mths, so I woud like to greet her with some soft soft comfort!
Atm I have only 2 pads, which I bought when I was ordering naps
Awaiting some more...

M O P
06-10-2006, 11:01
I really want some bamboo knickers! :p

I think I might trial a bamboo pad for use as a panty liner first and see how that goes.

I think a similar thread was started once before- when I wasn't at all interested. Might have to do a search and read back through it.

OM
06-10-2006, 11:03
I think a similar thread was started once before- when I wasn't at all interested. Might have to do a search and read back through it.

If you find the thread - please attach the link to this thread;)

M O P
06-10-2006, 11:35
I'm still looking OM-
notice I dragged up the Smug Clothies thread!

And I have found a bamboo nighty and socks! (And some motorbike pants for Hugh, pants with motorbikes on them as opposed to pants to wear on a motorbike.)
I really want the bamboo nighty but I did just get some new jeans in Adelaide on the weekend so might have to wait.

Funkychicken
06-10-2006, 11:41
I was just thinking about this this morning! (AF arrived). I have been procrastinating about switching to cloth for some time and today I thought, I am going to check out some sites now.
I haven't seen bamboo ones though-can some one recommend a site that sells bamboo and/or hemp as this is what I want to try. Cheers!:thumbsup:

M O P
06-10-2006, 11:43
I found it
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=19093&highlight=cloth+pads
but there's not much in it,
there was another I'm going to go back and read too- started by Gremily, LOL

gremily
06-10-2006, 13:43
I've found a couple of links to reviews of cloth pads if you want to check them out. I've looked at Obsidian's before but not the other.
Does anyone know where rainbow pads have gone? BB's were selling them but when I checked last they were no longer there:confused: . I've seen somewhere they're out of stock:crying:

http://www.labyrinth.net.au/~obsidian/clothpads/padreviews.html

I haven't check this one out so not sure what it's like:
http://www.moonhutnaturals.com/forum.html/viewforum.php?f=18&sid=3a679eb3e24c79b4617199bc5862d625

stellaj
10-10-2006, 22:57
http://www.obsidianstar.net/ they also have an ozebaby store, great products!

Tee,hee, hee Christmas pads

Mor
11-10-2006, 07:17
Does anyone know where rainbow pads have gone? BB's were selling them but when I checked last they were no longer there:confused: . I've seen somewhere they're out of stock:crying:

They are gorgeous gorgeous pads. :thumbsup: The maker of them has decided she needs to take a break from making/selling them and spend some time with her family, she was sewing sewing sewing so much (sounds like a lot of the poor nappy WAHMs actually!). She is reviewing what her next move is while she is spending time with her family and hopefully one day decide to come back with more! I think she and Baby BeeHinds are investigating whether there are other ways that the pads can be sewn up to standard to keep up with demand.

~Chick79~
11-10-2006, 18:06
ok you cloth mummas I have some questions!

How many do you need to get started?

What is the best combination/material?

Are they easy to make yourself?

Where else besides ozbaby can you get them?

And what do you do exactly :o do you soak them until washing??

Thanks girls :thumbsup:

OM
11-10-2006, 18:45
Hey I noticed the other day that Eenee are making flushable pads now for women not just bubs!;)

stellaj
11-10-2006, 20:24
Just don't dry-pail them! Silly me, they need a soak in cold water or at least a rinse.

I only used them for a few cycles before i got pg so i'm just a learner.

11-10-2006, 21:30
I don't know if I could go the cloth pad route. I dont like pads anyway... Wouldn't they feel wet all the time???
then there's the moon cups or whatever they're called (sparked many a discussion on here) those make me ponder, as much as I've ridiculed them. :eek:

I like the eenee pad system there, OM. :) I wonder how much they'll cost!

OM
12-10-2006, 07:53
I like the eenee pad system there, OM. :) I wonder how much they'll cost!

They are $4.95 for a pack of 20 you can check them out at www.eenee.com.au

That is really quite cheap isn't it:eek:

12-10-2006, 08:02
omg! I didn't look hard enough did I!
I'm going to have to try these out I think!

OM
12-10-2006, 08:08
omg! I didn't look hard enough did I!
I'm going to have to try these out I think!

Hmm me too - they sound pretty good don't they:thumbsup: Though it will probably be a while before I need them:p

12-10-2006, 09:18
yeah I said that *mutters*

12-10-2006, 12:36
I wonder if you could use a stay dry liner?, silk liner?
But I am set on getting bamboo.

stellaj
12-10-2006, 13:19
same concept as nappies i think Nikki regarding wetness, put a layer on top that lets the blood through and feels nice on your bits. Your period is lighter when you use cloth anyway.

gremily
19-10-2006, 15:18
Okay, I'm finally going to buy my stash of cloth pads:smiliedance: from Obsidian Star. I've worked out fabrics, sizes, absorbancy.......now I've just got to order! I've been trying to contact Obsidian and I'm not sure if I'm not emailing her properly or if she's away (every other time I've emailed her she answers within minutes). My normal email isn't working (grrrrr) so I'm using hotmail, which I very rarely use, and when I send the message it doesn't come up in sent messages (even though it confirms it's been sent).
So if I can't work it out I'm going to have to wait for DF to come home (1 week:eek: ) to sort out the emails. I'ts going to be a loooooonnnng wait!

Areca
19-10-2006, 16:49
Please let me know how they go, how easy it is to wash them etc. I'm really interested in using cloth pads just want to hear more first.

gremily
20-10-2006, 09:19
mumtoone - I already have a couple that have been wonderful. Once you've used them you just chuck them in some cold water until you have a load of washing to do. I throw them in with the clothes and they come out beautifully clean, no stains.

Obsidian has some really useful info on her site.
http://www.labyrinth.net.au/~obsidian/clothpads2.html
The link talks about sizing, how they're made, what she recommends, how much they hold and care instructions.

She does custom pads, so it's taken me ages to work out exactly what I want. Fabric, size, shape, absorbancy, etc. I'm going to get just a few different ones so I can work out what works best for me - coz lets face it, we're not all the same ;) , so what works well for someone might not be quite right for someone else.

I was wanting to get some Rainbow pads as they've got an excellent reputation but she's taking a break:crying: . I've heard great things about Obsidian and so far she's been extremely helpful.

Areca
20-10-2006, 09:39
Thanks for that! I've bookmarked the site so I can check it out properly when DD goes down for her nap.

gremily
20-10-2006, 13:34
http://www.obsidianstar.net/
That's the homepage of Obsidian's site. I find it hard to navigate as there's no link to other bits in the site sometimes (iykwim), so I keep the homepage bookmarked just in case.

stellarella
21-10-2006, 21:06
im not sure if someone has already posted this but eenees have flushable pads now?? same as thier flushable nappy pads.

www.eenee.com.au (http://www.eenee.com.au)

OM
22-10-2006, 15:25
im not sure if someone has already posted this but eenees have flushable pads now?? same as thier flushable nappy pads.

www.eenee.com.au (http://www.eenee.com.au)

Yeah I posted about them a couple of pages back!

23-10-2006, 10:48
Obsidian has some really useful info on her site.
http://www.labyrinth.net.au/~obsidian/clothpads2.html
The link talks about sizing, how they're made, what she recommends, how much they hold and care instructions.

She does custom pads, so it's taken me ages to work out exactly what I want. Fabric, size, shape, absorbancy, etc. I'm going to get just a few different ones so I can work out what works best for me - coz lets face it, we're not all the same ;) , so what works well for someone might not be quite right for someone else.

That's right! I am waiting on a few different pads from Obsi. I couldn't choose so I said give me a variety. I only have 2 and yet to try them (2 ddiff brands I bought when ordering naps) Now just have to wait to trial them then I will buy more. When that will be who knows. ...

Funkychicken
09-11-2006, 15:18
I've finally done it! After trawling cloth pad sites for a few weeks and coming to no decisions, I finally bought a couple of pads today.:smiliedance:
I was in one of my fav fair trade shops and there in front of me was a basket of them, so I bit the bullett and bought two. But I have only just finished a period so I can't try them out for another month. The changeover has begun...........

09-11-2006, 16:15
Can you let me know where this shop is Sal?

I now have a fair few cloth pads - to last a few days at least. I even got one today too. Slowly building up enough as I am yet to have AF visit.

gremily
10-11-2006, 15:01
What sort have you got Kymmy and funkychicken?
I've had to hold off on buying anything seeing as we spent all our money on the last minute flight back to SA. I'm hanging out to get some:banghead:

10-11-2006, 15:43
Obsidian, another one from withawareness and a few organic cotton ones (Sckoon, Cotton people) Also getting a couple silk liners from girly bits (I want some of these pads and liners - very nice I have seen). If I can I buy a pad every time I buy a nappy etc.

ikis84
10-11-2006, 19:57
I was thinking the same thing regarding cloth pads. If I use cloth nappies on Olivia (for environmental reasons) why not use cloth pads? But, I normally only use pads at night, or sometimes in the day... and the moon cup thing, while intriguing, is a little weird! (Yes seekrit, I read the same thread you did, lol!)

Hopefully I won't have to worry about that for a while yet.. *sniggers at seekrit*

Funkychicken
10-11-2006, 20:58
I bought them in Belgrave. I'm sorry I don't know the exact name of the shop but it's a fair trade shop on the high side of the street. Belgrave is fairly small and if you walk the length of the street, you are done in about 10 mins. I do know it is just up a few shops from my fav organic cafe!
Also, in Selby there is an organic cotton shop and I am pretty sure they sell them there. They also have a website called Blessed Earth. :)

Gremily, they are made by The Cotton people-manufactured in Egypt at a place called Sekem Farm. All certified organic.

10-11-2006, 21:52
Oh yes I know Blessed Earth. I bought some of their stuff this week online. I knew they had a shop.
I should get to Belgrave soon enough esp with an organic cafe too!

True Coops - its about education isn't it? I thought cloth was too much work. Didn't get cloth pads esp not how nice they are (not like rags at all)....I am even considering trying a diva cup - if only I could buy one :confused: I actually find tampons more repulsive than a keeper or cup, imo.

veve
11-11-2006, 00:10
Sorry vevey, you wont ever get me to go cloth nappies, but at least this is something:p

thought I heard my ears burning :p

- ummm Coops .. is that a challenge??? cause I'm prepared to wait ... (you know .. the old coops .. in the nursing home .. I'll send you some adult sized Honeyboys to try out .. :laughing: ) - its never to late to TRY cloth coops .. :D

Jen

SweetDreams
11-11-2006, 00:54
thought I heard my ears burning

- ummm Coops .. is that a challenge??? cause I'm prepared to wait ... (you know .. the old coops .. in the nursing home .. I'll send you some adult sized Honeyboys to try out .. :laughing: ) - its never to late to TRY cloth coops ..

