View Full Version : Support Thread for Circumcision

Pages : 1 [2]

EcstaticMumToBe
04-12-2009, 10:17
yeah its good for us to be able to discuss it civil-like and i dont even mind that people who are anti-circ have their opinions, as long as they dont criticise me or abuse me for my choices.. and so far it seems that we are able to discuss the subject with minimum arguments which is great and the way it should be =)

Opinionated
04-12-2009, 10:56
I see that at least one member of 'team anti circ' couldn't help themselves and still have to throw in their opinion where it wasn't needed or asked for:)

There is no "team". I stated my bias and presented some information they could access to help with their decision making if they wanted. I did not criticise whatever choice they may make and did not post again after realising the area of the forum the thread is in.

I use the "new posts" button and sometimes respond by accident in areas that are not meant for me. That's the trouble with having interests in multiple facets of parenting I guess.

EcstaticMumToBe
04-12-2009, 11:14
Opinionated - I didnt see your comments as being critical, i recognise that you were just providing your opinion and some well known facts as well as a link for those that wanted to see more info.. and I think that its great that people know the facts on both sides of the argument and make a well informed decision either way.

I think that is the hardest thing with forums (as with text messages) is that you often cant tell the right tone behind the comments and sometimes some people will read it a different way then others do.

Darnielle
08-12-2009, 08:10
hi jkate,
just wondering if you can tell me the Dr in Newcastle, I live in Newcastle and am due to have our baby on the 29th of December, and we also would like to circum our child... if he is a boy!! (we don't know the sex)

Thanks heaps :)

Father
08-12-2009, 14:37
G'day Darnielle,

Hopefully you don't mind me answering your question. I don't think Jkate has been on here for some months.

I used to live in Newcastle myself when I had my first boy. I had Dr. Sales recommended to me. His details are easy to find in the yellowpages or online.
A friend of mine used him and was extremely happy with everything. I ended up getting my boy done whilst in Melbourne visiting family in Vic.

Good luck with the birth. Hope it all goes well.

firsttimemumvmr
21-12-2009, 17:51
hi jkate,
just wondering if you can tell me the Dr in Newcastle, I live in Newcastle and am due to have our baby on the 29th of December, and we also would like to circum our child... if he is a boy!! (we don't know the sex)

Thanks heaps :)

Congratulations hun! You mean Newcastle in England? I'm from England originally...:xmas:

firsttimemumvmr
21-12-2009, 17:53
Opinionated - I didnt see your comments as being critical, i recognise that you were just providing your opinion and some well known facts as well as a link for those that wanted to see more info.. and I think that its great that people know the facts on both sides of the argument and make a well informed decision either way.

I think that is the hardest thing with forums (as with text messages) is that you often cant tell the right tone behind the comments and sometimes some people will read it a different way then others do.

I always strive for that no matter what the subeject is, however I got heated here once or twice but our moderators are great and arguments here never have scalated to what I have seen in other forums (forums being about films, music or whatever!)

Paul64
28-12-2009, 20:02

As a circumcised male of 45YO, I've read substantial data and opinions on how much nerve ending tissue is removed when the penis is circumcised. I couldn't imagine wanting my penis any more sensitive than what it currently is. It sends me all the signals I need for an ejoyable sex life. As for chafing on clothing and the like, I've never noticed any chafing of any sort as a kid, teenager or as I am now at 45. I run for fitness and have never suffered or type of chafing "down there".

We're expecting in late July in 2010 and my wife and I currently planning on circumcision if we have a boy. Yes, I am greatly concerned about inflicting pain on my new born and who knows, I may even change my mind when the time comes, but I sure don't remember any when I was done. I also don't hold any grudge against my parents over having me done as I've known nothing different during my life.

It's a pretty hot topic hey!

Cheers and kindest regards to all

Paul
sa

UKDad
05-01-2010, 15:01

I read this thread with interest and support your work here. Obviously I'm one of a small number of dads that have posted here, but I hope my own experiences reassure you.

I am neither particularly pro- nor anti- circumcision but feel that parents should be free to make the choices that are best for them and their children. They should certainly be free to circumcise their sons, especially when they have a medical problem or if a problem has run in the family, or not, if they choose. (We did not circumcise our son though I wondered whether we should do so when he was first born because of my family history. In view of the equivocal medical evidence we decided not to).

From a circumcised man's perspective, I can reassure Gribel (and others) that boys can be circumcised after infancy quite happily and without problems. My experience growing up in the UK was that most boys who were circumcised were circumcised later than infancy. My brother was circumcised for a very tight foreskin when he was 2 years old, a friend had to be circumcised at the age of 4 years because his foreskin was too tight, and my best friend at primary school had a circumcision at age 8 at the same time as he had another operation - his dad was a doctor and felt this would be best for him. I don't think this was uncommon in the 60s and 70s in the UK and it doesn't seem to have bothered my brother or my friends at all.

I was circ'd at the age of 13 a few years after I became diabetic. I got a series of infections under my foreskin which was long and tight anyway but also became scarred from the infections which were very painful. Although I missed my foreskin and the 'old' way my penis used to look (and the circumcision hurt for a week or so) I was glad not to suffer the infections any more afterwards. I don't remember any negative comments at school (I did tell a close friend which was helpful). I came to prefer my penis circumcised (my wife has no preference either way).

I have often wished that my parents had had me circumcised when my brother was done, when I was 4 years old (which was apparently discussed by my parents but never done). 13 was, of course, an embarrassing age to have a circumcision but I have not regretted it as an adult.

I guess that circumcision is something that sometimes has to be done, or parents feel it best to do it to prevent future problems, or just prefer it, and it's no big deal really in the long run - you should do it if it seems best to you.

Good luck with your son who I'm sure will be fine - if you circumcise him now at age 4, he'll not have to go through the problems I had.

Prankish
31-01-2010, 18:32
Excellent topic!

I am a young guy in 20s and have been done as an adult and never hesitate to give advise to anyone considering. I also keep the updated list from the gilgal society if anyone is after names and locations of urological surgeons.

Circ world wide rate around 20-30%. Approx. One Billion men around the world cannot be wrong!

DeniG
01-02-2010, 13:29
Prankish,

I have some relatives who had a similar experience.

I recognise how tough it is to get done as an adult. The healing is slow, the inconvenience great, and for many it would be too embarassing. I have a friend and her husband suffers but instead of getting done himself he just got his two sons circumcised as babies.

