View Full Version : Lesbian couples in Brisbane, TTC, Pregnant
I am newly pregnant (8 weeks tomorrow!) and my partner and I are seeking to chat / meet others. Anyone out there in a similar position?? jali :wave:
Heya :) I am 17 weeks pregnant, my partner and I live on the Gold Coast but we don't go out much so we don't know many other couples, so would love to meet one!
Susie
Hi Susie
Great to hear from you. Congratulations to you and your partner. Wow, 17 weeks!! When is your due date? I'm looking forward to getting to the 12 week mark then the next milestone. How has your pregnancy been? Is this your first? jali
Hey Jali - We are due 29th April. I can't believe it has been 17 weeks already - it has really flown by!!
Yes, this is my first - makes it super exciting but I have been googling things furiously to make sure they are normal LOL.
That's great. Time feels like it is going slow for us...
The internet can be good and bad, so much information. It does help to read what you are feeling may be quite normal.
You must be getting close to your next scan?? Are you two going to find out the gender if you can?
Hope you kept cool with the heat today.
jali
Haha yeah I felt like that too, til the first trimester was over. Felt like time was dragging. Now I look back and can't believe how fast it went.
We have our morphology scan on Wed actually - pretty excited to see bubs again. My partner is super impatient and insisted we do an elective scan to find out the sex at 16 weeks, so we got a 3d scan done and found out it's a boy :)
I barely noticed the heat actually! Truly! I have been at work in the air con all day today, I guess that's one positive about work.
Are you guys hoping for pink or blue?
Hi miss87
Happy to hear time goes more quickly after 12 week mark! Did you have the NT scan at 12-13 weeks? How exciting - a boy! We don't mind if we have a boy or girl - with us wishing for a healthy bub. My partner has picked out a boys name though already, so needing to work on a girls name too!
Enjoy your scan on Wednesday!
In aircond on the weekend - do you work on weekends?
No, I decided not to have the scan. As much as I wanted to see bub, I didn't want the stress of being told that he was at high risk for something like downs syndrome. I read that the test is notorious for false positives, and I'm a stress head enough as is lol.
Yes, I work every weekend unfortunately. It's good money though, and I don't really have much of a social life so it doesn't affect me too much.
So how is your pregnancy going so far? Morning sickness bothering you?
How did the morphology scan go on Wednesday? No doubt exciting to see bub again! What do you find out with the morphology scan??
I have been queasy on and off, no vomiting luckily though, have been struggling with food and fluids, especially as the day goes on, not sure if it's related to being tired. From what I've googled it seems to go around week 12 - hoping this is the case. Did you suffer from MS at all?
Are you looking forward to Christmas? I have this week off, we are going to Heron Island for 3 nights. Then back to work for 2 weeks, then off work until mid January. Hoping to be feeling good over the Christmas break. jali:wave:
Hey :wave: Morphology scan went well. He was disobedient and the sonographer spent about an hour trying to measure all his parts because he kept moving lol. All his measurements are perfect, phew! She showed us heaps of cute images like his nose and lips, him crossing his legs, putting his hand behind his head like a model, etc. He is such a poser! We set his room up yesterday, my god he has a lot of stuff!!
Hopefully you won't have too much more morning sickness to go, though I am jealous that you haven't vomited. I was sick every night but it stopped by about 13 weeks. I seriously HATED food, didn't want to eat because I knew I would be sick after lol. Now I love food haha.
Heron Island sounds nice, have you been there before? I have read about it and wanted to go there but we never have.
I am super excited about Christmas! It's my first one off in 6 years or so. We are doing Christmas with my in-laws then driving down to Adelaide to have a second Christmas with my family.
P.S. Where abouts in Brisbane are you?
P.P.S. Sorry for the super large reply, that's even after I culled it down haha. Guess I'm just chatty today!