Jen

:laughing: :laughing:

I must admit I have not gotten up the nerve to buy any pads for myself... haven't had a need for them as yet either TBPH!

Susan :)

gremily
11-11-2006, 08:13
Kymmy - I found this http://www.kuukuppi.fi/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=1 from a link on Obsidian's site. Not sure how you'd go purchasing one though, but it's got the Lunette, Mooncup and Divacup available.
I'm quite interested to try one, not as close-minded as I once was! I don't use tampons because of TSS and the fact they suck you dry;) , but something like the cup would be ideal.

ikis84
11-11-2006, 09:39
After reading that tampons are not sterile, I am inclined to try a keeper myself - can't hurt to try, huh? Hmm... must check out some cloth pads too... Think I will wait awhile though.. don't want to tempt AF to come too soon, lol!

But yes, it is funny how we change as we learn more, etc. I would never have imagined that I would use cloth nappies, let alone cloth pads, lol. I distinctly remember arguing with my mother and her friend while I was pregnant. They were saying that I should use cloth nappies, and that everything in todays society is disposable etc. I laughed and as a comeback said "Well, do you use clolth pads?" :laughing:

Needless to say, I very humbly told her that we were using cloth on Olivia! Maybe I won't tell her about using cloth pads though... I am not sure if I can be that humble!

11-11-2006, 11:50
Lol, Pam!

Thanks Gremily - I know they have had them on ebay. But I don't buy internationally. No credit card, no paypal, etc (tooo tempting ;) )

gremily
11-11-2006, 13:08
Yeah, I'm the same Kymmy with international buying, I'm not keen to try it.
I've been trying to find Aussie stockists but they all lead to overseas sellers:thumbsdown:

Funkychicken
11-11-2006, 13:35
I have just found out that Blessed Earth in Selby (VIC) is selling up and they are moving to QLD and are having a bit if a clearance sale-not sure about the pads as their website doesn't mention it but maybe instore there might be discounts. I will drop in next week and check it out.

M O P
11-11-2006, 14:24
The fact that you can't buy a Keeper or such in Aust cause it's not approved does really put me off, I think well maybe there's a really good reason for it to not be approved, or is it just the Gov body responsible doesn't have their act in gear?

gremily
11-11-2006, 16:10
Kazza - I'm pretty sure it's just the gov not getting their act together. I think it usually takes awhile for things to get approved anyway.
The fact is they're used throughout the US and Europe. They've been around since the 1930's so it's not like it's a new phenomenon. Check out the link for a bit of history http://www.mooncup.co.uk/menstrual_cup_history.html, it's a pretty interesting read.

subaruforestermum
11-11-2006, 16:15
I feel like Im butting in here, sorry but just wanted to let you ladies know (not sure if you already do, or if they are similar to what you want), that supermarkets sell cotton pads, that are environmentally friendly......havent tried them myself, but just wanted to share....:D

stellaj
11-11-2006, 17:14
they aren't organic cotton though and so therefore you are putting chemicals up your vagina :no:

subaruforestermum
11-11-2006, 17:18
Ok, sorry....:detective: just though I'd share my knowledge...didnt know the entire facts about them, just that cotton ones are available......

My mistake...........:shame: ..........:laughing:

-goodluck in finding some then ladies..........

~Alicia
11-11-2006, 17:25
I never thought about using cloth pads. I find myelf very interested. :yes:

(actually, I think I'm becoming a greenie! :D )

i haven't read through the thread yet, or the links that you gave Grem, so sorry if this is blindingly obvious.

How do they stay where they're supposed to?? :confused: I would really like to try them, but I don't want them flying out of my pants! :eek:

stellaj
11-11-2006, 17:45
Sorry, I was rushing when I posted that. I didn't mean for it to sound like I was a know-it-all and your input wasn't appreciated!:o

Ok, sorry....:detective: just though I'd share my knowledge...didnt know the entire facts about them, just that cotton ones are available......

My mistake...........:shame: ..........:laughing:

-goodluck in finding some then ladies..........

gremily
11-11-2006, 18:23
How do they stay where they're supposed to?? :confused: I would really like to try them, but I don't want them flying out of my pants!

There are different types you can get:

a) winged - they do up with a stud underneath your undies.
b) not winged - they have a material like cordorouy that prevent it from slipping.

Wings are recommended for heavier period times, as it can help stop leaking off the sides.

Have a look at Obsidian's different ones http://www.obsidianstar.net/, winged, oblong, night time, etc. It will give you an idea of the different types out there, and what you might like.

M O P
11-11-2006, 19:34
Kazza - I'm pretty sure it's just the gov not getting their act together. I think it usually takes awhile for things to get approved anyway.
The fact is they're used throughout the US and Europe. They've been around since the 1930's so it's not like it's a new phenomenon. Check out the link for a bit of history http://www.mooncup.co.uk/menstrual_cup_history.html, it's a pretty interesting read.
Thanks Grem- the ladies on BH never cease to amaze me with their knowledge!

gremily
13-11-2006, 08:49
Thanks Grem- the ladies on BH never cease to amaze me with their knowledge!

Awwww, shucks:o . Thanks Kazza! Atm there's a few things I'm quite passionate about, and I guess this seems to be one of them. I constantly want to know more...........hence why my housework doesn't get done:laughing:

23-11-2006, 11:22
I have ordered a few more pads. Even bought a couple for mum as she has expressed an interest.
Bub is one but still no AF.

gremily
23-11-2006, 12:23
I find it interesting as to how we all have AF come back at such different times. It's a testament to the fact that we, although all women, are all extremely unique. Kymmy - I bf'd (still bfing 5-8 feeds/day) and my AF came back when Maia was about 10mths (I think).

23-11-2006, 13:17
I am feeding about 5-10 times a day. With my older 2 Af didn't come back til between 12-18mths so should be soon.

stellaj
23-11-2006, 16:40
I BF all day long (it feels like) and I got AF back after 6 weeks :eek:

23-11-2006, 16:41
has anyone used the cloth pads (with wings) and how did they find them???

I have been thinking about cloth pads but I have a really heavy flow and I wouldn't know if they would suit me or not

susiehomemaker
23-11-2006, 21:42
I have some winged pads :angel: on the way- I will let you guys know how they go! I bought them off blessed earth's website- decided I deserved organic cotton on my girly bits! I have some fairly basic ones (without wings) and they do tend to leak a bit. They are fine for the lighter days though. I changed to cloth before DD. I dont like scratchy chemical laden disposable pads!:barf:The difference is amazing! And no more hair pulling sticky stuff!!! huzzah :wizard: I love walking straight past that section in the supermarket now!

gremily
24-11-2006, 06:19
Mandy - if you have a heavy flow you're much better to get cloth pads with wings. It gives more protection, and if you do leak off the sides it's absorbed into the wings.
can't write more my dd2 is trying type =at the same time!iA: k:laughing:

27-11-2006, 22:11
I got some new pads today. They are girly bits. I bought 4. 2 for my mum to try.

How many do you think I should need? Minimum? I now have about 10. I have just been buying slowly so hopefully I should be right.

AVR
27-11-2006, 22:43
I didnt realise this was an op?:yelclap:

Silly q... Do they do tampons as I never wear pads...:o

27-11-2006, 22:48
I just heard about inni pads I think they are called.
You can also get menstrual cups which collect the blood.

waawa
27-11-2006, 23:00
Silly q... Do they do tampons as I never wear pads...:o

Hi - clothpads.org has lots of info on cups as well as pads.

Lara

susiehomemaker
28-11-2006, 07:20
inni pads are different to tampons (correct me if Im wrong girls! Just from something I read on inni pads a while back) They are kind of like a mini booster for when using pads. As far as I know there are no "cloth" tampons on the market. But you can get organic cotton tampons (and barely more expensive- just under $5.00 for organic- not sure how much they are usually) they are so much better than the supermarket crappy ones! I just tried them this week for the first time and they where way more absorbant/comfy and mf has been much lighter this month. I put it down to cloth pads, organic tampons and the fact we changed everything chemical laden (ie shampoo, soap, laundry detergent, deoderant) over to organic/natural. Well worth the effort :-D

28-11-2006, 07:36
Mandy - if you have a heavy flow you're much better to get cloth pads with wings. It gives more protection, and if you do leak off the sides it's absorbed into the wings.
can't write more my dd2 is trying type =at the same time!iA: k:laughing:

thanks for that :p

28-11-2006, 10:19
Where do you get organic cotton tampons?

Spewiesmum
28-11-2006, 10:41
I don't have an answer for Kymmy but you can also order pads through www.wemoon.com.au

They are another WAHM business and are based around Byron Bay.

I've tried the liners - they are a tad big but nicely made and stay in play (bar bunching a little).

H&B'sMum
28-11-2006, 11:35
I found this extremely useful when I was researching cloth pads for myself

http://www.labyrinth.net.au/~obsidian/clothpads/Buypads_AUS.html

I now have enough to get me through my whole cycle, I have aabout 15 or so of differing absorbancy and makes.

My fav are these from Greenbeans

http://www.greenbeans.co.nz/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=74_173

They are so comfy and beautiful fabrics. I also love Obsi's pads and they were my first and still love them.

Nappycino also has a cloth mama section which might help you in your search.

susiehomemaker
28-11-2006, 22:02
I got my organic tampons delivered with my organic groceries (brissie business that home deliver) but there is a store called organic oasis on ebay that sell them too. I havent bought tampons from them, but I bought a whole heap of other stuff (dish scrubber, sunscreen, organic doll for DD etc etc) and everything was just great and the people where fabulous to deal with. The tampons are a different brand to the ones I got though- the brand I bought are eco yarn co organic tampons. Maybe google it and see if anyone else stocks them?

AVR
28-11-2006, 22:05
Where do you get organic cotton tampons?

I could be wrong but I think you can get them from woolies. My bf has PSO and uses tham and i think thats where she got them from.:thumbsup:

CurlyG
28-11-2006, 22:39

I started to read this thread, but got distracted! So I'm not sure if someone has posted this already (sorry if you have!!) but you can get menstrual cups which are really good. My gf swears by it! I was going to get one after having DD, but now I have an IUD I'm waiting to see if I still get AF every month, but if I do, Keeper here I come! :)

The Keeper
http://www.keeper.com.au/products.html

Cheers!
Carly.

susiehomemaker
28-11-2006, 22:40
That is awesome if they do! I usually shop at coles- have not seen them there (have not really looked though as I usually use just cloth pads) I will take a peek next time Im near a woolies! What is PSO?

susiehomemaker
28-11-2006, 22:44
Hi CarlyG, Thanks for that! I didnt think they where available for sale in australia yet- fab news! (BTW your avatar is soooo cute! precious bubba's :-))

AVR
28-11-2006, 22:56
That is awesome if they do! I usually shop at coles- have not seen them there (have not really looked though as I usually use just cloth pads) I will take a peek next time Im near a woolies! What is PSO?

