View Full Version : Weighty Issue

lily81
27-09-2005, 20:20
I am sorry but I am going to have a whinge. I am a mother of twins, still breastfeeding and loving it. I put on 15 kilos when I was pregnant and lost a total of 24 kilos after I had the boys due to giving birth and breastfeeding. The thing I am cranky about is the first thing people say to me is how skinny I am and why don't I eat etc... Now I know alot of women would kill to have this problem but I am too skinny, although I eat more than my husband who is 6ft 8 and 140kilos!! I am sure people don't comment to women who haven't lost their baby weight. I just say to people now that I eat like a horse!! Just wondering if anyone else out there has had this problem and how they handled it? Once again, I don't mean to offend anyone who hasn't lost their weight, just remember I am feeding 2 BIG BABIES!!!! :p

Angelmist♥
27-09-2005, 20:46
Firstly congratulations on not only the birth of, but successful breastfeeding of your twins! I am currently still pregnant (34 wks) and haven't put on any weight at all. I actually lost 7 kilos at start of pregnancy due to sickness and severe tonsilitis and haven't as yet put it back on. But I know exactly what you mean nearly EVERY person I talk to keep asking me when i'm goin to start getting big and my favourite "are you sure the baby's ok". Even the midwives asked me if I was on a diet!!Ummmm not if you include having to have an iced coffee and apple turnover a day as part of a diet. I just think every one and every baby is different. I was exactly the same with our first child and then second child I put on nearly 30 kilos and never really lost much of it. As long as you and your beautiful twins are happy and healthy then who really cares what other people think? I think alot of it also depends on how big you were when you became pregnant too and how your eating habits have changed. Anyway sorry for rambling ;) and be proud of yourself!

Love Nara 26
dh kurt 28
ds cody 5
ds dylan 4
edd it's a girl! 08/11/05

JanetF
27-09-2005, 21:53
I'd like to give you a medal and a holiday for what you're doing for your babies! I hope you enjoy all that food. You deserve to! What an inspiration you are :D

Ky
27-09-2005, 23:36
I have a friend who is in the same boat as you weight wise (she had her third child a year ago) and is so sick of getting the "why are you dieting?" "you are so skinny" "I wish I was you" "a good stiff breeze will blow you away" comments.

She is always being accused of having an eating disorder ... I can tell you now that this is definitely not true! The biggest problem she has is keeping weight on with out resorting to the unhealthy high fat foods just to get people off her back.

I personally am a rather obese lady, but I would rather be in this postition where I can lose the weight and fix my problem than struggling to keep iweight on.

I hope that people become more sensitive ... It sounds like you are just right for you and if people are unhappy about it, it is thier problem! Your boys are gorgeous and obviously very happy and healthy ... take pride in what you have managed to do ... you are a wonderful Mum! They are going to be so proud that you are thier Mum as they grow up!

28-09-2005, 10:13
I am sorry but I am going to have a whinge. I am sure people don't comment to women who haven't lost their baby weight. I just say to people now that I eat like a horse!! Just wondering if anyone else out there has had this problem and how they handled it? Once again, I don't mean to offend anyone who hasn't lost their weight, just remember I am feeding 2 BIG BABIES!!!!

Whinge away girl and no offense taken......

I used to have your problem people were always commenting on my weight or lack there of.....but like you I loved food just as much as the next girl :p
Unfortunately once pregnant I gained a whopping 30 kilos (I know sounds disgusting!) I've only managed to lose 15kg and DS is 14 months!!!!
People do tell me all the time "Oh you havent lost that baby fat yet, HUH" it drives me just as crazy :mad:

Just remember Jealousy's a curse and their the ones that are cursed LOL :D

peterpan
29-09-2005, 20:55
Gidday skinny girl's........lol
I had my DS in May this year was 48kg then went up to 65kg when preg
and got told all the time how fat i was.....I'm now down to 59kg and still trying to lose the weight so good on you girls who are down to there before preg weight
Can you give me all your tips?????
Well done breast feeding twins you are a top mummy
Angela
David (DH)
Peter (DS 30th May 2005)

lily81
30-09-2005, 20:43
Pinch another breastfeeding baby maybe? LOL!!! I guess some people just do it easier than others. I am a twin myself and my mum went back to the same weight after giving birth to my sister and I so it may be in the genes as well. Alot of people say what a great job I am doing but I am lucky to have two good babies. I feel sorry for those who have one baby that is colicky etc., that would be hard. I think also I don't know any different. I had to laugh at some comments I had when I found out I was having twins, they ranged from "Gee your going to get fat" to "Your boobs are going to get really saggy". I really had no choice but to breastfeed as my milk came in (double mind you) so my boobs stretched anyway. Some people just don't think before they speak.

Mumof2+1
30-09-2005, 23:07
Firstly, good on you for breastfeeding twins, it must take alot of energy.
Secondly I think you and I should get together as I am having trouble loosing weight. Although bub is only 16weeks. Maybe if you and I got together you could pass on some weight loss to me and I could pass on not loosing weight. LOL
Personaly I am abit uncomfortable with my weight. It doesn't bother me at home but when I go out I always want to take bub with me even if hubby offers to have her at home just so that when others see me they can see I'm large because I've just had a baby and not because I'm lazy. ( not that every big person is lazy)
I am breastfeeding but this is bub number three so it might take me abit longer.
As long as your healthy, don't worry about what others think. But if you do continue to loose weight and start to get what you think is too thin, go and see your doc. You might need some vitamins to help keep up with those two beautiful bubs of yours.

Trish
Taylah 8yrs
Jacob 6yrs
Ellah 16weeks

aardvark
01-10-2005, 09:16
My advice would be to eat as much nutritionally and calorifically dense food as you can, and just watch the scales when the breastfeeding eventually decreases, as you don't want the scales to literally tip in the opposite direction.

There is evidence that organic foods are higher in nutrients than conventionally produced foods, so if the budget allows, I'd look at organic fruits and vegetables to help meet your vitamin and mineral needs.

Also if you are physically on the go, make sure you pack some snacks for yourself so you can eat throughout the day, regardless of where you are, or what you are doing. There will be some days you will need to eat more than others, to account for your level of activity.

Taddy
01-10-2005, 11:12
Gidday skinny girl's........lol
I had my DS in May this year was 48kg then went up to 65kg when preg
and got told all the time how fat i was.....I'm now down to 59kg and still trying to lose the weight so good on you girls who are down to there before preg weight
Can you give me all your tips?????
Well done breast feeding twins you are a top mummy
Angela
David (DH)
Peter (DS 30th May 2005)

Hey, I am a mother to a 11 month old boy. When I fell pregnant i was the same weight as you (48kg) I went up to 64kg and know I am down to 54kg. My family friends are telling me not to lose anymore weight, I look fine the way I am. It doesn't really worry me about my weight. The main thing i want to get rid of is my stretchmarks. Do you have a problem with stretch marks? Do you use any creams if so?.

Natasha (me) 18
Chris (fiance) 19
Jayden-Robert 30/10/04

lily81
01-10-2005, 11:26
I ended up with hideous stretch marks that I am really embarassed about. I used all the body butters, creams etc. before , during and after pregnancy to no avail. I guess I was just one of those 'unlucky' ones, but I have two beautiful boys that make up for it. Anyway as my husband says, he loves me for me, not just for my body, and I reply, 'you can't see them in the dark!!' LOL!!