I had my son circumcised. I had researched the topic extensively when I was pregnant with my daughter and then again with my son. With the possible exception of some STIs things are pretty clear cut. Circumcision is associated with potential medical benefits. The risks are lower than immunisation - a comparable procedure. The consequences of neglecting to do it while uncommon can be horrific. Imagine your son having to get his penis cut off to treat penile cancer when you could have had a useless flap of skin lopped at birth. Now he could turn out to be quite loopy, swallow the propaganda on anti-circumcision websites, and fail to appreciate what you did for him. However that would be unlikely and at least you will always know you did the right thing.

Anyway, so far so good. I even coped with the midwife propaganda attempts during pregancy education and in the hospital after childbirth. However the anti-circs try to trick parents with all types of stuff about pain, breast feeding etc. that worry us.

In spite of the reality and knowing about the medical issues I actually agonised over circumcision but took immunisation for granted. Ironically, immunisation seems so much more painful and it isn't a one off like circumcision but the anti-immunisers never developed the same presence as the anti-circs and education on the topic is better.

The lead up to the procedure was scary. In the clinic all ears were pricked. At one stage a young boy went in with his father. I later heard him screaming. They then came out and the father calmed him down outside. I guess he must have heard what was happening and got scared but you can imagine my imagination when I heard the screams (I assumed he was having the operation).

When my son was done it was such a relief. It obviously wasn't painful (local anaesthic was used), he breast fed afterward and in less than a week he looked like it had happened years ago. Later I noticed he didn't get as upset with immunisation as much as his sister. (Anti-circs had had me worried that he would experience more pain in immunisation.) All I can say is that it would be so much easier the second time. Anti-circs throw so much mud that some of it sticks until you have personal experience and can see EVERYTHING they say against the procedure is wrong.

A great website on the topic that appears consistent with the body of research is:

www.circinfo.net (http://www.circinfo.net)

(nb. no .au - the anti-circs have registered the .au version)

Prankish
01-02-2010, 16:57
No matter what scientific information and studies you throw at the anti-circers, regardless of what your personal experience is, they always come back with something to say. I know many men done as an adult and they all come back positive with the only regret being they wished it was done sooner. I even know one who's mother thought the procedure was ABSOLUTELY DIABOLICAL and would not let him get the procedure until he moved out. His mother became crazy when he did get it in his 20s and he thought it was the best thing he had done, yet his personal experience was still not enough and his mother is still up in arms about him getting done. I just don't get people sometimes.

Then they come back to me and bring forward the suggestion of 'circumcision fetish'. Well if their getting so bent out of shape about removal of foreskin, maybe they should be enlightened with the term 'foreskin fetish' (yikes!)

I have a daughter so no decision needed there, however my 2yo son unfortunetly missed out. Two main reasons are that I was not done at the time, and that my partner is also against it done. Although, now that she believes sex with me is much, much better, she has come around somewhat, and become partially in agreement to a childhood circ. I believe that I can educate him on the subject, and can encourage him to be done too.

DeniG
02-02-2010, 12:08
No matter what scientific information and studies you throw at the anti-circers, regardless of what your personal experience is, they always come back with something to say.

I have seen a recent example. Just before posting this I was flittering around and spotted one where someone claimed to be more of an experience based expert because she had been promiscuous. The fact that you got circed as an adult and know the before and after situation and can speak with authority somehow means nothing. She is the expert because she has been intimate with circumcised and uncircumcised men.

I know many men done as an adult and they all come back positive with the only regret being they wished it was done sooner. I even know one who's mother thought the procedure was ABSOLUTELY DIABOLICAL and would not let him get the procedure until he moved out. His mother became crazy when he did get it in his 20s and he thought it was the best thing he had done, yet his personal experience was still not enough and his mother is still up in arms about him getting done. I just don't get people sometimes.

People aren't always logical. I haven't known very many men done as an adult but the ones I have had a similar reaction.

Then they come back to me and bring forward the suggestion of 'circumcision fetish'. Well if their getting so bent out of shape about removal of foreskin, maybe they should be enlightened with the term 'foreskin fetish' (yikes!)

True it does seem almost kinky that they get in such a flap about the humble foreskin doesn't it?

I have a daughter so no decision needed there, however my 2yo son unfortunetly missed out. Two main reasons are that I was not done at the time, and that my partner is also against it done. Although, now that she believes sex with me is much, much better, she has come around somewhat, and become partially in agreement to a childhood circ. I believe that I can educate him on the subject, and can encourage him to be done too.

I note your circumstances and it looks like you are doing the best you can.

However I am reminded of the disingenous anti-circ argument that this area of preventative medicine should be singled out, parental responsibility be put aside, and nothing done until a boy is old enough to make his own decision. I call it disingenous because it is strange to single it out and there are no education campaigns on the benefits of circumcision so a parent making the decision to leave the infant to decide is in reality making the decision on the infants behalf not to get it done. It is also obvious that with much potential medical benefit lost and risk and inconvenience increased there is less motivation to proceed. Very few people have the time to look into it as you obviously did and realize that it is a good idea. The anti-circ argument is transparently a back door approach which normally achieves their desired outcome if they can con parents.

Prankish
02-02-2010, 20:26
I have seen a recent example. Just before posting this I was flittering around and spotted one where someone claimed to be more of an experience based expert because she had been promiscuous. The fact that you got circed as an adult and know the before and after situation and can speak with authority somehow means nothing. She is the expert because she has been intimate with circumcised and uncircumcised men.

People aren't always logical. I haven't known very many men done as an adult but the ones I have had a similar reaction.

True it does seem almost kinky that they get in such a flap about the humble foreskin doesn't it?

I note your circumstances and it looks like you are doing the best you can.

However I am reminded of the disingenous anti-circ argument that this area of preventative medicine should be singled out, parental responsibility be put aside, and nothing done until a boy is old enough to make his own decision. I call it disingenous because it is strange to single it out and there are no education campaigns on the benefits of circumcision so a parent making the decision to leave the infant to decide is in reality making the decision on the infants behalf not to get it done. It is also obvious that with much potential medical benefit lost and risk and inconvenience increased there is less motivation to proceed. Very few people have the time to look into it as you obviously did and realize that it is a good idea. The anti-circ argument is transparently a back door approach which normally achieves their desired outcome if they can con parents.