PSO - Ok I cant spell it but polysystic ovaries

AVR
28-11-2006, 22:58
I think they are called "cottons".:thumbsup:

susiehomemaker
29-11-2006, 08:57
cottons are 100% cotton but not organic. (the ones I have seen anyway- they may have brought out another range) Better than the other synthetic blend brands but still have chemicals used in the growing and processing of them. Organic ones have no chemicals used at all during the growing or processing of the products. You can tell if an item is truly organic if they have 100% certified organic on the packs. They would probably help your friend even more than simply 100% cotton (made a huge difference just to my af- used to use cottons before I found these)

29-11-2006, 09:34
I googled organic tampons and an interesting page came up on them. Its true cotton is laden with chemicals. Organic cotton is not.

gremily
29-11-2006, 11:10
Hi CarlyG, Thanks for that! I didnt think they where available for sale in australia yet- fab news! (BTW your avatar is soooo cute! precious bubba's :-))

The Keeper has been available for awhile in Aust. It's made of Latex (so if you're a vegie you'd want to steer clear). Latex can, in minor cases, case irritation.
The Moon Cup and Diva Cup are the two other cups available on the international market, but haven't as yet been approved by Aust medical board (or whoever approves medical stuff!). I think it's the moon cup that is made of medical grade silicone, which I would love to get. Hopefully they will be available soon:fingerscrossed:
The Keeper retails at about $55, which isn't cheap, but when you factor in that it lasts for 10 yrs and you're not forever buying tampons each month, then it's a steal!

Somewhere in this thread there is stuff on cups. There is also another thread devoted just to cups.

waawa
29-11-2006, 11:49
The Moon Cup and Diva Cup are the two other cups available on the international market, but haven't as yet been approved by Aust medical board (or whoever approves medical stuff!). I think it's the moon cup that is made of medical grade silicone, which I would love to get. Hopefully they will be available soon:fingerscrossed:

I woludn't hold your breath on that - the company has to pay an absolute fortune to even get applications looked at by the TGA here. My understanding is that they haven't been approved for sale here not because of some issue with the product, but because the company doesn't have that kind of cash for only a small market.

With international postage of a small light item being so trivially low, why wait? Greenbeans NZ sells the Moon Cup (UK) to Australians who can pay by direct deposit into an Australian bank account.

Lara

susiehomemaker
29-11-2006, 12:53
Thanks for that gremily & Lara. I had not thought about the latex factor- silicone would def be the better option of the 2. Lara has a good point about the postage too- a small item like that would not be much more to have sent and as you only need replace them every ten years.... Only the one of cost for a long time!

29-11-2006, 13:02
Thanks for that Lara - will have to check out Green Beans if that is the case! :thumbsup:

gremily
01-12-2006, 13:06
ditto Kymmy! I was only just looking at the greenbeans site for pads and noticed they had the moon cup. I've never bought international but I'd give it a go for a cup!!

On another note, I've been trying to email Obsidian for the past wk and I've had no reply. Anyone know why?

gremily
01-12-2006, 14:59
OMG OMG OMG:eek: I just ordered a MOONCUP:smiliedance:

When Lara suggested Greenbeans I got on there and checked them out again. It only cost $49.00, plus shipping it ended up being $57 all up!! It should be here between 3-6 days.

And with my last post I mentioned how I hadn't heard from obsidian. Well, I went and checked my emails and there was one from her. So I'm in the process of ordering pads now aswell!!

My girlie bits are going to be so happy with me:D

01-12-2006, 15:48
LOL Gremily!

I ordered a moon cup last night! I was suprised too with the price so why not?!

gremily
01-12-2006, 16:03
That's what I thought too Kymmy. And the fact that it's going to last me for 10 yrs, that's only about $5/yr. I don't use tampons (because of chemicals, tss, and the fact they suck away any moisture you have), always pads, so I'm looking forward to being able to swim during this hot summer:yelclap:

It's amazing how open minded I've become. I'm not saying I was ever close minded, but I remember seeing something about cups a few years back and thinking how ridiculous it seemed - collecting your blood, WTF?!?! I think with every passing day I'm becoming more environmentally and personally aware of issues we should all be concerned about. I have my parents to thank for being so environmental (my dad was one of the first River Guardians, helping to protect rivers, in particular Murray River, plus other stuff:) ) but I really don't think my mum would have thought twice about using cloth pads or cups!!
I'm seeing myself as less of just a cloth nappy user to more of a crazy advocate lady:laughing: . So long as I don't scare off too many ppl then I guess I'll be happy!

01-12-2006, 16:18
Lol again Gremily!!! I am suprised at how my thinking is changing. Rather than saying its too hard I cringe with the amountof plastic in our house for example. Its amazing that my hubby and mum are thinking about things along with me. Even if initially they don't get it.

gremily
01-12-2006, 16:27
Lol again Gremily!!! I am suprised at how my thinking is changing. Rather than saying its too hard I cringe with the amountof plastic in our house for example. Its amazing that my hubby and mum are thinking about things along with me. Even if initially they don't get it.

I think it must be interesting for those looking in from the outside at us!
I think someone earlier out in the thread (or maybe it was another thread??) pointed out that why is it ppl ask WHY we are using cloth nappies when we should be asking WHY on earth you are using disgustables?!?! It's now got me thinking about pads/cups, but it's not quite the conversation starter for alot of ppl:laughing: Um, yeah, so do you use plastic or cloth, plugs or cups? I can just imagine some of the looks and words I'd get:laughing:

01-12-2006, 16:33
Yeah I am trying to imagine myself saying, "Sohey what do you use every month? HAve you ever thought of using pads or cup/?" I have talked to mum about i though and she is interested in pads not quite ready for the cup.
With nappies, I have been suprised how ppl are so interested in the groovy lush nappies Av wears. Its not that you can show off your pads though! :eek:

H&B'sMum
01-12-2006, 19:50
FYI, when you rinse out our moon cup put the blood into an ice cream container half full of water and after a couple of days put it on the garden. I've been doing this with the water I soak my pads in and my Gardiena and Roses have never been better. Great for the environment and great for the garden.

01-12-2006, 20:06
Yeah I have heard that, Karena - I am going to do that. But I think I need a garden first!

gremily
02-12-2006, 06:49
FYI, when you rinse out our moon cup put the blood into an ice cream container half full of water and after a couple of days put it on the garden. I've been doing this with the water I soak my pads in and my Gardiena and Roses have never been better. Great for the environment and great for the garden.

Hmm, yeah, once upon a time I could have done that, when we own our house and had a huge garden, but now (living in Sydney) all we have is a concrete garden with a small bricked area of dirt over run with nasturtiums!! I'll be putting the blood in there, more for the worms nurtrition rather than those annoying nasturtiums;)

02-12-2006, 12:21
Cloth Stash for me (http://picasaweb.google.com/mychildrensmother/Naps/photo#5003727128035665234)
All new pads so no worries! Slowly building them up. One day I will get to try them...

H&B'sMum
02-12-2006, 12:26
Nice stash there Kymmy.

gremily
02-12-2006, 13:37
What do you think of the Skoon pads, Kymmy? I've looked at those - I'm not a huge fan of the prints, but if they work well then I wouldn't be too concerned. I kind of thought they seemed a bit overpriced aswell.

And what about the Girly Bits? Where did you get your's? I've been trying to net search for them but no one seems to have them on their site anymore:eek:

I'm desperate to get my hands on some Rainbow Pads:banghead:

02-12-2006, 13:52
Have yet to try any. They have a pocket so you can put extra into it. They look nice. They seem narrow to me though. Even compared to most of the others I have. Av is 13mths today and no AF....

gremily
02-12-2006, 13:53
Haha, just like me to post about something I can't find then find it! Yes, I found some Girly Bits!

02-12-2006, 13:57
They had some at Sustainable Hemp Products and alo Best For Baby I think. Rainbow Pads - I want more of those. I have asked for some of those :fingerscrossed:
Have you heard of Outrageous! pads? I am getting one.

gremily
02-12-2006, 14:07
Yeah, I just found them at SHP. They're not a bad price aswell.
I looked at the Outrageous pads on Sandra's Stuffables, but I think they were out of stock at that stage. And she's closing her site. Is there anywhere else I should look at those?

Where did you ask about the Rainbow pads? I checked with Living With Awareness and she was going to be asking the girl (can't remember her name) within the next week if she was making anymore.

:xmas: :wizard: :tree: :ecomcity: I have Tatum (DD1) sitting on my lap and she was wanting to put some of the smilies on for me!

waawa
02-12-2006, 14:25
I looked at the Outrageous pads on Sandra's Stuffables, but I think they were out of stock at that stage. And she's closing her site. Is there anywhere else I should look at those?

Outrageous are at Greenbeans NZ.

For Girly Bits pads, check out the Handmaiden store on Ozebaby (join the clothsanitarypads mailing list to be updated on stockings), Sustainable Hemp Products, and Best For Baby.

Lara

H&B'sMum
02-12-2006, 14:29
I just got lots of Outragous pads at Greenbeans. I posted about these a couple of pages back and reall like them. Love the fabric and they are up there as one of my favs.

gremily
02-12-2006, 14:30
Outrageous are at Greenbeans NZ.

For Girly Bits pads, check out the Handmaiden store on Ozebaby (join the clothsanitarypads mailing list to be updated on stockings), Sustainable Hemp Products, and Best For Baby.

Lara

Thanks Lara. I've already emailed Michelle at SHP about the girly bits.
But I've only just ordered the mooncup from Greenbeans:rolleyes: . Maybe I'll go check them out and if they look alright I might be able to add to the order before she sends it off on monday:fingerscrossed:

gremily
02-12-2006, 14:35
Well, I just went and checked out GreenBeans and remembered I already had checked them out and thought they looked fantastic......but they were all sold out:thumbsdown:
I guess I'll just have to keep my eye on them;)

02-12-2006, 14:37
I ordered the Outrageous from Green Beans - it was the last one I think. I am not sure where else they are stocked.

02-12-2006, 14:39
Whoops so slow, don't know what happened with my puter...so slow.

