View Full Version : POWTA - Parents of Whinging Toddlers Anonymous
Supermum
28-09-2005, 06:39
This seems to be my favourite topic lately ... whinging about whinging! So I thought I'd do something proactive and start a thread so the rest of you closet parents of whingers can showcase your progeny's work. I'd like to hear what ticks your child off? What gets them started on a tanty. Don't worry if it seems insignificant - these are the stories I want to hear for purely selfish reasons. I need to know - once again - that I'm not Robinson Crusoe.
OK - I'll be the first member of POWTA
My son starts whinging before his feet even hit the floor in the morning. By the time he gets to the kitchen at 5:30am he's found at least three things to whinge about including giving him the wrong spoon, too many oats in his bowl, not enough oats in his bowl, his oats are too hot but he won't let anyone blow on them, his oats are too cold because he let them sit there too long while not letting anyone blow on them, his seat is not pushed in enough, he has a sore head from bashing it on the table because he didn't want to get pushed in, mummy sat on the wrong chair. All before 6am.
Anyone? Anyone?
LOL! Your bubs remind me of my toddler.
He still likes to have a "milkshake" (Nesquik) first thing in the morning and it's either too cold or not warm enough, its too big or too small, or its in the wrong cup - "no mummy not THAT cup THIS cup!" - as if I should've known.
Also getting dress in the morning can be a nightmare sometimes. He wants to wear his fav shirt (usually dirty and in the wash), he will get it out and will have a TANTY all morning so he can wear his fav dirty shirt! Mind you sometimes I give in if I know Im staying at home and not going anywhere!!!! :rolleyes:
There are heaps of others but wont ramble on with them!!! :D
Kerry
DS4 :cool:
DD4 months :p
Nickster
28-09-2005, 07:04
Well, after reading your post Deb/Supermum, I'm not sure I have a right to whinge about whining (or is that whine about whinging?). Libby is a pretty good baby, and hasn't quite mastered the art of the all-day whinge/whine - YET. Having said that, she has a pretty bloody good go at it around her dinner-time. It all starts at 4pm, the demanding, food throwing, arm-waving, shrieking and squirming in high-chair that has me wanting to do the same by the time dinner's over. The strange thing is, that once dinner is over, and I've removed her from the highchair, she's all smiles waiting patiently for the bath to fill up, even doing a little happy baby dance holding onto the side of the tub watching the water swirling into it!!!
I'm sure it will get much much worse from here on in.....
How pathetic am I if that's the only whinge I have to whine about?
Surely someone else can do better than that!
In between bouts of being an angel the same aliens who affect Ben come and affect DD1 - and all she can say is "I don't want......" as in
I don't want to eat that
I don't want to do that
I don't want to lie down
I don't want to sleep
I don't want to say that
I don't want you to say that
I don't want that one
I don't want breakfast
I don't want to go home
I don't want to go out
I don't want to wear that..........................etc, etc, etc
And to think that a few months ago we were worried that she wasn't talking much!!!
Theresa ...
A few months ago we thought the same about Daniel and now I would love to shut him up! All he seems to say is "Noooooo" and "I don't like ..."!
He is not too bad though ... I do occasionally get "I love you Mummy", although this morning it was "I love my ..... train track!"
Chickadee
28-09-2005, 08:51
Sign me up!
Chloe will winge whenever she doesn't get her own way, and has started testing me with some serious No's in the last week. I'm bigger & (I hope) smarter so guess who wins? Usually she's easily distracted from whatever issue set her off, but her most annoying winges are:
- dinner time. She wants my fork or spoon. If I try to trade with her she screams. She wants BOTH. If I go get another one she winges till I give her that one too. Worst case is she's clutching 3 or 4 forks and I'm eating my dinner with my fingers.
- not wanting her diaper changed. This winge turns into a full scale thrashing tantrum. I don't understand it. That soggy droopy stinky bum can't be comfortable.
- Me not sitting exactly where she wants me to. I think one of her first phrases was "sit there" complete with patting the spot. Me sitting near "there" just isn't good enough for her.
Yep join me up....
Sams new favourite whinge is when his fav shows on ABC kids in the morning end... Boy, does he let it rip then !
oh and apparently he REALLY dislikes shoe shops.....
Of course he pretty much whinges at anything and everything !!
Oh the joys
**and just for fun my almost 3 year old Nephews favourite 2 words are "dont wanna" and they apply to pretty much everything**
DustyPeach
28-09-2005, 10:28
Sign me up too!!! Reading these posts makes me think about what I have coming. We have been walking for about a month now independently. So of course we RUN everywhere now.