You know your comments are spot on. I have no idea how women could know more on the subject than a man who has been done regardless if they slept with 1 of each, or 100 of each

I hear you when you say that the medical benefits are not taught or recognised onto out children. I would go as far to say, that the whole subject is not even taught or recognised. This is because the infant circ rate is simply not high enough to bring in more encouragement for the procedure from parents, and from men curious to get it done themselves. I would also blame some states public hospitals from banning or discouraging the procedure which is biased. What changed about the procedure over the last 25 years that has made it less accepted? Nothing. But, in the UK the NHS stopped funding non-medical circs a while ago and I think the same here with medicare. I think it's all about saving the few dollars for each boy. If they can save a dollar then they will do it.

DeniG
03-02-2010, 16:20
I hear you when you say that the medical benefits are not taught or recognised onto out children. I would go as far to say, that the whole subject is not even taught or recognised. This is because the infant circ rate is simply not high enough to bring in more encouragement for the procedure from parents, and from men curious to get it done themselves. I would also blame some states public hospitals from banning or discouraging the procedure which is biased. What changed about the procedure over the last 25 years that has made it less accepted? Nothing. But, in the UK the NHS stopped funding non-medical circs a while ago and I think the same here with medicare. I think it's all about saving the few dollars for each boy. If they can save a dollar then they will do it.

With regard to public hospitals, from what I can gather the medical associations in the 70s mistakenly associated it with tonsil removals when they should have realised that it was more like an immunisation. They have been slow to admit their error.

Internationally there has been a lot of movement but the RACP have a pretty dodgy policy statement at the moment currently under review.

Anyway the elective surgery policy makers have been misinformed by the old RACP policy which exagerates risks, uses references that don't support the facts (I'm more than happy to give an example), lists every imaginable risk but gloss over benefits and so the policy makers don't see the value in having it as elective surgery in hospitals. So yes they are counting pennies but the main problem is relying upon misinformation and not realising the value.

Australia tends to get there eventually. Did you see the American Urological Association's recent press release?

http://www.auanet.org/content/press/press_releases/article.cfm?articleNo=169

Father
04-02-2010, 09:59
That's an interesting read DeniG.

They are treating it very seriously. The anti-circ crowd are still burying their heads in the sand about this benefit.

Internationally there has been a lot of movement but the RACP have a pretty dodgy policy statement at the moment currently under review.

What I thought was interesting is that they released a revised statement last year. But have since withdrawn it from their site and are reviewing it again. So it's now been over 5 years since they have made a statement. Their last one must have been a flop for them to remove it. Apparently the new one will be out by the middle of the year.

Prankish
04-02-2010, 19:30
That looks very interesting indeed. Now their perhaps performing the procedure to combat AIDS. That is major.

I actually thought of something when I saw the title 'support thread for circ', perhaps these pics will be considered support for the lads thinking about it...:D

{pictures removed by Mod ... feel free to re-post the pictures of the shirts without the model!}

circangel
05-02-2010, 18:12
Hi Prank,

I have met quite a few of those girls. Boy am I glad I had the circumcision done for me.

Father
07-02-2010, 01:05
I can see team anti-circ rolling their eyes in disgust as those photos Prankish.:yelclap:

Prankish
07-02-2010, 01:16
I love IT ;)

Father
07-02-2010, 01:21
I can see that you do.

It's like you've found a new sport.

Prankish
07-02-2010, 01:30
I have chatted to a couple of younger guys interested in circ since the procedure and since I have been there and done that it really makes me feel much more mature and wiser than before when I talk to them and give them my advise.

I also like stiring up the controversy at times and I feel I can really throw some tough stops in the face of some really nieve and arrogant people. It's also really funny how uncut men sometimes can get offended by the idea that they smell more.

When all else fails, my humour can throw the whole discussion up-side-down, in-side-out :D

Father
07-02-2010, 01:35
It's unfortunate how aggressive the anti-circ crowd is. Even though there are about 20% of parents in Australia circumcising their boys, team anti-circ makes it look like no-one does.

How do they do this? By abusing any parent that comes into the discuss it section until they leave.
This way, they can have the forum all to themselves and make their opinion appear like it is the only one.

What I find really funny is the term 'educated'. They love saying that they are 'educated' because they chose not to circ, and that any parent who chooses it is automatically 'uneducated' regardless of their knowledge, experience, and obviously, their education.

Prankish
07-02-2010, 01:51
It is more of a problem with the social structure in Australia. Circumcision is just generally seen as bad or not very recognised. It is quite sad.

Because of my experience, I just try and promote it yet no one pays any attention. They listen, because they post anti-circ comments, but they pay no attention to what I am saying because anti-circ is programmed into their minds.

KatiesMum
07-02-2010, 23:54
This thread - and this area - is for those who are pro-circ to discuss doctors, the proceedure and issues about circumcision.

It is not to demean or post derogatory or inflammatory statements about other members.

please stick to posting information and support.

1sttimebub
21-02-2010, 22:47
Hi There,

I am a first time mum who has decided to have our little upcoming bub circ'd however still have a million questions that im finding difficult to get answers to and was hoping you could help. Im in Canberra and just wondering if anyone knows the procedure, ie is it done in hospital while you are there, are there any doctors who do it, when is the best time etc...... any info you could pass on would be so much appreciated.

Thankyou

Father
22-02-2010, 10:04
1stimebub.
Unfortunately, they don't do circumcisions in hospitals anymore. You will need to find a doctor to do it through the private system.
In regard to the procedure and at what age, it is best for you to do a little research about the pros and cons for which method sounds best for your boy.
A good site is http://www.circinfo.net/

Some doctors will only do boys once they are older than 6 months.

My personal opinion and decision was to get our boy done in the first couple of weeks. This provided 'maximum protection' from penile cancer and UTI's (again, this was our decision). We also wanted to have it done using the plastibell method as we deemed it 'safer'.

You will have to call around a bit to find a doctor who will do it. The above website has some info on this. But we just rang around and found someone relatively easy.

Good luck.

