View Full Version : Turning 18mths old.

jasminesmum
05-10-2006, 12:52

Just thought I would see what everyone elses bubbas are up to at this stage.

They are all starting to turn 18mths as from this month. :crying:
The time has just flown.
Jasmine is now a little girl and no longer a baby.
She says lots of words and loves to help me do what ever I'm doing. She loves to get a chair up to the bench when I'm making a cake or bickies and "help" put ingredients in the bowl.
She copies me all the time. She gets a cloth and wipes over the coffee table and the windows. If her older brothers leave their clothes around she picks them up and takes them to the laundry.
She no longer has any bottles and drinks her milk from cups only. Jasmine loves food and will eat nearly everything. Thank goodness.
I'm thinking about potty training very soon. So hope that goes well. :fingerscrossed:

Her measurements.
Weight - 9.3kg
Height - 76cm

Looking forward to hearing about other 18 monthers. :yes:

belinda
05-10-2006, 12:59
Oh it is a sad time isnt :crying: they just grow up so so so FAST..

luke is saying alot of things and like to have a conversation not that i can understand him but it is very cute.
He is still having bottles he just loves them how did jasmine stop having them? luke just wont have a bar of a sipper cup or just a cup with milk in it water is fine but no to milk.. luke also loves helping me which is great he really enjoys it..

luke has startred chucking tantrums not to bad but he does little ones when he cant get his own way.

luke likes most food but dinner time is really a struggle but all day he is fine it is just dinner.

weight- 12kg

Height- 86cm

jasminesmum
05-10-2006, 13:06
Jasmine was never really a baby that loved her bottles.

She was only having 2 a day for a while then I cut it down to just 1 at night.
Now I just give her a drink of milk in a cup when she wakes up then 1 about 1/2 an hour before she goes to bed.
I found that Jasmine liked those cheap little cups that you get from woolies with the straws in them. They come in different colours.

belinda
06-10-2006, 12:39
might have to try the good old cheap ones as i have spent so much on cup the cheapes ones will probably do the trick HEHE...

luke really loves his bottles he even hugs them :laughing: :rolleyes:

jessgray
25-10-2006, 09:40
my ds1 is 18months today:eek: and already we are dealing with those famous tantrums you hear parents of 2-4yr olds complain about lol

jasminesmum
25-10-2006, 10:10
Yes tantrums are lots of fun. :rolleyes:
Jasmine has started to stamp her feet and jump up and down.
It looks really funny but I'm trying really hard to ignore her.
She is 18mths old on Thursday.

polony
25-10-2006, 14:27
I feel like a fraud as my DD won't be 18 months till the 11th of next month, but yes, she is doing all those things. Tantrums, talking gibberish with a few comprehendable words, copying me etc.
I might start the milk in a cup too! I just never know when I am supposed to start doing and changing habits. Where is that instruction manual?! Haha!
I want my little bubba back though! I don't know if I like this growing up thing.

belinda
25-10-2006, 14:33
luke has his 18month needle today and he was so brave not even a tear he was just as happy with the ballon he was given and sticker.. but luke not too bad with tantrums as he started that at 12 months so he knows when enough is enough. but his new thing is grabbing my hand and letting me know what he wants like to go downstairs wants a drink so he is getting the little helper as he will have to be when the new bub arrives....

Mojogal
25-10-2006, 14:42
Well, we're a late June baby, but 18 months is looming in my mind! Lily is really changing into a little person, with ideas and quite firm opinions on things! She has really started to copy a lot that I do the past couple of weeks, I see from your posts this will only get more frequent! I love that as soon as she sees me with my toothbrush, she signs 'toothbrush' and will brush hers too! Not very well mind you LOL She REALLY doesn't like me helping! But as long as I choose to stand there brushing, she will stay and do the same! :laughing:
It's been cups only from 7 months for Lily, so that hasn't been an issue, but she's really stepped up the clinginess to her blankie. Especially since she had gastro the other week, poor baby :crying: and is especially clingy to me ever since then too. It was her first illness and quite a nasty one, I think it shocked her to feel so crook!
Her tanties are so funny, she gets so worked up really quick, but the way she peters out almost immediately if I completely ignore her is SOO cute! She's got me all figured out LOL

But I wish she would stay this little and sweet forever! She's growing before my very eyes! So independant, she needs me for less and less...