H&B'sMum
02-12-2006, 14:43
If you join the Greanbeans newsletter you will get advance warning when they will be avaiable that's how I manged to get my 6.

02-12-2006, 14:47
I think you can join the newsletter in check out. :fingerscrossed:

H&B'sMum
02-12-2006, 15:00
You join when you register.

gremily
02-12-2006, 17:30
Yeah I did notice that when I joined to get the mooncup. I think I might just have to register for the newletter.

Harry'smum - are they a really absorbant pad? Would you wear them overnight or just during the day?

gremily
04-12-2006, 09:59
I've just ordered 4 of the Girly Bits pads - Wacky women and Mother's of the World - from Sustainable Hemp Products. Now I must wait...................ohhhhhh, I hate the wait!!

H&B'sMum
04-12-2006, 12:09
If you got the heavy ones you can definatly wear them at night, of course depending on your flow. If you only got the meds I would just use them during the day. Obsi has great night time pads and these are the ones I usually use at night.

susiehomemaker
05-12-2006, 22:59
Yay! I finally got my new pads! So pretty- 1 plain, 2 hibiscus, 2 red and white stripe. They are soooo soft (organic cotton- what a treat!) They arrived too late for this month- so disappointed! Oh well- something to look forward to next month ;-)

gremily
06-12-2006, 07:54
Yay! I finally got my new pads! So pretty- 1 plain, 2 hibiscus, 2 red and white stripe. They are soooo soft (organic cotton- what a treat!) They arrived too late for this month- so disappointed! Oh well- something to look forward to next month ;-)

It's disappointing when they don't arrive on time seeing as it means waiting another month!! At least with cloth nappies you can use them straight away (after washing), it's not like you have to wait for a month to use those!!
My mooncup should arrive any day now, aswell as a few Girly Bits pads, but I don't think my pads from Obsidian will be ready in time for my next AF (about 2 wks).

06-12-2006, 08:10
Let us know how they go.
My moon cup has been shipped too.
A 2 -4 week wait is okay. I have no idea how long I have to wait. KNowing my luck AF will return then I will get pregnant :laughing:

gremily
06-12-2006, 08:14
Let us know how they go.
My moon cup has been shipped too.
A 2 -4 week wait is okay. I have no idea how long I have to wait. KNowing my luck AF will return then I will get pregnant :laughing:

:laughing: You'd almost be in 2 minds if that happened! Such a wonderful event but not being able to use the cup/pads for another 2 yrs :eek: how dreadful!!!

gremily
06-12-2006, 17:40
:smiliedance: I just got my Girly Bits this arvo.......pads that is:D . I chucked them straight into the wash so they'll be all ready for when I need them. They're quite soft and the shape of them seems to be good. Without PUL on the back I'm interested to see how long they last before soaking through. Anyone with experience in that department?

06-12-2006, 20:44
I found a few sites that stock girly bits and some have PUL backing. Also found a few sites that stock organic tampons.
On oZeBaby they had bamboo girly bits but I was way too slow. :banghead:

gremily
07-12-2006, 06:28
Who has the Outrageous! Pads? I'm just wondering what you think of how it's 2 seperate pieces - PUL clips around undies then pad clips onto PUL. Is it easy to do (can't imagine it would be that hard:rolleyes: )? Do you just keep using the same PUL each change and does it get very messy?

gremily
09-12-2006, 06:03
I got the Greenbeans newsletter a few days ago saying they would be restocking the outrageous pads at 8:00pm NZ time Friday night. YES!! I thought. Well, last night DD1 had the school BBQ/disco, we got home at 9:30pm and I jumped onto the net as quick as I could.
Lo and behold there were only 2 pads left and the rest were sold out:eek: They didn't have any of the PUL backs left so I just didn't bother getting any:crying:

I dont' really need them as I've got an 8 pad order from Obsidian being done plus the 4 Girly Bits I got the other day, but, you know, I just wanted them!!

Actually, once the Mooncup and Obsidian's pads arrive I think I'm going to be set:thumbsup: . There'll be no more pads to buy (except occasionally) and I'll be really looking forward to the monthly menstruation rituals.

DF and I were discussing my obsession with pads/cups last night. I'm quite open with talking about periods, but DF doesn't want to know about it. He said all he wants to know is 'when' it's actually happening and that's it. He said 1/2 the time when he asks how my day's been (like what I've done) he's expecting me to say 'oh, it's been a pretty heavy day' or something along those lines:D
Just wondering what your partners are like with AF???
DD1 has always seen me changing pads and I want her to be ready and to enjoy her changes. I hated the 'talk' with my mum and remember her sitting on the end of my bed giving me a packet of pads. It was so uncomfortable.

H&B'sMum
09-12-2006, 08:53
Who has the Outrageous! Pads? I'm just wondering what you think of how it's 2 seperate pieces - PUL clips around undies then pad clips onto PUL. Is it easy to do (can't imagine it would be that hard:rolleyes: )? Do you just keep using the same PUL each change and does it get very messy?

I love mine, so easy to use. I usually don't change the backing PUL unless it's soaked through. I might change it after a couple of days if I remember.
It's not messy at all, in fact it's less messy.

09-12-2006, 11:43
I talk about it to my kids and hubby. My girl is squeamish it seems being the princess that she is. But I am trying to normalise it. I was telling hubby for the third time (!) I am getting a moon cup and my girl says - "You put it in your pipi (a word for vagina in Maori)" so it must be working. I am not embarrassed about it all really. I talk about it with mum and she is very interested. She said she will try the pads and if she likes them she will give me the money to buy her more. She doesn't quite get the cups though.
I didn't really have the chat with mum as a teen.

gremily
12-12-2006, 15:27
I've been washing my Girly Bits pads over and over again, I think it's now 7 times! I figure while I'm waiting to use them I might as well keep on washing them, that way they'll be at their highest absorbancy once that time comes;) . I don't think I've ever wanted my next period to hurry up!!

~Alicia
12-12-2006, 15:30
hi guys. I wasn't expecting this thread to be as long as it is when I got back. I'm going to read through it all before I ask my silly questions LOL.

I want to go to cloth nappies (and buy a diva cup), but it seems to be pretty expensive. (to start off with)

gremily
12-12-2006, 18:11
I want to go to cloth nappies (and buy a diva cup), but it seems to be pretty expensive.(to start off with)

I think you've got to look at it in the long run, even though it's hard to do when you're staring down at the initial layout!
The Mooncup cost me approx $57 (inc postage), which will last 10 yrs, so it's really only costing me $5.70/yr - quite a huge saving if you're having to buy tampons every mth.
Pads range from around $8 - $15. For $100 you'd get a pretty good stash that would last you for your whole period if you washed them once during that time. And it's really just like choosing cloth nappies, it's best to try a few different styles so you can work out what works best for you (although I just went for it with MCN and bought a bulk pk of BB's, I'm just lucky I loved them!!).

gremily
22-12-2006, 16:12
:xmas: Santa Claus brought me an early Christmas present yesterday!! My pads from Obsidian arrived, I'm sooooo excited! I ordered 8 different kinds plus she made another 1 for me (xmas backed) as a special.
They're probably slightly bigger than I expected, especially compared to the Girly Bits pads I have. But they feel so good, really soft. Can't wait to try them out:smiliedance:
I'll have to take a photo and show you all.

gremily
22-12-2006, 18:34
Okay, photos taken, here's the links

cloth pads front including mooncup (http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q9/gremily1/100_7583.jpg) from top left to right - mooncup, Obsidian's pads: 2 black bamboo, rainbow flannelette, pink/orange flannelette, black hemp, purple hemp, purple microfleece, turquoise microfleece, xmas pad. 3 BH mum's pads, 4 Girly Bits
cloth pads back (http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q9/gremily1/100_7582.jpg) Same as above just the back.

So that's my stash. Should do me well I think. Obsidian's pads are varied absorbancies and lengths. The BH mum's pads were my 1st pads and I think I'll probably use them more as liners. The Girly Bits I'm not really sure how absorbant they are, but they seem to have quite a few layers of hemp and will be a good day pad.

~Alicia
22-12-2006, 19:02
Great stash Em. I can't wait to get mine up and running. Maybe once I slow down on the nappy front :o

gremily
22-12-2006, 19:49
Thanks mum21. I can understand about the nappy thing though:yes: . I'm pretty well done buying nappies for the moment (I'd like a couple more but waiting for BB's prices to come down in the new year), so I decided if my dd2 was a cloth bub I had to be a cloth mumma! I've spent about $150 for the pads, plus about $50 for the mooncup. Not bad moneywise really, plus my 'bits' will now be in absolute luxury while I have my AF!:D

22-12-2006, 19:51
Thanks mum21. I can understand about the nappy thing though:yes: . I'm pretty well done buying nappies for the moment (I'd like a couple more but waiting for BB's prices to come down in the new year), so I decided if my dd2 was a cloth bub I had to be a cloth mumma! I've spent about $150 for the pads, plus about $50 for the mooncup. Not bad moneywise really, plus my 'bits' will now be in absolute luxury while I have my AF!:D

have you tried the mooncup yet?

gremily
22-12-2006, 20:27
have you tried the mooncup yet?

I've only had a dry run;) so I can't comment on how well it works, but as far as comfort goes I couldn't feel a thing.
There's another thread in here specifically for the different cups: click right there -> Menstrual Cups (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=49644). The last few pages are comments on a few of us who have just got cups and have had a dry run.

22-12-2006, 21:42
Great stash Gremily. I want the black bamboo!!!.

new girly bits (http://picasaweb.google.com/mychildrensmother/Naps/photo#5010113545865654178)
Suedecloth tops. I was wanting the bamboo but missed out (slow internet!)

~Alicia
22-12-2006, 23:09
Kymmy I love the butterfly one. Its lovely!

Can someone please send me the link for girly bits. :D

Have a great Christmas girls. I'm off tommorrow! :smiliedance:

:kiss: :hugs:

gremily
23-12-2006, 06:39
Kymmy - Where did you get those Girly Bits? Sustainable Hemp Products only had the hemp "Wacky Women" and "Women of the World" pads.

23-12-2006, 13:53
oZeBaby but you have to be quick! Also have a look at Karen's site (girly bits or pm me for link) she has a few sites she supplies including Best for Baby.

~Alicia
27-12-2006, 10:32
Thanks Em and Kym :thumbsup:

spring
07-01-2007, 11:44
I found this extremely useful when I was researching cloth pads for myself

http://www.labyrinth.net.au/~obsidian/clothpads/Buypads_AUS.html

I now have enough to get me through my whole cycle, I have aabout 15 or so of differing absorbancy and makes.

