View Full Version : Moving to Townsville? Why not introduce yourself!
elleandsam
10-11-2011, 08:20
Are you moving up our way or recently moved? We'd love to hear all about you and get to know you.
I'm Amanda, my children are 2 and a half and 9 months. My husband is Army. We live in Kirwan.
Got questions? Looking for a group to meet up? Wanting to make friends? Newly pregnant or a new mum wanting to meet mums with kids?
Ask a local!
tashaplus2
30-01-2012, 17:18
Hi there :) I'm Tash and am moving from nz to Townsville in Jan 2013!! Am on the hunt for Info haha. Will have two girls aged 5 & 7 when we arrive. Have been told that kirwins a gd place to buy. What's your thoughts? We also need a fab school for the girls too :)
missjay07
12-02-2012, 20:45
Hey guys
My family and i have just moved to TSV and i would love to find some friends my my son CJ who is 3 (and myself!)
MSg me if you would like to meet up and arrange something!!
Lumpy Melon
17-02-2012, 23:04
Hi!!!
Just found out today that we are moving to t'ville in two weeks!
I'm super excited because I went to uni there and loved it.
I have a DS that will be 1 in April.
Look forward to chatting with you all :)
dreamer22
01-04-2012, 19:26
hi all :wave:
my names ash i live on the far south coast of nsw, around october this year my partner and i will be moving up to t'ville :fingerscrossed: my partner lived there for a few years so he has a few friends up there, but i know no one so i was looking to see if there were any other young mum's here that would be interested in having a chat.
i have a DS who will be 1 on the 23rd of april :)
Lumpy Melon
01-04-2012, 20:42
hi all :wave:
my names ash i live on the far south coast of nsw, around october this year my partner and i will be moving up to t'ville :fingerscrossed: my partner lived there for a few years so he has a few friends up there, but i know no one so i was looking to see if there were any other young mum's here that would be interested in having a chat.
i have a DS who will be 1 on the 23rd of april :)
Hi ash!
My DS will be 1 on the 24th April lol!
I'm up for a chat any time!
dreamer22
01-04-2012, 22:02
Hi ash!
My DS will be 1 on the 24th April lol!
I'm up for a chat any time!
aww that is so cool!!! its gone so fast i cant believe how quick they grow!
how long have you been in t'ville for? i am so excited to move up there with my little family. just hoping my partner scores a good job :fingerscrossed:
Lumpy Melon
01-04-2012, 22:20
We only moved here three weeks ago.
I went to uni here so I have a couple of friends but none with children.
DS is so grown up! He looks like a real little boy now! Makes me want another lol!
dreamer22
01-04-2012, 22:53
yeah i know what you mean, my boy looks like a kid, not the little baby that i still feel like he is! we can't wait to have another but we have to wait 2 more years due to complications during labour, gosh, just talking to another mum from t'ville is getting me so fidgitty i can't wait to move up there!!!!!! :smiliedance:
KellyG29
21-07-2012, 18:21
Hey guys just wanted to come and say hello.
We moving back to townsville in Sept but my husband will be there in a few weeks time.
WE lived in townsville for 3 1/5years before coming home to NZ but recently decided to make townsville home to the family and we moving back.
I got a 2years old (who yes was born in townsville) and a 5year old.
Would love to meet other mummies and make friends as we sortof failed in that sense last time as we both work full time and dont get out much
tashaplus2
23-07-2012, 13:23
Hi Kelly - thanks for your private mail. I emailed u :)
KellyG29
25-07-2012, 17:28
I havent had anything come through... try again. :(
littlefrog
29-07-2012, 14:11
Hi, I am Abi, we moved up here in January and have two boys who are 3 and 5 :) loving it up here, living in Douglas at the moment. Keen to meet up if anyone free.
tashaplus2
30-07-2012, 18:36
Kelly I emailed your email address signed up on bub hub. Nothing come?
KellyG29
07-08-2012, 19:04
Hi Tash sorry for the long reply but i have been in cairns for the weekend... had my sister in laws wedding.
No i have had nothing come through... try sending it agian. Kellyann297@gmail.com
dunno why that didnt come through.
I got 7weeks left here before i fly out now so im so excited.... plus its noly been 2 days and i miss my hubby so much already :(
Hi guys - also posted this message in the other thread, but thought i should probably try this one too :fingerscrossed:
we're also hoping to head up north to townsville in the next few months. we have never been there, but my husband has been offered a job he can't refuse so it looks like we just might be off.... we're from a rather small 'city' on the mid north coast of n.s.w. so we are seriously daunted by the whole 87 suburbs of townsville to choose from! :laughing: we have a 6 year old and a 3 year old, (boys) who are really our main priority. we're looking for any information we can get on family friendly suburbs that aren't too close to the city, with smaller (but still good quality) schools. we have heard some of the schools have up to 900 students? our little one's school has maybe....300? wow. :eek: it's soooooo mind boggling.
after going through every forum i could find we have a rough list of 'good' suburbs - aitkenvale, annandale, burdell, bushland beach, douglas, riverside gardens....?
and have been told to try and avoid condon, garbutt, kelso, mount louisa, north ward, the strand, oonoonba, rasmussen, sth townsville, west end........????
please please if anyone can help us to clarify??? we have absolutely no idea at this stage, they are all still names on a map. we have been hunting around on realestate.com.au, but it's still difficult to tell. in a perfect world we would be able to dash up there for a week or two to get a feel for the place, but we just don't have the funds to do it twice. ho hum. any advice would be hugely appreciated!