Dinner time is quite tiring after working all day. We usually color in quite happily in our high chair until dinner is ready, of course this has to happen in the kitchen so we can see mummy because daddy is just not good enough to color in with her!!! When dinner is on and cooking we then move to the lounge room and play till it has finished. Then the tanties start. She runs into the kitchen going “bar” her version of tar and pointing to the stove where she knows her dinner is cooking. So several trips back into the kitchen to fetch her and bring her back to her toys to play. When dishing up dinner she either has to sit in her HC or in daddies arms because she insists on standing between me and the cupboard. Quite dangerous when trying to serve up a hot meal and not something I want to do over my child’s head who is screaming for her food. Finally when all is dished up we move to the dinning room and she happily follows arms outstretched saying “bar”. The saving grace is she eats all her dinner quite happily, every so often having some of ours as well.
Bath time has become quite a treat. Thankfully on most nights we seem to eat at the same pace I try to give her enough variety of finger and spoon needed food to challenge her and draw out the process. When finished we follow mummy to the bathroom and happily stands beside me while I run the water. We like to use glittery bath bubbles and colored ones too. Very fun and amusing something every family should try . The fun starts when it is time to turn off the bath. Silly me taking three nights to learn this lesson. I would turn to reach the bath taps (we have a shower bath with a hard screen so you have to reach in to turn them off) and she would dive in head first. Come up giggling with outstretched arms “bar”. Fully clothed and thinking it was a huge game. Then had a full on tanty when I stopped her from doing it again and getting her undressed so she can have her bath. Needles to say I now run her bath BEFORE she gets out of her HC.
Sorry this was a bit of a rant…. I feel better now I have it off my chest, thanks for listening.
ROFL!! Cooper also loves to start his day with a good old whinge, like Ben, he often whinges before he is even out of bed and you can hear dh mutter 'for crying out loud' or something similiar, he then runs whingeing to our bed before throwing himself on our bed, no coherant words at this point, just a general whinge (this isnt every morning, although hubby will say it is, but it is quite a few!) he will then whinge because thomas is not out of bed, or because he wants his bob the builder jumper on, or he wants a wee. then its cause thomas wont play the game he wants, or the show he wants to watch hasnt started yet, or it has finished, then it moves on to im not preparing breaky quickly enough, thomas is sitting in the chair he wants to sit in, he has spilt a tiny bit of cereal on himself and then we move on to getting dressed and the moaning and whingeing continues as he whinges that his socks arent on properly, or he wants to wear his toot toot boots, he doesnt want his hair brushed, finally kick them outside (try to wait till 8.0am so as not to freak out sleeping neighbours and he will run out their screaming and whingeing 'wee me wee!" (ie trampoline) he also follows the kids out to the bin whingeing if they are taking out the trash (me too, me too!!) and will throw himself down and whinge some more if he is told he cannot touch the dvd player/play with the scissors/sit on his baby sister... etc etc!! well i think ive made my point lol!!!
soon to be 3 yr old doesnt stop with the whinging or whineing...
it all starts when he jumps out of bed at 5am.. saying wake up now smoothering me with sloppy kisses... then DEMANDING what he wants for breaky... and god forbid if we dont have what he wants !!! say if there is no bread left of no milk for his weetbix he will start "growling" and saying he is a "cranky face now" and then demanding i go to the shops and buy some !!! of course i am not going to go to the shops at some stupid hour of the morning ... so it takes about 40 mins to convince him to eat something else...
Then after breaky, the dispute over what to wear happens...
then he wants thomas on T.V
then the same food arguments happen at lunch...
and at dinner he doesnt get a choice so then thats a different argument of "im not eating that...thats yucky" ... so that takes nearly a good hour for dinner to be finished...then it is bath time... well make sure there is a good supply of bubbles and dont forget the rubber ducks... and then the argument of which P.J's to wear... and if it doesnt have thomas the tank engine on it , then another argument starts.
Then there is bed time.... usually after 20 mins of crying and whinging mummy has enough and leaves DS in bed to cry himself to sleep...
then it all happen all over again in the morning....
LOL...my smile muscles hurt
DD1 is a whining queen - and it doesn't sound any better when the whine politely starts with "excuse me...". Today she was whining loudly because baby was crying loudly and then I yelled loudly at her to stop. Then she cried (and I felt bad). Yelling at the baby doesn't get me anywhere, so I just turn the radio up REAL LOUD.
Your in extreme whininess
DustyPeach
29-09-2005, 08:40
This thread just makes me laugh so hard.