My fav are these from Greenbeans

http://www.greenbeans.co.nz/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=74_173

They are so comfy and beautiful fabrics. I also love Obsi's pads and they were my first and still love them.

Nappycino also has a cloth mama section which might help you in your search.

Could you please tell me how long around about that your orders from greenbeans took to arrive, I ordered a mooncup last night & am really hoping it will arrive in time for me to use it:fingerscrossed:

H&B'sMum
07-01-2007, 11:52
It about a week to arrive. I've had soem fluffy mail take longer from Aust than it mail has taken from NZ. Very quick, hope you enjoy your moon cup.

spring
07-01-2007, 12:11
It about a week to arrive. I've had soem fluffy mail take longer from Aust than it mail has taken from NZ. Very quick, hope you enjoy your moon cup.

Oh yay! it should definatley be here in time then:smiliedance: Thanks:)

07-01-2007, 20:50
Mine came a little slwer for some reason, yet I ordered a liner which came seperately and was here within the week I think. That is quicker than WA (gggrr)

gremily
16-01-2007, 20:09
Hi guys:wave:
Just wondering how everyone is going with their cloth pads/cups?
My period came when we were on holidays over in SA for Christmas. Lo and behold all of my pads/cup were neatly stored back home waiting to be used:rolleyes: .
So now I'm patiently waiting once again to be able to use them all!
I've always welcomed my period, never had any major problems/pains, and feel it is a thing to be celebrated, but it also meant 5 days of plastic pads and no swimming/baths. Now, however, with the cloth and cup in my life I want my period more than ever!! Damn these 4 week cycles!

I thought I better add that, although above I said no baths for 5 days, I still showered each day! Although I love the whole idea of camping as it means no showering and I could happily go weeks with just a bit of a splash in a creek, while at home and being seen each day by neighbours, parents and other notables, I prefer to present myself as a clean human being!

~PurplePaganPrincess~
16-01-2007, 20:55
Oh once you go cloth you never go back!! LOL

And every cloth Mum needs a cloth stash with variety... Kinda like bubs MCN nappy stash... one for every mood! :D

17-01-2007, 11:58
I agree PPP!
Oh no gremily - that would have been frustrating.
I am yet to get AF. Av does feed a lot yet he is 14mths and not exclusively bf. I think I had AF by the time my older 2 wee 18mths so prbably soon.

CurlyG
17-01-2007, 12:56
I really want a Lunnette, but I can't find an Australian stockist and as I don't have a credit card I can't buy one on the international website :thumbsdown: so that means I'm stuck using plastic. I know, some will say why don't I just order a keeper or mooncup, but my intuition says go with the Lunnette and they're not like the nappies, you can't resale them if they don't suit! :laughing:

So I'm waiting until I start working, then I can get a credit card and my first purchase will be a Lunnette! :D

waawa
17-01-2007, 13:13
How about a Visa giftcard?

Also if you buy a Divacup from an authorised dealer, they have a fairly generous money-back guarantee.

Lara

CurlyG
17-01-2007, 14:00
I had no idea what they were Lara and I just googled it...very clever!!!

Lunnette! Here I come! :D :laughing:

gremily
17-01-2007, 15:26
Some ppl have a couple of different types of cups seeing as they're different shapes/sizes. Depending on the flow depends on what cup they use.
I've got the mooncup UK (unused yet, well except for a dry run!) but I'd like to try the Diva or Lunette aswell.

jade21887
17-01-2007, 20:55
Well I have my af back already :(, so I'm going to look into cloth pads. I'm tossing up making my own tho, cause honestly we cant afford to buy pads at $10 ea atm (yees I know 'll save in the long run, but we are having an extremely tight year this year)

Has anyone tried to make their own?

spring
17-01-2007, 21:46
I got my Mooncup yesterday & I will never ever ever ever go back to tampons!
I found that after a had DD I started getting an aching pain when I used tampons which I had all yesterday morning then the mail came at about lunchtime so I tried it out strait away & instantly the pain was gone:yes: :smiliedance: yay Im so happy I spent the money because I almost decided against it.

CurlyG
17-01-2007, 22:14
:smiliedance: Good on you!!!!
So many women have said that they're really bad period pain virtually disappeared once they stopped using pads and tampons and started using cloth and cups, so....definately something significant there IMO.

ThreePinkFaireez
17-01-2007, 22:18
I think it must be interesting for those looking in from the outside at us!
I think someone earlier out in the thread (or maybe it was another thread??) pointed out that why is it ppl ask WHY we are using cloth nappies when we should be asking WHY on earth you are using disgustables?!?! It's now got me thinking about pads/cups, but it's not quite the conversation starter for alot of ppl:laughing: Um, yeah, so do you use plastic or cloth, plugs or cups? I can just imagine some of the looks and words I'd get:laughing:

I don't want to hijack this worthy thread BUT how dare you call them disgustables! I am so offended by that comment... it's like saying my children are disgusting because their mother puts them in disposables... oh and they aren't COOL because they dont' wear cloth (ur signature)..... :shame:

susiehomemaker
17-01-2007, 22:19
Absolutely! Also, have found that organic cotton tampons (not just the 100% cotton chemical encrusted ones) made a huge difference. Once I switched to them (and lovely cloth pads) af was not such a huge issue anymore (cramp wise) So keen to try a cup..... but at least the organics are keeping me cramp free! (and they are about the same price as regular crappy tampons- but you have to order them over the net- not sure if healthfood stores stock them...)

17-01-2007, 22:26
I am so looking forward to some luxury...
Plastic just isn't that kind to those parts ...

jessgray
18-01-2007, 12:16
i have wondered how they stay in place its the one thing that stops me from buying them:laughing: :detective:

18-01-2007, 12:28
You can get backing strips.
I have tried a few pads on and they don't bunch up or move around like some disposable pads do.
Also can get corduroy backed pads and that gives 'tread'!
the girly bits have a snap so it snaps in place around you underwear.
hth

~Alicia
18-01-2007, 17:23
I can't wait to by myself some cloth pads :smiliedance:

popchex
18-01-2007, 19:22
I'm not sure how I missed this thread so long! I love using cloth, I also use a cup though. I'm going to be making my own soon, based on a lot I've learned from using cloth nappies. I actually have a few WAHM nappies I can't use that I'm going to use the materials for pads!
I figure if I do well enough with them, I can move up to making my own nappies too. :fingerscrossed: Using plastic pads for post-partum really reminded me why I didn't use them for so long! :thumbsdown:

ikis84
18-01-2007, 21:05
Just wanted to say, Renee, that I love your avatar - that is a beautiful pic of you and ben :)

This is my first proper af... so depressing :gloomy:
So crampy... hurts more than they used to :gloomy:

I just need to use up the whole box of pads & tampons before I can buy some cloth pads... and a cup!

Who would've thought I would become such a greenie.

CurlyG
18-01-2007, 22:46
:hugs: Ikis.
I found the first AF after bubba to be really heavy and quite crampy too (sorry tmi!). Don't suffer through though, take some panadol and if it's not hot where you are, get a nice warm wheat bag onto your pelvic area - really helped me through that first AF.

popchex
19-01-2007, 10:01
Thanks ikis!

I feel for you with the bad AF - I actually had that kind since I was 13...since Ben's been born it's been WAY better, but I know for my mother it went the other way, it got worse. :(

I will note that when I started using the cup and cloth pads my normally horrible periods got a lot better, so that may help! :)

jessgray
19-01-2007, 10:11
:confused: what do you all mean by a cup??:detective:

~Alicia
19-01-2007, 10:27
Menstrual cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Menstrual_cup)

HTH :D

popchex
19-01-2007, 10:27
It's a reusable silicone cup that you use instead of a tampon.

Lots of chat about it here:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=49644&highlight=diva

gremily
19-01-2007, 11:51
Like Popchex said there's a whole other thread specifically for the cups. I've posted this link - Cups (http://www.labyrinth.net.au/~obsidian/clothpads/Cups.html) - within that thread, but to save you the hassle there it is! It tells you all about the 5 different cups, compares them, usage, and gives links to each of the cups and other cup info sites.

19-01-2007, 16:00
Menstrual cups - I think I may have heard of them but not in great detail til recently.
So much better than tampons imo.
So I want to use that and my cloth. Oh how I love to save money and be in luxury just like bub.

jessgray
20-01-2007, 06:02
thanks for the links
i was thinking it was a tiny plastic cup going up there:laughing:
are they comfortable:confused:

24-01-2007, 13:52
*bump* for Emevity :D

Lirael
24-01-2007, 13:55
*bump* for Emevity :D

LMAO how did you know I would come in here:detective:

girls, just a q to the cloth pad users...
do you find you have less 'loss' so to speak and less cramping?

waawa
24-01-2007, 14:06
thanks for the links

From my experience - Once you get past the learning curve, absolutely. The learning curve for me was about four or five insertions (so half a period). Now, I keep forgetting it's in there; have to remind myself.

Lara

gremily
24-01-2007, 15:23

I never used tampons before (well, did to start with but not for the past 4-5 yrs or so) and I think it's mainly tampon users that get the cramps - or maybe I'm just lucky!
As for the loss, some mths I'm quite heavy but other mths i'm not, it really varies.

thanks for the links

I haven't officially used mine yet (will in a few days though) but have done a 'dry run';) . I couldn't even feel it at all. Some feel it a bit, not the cup part but the stem, which can be trimmed if it's too long though. I've heard from others that you know it's there but it's not uncomfortable.

25-01-2007, 13:59
Where do you keep your cloth pads etc? I had mine in the undies draw but it was getting a little crazy! So I made this (http://picasaweb.google.com/mychildrensmother/Wip/photo#5023210493059463794) and now thy have their own place. I just had to show it off as I am very proud of myself! :D I had never crocheted anything before.
Now to find a good container to put them before the wash.

gremily
25-01-2007, 19:39
That looks great Kymmy:thumbsup: . You're one talented gal!!
Mine spend time either in the laundry basket of clothes pulled off the line but not put away :rolleyes: or in a drawer next to my side of the bed.

As for something to put them in when they're used: I was thinking of getting a tall glass-looking plastic screw lidded jar and covering it in some nice material, maybe writing "Mummy only" or "Not for consumption" on top:D !

gremily
26-01-2007, 08:31
For those of you in here I figure you're all in tune with your bodies re AF so thought some of you would like a good laugh at all the different names/phrases ppl from around the world call AF. M.U.M. words (http://www.mum.org/words.html)
There are 1000's of different ones and I haven't managed to even get through 1/2 of it yet.
My favourites so far are "Men are Demonstrating" and "I'm on my Pyramid":laughing:

It's the Museum of Menstruation, one absolutely amazing website totally devoted to, well, menstruation! It's actually run by a guy:confused: who has a interest in the cultural history of menstruation (there's a section on his life and what led him to do this). There are photos of really old tampon/pad boxes (some very bizarre), religion and menstruation, booklets, heaps of history stuff.

