View Full Version : Due in June!
titania
15-04-2006, 04:03 PM
Sorry titania i am 31 weeks sorry getting forgefutl lately. Glad to hear everyone are doig fine. Can't wait till we will be hearing birth stories and seeing the cute babies photos.
And here I was hoping I had another week up my sleeve!! Nevermind :)
We have been busy here. I have settled on a finish date with work - too far in the future for my liking, but the mortgage will look healthier for it.
We have finally cleaned out the baby's room and moved all the stuff we had in storage there to the guest bedroom instead. So we had to cull some stuff - YAY! :smiliedance:
The baby's curtains have gone up and now we just need to modify the wardrobe and the baby's room will be almost complete! I nevber thought it would happen!
DH has just got a new job and they know I am expecting so have agreed to a week off when he needs it so he can spend time with me. However, I wanted him to have 2 weeks so that he could be with me while I am in hospital and for the first week at home. Now I don't know if I should make him go to work after baby is born (which feels all wrong) so I have the support when I really need it - when i go home! :(
How much time is everyone else's partners taking off?
Sarah
bekkyboo
15-04-2006, 04:28 PM
Dh is going to take the day off when bubs is born (like if he comes at night, he'll take the next day, if born during the day, then he'll take the rest of that day and the next etc), then work until i come home. We cant afford for him to be off to much. At this stage my mum is going to come and stay with us for alittle while and give me a hand.
Anywho - We are going out to dinner for my birthday soon, so i better go get ready.
Hope everyone is well. Garrett is barely making the 10 movements a day now, im guessing he is out of room. No more labour scares at the moment, i want him to hold on for at least another 4 -5 weeks.
andie_pandie
16-04-2006, 10:59 AM
Hi all have not been on for ages due to heaps of hospital appointments between one and two a week with weekly scans. Originally they were taking bubs out at the 32 week mark due to previous severe Pre-Eclampsia however due to finishing work 3 weeks ago and resting bubs looks like he has settled down and hopefully we will be able to get him to 37 weeks. We just have to watch BP which has gone down since the beginning of pregnancy, Foetal HBeat, and Dopplers, Growth Scans. Bubs did go from 80% down to 42% between week 19 and 23, hence heaps of checking however has remained stable in growth at around 45% now so as long as he does not drop off in growth and blood flow he can stay put for a while.
I too have been getting heaps of BHs lately and last weekend had about 2 hours five mins apart however they released as soon as they got to the top so was not to concerned. Decided to go to sleep and thought to myself if he decides he wants out he will let me know later on, I was too tired to stay awake. I am enjoying being off work and I am resting as much as I can.
We are also in the middle of building a new house which is due for completion in July, we have sold our current home subject to sale of the new purchasers home, so I am also packing the lighter stuff and cleaning walls etc. Will have to move very close to bubs being due so will get movers to do it and we will move into a rented property for a couple of months. So basically my life is extremely busy with moving, hospital appts etc.
It is not long now for all of us which is very exciting.
Andrea 37
DH 36
DS 11
DS 7
Bubs (Thomas) due 18/06/06 however will come out earlier ;)
TillieAndBug
17-04-2006, 01:44 PM
How much time is everyone else's partners taking off?
Sarah[/QUOTE]
ANdrew is having a week off b4 and two weeks after - but our situation bit different as he actually away most of the time and so this is them being kind they are also going to help us out with finances - though we think prob it will mean like he will get 1/2 normal pay or something...but will help cos he only gets paid normally if he actually away...as I am gonna basically be on my own most of time I deffo need him to be about just before and after...
mrsrobo
17-04-2006, 02:08 PM
I don't know how many my dh is taking he wants to take 2 to 4 weeks off but has to see what work is at that time maybe it will have to be one week.
mum2peanut
17-04-2006, 08:40 PM
My DH is taking a week while I'm in hosp for the week, but as a teacher he actually gets a weeks paid maternity leave which is very helpful. I'm due two weeks before the holidays, and if I go late which I'm guessing i will he''ll then have two weeks school holidays to follow. So that will be good. I want him off the week I'm in hosp, cause visiting hours at my hosp don't start til 3pm. He's allowed in from 9am-11pm. I figure he can get his baby fix in the morn, and that way visitors can have a play with Peanut in the arvo. He's a bit of a baby hog. Plus he can be there for baths and stuff, and bring washing home to do for me. I'd be bored all that time on my own!
Hope everyone's Easter went well. i've been very busy stuffing myself with chocolate and sleeping.
Finally, our AC goes in tom, which is good cause nights are getting a bit chilly.
Babywise not much happening, aside from all the continual kicking. Got some cute baby clothes from DH's step mum. think we've got enough to keep us going now, until we know the sex.
kiwibird27
19-04-2006, 08:11 AM
My DH is probably only going to take a couple of days cause my parents and his parents are both here, then he will take longer off when everyone goes home!!!
We shifted everything is cool!!!! 33 weeks this week - not long now!!! Glad to hear everyone is good!!!
bekkyboo
20-04-2006, 08:38 AM
Hey everyone!
my DH is only going to take one day off when i have Garrett, then we will sort out more time depending on money. Being a sub-contractor, he only gets paid when he works... so this easter weekend has killed us.
Garretts movements are strong and clear, although he has BIG rest periods now. running out of room. Im feeling exhausted through the day - so nanna naps are a must. Heart burn is getting better :fingerscrossed: but toliet trips are up, so im thinking he is engaging more. Ill find out next week, he is already at 4/5 - so he is on his way now...
cant beleive we are getting this close, it still doesnt seem all that real tho. I cant wait to meet my little man. DH said to me last night that im getting 'garrett sick' without even meeting him!
mrsrobo
20-04-2006, 08:52 AM
BB I know how you feel my dh is a sub-contractor too and he is working right up till the day i come home. Come and see us every day.
I am 32 weeks today so tired and the heartburn has come back as well as back ache which is getting worse specialy when i got to bend down to get something of the floor takes me ages to get up and then back hurts. I did the toilet paper test and i got 13 around my belly. I go up to the hosptial in May 5th. Hope everyone is doing good not long now.
SweetDreams
20-04-2006, 12:00 PM
I have a secret - I have a boyfriend on the side... his name is Rennie!!!! :D Gosh the heartburn is killing me!!!!! :)
DH is taking 6 weeks off. 2 weeks before EDD and all of June. He thinks he's going to be bored. :rolleyes: Apart from baby he has study and new xbox to play with so somehow I think he'll manage to keep himself occupied.
Can't believe we're all getting so close!!! It feels like yesterday that I found out I was pregnant.
Friends of ours had IVF treatment and are now pregnant :smiliedance: Fingers crossed for each milestone they pass (first major one is 3months).
bekkyboo
20-04-2006, 12:03 PM
no heartburn trreatments worked for me.
Im off to the doc in 40 odd min, My ears have been ringing on and off for 3 weeks Was realy bad a the shops just then, couldnt hear anyone speaking to me, just a back ground hum so loud it was making me panicy. So i figure i best get this checked out.
mum2peanut
20-04-2006, 09:43 PM
I've been lucky and haven't had any heartburn, yet anyway.
Mrsrobo-what's the toilet paper test?
BB- my trips to the toilet are driving me insane.
I went to Sydney shopping with my mum today. All I had drunk in the morn was a small cuppa. From the time I got there til I left I had been to the toilet 6 odd times. And I was only there from 11.30-2.30. Crazy! My sister asked how our day was, and mum said it was good, spent a lot of time at the toilets! I don't understand how a body sudddenly makes so much urine if there's not that much liquid in there. Cause my visits aren't just trickles, they're full on waterfalls!
My poor friend was due on Friday just gone, and she is still waiting. She is booked in on Monday to be induced. She even tried a little lovin' with her Dh and that didn't work. She's not happy! Poor thing.
Hope you're all looking after yourselfves. Times a tickin'
I'm so enjoying being on holidays:smiliedance:
mrsrobo
21-04-2006, 06:33 AM
mum2peanut: The toilet paper test is when you wrap toilet paper around your belly and find how many strips of toilet paper went around your belly.
bekkyboo
21-04-2006, 08:25 AM
heya ladies,
dr said my ears are either Meniere's Disease or water retention in the ears... niether of which can be treated until after the pregnancy. Depending on how bad it gets (cause it affects balance and such) i may have to be induced early so they can start treatment... Scary thought - Meniere's Disease can come with some permentant hearing damage....
Well i better get a wriggle on - i have to start my heart medication today, so everyone please think good thoughts that bub wont get affected and my blood pressure doesnt drop too low becasue of it...
titania
21-04-2006, 08:51 AM
Ah Bekky you are just having a bad run of it aren't you :( My thoughts are with you and Garrett hon.
I saw my Ob on Wednesday and she was concerned as my blood pressure was too high :( So I am back in there next week for another check and if it is still high we will look at what treatment is appropriate.
However, my husband went in for surgery yesterday to have a metal rod removed from his leg (which he broke a year ago, so the surgery was planned some time ago) and they had him hooked up to the blood pressure monitor after surgery. I took the liberty of checking my BP and it had come down to within the normal range. So I'm not too concerned about it, I think it was an anomoly - Yay!
So, bubs is head down , bum up and looking good at the moment. Doc is very happy with her progress and says there is a slight chance I will come early since she seems eager, but more than likely will happily stay put for the duration :)
Oh and I just did the toilet paper test, and I am 9 sheets :laughing:
bekkyboo
21-04-2006, 01:58 PM
thanks titania - It has been worrying, but im sure we will pull through. Garrett is safe to be born now, so its just a matter of time...
Heart tablets havent been too bad, i feel really run down and sleepy.. ill see how i am going when DH gets home, then ill call birthing suites and see if its ok.
toliet paper test - 10 sheets.
Bronte Pot-Pot
21-04-2006, 02:12 PM
Well it is probably about time I joined this thread seen as I am due in June :-)
I am relatively new to the bub-hub community
just wanted to say hi
haven't got much to say about this pregnancy every thing seems to be going well. Got the stomach flu last week and was vommiting and not able to keep anything down for about 24 hours and got dehydrated which was a bit stressful. Went to the GP to get a once over and bubs heart rate seemed fine and my BP was fine - looking forward to OB visit on Monday though to get the official word that everything is okay.
This is my third pregnancy. Lost my first at 34 weeks gestation to placental abruptia (sp?). My little girl is 16 months and will be 18 months when this one is born.
um that is me in a nutshell I guess.....
Bron
mum2peanut
21-04-2006, 08:49 PM
BB- you are having a rough time aren't you. I;m sure all will be fine. And as you said Garrett is safe to be born now so if worse comes to worse he comes out earlier than planned.
Welcome BrontePP- better joining late than not all all. Losing a bub that late must have been awful for you, how horrible. I m/c early and that was traumatic enough. Do you know what you are having?
Peanut moving around a lot still. I keep stressing that bubs will go back to breech, i think the kicks are still high though. My poor friend is now a week overdue, that would suck. Although I'm assuming that I will go over cause most first timers do. Better to prepare for the wait, rather than be disappointed when I don't go on time.
Toilet paper test- 8 sheets (now that I know what the test is!!)
See ya.
bumpsmum
21-04-2006, 09:02 PM
Hi I think I posted on this thread a while back but then forgot. Baby brains:laughing:
I'm due in June too on the 24th.
I've got my scan in 3 weeks to check the placenta but I think it will be fine.
Had a bad trot at the beginning but baby seems fine now.
