View Full Version : Gift suggestions?
My sister is organising a baby shower for me and has asked me to provide a 'gift suggestion list' so that she can let people know what I need/want if asked.
So far I have
Towels
Antibacterial hand wash gel (the stuff you don't need water with)
Some nursery theme items
Baby thermometer.....and now I am stuck. Does anyone have any ideas for small relatively inexpensive (say $30 and under) gifts that would be useful? I have plenty of clothes/nappies.
TIA :D
baby wraps
baby toiletries- eg shampoo, bath wash etc
wipes
more nappies in bigger sizes- you can never have too many!
maartysmum
05-10-2006, 12:37
I know it is a baby shower but what about something nice for you?? I got one pamper pack in all my baby shower presents and I am telling you - it was the best present ever! Needless to say it was all used up before bub arrived - god knows I have no time to use anything like that now!:laughing:
05-10-2006, 12:41
robe, slippers, headband for the birth
pamper pack for mum
little toys for bubba
the thing I most appreciated? Clothes sized for older babies. When pregnant I brought heaps of tiny newborn clothes myself but MIL brought older clothes. DS now fits in them and its so handy not having to run out and buy clothes all the time IYKWIM
MrsMiggins
05-10-2006, 12:42
I went through one of the mags in my Bounty Bag and picked out all the products on my wish list. I typed them all out and gave them to the people organising my baby shower. I ended up with quite a few of them!
I found this was a good way to do it, because I got the items I actually wanted (for example, a friend & her partner got us the particular brand of nappy wrapper we were after.)
FourAngelKisses
05-10-2006, 12:44
Brush and comb set
baby panadol
a tube of bepanthen cream
a tube of teething gel
:yelclap: this is fabulous. Thanks ladies and please keep the suggestions coming :D
lamaze toys for the car and pram, rattles, nappy bag (target and kmart have a good range which include a change mat), those name label kits for when bub goes to childcare for clothes, bottles, shoes etc., some nice mother & baby toiletries, baby sunhat, sunscreen, mobile (i hang DD's over the change table), car window shades, clothing for when bub is a bit older for the following season etc., board books, bath books, rubber duck!, bath seat, baby bath, bottles for later, baby bowl and spoon for later, sipper cups etc, puzzles, pop up books
over $30
pram cover (shade-a-babe and rain cover, a deluxe gift for you could be a voucher for a pre or post pregnancy massage (DIVINE!!), cot sheets and blankets, more deluxe nappy bag,
A Party of Five
05-10-2006, 13:02
I could go on and on with a list. They are heaps of really nice things out there. But the best gift I got as a "Snug as A Bug". I had one for each of my children. And it just under $30 mark. Check them out at :thumbsup: www.snugasabug.com.au (http://www.snugasabug.com.au)
maartysmum
05-10-2006, 13:07
Just thought of something else - a subscription to Practical Parenting - another good gift that lasts for 12 months!
hmmmm, not under the $30 mark, but a group of my work girlfriends bought me a voucher for personalised birth announcement cards from hatched. I had got my baby shower invites done through them so they knew I liked them. And that way they all recieved one when bub was born, a bit of a keepsake! There's afew diff ones to choose from: www.hatched.com.au
~mia&ryan~
11-10-2006, 08:46
a deluxe gift for you could be a voucher for a pre or post pregnancy massage (DIVINE!!)
:yes: :thumbsup: I got a voucher for a message at my baby shower, it was my fave pressie by far. I used it a couple of weeks after I had DD and it was awesome, made me feel human again!:laughing:
Natsmummy
11-10-2006, 21:17
CDs for helping to establish your baby's sleep patterns are good. I can recommend 'Peace Baby' and 'Music for Dreaming'.
Frazzled
11-10-2006, 21:38
Baby Love by Robin Barker - it saved me!
What about a baby photo album or one of those baby books that you record all of bub's details in? :)
justrace
12-10-2006, 15:41
A tummy time mirror, some toys for 6 month +, bowls, spoons & sippy cups. Saves you having to buy them later on.
jade21887
13-10-2006, 11:23
I didnt have a baby shower - but the best gifts I have been given are frozen meals for after the baby is born, an offer to clean after the baby is born, and an offer to take me out to lunch after bub is born. They kept me sane!!
~mia&ryan~
17-10-2006, 08:23
Baby Love by Robin Barker - it saved me!
Yup Baby Love rocks!!! I am always looking up stuff in it!! It has been well used in our house:thumbsup:
Thymosmum
19-10-2006, 12:02
hi,
all good ideas and you will get plenty of it.
Why not give childrens books or Baby Love (Robin Parker) for mum. Kids love books, my boy is 13 month and carries around his books al day long.
Try www.bookhampers.com.au (http://www.bookhampers.com.au) for baby book hampers for new born ideas. It is advertised on this site.
thymosmum:smiliedance:
Becteria
01-11-2006, 07:35
I could go on and on with a list. They are heaps of really nice things out there. But the best gift I got as a "Snug as A Bug". I had one for each of my children. And it just under $30 mark. Check them out at :thumbsup: www.snugasabug.com.au (http://www.snugasabug.com.au)
Me too I loved my snug as a bug it was perfect for when we whent out with the sling!