Enjoy!!

gremily
30-01-2007, 16:38
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: I have my pyramid!!! Only problem is I don't know which pad to use 1st! I used 2 last night and this morning then I've had my mooncup in testing it out. Tomorrow dd2 and I are going to the park/pool to meet some other cloth mums (ozcloth group) and I want to make sure I've got it 'working' properly before going swimming!
:smiliedance: :smiliedance:

30-01-2007, 16:45
HAHA! I just came looking for this thread to say the same thing!
Oh my goodness!
:eek: I am in shock. I thought it wouldn't happen for a month or two. Ahhh you cant predict.
Anyway I am interested how the cup will collect the flow.

susiehomemaker
31-01-2007, 13:18
LMAO how did you know I would come in here:detective:

Way way way better! Flow still varies 4 me, but way less cramps. Way way way less cramps. It used to be hard to stop myself from taking some painkillers before the switch, now I dodnt even think about it. The biggest change has been since using organic cotton tampons. They are great! No more chemicals up the va-ja-ja, and no more cramps. With these, and the organic cotton pads- fabo!

gremily
31-01-2007, 13:22
:smiliedance: Kymmy!!!

Obsidian's pads have been great, as have the Girly Bits. I used the mooncup yesterday arvo and this morning. I can't believe how easy it is to use. Maybe TMI but I got blood over my hand the first time I took it out as i released the suction by pressing on the side of the cup that was on the bottom (does that make sense?!?!?) so it all came out:rolleyes: . I did it from the top the next time and got it out almost perfectly.

I was too nervous to wear it to the pool today, worried that it would leak or I'd have to change it and do again what I just mentioned above!
Oh well, I'll be a pro soon enough:smiliedance:

31-01-2007, 16:53
I hardly have any flow. It may be just cos its my first AF in 2 years. I am finding the cup very easy though it feels a lil uncomfy - maybe need to trim the stem.
I love the softness and comfort of the pads. I feel spoilt :eek:

gremily
10-02-2007, 07:10
Is anyone signed up for the Greenbeans newsletter? I'm anticipating some rapid clicking Monday night;)

10-02-2007, 13:01
I did :yes: I know I will forget!

gremily
15-02-2007, 05:23
well i checked the site out but all I got was SOLD OUT! I wasn't sure if the time said was 8pm EST or NZ time. I did check at 7:30pm and at 8pm and each time (check throughout that time) I looked I still only got sold out:thumbsdown:

*i will get some one day, i will get some one day*:D

~Alicia
15-02-2007, 07:08
I've ordered some velour pads from nappy chappies :eek::smiliedance: They look so soft! I can't wait to try them out. During AF last week I was desperate to use anything but a disposable, so I made one up out of a terry flat, didn't last long, but I was mighty proud :D

gremily
15-02-2007, 09:14
Hehehe, mighty proud:D
Curious as to whether you cut up the terry flat or just folded it a few times and stuffed it into your undies??!!

I was going to get some Girly Bits bamboo velour pads from Baby Soft Landings but they had sold out (of course:rolleyes: ) before I even got there!

~Alicia
15-02-2007, 09:18
Cut and sewn. :D I had to wear my suck em in undies so it would stay still :laughing:

susiehomemaker
15-02-2007, 09:23
Yay m21! You wont look back- cloth rocks!

ziggie
15-02-2007, 09:23
Cut and sewn. :D I had to wear my suck em in undies so it would stay still :laughing:

Tee Hee - it took me a while to work out what you meant here! I need some of those suck em ins! :laughing:

susiehomemaker
15-02-2007, 09:26
LMAO at you and your "suck em in" undies!!!

Billy
15-02-2007, 09:33
:wave: Hey girlies! Thinking of changing over myself now as I am being a little hypercritical by being full time cloth NAPPIES and using disposables myself :o

So question time (and I am sure you have spoken about this somewhere- but the thread is waaayyy too long for me to read all of lol)

*Where to buy?
*What to buy?
*How many?

And is there any kind of tampons that are acceptable in the whole cloth mindset??

Thanks!! :D :hugs:

~Alicia
15-02-2007, 09:37
And is there any kind of tampons that are acceptable in the whole cloth mindset??

yay Bil! :smiliedance:

Everyone raves about the Diva cup. :D Someone else can tell you what it is, I'm supposed to be packing :o.

There's all sorts of info on nappycino, go to the cloth mamas section. If you were on msn I could send you the link :rolleyes: hehehe.

Billy
15-02-2007, 09:52
LOL I'm about to go to mothers group- I'll be back on later ;) :ecomcity: :D

15-02-2007, 10:25
Maybe ask your mothers' group while you're there, Billy?! :eek: :laughing:

~Alicia
15-02-2007, 10:33
Maybe ask your mothers' group while you're there, Billy?! :eek: :laughing:

:laughing::laughing:

Billy
15-02-2007, 12:54
LOL Em :laughing: No I think I've already bombarded them enough with the nappy talk hehe :o :D

gremily
15-02-2007, 13:58
There is another thread devoted to cups. Menstrual Cups (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=49644&highlight=diva)
I have a mooncup and love it. Takes a bit to get used to (the putting it in part - can't even feel it though when it's in).
Obsidian has some great info on her website (just google Obsidian Star pads or cups) regarding cups and pads aswell as making pads herself. Luurvely!!

As for pads, like I said Obsidian makes them. Then there are Girly Bits, Rainbow Pads, Outrageous!, Skoon, Lily pads, moonpads, radpads, plus a gazillion more!!
Like cloth nappies it's really about trial and error. Length, absorbancy, materials, etc.

susiehomemaker
15-02-2007, 16:02
Love my organic cotton pads best- they are lovely. lol- what is good for Laura is good for me!

15-02-2007, 16:22
So true!
I was lucky to get some from bsl - girly bits. I have been waiting so long for bamboo!

Merlion
15-02-2007, 16:25
My thing is if your bubba can softness on his/her bum why can't we and be comfortable. I want some bamboo underwear

gremily
15-02-2007, 21:41
I have a couple of bamboo terry pads that Obsidian made me. The feel a bit like BB bamboo nappies, but almost a bit softer actually. I'd still like to try and get a bamboo velour though:yes:

gremily
15-02-2007, 21:46
Thinking of softness, 2 of mine (by Obsi) are topped with microfleece and these are almost as soft as the bamboo's.

FYI - Obsi's pads are quite long. She even states on her site if you like shorter pads try another site because she doesn't want to take business away from those who make those.
I'd say they're a similar length to a nightime/maternity pad, but very slim though.
Girly Bits are the same length as a normal pad. I think the majority of cloth pads would be about that size, but I only have those 2 types (plus 3 a wahm made me to try).

H&B'sMum
17-02-2007, 14:21
I have favs for different times in my cycle. For my heavy flow I like my Rainbow velour they are soooo soft and yummy against my skin. For night time I like Obsidian's, like someone mentioned above they are longer but great for night time. For med flow I like Outrageous or girly bits, both are great for during the day and stay nice and snug. For lighter days I have some silk liners that are great for catching the last bit of my flow.

The one thing I think is really important to know when first starting out is to wear undies that have a snug fit. Don't wear the undies that are loose fitting or ride up or in or down.

Have fun shopping.

gremily
17-02-2007, 17:35
The one thing I think is really important to know when first starting out is to wear undies that have a snug fit. Don't wear the undies that are loose fitting or ride up or in or down.

:laughing: . Last cycle I had run out of my tight undies and had to resort to looser undies. It was just at the time I had a 10 min walk to get dd1 from school. Luckily I was near the end of my flow because the pad ended up sideways and pushed backwards. It was an extremely awkward walk there and back:laughing:

CurlyG
22-02-2007, 21:46
Ok, so I've taken the plunge :smiliedance: I bought three girly bits cloth pads (bambooooooo *droool* :D ) and I bought a Keeper from a local shop on Tuesday...but I'm having problems with the cup. Be warned! TMI below!

It doesn't sit far enough in, no matter how hard I try to get it in as far as possible - and believe me I've triiiiiiiiiiied! LOL! The stem always sits uncomfortably on the outside (it's trimmed quite short now) and the bottom of the cup almost seems to sit at the entrance of my opening :o
I thought it may have been my pelvic floors, but they're pretty much as strong now as they were before DD, so what am I doing wrong? I'm really worried now that it's not the cup, but ratehr there's something wrong with me! eek!

Your suggestions (I'll try them all!) is much much appreciated! I'd like to get this sorted as I'm having a cycle now and want to use my cup :-)

~Alicia
22-02-2007, 21:50
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: Carly! I'm yet to recieve my first lot, I can't wait!

Can't help with the DCm haven't got one yet. I'm sure someone else can tho :yes:

22-02-2007, 21:56
3!!! bamboo girly bits?! I got 2 so I am happy!
Sorry can't really help with the Keeper.
I am still learning and haven't had much of an opportunity to try a cup - I had a very short AF last month - only 2-3 days very weird.

waawa
22-02-2007, 22:35
Looks like the bamboo girly bits club here - I managed to get two bamboo pads with bamboo velour topping. Lovely.

("topping" isn't quite the right word there, is it?)

spring
22-02-2007, 22:47
Ok, so I've taken the plunge I bought three girly bits cloth pads (bambooooooo *droool* ) and I bought a Keeper from a local shop on Tuesday...but I'm having problems with the cup. Be warned! TMI below!

It doesn't sit far enough in, no matter how hard I try to get it in as far as possible - and believe me I've triiiiiiiiiiied! LOL! The stem always sits uncomfortably on the outside (it's trimmed quite short now) and the bottom of the cup almost seems to sit at the entrance of my opening
I thought it may have been my pelvic floors, but they're pretty much as strong now as they were before DD, so what am I doing wrong? I'm really worried now that it's not the cup, but ratehr there's something wrong with me!!

Your suggestions (I'll try them all!) is much much appreciated! I'd like to get this sorted as I'm having a cycle now and want to use my cup :-)

I have the same trouble with my Moon Cup:o I thought it was just me:o I find sometimes I have to go & reposition it. Though it still works, I just have to sit it so its not poking me:o :o

gremily
23-02-2007, 07:34
I bought a Keeper from a local shop on Tuesday...but I'm having problems with the cup. Be warned! TMI below!