Who's due 1st?
Does everyone know what they are having?
Am I the only one scared silly despite the fact that I have done it before?
9 weeks seems really close now!
bekkyboo
23-04-2006, 08:38 AM
Yeah, its been a bit rough lately. These tablets for my heart are CRUEL! im so exhausted from my blood pressure lowering... I have to be careful. I have 1 more load of washing to complete, clean the kitchen, then im thinking of going back to bed!
SweetDreams
23-04-2006, 06:30 PM
Hey guys!
My stomach feels all spongy at the moment when I lie on it (in water etc). Feels like a balloon that's got water in it! It's really funny ! lol
Hope ya'll keeping well!
titania
23-04-2006, 09:58 PM
This post is for no other reason than to say how much I am enjoying being pregnant. It has it's drawbacks - the reflux and indegestion, the lack of attractive clothing, the mood swings, but all in all, I am finding that I love having this little person with me all the time and all the daydreams about the future.
I guess I just wanted to say that before I start to get uncomfortable and can't wait to get baby out, like I keep being warned will happen soon! ;)
I hope all of you are enjoying it as much as I am, even if you are having some difficulties... :)
Love
Sarah
bumpsmum
23-04-2006, 10:38 PM
I never got to the stage where I wanted bubs out before but I've felt that way since about week 6 this time around:thumbsdown:
I've had problems which are now resolved:fingerscrossed: but I'm just so uncomfortable. I'm putting it down to working and controlling my DS's.
I'm kind of looking forward to a stint on the maternity ward with only one baby to consider:laughing:
I wish I could bloom like other mums!:crying:
SweetDreams
23-04-2006, 10:43 PM
I don't feel any hurry for bubs to come out - am just marvelling at all the weird experiences!
Well, I want bubs out because I want to hold him/her but not for any discomfort factor. I'm starting to feel a lot better now ... the tiredness seems to be lifting (finally!).
TillieAndBug
24-04-2006, 09:00 AM
i love the fact I have this miracle inside me and i love when I lie down in evening I can actually see its feet moving about - feels amazing...but I dont so love the swollen ankles, indigestion, sore pubic bone etc...but I think it is all par for the course...and i cant wait to hold my baby in my arms...:D finally meet this little person I have been growing for past 7 months...:D
Kylie33
24-04-2006, 10:13 AM
I have not been on recently as I have been so busy trying to sort things out at work before I go on leave (3 weeks to go!!)
Like a couple of you I am so ready for this pregnancy to be over. I don't remember the other 2 being like this. i feel like i have a football team in there, and the heartburn is a nightmare.
I was taken to hospital by ambulance last week. My work rang when I start to see spots, got dizzy and my hands went numb. Turned out that my blood pressure had jumped up really high. They kept me under observation but let me out after the blood pressure had gone back down to normal. They have no idea what caused it.
I also have been back for an u/sound, and have another one booked for 9th May. They think I have Placenta Previa, which means that there may need to be a c/section this time around. Not really what I wanted considering i had the first 2 naturally with no drugs. They will give me the benefit of the doubt for now, and check again at the next u/sound, as it is only marginal at the moment.
mum2peanut
24-04-2006, 10:24 AM
I have to agree with Titiana. I have really enjoyed and still am enjoying being pregnant. Although I have been very, very lucky and haven't suffered from any of the usual side effects. I have had people say. Good pregnancy, bad labour!! That's not nice to tell preg lady.
My friends was induced at 8am this morn, so I am eagarly awaiting to hear from her this arvo. They put her in hosp last night, and gave her something to soften the area?? she was hoping she might go during the night but I haven't heard anything.
Went to a friend's for dinner lst night and she got me to do the ring test, cause I hadn't done it before, her DH had no idea what we were doing. The test said girl, and so has the Chinese chart, but who knows! Both our families think we are having a boy, but I really don't have a feeling.
Going to organise for my nursery furniture to be delivered today. Yeah!! How exciting.
8 weeks to go!!! :smiliedance:
mrsrobo
25-04-2006, 09:18 AM
Hi everyone I think the weeks are draging on but then I am enjoying begin preg specially when little bubba kicks its still blows my mind. I am enjoying not lifiting a finger sometimes hubby doesn't wont me doing anything but then I can't sit and watch people do work.
I am 32 weeks but 33 on Thursday getting closer bubbas is very active I can tell when they are turning or rolling over. Friend was telling me about Labour and I am so scared. When I get my period I got bad period pain but i do have a low pain thereshold when it comes to anything else I had never had stitches,never had a operation. Well girls in two more days I will be 7 weeks to go.
mum2peanut
25-04-2006, 04:37 PM
Just got back from visiting my friend in hosp with her bubs. Her name is Charlotte and she is very cute. She was 8 pound 2, so a decent size. My friend had some internal stitching due to a deep tear, but otherwise was doing ok. She said labour was worst than she expected!! She ended up going naturally before the induction, and had an eight hour labour, at one point they were going to do a c-section but she pushed her thru in the end.
Funny though, my sister had a very difficult labour but she always says it wasn't as bad as she expected!! I guess everyones pain thresholds are different. I don't think mine's that high tho.
SweetDreams
25-04-2006, 06:06 PM
Hello all!
Not much to say today - done my shopping ... shopper's guilt is hitting lol
Bubs is doing fine thankfully!
Anyone else burping ALLLLLLLLLL the time?! It's really embarassing!
Also, I'm hungry all the time - is this common? I will eat then eat then eat then eat... lol Not in big lots but seem to be constantly eating something!
mum2peanut - congrats to your friend for Charlotte! I don't know what my pain threshold is yet... hopefully it will be better than I expect!
What has everyone been doing today?
TillieAndBug
25-04-2006, 07:27 PM
Hi sweet dreams - yes I burping too...embarassing yes! I blame the baby :D
It usually coupled with indigestion though...which is a pain!
It poured here today in Perth/Rockingham - I tried to go to the march in Rockingham but it was literally bucketing it down and I was freezing so I watched a bit then hopped back in the car...been trying to train puppy today...well not train just stop it biting me! I want to be able to have him down in the lounge room with me - but he seems to turn into devil pup in that room... anyway he keeping me busy - now not working and ANdrew flown out again...my life full of puppy, washing and shopping!! :smiliedance:
mrsrobo
26-04-2006, 07:27 AM
Hi everyone mum2peanut glad to hear about the birth of your friends baby.
Sweetdreams yes i am always hungry too my hubby thinks I am eating us out of house and home.
georgiem it that just it always washing
I am going to go and see doctor today my hand are swelled up specially my left and the pain radiates up and down my arm and my hubby had to try and get my rings off man did that hurt did anyone have this promblem
mum2peanut
26-04-2006, 10:20 AM
No burping issues here. But I am going to the toilet a lot! No. 2s (Sorry TMI)
I always feel like eating but don't have the room to fit much in, I've always been a big eater and it's really hard now that I fill up so quickly. I guess the upside is I can't put on too much excess weight.
How is everyone's weight gain going? My friend who just had her bubs was so proud, she had no stretch marks. I think she put on about 16-18kg. I'm currently at the 8kg mark, and as yet have no extra stretch marks, but my sister didn't get any until the last week of her pregnancy!! That sux! :fingerscrossed: it doesn't happen to me.
We set up our nursery on Monday. It was lots of fun. I washed all then linen and made the cot, and I washed all the wraps and bunny rugs etc. I think I'll wait til I'm off to do the clothes tho. What colours/themes are all our June babies nurseries? Mine's pretty subdued-cream, white and latte, with light timber furniture. I'm happy with it.:smiliedance:
kiwibird27
26-04-2006, 10:27 AM
Cream with dark wood furniture!!! So hard when your renting!! Finished work now and am so bored cause i really feel good...... I havethe same eatting problem!!! Can't finish a whole meal!!! Have put on 15 kg (bugger) maybe the baby is 12 kg???? can't be helped though!!! I have one new stretch mark -it'll fit in well with the already established ones from when i gained and lost weight!!!
Have a great day
SweetDreams
26-04-2006, 01:14 PM
We don't really have a design. lol We have a white bassinet and a wooden cradle. No matching sets or anything (we rent so to speak also).
It is hard because I'd like to be in there making it the baby's room but can't really add anything. Thinking about appliques but because we don't know sex I don't know what to buy! We're getting the basics and once bubs is here will add as necessary! :)
I love looking at the different themes though! Anyone with pics???
Burping and Indigestion - UGH! I am propped up on 20 zillion pillows. Having problems sleeping now. Ended up on couch and boy is that uncomfortable but at least I fell asleep! Problem is I'm so sore and stiff when I wake up.
MotherOfPearl
26-04-2006, 01:36 PM
We painted the baby's room walls pale yellow with white window and door frames, skirting boards and ceiling.
We have a white cot and change table. I also have pretty dark timber chest of drawers I've left in the room and mushroom plush wingback chair. They don't really match but we already had them and they're quiet old so weren't going to throw them out.
I've bought pale blue gingham and pale blue, green and yellow stripe sheet sets. I still need to get some curtains. Think I'll go with pale blue for those too.
I also have a pig & cow bookends on the cupboard and big wooden pig, cow, sheep and a duck to go on the walls.
TillieAndBug
26-04-2006, 02:58 PM
I am going to go and see doctor today my hand are swelled up specially my left and the pain radiates up and down my arm and my hubby had to try and get my rings off man did that hurt did anyone have this promblem
let me knowqwhat he says...I had awful since weekend...Andrew had to get my rings off p.d.q as they puffed right up...midwife didnt even bat an eyelid when I showed her...my bp okay so I guess I okay...throbbing though around knuckles esp at night and first thing in morning...I also have a really swelled up right ankle...
mum2peanut
26-04-2006, 03:55 PM
Kiwibird- do you really want a 12kg baby?? I think not. Don't know if I ever mentioned it, but one of my good friends from work had an 11pound 6 baby boy. All natural birth, no tears or anything. Wonder woman- her first two girls were only around the 7pound mark. Great taste with your nursery colours by the way.
It must be hard to decorate when you are renting. Although we didn't paint the walls, our whole house is cream. We decided to keep it that way when we built, that ways it's easier to change your look. i don't have any photos-still waiting for the blinds to be installed, we're getting timber venetians in all the bedrooms downstairs. We had done the rest of the house but cause they weren't being used we waited until it was necessary.
Everyones else seems to be on the way to gettting organised. It's getting so close now!!
SweetDreams
27-04-2006, 05:32 PM
I read somewhere on the forums about baby(?) making "clicking" noises occasionally. What on earth is this?? lol Is it me clicking or the baby or what? It's kinda weird!
Susan :)
mrsrobo
29-04-2006, 08:57 AM
Hey everyone hope everyone is doing fine and counting down the days till bubs arrives I wonder who is going to give birth first.
mum2peanut I the same way back in the bathroom again speciallly at night.
kiwibird27 I got alot of stretch marks but I not frazed because not one will see my belly expect hubby i do put cream on but still got them.
georgiem Well i was going to go to doctors this week but my hands are swollen now strange but were going to doctor on Tuesday so I will ask him about it.
I have nearly everything now for bubba just got to pick up the pram, nappybag and clothers off layby.
SweetDreams
30-04-2006, 03:25 PM
Hey everyone hope everyone is doing fine and counting down the days till bubs arrives I wonder who is going to give birth first.
mum2peanut I the same way back in the bathroom again speciallly at night.
kiwibird27 I got alot of stretch marks but I not frazed because not one will see my belly expect hubby i do put cream on but still got them.
georgiem Well i was going to go to doctors this week but my hands are swollen now strange but were going to doctor on Tuesday so I will ask him about it.
