View Full Version : is it true??!!
I have been told that formula fed babies tend to put on more weight than BF babies.
Is it true that FF babies are overweight?????!!:confused:
Hi vandy:wave: I think ff babies do put on more weight in general but I don't think it can make them overweight.My kids were bf and ff and found their weight increased more rapidly once they were put on formula but each bub is different so all you can do is try them both out.
littleboyblue
04-10-2006, 09:58
my bub is on formula and has been since 3 weeks I also heard that it can make them fat he is now 4 months and is average weight he is 63cm and weighs 6.8kg so he is not fatter than bf babies the nurse said.
tweedledee*tweedledum
04-10-2006, 10:04
They definitely put weight on quicker than breast fed babies, but as for them becoming fat, I guess that is up to the parents as to what they feed them when they begin solids etc.!
From my experiance I would say it depends more on the baby then what sort of milk they are drinking. Both my kids were FF DD was always above the 50 % in weight and DS although being born at 95% he gradualy slipped below the 50%.
My sisters kids were all exclusively BF DS was average DD1 put on heaps of weight fast and she would always get the "fat" comments (13kg at 12mths) and DD2 has always been bellow thw 50%.
Babies will only drink what they need and all babies are different
04-10-2006, 16:17
I reckon in some cases it does- depends on the baby. My niece who is breastfed is a really big girl so obviously doesnt apply to her :laughing:
RedPanda
04-10-2006, 16:18
My little guy is ff, and is long and lean. He's quite light for his length, so much so that I'm keen to put him on solids.
My niece and nephew were both bf until they were 18 months, and were cute little (healthy) butter balls! While ff bubs do tend to gain weight faster, I think once they're past a certain age, it depends on the baby.
jessgray
04-10-2006, 18:04
my ds is a FF bub and in the first few months it did help him put on weight but now he is losing weight and is long and lean. i think it depends on the bub and how much a bub is fed etc.
Another long and lean FF baby here. He was BF for the first 12 weeks and was chubbier then!
My little guy is in the 10th percentile for weight. He's on solids and it still isn't helping. DP was really skinny as a kid so I think DS is taking after him.
~mia&ryan~
11-10-2006, 14:45
DD's been FF since basically the beginning and she weighs less than all the BF'ed babies I know that are the same age, think it really depends on the individual bub.:yes:
matty's mum
15-10-2006, 00:01
My Breastfeed baby was fat :yelclap: A counsellor told me that they just put the weight on in different places. I think she's right, my B/F baby had most of his in his legs and my FF baby's carried it more all over.
But my B/F baby was the biggest born too, and was a real little fatty. So cute I grew him.
FourAngelKisses
15-10-2006, 07:32
My 3 kids were all formula fed and were never chubby, let alone fat. Their height and weight percentiles were the same. My breastfed niece however, she resembled a buddah.
missmum05
15-10-2006, 08:00
My DD has been formula feed since 4 weeks old and has always been average in her weight always in the 50th% at check ups. I think it varies because I know some bf babies that are a little solid so i think that doesnt come down to bf or bottle feeding.
angcaltam
15-10-2006, 15:15
It makes no difference.:no: Just depends on the baby.:yes: I know of a baby that is B/F and is huge for his age.:eek:
It really annoys me when people say that FF babies are bigger than B/F babies.:banghead:
FourAngelKisses
15-10-2006, 18:01
It makes no difference.:no: Just depends on the baby.:yes: I know of a baby that is B/F and is huge for his age.:eek:
It really annoys me when people say that FF babies are bigger than B/F babies.:banghead:
Just another way for them to make us formula feeding mums feel bad I guess........
15-10-2006, 19:52
I don't know :confused: mine didn't put heaps of weight on at all, but she was more full after having formula then breastmilk.
Little Gorilla
15-10-2006, 20:12
I don't believe that "babies" can be "overweight" regardless of whether they are bf or ff.
jess_live_die
15-10-2006, 20:15
one of my daughter was a bottle fed forumla baby and the other was breast fed they both went through fat faze formula babies i think just go through it faster the breast fed babies.
Thank you so much for your replies. Feeling so much better after reading.
angcaltam
15-10-2006, 23:54
Just another way for them to make us formula feeding mums feel bad I guess........
That's what I think ! ! ! :devil6: :banghead: But my kids have turned out alright, no extra fingers or toes or another head or anything, so I guess it is ok to FF.:laughing: :yes:
bekkyboo
16-10-2006, 00:02
my bub is on formula and has been since 3 weeks I also heard that it can make them fat he is now 4 months and is average weight he is 63cm and weighs 6.8kg so he is not fatter than bf babies the nurse said.
G is hybrid fed (1-2 FF rest BF) but he 9kg... So FF or BF, it wouldnt make a difference.
FF put on more weight quicker, but the BF catch up.
DD is FF and definately not a chubster. I think its definately lifestyle that determines weight, not just one aspect like bf or ff.