*reminds myself it is a GOOD thing* :o
Suze

J&K's Mum
26-10-2006, 12:43
Hi ladies:wave: my DS turned 18 months yesterday.He also is going through the dreaded tantrums early but :fingerscrossed: he grows out of them soon.He weaned from the breast straight to cup but now refuses to drink milk at all, I have tried topping, milo, hot and cold but he still doesn't want it.Clinic sis assures me it wont hurt.I can't believe how fast time has gone.He absolutly adores his older bro and spends his days following him everywhere.He is now repeating everything we say and tring hard to be independant.Well best go I look forward to chatting to you busy mums:wave:

jasminesmum
26-10-2006, 13:05
Hi ladies:wave: my DS turned 18 months yesterday.He also is going through the dreaded tantrums early but :fingerscrossed: he grows out of them soon.He weaned from the breast straight to cup but now refuses to drink milk at all, I have tried topping, milo, hot and cold but he still doesn't want it.Clinic sis assures me it wont hurt.I can't believe how fast time has gone.He absolutly adores his older bro and spends his days following him everywhere.He is now repeating everything we say and tring hard to be independant.Well best go I look forward to chatting to you busy mums:wave:

Hi J&K's Mum,

There is only 1 day between our kiddies. I too have trouble trying to get Jasmine to drink any milk atm. All of a sudden she has decided that she doesn't want it. One thing that she does love though is egg nogs. She drains her cup if I make her one.

J&K's Mum
26-10-2006, 14:58
Hi Jasmins mum:wave: Glad to here my little fella's not the only one.Just wondering how you make your egg nog????????:rolleyes: I hadn't even thought of that what a great idea it's worth a try.

jasminesmum
26-10-2006, 15:25
Hi Jasmins mum:wave: Glad to here my little fella's not the only one.Just wondering how you make your egg nog????????:rolleyes: I hadn't even thought of that what a great idea it's worth a try.

I just put milk, an egg, about 1 tsp of sugar and a bit of vanilla essence in a blender and blend. Occassionly I will put in a bit of icecream for a treat for her too.
You could also add fruit to it if he likes it. Banana is yum!
I have also found out that she loves straws, so she usually drinks it with one.
Hope your ds likes it.

By the way a big WELCOME to bubhub. :smiliedance:

J&K's Mum
26-10-2006, 15:33
Thanks very much for that jasminsmum I will give it a go in the morning :fingerscrossed: & thanks for making me feel welcome I look forward to talking to you and some other mums :hugs:

Grizabella
26-10-2006, 15:47
Hi guys - my little monster is 18 mnths next month.

He has only just started to walk - not fulltime yet, still prefers to crawl. He is 15 kgs and 90 cm tall (3 foot).

He doesn't talk much either, just says Ta and Dad, he has just started to say Nan but not very often.

He has also entered the wonderful world of tantrums, which is fun, especially as we have a 14 plane flight next month! Bugger.

The dog is his best mate, they are both big for their age LOL (she's a Rotty) and they love to lick each other and wrestle! The cat is getting a beating, but gives it right back, DS's arms are covered in scratches!

Main thing that is worrying me is the biting, and overzealous cuddles that freak other kids out. The bites are him trying to kiss but he hasn't figured out that there are no teeth in kisses! :D trying to get him to be a little less rough but seem to be fighting a losing battle there!

Glad to hear all of the other kids are doing well!

J&K's Mum
26-10-2006, 16:07
Hi Brions mum glad to hear my ds isn't the only parana :D He bit my other ds on tuesday and drew blood I'm not sure what to do, he only has 4 teeth but enjoys using them. I guess I'm lucky ds 4 is so gentle he doesn't bite back or hit.You lucky thing my ds started walking at 10 months and it's been a headache since:banghead:
This is great being able to talk to other people with the same age children, I'm hooked already:wave:

Grizabella
26-10-2006, 16:30
Yeah Brion loves to bite - it's his way of showing affection. However he has 16 teeth!!! So it REALLY hurts!

J&K's Mum
26-10-2006, 16:55
Kalebs very slow in the teeth department,not looking forward to the rest coming through, I bet I will have some sleepless nights.He generally bites when he's frustrated.Does Brion sleep well??? Kaleb did but just lately he wants to sleep with us.:sleeping:

jasminesmum
26-10-2006, 19:54
Hi brions_mum:wave: Your little boy sounds really cute playing with his dog.