I have nearly everything now for bubba just got to pick up the pram, nappybag and clothers off layby.
Hey mrsrobo - let us know how you go! I haven't had any hand problems just feet although recently my shin area has been feeling a bit swollen and bruised (weird!).
I too have an appt on Tuesday but my #1 priority will be discussing my TIREDNESS. I can't sleep until I'm completely exhausted and then I sleep 90% of the day. When I am awake I am barely functioning. Not making life easy!
I've been on a nappy buying spree - so excited!!!
ETA - is skin dryness a pregnancy thing or is it just winter fast making itself known?
joozi
01-05-2006, 01:55 PM
Gday everyone....
My EDD for my daugther is 30th May, which means I'll probably end up having her in June with you guys so thought I'd pop my head in and say hi!!! I've been posting in the May area, and they're all starting to have their bubs which is making me even more impatient! Ah well.....
Hope you're all well
Jo
mum2peanut
01-05-2006, 07:46 PM
Hey Joozi- you're due on my birthday!
No hand swelling here, thought my carpal tunnel might flair up as I 've had it in the past, but so far so good.
I started back at work today after two weeks school holidays. But I think I'll survive as I've only got three weeks to go.
My nursery is all finished now. I like hanging out down there. Just need some picutres for the wall.
SD- i think the dryness thing is due to both. I've been moisturising a lot.
Got our third pre-natal class tomorrow night. Three to go, it feels like they go forever. 7-9.30 is a long time!
I really don't know how I'm going to survive being off for four week before Peanut is due. I got bored with these two weeks off, and all my friends were off to hang out with. It's going to be so weird not working!!:yes:
SweetDreams
01-05-2006, 09:36 PM
Lol - I have been hunting in the GDUNH so have been kept pretty occupied today!
Had toast and vegemite last night - NOT AGAIN FOR A LONG TIME! I was so sick all night! UGH!
Baby is getting cramped and cranky I think! lol
titania
02-05-2006, 03:37 PM
It's been pretty quiet on here of late! I hope everyone is doing well. I, for one am having a fabulous time, but am absolutely exhausted!
I had my pre-natal class at the hospital the other day (1 full day workshop, instead of 6 weekly sessions) It was fantastic. I didn't learn alot, as I have spent a lot of time educating myself, but I did get to put it all in perspective and see what does and doesn't apply to my hospital. It was also particularly good to spend that time with my husband utterly focused on our baby.
Jason had surgery two weeks ago to remove a surgical rod from when he broke his leg 18 months ago. The surgery went smoothly and he is recovering really well. It has been very funny though to watch the two of us hobbling around together since. He has been walking at just the right pace for me :D But neither of us are much good at bending down right now, so that has been funny!
In followup to my doc's BP concerns, my BP has come down from the high it was at last time I saw my ob, but is still a little elevated, so I am now taking BP tablets to help regulate it. I also have had a dose of sinusitus, so am taking antibiotics to deal with that, so I am feeling like I should have shares in a drug company - 6 tablets in the morning (including my vitamins etc) and then 2 at night!
With my BP concerns settled, I decided last week to continue at work until my originally planned end date, 15th May. I am part time at the moment, and my roster for last week fell so that I had Fri-Mon off this weekend. I spent a lot of that time snoozing and resting so was feeling pretty good when I went back to work today.
Within an hour my belly was hurting and I was so flat it was hopeless. My boss managed to get someone else in to replace me and asked if I would be ok to come in tomorrow. I said "If I am like this, 1 hr in to my shift, after a restful weekend of doing nothing, I can't see myself being able to do any more full shifts." So hopefully she will get my replacement in for training immeadiately (instead of next week as originally planned) So I am now working 4 hour shifts over the next two days to allow the replacement to be trained and that's it for me - over and out of there!
So lots happening here - all for the good. I hope everyone is doing well, and I hope to hear updates from some of you soon :)
love
Sarah
mum2peanut
04-05-2006, 07:28 PM
Hope everyone is travelling well. Can you believe how close our babies are getting!!! Two weeks of work to go for me. This week has already flown, can't believe tom. is Friday
Had our 3rd pre-natal class. Learnt all about pain relief. What are everyone else's opinions on that? I figure I'll wait to see how I go, if I need it I'll have it, if not, I won't. That epidural needle is huge though!
Been busy at school trying to get last minute things organised for my replacement. It's hard handing over a class to a stranger.
I actually felt a bit off today. Which is unusual for me. Think I'm a bit worn out after being at work after two weeks off.
Peanut is moving around a lot! I think the pains are more intense cause I'm only small. There's a not a lot of room for the poor thing. I'm looking forward to my 34 wk ultrasound when they give you a rough idea of size of bubs. Has anyone had there's yet?
Talk soon.
SweetDreams
04-05-2006, 07:57 PM
Lol hospital I'm delivering at doesn't offer epidural. I'm doing the wait and see approach to pain relief too.
I am now sleeping 95% of the time, have 0 energy 4% of the time and am actually functional 1% of the time.
Not long now though!
TillieAndBug
04-05-2006, 09:48 PM
hi all
I am shattered too...not helped by fact had yucky viral thing that had me with flu like symptoms...and vomiting...had to have iv fluids on Tuesday...now taking antiemetics for the vomiting... and the flu like stuff I just have to rest (not easy with a 12 week old puppy!) and ride it...I just want to curl up in a ball and sleep all day! But hen i feel bad - esp as the house just seems to be getting less sorted rather than sorted...so goign to give myself tomorrow off and then on Saturday will really start getting this house sorted...:eek:
I had the pain relief one as our 2nd class...yeh I just gonna fly with the gas and air if I can...evrything else scared the sh*t out of me...I accidently missed the 1st 5 mins of our 3rd class - they had started early and I missed the birth video...damn(yeh right) but did get to see the placenta being emitted...that grossed me out!!
Here in WA (well being public at KEMH) there is no scan after your 20 week one...unless that showed low placenta or they are worried baby too small...or way to big...or you have diabetes...I wish there was one...20 weeks seems a lifetime ago esp as our scan was pap and they couldnt tell us sex...ho hum though - next monthI will be holding bump anyway! :smiliedance:
I went to family assistance to see what the score was today...(had to get some food! so thought why not as next door...) Bit pants that you get assessed on what you earnt this year esp...if you know you not going to be earning anything for forseeable future...probly just go in after July 1st...then I think I understood correctly that they will take an estimate and not last years earnings...otherwise with our combined earnings etc we will be getting diddly squat...which is daft as we dont really have anything...esp after Andrew pays maintenance for his two kids...I hope baby born before July 1st even though would be nice to have bigger maternity payment...they would have to wait yet another year to go to school! I used to in UK kids starting school at 4 and you can go to private preschool at 31/2...if kiddy ready...if anything like I was... precocious! :smiliedance: will be gagging to go to school and learn!
Okay better go have bath relax and get some zzzzz's before the puppy decides its morning (usually before 6am...) good practice I suppose!!:D
mum2peanut
05-05-2006, 09:03 PM
Yeah it's the weekend!!
Gergiem- that is a bummer about the ultrasound thing. We get to have a 3D photo taken if the baby cooperates. Have you seen those photos they are very life like. Poor you being sick. That's the last thing you want.
Don't think we'll get any family assistance, especially since I;m pretty much being paid for all my time off. I think even when I'm half pay we'll still prob be over. I know what you mean abou the baby bonus Phil keep telling me to keep my legs crossed. Ha ha! We're so close but not quite close enough. Our doctor induces after 7 days late, so we won't make it. PLease do not send your child to school at 4, there's nothing worse. :shame: You can always pick the young ones. Sorry typical teacher opinion here.
Sweet dreams- can you get epidurals if you want?? Do they just not encourage it? My sister went through a midwife program that didn't encourage it. But they offfered her one in the end cause my niece was posterior, but then it didn't work anyway.
Where are all are June mums gone?? We haven't heard from a few of them lately
How's everyone going with baby names?:banghead:
SweetDreams
05-05-2006, 11:18 PM
They don't do epidurals at all. Emergency Caesarean they give you a spinal block. From what I understand they only do emergencies not elective.
mrsrobo
05-05-2006, 11:50 PM
I hope everyone is doing great the past three nights I have had painful braxton hicks contrtactions. My dh and I say if they do get worse tonight I will go up to hospital. But apart from that I am doing fine. My Baby Shower is next weekend and I got my first baby shower gift today it came from my sister who lives overseas it was 2 rompers and 1 tracksuit set and socks so cute.
TillieAndBug
06-05-2006, 10:05 AM
lucky you MrsRobo!!!:smiliedance: I dont know anyone here so I not having one.
Hope you not in hospital this early!! Do they hurt then???
SweetDreams
06-05-2006, 10:54 AM
Painful BH! :thumbsdown:
I can't say that mine have been painful thank goodness! They are coming more regularly though. I have been getting back pain and period-type pain (not necessarily with BH) but nothing that has been regular (although baths at 4am are becoming a fixture!).
I realised the other night that we have practically nothing appropriate to bring bubs home in! Everything we have bought/been given if not geared towards lighter (summer) clothing is in a gender specific colour (we don't know sex of bubs!). It should be fine once bubs is out and we can grab an appropriate item but I couldn't believe that having so many clothes we find we still do not have enough (IYKWIM?)!
We haven't been offered a 3rd u/s. I kinda wish we were getting one but then again I don't.
How is everyone coping? It's becoming very cold at night here so I imagine when bubs is born we will be out with all the knitted items!
bumpsmum
08-05-2006, 09:43 AM
After some advice . Having felt great for a couple of weeks now I have woken up this morning feeling dreadful. I've been dry wretching all morning and getting heaps of braxton hicks. Is this normal at 33 weeks? I've got a scan tomorrow so hopefully my mind will be put at rest then.:fingerscrossed:
SweetDreams
08-05-2006, 10:31 AM
After some advice . Having felt great for a couple of weeks now I have woken up this morning feeling dreadful. I've been dry wretching all morning and getting heaps of braxton hicks. Is this normal at 33 weeks? I've got a scan tomorrow so hopefully my mind will be put at rest then.:fingerscrossed:
33 weeks was when things started going downhill in that department for me too. I am unsure of whether it's normal or not - hopefully someone can let us both know!
Now at 36 weeks I'm getting lots more BH, dry retching, pressurised feeling down there and today I have been trying to work out if TMI TMI TMI my "waters" are leaking, I'm experiencing some sort of incontinence or whether the discharge has just stepped up a notch.
I figure I can wait until my midwife appointment tomorrow unless something happens in the interim! I wasn't referred for a scan.
Hope someone has a more informative response for you soon!
Susan
emtez
09-05-2006, 03:16 PM
Well i haven't been around in a long time but some of you may remember me from early on. I do have a quick read occassionally to see how you are all going. It's gettin closer to the big down now and those at the begining of the month must be getting excited.
I have been well up until now but i am beginning to go crazy. My fingers are swollen and quite painfull. and lately i have been feeling ****. We have moved state since having our last child and have no family here so i'm stressing about looking after all the kids and the new baby on my own. I have made a few friends here but my closest friend is due to have her 3rd in 2 weeks so i can't ask her for any help.