Samarinda
25-02-2010, 20:49
Don't know if any of you have read these recent Aussie press reports:

http://www.smh.com.au/national/exmidwifes-experience-made-it-an-easy-decision-20100220-ompz.html

http://www.smh.com.au/national/more-boys-go-under-knife-as-parents-opt-for-kind-cut-20100220-omqn.html

http://www.cairns.com.au/article/2010/02/24/95595_local-news.html

mumofjaxs
26-02-2010, 17:09

When DS1 was born my DH and I had discussed circumcision but had not come to a conclusion. My DH is not cicumcised but he thought we should get him done (sound terrible doesn't it), he had not had too many problems but remembers something from when he was younger.
Then one day DS1 got an infection in his penis, it swelled up in a couple of hours, and did not want you to touch when changing nappy. We took him to hospital as it was a Friday night no docs open. When I asked what caused it they said it was due to cleanliness and hygiene. How bad did I feel, then I ask what was I suppose to do as you are not to pull it back to clean it, they gave me some documentation about it. After reading this I realised I had done nothing wrong, I was doing exactly as I was suppose to. It looks so sore and painful. After anitbiotics it started to clear up, but it was bruised and turned that yellow bruise colour.
It was after this we decided to get him done. I flew to Brisbane to have it done, a few friends had recommended me to a clinic there that use the plastibell procedure.
DS1 was 10 months old, they gave him a shot of pethadine to keep him calm. He didn't even cry when they did it, and was straight after. We had a bit of a restless afternoon, but I think that was me being over protected and not looking for tired signs. It didn't look pretty, but it didn't seem to bother him, even when he was dragging himself along the floor as he was not crawling yet.
While it was healing I was worried that it didn't look right so I contacted the clinic (they were available 24hrs) and spoke directly with the doctor who did the procedure, I emailed him photos and he said the bell was just about to fall off, he would be fine.
It healed well, and I have no regrets in having it done and think it was for the best. I have nothing against those who choose not to get it done either. If we have another son then we will get it done again, although I will get it done a lot earlier.
It was definately a hard decision!!!

:yes:DS 22/1/08:yes:
:yes:Baby No2 due 26/8/10:yes:

Father
03-05-2010, 12:43
Here is the January 2010 factsheet on circumcision from the internationally peer-reviewed 'Archives of Pediactrics & Adolescent Medicine'.

Male Circumcision: New Information About Health Benefits

http://archpedi.ama-assn.org/cgi/content/full/164/1/104

ShelbysMumma
08-05-2010, 14:49
A fair few moths ago i became a member to talk about regular baby stuff but also to feel some support for our decision to circ our son at 2 1/2 weeks old,

i accidently posted my thread in the "discuss it" section not seeing the "pro" thread
:hair:
it was the most humiliating and degrading day of my life,:gloomy: i have NEVER had anyone say a bad thing about our decision to circ out in the real world but whoa!!! they let loose on me in here!

everyone was quoting every little thing i said i ended up deleting what it said but they had all quoted it anyway,

i have only just felt good enough to come back on bubhub and am still scared those people will recognise my name and yell at me again!

that was before christmas and the things they all said still upset me :(

we did it for our own reasons, not cultural or religious so they all think i am a cruel child abusing disgusting person that doesnt deserve to have a child (among lots of other degading terms)

hoping no one here will yell at me again, it took alot for me to write this :fingerscrossed::(

Father
08-05-2010, 16:53
It is very disappointing that some members on here feel it is their obligation to criticise everyone else's parenting decisions if they are not the same as their own.

Bubhub is nothing like real life. Don't be scared of them. They are just anonymous people hiding behind the safety of their computer screens.

ShelbysMumma. Congrats on regaining the courage to re-enter the forum.

At the end of the day, you made a choice on behalf of your boy in his best interest. YOUR decision was the right one for your family.
People on here can disagree with you until they are blue in the face (I'm sure many of them do get quite blue:)), but it does not change the fact that YOU are responsibile for making the decisions for YOUR family.

Ignore them. Don't feel like you have to justify your decision to them at all.

summamummy
12-05-2010, 16:57
A fair few moths ago i became a member to talk about regular baby stuff but also to feel some support for our decision to circ our son at 2 1/2 weeks old,

i accidently posted my thread in the "discuss it" section not seeing the "pro" thread
it was the most humiliating and degrading day of my life,:gloomy: i have NEVER had anyone say a bad thing about our decision to circ out in the real world but whoa!!! they let loose on me in here!

everyone was quoting every little thing i said i ended up deleting what it said but they had all quoted it anyway,

i have only just felt good enough to come back on bubhub and am still scared those people will recognise my name and yell at me again!

we did it for our own reasons, not cultural or religious so they all think i am a cruel child abusing disgusting person that doesnt deserve to have a child (among lots of other degading terms)

hoping no one here will yell at me again, it took alot for me to write this :fingerscrossed::(

I have also been abused by the 'regular' group of ladies who seem to think that their way is the only way and people who circ their sons are ******** lol. I had a couple of lovely people completley back me up and several women in my mothers group also circumcised there male bubs.
We all make educated decisions for our children based on what 'we' feel is best. To be honest I think It's sad that those women never circumcised their sons as babies with all the risks and health issues associated with not circumcising a boy. We mainly circumcised our son cause DH is circumcised and we wanted our boy to be the same as daddy. My little man will be 11 weeks on Friday and we had him circumcised at 9 weeks, he never cried, and his penis has healed fantastically (was the tiniest spot of blood after the procedure). The only thing now is he wees on us more than ever LOL
People have to learn to accept differences within people and to respect the decisions that we make for our babies. I'm so sorry you had to go through that nasty experience, this is a safe place to discuss circ!

ShelbysMumma
12-05-2010, 17:42

I have also been abused by the 'regular' group of ladies who seem to think that their way is the only way and people who circ their sons are ******** lol. I had a couple of lovely people completley back me up and several women in my mothers group also circumcised there male bubs.
We all make educated decisions for our children based on what 'we' feel is best. To be honest I think It's sad that those women never circumcised their sons as babies with all the risks and health issues associated with not circumcising a boy. We mainly circumcised our son cause DH is circumcised and we wanted our boy to be the same as daddy. My little man will be 11 weeks on Friday and we had him circumcised at 9 weeks, he never cried, and his penis has healed fantastically (was the tiniest spot of blood after the procedure). The only thing now is he wees on us more than ever LOL
People have to learn to accept differences within people and to respect the decisions that we make for our babies. I'm so sorry you had to go through that nasty experience, this is a safe place to discuss circ!

yeah its so good to have somewhere,congrats on your little boy! in my mothers group there was me and one othere mum that circ'd but she only came a couple of times, so now im the only one! you chose to for prettymuch exactly the reasons we did!

circangel
17-05-2010, 15:19

Hi dont get upset with what a few say you did a very important thing that most parents have done for their child and it is a really great thing you decided. Really your decision is nothing to get upset about, it seems to be more widely done and accepted these days except maybe for a few whom choose to cause upset. Dont be scared of what others say just like I am not scared of what they say.