Hi miss87 - back from our Heron Island island getaway! We went there two years ago, loved it with the turtles and wildlife - at the right time of year you can watch turtles lay eggs and see hatchlings - pretty amazing and you are free to roam around the island without any organisation to it - just need to be aware you are in their natural environment. Back to work next week.....
Glad to hear your little one was so active with the morphology scan and all measurements were as expected. Did you get some more pics?? When is your due date?? Where are you booked in??
How are you feeling these days? I have been feeling a lot better this week from the queasy point of view and managing better with food.
When do you go on holidays for Christmas? Has both your families been supportive? It's a difficult time for us as my partner's parents ceased contact when informed of our IVF journey earlier this year, only recently has my partner been having phone contact, however, the subject of our pregnancy is not discussed. On a more positive note - wasn't it great the Civil Unions Partnership was passed in QLD!
We live in Thorneside (near Manly/Lota - Capalaba). What about you?
Having an easy weekend relaxing.
jali
Wow I will definitely have to investigate Heron Island for our next holiday! My partner LOVES turtles and would be thrilled lol.
We got a few pics from the scan but they were boring ones, like arm bones and close up of heart, no cute ones lol.
Glad you've been feeling better!! I have been quite nauseous lately, haven't been throwing up though. Seems to be worse when I'm at work, which really sucks.
Christmas holidays in less than two weeks - yay!! Our families are both absolutely thrilled. This will be the first grandchild on both sides of the family, and everyone has been so supportive and great. I'm sorry to hear about your partner's family, that's really awful for her and for bubby. I'm sure they will come around once they realise how amazing your little one is!
Yeah, we were really excited about the civil union bill - can't wait to get our piece of paper! I don't really follow politics but now I'm starting to feel like I should.
We live in Ormeau, not too far away :)
I hope your weekend is more relaxing than mine! I have to work :( I have been going through some horrible stuff at work - I wish I could quit or (even better) go on maternity leave 4 months early!! Feels like they are constantly watching me, trying to find mistakes to get me in trouble for. Stressful as anything and I'm starting to get panicky at the thought of having to go to work.
Susie
2ofakind
13-01-2012, 20:21
I'm 10 weeks pregnant with twins my partner and I did IVF so we could have a baby together and now we are having two! I'd love to chat anytime great to know we aren't the only ones out there feels like it sometimes !
Hi 2ofakind
Welcome and congratulations! And congratulations to two! I hope your IVF journey was a short one.
I'm 16.5 weeks now!
How are you feeling? Hope you haven't had morning sickness. I was quite lucky in I had a general feeling all the time of being queasy and didn't feel like eating much, but no vomiting.
Do you girls live in Brisbane?
jali :hugs:
2ofakind
16-01-2012, 10:38
Hi jali,
Our IVF worked first go luckily but it did take a long time to go though the process, I fortunately was quite lucky in the sense that I also experienced just queasiness too I had thrown up a few times but nothing regularly !!! We sure do live in Brisbane, we moved here about 6 months ago from the gold coast. Congrats on 16.5 weeks are you enjoying it?
Hi and congrats on your pregnancies!! Yippee! My partner and Iloire in Brissie too and we have a little boy and are going to TTC soon. If you are looking to meet other LGBTIQ families, there is a community group called Rainbow Families Queensland that I saw on the web and fb the other day.
Hi leebies
Sorry I haven't been onto bubhub for quite a while. Thanks for the congrats. How old is your boy? When are starting your next TTC journey? Good luck! jali
Hello Everyone, we found out yesterday that we are finally having a baby after 4 years of waiting.
Just wanting to say hi and meet some people in the same situation as us.
Dee
Hello Everyone, we found out yesterday that we are finally having a baby after 4 years of waiting.
Just wanting to say hi and meet some people in the same situation as us.
Dee
Congratulations!!!! How far along are you?
Hi Dee, Congratulations to you both!!:smiliedance:
How many weeks are you?
Do you live in Brisbane?
Hope you are doing well.
jali
Thank you.
We live in Brisbane near the sunshine coast.
DP is 4 weeks and 5 days so very early stages.