My main concern is who will look after the kids while i'm in Hosp. I have been induced with all the others so hoping that they will induce me again just so i can organinse things. We have my DH aunty coming for a couple of weeks around when bub is due but it falls right next to school holidays. I'm just hoping that when i go to hosp in 2 weeks for my check up they will listen to my concerns and not fob me off. It's quiet stressful for me until i know whats happening .
Sorry to be such a winger, I hope that you are all well and everybody is finishing up work soon.
mum2peanut
10-05-2006, 08:41 PM
Sounds like everyone is starting to feel the full effects of pregnancy. I still don't think I've had any BH. Lucky for me I'm still feeling really good. Parents at school keep asking me how I'm going, must be getting tired of school etc...etc.. they always seemed surprised when I say I am doing well. I am getting a little tired towards the end of the day, but at the same time I am running around busily trying to get everything organised for my replacement. One week to go!!!:smiliedance:
Got an obst appointment so I'll suss out what he thinks of everything.
At our pre-natals last night we went to the maternity ward to visit a new mum and baby. She was so little 3.6kg, which they say is average, but she looked so small. I'm hoping to be in the 7 pound range, I think that's a nice size. In all honesty I can't be carrying a really big baby, cause there physically isn't any room. Wwouldn't it be nice to have a 6 pounder. But as the modwife said last night. They all all no matter what weight and what size head. She'd very encouraging.:no:
Well I'm off to bed, just started the DaVinci code last night and am hoping to finish it in time to see the movie. I have the illlustrated version which is good, cause there's pictures of the artworks and landmarks.
Bye
KiLLaKaZ
11-05-2006, 01:59 PM
hello junnies! :)
i haven't been online in almost a month! i was battling some depression regarding my situation with my ex. he asked if i would consider marraige counselling - i said of course, in fact i asked him AGES ago, he then said 'ok, i'll have to think about it' which basically means 'no'. & so i hung onto the hope he'd say yes, but a week or so later when i asked him about it he told me *i* should prolly go, but he didn't see how it would benefit HIM!!!:crying: so, i was kinda depressed after hearing that coz i guess i saw that as the last hope for our marriage...
i also had major computer problems, keeping me offline AND i have been extremely busy GETTING A LIFE! lol. ;) i've been trying to squeeze as much as i can in b4 Q. is born :) i started attending a new church & have been going to as many events during the week as i can, & i've met HEAPS of ppl in just a few days!
as for bubs:
baby shower never happened (as i suspected it wouldn't), the girls at work never bothered organising anything, in fact they haven't even contacted me since i left. but i have called in a few times regarding pay i haven't received (still!!!) so i've caught up with some of them then.
i had an U/S a month ago that showed Q. to be in the bottom 20% of weight for her age. this concerned the midwives very much, so i had to have another U/S last week. this time she was only slightly below average. HOPEFULLY she doesn't continue to grow at the same rate - otherwise i could end up having a HUUUUUGE baby! tho, i have heard smaller babies don't hurt ANY less to push them out!
as for drugs in labour, i'm planning on avoiding an epidural at ALL costs... i've had too many bad reports about them (alongside the good reports), so i'd rather not take that risk. i think the only thing i'm planning on going with is the gas & possibly the TENS machine... but bot sure about either... i've heard giving birth over a birthing ball in the shower is the best way to go, so u can't have any drugs, machines, etc there!!
i STILL haven't got all the things i need for bubs due to lack of finances (kind of resolved as soon as my work gets their act together & pays me what they owe me!!). but some of the ladies at my new church have already been offering me their prams, etc! so, i may not have to buy much, afterall!
Bronte Pot-Pot
11-05-2006, 03:54 PM
Hello all
I can't even remember when I last posted or what I posted - i have just read the last page of posts as don't have much time these days. Last weeks at work and probably last few times I'll be able to get on-line! I don't know how the other Mum's do it with more than 1 kid but I can't even get on-line at home with one child let alone two!
I have been having BH heaps! Was concernign me until Ob visit on Monday - he said quite normal for them to increase with each pregnancy and start earlier - mine aren't painful thank-goodness - my friend had painful ones and her ob told her to take it very easy - which was very hard for her with a 3 year old boy! But she had her son a couple of weeks ago on time and no probs :-)
I don't remember ever being this tired with my last two pregnancies but I am sooooo tired and I swear I have more back pain and general aches and pains more than lsat time but my Mum assures me I whinged just as much last time ;-)
Hope every one is doing well and hope I can jump on-line atleast a couple more times before he arrives!
Bron
bekkyboo
12-05-2006, 10:05 AM
ello all.
I havent been on in ages either - net went down and we have been fighting with the provider to put it back on.
bub is doing fine - BH as shockingly painful at times, ahve been in hospital for them.
Heart is getting worse - so am now booked in for c-section on the 14-6 - so just over a month away.
anywho =-NEEEEEEEEEED food
mum2peanut
12-05-2006, 09:10 PM
Bekkyboo and Killakaz so nice to hear from you both again. Was wondering what was going on with you both!
Killakaz- sorry to hear about you and your ex. You would think he'd want to do everything to try and sort things out. But it sounds like you're doing better and picking yourself up. That's good to hear. Look after yourself.
Bekkyboo-not good news about your heart. But at least you've got a light at the end of the tunnel, no waiting around for you.
I had my obst visit yest, and all is going well. He was telling me he's very much for epidurals, he said why put up with pain if you don't need to. He's quite funny. I ran into someone who has been through labour with him and he's supposed to be excellent. Plus he sends you a gift basket in hospital..how cool!
Got my ultrasound Monday, I 'm hoping Peanut cooperates so we get a good 3D photo. They give you a pretty good idea as to what they will look like when they come out. Also keen to find out weight prediction. Small surely!!!
Well I;m on my last week at school next week. I've already started to get some pressies off kids and next Friday I get a baby hamper from my staff. How exciting!! It's the traditional first baby present.
HAs anyone else bought the Angel Care Baby Monitor with the breathing pads?? I'm thinking about getting it?? Thoughts??
kiwibird27
13-05-2006, 06:51 AM
I feel great - finished casual relieving at the child care accross the road last week - lifting the babies was getting a bit much - haven't really had BH, just a bit of trouble sleeping occasionally, slight sore back!!! Otherwise all is great - new hospital is brillant - the doctors have ultrasounds in there rooms so could confirm its definately a girl!!!! HORRAY - Boys look silly in pink!!!
only 3 weeks to go till due date and meeting heaps of cool people in my new area with little ones which is cool!!!
Hope everything goes well - keep smiling everyone - not long to go!!!
bekkyboo
13-05-2006, 12:13 PM
Hey lovely junies :)
m2p - yeah im getting there. When they told me it was best for a c-section and that can be done after 37 weeks. I was hoping that could be done, but they are pushing to 39 weeks :mad: Im just having trouble getting through each day with the pain and such. Ill give you the tip - Heart conditions with medication can REALLY suck.... I need sleep more and more, and cant do much.
Im have that angel care montior on layby for my little one, hoping it will be a good one.
Anyone else getting massive aches in their hips after lying down, its getting insane for me at the moment. Im going to talk to the hospital next week, and see if we can bring it forward, cause i just cant handle it, which makes me feel incredably guilty. I should be enjoying this time, but i need it to end - 1 calander month left as of tomorrow - but i dont know if i can really handle it that long.
hope everyone else is enjoying it.
SweetDreams
13-05-2006, 12:21 PM
Anyone else getting massive aches in their hips after lying down, its getting insane for me at the moment.
Preach it to me sister!!!!!!!!! :smiliedance: LOL Yes and it hurts like nobody's business. DH is getting used to hearing groaning from me and cracking joints as I roll painstakingly out of bed. Nothing graceful about me at the moment!
Anyone have really sore breasts? Feels like someone is stabbing me with quite a few needles!!! I didn't even have this in early pregnancy!
I'm starting to get low period pains and the back pain is becoming more and more constant. I have to say what really cuts me up is the pain in my wrists (carpal tunnel?). Out of all the little aches and pains that one is what upsets me the most!
DH and I are really looking forward to bubs arrival. :)
joozi
13-05-2006, 03:02 PM
Yepp....horrible pains in the hips...sore boobs....sore everything. And lots of stabbing pains in the cervix, back aches and period like pains.....
Come on little one....come early....! Please???? :fingerscrossed:
SweetDreams
13-05-2006, 05:44 PM
heehee Joozi, you and I seem to be of the same mind.
I want to hold bubs!
bumpsmum
14-05-2006, 01:06 PM
Glad to hear I'm not the only one wishing bubs would make an early appearance. I'm feeling awful. I had scan on Tues and baby is fine, placenta not low so no need for cs.
I fainted on Friday whilst getting DS's ready for school. DH had already gone to work so it really freaked out DS1. I then had palpitations in the evening. So I cancelled my last shift at work which was scheduled for Saturday. I just hope we manage financially but I think DH would have killed me if I had gone to work!!LOL
So I am now a lady of leisure. Albeit it one that has 2 sons, constant period pains, can't sleep, gets pins and needles on a daily basis, faints and gets a pulse rate of 240bpm every now and again. Happy days:laughing:
Good luck all. Not long to wait!
TillieAndBug
14-05-2006, 01:42 PM
:D happy mothers to be day to all us June girlies!! :D
I am now hoping bump holds out until at least the 5th as Andrew flies out again tonight after being home for a couple of days as the rig needed to be fixed down here in Perth and not back until then (unless he gets an emergency call from me!:eek: )...I have had some terrible contractions on Wednesday doubled up...but since then nothing just period pains...and stinging up there...sorry if TMI...we fitted the car seat today and I going to get it checked on Thursday if I can get an appoint...after lunch we gonna finish sorting the nursery the cot now been dissassembled and reassembled in our room after lots of roooooood words by Andrew when he realised even after hed taken doors off no way he could get it manoeuvered out of nursery to our room...really weird waking up this morning and there being a cot in our room!! All getting very real now!! and close 30 days for me to EDD...just wish the acid indigestion. inability to get to sleep, elephant ankles and frigging tiredness would subside then all would be hunky dory:smiliedance: ...anyway thats whats happening this way...catch up soon xxGeorgie
bumpsmum
14-05-2006, 04:22 PM
LOL we did the exact same thing. We put cot up in front room and when we tried to move it to our bedroom we had to dismantle whole thing and rebuild it. I hope DD was asleep at time and didn't hear daddies rude words.
bekkyboo
15-05-2006, 08:23 AM
pains are ditto here... the sharp pains in the cervix are supposed to be (if you get them when you sit down or such) bubs head hitting the bottom of the cervix...
Im really hoping that bubs makes an early entry - ive started some of the wives tales to speed him up :p - well according to the 20 week scan im 37 weeks not 35...
Doesnt matter too much - 30 days left - unless he comes earlier.....
Ive had to start timing tightenings - as they are sometimes quite painful and regular....
mrsrobo
15-05-2006, 01:53 PM
Hi everyone sorry I haven't post lately just been so tired been having bad period pain specially at night time for the past week and a half and I have passed the plug they say I might have two weeks to go but I am due in 5 weeks. So might be having baby early.
On Saturday had my baby shower had such a fun time. Recieved many wonderful gifts so many cute outifts can't wait to see bubs in them.
Hope everyone is doing great and can't wait to hear the birth stories not long now.
SweetDreams
15-05-2006, 03:47 PM
MrsRobo : Sorry to hear you've been having bad period pains/tiredness. You're on the home stretch now!