J&K's Mum, Jasmine had alot of trouble with her teeth too and didn't sleep very much. She was awake every couple of hours and ended up in our bed most nights.
She got all of her teeth a couple of months ago and is sleeping alot better now.
She evens sleeps through occasionly.lol

J&K's Mum
26-10-2006, 20:23
Hopefully we all get a good night sleep tonight:sleeping: I shouldn't complain cause my first son was a shocking sleeper, he still wakes through the night asking for us.

26-10-2006, 20:52
Hi guys, it's been a loooooooooooong while since we caught up with the april 2005 babies!!
Xavier is great, I just love him soo much more everyday, I wanna squeeze him!!
He is also very trying and very messy.
Toys from one of the house to the other food and finger prints everywhere. I used to be a clean freak bordering on OCD. Well I am cured of that now as I just can't keep up with the trail of mess he leaves in his wake lol!!
He walked early at 10months, and is now a running, jumping, dancing, wrestling, tackling , free falling roughien!!
He loves to play rough with daddy and man it gets full on, too much for mummy!!
He has also started the copycat stage so is learning new words at an alarming rate.
Fave word for the last 6months has been car. Anything with wheels is car, sooooooo frustrating trying to teach him, no that is a TRAIN darling!!!
He comes to me every morning with car keys and his shoes, and says "Shoes mummy, car" (pointing to the door). He loves going for trips in the car, but has to have his shoes on first lol.
We swim in the pool everyday and he is way too confident in the water it's scary, he really believes he can swim and tries to wriggle out of my
grip to swim on his own.
We read lots of books. He can copy saying colours in his books, but can only recognise and name one at the moment. PURPLE!!! Interesting choice.
He doesn't have bottles now jsut sippy cups. I use the take and toss ones they are good and cheap so it doenstmatter if you lose one on a trip. When transitioning from bottle to cup I used a take and toss cup with a teat on it so it still feel like a bottle. He still kicked up a fuss ofr a few days until he realised his bottle days were over. Yay no more bottles!!!
Dinner is pretty good, he eats most things not too fussy. Isn't keen on pasta which is a pain, but he is finally eating a bit of meat now and rice so thats good. Other than that he eats all his vegies and fruit etc.

Gosh I have rambled on so I 'll get out of here. Hope you are all still enjoying your little monkeys!!:smiliedance:

Crazy Monkey
26-10-2006, 21:10
Wow, 18 months, its come so quick.. Jack will be 18 months next month...

Tantrums, boy do I know what they are like... Jack's tatrum is headbutting the floor - carpet, tiles, concrete, it doesn't matter, then he comes to me crying... He also bites occasionally... I'd love to know where he picked this up from!?!

Jack loves all food and his milk... He is still have about 3 sipper cups of milk (all before he goes for a naps or to bed at night)... He just loves it... Think it might also be a sleep association thing... For now I don't mind, he doesn't have much other dairy because we think he might be lactose intolarate, so this works for us...

Jack walked from about 11 months and has just started saying a couple of different things, which is great because it was constants 'who's that' and it was driving us crazy... He has also just cut 4 molars (finally), not sure how he coped really as he has had gastro for the last week...

Anyway, I've rambled enough... Happy 18 months to all the little kiddies...

Mojogal
26-10-2006, 22:16
Oooh yes, our little one likes to bite too! She has a thing about trying to bite our noses, she knows she shouldn't, but it's become a game and she's a cheeky little bugga! LOL And quite rough too - no tears when she grazed her knees the other day, and rides roughshod over anyone in her path, she loves to climb on mummy and daddy! Funny, but she'll go to great lengths to avoid stepping on her toys! Go figure haha :laughing:

I love this stage, so cuddly - her spontaneous acts of affection are sooo cute and I can't get enough! Wish the teething would hurry up and finish tho - i have definitely had enough. Molars have been quite nasty at times, but teething all through gastro was the worst :banghead: i know Crazy Monkey and many more of you will understand. There's not much room left in her mouth tho, so *peers into the fog* is the end perhaps in sight???

Ahhh, toddlerdom :smiliedance:

J&K's Mum
27-10-2006, 12:10
You poor gals with bubs having gastro:barf: My little man had it about 8 weeks ago and it was a nightmare.It's so hard to watch them and not be able to "fix" them.

jasminsmum I went to make the eggnog this morning and only had duckeggs, which I think may be a bit rich for him but will give it a go asap.:yes:

We are having a great day today, it's amazing how much difference a good night sleep makes.