~Candy~
17-05-2010, 15:49

hoping no one here will yell at me again, it took alot for me to write this :(

Me too! OMG I had noo idea how circ/ric was viewed here untill I posted about my boys :eek:
Never have I ever had such comments made to me about this IRL and I highly doubt anyone would dare say that stuff to my face!!!!

It's quite disgusting what some ppl have to say about us parents who choose to do this LEGAL procedure while hiding behind their PC's :thumbsdown:

Pharm
17-05-2010, 21:52
Shelbysmumma, don't stress.

I have been told by members of this forum I "do" regret my circumsision, I just haven't worked it out yet.

Stick to the pro circ section, if your comments get hijacked they should be removed.

Blonde Assassin
18-05-2010, 14:35
I hear you ShelbysMumma, Pharm, Candy, circangel & summamummy :hugs:

I've never had anyone say anything to my face in the real world either & certainly don't try to hide my son's penis or anything! But on here! You'd think that you were a monster :no:

Like Candy said, they're just nobody's who are only brave enough to say something when its behind their computer screens.

RaryGirl
18-05-2010, 14:56
If you ever feel any posts are insulting/attacking/rude towards yourself or your parenting choices, doesn't matter in what section of the forum ... please use the report button (little red triangle) and let the moderating team know and we'll investigate.

shannysmum
21-05-2010, 23:48
yes i got on here a couple of years back now and WOW did i have the full on debate that went on for weeks... i used to laugh at all the excuses of and how bad circumsition was and who i was.... i ended up finding it quite funny, i suppose for the fact that i truly believe that circumsition is not a bad thing but a healthy procedure. my son is 4 in a couple of weeks, and has never had a problem... there are no comments between kids at this point about being different. and irl i will quite openly talk about it and other people never really turn their nose up at it to my face. i just feel everyone has their own opinion and choices to make on their own children, not others.
good on you!! dont let the anti circs get you down... at the end of the day, do they really have any idea? just information they have read, not by experience. ;)

mayanne
24-05-2010, 11:49
hi, just enquiring on dr's in the newcastle area. so far ive heard about dr milton/kirsh/docker. has anyone been to them or another regarding circumcision and would they recommend them/not and the procedures they use?

Father
24-05-2010, 20:10
hi, just enquiring on dr's in the newcastle area. so far ive heard about dr milton/kirsh/docker. has anyone been to them or another regarding circumcision and would they recommend them/not and the procedures they use?

Sorry. I'm not aware of those doctors. I had a mate who used Dr. Sales in Newcastle though. They were happy with him, although he was a bit on the expensive side.

mayanne
25-05-2010, 15:32
Thanx.ive been searching the net for info , dr. milton sales costs about $950 compared t dr. kirsh $450. i dont know if that means hes better accredited or anything though.

Father
25-05-2010, 19:30
Yeah. That's pretty steep. I personally wouldn't pay that.
As long as the doc is a 'regular' and they do it on newborns, it's enough for me. I'm getting my boy done in Perth as a newborn for $150. Unfortunate that they are so expensive in Newcastle.

Father
05-06-2010, 18:37
http://www.pulsetoday.co.uk/story.asp?storyCode=4006209&sectioncode=20

This response (from many doctors) to an anti-circ doctor who wrote an overly emotional article on a UK medical forum made for an interesting read.

I think it sums up nicely how doctors view circumcision - even in a country that doesnt' generally practice it.

samsmyboy
25-06-2010, 20:24
To ask a question (and maybe TMI!) DS had his circ done at 2 weeks and is now 13 months. He has always been a little chubby and I have struggled to pull his skin back to stop it from rejoining (we had the plastibell done). Now he gets really upset when I try to do it (supposed to do it everyday) whether it is in the bath, when standing up or lying down (have tried every angle!) Any advice - he has already had to go back once to have it seperated which is like pulling a bandaid off apparently but still!
Oh he has just realised that he has a penis so I am not sure if that will help ie he is happy to poke and pull it himself now!

thanks and sorry if question is in the wrong place but seems to be a 'safe' environment!

26-06-2010, 08:52
Thanx.ive been searching the net for info , dr. milton sales costs about $950 compared t dr. kirsh $450. i dont know if that means hes better accredited or anything though.

Wow. I can't believe the proceedure costs so much! There is a GP in Cessnock who uses the plasti-bell method (Dr Kahn 49903233) if that's what you planned to do. He charges a consultation fee only and did a wonderful job with my son.

I found it all a little heart wrenching though as a mum. Take your partner with you

mayanne
26-07-2010, 12:23
thanx for all the feedback. didnt see the message about the doc from cessnok till after i took my boy to get it done though. thought i should leave some info for anyone else in the same position i was in. i ended up going to see dr milton sales. as i couldnt find any informative info on any other dr. he was great, he is generally a practitioner at adamstown but does the circumcision every 2nd friday at newcastle private hosp. he charges approx $280 for a before hand consultation, then $180 on the day to do the procedure. you can claim these fees on medicare. the hospital charges approx $650 thpough, if you have private health insurance you can apparently claim on that( not too sure how it works) otherwise you just have to cop the full price. I would definitely recommend dr sales though. after the procedure he gives you his mobile no. + email . if you have any concerns you can give him a call/ send some pics at any time, and he will happily take time to speak with you. ive also had other doctors doing general check-ups on my boy, and ask who did the procedure as it is such a well done, clean job. hes no. if anyone wants it is 02 49523 700.
it may be a touchy unspeakable subject, but it seems it isnt as uncommon as thought, there were 28 babies being done on the same day as my boy!!

Father
15-08-2010, 22:30
Well, my amazing wife has given birth to another little boy (2 weeks ago).
We are having him circumcised this Friday in Perth.
He is getting done with the plastibell method, but using a different anesthetic than our last boy.
We have to give him an oral dose of medicine (pain killer) 2 hours prior to our appointment. He will then have a dorsal penile block injection prior to the procedure. Has anyone had their boys done with the penile block?
Please, no comments from the anti crowd who haven't had THEIR boys done.