I'm pretty much the same. I slept all day yesterday and then slept in until 10am this morning! Have my midwife appt tomorrow where I'm expecting everything to be okay.
I'm hoping they'll tell me bubs is a little more engaged than he/she was last week but we'll see!
adsharp
15-05-2006, 05:03 PM
I am new here.
Congrats to all the expecting mothers in June!!!!!!
I am booked in for my c/section on the 6/6/06. Only 3 weeks away :smiliedance:
I so cant wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Amanda
bekkyboo
15-05-2006, 06:36 PM
Hey ladies...
just letting you know that we are 1.5cm dilated....
TillieAndBug
15-05-2006, 06:43 PM
Garrett must know you really want to meet him...I am having awful period pains and cramps but not even engaged...but that good for me...I want bump to be on time...just not too late!!:eek:
keep us posted...:smiliedance:
bekkyboo
15-05-2006, 07:32 PM
yeah he loves his mummy :) Still could be a little off - but no matter what he will be here in the next month, as the c-section is booked for a months time.
bumpsmum
15-05-2006, 08:19 PM
Beckyboo- doesn't sound like you have too long to wait. Lucky you:laughing:
I had drs appt today. I was really scared as I hadn't felt bubba move all morning and after having faints and palpitations on Friday I was worried all was not well. Anyhoo doc did a scan and said there was a heartbeat but bubs was indeed still and she couldn't wake her. So off we went for a CTG so having worried me sick and been still till 12 o'clock bubs decided to wake up the minute the monitor was attached and wouldn't sit still. I can see she has been taking lessons from her brothers on how to worry mum half to death.
Well atleast all is well. The good news is doc said I was to stop work:smiliedance:
bekkyboo
15-05-2006, 08:22 PM
bumpsmum - HUGE HUGS for you, that must have been so scary!
Im getting more nervous - i hope he waits another week or so would be nice.
I really should go rest....
titania
16-05-2006, 09:56 AM
Wow - it certainly has been action stations in here hasn't it! It really is getting exciting now, not long to wait for some of us :)
I am getting the crampy period type pains every now and then, but apart from that am just getting more uncomfortable with back pain if bubs is sitting badly. My BP is still stable but the swelling is getting worse, won't be sorry to see the back of that!
Bekkyboo - sounds like Garreth is on his way chick! How exciting for you, although I will be hoping for your sake that it is a week or so away.
Bumpsmum - I hate it when bump goes quiet, but I can always wake her if I really need to, I can't imagine how scary that would have been for you :(
Mrsrobo - have you been given any advice now that the plug is gone, any extra precautions or anything? How exciting for you! I hope you have everything ready :)
Good Luck everyone, it's the home stretch!
SweetDreams
16-05-2006, 10:46 AM
Amanda: Welcome! :wave:
bekkyboo: Looks like it's happening for you! Rest up and keep us posted as you can. Hopefully Garrett will stay on for another week or two at the water motel (lol) but things will be fine. :hugs:
bumpsmum: That must've been so scary! Bub seems to want mummy to look silly by waiting until you have to go off for a CTG before waking! Glad you don't have to work anymore. Put your feet up and relaxxxxxxxx all the mundane nonsense will still be there after bubs is born. Take it easy!
Titania: Where is your bubs sitting at the moment?
I'm hoping the cramping I have been having is a good indicator of the first stage of labour because I don't think I'll have a problem handling that! Now the second stage may be a completely different story!!! :laughing:
Had my weekly midwife appt today and after last week's dramas my blood pressure is now low. LOL Went and listened to bubs heart beat and came back and re-tested and BP decided to come into the normal range (yippee!). DH is on holidays from Thursday yaya!
Just had a cash flow drama where my dad rings up and tells me he's found the washing machine we want for a cheap price but of course it's off pay-week and the credit card is maxed and .....! So anyhoo my dad's going to put it on his credit card and we have to re-pay him pronto. Have no idea how we're getting the thing up here but I'm sure we'll manage. YAY I'm getting my front loader! lol
Hope everyone is keeping well! :fingerscrossed: for news in the not-too-distant future of (relatively) easy, happy, healthy, safe deliveries as June bubs make their way out into the world!
bekkyboo
16-05-2006, 11:22 AM
hey girls - just got back from antenatal for the week... Finally they messured but right (his messurements havent changed in about 6 weeks :gloomy: ) but yeah - went from 33cm to 40cm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Dr told me "that messurement is on the larger side", so they are thinking about 8-9 pound bub....
Anyone else know the approx sizes they expect their bub to be?
Anyway, im off to rest more (after i bring the washing in and make the bed)
emtez
16-05-2006, 11:43 AM
Beckyboo,
With my last three children they kept telling me it wasn't as big as i thought. My first they said might be high 8pd and he was 10pd 6oz. The second they said again would be 8 pd and she was 9pd 6oz, they last one i insisted was 9pd and agin the doctor told me i was wrong so you can imagine my joy at being able to say i told you so when she weighed in at 9pd 1/2oz. They have all bee above 4 kg in weight but pleased that i could have them all naturally. This one is looking like being the same size although i would love 1 baby under 4kg. will have to see what this dr thinks. Most times they are just guessing and our bodies and the fluid can decive them anyway.
Good luck,
bumpsmum
16-05-2006, 12:27 PM
No drama to report today:fingerscrossed: thank goodness
Beckyboo- I've was told last week bubs weghed 6lb already with 6 weeks to go!:eek: My eldest was only 6lb 2 1/2 when born so this is slightly worrying!
It was lovely telling hubby that the doc had said no more work. You can't argue with medical science;)
Well keep well all and good luck to all those due in the next 2 weeks or so. Including you Beckyboo:kiss:
TillieAndBug
16-05-2006, 01:15 PM
Good luck all of you sounds like we gonna meet some of these little June bubs very soon!!!
I had 2 midwives measure me this last week 1 came up with 37 and the other 40 so I dunno how much I go with all that now...I also had the most annoying midwife again - had her once before she pushes u through like a number I was less than 5 minutes at my appoint...no chance to ask questions...which I had! and she didnt again write any notes in my book which all the others do..and she didnt fill out all the measurements etc...I know doesnt really matter but I love reading when I get home what they wrote...also she wrote something in midwife code above cephalic which I dunno what means! I thought after 36 weeks you got weekly appoints I dont have to go back for another 2 weeks...I guess cos I not engaged no plug show or nothing...fairly safe to say I not anywhere near yet! I may actually comment on it to another midwife on the team at my next appoint - u know constructive criticism kinda thing...
:D Very naughty I didnt go to my parent ed class today as I have to drive 30km to it(about 1hour in traffic) and I went up there yesterday and have to go again on Thurs for a thyroid check up so jsut couldnt face today as well! Hope wasnt breastfeeding as that the only one I really interested in :rolleyes:
PS the group strep b swabbing thing pretty yuck...had real trouble trying to do the bottom one - sorry TMI - but very tricky when got htis huge bump and trying not to drop it in the loo!
bekkyboo
16-05-2006, 02:28 PM
hey ladies
Getting closer now....
Im not overly concerned about garretts size, they have told me he is on the larger size of average, which i think is a nice thought - hopefully he will be a nice strong baby... His Daddy is very very tall, so it wouldnt be a surprise if garrett is tall too...
I havent had the strep b thingo - or a 34 week scan, every time i ask, the dr's say i dont need anymore... Maybe casue im having a ceaser....
I was trying those wives tales to bring on labour - so im thinking that it might ahve worked, so im laying low this week, and will start again next week - cause then he should be ready to come out around 37 weeks, which is 'full term' anyway :) I really hate hospitals so im hoping too only stay in 3 days - which they told me is possible even with a ceaser, if all goes well - Fingers crossed for that.
titania
16-05-2006, 08:34 PM
SweetDreams - I'm not really good at knowing exactly where bubs is sitting, but I am getting pain in my ribs under my shoulder blade and it's not all the time, so I assume it's when bubs has decided to sit up high for a while and is pushing on things.
It hurts most when I am in the car, since I have to sit so upright in there :(
BekkyBoo - my understanding is that Group B Strep is normally contracted by babies during the passage down the birth canal, however just because you are having a ceasar doesn't mean baby won't be infected although it is less likely. If it is something that worries you - ask to be tested, it is your choice.
In other news, my BP was down today, back in the normal range and my swelling wasn't too bad either, so a nice restful day was obviously helpful :)
I am going to a breast feeding class tomorrow. Not sure what to expect! I hope I learn lots :)
My obstetrician hasn't said anything about size... I will have to ask! It would be nice to know what's going on in there - I am very jealous of those of you who are having Ultrasounds. I asked my Ob and she said that unless there was a problem or indications of one, then no scan. NO FAIR!!!
Anyway - keep up the updates guys, it's great to hear how everyone is doing :hugs:
bekkyboo
17-05-2006, 09:43 AM
titania - My dr said the same thing - no problems, no scan :( so i spose we should just be happy that there are no problems. Jase thinks that i havent had the strep b thingo as i have lots of mid stream tests etc every time im in birthing suites with false alarms... good to hear about your bp and swelling -rest up hunny
Cant believe that things are coming to an end... 4 weeks today until Garrett is cut out if he doesnt want out sooner....
YAY
joozi
17-05-2006, 10:43 AM
Hiya..
I'm due 30th...had a scan last week and they said she's already around 8pounds...but then I have gestational diabetes so she's bigger than average anyway. I really hope she makes a move soon and doesn't get much bigger!
Jo
TillieAndBug
17-05-2006, 11:03 AM
hi Bekkyboo - nah more likely cos you having ceasar - as you have to pop the swab 1) up the front and 2) up the back and a mid stream wouldnt pick that up :D
I also have had tons of mid streams as keep getting uti symptoms...only had one uti though and that was months ago...
the scan thing kinda sucks only cos dont ya think 20 weeks - 40 weeks hell of a long time...and lots can happen in that time? I just found it sucky cos never found out what sex bump was and DH so wanted to know...but hey next time i will be better prepared and choose all my options with a little bit more knowledge...BUT having said that yes I so agree no problems is a good thing and probly better for bump not too much intervention...
PS what old wives tales have you been practising - I am intrigued!! All I been doing is taking rasp leaf tabs...dont get much of the sex thing (sorry if TMI) as DH away all the bloody time! but try to make up for it when he back! :smiliedance:
SweetDreams
17-05-2006, 12:41 PM
Lol sex... what dat?????
Oh right... that's what landed me here.. :D
More like when I'm not tired he is and when he's not tired I am. A sign of times to come methinks!
DH is on holidays from tomorrow yayayayayay!
It's our 1st wedding anniversary on Sat... YAY!!!!!
Not much going on today - I am really tired and thinking of going for a lay down.
Actually, I think I'll do that right now!
bekkyboo
17-05-2006, 01:40 PM
yeah, the old wives tale of sex.... Im almost positve that is what has brought it a bit more forward (and the fact he is probably ready to come!)
I must be one of the lucky ones.... I still get *cough* it, at least a couple of times a week - (sorry TMI)... we have found ways around tiredness, usually invovles me doing nothing.... once again TMI.... ok before i get booted or make someone sick... im heading off!
happy wedding ani for sat sd!