There are a few different types of cups and they're all different slightly sizes/shapes. It could be that the Keeper is not the right cup for you.
Check out Obsidian Star's review of cups (google, don't have time to post link but will later if you want). Shows photos, reviews, pros and cons, etc of the Mooncup UK, keeper, divacup, and others.

gremily
23-02-2007, 08:26
Ok, back from the school drop off.
CurlyG - here's the link so you can have a look at the different types of menstrual cups
Menstrual Cups (http://www.labyrinth.net.au/~obsidian/clothpads/Cups.html)
It has a few tips and suggestions for using them aswell.:thumbsup:

gremily
23-02-2007, 08:27
Looks like the bamboo girly bits club here - I managed to get two bamboo pads with bamboo velour topping. Lovely.

("topping" isn't quite the right word there, is it?)

Mmm, I love topping:D

CurlyG
23-02-2007, 12:02
Thanks Gremily, I've been going to and fro from Obsidian's site for about 2 months and I had my heart set on the Lunnette, but as I don't have a credit card (and they don't accept visa gift card - I already emailed them asking) I just couldn't get my hands on one, so when I saw the Keeper sitting right there on the shelf in front of me I couldn't resist.

I'll keep trying it out, but it's incredibly uncomfortable and I feel totally disheartened :no: I was looking forward to ditching those horrible disposable pads, but obviously that's not going to happen in the near future...I'll keep trying the cloth pads. Spring, do you still use your cup? And you've found that even though it seems to sit quite low, it still works 100%? I'm worried that when I squat at work it's gonna come out! :eek:

To the "Girly Bits" cloth pad fan club - did you find your bamboo pads shrunk quite a bit? They seem a little short now...and what do you use overnight? And do you put the print side against your knickers or against your skin? And what do you put them in when you're out? :o It's a whole new world!

Thanks in advance for all your help!

gremily
23-02-2007, 12:11
Thanks Gremily, I've been going to and fro from Obsidian's site for about 2 months and I had my heart set on the Lunnette, but as I don't have a credit card (and they don't accept visa gift card - I already emailed them asking) I just couldn't get my hands on one, so when I saw the Keeper sitting right there on the shelf in front of me I couldn't resist.

Are you able to do direct deposits? I pay for the majority of my stuff by DD. GreenBeans (NZ) have the Mooncup and I paid by DD for that (they have an Aust account), very easy and was here in a week.

gremily
23-02-2007, 12:15
[QUOTE=CurlyG;1146424]And do you put the print side against your knickers or against your skin? And what do you put them in when you're out? :o It's a whole new world![QUOTE]

There are little wet bags you can get to put them in. See Obsidian's site, I'm sure she has some, but most places that sell pads will have them aswell.

You fold the front and back in then do up the sides around it so it kind of looks like a square. Then pop it in the bag. If you're stingy like me;) you could just take a plastic bag or a snaplock bag to put them in, then pop them in your bag.

Oh, and shrinking bamboo. I have 2 bamboo terry from obsi but I haven't noticed any shrinking. However, my bamboo baby beehinds are tighter than my hemp ones, so I'm wondering whether they've shrunk slightly???

CurlyG
23-02-2007, 12:18
OMG!!!! I did it!!! :smiliedance:
I just followed a link from Obsidian's website and found a different fold for the cup and (tmi!) it's in now and sitting comfortably high

So excited! I'm gonna wear it to work today, so :fingerscrossed: I remember how to fold it when I have to empty it! :laughing:

Great site for different cup folds (http://community.livejournal.com/menstrual_cups/453392.html?nc=58)

Spring, try the Origami fold, it's the one that worked for me and it sounds like we had the same difficulty. I think the cup was just unfolding and sealing before I could get into position properly and with the Origami fold you can get it in higher before it unfolds :thumbsup:

23-02-2007, 13:17
Thanks for that Carly - its very interesting. Will have to experiment!

ikis84
23-02-2007, 13:28
Well... I ordered my first cloth pad the other day - its a lily pad... it was pretty cheap - anyone use these? I only bought one to try it out, and I will gradually go over I think (I have a few boxes of tampons and pads that I need to use up anyway).

gremily
23-02-2007, 13:46
Well... I ordered my first cloth pad the other day - its a lily pad... it was pretty cheap - anyone use these? I only bought one to try it out, and I will gradually go over I think (I have a few boxes of tampons and pads that I need to use up anyway).

Hi Ikis84 - saw you've joined Modern Cloth group:thumbsup:
I have heard of lilypads but not sure what they're like.
I still have sposie pads from mid last year that are just sitting there collecting dust! I just really don't feel like using them.

susiehomemaker
26-02-2007, 17:13
I have no sposie pads left at all. I used some in an emergency a few months back and they where so icky that I didnt bother to buy any more even for back up. But my un-organic "cottons" tampons are collecting dust. I refuse to use them full stop since using the organic cotton ones. I prefer to be cramp free thank you very much! Still keen to try a cup- will buy one once the finances settle down when we finally move into our new place :-)

~Alicia
26-02-2007, 18:03
I got all my offcuts today from Kaz :smiliedance: I'm making a liner as we speak :laughing:

I was cutting out the material and my mil said 'Isn't it a bit small?" I said "Yea it is, I might make it into a liner instead". She said "It looks like a pad with those wings on it" :laughing: pmsl! She thought it was for Alexi's nappy! :laughing:

26-02-2007, 21:59
M21 - :laughing:

My mum is so interested in using cloth pads. We were talking about it on Friday! She was asking me where to buy them. I have given her 2 and she wants more. She doesn't like using the other ones "They just don't feel right"
So exciting!
She was looking at some on ebay or something but she was confused. I asked her what materials are in them. She said the ones with hemp are so expensive! I said, "Yes cos they are better! and bamboo is lovely too!" I tried to tell her its better to pay maybe $100 for a set than pay that much a year (or more) in disposable pads. She sort of saw my point. Its hard though as she is pre menopausal so can't see the long term value.

gremily
27-02-2007, 06:02
Its hard though as she is pre menopausal so can't see the long term value.

I tried to talk to my mum about cloth pads but seeing as she's had a hysterectomy she really wasn't interested in hearing anything about them.:rolleyes: Then again, we've NEVER talked freely about AF.
Me - I'm totally opposite! Dd1 has known about AF since she was a bub. We have opendoor toileting (a no no for no.2's though:D ) and she's watched me with my pads. At 8 she knows she'll soon be doing the same thing, and can't wait to get her own cloth pads after seeing mine.

And Mum21, you must have PYSL at your mil's comment! Did you tell her what it really was or did you say "Hey, that's good idea, I'll do that" and let her think it was all her idea?!?!

~Alicia
27-02-2007, 09:20
:laughing: Grem I did! I told her it was a pad, she looked a bit shocked then changed the subject :laughing:

gremily
27-02-2007, 10:43
psml:laughing:

Atm I'm doing participating in a study on menstruating, for a girl at RMIT. I'm having to fill in info on pre/post menstrual stuff, aswell as a day to day diary which I was able to start yesterday.

Even though it's only the 2nd time I've had AF with the Mooncup, I'm finding it so much easier. I was pretty surprised that it filled in 3hrs today, being the 2nd day of AF it obviously must be my heavy time! I can see myself becoming much more in tune with my periods/body by using the cup. Am going to have a go at using it at night, we'll see how it goes.

CurlyG
27-02-2007, 11:14
LOL Mum21!!!!

I showed my mum my cloth pads yesterday and she scrunched up her face and said "urgh! That's a bit off". Although she totally supports and loves the cloth nappies! I said to her "what's the difference between washing poo off nappies or washing a bit of blood off pads?", but she wouldn't come around to my way of thinking, so I didn't show her the cup.

Which I'm still struggling with a little... I wore it to work the other day and it was a disaster! So I've just worn it around the house to try to get used to it. It was ok overnight, but it still sits really low :confused: Even though I can insert it quite high it seems to slide right down, *shrug* who knows?! But Gremily, I know what you mean about being more in tune with your body...the other day when I took the cup out I was surprised at how much was in there after only an hour!

gremily
27-02-2007, 11:59
Which I'm still struggling with a little... I wore it to work the other day and it was a disaster! So I've just worn it around the house to try to get used to it. It was ok overnight, but it still sits really low :confused: Even though I can insert it quite high it seems to slide right down, *shrug* who knows?!

I wore the cup just around the house last AF. I went out today with it in, but with a liner on aswell for just in case.
As for yours sliding down, it kind of sounds like you may have the wrong size???? Did you get one for before childbirth/under 30 or after childbirth/over 30?
Or it could be the Divacup (that's what you've got isn't it?) is the wrong cup for you. I think Divacup have a warranty on them, so even if they're used they can be returned with money back.
Does it actually leak when it sits low? Or do you just find it uncomfortable? I could basically forget mine was in there as I can't really feel it. Mine sits lowish - I haven't cut the stem and can just feel it on the outside. Maybe it's just that you need to get used to the feeling of it in (that's if it isn't leaking!).

27-02-2007, 12:05
AF is here again. Bamboo is lovely!!!!!!!! Its just lovely...didn't I just say that?...
You can use the cup at night? Because I like that idea. During the day I am still not quite comfortable. I cut off the stem - not sure what else I can do.

CurlyG
27-02-2007, 19:46
As for yours sliding down, it kind of sounds like you may have the wrong size???? Did you get one for before childbirth/under 30 or after childbirth/over 30?
Or it could be the Divacup (that's what you've got isn't it?) is the wrong cup for you. I think Divacup have a warranty on them, so even if they're used they can be returned with money back.
Does it actually leak when it sits low? Or do you just find it uncomfortable? I could basically forget mine was in there as I can't really feel it. Mine sits lowish - I haven't cut the stem and can just feel it on the outside. Maybe it's just that you need to get used to the feeling of it in (that's if it isn't leaking!).

Hi Gremily,

Thanks for your help! Now to answer the Qs...I got the Keeper and the size I got was the one for after childbirth which is bigger, but it still slides down. When my flow is light it doesn't leak but with heavy flow I found it still leaked a little. And yeah, it's quite uncomfortable even though the stem is really short it still pokes in - the cup part is actually not uncomfortable - just the stem. I think I might cut the stem right off and see how that goes. If I still have probs with it next AF then I'll send it back for my refund and I'll try to find a way to get a Lunnette.

I'm not giving up yet!! :laughing:

gremily
27-02-2007, 20:15
If I still have probs with it next AF then I'll send it back for my refund and I'll try to find a way to get a Lunnette.