Father
20-08-2010, 15:57
We got him done today.
I actually requested to watch this time. The last time it didn't really cross my mind to ask. I just did what the nurses told me.
I feel alot better now to have been there for this one. It means I can be assured that the scare tactics from the anti-circ crowd are just that - scare tactics.

For those of you who are concerned about the pain, I'll explain what I saw and how my boy reacted.

My boy had an oral 'pain stop' given to him (by us) 2 hours prior to the procedure.
When the nurse took his nappy off, he had a little grizzle - standard. He then proceeded to pee on the doctor and fart continuously for about 10 secs. During this farting stage he was crying a little bit - similar to the cry when they are doing a poo (sorry if you don't like the descriptions).
The doctor gave him the needle. The crying and facial expression did not change. and he stopped crying while the needle was still being given.
He remained awake throughout.
From there, the doctor got his equipment and did the rest of the job. It took around 5 or so minutes.
Daniel was awake throughout - looking up at the nurse throughout. Did not make another cry after the needle was given.
We then dressed him. Fed him. And he fell asleep as we got to the car.

To sum up. He cried for the needle - a normal 'grizzly' cry. He stopped crying during the needle. He did not cry again. He was awake throughout.

I guess it shows how different the procedure is when anaesthetic is used compared to the 'scare' videos of old school doctors.

Feel free to ask any questions (here or a PM) if you want to hear it from a parent who has actually seen it performed, rather than 'forum experts' who love googling up disturbing videos.

Savingfishfromdrowning
20-08-2010, 16:21
Thanks for posting that Father. I don't have a boy (yet!) and am undecided re: circumcision. All the males in my family are done (for religious reasons), and DH wants our son to have it done (if we have one). Good to know what the proceedure involves.

Father
22-08-2010, 21:32
Thanks for posting that Father. I don't have a boy (yet!) and am undecided re: circumcision. All the males in my family are done (for religious reasons), and DH wants our son to have it done (if we have one). Good to know what the proceedure involves.

No worries:)

Father
27-08-2010, 17:14
Well, the foreskin fell off (plastibell) a couple of days ago. Everything looks like it has gone quite well. The doctor is happy with the result.
He has not been concerned about it at all since he came home. No unusual crying. Wees have not hurt him at all (another great myth). His routine was not affected at all which was good.
Overall, we are very happy with our decision and the result.

Samarinda
30-08-2010, 18:42
Great news! I make that 6 or 7 days, about par for the course? I so glad you posted your experience it should encourage a lot more parents who are agonising unnecessarily over this decision. Congratulations!

Kimberleygal1
31-08-2010, 10:34
We had our boy done, it's something we always talked about and we found out the sex to be sure we had it all sorted with a dr before he was born.
Not only are all the boys in both of our families done except 2 who had to be done later due to infection. It does look better and easier to clean, we also live in the tropics so thought it best for hygiene reasons. I also experienced many boys having to have it done later in life due to infection when working in a children's hospital.
He was asleep when they wheeled him away and 20mins later he was back and still asleep.
It's a 5 minute procedure that he will not remember.

JorgeHolly
31-08-2010, 18:39
Hi, this is the first time I've been on a forum. I am enquiring on behalf of my sister who has a 7 week old baby boy who they would like to get circumcised. Unfortunately due to complications with the my sister at birth there's been a delay in finding a doctor and getting this organised. The community health clinic she is in contact with has supplied her with a doctor, but he will not do the procedure because he is 7 weeks instead of 6 or under. She is in the Shellharbour area, does anyone know of any doctors that do this procedure after 7 weeks. It would not matter where the Doctor is but preferrably in the Wollongong, Sydney, Goulburn Canberra type of area would be handy. I'm finding it difficult to find a list of doctors who do this procedure. Thank you very much.

Father
31-08-2010, 20:56
It would not matter where the Doctor is but preferrably in the Wollongong, Sydney, Goulburn Canberra type of area would be handy.

Can't help you out for your area sorry.
But what I did in Perth was just call the local hospital and had a chat with the maternity ward about doctors. They gave me quite a good list.

Maybe you could try the local and district hospitals in your area (if you haven't done so already). They should be able to help you out.

If you have no success there, then this link might help:

http://www.circinfo.net/pdfs/LOC-ANZ%200912-1.pdf

Good luck.

ChloeAnne
07-09-2010, 02:00
Father, I currently have my first boy on the way and am living in perth. Can I ask where you went to have your son done?

Father
07-09-2010, 08:04
Father, I currently have my first boy on the way and am living in perth. Can I ask where you went to have your son done?

Welcome to Bubhub Chloe.

Dr Lim at the Kelvale medical group in Kelmscott. Ph 9495 1230. It was less than $200 (sorry, can't remember the exact figure), and we got a medicare rebate which reduced the cost.
We went to him because he did the plastibell method. There are plenty of other doctors in Perth that circumcise, although Dr. Lim was the only one I found who used the plastibell. Let me know if you would like details of others.
The nurses there were absolutely fantastic.

ChloeAnne
08-09-2010, 00:37
Great thanks Father:)

Sorry I'm a little ignorant on the subject but could someone please explain to me what exactly is the plastibell method and what are the pros and cons against the regular method. I tried to do a google search and got a little bit of an idea but there are so many anti-circumcision websites I don't really trust a lot of the information on the net. Some of them pose as proper medical sites then as you read further on the bias comes out they throw in more negative violent language about circumcision and end with a picture of a screaming baby.

Ra Ra Superstar
08-09-2010, 00:40
The bell is put on underneath the foreskin and acts as a torniquet eventually cutting the circulation off so the skin dies and falls of. I think that's how it goes

Father
08-09-2010, 11:04
Great thanks Father:)

Sorry I'm a little ignorant on the subject but could someone please explain to me what exactly is the plastibell method and what are the pros and cons against the regular method. I tried to do a google search and got a little bit of an idea but there are so many anti-circumcision websites I don't really trust a lot of the information on the net. Some of them pose as proper medical sites then as you read further on the bias comes out they throw in more negative violent language about circumcision and end with a picture of a screaming baby.

I know what you mean about the anti-circ websites. Lots of emotion. Not much facts.

This site will help you out with the different methods.

http://www.circinfo.net/the_procedure_itself.html

This site is one of the more informative sites around.