When I picked up DD from kindi she whinned all the way home and kept going untill she was in bed :eek: . Too big a day at kindi.
Does anyone elce just feel quite relieved when they are finally down for the night?
I love my DD to death, but when the time comes and she is all tucked in it just seems to be a bit of relief...
Does anyone elce just feel quite relieved when they are finally down for the night?
Ahhhhh blessed bedtime, how i love it :D
ah, bedtime :) dont feel bad about looking forward to it, i just try and make it a special time, and as early as pos, lol, i mean everyone needs some time to themselves, even mums (especially mums!)
DustyPeach
02-10-2005, 21:02
Thanks coops, and everyone elce that made comments regarding bed time :D .
So glad she is there now. 10pm Just finished unpacking the car and am having a cuppa. We went camping this weekend with our darling walking DD. I sometimes wonder how stupid I am when it comes to things we did a great deal of before our DD's arival. I will post tomorow after a good nights rest :o .
Supermum
03-10-2005, 07:09
Do you know ... the morning after I posted the POWTA thread my son woke up in a delightful mood. He came out to the kitchen, unpacked the dishwasher for me, everywhere I went he wanted to "come too", he sat on the bench and identified a few herbs before sitting down to brekky, downing the whole lot and then committed to the rest of the morning routine without so much as a peep. Little buggar! :p
Chickadee
03-10-2005, 09:42
Enjoy it while it lasts Deborah! :)
jlrjyeboah
04-10-2005, 09:10
I think my ds1 has a memory like an elephant. He also whinges quite a lot, especially about breakfast. He has 2 slices of toast with Nutella and they have to be cut into 8 small squares. Watch out if its not done right. He will remind the "offender" for days.
His favourite line is "thats not fair". I feel like telling him, just you wait, you think life's not fair now,but I hold back.
I keep telling myself it is a phase, he will grow out of it.........please tell me he will grow out of it. :rolleyes:
I'm gearing myself up for it. I have a super sized whinger already and he can't even talk yet! I just get to enjoy that little whiney moany sound all the time. Luckily he doesn't cry much. Perhaps he's just trying to sing? ha.
I think I'm going to have to join POWTA :D My little "angel" has become an impressive whiner over the last few weeks. Funny thing is she never whinges away from home, so we are out practically everyday. I must say this saves my sanity but the house work sure is piling up!!!! :eek:
Chickadee
04-10-2005, 19:32
Cathy... completely off topic here - Is that HAIR I see on little Max's head?! Your DH must be itching to give him another trim!
LOL LOL LOL
Good one Martha !!
Poor Max :o but i did see him at the last melb mums meet and he was lookin' good to me :D
Ha..... yes, fortunately Max has incredibly fast growing hair. It's nearly as long as it was before. I'd better go and hide all the scissors. Actually I think dh was so embarrased he'll never touch Max's hair again. He really did feel like a king sized loser. I wonder if Max has any psychological scars.... if he turns into a long haired hippy one day we know who to blame. hehe.
LOL! Little Max is looking pretty proud of that hair thats growing back!
Just thought of some more (thinking maybe i should at least be vice president/secretary of powta, if not the president lol)Cooper whinges if his toast is not on top of each other and exactly in line (you know, like a sandwich) he also whinges if his socks arent on straight, if his hands are 'icky' if someone has something he wants, or doesnt want but doesnt want them to have it, and the whining when Thomas leaves for school, omg!! and dont you just love the high pitched scream? mm i know its a real fav of mine and how can we forget the end of the day whingeing that starts just as you start preparing dinner and carries on until bed time :o mmm, lucky hes cute :)
Gosh I'd love to be able to tell you of a time when my 3 year old isn't whinging but I can't think of it lol!
usually it;s about ABC kids finishing!
Foxymoron
09-10-2005, 16:28
Where do I sign? Are there member benefits? Can I save up my Toddlers ferquent whinger points for rewards? My DD drives me around the bend at the moment, has to do everything herself- read it takes me 20 minutes LONGER to get her dressed/into or out of the car/do her hair etc. I never pick the right cup first go, dinner is always "I don't eat that", or it's served up on the wrong plate.
DustyPeach
09-10-2005, 19:24
Does anyone ever feel like they never stop saying no?
No don't play with the.... TV, Power point, Remote, Turn your straw sipper cup upside down etc etc....
LOL @ whinner frequent points. If we could credit those I am sure we would OWN our house right now!!
lol Lisa, i know what you mean, 'no dont touch that' 'no dont sit on your sisters head' 'no you cant eat a donut for breakfast' etc etc!!
no Samuel, no Samuel, no Samuel,no Samuel,
sorry, are there other words in the english language?