:wave: thanks!
tashaplus2
08-08-2012, 13:47
Hi there :) I'm in NZ at moment and moving to Townsville in new year. I did some asking around and researching on suburbs and we liked kirwin but ended up deciding to build in kalynda chase (bohle plains). We love it! It's super nice. We picked a catholic school as it was newer, smaller etc but had been recommended a few schools and areas (check out the other posts on the Townsville page as I asked lots of questions lol)
Hi, my husband and I are moving to Townsville from Brisbane in a week and a half for my husband's job. We have a 7 month old boy and I would love to meet some other parents with children around the same age. We will most likely be living in the northern beaches area.
daggy3000
18-08-2012, 09:40
Looks like Townsville the place to relocate to!! We are also moving up late October and i am very excited. It looks like a great place to be with kids. Am looking forward to the Rockpool and the beaches there. We are going over in a few weeks to have a good look around. I have a 5 month old daughter (born April 2012) and would love to meet other mums with babies. Great to have a nice support network! We are looking at living in the North Ward area but we'll see...
Good luck everyone with your moves!
tashaplus2
21-08-2012, 18:40
Hi there. I arrive on January 1st 2013 and can't wait!!!! We are building and building starts in October so I'm super excited. When I get there my girls will be 5 & 7 yrs :)
familyof5pluspooch
24-08-2012, 18:48
Hey guys just wanted to come and say hello.
We moving back to townsville in Sept but my husband will be there in a few weeks time.
WE lived in townsville for 3 1/5years before coming home to NZ but recently decided to make townsville home to the family and we moving back.
I got a 2years old (who yes was born in townsville) and a 5year old.
Would love to meet other mummies and make friends as we sortof failed in that sense last time as we both work full time and dont get out much
Hi there, just wondering if you are still moving over? I also have a soon to be 5 year old son, 3.5 and 2 year old girls. Be great to catch up :-)
familyof5pluspooch
24-08-2012, 19:00
Hello all,
I am a 34 year old mum of three (although feels like 4 sometimes with DH ha ha). My son will be 5 in September and we have two girls who are 3.5 and 2 years.
We moved to Townsville from the Sunshine Coast about a month ago but had a rough start to life up north as we all got really sick with the flu.
We have finally moved into our house in Fairfield Waters and I am trying to unpack boxes and make this house a home!
Anyway I guess i am feeling a bit homesick and am missing the Sunshine Coast and my friendship group a lot so it would be awesome to make some new friends...anyone interested :cheerleader1: I am a stay at home mum so we like to go to the park(s), beach, bike rides, scooter rides, playgroups etc etc. So if anyone fancies a playdate, coffee and chat (or if you girls have a group I can join) that would be really nice.
Lumpy Melon
24-08-2012, 19:20
We moved here in march.
I have one DS 16 months and another due in January.
Would love to make some friends :)
Anyone up for coffee at fairfeild maccas on wed morning, say after the school drop off?
Lumpy Melon
25-08-2012, 19:49
DS doesn't wake up till 9 :(
lil miss
19-11-2012, 07:55
My husband and I are moving to Townsville ( Bushland Beach) in the coming weeks. I'm 24 and he is almost 28. We have 3 daughters who are 5, 2 and 3 months and his 15 year old sister lives with us as well.
Would love to get to know some lovely mums and kids :)
Townsville dad
06-01-2013, 09:23
i am Blair, my wife and I are from New Zealand to and moved to Townsville last year.
we have a three year old daughter and my wife is looking to join the Air Force here in Townsville.
i will be looking after our daughter and looking to meet new friends that we can have coffee with and our kids could play together
Blair
lil miss
06-01-2013, 19:49
i am Blair, my wife and I are from New Zealand to and moved to Townsville last year.
we have a three year old daughter and my wife is looking to join the Air Force here in Townsville.
i will be looking after our daughter and looking to meet new friends that we can have coffee with and our kids could play together
Blair
Welcome :) I would be keen! We don't really know anyone up here so would love to get out and meet more people
tashaplus2
22-01-2013, 19:10
I'm very new to Tville and am interested in meeting people :) I know no one so far haha!!! Living in kirwan at the moment and not working at present so keen for coffee meet ups etc :) I have two daughters - 7yrs & 5yrs
tashaplus2
22-01-2013, 19:13
If anyone wants to meet up in next couple of weeks let me know :) I'm looking forward to some 'adult conversation' and making some new friends :)
I am up for a meet up at Maccas at Williows tomorrow. Say about 11 am. I will be the one with 5 very noisy kids....:laughing:
tashaplus2
23-01-2013, 08:47
Sorry I can't do today :( but am keen for another time!
Why don't you pick a time, place a date. I will see if I can make it. :) With school going back soon my life is going to get busier.:yes:
Townsville dad
23-01-2013, 09:44
I'm Blair and have a 3 year old daughter and live in Kirwan looking to meet new friends and also play dates for my daughter.
my number is 0439199016 if you would like to meet up
Blair
Townsville dad
23-01-2013, 09:46
I'm very new to Tville and am interested in meeting people :) I know no one so far haha!!! Living in kirwan at the moment and not working at present so keen for coffee meet ups etc :) I have two daughters - 7yrs & 5yrs
My number is 0439199016 if you would like to meet
Blair