Again, let me know if you want some details of the other doctors I found in Perth.

Father
19-09-2010, 23:52
This article looks like it made it to nearly every newspaper in Australia today.

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-national/male-circumcision-a-surgical-vaccine-20100919-15hm3.html

I guess it's going to start another debate from the overly vocal anti-circumcision crowd.

myliltiger1
26-09-2010, 17:42
We also just had the plastibell method of circ done on our son who was about 3 weeks old. We were very nervous at first as to what we were about to put our little man through as we knew how much he screamed when he was given his first needles in hospital after being born and would not settle for another hour after that.
Being first time parents we were not about to make the decision lightly. But I am now confident we made the right decision (for us). There were no needles and cutting involved and I thought it was pretty non-invasive as far as these things go. The anaesthetic was a cream applied 2 hours prior to the procedure (so no needles), he cried once as his clothes were taken off (as he does when we bath him) and he slept and ate fine and normally for the rest of the day after the procedure. He didn't seem unsettled or upset in the slightest.
I know everyone is entitled to their own opinion. But do people really know what is involved or are they just to quick to judge others.
www.russellmedical.com.au (http://www.russellmedical.com.au) also has a bit of info about this new procedure on it.

Rach06K
06-10-2010, 19:56

We are booked in to have my son circed next week he will be a week and a half. The place we are booked through seem to have a good rep but Im wondering about pain relief for my little man...very emotional - want to get it done and realise it's a quite a routine proceedure - doc uses plastibell. The doc has also requested cloth nappies be used afterwards and vaseline. Just want to hear some others experiences about the ways the procedure was conducted...

Thanking you

myliltiger1
07-10-2010, 17:04
Are they using the EMLA cream on him prior to the procedure? It's an anesthetic cream you put on 2 hours before and completely numbs the area so they don't feel a thing. Our little guy had no needles only this cream and he was perfectly fine!

2girls&1angelboy
08-10-2010, 15:46
Hi all im currently pregnant with baby number 3 and its looks like a boy.
My Dp is circumsised and we are wanting the same thing for our son but i dont know much about it or where in Tassie they do it

Father
08-10-2010, 22:56
ilovemygirls.

In regard to information, this website is a good resource.

http://www.circinfo.net/

As for Tasmania, this link has two doctors (one for children). I'm sure if you called one of them they could point you towards others also.

Good luck.

Father
16-10-2010, 01:39
http://www.racp.edu.au/index.cfm?objectid=65118B16-F145-8B74-236C86100E4E3E8E

RACP have updated their statement on circumcision.
Whilst their overall position has not changed, the document is very well presented and covers most benefits and risks. They don't unfortunately talk about prevention of phimosis and infections as benefits, which I think is a bit of an oversight. But it is especially detailed in the ethical side of circumcision. They feel very strongly and repeatedly that it is the parents' choice, and that they are to make the decision, not the medical communtiy.
The anti-circ community have always quoted the RACP's position as one of authority. One would hope that they maintain this attitude, and adopt the RACP's view on parental decision making. But I somehow doubt that. I'm sure they will just quote one sentence ad-nauseam, whilst ignoring or acknowledging the listed benefits and parental decision-making ability.

greatdanegirl
19-10-2010, 10:30
interesting read, thanks everyone.
DH and i are expecting a boy in jan, and circumsision is something that my DH is adamant on with our soon to be son getting done. he too had many a friend growing up that had infections, while he didnt as he is circumsiced.
im still reading all i can on this procedure, and sourcing Dr's on the central coast/newcastle nsw area that preforms this.
ill continue reading though so thank you

DeniG
05-11-2010, 12:49

We are booked in to have my son circed next week he will be a week and a half. The place we are booked through seem to have a good rep but Im wondering about pain relief for my little man...very emotional - want to get it done and realise it's a quite a routine proceedure - doc uses plastibell. The doc has also requested cloth nappies be used afterwards and vaseline. Just want to hear some others experiences about the ways the procedure was conducted...

Thanking you

I think the issue of EMLA has already been discussed.

I am sorry I didn't tune in a few weeks earlier. You probably can now give your own experience.

Circumcision is obviously the better option but I found it terrifying before it got done.:eek: While in the waiting room I was on edge every visit and when my son went in I would have heard a pin drop.

At the time of the consultation before the day of surgery two men (father and uncle?) of middle eastern appearance went in with a young boy. The next thing the boy was crying and screaming. My heart was in my mouth. You can imagine what I was thinking. However they quickly emerged with the boy fully clothed and his relatives took him out to talk to him and calm him down. The boy obviously just got a fright when he found out he would have surgery. The fear factor is one of the many reasons that it is better to circumcise early rather than leave it to later.

We are friends of two families who don't circumcise their sons. Interestingly in both cases one of their boys needed to get done as a young kid for medical reasons.

Everything else was uneventful including during the procedure for my son. It was a huge relief. The anti-circumcision websites can get to you. Even if you know they are lying it is hard to completely ignore them emotionally. I watched a video on one where a doctor tortured a baby while a man (acting as his father but a real father would have reacted differently) talked to the doctor. He competently performed the circumcision with a scalpel and no pain relief but kept doing things like prodding the raw flesh with his scalpel as the baby got more and more distressed. It is absolutely disgusting the way anti-circs ruthlessly stoop to things like that to scare parents. The doctor involved should be struck off.

After the procedure I ticked things off in my mind as they became disproved - things being the anti-circ myths eg. babies will never breast feed again after circumcision.

We were told to use Betadine on it for a few days. The penis swelled a little and then the plastibell and the relevant part of the foreskin dropped off into the nappy.

Within a week at the most it looked like the circumcision was performed years before if you know what I mean.

DeniG
05-11-2010, 12:57
interesting read, thanks everyone.
DH and i are expecting a boy in jan, and circumsision is something that my DH is adamant on with our soon to be son getting done. he too had many a friend growing up that had infections, while he didnt as he is circumsiced.
im still reading all i can on this procedure, and sourcing Dr's on the central coast/newcastle nsw area that preforms this.
ill continue reading though so thank you

I know someone who has an uncircumcised husband in the army. The husband insisted that their two boys get circumcised. It makes sense. Can you imagine the misery experienced by someone who is required to go out bush where he can't wash properly if he has a useless flap of skin that makes him prone to infections in a sensitive area in normal circumstances? I suspect he was more adamant than your DH.

little miss impatient
08-06-2011, 15:40
Can't help you out for your area sorry.
But what I did in Perth was just call the local hospital and had a chat with the maternity ward about doctors. They gave me quite a good list.

