View Full Version : Breadmakers?
dreadlockfairy
23-10-2011, 11:39
Can anyone recommend me a good one?
Do you find you use it a lot? Does it save you money? Is it worth it? I'm looking at getting one but not sure what to get.
:-) Thanks!
I got my Mum a Breville one a number of years ago. It was used fairly religiously for the first year but after that I don't think it's really been touched.
IMO I think if you use a lot of bread it's more economically viable as it's best to eat it while it's fresh. DH and I on our own don't eat that much so it's easier for us to buy a loaf from the supermarket and freeze it as opposed to baking a loaf and having it go stale halfway through.
Buttoneska
23-10-2011, 11:53
we brought a george foreman bread maker from the auctions for $10.
like PP said the first yr we used it heaps and after that not so much. the bread is hard to slice too but it is nice.
more then bread we use it to make pizza and pasta dough and it is great for that.
i wouldn't pay full price for one though, get a 2nd hand one from ebay/trading post etc.
kezanazz
23-10-2011, 13:19
I have apanasonic one and I love it. I probably don't use it as much as I should... But I love the fruit and spice loaf and I love it has the fruit adding compartment ....
I do love it
Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub-that's why it's full of bad grammar and spelling mistakes!
FluffyDucks
23-10-2011, 13:44
We bought a Breville a few years ago when it was all the rage and like the others....used it religioulsy for the first year and not so much now. We usually make a loaf when people come over for lunch/dinner as its so nice having the smell of bread through the house. I have made the pizza dough before and have also made a lot of jam in it.
So yes its a great idea...not sure if it particularly saves me any more money (as you still need to buy flour, yeast, etc...but it is nice!
HarvestMoon
23-10-2011, 13:56
I have a cheap one that I bought from kmart for $29. It does the job and works just as well as the previous one I owned which had nothing wrong with it either. I just accidently chucked the mixing piece in the bin.
I don't think it works out cheaper then buying bread. Well not in comparison to supermarket bread. Maybe compared to bakery bread though.
Californication
23-10-2011, 16:31
We had one (think it was a Breville), but it died after 2 years and I haven't bothered to replace it. I used to make 3-4 loaves a week as DH takes his lunch to work, but by day 3, the bread would be stale, and frankly, I got sick of making it. After a hard day at work, cooking dinner etc, the last thing I felt like doing was making bread. It is easy, but it's still getting all the stuff out, getting the right measurements etc and I was so over it!
It is yummy though, but it doesn't last like shop bought bread. I also used to eat too much bread when we had it. It's so yummy toasted :)
Now that I'm not working, I might look at getting another one when there are 4 of us in the house. Though I should probably use the thermomix for it now I have one!
3 Little Pigs
23-10-2011, 17:34
I bought a cheap breville 2nd hand. It's only a basic model but it does a good job. I mainly use it to mix dough for sweet buns and to make fresh bread if were having soup, Soo yummy :)
dreadlockfairy
24-10-2011, 11:35
Thanks everyone!
I think i might just look for a cheapy then & see if i use it enough.
Yum! I want some bread now :-)
HarvestMoon
24-10-2011, 11:40
Thanks everyone!
I think i might just look for a cheapy then & see if i use it enough.
Yum! I want some bread now :-)
Check out Kmart. I'm pretty sure they still sell the Homemaker brand ones for $29.
Be careful they cause weight gain, in this house anyway.
dreadlockfairy
24-10-2011, 11:54
Be careful they cause weight gain, in this house anyway.
Lol i know! I just cant help craving bread during this pregnancy :-)
dreadlockfairy
24-10-2011, 16:37
Check out Kmart. I'm pretty sure they still sell the Homemaker brand ones for $29.
Went this arvo to kmart & i couldnt find any breadmakers :-( (but they had an aisel full of deep fryers for some weird reason) maybe they stopped selling them? Thanks anyway for the suggestion!
share a book
24-10-2011, 16:46
I have one but I prefer to use the over myself.
I have a breville bakers oven, it works out cheaper if you are gluten free - not by a huge amount though cause even GF flour is ludicrously expensive. Also lots of GF bread is gross and I have found a recipe that I make that is far nicer. So for GF people I recommend the Breville bakers oven - its great!