01-10-2005, 16:07
I've been using that Bio oil since Coopsntilly's mum recommended it for my sun damaged skin and its great :D very good for stretch marks too(helps them fade away LOL) it only cost me $15 from the chemist! I think your right Lily about the stretch marks as I only got a few on my tummy after the 8th month but they were only the white ones- not the red ones. My friend recently gave birth and the poor love got huge red ones all over the place (breasts, thighs, tummy etc) :eek: I told her to try the bio oil too :D

Mumof2+1
01-10-2005, 23:12
Don't get me started on stretch marks. I have the, everywhere. Even the back of my knees. I was 45kg before I was pregnant with my 1st and went up to 130kg at the end of pregnancy. This was due to toximia which made me retain alot of fluid. I went back to 60kg and in a size8 but had heaps of lose wrinkled skin. My tummy actually looks better when I'm abit bigger. Have now just had my 3rd and last bub and when I get back to a good weight, I would like to get a tummy tuck to remove the extra skin. I don't care what other people think, it's just something I would like to do for myself.

Trish
Taylah 8yrs
Jacob 6yrs
Ellah 17weeks

02-10-2005, 08:10
WOW- your amazing Mumof2+1. I have had thought about doing the tummy tuck thing myself (when I finish my making baby daysLOL) theres just so much excercise and dieting can do! Whether not I do it is another story-I'm a bit of a scaredy cat :o

Taddy
02-10-2005, 16:56
I ended up with hideous stretch marks that I am really embarassed about. I used all the body butters, creams etc. before , during and after pregnancy to no avail. I guess I was just one of those 'unlucky' ones, but I have two beautiful boys that make up for it. Anyway as my husband says, he loves me for me, not just for my body, and I reply, 'you can't see them in the dark!!' LOL!!

Hey Lily,
Yeh I got stretchmarks in about the last month or 2. They started on my tummy then my thighs and my bum I even have a couple on my calf muscles. I am using that cellu-sculpt cream from avon, I only just started using it. I will see how that goes, I also have that bio oil too, haven't tried that yet. You are right the stretchmarks are worth it. My son is a whole 1 on the 30th of this month, the time has just gone quick. I actually want another but my fiance just ain't ready for another at this time. Maybe its just coz I have a 6mth old neice and a 6wk nephew.

Natasha (me) 18
Chris (fiance) 19
Jayden-Robert 30/10/04

MissyMack
01-02-2006, 12:00

if anyone lives on Bribie Island and is wanting to loose weight, I'm joining Weight Watchers tonight and have Two (2) free Rego passes if anyone is interested. Rego is normally $33.00 and every week is about $16.00 (or $13.00 for concession). Must be used tonight!

Would love to have a buddy to go with?????

Desertress
08-02-2006, 11:25
I too ended up with strech marks everywhere. With ds1 i have them all over my bum and thighs and a few one the bottom of my belly but that didnt bother me too much as most stuff would cover them up. But the with ds2 i got them pretty much everywhere i didnt already have them.. would have thought the could be nice and just strech were i was already streched, but NOooooooo i have them all over my belly now and i hate them but DP calls them my tiger stripes and he loves them.

I also have the prob with people asking me is im eating properly... i still have about10k of weight to lose mind you so i dont see where they are getting it from. i went up to about 85k when i was preg with ds2 and i am now down to 68 bit i want to get back to about 56-59 my pre-preg weight b4 ds1 was 54.

The thing i hate most about the wieght i am carrying is the incredibly fat thighs.... double what they should be and the loose tummy skin.. thats that worse because whenever i sit or bend over it just HAnGS and i think it looks disgusting and i hate it. Would condiser getting atummy tuck if i wasnt such a woos(SP?)

Taddy
08-02-2006, 11:44
Hey
I never noticed it before but your husband and my fiance have the same first and middle names. Christopher Robert. How weird is that.

JATS
08-02-2006, 12:08
I was 45kg (174cm tall) before pregnancy, went up to 62kg while pg, and am back down to 48kg now, I try everything to keep it on, (have put on 2 kg in just over a week) but can't and comments about me not eating properly or whatever are not only pure bull they are hurtful too.

I haven't found the answer, just wanted to let you know you aren't alone:(

Amy