I forget what they are...... :o
Chickadee
11-10-2005, 08:55
Does anyone ever feel like they never stop saying no?
Yep. Which makes me realise why DD's favorite word back to me seems to be No!! I just wish she didn't mimic my tone of voice so well :rolleyes:
Ah yes the joys of whinging so glad I found this thread. I think that has been has been one of the major trials of moving not knowing many people so I can break the day up to have less whinging :( My DD is a champion at it. We have started talking to her about happy smiley voices to use if she wants something. Have been doing it for about a week and today a small success she looked at me started whinging I looked at her she stopped, tried to smile which looked more like a grimace but a good start and asked the question again :) I think Zoe's whinging has been one of the reasons DH does not want to have three!
sugar n spice
15-10-2005, 19:57
I am glad i am not the only desperate mother out there. Gosh i love my DS4yrs to bits but he is driving me up the wall. I too look forward to bed time at 7pm when both the kids are down. Finally some quality time with DH unless he has brought work home :mad: .
DS he screams for a toy everytime we enter KMart. Actually the other day he wouldn't stop whinging so i said ok. When we got to the teller i whispered to the lady we did not want the toy. The guy behind me laughed and said :thats an impressive move". I said " Until he asks for the toy" the old guy behind me said "Tell him it got mixed up with his shopping" Anyway when we got home he asked for the toy. I told him it got mixed up and at least he wasn't angry with me it was the guy he was mad at. At least he doesn't know him. This trick works a charm.
DS also screams and goes hypo towards the end of the day, completely out of control. He talks back and is bouncing off the walls. I don't know if it because he is tired. Going shopping is an absolute nightmare, i don't know why i bother. Toilet training has taken a yr and he still can't pooh in the toilet so i am completey stressed about that as he starts kindy next yr. I liken myself to Lynette on "Desperate Housewives".
Desperate mother :eek:
Supermum
20-10-2005, 11:28
I think Zoe's whinging has been one of the reasons DH does not want to have three!
Ah yes, the ultimate contraceptive! Actually we have two and had the 'spirited' one first.
We always say we had the storm before the calm.
I just thought about it logically and mathematically ... what are the chances of lightening striking twice? :p
Am currently going to bed at night with a whiny voice in my head saying ...
I do it
I do it
I do it
I do it
I do it
Oh My God! The whinging is killing me today, actually I think it's in the wailing category now. Won't it ever stop? Aaaaaaaaaaaargh. Please someone pass me a set of industrial headphones.
Don't let the cute picture fool you.
I hear ya...
We are housesitting for my parents for 2 months and looking after the cat as well. Andrew's caper is to SQUEAL at the cat as loud as he can, for as long as he can, EVERY TIME HE SEE'S IT.
It was funny for the first week, but I think Matty (cat) is getting traumatised and my ears are copping a battering all day long.
Funny part is when Andrew is in his walker - then he chases the cat while squealing at it...
And I wonder why the cat prefers to live outside in the rain at the moment... :rolleyes:
whatwasithinking
27-10-2005, 12:03
I can totally relate to everyone.
My DD 3yr old says exactly the same things.
She always wants to go "Centre shopping", wants to watch ABC kids all day, asks for food from the time she wakes to time she goes to bed, whinges when she gets a piece of hair on her fingers, whinges when there is dust on her or in front of her (and in my house that's alot of dust always :D )
I could go on and on but it's already been said in other the other threads :D .
She just wants her whole world to be perfect I think - GOOD LUCK DD.
Hannah-29/9/02
Rebecca 29/8/05
funnyfarm
27-10-2005, 19:47
Thanks for the laugh ladies. I am feeling alot better after reading all your posts. My daughter is NORMAL!!!!!!!
I just thought that i had a little whinger on my hands but it seems that she is right on the mark for her age. YIPPEE (not).
Can't wait for the next 2 years. I am excited already.
Janet
Mother to Briana Sage (2.6.04)
DustyPeach
28-10-2005, 13:56
At Kindergarten they teach the kids to say "Stop that makes me feel .... or Stop I don't like that .....". I agree with it in principle however DD has been saying that to us when she is in trouble for something at home. IE taking food to eat back out of the rubbish bin *grrr*. So now it is a constant barrage of "DOP MUMMY ME NO LIKE", of course she does not like being taken away from the power point she is playing with *rolls her eyes*.
Anyone elce have simmilar issues?