SweetDreams
17-05-2006, 02:13 PM
Well we have tonight and tomorrow night before my Dad arrives and puts a dent in our intimate life. DH starts holidays tomorrow so maybe tomorrow night! lol
TillieAndBug
17-05-2006, 05:28 PM
hmmmm! I did remind DH when he popped down for two days this week that we better have some good rumpy pumpy otherwise if baby comes early he might not get any for weeks! He was horrified...I have been actually quite lucky and have not lost any drive or capability throughout pregnancy maybe cos I only see him every 3 weeks my hormones build up to nympho levels :laughing: sorry TMI but I soooooooooo bored being at home - fat - walruslike - and nobody here except the puppy!! I have never been so dull!!
~Chick79~
18-05-2006, 09:38 AM
Hi there June mummies to be!
Well it seems to be a few of us in here that have had early labour scares over the last week or so..... My contractions have stopped for the time being (I am only 34 weeks) but I am still 4cms dilated :eek:
:fingerscrossed: bubs stays on the inside for atleast another 2-3 weeks! At least I have had the steriod injections to help the lungs along!
Bekkyboo - how did you get on with Babies Galore?? I think that is highly rude! And plus you sure as hell don't need that kind of stress!!!
Joozi - I have GD as well... hope my baby won't be huge!!!! I guess we will get a rough idea next week when i have another scan!
A few of you have been talking about sex lately.... what is that??? :laughing: With DH away alot there is none of that going on in our house!
Well anyway I guess I had better go put my feet up as per doctors orders....
Hope you are all keeping well!
joozi
18-05-2006, 10:21 AM
Hi Girls...
Well, I had my mw appt last night at 5.30. As soon as I walked out the door (after she'd been poking and prodding and feeling for the head) I had contractions start, with a low backache like period pain and pain down the front of my thighs. The contractions continued right through the night, keeping me awake, but not getting stronger or closer together. They're still going now, about every 10 minutes. Also, when I walk, it feels like someone is stabbing me with a hot knife in my cervix...
My midwife was talking about possible induction last night, which we'll discuss with the doctor next wednesday. Hopefully it won't get to that point... I'm just frustrated that its not developing into something more......so far.
Leisha..my GD is sort of under control, but she's still been scanned as bigger than average, which is sort of scaring me a bit and making me think I don't want the pregnancy to go on for too much longer. it was hard enough pushing out my other two little ones and they weren't that big! Have you been told to express milk for the bubby in case they need it after birth??
take care girls......
Jo
mum2peanut
18-05-2006, 01:47 PM
Haven't been able to get on as our phone lines are playing up, and boy am I having withdrawels. Got a break at work so I thought I'd do a quick check in. My last day tomorrow!!!!!:smiliedance:
Sounds like everyone is getting all prepared. I had a 35 week ultrasound, and Peanut currently weighs in at 2.7kg/5.9p. Average head size. The midwife told me that babies put on about a kilo between now and birth, that makes it a bit scary.
Looking at getting induced though. My obst is away the week after I'm due, well he goes when I'd be 6 days over, so considering getting induced about when I'm due so that he's around for follow up visits, not keen on having another obst, esp after I've paid mine all this money.
Can't believe I'm only four weeks away!! I'm very much looking forward to sleeping in the next few weeks.:yes:
KiLLaKaZ
19-05-2006, 09:50 AM
i think i'm the only one here NOT in a hurry to have bubs! ;) lol.
ppl keep asking me if i'm getting impatient, & i answer with 'no' & that she's low maintenance at the moment! lol. but i have a sister moving away from the area a week after she's due, so i can't really go over... :no:
as for the group strep b swab everyone kept saying u do that yourself, so i wasn't too concerned about it, but i got a HUGE scare at one visit - i had a doctor instead of the usual midwives i see & she said that she hadn't received forms for the routine wk 36 swab or blood test, so she said that she'll have them done 'now'!! she sent me to the bed & did it herself! it really freaked me out because i wasn't expecting it! she told me that's the exact same position i'll have to get into when they check for dilation... wish there was some OTHER natural way to have a baby! :( lol.
i haven't really been experiencing too many aches & pains. just an achy pelvic area (more the bones than any muscles). but this only affects me when walking around (which i can put up with, but i have that horrible pregnancy waddle! lol) & when i turn over in bed at night! no BH or anything!! in fact, i'm STILL getting around on my moped! i am low on energy, tho, but i find the more active i am, the more energy i have!
bekkyboo
19-05-2006, 10:06 AM
wow kaz.... You are SO SO lucky! ENJOY the pregnancy :)
my pains today were really sharp at the cervix, so much i couldnt stand up... So bub was having some headbutting!....
TillieAndBug
19-05-2006, 10:36 AM
:( I am group strep B positive anyone else?
bekkyboo
23-05-2006, 12:15 PM
Angry angry bekky
Just back from my 36 week check up.:banghead:
Ob was a *(every bad name i can think of)*... Didnt measure bub, brushed off my question about leaking fluid as urine, told me (after everyother dr has agreed that the c-section is safer for me) that if i go into labour and i get up to the hospital and im like 5cm dilated, he wont send me for a c-section, but let me labour.:banghead:
ANGRY BEKKY.:banghead:
TillieAndBug
23-05-2006, 12:58 PM
oh bekky :thumbsdown: thats no good - seems you and me both had pants 36 week appointments...amazes me people in the caring industry can be so brash esp to 1st time mums...we allowed to be nervous, have questions and get answers surely!!! regarding your csection there was a girl in my parent ed class with a heart condition and murmur and she was told the same...and that she would probably have to have an assisted birth rather than a csection (they would prefer to do that)...but seems weird that the doc would change tack for you now???
I have had a frightful tummy upset last couple of days and really horrid period pains...but wouldnt have a clue if the cramps were BH or indeed if labour.or just due to tummy bug...really cant get into my head that it gonna happen soon...or what it will be like... certainly very different to the cramps I had around 30-32 weeks which I presumed were BH...ankles and calves now so swollen and tight they never seem to go down even when I elevate...but trying to ignore...taking puppy for walks and doing that mind over matter thing :rolleyes:
kinda gone past the whole nesting thing now...dont want to clean constantly, or tidy up infact all becoming too much - i so envy you girls with your partners at home...I trying to persuade mine a bit of domestic help would be good - his eyes lit up and said what! a swedish au pair!!:smiliedance: :banghead: i replied no more like a lady to come and help with boring cleaning a couple of hours a week...not had reply from him yet - and to be fair not sure we can afford...
so over picking up puppy doo doos too!! kinda didnt think of that when DH said we'll get you a puppy ....hmmmmm! think may leave ones in the yard (all in one corner thank god!) for DH on return...like a present from both of us ha ha ha ha
Okay thats all folks...not much to report...seems everyone bit the same? Cant believe though if I had my bump now it would be term - freaky!!!
emtez
23-05-2006, 02:34 PM
Dear Becky,
You sound like you saw the same doctor i did today for my 36 week check up. It must be frustrating to keep being told different things. Mine doc said he wouldnt induce me before 40 weeks even though i have such big babies. He said that this one wont be that big but i have heard that 3 times now and they have all been over 4kg. At least i convinced him to give me an induction date date at 40 weeks so i have an end to this pregnancy insite. OHHHHHHH painful BH. I have never had them with the other pregnancies so i guess it's kinda nice knowing my body is getting ready for the bub to arrive.
Hope everybody else is having a better day.
mrsrobo
23-05-2006, 02:40 PM
Glad to hear everyone is doing great considering beign pregant not long now till we will be hearing all the birth stories and see pitcures of everyone bubs wonder who will give birth the first.
I am 36 weeks now the period pain and back pain are a constant thing now to deal with every day and night. The weeks seem to drag on.
titania
23-05-2006, 02:41 PM
Bekky - that's terrible :( Hopefully when you do end up in labour that nasty doctor will be nowhere to be seen and you will be treated with the care and consideration you and your heart condition deserve. I will be thinking of you... :hugs:
I had another appointment today and had my swabs for Strep B - will find out next week.
Bit of a scare at my appointment - my ob was concerned that the bubs didn't feel like it had grown much this week, so sent me next door for an ultrasound to check her out. Sinced I am suffering hypertension there is a real possibility of the growth being retarded due to insufficient blood flow to the placenta.
I was pretty upset and had a cry while I was waiting, but while she is on the small side (42nd percentile) she is still growing and looking healthy. She weighs approximately 2.9 kgs (6.4pounds), so if she hangs in there a bit longer will be about 3-4kgs at birth. Keeping my legs crossed about now!
mum2peanut
24-05-2006, 09:54 PM
Hi Girlies,
Finally got phone lines fixed, then had internet issues. But I'm back!
Started my maternity leave this week and I really don't know what to do with myself.
Had to wake up at 7.30am on Monday morning to put car into the smash repairers. I had dinner orgainsed by 9am. By 11am I had done two loads of washing, ironing and watched a DVD. I was bored! Luckily my mum, sister and niece came for a visit after lunch to fill up my day.
Tuesday- much the same as Monday morning, except no washing or ironing to do. Once again mum, sis and niece came over. Had a facial that arvo which filled in a hour and a half.
Today: organised dinner for tonight and tom night, painted two canvases for Peanut's room, and met friends for coffee in the arvo. Thank goodness DH picked up my car while I was at coffee, felt a bit like a prisoner!
Luckily my dad has brought me a whole heap of DVDs back from Bali, so I have enough to fill in my days.
Well got that out of my system:barf:
BB: didn't you just want to slap that dr. What an idiot!!
Well I'm 36 and a half weeks, and all is going well. Going to the obs tom, going to discuss with him having an induction a week before he goes. That means I'll have Peanut around its due date anyway, but as I said to DH if it's a bit earlier it means it's a bit smaller:yes:
Still don't know if I've had any BH. My sis was trying to explain to me what they feel like. But I can't tell if it's that or just Peanut moving. Every little movement is so uncomfortable now, since I;m not that big in the belly area, the poor thing is obviously very cramped. Just tried to put a belly photo as my avator but it didn;t work. I'll try again in a moment.
My sister threw me a surprise Baby Shower on the weekend. DH and I went our digital camera shopping, and when I got home I had a houseful of guest to celebrates Peanut's impending arrival. It was really coo and unexpected. Got lots of goodies.
Got a baby hamper of my staff, and lots of gifts from kids aswell on Friday, so I'm very well stocked with baby essentials.
Started packing my hosp bags, just have to pick up a few things with the groceries tom night.
Hope you're all keeping well, sorry bout the long post, but I was having withdrawels!!:ecomcity:
Bronte Pot-Pot
26-05-2006, 11:07 AM
Angry angry bekky
Just back from my 36 week check up.:banghead:
Ob was a *(every bad name i can think of)*... Didnt measure bub, brushed off my question about leaking fluid as urine, told me (after everyother dr has agreed that the c-section is safer for me) that if i go into labour and i get up to the hospital and im like 5cm dilated, he wont send me for a c-section, but let me labour.:banghead:
ANGRY BEKKY.:banghead:
Oh dear sorry to hear that Bekky! When I had the same concerns my OB gave me a pad to test to see if it was urine or amnio fluid - i didn't end up doing the test because the heavy flow stopped but he was so understanding and I am so sorry to hear you didn't have the same response form your OB :( Hopefully what my Ob told me will be of some help to you - if the baby's head is down and therefore blocking the cervix it would have to be quite a gush of liquid to be of any major concern. But my advice would be to go visit the midwives at the hospital you are booked in to as they may be of some more help......
Bronte Pot-Pot
26-05-2006, 11:14 AM
Well 14th June is the big day - as long as cervix and baby cooperating that is.