I'm not giving up yet!! :laughing:

Unfortunetly I'm pretty sure only Divacup offer a refund, none of the others do.
Like you said, try cutting the stem off and if it's still uncomfortable get a different cup:thumbsup:

AF is here again. Bamboo is lovely!!!!!!!! Its just lovely...didn't I just say that?...
You can use the cup at night? Because I like that idea. During the day I am still not quite comfortable. I cut off the stem - not sure what else I can do.

Bamboo is lush, isn't it! We must get our AF at the same time, within days of each other:D . I'm on my 2nd day (or 3rd night).
Cup can be used at night. Tonight will be the first night for me - nervous and excited at what will await in the morning!!

There is a yahoo group called divamooncupkeeper (or something along those lines) for ppl who use cups. If you want the link let me know and I'll pm you. There are ppl there with years of experience who could probably help with suggestions of why the cup is uncomfortable, not sitting right, etc. I'm a member but I don't go on there much. I just find it reassuring that if I need some advice on the cup I can just ask there:thumbsup:

ikis84
27-02-2007, 21:39
Well, I am well and truly converted to cloth pads. I tried my lilypad today - soooo much better than plasticy disposables!! It is a little long for my liking... but really absorbant and comfortable.

Can anyone recommend any pads that are not too long? That are thin? I liked the fleece on the lillypad, but it added to the bulk... are just cotton topped pads still good???

Hmm... maybe just tell me your fave pad and why :p

I have shopping to do!

susiehomemaker
27-02-2007, 23:23
I have some lovely organic cotton ones from blessed earth that are my fav. They are lovely and soft & not too long. LMAO- DH commented "at least they are already red" in regards to the 2 red stripey ones. I like them alot more than the first pads I bought (suede topped ones- not near as nice but clean up really well)

spring
27-02-2007, 23:46
I wan't bamboo pads! Where do I get them?

gremily
28-02-2007, 05:22
I wan't bamboo pads! Where do I get them?

Girly Bits have them but you have to be quick to snatch them up!
I got mine from Obsidian, but that was just luck as she had some bamboo material lying around that she wasn't sure what to do with. I had emailed her about how much I loved bamboo and hemp nappies and one thing led to another and I got 2 bamboo pads!

~Chick79~
28-02-2007, 12:00
Ok I am back in this thread....

Has anyone tried the cloth pads from Sustainable hemp products??

I so want to do cloth (why should my boys be the only ones to enjoy the benefits of cloth) but there are some things I am just not sure of....

I am heavy at the beginning of my AF, what pad will work best?

How many will I need???

Which is best??

Normally with disposable pads I stick to the heavy nighttime ones for the first few days then go to super for another couple of days then by about day 6 i am onto liners.....

Thanks for any help!

gremily
28-02-2007, 12:14
Ok I am back in this thread....

Has anyone tried the cloth pads from Sustainable hemp products??

I so want to do cloth (why should my boys be the only ones to enjoy the benefits of cloth) but there are some things I am just not sure of....

I am heavy at the beginning of my AF, what pad will work best?

How many will I need???

Which is best??

Normally with disposable pads I stick to the heavy nighttime ones for the first few days then go to super for another couple of days then by about day 6 i am onto liners.....

Thanks for any help!

Girly Bits are great:thumbsup: . Sustainable Hemp Products sells the hemp ones (you can get other ones from other sites). They are really good. A shorter pad, pretty absorbant, thicker than a few others.

If you're quite heavy you should look at some that have Pul to stop leaking through. Wings would be a good idea aswell. And if you use the nightime pads you should probably look at a longer pad. Like nappies, look for absorbant materials. Once your flow lightens you could go for a less absorbant material, thinner pad, etc.

How many? Have a think about how many pads you go through in a day. Then think about how often you'll wash them. If you weren't going to wash until the end of your period you'd need pads for every day. But if you were going to wash at least once the amount would halve.
Then again, the more you have the less you have to wash and they end up lasting longer. So all the more reason to buy more!!

Obsidian Star has some great pads. She makes longer style pads compared to others.
Girly bits are great.
Lily Pads
Outrageous!
Rainbow pads

These are links from Obsidian's site that would help you immensely:
Cloth Pad faqs (http://www.labyrinth.net.au/~obsidian/clothpads2.html)
Pad suggestions (http://www.labyrinth.net.au/~obsidian/clothpads/padsugg.html)
Buying Pads in Australia (http://www.labyrinth.net.au/~obsidian/clothpads/Buypads_AUS.html)

~Chick79~
28-02-2007, 13:27
thanks heaps for the links!

Now for another stupid question..... How do you store the used ones?? :o

gremily
28-02-2007, 14:14
thanks heaps for the links!

Now for another stupid question..... How do you store the used ones?? :o

Not stupid at all! Keep in water til you need to wash them. For me that's just an icecream container with lid. Change water daily (the plants LOVE it!). Then just throw the pads in with any load of washing.

If you don't put them in water before the blood dries it's highly likely they'll stain.

~Chick79~
28-02-2007, 15:56
Of course!!! Thank you!

28-02-2007, 19:36
I missed the bamboo stocking at ozebaby today :(
Soon I get more! :fingerscrossed:

~Chick79~
05-03-2007, 08:17
Well i took the plunge and went shopping!!!!

I missed out on some Obsidian Star (she was sold out! :( ) and of course some Rainbow Pads on Ozbaby.....

But I did get some Lily pads and Scook (I think that was the spelling) ones from Wee Wuns. Some Girlie bits from Sustainable hemp and another organice one from Natures Cradle... I only bought a few to start with to see if I prefer one over the other...

Is there a particular site that sells bamboo pads?? I so want some of these!!!!

Oh and another question, who makes the best NIGHT time pad??? I quite liked the look of the night pads on the Obsidian Star site but again she was all sold out....

gremily
05-03-2007, 14:03
Well i took the plunge and went shopping!!!!

I missed out on some Obsidian Star (she was sold out! :( ) and of course some Rainbow Pads on Ozbaby.....

But I did get some Lily pads and Scook (I think that was the spelling) ones from Wee Wuns. Some Girlie bits from Sustainable hemp and another organice one from Natures Cradle... I only bought a few to start with to see if I prefer one over the other...

Is there a particular site that sells bamboo pads?? I so want some of these!!!!

Oh and another question, who makes the best NIGHT time pad??? I quite liked the look of the night pads on the Obsidian Star site but again she was all sold out....

Skoon is the name of the pad (not scook!!).
Obsidian, imo, sells the best night time pads. Mainly because they're a longer pad than any of the others I've seen. The only bamboo pads I have are from her, but Girlie bits do some aswell but you've got to be quick to get those!

I wish I sewed because I think there's a bit of money to be made in cloth pads:yes: . They seem to be becoming very popular and in demand.

ikis84
05-03-2007, 14:08
I am having a bit of trouble finding stores that sell them, or have any in stock...

Maybe I am not looking in the right places :detective:

I would love somewhere that also stocks nappies... makes it easier to explain to dh when he sees the credit card statement!!

05-03-2007, 18:04
Cloth pads and cloth nappies are both very hard to come by.
My mum was saying they sell them on ebay but I am dubious of the quality.
WAHMania has pads but i haven't tried them RAD pads.

gremily
05-03-2007, 18:31
Although I don't have them, RAD pads were the first cloth pads I saw at least 7-8 yrs ago in a Wiccian magazine!

Some cloth nappies stores occasionally stock cloth pads. Best for Baby stock Girly Bits, Living with Awareness were stocking Rainbow pads, Sustainable Hemp Products stock Girly Bits, Nuture Nappies stock some one (can't remember the brand), Obisidian makes some nappies aswell as pads.
I'll get the kids to bed, do a bit of a search and come up with some more stores:)

gremily
05-03-2007, 19:21
Okay, so I'll do 2 different lists. Pad sites and Nappy sites that sell pads. No links though - just google. If anyone knows of any others just copy and paste then add on the store.:thumbsup:

Pad Sites
Menstruation.com.au - Pleasure Puss
Obsidian
Wemoon
Healthychoices.com.au - Pleasure Puss
Radpads
Revivalife - Radpads

Nappy sites with Pads
Ozebaby
Baby Soft Landings - Girly Bits
Greenbeans (NZ) - Outgrageous!
Best For Baby - Girly Bits
Living With Awareness - Rainbow Pads
Nature's Cradle - Mummy's Touch (brocade) & WAHM made silk topped liners
Nuture Nappies - Mummy's Touch
The Weewuns - Lily Pads, Happy Heiny's, Sckoon

OM
05-03-2007, 19:31
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Okay, so I'll do 2 different lists. Pad sites and Nappy sites that sell pads. No links though - just google. If anyone knows of any others just copy and paste then add on the store.

Pad Sites
Obsidian
Wemoon
Radpads
Revivalife - Radpads

Nappy sites with Pads
Ozebaby
Fuzzi Bunz - Mother of Eden (or something like that):confused:
Eenee - (Ok so not really reusable but enviromentally friendly pads);)

spring
05-03-2007, 19:32
Okay, so I'll do 2 different lists. Pad sites and Nappy sites that sell pads. No links though - just google. If anyone knows of any others just copy and paste then add on the store.:thumbsup:

Pad Sites
Obsidian
Wemoon
Radpads
Revivalife - Radpads

Nappy sites with Pads
Ozebaby

There is some on ebay too:yes:

05-03-2007, 21:37
Anyone tried any from ebay?
I haven't even looked. Mum wasn't sure so she asked me.
I have bought from Obsidian, girly bits (oZebaby), green beans and withawareness. Also baby soft landings and best for baby and wee wuns.

spring
05-03-2007, 22:25
I havn't tried the ones on ebay yet though I was just reading the feedback for the cheekybutts store which sells them for about $5 each & there is a couple of complaints about them curling etc'

05-03-2007, 22:45
A shame :(
Will let Mum know.
If only I could sew, I would get bamboo and make a heap. Luxury! Worth every cent.

spring
05-03-2007, 22:53
A shame :(
Will let Mum know.
If only I could sew, I would get bamboo and make a heap. Luxury! Worth every cent.

there is another seller on there with them too & her feedback look really good a lot of people have commented that they really like them & will buy more:thumbsup:

05-03-2007, 22:56
Will have to check it out :thumbsup:

ikis84
05-03-2007, 23:22
So many of the shops are out of stock! Gee... it is worse than nappies! I agree gremily... there is money to be made in pads... especially bamboo pads!

~Alicia
08-03-2007, 14:59
I'm on CD2 and I am loving it!

No cramps, sooo soft! Problem is I only have 5 pads, so I had to use a nasty old sposie :thumbsdown:

Ahh well, time to get sewing methinks :yes:

ETA: does CD = bleed day? :o