Maybe you could try the local and district hospitals in your area (if you haven't done so already). They should be able to help you out.

If you have no success there, then this link might help:

Good luck.
Hello Father, don't suppose you still have that list?? We are looking for a reputatble doctor to do our son and have no-one to ask for a recommendation. Also, could you tell me who did your son's procedure? Thanks!

Father
08-06-2011, 23:04
Hello Father, don't suppose you still have that list?? We are looking for a reputatble doctor to do our son and have no-one to ask for a recommendation. Also, could you tell me who did your son's procedure? Thanks!

Sorry. I'm away with work for the next couple of weeks so don't have that info with me.

I did just find the doctor that did our last boy on the net though.
http://www.kelvale.com.au/practitioners.html

Dr. Lim in Kelmscott. He was very good. The nurses were fantastic too! Would definitely recommend him. I think he had set days when he does circumcisions. He did a few whilst we were there - so he does alot of them.
Had to make 2 appointments though. The first was for him to check that your boy is healthy enough and to give you some painstop medication (to give to your boy before you come back for the procedure).
It was about $150 from memory and you get some of it back with medicare.

If you are from Mandurah - he would have been the closest to you who was on my list. The rest were North of the river.

I'll be back home in about 2 weeks if you need the info of the others. PM me if you want still want those details then.

Good luck.

Widget
08-06-2011, 23:48
Had to make 2 appointments though. The first was for him to check that your boy is healthy enough and to give you some painstop medication (to give to your boy before you come back for the procedure).
It was about $150 from memory and you get some of it back with medicare.

really?? We only had 1 appt. Went in, had a chat, handed son over, went for walk, came back son was settled, fed him, nurse checked him, showed us what to do, explained what would happen, we paid then left... It was $350 with this Dr in Western Sydney. Got $103 back from Medicare.

Using the phone, one handed while dealing with... ... ... Oh... Here we go again...

DeniG
25-07-2011, 14:50
Has everyone seen the recent news on the latest research on circumcision presented at the AIDS conference in Rome?

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/world/surgical-vaccine-helping-stop-hiv/story-e6frg6so-1226098865549

Father
06-12-2011, 20:20
Has everyone seen the recent news on the latest research on circumcision presented at the AIDS conference in Rome?

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/world/surgical-vaccine-helping-stop-hiv/story-e6frg6so-1226098865549

They are some amazing figures. Thanks for the link.

Kimberleygal1
07-12-2011, 01:13
Hello all, I'm just tuning in here to offer support and share my views/thoughts to anyone who needs it. Interesting stats re the above link.

All males in my husbands family are circ'd. All males in my family except my 2 nephews weren't done (my brother and his wife both wanted them done but were talked out of the procedure by a nurse nor was there a dr at that hospital that would do it) Both boys have had to have it done when they were 6yrs old due to repeated infection and the foreskin being too tight. At 6yrs old the pain is felt, it is real and will be remembered. Soon after birth, yes there will be pain but bubs won't remember it.

My dh and I always talked about circumcision and knew it was a strong belief of ours so there was no question about whether it would be done or not if we had boys. Our reasons are;
-It's family tradition
-It's cleaner (we live in the tropics,makes me feel sick to think of what nasties would be trapped under the foreskin)
-Having worked in a childrens hospital I saw the stats of the amount of boys having to have it done later in life due to infection
-The reduced risk factor re STD's

So as soon as we knew we were having a boy I discussed with my ob about wanting our boy circ'd, he happily gave us the contact of his collegue.

When ds was born the circ dr came to see us, explained the procedure and arranged for ds to be done at 4 days old. Bub was taken away asleep and was back 20mins later asleep. Bub needed no pain relief at all. The bandage was on for 7days and when we took it off it wasn't red or anything.

With ds2 unfortunately the same dr was on holidays so we took ds to a private after hours clinic with an alternate dr. In we went with bub along with another 5 couples, we watched a video, the dr gave us a talk, we asked questions if needed. Bub was taken away by the nurse while we were taken to another waiting room. Our bub was last on the list so we could hear the cries of the other bubs which didn't bother me too much as the cries didn't last long but some mums were in tears listening to the cries. Once our bub was done he was back with us, given a feed and was soon asleep. This time the bandage only had to be on 2 days and vaseline applied every day for 7 days. The area naturally looked raw but after 9 days it looked just fine. Again bub required no pain relief at all.

I certainly encourage anyone to have bub done whilst in hospital if possible, it was a much better experienced for dh and I.

squishie
13-12-2011, 20:42
So nice to see a calm discussion!! We had our little boy done with the plastibell method at 2 weeks 6 days. He cried when he was held down but was otherwise untroubled by the procedure. It's completely healed up now and I'm happy that it's been done and he will be free of painful infections or other issues.

I have to say the worst bit was looking at it while waiting for the bell to fall off. We also had the issue that when it fell off, one tiny bit of skin held it to his penis and caused him a bit of pain. We went back to the doc who performed the procedure and he simply snipped the dead skin and it was all good.

veve
24-12-2011, 00:08
I've deleted some posts - please keep this thread on topic ...

ta
Jen

Father
24-12-2011, 14:04

How did you go? Would you still like me to provide that list?

SmithJane
10-01-2012, 23:59
A recent story from Canada.

http://www.healthzone.ca/health/newsfeatures/article/1111324

I think this quote pretty much sums it up:

Yes, at 33 years of age I was finally getting circumcised, and I couldn’t help but think that having the procedure done when I was an infant could have saved me a hell of a lot of trouble.

Poor man. His experience sounds similar to some people who I know IRL.

I also liked this quote.

Foreskin has been elevated to hallowed status in recent years, but for me it had become a nuisance. And with the onset of severe phimosis, mere nuisance was elevated to an entirely new level.

The "hallowed status" comment makes me think of the anti-circ section:)

Father
11-01-2012, 10:06
Poor man. His experience sounds similar to some people who I know IRL.

Same. Not wanting to go to the doctor about it followed by years of pain and trouble. I feel for the poor bloke.

The procedure and recovery sounds a hell of a lot worse as an adult too! An hour!???