I can't believe it is so close - next Friday last day at work - poor B only gets me alone for 1 week on her own before her world is rocked by a sibling - this should be interesting - what was I thinking two kids arrgh :eek:
BH thick and fast some days hope that means easy and quick delivery.
Well girls we are on the down hill slope now - :fingerscrossed: we all have pain free fast deliveries and no more obsturctive OB's or midwives - still annoyed at Bekky's OB :mad:
hope I get to get on-line a couple more times to see how everyones going before my little man is here. but if not
GOOD LUCK EVERYONE :hugs:
Carmel Jane
26-05-2006, 02:19 PM
Hi Junies,
Titiana - I am also having a small bub, for some reason in the last 6 weeks her growth has slowed down and the Ob is now predicting she'll be about 6 pounds at birth. Not sure if your Dr reassured you like mine did, but just because your bub is small, doesn't mean bub isn't robust or healthy!! Since talking to people about her I've heard of heaps of small bubs and thinking about it... I'm not too distraught to be giving birth to a small baby my first time up ;) Plus it was a good excuse to go shopping for smaller clothes tehe
Bekkyboo - I have also had the mysterious 'leak'. Because of the above I was certain I was leaking amnio fluid. Luckily my Dr wasn't a pig like yours and did a check and turns out I just had some thrush that hadn't cleared up on the inside!! But I just wanted to share with you that I experience this, and so do two of my Preggo friends who are all around the same time as me. This is the TMI part, but Amnio fluid smells sweet, not like urine at all. I spoke to a lovely midwife who said that we all get little tears or pin pricks in the sac and they often heal up by themselves and we get little leaks when bubs moves around and allows some to trickle out.
However, if you think its amnio, I would seek a second opinion, you don't deserve to be treated like that.
I was really looking forward to finishing work last week as I was sooo tired, but now that I've stopped I kind of feel a little lost. I've read 3 books in the last week, done all the washing, stayed in my PJ's all day on occasion, but now I just feel bored.
I'm a rollercoaster of emotions about the upcoming birth. I'm really looking forward to it because I want to meet my little bubble in person, my DF is coming home for 5 weeks straight (woohoo!) and I'm sure I'm going to enjoy being a Mum. But at the same time, I'm terrified :rolleyes:
Sorry for dribbling, its been ages since I was online and my mind tends to wander :)
Take care all, best wishes to everyone in their last weeks.
bekkyboo
27-05-2006, 04:56 PM
hey everyone... sorry been so slack in reply and stuff, but as we all understand, sometimes the energy levels arent really there.
Been very nesting mood today, i havent really had much of the mood at all, and bubs movements have slowed right down to just a push here and a shove there - Been told this can mean that bubs isnt far off... (maybe couple of days - :fingerscrossed: )
Jase has been working day and night 7 days a week at the moment. He is trying to get as much money as possible before garretts birth so that he can get some time off with us. He has been working on some cars, which has made him as giggly as a little school girl. These cars are all high performance imports, so that makes him VERY VERY happy. He took me for a drive in one last night - EAK! Garrett wanted out so he could enjoy it with his daddy, but it made me feel horrible, Feeling garretts weight push each direction the car went!! Some good is coming of all this tho... The guy he is doing the work for has a car that jase wants, and he said he'd sell it to us for 15g - 2g cheaper than his marked price, and maybe less again yet. I really want it, its a 4 door, so more room, as our pram doesnt fit in our boot with the wheels on and the car seat only fits if the front seat is all the way forward and up, making the passenger UNCOMFORTABLE!
Titania and CJ - Id love to be having alittle bub. but they think he will be more like 8-9pd... so the grass is always greener isnt!
Bronte - 14th june!!! YAY... that will be a big day hey, i dunno if ill make it that far yet!
Well lovelies - Hope we all enjoy this end stage, i cant believe that it all so close now!!
bumpsmum
27-05-2006, 05:24 PM
Finally got back on line. Have been really busy with DS2 .
Felt sure someone would have delivered by now!!
Just finished organising DS2 birthday party which will be on my due date:eek: but as they say only about 5% give birth on their due date this should be the safest day:fingerscrossed:
Its an all organised event so I have a friend ready to step in if needs be, but as DS1 was 3 weeks early and DS2 was 2 weeks early I think it will be all over by then!:laughing:
Well hope all is well. I have my 36 week check on Monday. I have a blood test form but nobody has mentioned strep b ???? Well maybe I have that pleasure awaiting me on Monday
mum2peanut
27-05-2006, 05:32 PM
Titiana and CJ: Small babies sound good to me, I've been told mine's average, so that's okay. A small bubs would be less scary first time around though.
Not much else to report, putting the final things into my hospital bags tonight. That way they can all been lined up and ready to go.
Went shopping with DH for my birthday pres today. My birthday is in Tuesday!!! Keep forgetting about it really, other things on my mind I guess. The good thing is I'm off for it, so I'm heading out to lunch with mum and sis. Then dinner with DH, dad, and bro. The fun of separated parents!!
Discussed possible induction with obs before he goes on hols, and he said he would have induced me by then anyway, so that's good.
Been feeling a bit naseous but have been told that's normal. Otherwise all is good.
Look after yourselves, rest up!!:sleeping:
titania
27-05-2006, 07:02 PM
CJ: No, my Ob didn't reassure me at all :( But my normal Ob is on holidays at the moment (back on Monday), so I have been dealing with her stand in, the rappore just isn't the same...
I got very upset and worried when my OB thought bubs wasn't growing as one of my sisters suffered severe growth retardation in her pregnancies. Her first (the only one to survive) was born 2 months early, but effectively 3 months early when his growth was taken in to account. That was 25 years ago, so back then it was an incredibly big deal! He was tiny and was kept in a humicrib for 3 months. Anyway, she then went on to have countless miscarrarriges and the only other baby she carried past 12 weeks also suffered the growth retardation so they tried for a cesear when they thought he weighed about 1kg and that he would have a chance. Turned out he was only 500gms and died very quickly after birth.
Her only son drowned when he was 2. Very tragic.
Fortunately, she has been able to adopt two beautiful children, so has had the joy of motherhood, but it still hurts after all these years that she has never been able to have her own :(
Anyway, to the point, when the OB told me my bubs didn't seem to have grown much, all I could think of was my nephews and although i am further along than my sister ever got to, it scared me to tears thinking that I might be affected with the same problem and that I might need an emergency cesear cos she wasn't thriving... Sometimes I hate having an overactive brain...
I suppose I should be pleased that she is small, but I tend to think that no matter how small they are, their head and shoulders are still about the same size and that is the scary bit to get out!!
What matters is how healthy they are and size won't determine that in the end.
Not long to go now!
bumpsmum
27-05-2006, 07:25 PM
Congratulations to Stuschick on the birth of Drew. Hope you both have a speedy recovery.
:smiliedance: CONGRATULATIONS:smiliedance:
:bday: Drew
bekkyboo
27-05-2006, 10:24 PM
congrats stuschick and welcome drew - hope all is well!!!
Anyone else getting massive pain around their tail bone area - like its bruised when you sit down... they pain goes away after about 30sec or so.... Anyway, im having alot of trouble moving around today, back is sore and feeling really awkward.
Hope all is well :)
titania - Im sure your bub will be fine! You are very far along now, and as you said, a small bub can be healthy too..
Im off to bed, desperate need of sleep!
bumpsmum
28-05-2006, 09:22 AM
I knew I should 've come on line last night when I couldn't sleep. Somebody is always around.
Bekkyboo- I'm sure all is well. We're just at that stage when everything is uncomfortable. I said to DH last night that I was worried that I would miss the signs of labour because everything hurts all the time. He just laughed and reminded me that with the other 2 I definitely knew when I was in labour:laughing:
I've still got a rotten cold. Atleast I get out of the footy today as DH will take over and there is another manager too. I must have been crazy to volunteer for manager!!!:yes:
Is any one else getting really achy legs, particularly at night. I just can't get comfy. Last night I reckon I got 2 hours sleep max and that was not all together.
When the boys go to footy later I'm heading for bed
TillieAndBug
28-05-2006, 12:39 PM
achy legs uh huh! I had pants night sleep last night...they were like achy throbby and I had to try and raise them but find that impossible when lying on side...but finally must have fallen asleep as I woke up :rolleyes: had really strong cramps last night when I went out for dinner...but still not at all worried as head not engaged and I sure gonna be late :D plus think bump knows has to wait till daddy flies home before comes...so just continuing to cook nicely :chef:
andie_pandie
28-05-2006, 03:41 PM
Slack as always hardly ever post. Bubs has been coming down for the last 4 weeks in the pelvis and is now fully engaged and we have had a couple of practice goes last week after being sick with a sore throat and heaps of coughing. Getting heaps of contractions as shown on monitor over two hour period but not regular enough to force him out. If I do not go beforehand I have been booked for the 8th June for C-Section, hoping he comes shortly as I as well as most of us are probably getting a bit uncomfortable. Thomas at scan on Monday was 5lb 9ozs still at 25% scale however he looks healthy so hoping he will be over 6lbs when born.
Andrea 37
Geoff 36
Michael 11
Daniel 7
Thomas EDD 18th June 06 - C-Section 8th June
bekkyboo
28-05-2006, 10:39 PM
wow andie - thomas will be a small little bundle of joy - Garrett wont - they think he;ll be like 8-9pd!
Well im just heading off to bed, Ive been playing labour for jase today as he had some weekend work and his real labour pulled out at the last minute. So i had a chair at the side of the scaffold and every time jase needed something i got up went and got it for him. Think this was good for Garrett has it was alot of movement and he feels lower again...
Im really really enjoying pregnancy at the moment... strange i know coming from me, but im really loving it at the moment. The pains suck and yeah im uncomfortable, but for once i feel confident in whats to come and im not panicing as much about his movements....
Bring on the next few weeks!
TillieAndBug
29-05-2006, 04:06 PM
just thought share with all you girls ...I have just been told that as we discovered today bub isnt breech (I had scan as they couldnt feel head which wierd at my dates) head is extremely free & that it is very likely he/she has big head )ie why not engaged)...:eek: I am crossing my legs now and wishing I was having a ickle baby ...interestingly enough I was told that the head can engage just like that...so not indicator that i gonna be really late ..and that 1 in 5 women dont even engage until they are in labour...the whole thought of labour today is for some reason making me want to :barf: so blows the theory theat women who were little babies from family of little babies have little babies...I have cooked a whopper (or so I am being told):rolleyes:
titania
29-05-2006, 04:26 PM
Just back from my OB appointment. Lots to report!
My BP is good today, so no worries there atm. I am Strep B positive, so I will be having the penicillian injection in labour. Ob can barely feel babies head cos she is so far down and raring to go :smiliedance:
So OB thinks I could be seeing this baby anytime soon, very excited and happy. I just have to hold out until my DH can get back from NZ on Wednesday!
Obviously baby thinks this is all quite funny and decided to give me a couple of hours of very painful BH's last night, the first I have had at all. So I spent half of last night wondering if I was going to have to call my support person to take me to hospital. Fortunately, the contractions never settled down into a consistent pattern, and finally petered out, so I got back to sleep and have only had a few minor BH's today. Hanging in there!!!
emtez
29-05-2006, 05:17 PM
Well today i washed all the bubs clothes so now i can pack the hospital bag for bub. I have done all the whites and now have the colours in the wash. As DH still doesn't know the sex i will pop them out in the am and fold and put them away before he gets home tomorrow. He has been warned not to open the drawers.
Georgiem, my first bub never engaged either and i ended up being induced at 11 days over. bub finally arrived at the end of the day weighing 10pd 6oz and i pushed him out myself with any epidural. You will do fine.
Better run, dinners burning!!!
mum2peanut
29-05-2006, 06:34 PM
Congratulations Stuschick. I don't know if I missed the announcement but is Drew a girl or boy? Sorry.
I have been very uncomfortable at night too. This has only kicked in this week and it sucks. My back hurts a little depending on how I sleep.
Emtez-10p6oz you are a miracle woman.
My labour bag, and hosp bags are packed. My dad's bringing me an overnight bag for Peanut's stuff and then I'm done. It's a bit scary seeing the bags all lined up ready to go, makes it all very real.
Nothing else to report here, stay well!
Can't believe I turn 29 tomorrow, time flies. The big 3 0 next year, how scary!
titania
30-05-2006, 10:20 AM
Happy Birthday M2P!! :bday:
I hope you have a lovely day and are spolied rotten by everyone!:smiliedance:
TillieAndBug
30-05-2006, 10:31 AM
:smiliedance: have great day mum2peanut...:smiliedance: btw 30 not that scary I promise...:D
mum2peanut
30-05-2006, 10:05 PM
Thanks Titiana and Georgiem
I had a lovely day. Am feeling extremely full after big lunch and dinner and two birthday cakes!! Feel a bit like throwing up.:barf:
Got lots of good pressies too.
Had a friend pop over with her month old, very cute! Had a bit of a cuddle. DH missed out cause she fell asleep in my arms, so he was not happy.
Only one more day til it's our month girls. So looking forward to hearing everyone's news.
Talk soon.
bekkyboo
31-05-2006, 09:53 AM
hope you had a good b'day m2p!
ive posted a thread in labour - but ill add it here for you guys
Just got back from hospital. I went to birthing suites this morning because i was really crook and had a splitting headache. After a trace on bub and a rest they said i was fine to go home, they then did a internal "to check your not in labout before we send you!" - turns out im 2cm dilated and 1cm thick (if anyone can enlighten me on this it would be great)... Anyway they let me home so that i could rest, but since i am booked for a c-section they said if i have any change to come straight back - but for now i am going to rest...
Very excited now - its the home stretch!
not long now!
actually the midwife said - "go home and rest and we will see you later!"
emtez
31-05-2006, 03:48 PM
Hi all, Had a check up with my GP today and after last weeks hospital visit where the doc said that the baby wont be big (yeah right) she agreed with me that it looked large so i am going to have a scan tomorrow morning to check bubs weight to see if we can bring my induction date forward. At the moment it is set for 40 weeks but my last bub was 4kg at 38 weeks and this one looks the same so hopefully i will be able to have it a bit earlier and not quite so big.
Anyway at least something is being done.
Hope everyone else is well. One more sleep till all the bubs can arrive:smiliedance: :smiliedance:
I've been a terrible slacker, no postings for months, but have been checking in to follow how everyone's getting on. I can't believe all our births are imminent, for me these last few weeks are just flying by.
I've been well, but had a night in hospital last week with high BP and tingling in my face - symptoms seemed to settle down on their own and they let me go the next afternoon. We tried calling the delivery suite from home, but couldn't get through. When we got to the hospital, found out the nurse on duty had accidentally knocked the phone off the hook! :eek: Just glad I wasn't in labour! I have also seen a specialist, as I have a history of blood clots - had a nasty one in the lung about 10 years ago after leg surgery, so have been warned that the risks are higher after birth. Doc has put me on medication which will start day of birth and which I will have to inject into my tum every day for 6 weeks. I am not a needle person, so was not happy, especially when he told me the needles can be a bit blunt!::barf:
Think I'm pretty organised - the worst bit now is the waiting and not knowing when it's all going to happen. I have had 3 close friends give birth in last few months, but all have had C-sections, so nobody to chat to about labour. Oh well, guess it means no horror stories either!
Anyway, best go now. I am 38 weeks tomorrow, due on 15/6, just can't believe our little one is nearly here. :smiliedance: Can't wait to meet him/her now and so OVER being pregnant.
Cheers and best wishes to all.
Zeta
mum2peanut
31-05-2006, 07:47 PM
BB: How exciting!! Can't help you out with the 'thick' thing sorry. Can't wait to hear your news!
I awake last night with really bad abdominable pains. Don't know if it was BH or just really bad indigestion. It was so painful. I felt like throwing up, so my sis thinks it was more likely to be indigestion due to my birthday pigout. At one point I thought maybe I was in labour! I was stressing out thinking, I haven't got the capsule put in, and I need to throw last minute things in the bags etc etc.
Might get those last minute things into those bags just in case.
I finally put an avator up. You know, now that I've got less than three weeks to go!
Stay well Junies!
SweetDreams
01-06-2006, 01:40 PM
Hello - I'm due today but no signs of impending anything. I think bubs doesn't like the cold weather! :D
Good luck to everyone who are showing progress! Look forward to hearing about more and more births soon!
Susan :)
emtez
01-06-2006, 05:29 PM
Hi hope everybody is feeling well. Well June is finally here:yelclap: Our wait is nearly over. Had a sizing u/s today and they said bub was 3306gms and looked more like 38 weeks than 37 weeks. Now have another appt at hosp next week to see when we will be induced as it does look like being another 4kg baby. DH did come with me so i got another look at bub's sex just to make sure they were right. Still the same and Dh doesn't know!!! Can't believe i've kept the secret for 18 weeks:thumbsup:
Well better run and bath these kids, im on my own tonight so no slacking for me.
Chat soon.
mum2peanut
02-06-2006, 09:09 AM
It's our month girls!!!! :smiliedance:
Hope you are all oragnised and keeping well.
SD: how exciting that you are now due/overdue. Look forward to hearing your news soon.
Saw the obst yesterday, found out I'm Group Strep B positive- which means as soon as my water breaks I have to go to the hospital. I asked if most people's water break before or after contraction and was told it varies, but some people's water can break 24 hours before cont. even begin, the midwife told me in that case my obst will induce me and not keep me hanging around the hosp waiting. Otherwise all was good, they said I was disgustingly healthy for a 38wk pregnant women.
I'm so concerned I'm not going to know when I'm in labour but she assured me I would definately know. I hope so! It's pouring with rain here, so I'm just laying in bed watching TV it's so warm.
Talk soon.
mrsrobo
02-06-2006, 10:53 AM
Hey all the June mums to be. hope everyone is great. I am 38 weeks now so not too long to go now. Yesterday I was over at my mum and dads to see my Aunty who is visting from New Zealand and she said your carrying low and my mum said it because she has dropped and i looked at myself and I have dropped and told hubby and he said the same thing but still might go overdue.
alicesmum
02-06-2006, 01:09 PM
hi ladies
haven't dropped in for the longest time (sorry!) but wanted to say BEST OF LUCK and just keep breathing to everyone due in June. :wave:
I have only 10 days to go and am feeling rather huge!! :)
this little boy is much more active than my DD was, so i wonder if that means i'm in for some fun....
i haven't dropped yet, and i am hoping he isn't born early as I have too much to do.:eek:
have a MW appt next Thursday and last appt they said they would do a 'stretch and sweep' for me at this next one (4 days b4 my EDD) if i wanted.
not sure what a 'stretch and sweep' involves. sounds odd! being the Birth Centre, it can't be very 'interventionist' but sounds like it is meant to bring on labour. but i think i still prefer Mother Nature to take her course.
looking forward to reading everyone's stories over the next few weeks.
rachel :smiliedance:
titania
02-06-2006, 01:22 PM
I am having an interesting day. I started having contractions about every half hour yesterday afternoon, but they never progressed anywhere. Then this morning I started contractions about 6am and have been having them every 8-10 minutes since then.
My DH is at work but on standby and Mum is ringing every hour or so to see how I am going. I wonder how long this will take! But really the contractions aren't too hard to deal with, so I am content just pottering around at the moment.
I always expected I would be early (based on family history) - glad I made it to June and she is 38 weeks now :D
More news as it comes to hand ;)
Sarah
alicesmum
02-06-2006, 01:32 PM
hi titania
wow. sounds like it is starting for you. how exciting.
my first labour was like that. very long and slow (30 hours of the latent phase, easy contractions, well spaced, followed by six hours of the HARD stuff!). i stayed home for most of it. don't go to hospy too early as they might send you home!!!
good luck and keep us informed! :)
TillieAndBug
02-06-2006, 02:07 PM
[SIZE="4"]Saw the obst yesterday, found out I'm Group Strep B positive- which means as soon as my water breaks I have to go to the hospital. I asked if most people's water break before or after contraction and was told it varies, but some people's water can break 24 hours before cont. even begin, the midwife told me in that case my obst will induce me and not keep me hanging around the hosp waiting. Talk soon.
Mum2Peanut ...wow :eek: ... they didnt tell me any of that...just that I would have iv penicillin when in labour...ah well appoint on Monday I will ask then...
Alices Mum - sweep = that I think is to try and ripen the cervix and yeh make bub come! I not been offered...in fact when I asked if cos of situation with me being all alonesome and hubby only home for 10 days after my due date could I have induction/sweep earlierthan 10 days after EDD was told NO we dont do social inductions and where is your mother?...to which I replied in the UK...the midwife then said why isn't she coming out...I felt awful! my poor mum works as teacher and just no way she can come or afford to...anyway!!! so guess may be having baby on own...if DH cant swing with work to not fly out then...
Titania - good luck...sounds like you gonna be meeting your little cherub very soon!! how exciting...thinking of you...let us know how it goes...:smiliedance:
Bekkyboo - how are you?? you posted a few days past you thought you were going into labour - has it happened?? Does anyone know??
Zeta - dont worry sure we'll cruise through labour ha ha...I sometimes think ceasar would be good but then rather not have as 6 weeks of being unable to do much! Sure they'll keep the clot thing monitored really closely...we'll have to meet up again when babies here...if we ever have time!!! Have you given up work yet...hope so...standing on your feet all day must have got really tiring!! :rolleyes:
Okay no news here from me...no show, no head engaged, no contractions, no nothing...just swallowing rasp leaf tablets, eating heaps, walking the dog and sleeping to get out of the cold!!!
Take care all of you June mummies!! :hugs:
Mother Duck
02-06-2006, 02:23 PM
I haven't been able to keep up with the chat as the July mummies do plenty, as do you guys - too hard to read it all.
Anyway - has anyone had theirs yet? What's the goss?
Mine keeps trying to come out but hasn't yet - had to fly down to Bris with a threatened premmie at 33 weeks (day before Mothers Day!) ...had contractions again last night ten mins apart but went again
Who knows :rolleyes: These babies do what they want :)
Anyway good luck all you gorgeous mummies - Love Jess
luckie_me
02-06-2006, 02:33 PM
Im the same as u Jess cant keep track of the chat, i just give up tho !!
You bub is due the day after mine!! Good luck!
Megan
kiwibird27
02-06-2006, 08:44 PM
Can't keep track either - Stomach cramps every hour last night - quietier today - baby still not engaged - she'll arrive when she's ready!!!!!
Keep chillin everyone - Offically due on Sunday!!
luckie_me
02-06-2006, 09:30 PM
aww good luck Kiwibird
I've been getting cramps and back aches now for the past few days!:(
ellysmum
03-06-2006, 11:20 AM